How much

Started by sammymaguire, December 13, 2009, 01:46:41 PM

I used to count the collection in our parish.

The envelopes were also used for people who might have gone to mass in a neighbouring parish - there was an agreement to hand over the envelopes to the corresponding parish on the envelope.

The numbers were also so that a record could be kept of who got their envelopes, and which households didn't.  As counters, we hadn't a clue who owned the envelopes. 

RMDrive

They use the envelopes these days to keep track of what you give and then they send you a form so that they can claim the tax back on your donation.

Quote from: sammymaguire on December 14, 2009, 09:50:45 AM
I think we all know the craic with some of the priests but Harold Shipman was a doctor, does that mean ALL doctors are evil? You can't tar everyone with the same brush myles....

We know that Haughey, Ahern etc were gangster within FF and milked whatever they could get, doesn't mean they all FF'ers are bad but i wouldn't give that party a cent either until I have seen some evidence that they have addressed the issue and fixed the problem. Same goes for the church. Although not a supporter of mass religions of any sort I would have always given to a church collector if they called to my door in the past - not anymore.

GDA - I can choose which threads concern me, you don't choose them for me. If that were the case you'd be barred from all threads that require a braincell, in fact that would pretty much limit you to the "Right I'm pissed thread"

The Giving of Alms

"Take heed that ye do not your alms before men, to be seen of them: otherwise ye have no reward of your Father which is in heaven. Therefore when thou doest thine alms, do not sound a trumpet before thee, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may have glory of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. But when thou doest alms. let not thy left hand know what thy right hand doeth: That thine alms may be in secret: and thy Father which seeth in secret Himself shall reward thee openly."

Matthew 6:1-4

No need for those envelopes IMO.
Not a regular attender but when I'm there for christenings and the likes I give the PP his dues, double time on a sunday for a professional isn't cheap either  ;D