Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

That's a bit over the top O'Neill cup 2007 ! I wouldn't like to get Carmen or Errigal in the first round or any round next year ?

oneillcup2007

Id fear Ardbe with Brian Mc Guigan on more.  Errigal are done, and carmen are a good league team, I think the championship over the next few years is going to be more and more about the most skillful team winning it.  Thats why this year I fancy the Fianna. 

tyrone86

Unbelievable! Carmen a good league team? Errigal done? O'Neillcup, I'd suggest you look at the roll of honour of your namesake before coming out with statements like that.

oneillcup2007

I think you'll find that if you amagamate any clubs you will create success where there was none.  I have no respect for teams that play such bad football and thump off the ball to start rows etc, in order to wreck the oppositions dreams.
There will be a different name on the oneillcup2007.

Wee Roddy

Never thought i would say this but come on Dromore!!

The Errigal and Carmen players of that era should sell a few of their medals and buy thon Island boy a new Caravan.

Incidentally Carmen have got 13 players still playing who played in last years final. Basically the same team this past few years who played 15 championship games, losing 1 and coming within a bad refereeing decision of winning the 3 in a row. So thats the form of a good league team alright.

oneillcup2007

wee Roddy you have read it wrong.. It always too k the big men to scare of the others,  Brian and Fergal Gormley, ciaran Loughran,  Seamus Mc Callan,  all true greats of Tyrone club football, but the younger generation are i  no doubt are more suited to league football.  Even when Carmen had 2 in a row they still needed to bring on the oldstuff in last years final against Errigal to sort them out - the young guys arent good enough, not the same team at all.  .  The clubs will suffer for failing to give the young lads the opportunities they deserve.  Even if Dromore managed to beat Coalisland, I would put tham as a much better chamspionship winner that the last 2 winners,.

I have to stand up for Carmen and Errigal here - they have dominated the club scene here for years and years and fair play to them - people can say that Errigal are an imalagamtion of 2/3 clubs - I don't really know - but Carmen are more than a good league team and Errigal are far from finished - both teams ran us ragged this year.

Not taking anything away from Coalisland or Dromre who are both two very good teams -  Coalisland and Dromore are in the final this year - may the best team win -

But it's a bit premature to be writing Errgial and Carmen off yet !

Big Mickey

think its harsh to call carmen a dirty team. out of all the times iv played against them,never had a problem with them,always bn tuff and hard,mayb not always fair but hey who is???
they just get on with the game. none of this mouthin,goading in ur face shit that alot of teams have started (bit controversial bt talkin about coalisland here).

hoopsaaa

Carmen (in particular) and Errigal have history the rest of us are trying to make history.

new devil

Quote from: oneillcup2007 on September 27, 2007, 05:01:18 PM
The Errigal and carmen was good if you were from Errigal and Carrmen but not really for anyone else.  In the early days both teams didnt know how to behave on a football field, and allthroughout their rivalry they ground good foorball teams into the ground.  As for crowds there was more at the Fianna V Donaghmore last Sunday than there was at last years county final, and this years county final will be a record.  Anyone who wants to see a bundle of auld done men take a hand out of each other see the Nally stand opening.  Anybody wants to see  the new and traditional powers that be in Tyrone football go to this years county final.  I know which one ill be going to..     

You really are a silly c**t   :D :D
The last time i seen "the island' play was last years c'ship when yous beat kildress by a point, kildress were missing 5 first team players and yous only scraped by... I fail to see how yous could improve that much in little over a year

tyrone86

Quote from: oneillcup2007 on September 27, 2007, 05:42:29 PM
wee Roddy you have read it wrong.. It always too k the big men to scare of the others,  Brian and Fergal Gormley, ciaran Loughran,  Seamus Mc Callan,  all true greats of Tyrone club football, but the younger generation are i  no doubt are more suited to league football.  Even when Carmen had 2 in a row they still needed to bring on the oldstuff in last years final against Errigal to sort them out - the young guys arent good enough, not the same team at all.  .  The clubs will suffer for failing to give the young lads the opportunities they deserve.  Even if Dromore managed to beat Coalisland, I would put tham as a much better chamspionship winner that the last 2 winners,.

That's the first time I've heard Brian Gormley and Ciaran Loughran referred to as big men but I digress. I'll agree with tram, with the exception of the McGinnity reign in 05 Errigal have been a great team to watch over the years. But I'd disagree with this theory that's Carmen are a workmanlike team and not much more. Yes they work very hard for each other and have been known to grind out results even when they're not playing particularly well, but they always have 10 or 15 minutes of top drawer football in every game. I can't remember what year it was, possibly '04, they played Killyclogher in a replay in Healy. It was a typical Killyclogher game in that period under that man McGinnity again - dogged, hard hitting and start stop. But in the last 10 minutes Carrickmore played some spellbinding football to end Killyclogher's reign as county champions. Fair enough, both Errigal and Carmen can be ruthless and, on occasion, dabble in the black arts but the roll of honour speaks for itself. 12 titles between them in the last 15 championships. Since you're the man asking the question - what's so different in the make up of the Fianna '07 as compared to Killyclogher '03 or Ardboe '98? You have to earn respect from the county and 12 titles speak for themselves.

tyrone exile

new devil "the island" have improved alot from last year. i was at that match in question and they might have been poor that day but kildress were even poorer, was at a few of there matches this year and can easily say there going to win the oneill cup, that and thers nothing in there way, dromore should have been put out at the quarters by a very determined kildress team, they got pass cookstown in a scrappy affair but i dont think theyl be so lucky come october!

This is really a distraction - Errigal and Carmen have been the standard bearers - it's up to Coalisland and Dromore to match them - somehow I can't see it happening -

oneillcup2007

Ok Ill keep my opinions to myself on this question, however to move the debate on for all the weeping and nashing of teeth, i dont think anyone can deny that the 2 best senior teams of 2007 have made the oneillcup2007 final.  And the football has been more exciting and the games better attended.  One regret I will have for this year was the chance to put to bed that Carman and errigal were always kept apart in the Draw, if they had been fit to winb their games they would have met at the quarter final stage - what chances this will happen again next year.  In fairness I believe next year you will have a resurgent Ardboe, a toothy Carmen, a horse of an Errigal team, a more experienced Cookstown and Donaghmore set up, the holders Fianna, and an even hungrier but cursed Dromore team.  I can tell you now next years senior championship will have many big names falling early as the quality level of Tyrone football continues to rise.  Bring on the oneillcup2008

What did you think of Donagmore this year ? They seemed to get no credit for beating Errigal ( twice ) and had Coalisland on the ropes at half time.