TV is shite these days

Started by Orior, April 19, 2009, 10:42:40 PM

Criminal Minds and Bones is back on next month! - in the US anyway, I'll be downloading.

Quote from: Take Your Points on August 13, 2009, 08:01:01 PM
There is some good stuff, thank goodness for Sky+!

I like:
CSI (Las Vegas, New York and Miami)
Crimiinal Minds
Law & Order (All franchises)
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
What ever happened to the Likely Lads  (nostalgia)
The Professionals (nostalgia)
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
Reeling in the Years (RTE)

Superb programme...there was word of it coming out on DVD but they had probs with rights to the music they used..anyone know if its available?

HowAreYeGettinOn

Quote from: 5 Sams on August 13, 2009, 08:31:35 PM

I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools

Superb programme...there was word of it coming out on DVD but they had probs with rights to the music they used..anyone know if its available?

There was a 'Reeling in the '80s' DVD out for last Christmas; http://www.buy4now.ie/rte/aspx/productdetail.aspx?pid=1236&loc=P&catid=7.2

On the 'good TV' debate, both series of 'Mad Men' and 'Californication' are well worth a look, even though RTE and TV3 stick them in the late night time-slots.

Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on August 13, 2009, 08:53:14 PM

I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools

There was a 'Reeling in the '80s' DVD out for last Christmas; http://www.buy4now.ie/rte/aspx/productdetail.aspx?pid=1236&loc=P&catid=7.2

On the 'good TV' debate, both series of 'Mad Men' and 'Californication' are well worth a look, even though RTE and TV3 stick them in the late night time-slots.

CSI is the biggest load of crap on TV. Especially that Ginger knob and the wooden blondie in Miami. Half of them should have stuck to porn or whatever they did before they got a part as the simply cannot act.

I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools

TYP great call, I love the Likely Lads on Gold, the comedy is timeless plus I always sky plus Yes Minister/Yes prime Minister after it, hilarious stuff too.
I actually watch more repeats on Gold than I do of shows on for the first time!

Honourable mentions for,
Californication
Entourage - lost a bit of oomph this series so far though, just can't but the Turtle/Jamie Lyn-Sigler thing  ???  Gary Cole (AKA Jack Kllian) is a welcome addition though
30 Rock on 3e was brilliant too but the series has finished a few weeks ago.

rashCharacter

No mention of the Wire, great show.

Archie Mitchell

Quote from: rashCharacter on August 14, 2009, 10:18:35 AM
No mention of the Wire, great show.

The Wire is that good it got it's own thread!

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: muppet on August 13, 2009, 08:05:01 PM
Why do I only seem to find rubbish such as:

Are you smarter than a 10 year old?
Don't forget the lyrics.

Do people pay to advertise during this drivel? (That's a question not a programme but you'd never know with Sky)

Get away from Sky 1 and go down through the other pages of Entertainment, there are often some really good shows on some of those channels.  For the most part Sky 1 and 2 are the worst TV channels on digital.

I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools

I think Doogie Browser told me he got a reeling DVD for Christmas last year?

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 14, 2009, 04:24:47 PM

I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools

I think Doogie Browser told me he got a reeling DVD for Christmas last year?
Yes I did Santa!  Its great, I watched it in one afternoon, brilliant if you like that kind of stuff.

I love that kind of stuff Doogie.

Quote from: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 05:27:14 PM
I love that kind of stuff Doogie.
Ziggy this DVD is for you then, its 4-5 hours of old music, news stories, sporting events.  Brilliant.

Good man. Didn't know it was on DVD until I read it here.

Quote from: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 05:30:43 PM
Good man. Didn't know it was on DVD until I read it here.
if I was anyway technically minded I could copy it but sorry thats just not me!  It was available for 15 quid or less AFAIK and is the kind of DVD you could watch a few times.  I think it would be good with a few mates and a feed of drink, bit of reminiscing but I am prob just an anorak  :-[

Quote from: tyrone86 on August 14, 2009, 05:31:54 PM
Up to date with House now, Band of Brothers currently downloading, Season 3 of Mad men back on in America on Sunday. What should next on the agenda? I'm thinking Bones or Regenesis - or any other recommendations?

Breaking Bad