The failure of the Dublin Republic

Started by Peter Solan the Great, November 11, 2010, 01:04:42 AM

Peter Solan the Great

Its quite clear where why we are where we are at the moment. Dublin policy has us at the breaking point. The economic treason we see has all been led by Dublin based enterpise. The western region in this so called republic has been abandoned for many years, its time to rise and and declare a new Republic of Connacht. I propose to envite Donegal, Limerick, Clare, Kerry and Cork into this new republic along with the rest of the connacht counties. We have potential massive Oil, Gas and coal reserves off the west coast and as well as the massive potentail of wave energy. We have strong links throughout the world due to emmigration that maily stemed from the western region.

Its been tried before Peter. I am assuming you are typing tongue in cheek, but you do touch on a serious deficit within the Nation, namely the concentration of power and population on the eastern seaboard

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: Pangurban on November 11, 2010, 01:19:18 AM
Its been tried before Peter. I am assuming you are typing tongue in cheek, but you do touch on a serious deficit within the Nation, namely the concentration of power and population on the eastern seaboard

No its not tounge in cheek, its out of genuine fustration in what I believe is a Dublin based destruction of a so called Republic of Ireland. The original republic in this country was a republic of Connacht. Why cant us on the western seaboard be in charge of  our own destiny.

Actually agree with both Panguran and PSTG. Dublin has long claimed to be the Tax generating centre of Ireland, when in fact it is has proven to be the Debt weight around our necks in an Ocean of financial woe. The West has long provided the highest percentage of 3'rd level graduates and prior to mass immigration was a leader in providing skilled labourers, carpenters, plumbers and electricians to the East. The West has long been disadvantaged by poorer road, rail, electric, and now broadband networks. It is long claimed in Dublin that it is down to allocated resources where most needed, but if you continually put all the sweets, games, toys, X-boxes in one room or footballs in one field that is where children will go to play. You will not attract investment or critical populations to areas such as Connacht, Donegal, the Midlands, South Leinster, Kerry, Tipperary etc. if there is an unfair distribution of resources. This country has been ruined as it has become little more than a failed Greek style city state that ravages its hinterland for food, water, energy or human resources etc. It is in the waters of the West that a huge chunk of Irish fishing waters belong, it is the West that has the greatest potential for natural resources. I am of course taking a Connacht view, but I can understand that Munster, border and midlands can feel greatly aggrieved by the way this country has been run.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 11, 2010, 01:22:54 AM

No its not tounge in cheek, its out of genuine fustration in what I believe is a Dublin based destruction of a so called Republic of Ireland. The original republic in this country was a republic of Connacht. Why cant us on the western seaboard be in charge of  our own destiny.

MORE partition?!

I suppose Enda Kenny will be crowned King ::)

You could try living in the border counties, they were/are even more neglected than connaught.

He could try Darndale either, that's nice and close to the corridors of power - a good place to bask in the glories of all the fantastic east-coast economic activity of the Celtic Tiger.

Quote from: Billys Boots on November 11, 2010, 10:29:00 AM
He could try Darndale either, that's nice and close to the corridors of power - a good place to bask in the glories of all the fantastic east-coast economic activity of the Celtic Tiger.

Or he could try living in the real world and see that the economies of most countries are based around the large urban areas in said country, which nine times out of ten is the capital.

i think the Dublin model has failed.  The elite of Dublin have been exposed as a shower of spoofers.   They shafted their own people by driving them out of the city in the name of keeping land prices artificially high. And now the whole Dublin centric economy is in bits.

As a first step I think Roscommon county council should put up a sign on the bridge in Athlone that says "Fáilte go Connacht".- there is something mystical about driving over that bridge.

More generally Ireland needs more balanced development with less pull towards Dublin and the emergence of several alternative centres.   

I presume we will then have to partition Mayo from the rest of Connacht to keep the rest of us sane !!!
2026 the year of the 9 Cups

QuoteI propose to envite Donegal, Limerick, Clare, Kerry and Cork into this new republic along with the rest of the connacht counties.

And Connaucht would then have over 50 All Irelands....feck off ye are not getting any of our soft AI's.....and who would we then beat in the finals?

As long as we have the Bull O'Donoghue, Martin Ferris and Jackie Healy-Rae (f**k me but we have elected some beauts in Kerry) to look after us we will drive on, and as soon as Cork get their freedom and their Peoples Republic we will get our East Coast of Kerry back and then its just a bitteen of a bridge around Abbeyfeale linking us to the mainland.

JHR has been pushing the Kerry boat for along time and fair play to him, too much being spent around Dublin, they are getting a Metro and a Luas from the Northside to Stephens Green now, would one system not be enough, for feck sake it only a few mins to walk from O'Connell St.

BTW we want the Daniel O'Connel's statue back in Cahirciveen when Sackville St is being dug up.

Quote from: seafoid on November 11, 2010, 10:57:07 AM
i think the Dublin model has failed.  The elite of Dublin have been exposed as a shower of spoofers.   They shafted their own people by driving them out of the city in the name of keeping land prices artificially high. And now the whole Dublin centric economy is in bits.

As a first step I think Roscommon county council should put up a sign on the bridge in Athlone that says "Fáilte go Connacht".- there is something mystical about driving over that bridge.

More generally Ireland needs more balanced development with less pull towards Dublin and the emergence of several alternative centres.   

Or any bridge across the Shannon, esp. those direct to Connacht, my heart always beats faster when I cross back to my homeland West of the Shannon and I feel a sinking feeling when I cross it in an Easterly direction. There is something so special about West of the Shannon our own natural boundary. The West is such a Wonderful place.

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 11, 2010, 09:49:16 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 11, 2010, 01:22:54 AM

MORE partition?!

Maybe Home Rule will do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H-NZ06QbvM&feature=related

mc_grens

Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 11, 2010, 02:40:44 PM
QuoteI propose to envite Donegal, Limerick, Clare, Kerry and Cork into this new republic along with the rest of the connacht counties.

And Connaucht would then have over 50 All Irelands....feck off ye are not getting any of our soft AI's.....and who would we then beat in the finals?

As long as we have the Bull O'Donoghue, Martin Ferris and Jackie Healy-Rae (f**k me but we have elected some beauts in Kerry) to look after us we will drive on, and as soon as Cork get their freedom and their Peoples Republic we will get our East Coast of Kerry back and then its just a bitteen of a bridge around Abbeyfeale linking us to the mainland.

JHR has been pushing the Kerry boat for along time and fair play to him, too much being spent around Dublin, they are getting a Metro and a Luas from the Northside to Stephens Green now, would one system not be enough, for feck sake it only a few mins to walk from O'Connell St.

BTW we want the Daniel O'Connel's statue back in Cahirciveen when Sackville St is being dug up.

Kerry Mike, are you really Billy Keane?