Things that make you go What the F**k?

Started by The Real Laoislad, November 19, 2007, 05:54:25 PM

Quote from: Louther on Today at 10:19:01 AMWas chatting to a lad who recently moved home from Sydney after 15 years there, wife and two young kids and they'd a decision to make in last few years, commit to Australia with a 1.5m mortgage to buy a property where the wanted to live or move back. They
Moved back.

He said he's been told several times since that he mad as Ireland is finished and all the pubs and nightclubs closed and it not the same. He says it's the exact same in Australia and pubs and clubs he remembers from his early days are long gone and not replaced. People just have different outlooks now everywhere, their social and entertainment habits have totally changed.

In the 90s you went to pubs and nightclubs to meet, enjoy company of people and be entertained. A quiet night was renting a video/DVD or going cinema. Maybe you'd to go to pub to watch a game on Sky.

Now you sit on your couch have multiple conversations and group chats using a device in the palm of your hand. You can instantly watch anything on the TV or online. Sports of all sorts are beamed into the home. The can or bottle of wine is in the fridge if you want.

To be truly entertained you travel to big events, weekends overseas or exotic holidays. In the 90s you might plan a week in Santa Ponsa or Gran Canaria. The all Ireland winners went to the Canary Islands for their team holiday in early spring.

Young people are different now, it's Gyms, saunas, Tinder, Hyrox, Australia, Electric Picnic, Concerts and events. The trip to the pub or a nightclub is too ordinary for them to get excited about.
A lot of people don't have that sort of money. I bet people save up for electric picnic

Quote from: Louther on Today at 10:19:01 AMWas chatting to a lad who recently moved home from Sydney after 15 years there, wife and two young kids and they'd a decision to make in last few years, commit to Australia with a 1.5m mortgage to buy a property where the wanted to live or move back. They
Moved back.

He said he's been told several times since that he mad as Ireland is finished and all the pubs and nightclubs closed and it not the same. He says it's the exact same in Australia and pubs and clubs he remembers from his early days are long gone and not replaced. People just have different outlooks now everywhere, their social and entertainment habits have totally changed.

In the 90s you went to pubs and nightclubs to meet, enjoy company of people and be entertained. A quiet night was renting a video/DVD or going cinema. Maybe you'd to go to pub to watch a game on Sky.

Now you sit on your couch have multiple conversations and group chats using a device in the palm of your hand. You can instantly watch anything on the TV or online. Sports of all sorts are beamed into the home. The can or bottle of wine is in the fridge if you want.

To be truly entertained you travel to big events, weekends overseas or exotic holidays. In the 90s you might plan a week in Santa Ponsa or Gran Canaria. The all Ireland winners went to the Canary Islands for their team holiday in early spring.

Young people are different now, it's Gyms, saunas, Tinder, Hyrox, Australia, Electric Picnic, Concerts and events. The trip to the pub or a nightclub is too ordinary for them to get excited about.
Any young ones you're talking to- the ordinary night in the local or in local town is a waste of time and a rip off- rather save the few £ and go out less but make it a big night or weekend away to make it worthwhile

HiMucker

Moved back.

This bit especially is bang on the money. It has had a massive impact on everything.

Yer man makes some good points tbf

I'd be happy enough if my wains don't run as much as I did, avoid the hannlins where things could've went very wrong

Same time the odd Fri nite in a pub with the crowd gathered up and the jukebox playing Christy, playing pool for a pound, was hard to bate

Louther

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 10:41:52 AM
Moved back.

Any young ones you're talking to- the ordinary night in the local or in local town is a waste of time and a rip off- rather save the few £ and go out less but make it a big night or weekend away to make it worthwhile

I'd say less of a rip off as many I'd know including my own, have very little value of money. They work partime and have their own independence to some extent and they know very different to the value would have had. 4 quid for a coffee to them means little, same as a pint and they don't do rounds!

I would think the waste of time been very valid. It just doesn't do anything for them. It's too ordinary.

My youngest was mad for the partying with her friends at college in Liverpool, but I'm not sure who that girl is now.. All fresh food, no calories, cooks her own stuff which is great, running, at the gym and not looking to go out as the after effects aren't worth it, prefers to get up and goes with me on the 5k walk with the dogs at stupid 0'Clock in the morning!

The other daughter not bothered either, in fairness one night out for her and she was toast for 3 days or more!

Kids are soft now! lol, brunch, coffees, holidays, looking after themselves, the onset of the likes of social media and online influencers have created a different kind of people, for the good and the bad in a lot of areas
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on Today at 10:48:39 AMYer man makes some good points tbf

I'd be happy enough if my wains don't run as much as I did, avoid the hannlins where things could've went very wrong

Same time the odd Fri nite in a pub with the crowd gathered up and the jukebox playing Christy, playing pool for a pound, was hard to bate

Sure it was character building all those close scrapes in your mid to late teens and beyond.

I'd great craic back then, my parents knew SFA about some of those goings on and I'd hope my kids have similar experiences I don't need to know about.  ;)

Heading off to concerts in London, Cork, Slane with the lads you grew up with and not 2d in your pockets, just a shitty tent that leaked like fúck and a bus ticket there and back again.

Plenty of boxing along the way in various places, the odd black eye with scrapes and bruises all too common.

Good Morning Britain interview this morning with an AI actress.

https://x.com/GMB/status/2099421762534469904

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 11:07:34 AMMy youngest was mad for the partying with her friends at college in Liverpool, but I'm not sure who that girl is now.. All fresh food, no calories, cooks her own stuff which is great, running, at the gym and not looking to go out as the after effects aren't worth it, prefers to get up and goes with me on the 5k walk with the dogs at stupid 0'Clock in the morning!

The other daughter not bothered either, in fairness one night out for her and she was toast for 3 days or more!

Kids are soft now! lol, brunch, coffees, holidays, looking after themselves, the onset of the likes of social media and online influencers have created a different kind of people, for the good and the bad in a lot of areas
They're not all like that! I had to escort #2 son to his pit early Saturday morning! He had a late tee time and said was having a couple after in the clubhouse. I heard a commotion downstairs at 2am as a car pulled away from the front of the house - him lying comatose on the sofa with sofa cushions etc. piled on top of him by his mates! Had to manhandle him upstairs to bed. Up the next day not a bother! He's way up yesterday to the gaff in the Holylands for Freshers Week. Oh to be 19 again.