The 'I was there' thread

Started by Doogie Browser, July 01, 2010, 09:42:40 AM

I was there when the Brits wrecked Lansdowne Road..

QuoteOn the hill when Tommy Doyle was pushed in the back

me too twas a wet day on the hill, I knew it was a push glad someone else saw it too, feckers ruined my childhood, am scarred forever over it. I still wake up uin the middle of the night roaring "Darby you f*cker" !!!

ballela-angel

*In Clones when Down won their first Ulster title in 1959

*In Croke Park in 1960 when Down beat Offaly in the semifinal (first game and the replay) - Was too small for the big crowds at the All-Ireland final against Kerry in '60 - I was in Croke Park for all of Down's championship wins over Kerry except this one

*In Croke Park for the 1961 All-Ireland final against Offaly, '68 against Kerry and '94 against Dublin and semifinal in '91 against Kerry

* In Windsor Park in 1971 when Geordie Best cleanly took the ball off Gordon Banks who was bouncing the ball after a save from Best (Banks was the England goalkeeper, who had a habit of bouncing the ball so many times it led to FIFA limiting the number of bounces a goalkeeper could take) - Best stole the ball, put it in the back of the net, despite Banks diving for it - When the ref turned around to see what was going on, Banks was on his ass and the ball was in the back of the net, so he concluded that Best must have fouled Banks and gave him a free out, even though it was a fair goal
That awkward moment - Not sure if you do have free time or if you're just forgetting everything!

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 02, 2010, 03:40:48 PM
1986 FA Cup Final, Liverpool V Everton, the year they won the double.
2006 Mayo V Dublin, A.I. Semi
2005 All-Ireland Final
2006 Mayo win U-21 All-Ireland Final
Alice Springs, Alice Springs floods - River Todd floods.
Gatwick Airport the first day that flights cancelled because of Icelandic Volcano.

The first match of the 1996 Mayo V Meath A.I. Final

Oasis concert in Parc Ui Coimh

When Munster won their first European Cup

When the Roscommon player pulled down the crossbar in McHale Park.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 03, 2010, 11:40:20 AM
2005 All-Ireland Final
Gatwick Airport the first day that flights cancelled because of Icelandic Volcano.

Happened twice, Gavin in 1992 or when our goalkeeper broke it in the 60s

Quote from: ross4life on July 03, 2010, 04:08:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 03, 2010, 11:40:20 AM
2005 All-Ireland Final

Happened twice, Gavin in 1992 or when our goalkeeper broke it in the 60s

1992 so, far too young to remember the 1960's

Aston Villa 3 Arsenal 2 1998. Santa Claus was meant to be parachuting onto the field. He misjudged the landing and found himself perched on the roof of a stand, slid down it slowly and fell to the ground. Children cried. He survived.

Wexford v Tyrone '02 - Tyrone's first back-door game.
Leitrim v Tyrone '02 - called off after 5 mins. Leitrim had just scored a goal. Firemen were bucketing water off the park.

Liam Brady having a pint in the Bot.

In Ireland when the Pope came to Ireland.

In Belfast when Cinton came to Belfast.

In my mother-in-law's bed when Diana crashed.

Ayrton Senna's finest lap.....Donington Park Easter Sunday 1993...European Grand Prix

Wet race. Senna fourth on the grid. By the end of the 1st lap he had overtaken Schumacher, Hill and Prost to take the lead. Will never forget the cheers when the nose of the McLaren appeared in first place from the last corner as he began his second lap.

Was on holidays in Killarney in 1987 and witnessed the end of the Kerry team (circa 1975 to 1986) the greatest gaelic football team of all time lose to an emerging Cork in a replay.

I seen my first ALL Ireland final in 1978, and these crowd won 7 outta the first 9 AI's i witnessed. I thought they would go on forever.

Pure Legends and although i seen them at a low point, their was a stark realisation leaving the stadium that i had witnessed the end of history.