Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

Put Up That Flag

Quote from: trileacman on August 18, 2015, 10:09:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 18, 2015, 10:08:13 PM
BennyHarp, my worry is we've been abject at scoring goals recently. It loooked like there was a clear 'take your points' strategy against Sligo. Other top teams would have grabbed a bagful of goals that day.

Agreed. It's this team's major problem.

Yeah, scoring goals is the teams problems!!! Says a lot about Tyrone folk when that is considered the problem in a team that is rife at cheating,  diving, sledging,  cynical tactics and all the dark arts that results in every game ye are involved in getting brought down into the gutter, wont see any of that from the Kerry boys who are fabulous footballers who I can't wait to see hammer the dirtiest team in the competition for the last decade or so

Quote from: trileacman on August 18, 2015, 10:09:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 18, 2015, 10:08:13 PM
BennyHarp, my worry is we've been abject at scoring goals recently. It loooked like there was a clear 'take your points' strategy against Sligo. Other top teams would have grabbed a bagful of goals that day.

Agreed. It's this team's major problem.

It is a worry, but if we get anywhere near 17 or 18 points then I'd be hopeful enough of winning the game. The key is to keep the scoreboard ticking over. Getting points consistently after Monaghan scored was what broke any head of steam they tried to muster. Had we tried to engineer goals instead of popping the breakaway points, we were risking coming away scoreless and giving Monaghan a chance to get a few scores in a row. I thought that was excellent game management. Throughout the qualifiers we have been controlling the game by kicking points every 3 or 4 mins and keeping teams at arms length, we haven't really needed the goal. However,  I'd still be confident enough that if McCurry, McAliskey, Donnelly, Cavanagh or Petey Harte had the opportunity they are more than capable of hitting the net. Kerry have conceded a lot of goals in their 3 Munster games, we may just get those chances on Sunday and this time we need to take them.

Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 18, 2015, 10:12:58 PM
for sure its the uk,you do change your money before a night out in the pale? ;)

???
So we're not the most hated county in the Republic then?

Rodman

How can you be bothered peddling out this nonsense. You're neither funny nor managing to wind people up. I bet your sitting on your computer (whenever your parents let you) laughing to yourself whenever you post one of your unfunny comments thinking everyone from Tyrone will be going mad, when in reality everyone just feels sorry for you.  Try making a sensible contribution, go on, have a go and prove your over 12 years old.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Are there moderators here or what's the story? Have asked this before I'm sure..cos if shite like the above is ok, then we might aswell forget about it.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 18, 2015, 10:37:08 PM
Are there moderators here or what's the story? Have asked this before I'm sure..cos if shite like the above is ok, then we might aswell forget about it.

Exactly, I have been checking out the Kerry board all week, some good football chat there sans infants.

paddyoslabs

ah lads sur we are only having the craic,lighten up.hope sunday will be a good open game of football,and may the best football team win.

paddyoslabs

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 18, 2015, 10:22:25 PM

???

Joe everybody in the republic hates ye.iam not trying to upset you here,but its true lad.just a fact,can you not see why?seriously

Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 18, 2015, 11:13:00 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 18, 2015, 10:22:25 PM

???

Joe everybody in the republic hates ye.iam not trying to upset you here,but its true lad.just a fact,can you not see why?seriously

paddyoslabs

ah joe. :(stop the messing ye boy ya.we are trying to discuss the game here.

Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 18, 2015, 11:31:59 PM
ah joe. :(stop the messing ye boy ya.we are trying to discuss the game here.

Just wondering which it is....????

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 18, 2015, 11:05:46 PM
ah lads sur we are only having the craic,lighten up.hope sunday will be a good open game of football,and may the best football team win.

If that's your idea of "craic" then you might just stick to the hurling threads. You've contributed nothing but nonsense in your few posts here so far.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Ok since the thread police are out in force I thought I better buck up and put in a serious preview ;)

I agree will Skillfull Bill about hammering the hammer (to borrow a Kerry phrase) if we are to win this. And despite a team with seriously talented forwards, its the midfield that is Kerry's strongest area. They absolutely decimated a decent Kildare midfield and have probably the two best midfielders in the country.

With that said tho Alan O'Connor had a savage game in the Munster final, and the desire of the Kildare team last day out, may have been questionable. We also have two powerful midfielders, but I am not sure they are the sort of possession winners that the Kerry pair are.

So what are we to do? Well first off we need to be smart with the kickouts. Long kickouts are a danger and if they force us to go long we need to be prepared to savage them if they win primary possession, kill for the breaks and to vary their range and direction.

The short kickouts are dangerous of course, but we have the players who can carry the ball out of defence. And also how much pressure will the Kerry forwards  put on if we go for that option? Are Donaghy and Walsh are the only two that would be renowed as pressurising style of forwards? Will the rest be up for it? We should find that out early on. Hard to see Fitzmaurice letting them away with being slack in this department tho. Oh and Morgan needs to wear a hat... no repeats of Durkan's AIF fiasco.

On a side note since Cluxton brought the kickouts to a new level, kickouts are becoming as a refined an area as lineouts in rugby

Giving away frees within range is another worry as Sheehan's range is huge and accurate, we must be very disciplined in this area. But again sometimes he has off days with the longer ones, so increasing the tackling intensity gradually as we move from the scoring area would be a good way to gauge where he is at and also a good way of gauging what Deegan is gonna blow.

I'm not overly concerned with Kerry's forwards individually, as someone like JOD can be nullified in the sweeper system. The worry is as a unit, they have a lot of options to go in high, go in low, Gooch with the pinpoint passes, the movement, the unselfishness of Kerry forwards and long range point scoring all things that collectively could unlock our defensive system. It will be a real test of the system and our concentration, we need every player to be aware of all of Kerry's options, be able to recognise them and know what to do when they have been enacted.

Our forward area should be interesting and despite some fellas talking about the old legs of the Kerry FB line they are still quality, good heads, tho our FFs do need to keep moving and making runs to test their fitness. Enright has really came into his own this year and I think he actually kept Hurley scoreless in the 2 Cork games. He is extremely physical and will likely be their main man marker. Could Kerry be susceptible to balls over the top if we play far up the field as their defenders are always in front? Maybe... although I doubt we would risk that too many with our possession game. Tho I think our running and offload game is a good match for their defence, thats the way Cork's goals came. In saying that it would be full hardy to think that Fitzmaurice wont have his homework done on this, it kept working against Monaghan so we kept doin it, we need to be adpatbale and have several attacking plans to keep them guessin as we are coming forward. 

As a whole I think we have it in us to win this match, its a massive massive test, way bigger than Monaghan. Monaghan have a limited range of options and styles so they were much easier to prepare for, while Kerry have many options and these all have to prepared for. The level of difficulty is steadily increasing this year and it is has been a useful way to bring players on, boost morale and team spirit, and getting into the winning habit. But most importantly I believe it means we concentrate fully on the game in hand and wont be looking at the future potential games.

Don't know how McCanngate will affect the match if at all apart from the player in question, and Mr Deegan, who I dont believe will be. Its a massive test of his character the whole thing and here's hoping that he gets the chance to play and prove his mental strength.

Quote from: omagh_gael on August 18, 2015, 10:39:55 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 18, 2015, 10:37:08 PM

Exactly, I have been checking out the Kerry board all week, some good football chat there sans infants.

Where's the Kerry board?