Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

Wee Roddy

To me Donaghmore have gone backwards since the retirement of Gareth Hughes. If they had any ball winning forwards apart from Seamie Mulgrew to get the ball to McGinn they would take a lot of beating. To take Mulgrew off with the game still in the frying pan against Coalisland was one of the worst management decisions of the year. I would ask the question is there a bit of internal politics in the club? There has been Hetheringtons captains the past number of years I have been  told.

Oneillcup2007 I would like to point out to you one thing. Just because Coalislands games are better attended does not mean that the Tyrone championship is better attended. Where have Coalislands supporters been in recent years? But I would say that a Fianna victory would inspire other teams.
Lets see how Fianna handle the county champions tag in the league play offs ;) ;)

paradiseatdunmoyle

:D ;D ;D ;D oneillcup2007 you have made my day with statements like that. any wonder as each championship match you take part in more people are growing till hate your supporters. win a championship in this era before you call yourselves a great team. carmen and errigal  have shared 12 of the last 14 championship so dont come on here saying there not good teams. yes they hit hard but with players like hugh quinn, pascal canavan, emett mcginley, ciaran mcaleer and gaby mccallan what do you want them till do? hold back on their strength. we have some young boys coming through although yes its clear too many of carmens young men have won championships too easy. men like plunkett mccallan, peter loughran, barney gormley, mcgarrity, conor mcaleer, big seamie all learned the hard way. they had won various league titles before making the breakthrough. our boys have won ulsters so well see how coalisland do against the big men lik cross and ballinderry. let mcconville and gilligan put manners on you.
well spoke roddy well be going all guns blazing for a league title as well and hers hoping the island cant cope with us both

oneillcup2007

Its only a bit of craic lads, dont take it too seriously.  No team will fear the old big 2 ever again, because them teams are over, but on hidsight the older players were special alright. i dont think Fianna will be interetsed in leagues if we take home theoneillcup2007

paradiseatdunmoyle

so you wouldnt fear a full strength errigal team who against donaghmore were missing paul quinn and cormac mcginley. i would fear that. mcginn wouldnt have gotten half the ball he got if quinn hada been fit. another factor emmet mcginley might not be the most skillfull but he knows what it takes to win championship games. and would you not fear carmen forms at the minute add to that mark donnelly, peter loughran and pearse cuningham who will all be back hungry next year after missing last year

ONeillcup2007. You really are starting to make me smile now. Coalisland may or may not win the cup this year but what ever happens it will not make them anything like Carmen or Errigal. These teams have earned respect and fear over a period of 15 years. Teams come and go but these two are always there. When Coalisland have 5 or 6 championships and a couple of Ulster club titles I might engage conversation with you on who is the better team but until then just be a good wee boy and keep quiet. ;D
By the way, Errigal Ciaran was formed in 1991. It is not 2 or 3 clubs joined up but in fact the renaming of Ballygawley St Ciarans. This is fact.  ;)

It colud be an interesting league play off !

Regarding Donaghmore, I heard a lot of Donaghmore supporters groaning when the management took off Seamie Mulgrew - they couldn't believe it and in truth neither could I - bearing in mind that there were a lot worse than him - 
I don't know if there are politics in the club or not but there's some politics in every club - the Hetheringtons would probably have a lot of say in the club -

There was a lot of surprise that Paddy Doherty wasn't on sooner.
In saying that I thought Coalisland were a much better side all round.

Deal_Me_In

QuoteOn paper, it's hard to look past The Rock but Palor McNulty has taken more teams out of Junior Football than any other man in the county.
Is that a fact Tyrone?

I know he took, Beragh, Urney (At least once) and Owen Roes out of div 3....Newtown as well?

Just for the record Palor never to Beragh to Junior Success, He took them to the Intermediate double in 2000

Wee Roddy

It could be Orangeman. As it stand at the minute it is Carmen Coalisland Errigal and Dromore. What do you think would happen Coalisland if they are beat in the county final? I would predict a meltdown for the rest of the year!

Carrickmore's average age at the minute is in and around the 25 bracket. People forget that they won a championship in 2005 with a very young team without Ronan McGarrity to the final, Brain Gormley and Seamus McCallan. Add to that back to back U21 titles and a minor title in the past few years and you get it why Carmen are so optimistic. I don't mean to sound arrogant but if Dromore win the championship then the biggest obstacle to our lads winning the league will be Errigal.

Orangeman, you can stand for this. Ardboe won a senior title in 1998 with a team maybe younger than Coalislands. Great things were expected and nothing materialised due to a number of factors, not all football related so the Fianna would need to keep the heads on the ground

What a load of shite lads, gossiping on here like auld women Shame on ye all  :D.  Donaghmore had 2 players with flu in the run up to the game who ran out of steam.  An atrocious second half perfromance, 3 poor referereeing calls and a Coalisland team that frankly havent been given the credit they deservedly beat Donaghmore.  As for the internal politics - no way sir - not biting.  Whilst we might be starved of success we are no worse off than Carmen, Errigal, Ardboe and all them teams this morning. We will like everyone else be trying to improve a little for next year.  As the saying goes if you dont look up you are looking down.  Good luck to Coalisland and Also to Noel Mc Ginn's Dromore in the final.      

Wee Roddy

Your right.....but he started it :'( :'(
Seriously though Donaghmore are a team who have a lot of respect throughout the county and you dont hear them talking about Ulsterclubs before a county semi final!

Now now RRHF - Taking Seamie Mulgrew off was in the words of one poster, one of the most ridiculous managerial decisions of the year - there was no word of flu in the run up to the game and had that been he case, then the flu victims should have been taken off or not started !

Would you have played Paddy Doherty instead from the start ?

Poor refereeing decisions ? Don;t think s0  - ok the referee wasn't brilliant but he didn't lose the game for Donaghmore or win it for Coalisland -

I respect that you have to defend your club at all times, but as well as looking up, it is good at times to look back as well at mistakes that may have been made - personally I thought the decision to take off Mulgrew was mad - and I thought Doherty ( who is one for the future ) should have been on earlier - if my memory serves me right, Doherty was one the few players for Donaghmore against Dromore in last year's league final -

By the way, I'm trying to see both sides here, as you will have noticed that I had praised Donaghmore for gettting to the semi final and having Coalisland on the ropes at half time.

And balanced you always were, Orangeman, As you will also notice I dont singularly blame the linesman and referee for wrong calls.  My fear if I was a coalisland man would be that after an inept performance by the opposition there was only 3 points in it. 
As for blaming managers, maybe we should look at where the action really happens.  ie on the pitch.  Donaghmore were simply not good enough, so what....  If you follow my posts back I believed Coalislanad were a better team and they have proved that.  I dont think anyybody gave us a prayer against Errigal and that team progressed through, whilst they couldnt sustain it thye played some good football over the chqampionship and didnt concede any goals.

loughshore lad

Quote from: Wee Roddy on September 28, 2007, 11:48:40 AM

Orangeman, you can stand for this. Ardboe won a senior title in 1998 with a team maybe younger than Coalislands. Great things were expected and nothing materialised due to a number of factors, not all football related so the Fianna would need to keep the heads on the ground

you are entirely correct here wee Roddy and this is an excellent example of how Coalisland should tread vrey carefully. Silly talk of winning numerous championships, ulster clubs etc can have very detrimental effects on young players. Yes Coalisland are an excellent footballing side but the Carmen and Errigal sides of the last 10-15 years have well and truly set the benchmark for club football in Tyrone. They were capable of playing great football and mixing it at the same time - that is what championship football is all about, I saw both play great games of football and also grind out results when the going was tough.
Ability will almost take to you to top of the hill but it wont take you over it, quite often it is not the most gifted men who pull you over the line but the seasoned campaigners how have both the will and know how to win. Ardboe post 98 were an excellent example of this - the younger players had all the talent in the world but they couldnt cope with the retirement and loss of seasoned campaigners.
Coalisland complained about Errigals physical approach in the semi final of the championship last year but what did they expect?? Errigal to just hand it to them on a plate and roll over??
The thing I will find most interesting in the county final is how will Coalisland cope when Dromore are in their face and putting it up to them?? There is no doubting the footballing ability of this Coalisland team but they have a long way to go before they can be considered the main team in Tyrone football.

Agreed Loughshorelad  - Ardboe have definitely been one the big underachievers of the era - winning one championshio with the squad of players they had was a very poor return - you're entirely right - talent can get to the top of the hill but talent alone will win nothing  - you need that extra wee bit - and Carmen and Errigal had it everyway. Sadly we didn't and we don't now.