Tommy Breheny resigns as Sligo boss - Tommy Jordan takes over

Started by Owenmoresider, October 09, 2007, 11:04:51 PM

Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2007, 05:48:01 PM
PLEASE PLEASE - steal J Maughan from us..... we might even pay ye...
Things aren't that desperate yet, and i'm not sure how they will ever manage to get that desperate either. ;D

One point re Johnson - his last game as manager previously was our worst ever c'ship defeat, in Salthill in 1990. At least we've got away from that kind of form, but I don't see him as the man for the job. Not a huge number of viable options though.

what about Liam mchale, david Brady and John Casey. All three have experiance managing clubs teams in sligo , and should have a good ideas of the talent. Mchale also has some intercounty experience.

Quote from: joemamas on October 13, 2007, 08:56:34 PM
what about Liam mchale, david Brady and John Casey. All three have experiance managing clubs teams in sligo , and should have a good ideas of the talent. Mchale also has some intercounty experience.
Brady and Casey are training teams, not managing them. Indeed they are involved with the same team (Easkey), who played in the semi-final replay on the same day as the Mayo final, something of an inconvenience for Easkey.

highking

Any word on the street as to who will be taking over from Tom Brehony yet

Not a (reliable) word. Some talk on the Sligo Hoganstand page (reliability central!) about Tom Jordan of Crossmolina. A good manager alright but I'd be surprised if he wanted it.

From OceanFM's website:

Sligo GAA manager appointment is imminent. Nov 01, 6:59 am

In Gaelic games news, there is speculation today that former Roscommon senior football star Fergal O Donnell has emerged as the frontrunner to become the new Sligo senior football team manager. O Donnell managed the Roscommon minor team to the All Ireland minor title in 2006.
An announcement on the appointment of the new manager is expected to be made on Monday night.

My initial reaction is that he would be an excellent choice.

Quote from: magpie seanie on November 01, 2007, 02:57:44 PM
From OceanFM's website:

Sligo GAA manager appointment is imminent. Nov 01, 6:59 am

In Gaelic games news, there is speculation today that former Roscommon senior football star Fergal O Donnell has emerged as the frontrunner to become the new Sligo senior football team manager. O Donnell managed the Roscommon minor team to the All Ireland minor title in 2006.
An announcement on the appointment of the new manager is expected to be made on Monday night.

My initial reaction is that he would be an excellent choice.
another guy in the breheny mould in terms of being 100% committed to the sligo cause.
Will he be as tactically astute as the outgoing boss though ?
I thought Breheny was darn good

Shite, I didn't see this, and went and posted it on the club scene thread!

Could be a good choice indeed. Doubtless the Rossies will approve of it too. ;D

QuoteI feel that Charlie Mulgrew would be a good appointment for Sligo. I know you had a bad experience with the last Fermanagh manager you appointed but Charlie is a different type of Manager. Only problem for Sligo now is that unless the new man wins a Connacht title they will be seen as a failure. After not getting the Donegal job i think Charlie will be anxious to stay involved in county football and its only 70 miles from Letterkenny to Sligo Town.

there was not to many tears in enniskillen when he left

Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 01, 2007, 03:28:23 PM
Could be a good choice indeed. Doubtless the Rossies will approve of it too. ;D

FFS  >:( and meanwhile we're left with you know who  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Please Fergie think of the children  :'(- stay with your own
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

paddypastit

Players say it's definitely not going to be Fergie and are none too enthusiastic about Mulgrew.  Will we hear Tuesday?
come disagree with me on http://gushtystuppencehapenny.wordpress.com/ and spread the word

Brendan Kilcoyne may be still in the frame I hear.

Pietas

Quote from: Bensars on October 12, 2007, 12:24:41 PM
Quote from: glenswilly gael on October 10, 2007, 09:41:41 AM
I feel that Charlie Mulgrew would be a good appointment for Sligo. I know you had a bad experience with the last Fermanagh manager you appointed but Charlie is a different type of Manager. Only problem for Sligo now is that unless the new man wins a Connacht title they will be seen as a failure. After not getting the Donegal job i think Charlie will be anxious to stay involved in county football and its only 70 miles from Letterkenny to Sligo Town.

They reckon hes even worsr than Dom Corrigan.

Some of the stories i heard coming from the fermanagh camp were hilarious. Think he just got lucky with the most talented squad fermanagh had in years

Fermanagh players are never done bitchin about their manager(s).  Bit like the Rossies, but at least Fermanagh have actually achieved something recently, even if they haven't won an Ulster title.  Roscommon should start looking at the quality of their own club championship and general attitude and application of their players instead of giving out about Maughan.
In Roman mythology, Pietas was the goddess of duty to one's state, gods and family.

Quote from: Pietas on November 05, 2007, 12:36:57 PM

Fermanagh players are never done bitchin about their manager(s).  Bit like the Rossies, but at least Fermanagh have actually achieved something recently, .
Please enlighten us as I seems to have missed it  :o
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Any more word on this? There's been so many names ruled in and out, sure Stan might get it yet.

Kilcoyne - a Tubber man, it's possible....