Eddie Keher

Started by seafoid, February 28, 2014, 08:32:38 AM

Great hurler in his day but he seems to be more like Sancho Panza to Cody's Don Quixote these days

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/2012/0914/337583-keher-disappointment-at-cannings-comments/

"Fellas from Kilkenny get belted and just get up, get on with the game and that's the kind of manly behaviour I like to see in hurling. Don't be lying down looking for the free or for fellas to be carded."

Don't be lying down there concussed like a woman - get the f**k up and hurl on. The VHI will sort it out after the match.

"Everyone is getting at Kilkenny for the last while, trying to turn everything against us."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-DeI3ohVbY

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/2014/0217/504912-keher/

"I never agreed with the use of cards. They were introduced in 1970 in the soccer World Cup which was a wise decision because of the language barrier. "It enabled referees to communicate better with the players of various countries.

http://www.ffs.ch/home.html

I reckon there is comedy gold there this year if he can be flushed out of Nolan Park and back on to RTE. The bait would have to be some comment about Kilkenny dirt, or  series of comments. Who would be the best person to deliver it ? It could either be on a comedy thing that went viral or from some hurling legend.

Kilkenny are rapidly sickening my shit. They were exceptionally gracious winners. They seem to be pathetic losers. And insinuating that players from other counties are somehow less manly than Kilkenny is sickening. I was in Thurles for the league semi final when Fergal Moore was wrote off (accidentally) by Walter Walsh. It was right in front of me and the collision was sickening. To say that Moore was lying concussed like a woman is a shocking statement and means that everything that comes out of Eddie Keher's mouth has to have a liberal application of the bullshit scanner first.

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 28, 2014, 08:40:54 AM
Kilkenny are rapidly sickening my shit. They were exceptionally gracious winners. They seem to be pathetic losers. And insinuating that players from other counties are somehow less manly than Kilkenny is sickening. I was in Thurles for the league semi final when Fergal Moore was wrote off (accidentally) by Walter Walsh. It was right in front of me and the collision was sickening. To say that Moore was lying concussed like a woman is a shocking statement and means that everything that comes out of Eddie Keher's mouth has to have a liberal application of the bullshit scanner first.

I wonder did Eddie shout at Colin Fennelly to ' get tae f**k up and hurl like a man' when he got a dig in the ribs from a Tipp lad for kicking the ball back a few yards as the lad was about to take a free and went down like a sack of spuds?

Worse still, the free was rescinded and from the resultant throw in ball, the very same Fennelly, Lazarus esque, put the ball over the bar..

Not very manly at all..

Still a fine hurler all the same is our Colin.

Ah don't be at them johnney.

Indeed

Tommy Walsh wouldn't roll around like a pussy in an all Ireland final to get a man sent off. He'd take his belt and get up and hurl, wouldn't he?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-VnebWAtN4
1:44
"Fellas from Kilkenny get belted and just get up, get on with the game and that's the kind of manly behaviour I like to see in hurling. Don't be lying down looking for the free or for fellas to be carded."

Kilkenny are rapidly sickening my shit.
Just now?
They've been sickening my shit for last 20 years.

theblackandamber

Quote from: laoislad on March 02, 2014, 10:02:09 AM
Just now?

We sicken everybody's shit. Tends to happen when you're winning trophies hand over fist.

There wasn't a thing wrong with us in the 90's when we were the third best team in Leinster, and that was with Laois breathing down our necks, we were a lovely bunch of lads.

Then win a few trophies, BAM! Can't have an opinion on the game (whether right or wrong), only win by fouling, ruining hurling yadda yadda yadda.

Not that I'm saying Keher is right, but to label an entire county on the words of one man is a bit much. Every county is the same, they have their good lads and they have their bad lads, they'll have their oddballs too that say stuff that not everyone agrees with. Doesn't mean you should label everyone in the county.

Quote from: theblackandamber on March 02, 2014, 10:27:19 AM
Just now?

We sicken everybody's shit. Tends to happen when you're winning trophies hand over fist.

There wasn't a thing wrong with us in the 90's when we were the third best team in Leinster, and that was with Laois breathing down our necks, we were a lovely bunch of lads.

Then win a few trophies, BAM! Can't have an opinion on the game (whether right or wrong), only win by fouling, ruining hurling yadda yadda yadda.

Not that I'm saying Keher is right, but to label an entire county on the words of one man is a bit much. Every county is the same, they have their good lads and they have their bad lads, they'll have their oddballs too that say stuff that not everyone agrees with. Doesn't mean you should label everyone in the county.
Keher is like an ambassador for Cody, Blackandamber,  and that outburst about cards reminds me of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w85t5wxxamk

Kilkenny were shite last year even before King Henry got sent off
Eddie's card magic wouldn't have saved them. They just ran out of road. 

http://corkhub.blogspot.ch/2013/07/cork-dump-out-champions-kilkenny-to-end.html

"Down the other end not a single Kilkenny forward made an impact in the opening 35 minutes. Shane O'Neill, obviously recovered from a hip injury, had Richie Hogan in his pocket. Conor O'Sullivan was hooking and hounding the life out of Walter Walsh.
Eoin Larkin was just plain poor. After three wides, two from placed balls, Richie Power took responsibility for a 65. And missed.
Shefflin grabbed the sliotar for the next free. He missed as well.
The majority of the crowd were decked out in Rebel red. They were ebullient. This was almost perfect. Six wides were acceptable, Lehane guilty of two, because so many other things were working.
Brian Cody reacted by withdrawing the utterly anonymous Cillian Buckley with Lester Ryan coming into the midfield."

I was watching it in Mayo but even the Mayo lads in the pub understood what was going on.

Premier Emperor

Just now?

There was plenty wrong with Kilkenny in the 90s as well.
Kilkenny have always been a miserable shower of brown trouser and brown Sunday jumper wearing bores!

Quote from: Premier Emperor on March 05, 2014, 12:19:31 PM
Just now?

Kilkenny have always been a miserable shower of brown trouser and brown Sunday jumper wearing bores!
What's the Tipp view on Keher and manliness and fellas getting sent off and being humiliated in front of their families? I was talking to a Cork fan in the week and he was not very happy at all about what he said. 

Quote from: seafoid on March 02, 2014, 06:41:47 PM

"Down the other end not a single Kilkenny forward made an impact in the opening 35 minutes. Shane O'Neill, obviously recovered from a hip injury, had Richie Hogan in his pocket. Conor O'Sullivan was hooking and hounding the life out of Walter Walsh.
Eoin Larkin was just plain poor. After three wides, two from placed balls, Richie Power took responsibility for a 65. And missed.
The majority of the crowd were decked out in Rebel red. They were ebullient. This was almost perfect. Six wides were acceptable, Lehane guilty of two, because so many other things were working.
Brian Cody reacted by withdrawing the utterly anonymous Cillian Buckley with Lester Ryan coming into the midfield."

I was watching it in Mayo but even the Mayo lads in the pub understood what was going on.

What pub?

Quote from: muppet on March 05, 2014, 11:05:16 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 02, 2014, 06:41:47 PM

What pub?
Crocketts in Ballina

Premier Emperor

Quote from: seafoid on March 05, 2014, 04:02:03 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on March 05, 2014, 12:19:31 PM
Just now?

What's the Tipp view on Keher and manliness and fellas getting sent off and being humiliated in front of their families? I was talking to a Cork fan in the week and he was not very happy at all about what he said.
Keher's views count for nothing in Tipperary.
Any Tipp person that has met him hasn't come away with fond views of him.

You can be sure Darth Cody is pulling his strings in the background!