Colour Laser Printers -Help.

Started by Bud Wiser, September 03, 2008, 09:35:20 PM

I hate bothering ye boys like this but I am absolutely and totally confused to the point of giving up. I have a little business for which I have to produce specifications along with each quotation.  Me likes to include a few colour brochures of the product when I do this so the customer sees what he gets. I can't use the manufacturers brochure because there is none or I don't want to include the name of the manufacturing company or whatever. I can't get the stuff printed because the product for each customer varies whereas todays specification may include a picture of a lovely big Rhode Island Red brown hen egg and tomorrows a big sky blue duck egg type of situation.

So, can anyone suggest a laser printer that does colour at around three or four hundred euro that when the ink toner cartridges run out I do not have to ring Peter McKenna and ask him to do a testimonial in Croke Park for me to find the money to replace them.  A good printer that will produce quality colour in small amounts. Any help from anyone who has one that is doing the job for them will be much appreciated. I know this is not the stuff to put on here but I saw one 'dother day asking can you reheat boiled rice!

Mhic Easmuint

Used Hp CLJ 2700 and CLJ 3600. 
Will meet your cost.  Good printers decent quality.
Replacement cartridges cost about £75

Price of printer will vary if you require networking or duplexing.

Mac hinery

Bud, I've been looking at the lexmark C530dn or the brother HL -4040cn.

reviews here http://www.pcpro.co.uk/labs/156354/lexmark-c530dn.html

I've used the brother before around 50 sterling for the high yield cartridges

This time I'm going for the Lexmark because it has duplex printing.

Thanks lads, the hp3600 is a fair right yoke. There is enough juice in her on purchase to print 4000 pages so it would cost the price of her to get printing done anyway.
€430  plus Vat on Elara website with 4 replacement cartridges when she goes dry costing €111.00 each.

Off to look at MacHinery's now.

Dell have some decent ones too. Company I used to work for had one and it worked very well and Dells cartrdiges are among the cheapest and can be bought online from their website. Stay away from OKI - we spent €3000 on one once and it gave trouble every second week.

At work, we'd need to produce double-sided colour prints, so we've duplex and networked capability - over the past 8 yrs we've had an Epson (which was awful) and currently a HP 5500.  I think it would be a bit out of the price league you're looking at though.

Oh, and I almost forgot, the better quality the print, the higher the memory requirement for the printer, so it can take quite a long time to print a document of large size (in MB), or it may have to be split into several documents smaller in size to print successfully in a reasonable time.