Sligeach v. An Mhi

Started by magpie seanie, February 20, 2007, 02:08:46 PM

Mano

QuoteR Cullen, S Colleary, S Clancy, P McGuinness, P Murphy 0-1, B Kennedy, B Hynes 0-1, F Roche 0-1, A McIntyre, N Quinn 0-2, M Gormley 0-1, B Neary, A Taaffe 0-1, M Gordon 0-2, D Walsh. Subs: M Brennan for Neary, S Stenson for Walsh.

Currys Sean Colleary is playing Sigerson with Sligo IT, Brian Kennedy is playing well since he returned from a serious knee injury, Brian Neary has done is cruciate. The St Johns lads including Roche have retired since minor level ;).

Big game on Sunday-O Hara is suspended afaik. We will need to win this home game as after this one we have 3 away and 1 at home.

I don't know if any of the Meath contingent here are going, so I'll make so bold as to ask Seanie and the Sligo lads to keep one eye on Meath's performance and I'll be interested in their observations on Monday morning.

Hardy - was at the game with one of your own, a lad originally from St. Brigids who is now involved in our club, so I took in more about Meath than I usually do about opposition teams. From what he was saying it was Meath's strongest lineup of the season and their best performance. That said we are not the level of team ye are aiming at but it was a good start. Geraghty was on our local radio saying that yesterday was the start of it for Meath. Poor us! What impressed me most about Meath was how big the hoors were. Brian Farrell is a bloody good player - gave our full back (who is quite a good player) a really torrid time. Fay looks to be coming back bit by bit and didn't give anyone a sniff. Sorry I can't say much more about Meath but I dare say, judging by the support the Royals had, that some of your countymen on the board were there and can do a better job.

From a Sligo point of view it was very disappointing but a reality check I suppose. The consolation for me is that for us to have a good year we do not need to beat the likes of Meath. Antrim must be defeated in Markievicz and one away win will probably save us from Div 4. Then its on to NY and hopefully Roscommon in the championship. Despite all the optimism at the outset I think that is the summit of our ambitions.

as I said Seanie

Sligo are sihte !

Was at the gmae and came away with reality check. On a positive note I thought O HARA was outstanding and p mcgovern too. The sligo players didnt seem up for it in the sense we were very flat. No intensity and never got going. Meath were outstanding though and so clinical. Was very impressed. Im worried now because we have to lift it big time for Cavan.

Meath are big strong physical side with good footballers. Our full back line is small and wasnt able to cope physcically. Problem is our defenders are good on the ball but without sometimes lose concentation and lose there man.

Our forwards seemed overawed by meath very flat and little or no running off the ball. Just a strange performance from us.

The biggest problem yday was Roscommon winning by 9pts against clare and roscommon are physical side so will we be able to cope in the CSFC? I doubt it.

Thanks for that Seanie. Sounds encouraging. I'm delighted to hear that Meath now at least look like a big team. One problem I had with Barry was the the average size of the team diminished dramatically under him and to see us gettimng pushed around by Kildare in the league was hard to take. At least Colm seems to be getting back to basics.

Buckass

Ahhh Sligonian...McGovern was good? We need a cb with prescence. Much and all as Langan was questioned he had one. O'Hara was our only performer yesterday. Davey looked atrocious and then did 3 brilliant things in a row during the mini revival. Playing him @ wing forward is a non runner...literally. He only has one gear..forward. He hates wf himself and won't deliver there. I think we have to persist with him @ full. Forget about waterford..neither Kivlehan or Sweeney cut it.
The tactics yesterday were of the hari kari variety. A short game against a much more physical side interspersed with high straight line kicks. The likes of Kelly needs diagonal ball.
A depressing day. As for the Rossies...I wouldn't totally despair. Clare are not Meath.

Welcome back Buckass. Would go along with that alright. I know (and it amazes me) that most people outside of my club don't rate Karol O'Neill that highly and I know I am biased but I thought he was really good when introduced yesterday. He had a big part to play in getting the revival going winning breaks and starting off attacks. Injury free he is a cert starter in my book.

Hope Kivlehan is ok, took a nasty looking rap. S Davey is either 14 or on the line. End of. A complete liability elsewhere. O'Hara did well throughout but in terms of fielding and winning possession in the middle of the field he didn't fare that well in my book. The massive leap to make up for the lack of inches isn't quite there any more. Quinner battled and needs to and will improve. He got his hands to the ball though a good few times in the air though our picking up of his breaks was terrible. We simply have no other options in this area than the two boys though so we need to work on helping them out.

I hope Roscommon win Division 2. Add to the hype of the minors to make them raging hot favourites. That would suit nicely.

Club loyalties sean, blinkered vision. I grant you Karl o neill did ok when introduced yday. Quality on the ball but our backs are poor without. Kieran Quinn was atrocious yday.Hes more effective than Taylor becauseat least he gives 100%.  If you can tell me one good thing he did. I 'll grant you also that he wasnt alone. Ohara was on his own midfield. Our first choice midfield if fit is O Hara and Doohan in my view.

Sean davey ff yee say. When has he looked anyways interested in playing there. I honestly dont think he likes it. Id say he prefers midfield which means hes facing the goals rather back too. Hes off form no doubt.

FAY was marking sweeney plus the fact supply was slow and poor I wouldnt write him off.

Bad day at the office and its all on the day we just werent up for it simple as that. We will have to be for Cavan.

MCGARTY,MCNAMARA,MARTYN AND DOOHAN BIG PLAYERS TO COME BACK. NO DOUBTING THAT. ;D

QuoteKieran Quinn was atrocious yday

You must have been at a different game. Bias and blinkered vision mustn't be solely my preserve.

As for Seán Davey if he's not interested take him off. He should have walked yesterday, attitude up his hole. I reckon Breheny knows a great deal more about football than the man who rang the Irish manager to say he should have got trials for the International rules team.

K quinn:
It was like the ball was hot when he had it in hand. Fumbling and never had his up. I was at a different game. You were clearly at Coolera v meath. I was at Sligo v meath.

O hara desrves alot more credit for his performance yday. He was outstanding.

I can only pray that someday we will be united together as one when the magpies roll on. Club bias costs us at underage, senior and in the stands. Too much division. Curry men will knock ohara every chance they get and visa versa with club players. You will say Im knocking Quinn but I actually know him and hes a sound lad. Not personal just through my eyes hes not up to it and I could add a few others.

Im a st molaise gaels man. But I would put Sligo first.

Buckass

On the Quinn comments I thought he was ok yesterday. He got a belt in hip from the throw in that seemed to upset his running game. Thought he contested quite well, broke a lot and caught one in 2nd half.
Our main problem was our inability to pick up breaks. Many times a ball broke from O'Hara or Quinner with 2 Meath lads 1st in on it. If you concede in the break ball stakes you're well up against it.
Think Brendan Egan is probably our best bet for a cb..give him the job of winning breaks in that area and laying it off. No sauntering upfield which is the aspect of McGovern's game I presume you liked Sligonian.
There is hope still. Martyn will definitely be an addition. O'Neill for wing back when fully fit would also be on my side.

I can agree to differ with anyone but comments such as "Kieran Quinn was atrocious" and "hes not up to it" are so far off the mark they have to be hammered. I'm not saying he was brilliant - but he was a million miles away from what you are saying. You must be on the wind up.