Sligos New Manager - Kevin Walsh - O Hara hails "Dream Team"

Started by SLIGONIAN, November 04, 2008, 09:26:17 PM

Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on November 06, 2008, 09:50:09 PM
Who else did the CB actually interview? Dempsey is the one i know did have an interview.......Farrell, McGuinness who else did they talk with?
Who knows, that sort of thing doesn't be revealed to the great unwashed here.

Who else did the CB actually interview? Dempsey is the one i know did have an interview.......Farrell, McGuinness who else did they talk with?

Which Dempsey?

Quote from: moysider on November 06, 2008, 11:15:00 PM

Which Dempsey?

Luke. He didn't say too much in the media about the matter, which was unusual for him.

I think it was asked by Baoithe on another thread why I thought Walsh was good but I'll keep the manager stuff here as it might be of interest to non-Sligo folk. It was just a contat of mine that played football in Galway for years. He'd usually be a fairly negative sort but when I mentioned the appointment he immediately replied that it was a good appointment. That's my expanation of what I said before.

Obviously there are concerns about the selectors but I think the new team represents an improvement even with the obvious concerns. I don't know any of them particularly well but like Paddy I'm most interested in Sloyan being involved. He always struck me as his own man and a smart fella. I think Sligonian is being very unfair to him. I would be fairly sure he never thought about being a selector when he got involved in the process and from what I know of him he's certainly not the sleeveen type who would have worked the situaton to his advantage. So we should park that line of chat.

Anyway - there's lots more we need to fix in Sligo football and this is certainly not a disastrous appointment. If the people (players) are on board then the importance of the management is decreased. If they're not then nothing will work anyway.

Quote from: magpie seanie on November 06, 2008, 11:59:35 PM
I think it was asked by Baoithe on another thread why I thought Walsh was good but I'll keep the manager stuff here as it might be of interest to non-Sligo folk. It was just a contat of mine that played football in Galway for years. He'd usually be a fairly negative sort but when I mentioned the appointment he immediately replied that it was a good appointment. That's my expanation of what I said before.

Obviously there are concerns about the selectors but I think the new team represents an improvement even with the obvious concerns. I don't know any of them particularly well but like Paddy I'm most interested in Sloyan being involved. He always struck me as his own man and a smart fella. I think Sligonian is being very unfair to him. I would be fairly sure he never thought about being a selector when he got involved in the process and from what I know of him he's certainly not the sleeveen type who would have worked the situaton to his advantage. So we should park that line of chat.

Anyway - there's lots more we need to fix in Sligo football and this is certainly not a disastrous appointment. If the people (players) are on board then the importance of the management is decreased. If they're not then nothing will work anyway.

I have a friend from crossmolina, my one and only friend from mayo, who texted me last yr saying yee got a good man there ie jordan, but when i judged for myself it was a different story. So i wont be around, but id say halfway through the league ye lads should have a fair idea and better take on this management team. My point is dont heed your contact about Walsh.

For me as long as PT doesnt play his appointment excites me most but that is personal preference. Interested in Sloyan aswell and hope he does well. In fairness Durcan didnt do bad with curry and was unlucky this yr.

On me being unfair on DS i dont believe so, yee just have an opposite take on things both are right as henry ford said, to be honest it was the CB i was critising more and the process but no point in me going on about it.

I agree with having these selectors albeit a bit earlier than i would liked will help Walsh big time. If it works it doesnt matter who is in charge, and all 3 lads will be primed when walsh does leave especially if hes been a success.

small white mayoman

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2008, 11:08:26 AM

I have a friend from crossmolina, my one and only friend from mayo, who texted me last yr saying yee got a good man there ie jordan, but when i judged for myself it was a different story. So i wont be around, but id say halfway through the league ye lads should have a fair idea and better take on this management team. My point is dont heed your contact about Walsh.

For me as long as PT doesnt play his appointment excites me most but that is personal preference. Interested in Sloyan aswell and hope he does well. In fairness Durcan didnt do bad with curry and was unlucky this yr.

On me being unfair on DS i dont believe so, yee just have an opposite take on things both are right as henry ford said, to be honest it was the CB i was critising more and the process but no point in me going on about it.

I agree with having these selectors albeit a bit earlier than i would liked will help Walsh big time. If it works it doesnt matter who is in charge, and all 3 lads will be primed when walsh does leave especially if hes been a success.

why the need for that statment is it that you only know one mayo person or do you not like mayo people in general because of football ???
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

Quote from: small white mayoman on November 07, 2008, 11:30:44 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2008, 11:08:26 AM

why the need for that statment is it that you only know one mayo person or do you not like mayo people in general because of football ???

Why the need to call yourself a small WHITE mayoman, you racist?

small white mayoman

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2008, 11:40:38 AM

What the f**k are you on about how dare you insinuate that I'm a racist because of my board name . I'll answer your question anyway i picked the name because i was watching the programme tall dark  o'halpin and as I'm  a small white mayoman i said i go for that is that good enough for ya.
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

Quote from: small white mayoman on November 07, 2008, 11:51:51 AM

What the f**k are you on about how dare you insinuate that I'm a racist because of my board name . I'll answer your question anyway i picked the name because i was watching the programme tall dark  o'halpin and as I'm  a small white mayoman i said i go for that is that good enough for ya.

Well now you know how it feels for the shoe to be on the other foot ;).

What the f**k are you on about how dare you insinuate that I'm a racist because of my board name. you say...

I say What the f**k you on about how dare you insinuate that i hate people from Mayo. I dont like mayo football simple as that. Dont come on here look at my post and highlight shite to start an argument. It was just a statement of fact about my life no big deal which you tryed to make it something its not like ME doing that about your username.

End of discussion.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2008, 02:10:42 PM

What the f**k are you on about how dare you insinuate that I'm a racist because of my board name. you say...

I say What the f**k you on about how dare you insinuate that i hate people from Mayo. I dont like mayo football simple as that. Dont come on here look at my post and highlight shite to start an argument. It was just a statement of fact about my life no big deal which you tryed to make it something its not like ME doing that about your username.

End of discussion.

Even Gnevin wouldn't make such an arse of that

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 07, 2008, 02:16:01 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2008, 02:10:42 PM

End of discussion.

Even Gnevin wouldn't make such an arse of that

Dont get your point croi, but Smallwhitemayoman shouldnt that be smallbrightmayoman if your going along the lines of talldarkohailpin, is the opposite to dark/white :D.