Ireland's memorial records

Started by ONeill, January 11, 2014, 12:24:15 PM

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: The Raven on January 17, 2014, 01:44:50 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on January 17, 2014, 01:08:16 PM
Some great resources on military archives.ie.

In the same IRA company as my great-uncles were:

Patrick McElwaine (James)
Patrick McElwaine (Pat) and
Patrick McElwaine (John)
Where  did you find the company lists, I cant see them on the site

IRA Membership series:
http://www.militaryarchives.ie/collections/online-collections/military-service-pensions-collection/search-the-collection/organisation-and-membership/ira-membership-series

Quote from: LeoMc on January 17, 2014, 01:20:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 16, 2014, 07:39:48 PM
Am I missing something but are Norn Iron vols not included (yet)?

The records put up on line were pension records. I can imagine difficulties in collecting that pension if you were living on the wrong side of the border.

It wasn't difficult at all.

Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2014, 05:46:28 PM

The records put up on line were pension records. I can imagine difficulties in collecting that pension if you were living on the wrong side of the border.

Can you elaborate?
I can't imagine any northern volunteers just popping down to their local NI post office to collect it!

Volunteer: I'm here for my IRA pension.
Postmaster: Get out of my post office, look what you did to the last one you were in down in Dublin.

That bit is just tongue in cheek but I do genuinely wonder how men in the north received their pension whilst living in a hostile state.

Kimbap

Very interested in this as im trying to find my Grandfather who would have been based in West Mayo.

How did you find a direct link to names?
I can only get as far as the details of the different divisions but no actual names,any help greatly appreciated.

Quote from: LeoMc on January 17, 2014, 06:08:33 PM

Can you elaborate?
I can't imagine any northern volunteers just popping down to their local NI post office to collect it!

Postmaster: Get out of my post office, look what you did to the last one you were in down in Dublin.

That bit is just tongue in cheek but I do genuinely wonder how men in the north received their pension whilst living in a hostile state.

That's exactly how it was done. I cashed it manys a time in my youth.

I can't see any online from here, although I think they said it was a phased release.

Quote from: Kimbap on January 17, 2014, 06:14:19 PM
Very interested in this as im trying to find my Grandfather who would have been based in West Mayo.

How did you find a direct link to names?
I can only get as far as the details of the different divisions but no actual names,any help greatly appreciated.

At the bottom of the page there are PDF copies of lists of the members of the various companies. The first few seem to be mainly Castlebar and Westport and their surrounding areas.

Kimbap

Thanks for that Muppet,

Going to go through it all now and see what i can find.

Quote from: Kimbap on January 18, 2014, 01:36:50 PM
Thanks for that Muppet,

Going to go through it all now and see what i can find.

I forgot to post the link, apologies.

http://mspcsearch.militaryarchives.ie/brief.aspx

Click on the part of the county you want to research using the link above, and then scroll down to the PDF documents and examine them.

Ulick

Can you elaborate?

Northerners were eligible for the pension after Dev got in. Taking it though was akin to "taking the soup" and recognising the legitimacy of partition.

Quote from: Ulick on January 18, 2014, 05:36:46 PM
Northerners were eligible for the pension after Dev got in. Taking it though was akin to "taking the soup" and recognising the legitimacy of partition.
Was it not a case ( like modern SF) or recognosing the REALITY of Partition?

Quote from: Rossfan on January 18, 2014, 08:24:13 PM

If those who got the pensions had been content  recognise the reality of British rule, we'd still all be under the yoke of Saxon oppression, rather than just some of us.

Quote from: armaghniac on January 18, 2014, 09:05:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 18, 2014, 08:24:13 PM

If those who got the pensions had been content  recognise the reality of British rule, we'd still all be under the yoke of Saxon oppression, rather than just some of us.
They DID recognise the reality of British Rule - that's why they took up arms to try and end it  ;)
They could have refused to recognise British Rule and gone and sat in some corner thinking they were special purists of some sort. Then we'd all still be under the "yoke of Saxon oppression" - despite the fact that the Saxons were virtually powerless since 1066.

Can you elaborate?

That was a concept made up by those who applied for the pension but for some reason were not granted or recognised.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Loved the links lads to te various memorial records.
Found a great grand uncle born in Donegal and reared in Rosemount Derry City who died in Ypres (Battle Of Langemerk) 1917 and my great grandfather from Butlerstown Waterford as a member of the Free State Army in 1922.