the cats in the cradle...

Started by lawnseed, February 02, 2014, 02:05:53 PM

Quote from: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 11:51:17 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 09:25:30 AM
I worry more about this than my marriage,money or even my own health i'm not joking. Will they hate me if I push too hard or if I dont push hard enough. Being an older dad relating to them is more difficult I think but on the other hand when I was 30 I still hadnt a clue.
They dont get hit. I got hit it left a space between my da and me that can never be filled. Also I think hitting erodes their confidence. They do ALOT of sport theyre out 3 nights and 2 days a week. Imo they thats more sport than i'd have played in a month. They always get picked so they must be ok..
I'd like them to show a wee interest in how guys make a living

I worry more about the cesspit of society they are entering when they get older, the innocence of youth is lost now.  I was at my son's u10 training and there were wee lads about 12 or 13 standing up from me showing pictures on their phone of girls in their class, one quote was - "you know its (enter name) stupid bitch kept her face in it, and noone else has tits that big" - I swear that made me worry about my kids more than anything.
Yep no matter what you do theres always some hoor trying to undo your good intentions

I always saw my role as a parent simply, it was my job to help nurture my two girls to maturity and get them through college, job done, they are 23 & 21 years of age and they are great kids, I will always worry about them but as far as I am concerned I am more focused on me and the missus, the kids are adults and are finding their way in life minus parental guidance at this point, for the most part.

You have to let them grow on their own at some point and for me now is the time.

Quote from: stew on February 04, 2014, 11:39:45 AM
I always saw my role as a parent simply, it was my job to help nurture my two girls to maturity and get them through college, job done, they are 23 & 21 years of age and they are great kids, I will always worry about them but as far as I am concerned I am more focused on me and the missus, the kids are adults and are finding their way in life minus parental guidance at this point, for the most part.

You have to let them grow on their own at some point and for me now is the time.
are your girls at home stew? I mean in this country

glens abu

Quote from: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 12:00:46 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 03, 2014, 10:49:44 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 09:25:30 AM
I worry more about this than my marriage,money or even my own health i'm not joking. Will they hate me if I push too hard or if I dont push hard enough. Being an older dad relating to them is more difficult I think but on the other hand when I was 30 I still hadnt a clue.
They dont get hit. I got hit it left a space between my da and me that can never be filled. Also I think hitting erodes their confidence. They do ALOT of sport theyre out 3 nights and 2 days a week. Imo they thats more sport than i'd have played in a month. They always get picked so they must be ok..
I'd like them to show a wee interest in how guys make a living

Make them earn their pocket money.
Turn them into shinners?  ;DThey get good marks for helping out.. Good marks = kentucky mcdonalds treats. But a wee bit of capitalism could work

you are born a shinner. ;)

Gaaboardmod3

Bigfella and Cold Tea, cop on to yourselves please. bigfella, there was no need for you to post that, and of course you got the reaction you were looking for. Ignore one another if you can't behave like adults.

Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on February 05, 2014, 03:18:45 PM
Bigfella and Cold Tea, cop on to yourselves please. bigfella, there was no need for you to post that, and of course you got the reaction you were looking for. Ignore one another if you can't behave like adults.
I missed what ever 'that' was. hopefully we can keep this on topic. otherwise i'll pull it. my worries I suspect are quite common there's no harm in seeking the advice and experiences of people who have maybe been there done that..