Online dating

Started by long sleves, October 11, 2009, 10:32:14 PM

Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:34:41 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:32:00 PM
Only lasts 3 minutes ?

Sure thats longer than the sexual act itself surely.

wouldn't know, i'm not married.

Yeah right!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 07:25:22 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 10:48:26 AM
Never had a problem meeting women while out and probably never will, but I think it's a great way of meeting women for casual sex.

I actually think the people who say get yourself out to a nightclub or use the old no social skills/insecure argument are really the ones who need to have a look in the mirror. I bet their method of chat up is getting drunk and pestering every women in the bar until one (usually a complete bog rat too) gives in  ;)  If anything it's harder to pick up women as they generally aren't pollaxed when you're chatting to them online and they don't fall for the same lies :P

How many people have been on a blind date or tried speed dating? No different to that IMHO and only a bit of craic. Then again my objectives when I tried these things are not completely admirable and I never go out looking for a potential girlfiend or wife like some sad gits.
What a hero. No offence like.

Apparently calling someone a ballbag might get me a ban.

Call away Tony but your the only one who bit  :D

Seriously though, you go to Coppers or other places like that, with one thing in mind. What's the different than visiting a specialist dating site with the same intentions?

DirtyDozen12

Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:43:52 PM
Never had a problem meeting women while out and probably never will, but I think it's a great way of meeting women for casual sex.

I actually think the people who say get yourself out to a nightclub or use the old no social skills/insecure argument are really the ones who need to have a look in the mirror. I bet their method of chat up is getting drunk and pestering every women in the bar until one (usually a complete bog rat too) gives in  ;)  If anything it's harder to pick up women as they generally aren't pollaxed when you're chatting to them online and they don't fall for the same lies :P

How many people have been on a blind date or tried speed dating? No different to that IMHO and only a bit of craic. Then again my objectives when I tried these things are not completely admirable and I never go out looking for a potential girlfiend or wife like some sad gits.

Seriously though, you go to Coppers or other places like that, with one thing in mind. What's the different than visiting a specialist dating site with the same intentions?

anyone ever read that gumtree site??  You ever gave it a go bigfella?  Reading it I would imagine its more a piss take than anything, arramge to meet some sexy lady some night and you would probably end up seeing about 4 boys in a car laughing their balls off  :D  not for me!!
Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 12, 2009, 11:49:25 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:43:52 PM

anyone ever read that gumtree site??  You ever gave it a go bigfella?  Reading it I would imagine its more a piss take than anything, arramge to meet some sexy lady some night and you would probably end up seeing about 4 boys in a car laughing their balls off  :D  not for me!!

Nah, most people I know who have used these specialist sites pay for them. Cuts out all the bullshit artists.

Quote from: The Iceman on October 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM
I think more people should try it.  Looking around my own home town the majority of ones I went to school with who are now in the early 30's, still living at home and have no significant other is scary.  Still trying to meet girls in bars......

I think if there is alternatives like online dating, speed dating or whatever else you want to try then good luck to yous.

"I never had any bother meeting girls" should try meeting girls in places other than bars when they have dutch courage..... try a sober conversation over coffee at 10am for your first encounter and see how well you do.....

I'm assuming thats a dig at my little contribution  ;) 

To be honest, it's not a problem and I think people make more of an issue than it should be. What is the worst that could happen if you approach someone (without being creepy though) or have a conversation sober? Do you find it difficult?

Generally I would find that it's easier as the expectations are different and you don't try as hard, although the type of women I go for don't get impressed by the usual nonsense that goes on in bars.

Quote from: thebigfella on October 13, 2009, 12:12:52 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM
I think more people should try it.  Looking around my own home town the majority of ones I went to school with who are now in the early 30's, still living at home and have no significant other is scary.  Still trying to meet girls in bars......

I think if there is alternatives like online dating, speed dating or whatever else you want to try then good luck to yous.

"I never had any bother meeting girls" should try meeting girls in places other than bars when they have dutch courage..... try a sober conversation over coffee at 10am for your first encounter and see how well you do.....

I'm assuming thats a dig at my little contribution  ;) 

To be honest, it's not a problem and I think people make more of an issue than it should be. What is the worst that could happen if you approach someone (without being creepy though) or have a conversation sober? Do you find it difficult?

Generally I would find that it's easier as the expectations are different and you don't try as hard, although the type of women I go for don't get impressed by the usual nonsense that goes on in bars.
Do you slip the bartender a hundred for keeping the ice cubes cold?

long sleves

Just an update, signed up to one of these sites last night- find love or your money back they have promised me- anyway have three matches with local enough girls. Currently messaging them through the site to get to know them. Best leave it a week or two before meeting them though.

Never done it myself. I have no problem with the concept, infact I think the concept is great. Get alot of the shite you like or dont like out in the open before you meet each other.

I signed up for eharmony once, a few months back, as I wondered what it was like, and you get a free personality test...

They cut me off at the pass and said that they couldnt match me to anyone based on my profile compared against their marriage tested compatibility scale. But, I wasnt to feel bad, because it happens to about 20% of the population.

I drank alot that night when I realised, I cant even get an internet broad.

Maiden1

I was at a wedding in England last year of a couple who met through the classified adds (or whatever they are called).  They seemed like a nice couple.  Some people are a bit shy and wouldn't nessesarily find it easy to go up to a girl in a bar and start waffling to them.  This way you can say what your interests are before you meet and then if you want to go out for a drink.  I could see how it would work for people.
There are no proofs, only opinions.

DrinkingHarp

A buddy of mine just married the girl he met on Eharmony. He is a big shot at a publishing firm and is on the road 3 out of four weeks. He told me it was a great way for a busy individual to meet someone special. You can set your preferences to what you are looking for ; looks, personality, faith, values, job and such.

He also stated besides being a time saver (speedy results), he saved alot of money instead of going out and spending money buying drinks, cover charges, risk of drink driving and gaining weight from all the drinks.
Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

I see no problem with meeting some1 online, my cousin met his longterm girlfriend over the net. She is a Nigerian girl living in Las Vegas and they are very serious, he's going over to Africa to meet the in laws in December. Iv met his gf on numerous occasions an she's a great cuttie. Needless to say my 88 year old grandad from the plum isn't too ennamoured about the whole thing but I say fair play.