Munster SHC Final

Started by lilpaulie85, July 04, 2010, 05:21:27 PM

lilpaulie85

Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2010, 06:01:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2010, 04:32:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2010, 01:17:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 17, 2010, 11:41:34 PM
Just finished watching it now, had all sorts of dirty tricks campaigns from my mate txtng me scores even though I told him I had it taped and was watching it later. To people that say that intercounty Gaa is an early twenties pursuit, I say Tony Browne.
And Milltown Row.

Why stop???  Tony Browne would be 35-36?? fair play hope he gets another All Star

I believe he was 37 on the 1st July.

he was indeed
Chase the dream not the competition.

Reillers

Just a shocking performance against an average, when you look at how they were, Waterford team, not like we were much better, either way both teams lined up at their best would still be beaten by Kilkenny easily I'd say.
So depressing. We panicked in the end, we missed a bucket full of scores and at the end, we lost our heads and went for goal. Our back line was very good and I think we could hold the Cats for an acceptable score, but the problem is I can't see where our scores would come from. The injuries took their toll in the end and if we'd any bit of luck well, we wouldn't have needed the replay, but sure that's where it is now to be fair.

Tom Kenny among a few were very good, the less said about Aisake the better. Cathal Naughton, it's like there's no variation in his play. He either does one thing or another. He could have gotten so many more scores if he had went for the posts himself instead of looking for the pass, but if he was told to go himself he'd never look up.

Today was a big disappointment, but we've to move on, Antrim next I think, they should push us for the game, if we get over that..then..well we'll pray. 
You never know though.

Quote from: Reillers on July 18, 2010, 06:31:45 PM
Just a shocking performance against an average, when you look at how they were, Waterford team, not like we were much better

Cork weren't better at all Reillers - Waterford were - hence they won.

Very unlike you to be ungracious  after a losing Cork performance - in Reillersland Cork should win every single game at every level they compete at and will do too, once nasty Frank is gone and Donal Og is installed as the emperor of Cork GAA

Less than 23,000 at the replay. So much for the holy Munster final.

Well done to Waherferd. An all-Ireland this year would be just the job. Imagine the Déise beating the cats with the last puck of the game. 

bottlethrower7

That was shocking stuff. Really awful. 2 teams hell bent on stopping each other playing (which RTE pundits consider to be 'compelling' - compellingly awful maybe). No other tactic was evident. Just crowd the middle third as best you can then see what happens. And on a wet night when players struggled to get ball into their hand (let alone fast ball), we got the utter crud that transpired.

Waterford were the better team over the 2 days. If they had any bit of an attacking plan they'd have won comfortably the first day. They should have won in normal time in the replay, and ended up winning almost despite themselves.

Those 2 games will bring on that team though. Some players are really starting to mature nicely - the likes of Connors and Foley. Brick hurled well but its hard to rate his performance given how poor Cussen was at 11. It seems wet weather doesn't suit big lads. Aisaike hardly got a ball in his hand all night.

No huge harm done to Cork either though. They'll get by Antrim eventually and can then regroup for Kilkenny. And I'd imagine that prospect will focus the minds just fine. Whether they'll be good enough for Kilkenny though, well you wouldn't think so.

I'm not a big fan of this crowding out tactic and IMO didn't help Waterford as it looked like it left Curran with plenty of time to pump long ball into O'hAilpain who didn't make much use of it and also Mullane and Co had two men to get the better off before they could get their head up for a score.

If Prendergast and Molumpy had of stayed tight on Curran and Gardiner I don't see what Cork forwards other than O'Connor would have caused them any bother and it'd have made the battle up in their own forwards an even contest which they may have faired better with.

I suppose Davy will say the end justifies the means but IMO it kept Cork in a game longer than they should have been and could have stolen it if Aisiake could have fed some of his team mates rather than run all the time.

behind the wire

Quote from: amallon on July 13, 2010, 05:38:19 PM
A very enjoyable day and night in Thurles.  First half was poor with a a lot of wides from both sides.  The intensity really picked up in the second half.  The free for the Waterford goal at the end should never have been given.  The atmosphere around before and after the game was good.  Did anyone notice the GPA's page in the program advertising the self employed Waterford players businesses?  Good idea but I couldn't belive they had their mobile numbers on it.  Maybe supporters are more mature in Munster but I could just imagine the windups that would happen if this was done in Ulster.  Semple stadium is a fine venue, I even got a walk on the hallowed turf apres match and the quality of the surface is fantastic.  The accomodatioin in Hayes hotel is third world at the best, I wasn't there in 1884 but the rooms don't look to have been done up since. Good to see another Down man and GAA boarder (OurNial) in Thurles too before the game.  I though there was more than 35k people at the game.

You sure you aren't getting mixed up there amallon?
He who laughs last thinks the slowest