Referees today - Brian Crowe did well

Started by Cloc Mor, August 19, 2007, 05:30:24 PM

I know, its Monday.

So two very unlikely scenarios - standard of reffing getting better or Seánie in good mood shocker.

Both probably shite.

Irish News 'Ref Watch':

QuoteBrian Crowe (Cavan)
THE Cavan whistler was let down by his linesmen and umpires who failed to spot that Noel O'Leary punched Graham Geraghty on the chin. O'Leary escaped with a yellow card but he should have been sent off.
Otherwise, Crowe had an excellent game. It's always a good sign when the referee isn't noticed, and Crowe was very much a background figure

Pretty spot on if you ask me.

At the risk of getting back into this I disagree, Crowe let himself down in relation to O'Leary , if neither he nor his official saw the incident then fair enough nothing should have happened but O'Leary was booked and to me that looked like Crowe taking the easy way out.  The right decision here might have changed the result completely and because of that I dont think Crowe had a good game

galla

what about when Canty kicked Peader Byrne in the lead up to the O'Leary incident. it happened right in front of the linesman

Quote from: galla on August 20, 2007, 09:17:15 PM
what about when Canty kicked Peader Byrne in the lead up to the O'Leary incident. it happened right in front of the linesman
IMO there was very little in the Canty incident. A mere tap and a big over-reaction by Byrne.

O'Leary though should definitely have seen red, and may yet do time for his crime.

I don't think anyone wants to see him missing the AIF, though.

bloody mary

Maguire01 your post above puzzles me. Where you at the game? Crowe was awful to Cork and made some crazy decisions. He was too far away and then gesticulated wildly while rushing up to the scene of the supposed crime. Hadn't a clue. There was a Meath sub who thumped all round him and got a tick when he should have got at least one yellow. I could go on... by the way, did anyone else see Brian Farrell swing a punch in the melee following the Geraghty incident with O'Leary. he missed (in keeping with his day) but the intent was very clear. From that whole melee Crowe pulled in 3 Cork players, none from Meath. I rest my case!

Surely this is not the beginning of a Cork whinge? Yiz won by ten points for feck sake. Try to enjoy it, without poring over the video for every perceived slight against a langer. Fellas hit and get hit all the time in Gaelic Football. It's missing the point to start counting handbags. One of Meath's problems on Sunday was the inability to match Cork in the physical stakes. I don't castigate Cork for that. I admire them.

You're indanger of bolstering the theory that it's not possible for Corkies to enjoy anything without having  a little whinge about it. Even Billy, in his moment of triumph on Sunday, had to squeeze in an ould whinge or two, "Nicholas Murphy rarely gets mentioned when people are discussing the best midfielders" !!!. I can hardly think of anybody who didn't name Nicholas as the best midfielder in the country. But don't try to deprive Billy of his victimhood, or you'd ruin his enjoyment of the occasion.

bloody mary

Sorry to completely burst your bubble but I am not from anywhere near Cork!! I am more interested in complaining about the standard of refereeing recently, see previous posts here. I took issue with Brian Crowe getting praise, he had no idea, the only good thing was that this week he didn't affect the result, unlike Derry-Dublin and Tyrone-Meath. Here's another angle on my theories... refs are trying to counter the Ulster way of football. Look at the ridiculous frees given to Meath for points when Tyrone's blanket defence surrounded a forward but definitely didn't foul him, and indeed Derry not getting a free against the Dubs for like 3 days.