4 (13.8%)
Saturday/Oct/Dublin
3 (10.3%)
Wait 'till March 2011
18 (62.1%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 05:04:04 PM
Bud you can tell me to mind my own business if you wish but I was thinking about this today.
How about you get someone to sponsor each tee box?

I know a good few of us on here own our own business so if you were even only to charge €50 a tee box it would generate a further €900 quid,and if any thought €100 wasn't too much it would bring in €1800.
I would have no problem sponsoring a Tee box and I'm sure a few other business owners on here wouldn't either.
We could make up a little sign and put it on each tee box,I'd have no problem making them up and sticking them down before play
Also if you wanted I could look after that side and fellas could get in touch with me about sponsoring a tee.
Its a bit of cheap advertising and extra money for whichever charity you choose.
Anyone that doesn't work for themselves could ask their boss for a donation and in return get some cheap advertising and help out a charity at the same time.

Also I was thinking a Friday would be the best day for this,a week day is not going to bring the same numbers due to work the next day especially if lads want a few pints,same goes for a Sunday and then a Saturday is very hard to get tee times especially in Dublin.

I know a fella in Hollystown GC which might get us a good deal,plus they have 27 holes so if there was big numbers it would be good as you could have two tee offs at the one time.Granted it's not the best course ever but it's not that bad.

Anyway just a few suggestions as I said tell me to butt out if you want.

Will ya stop for jaysus sake about minding your own business, we need all the help we can get so we have to delegate.  Feel free to come on board.  I had actually mentioned sponsoring each Tee Box in the post above yours. 

AZ Offaly is prepared to help along with a few others so we can all work together, it is a gaa discussion board event, not a Bud Wiser event  ;)

EDIT;  Will I wear a Laois jersey or a Dub's one?

Well fair enough I'm in so,didn't want to be stepping on anyones toes is all.

As far as the jersey idea,I'm pretty sure most Golf Clubs don't allow jerseys,would county polo shirts not be a better idea?
I'm sure we all have a O'Neills/Azzuri polo shirt that we could wear.
I have a lovely Kartel Laois Golf polo shirt that I wear as I hack me way around Abbeyleix GC

I take LL's point about the day of week to have it.  Next March, Patricks Day is on a Thursday and a lot would be coming up for the All-Ireland Club Finals, or, in the case of Football, down, for the finals.  So if we had it the day after, on Friday it would be a great date to have it soo unless there is a serious amount of objections to that date perhaps we should stick with it.

On the wearing of county jerseys thing it is not an issue, I was thinking since that Club jerseys would be better or some form of club identification, even on your teams entry details.  I'm coming around to something, wait !!!    Right, so each team represents a club. There could be two types of Tee Sponsorship, main sponsor like Laoislad said but (we can explain this properly later) we could have a second Tee Box Sponsorship of €60.  So what we could do is, have a raffle for the (18 T's x €60) €1,080 between the named teams/clubs and the winners bring back €1,000 for their nominated club. (they can drink the €80 !)

It would be easier to advertise by "Win €1,000 for your club by supporting GAABOARD.COM charity event" etc.

As soon as we have a location then we can start taking deposits. Single player entries are welcome but it would be better if you could hook up with somebody else and enter as a team of four.   

One thing is certain from the poll, it is better to wait until March but now that we are back to week day event does AZ's location at Glasson not come into play again?

One last thing. Please don't let the idea that it is not on until March prevent you from declaring your interest now because we can't book the courses without some indication of the number of players taking part.  As well as that we can only accomodate so many teams on the day so now is the time to declare your interest.

Target.  €10,000 from teams at €300 per team of four plus T Box sponsorship.

Some see this idea as a load of 'Baloney'.  It is not, it is for two very well deserving charities that are sometimes forgotton about because of the focus on major world events like Pakistan, Haiti, etc, etc.  The recent tragic death of Patrick Dinsmore is hard to comprehend, I could not put words together on the sympathy thread other than to agree with one poster who wondered is their a God at all.  It is simply awful news and those who are trying to prevent such tragedy's through the Cormack Trust depend on, and deserve, our support as well as those trying to prevent what happened Tomas Mulligan.  So just this once, let us give this our best shot.

Bud, I don't think there are any half-sensible posters who think it's baloney bar a nutcase or two. However, in the case of those who could not take a Friday off work, what can they do? I suppose help out on PR and turn up later for the beer?

Quote from: ONeill on August 24, 2010, 09:33:36 AM
Bud, I don't think there are any half-sensible posters who think it's baloney bar a nutcase or two. However, in the case of those who could not take a Friday off work, what can they do? I suppose help out on PR and turn up later for the beer?

Ah sure take the day of sick ONeill. Did you know that for costing purposes many government organisations factor is an average of 9 sick days per person per year?

Friday 18th March sounds good to me.

bcarrier

I wouldnt be able to make this anyway but Friday 18th March  is Cheltenham Gold Cup day. Not sure if that is good or bad for most.

Even talking about doing something has prompted me to sort out my own give monthly situation so fair play to ye.

Quote from: bcarrier on August 24, 2010, 04:29:08 PM
I wouldnt be able to make this anyway but Friday 18th March  is Cheltenham Gold Cup day. Not sure if that is good or bad for most.

Even talking about doing something has prompted me to sort out my own give monthly situation so fair play to ye.

Fair point, early tee time required and some groggy heads on those who have been bad pups the night before!

Just to bring this back again. We could go on forever and ever talking about a suitable day. If it is on a Saturday/Sunday green fees are twice the price and that would result in half as much for charity.  If someone can't get off work I propose when we have a full setup made that, if anyone has the ability to garner a team of four we will write to employers explaining what the charities are and ask would they sponsor your day off.

In any event, Laoislad, Magpie and AZ Offaly are interested in getting on board the organizing committee and what we need to do now is get together, maybe for a game of golf on our own and make final decisions. I hope then that everyone can join in as best they can. If for any reason at all you can't make it then it is fully understandable.

I see a charity outing in Johnstown today is €700 euro per team of four, we are trying to raise 10k at €300 per team of four so we need to just pick a location, date and time and get on with it now.