Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 09:48:19 PM

Title: How much would you spend on a wedding present?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 09:48:19 PM
I've been reading this shit on football365
http://forum.football365.com/index.php?t=msg&th=137474&prevloaded=1&&start=0 (http://forum.football365.com/index.php?t=msg&th=137474&prevloaded=1&&start=0)
No need to read it all - Irish boy is getting married expects to get 150 euro on average from his guests - he thinks people should pay for their food by giving the cash as a wedding present and is getting a lot of abuse.  A knob imo but the concerning thing is that a fair few irish posters seem to be jumping in to argue it's reasonable to expect this from wedding guests? It's the done thing in Ireland apparently - news to me!

So how much would you spend or put in an envelope for a wedding present?

Title: Re: How much would you spend on a wedding present?
Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 09:49:51 PM
Always been suggested that your gift should at least cover the cost of your meal. I think thats all fine and well - if you can afford it.

I wouldnt be going broke on a wedding present.
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 15, 2008, 09:52:08 PM
in england, unless your v close to the couple, its usually about 50 quid per couple. In some cases a lot less, in our case six of her closest mates got together and managed to collect  the grand sum of £80 . Tends to be a lot more generous in Ireland.
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2008, 09:53:01 PM
A wedding is merely a money making exercise nowadays, nothing more or less.
Post by: gerry on October 15, 2008, 09:54:29 PM
at a wedding last Saturday, put £100 in a card.  the married couple had a small wedding list and wanted cash, hence the 340 guests asked to it.

i suppose if i was getting married again (perish the though) i  ask a few hundred, sure it bound to be easiest way of getting a few pound
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 09:57:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 15, 2008, 09:53:01 PM
Agree there.
It's ridiculous.
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 09:58:37 PM

the general consensus here is that you give 100 euro if your going with a guest and 50 if your going by yourself... personally i thinks it's fair!

and did you know according to "mr hobbs" that if you were gong to invite 200 ppl to your wedding it is actually economically better to increase it 300 as you will more than likely break-even on your big day!
Post by: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 09:59:22 PM
Would'nt give less than 200 €uros! weddings are fierce expensive now - average cost of a modest feed can be 60 or 70 euros a head!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:00:49 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 09:59:22 PM
Would'nt give less than 200 €uros! weddings are fierce expensive now - average cost of a modest feed can be 60 or 70 euros a head!
Where you posting on that thread?
Why is it up to you to cover the cost of someone else's choice of food for you?
Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 10:01:49 PM

If Im ever doing it again - you are the first one on the invitation.
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2008, 10:02:32 PM
My missus's cousin got married last year, this fella would go up your arse for a pound and invited over 200 people, he made it very apparent he wanted cash. At the last count he made £17k when all the bills were paid............
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:04:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 10:01:49 PM

Sssh, this is my way of sorting out who from the board is being invited to my wedding.

I doubt he's talking shite minder.
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2008, 10:06:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:04:09 PM

Sssh, this is my way of sorting out who from the board is being invited to my wedding.

His sister told us and i would believe her.
Post by: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 10:06:56 PM
I'm not terrible flush with cash but are youse all hungry oors or wha? Bands, DJ's,  Flowers, Limos, wine, cake, Video, Photographer, dresses, suits, stationary, fake tan etc etc must all be paid for on top of the feed!
Post by: gerry on October 15, 2008, 10:07:41 PM
i am the first on your list pints, as i give £100 and you have only one dinner to buy
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2008, 10:10:36 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 10:06:56 PM
I'm not terrible flush with cash but are youse all hungry oors or wha? Bands, DJ's,  Flowers, Limos, wine, cake, Video, Photographer, dresses, suits, stationary, fake tan etc etc must all be paid for on top of the feed!

If you cant afford to get married dont have the "big day", why should everyone else foot the bill?
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 10:10:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:04:09 PM

but if you were getting married across the water people would have to pay for flights/ferry so that would have to be taken into account when it came to the present!
Post by: Down Gael on October 15, 2008, 10:11:40 PM

Exactly.

A friend of ours got married last year. All the mates got together to decide what we were going to donate give in lieu of a wedding gift and we decided on €200 per couple. I thought it was a fair enough amount, so did the groom, but the bride wasnt so happy. She expected €500 from each couple and made her feelings known.
Wasnt a geat wedding either.
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 10:12:15 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 15, 2008, 10:10:36 PM
I'm not terrible flush with cash but are youse all hungry oors or wha? Bands, DJ's,  Flowers, Limos, wine, cake, Video, Photographer, dresses, suits, stationary, fake tan etc etc must all be paid for on top of the feed!

If you cant afford to get married dont have the "big day", why should everyone else foot the bill?

fake tan........... for the man or woman or both?
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 10:13:37 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on October 15, 2008, 10:11:40 PM

Exactly.

A friend of ours got married last year. All the mates got together to decide what we were going to donate give in lieu of a wedding gift and we decided on €200 per couple. I thought it was a fair enough amount, so did the groom, but the bride wasnt so happy. She expected €500 from each couple and made her feelings known.

christ i know what i would have told her!!!!!!!!!
Post by: midLouth on October 15, 2008, 10:13:56 PM
Really depends on the people involved, my best mate got married this year so I gave them something more than what has been mentioned here. Would normally be around the 150 mark if I got on well with them. Cover your seat and a bit extra.
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 15, 2008, 10:15:38 PM
Ive no idea how much we got , and dont really give a shit either, invite the people you want to be there, not the people your ma and da owes a day out too.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:15:56 PM
I'm not terrible flush with cash but are youse all hungry oors or wha? Bands, DJ's,  Flowers, Limos, wine, cake, Video, Photographer, dresses, suits, stationary, fake tan etc etc must all be paid for on top of the feed!
But it's not your wedding, so why are you paying for those things, you're a guest!

I've only ever been to a couple of weddings - I dont like them, I generally turn down invitations.
Very close friend got 150 stg from me and herself a couple of years ago - but everyone wouldnt get that!
A close member of the family got married a while back, she insisted there was to be no presents - she got a about 80 quid spent on her on a keep sake. 

This craic for evening dos is another rip off.

downgael, pass on her name, she can sit at gerry and comethekingdoms table.
Post by: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 10:17:46 PM

Quote from: Minder on October 15, 2008, 10:10:36 PM

fake tan........... for the man or woman or both?
its easy spot the Ooompa Loompas at a wedding!
Post by: Donagh on October 15, 2008, 10:18:09 PM
Got married recently myself and we just let it be known among the younger guests that cash would be appreciated. We'd no expectations as we knew some people had more to spare than others. The couple will be glad you made the effort to be there and gave them a few quid. Our cash gifts ranged from about £50 a couple to about £200 with most in and around £100 or E100 per couple. They'll have a lot more things to be concerning themselves with rather than bean counting and if they haven't then feck them.

And it was far from a money making exercise - the cash didn't cover a quarter of the costs but we were happy to have an Irish wedding with our family and friends there regardless.
Post by: Bensars on October 15, 2008, 10:19:09 PM
Heard a story from a friend whereby himself and wife had recieved an invitation. In it there was a poem that stated they only wanted money and to make matters worse  it included the bank details of the couple to be married.   Just in case you wanted to transfer money directly into it !

Around my area most people give 100 Stg. Presents would usually be from people not going
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 15, 2008, 10:19:35 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 15, 2008, 10:18:09 PM

And it was far from a money making exercise - the cash didn't cover a quarter of the costs but we were happy to have an Irish wedding with our family and friends there regardless.

Ditto
Post by: Down Gael on October 15, 2008, 10:20:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 15, 2008, 10:13:05 PM
Who would marry a dick like thon?

You would wonder. You`d think t here her she was born with a silver spoon in her mouth, but in truth she was reared by her granny as no one else married her. My mate who married her is a nice lad, but he just agrees with everything she wants. You wouldnt want their overdraft at the minute  :D
Post by: the green man on October 15, 2008, 10:20:17 PM
Full day: Telephone. Evening do: 25-30 quid
Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 10:32:44 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on October 15, 2008, 10:11:40 PM

Exactly.

What kind of circles would someone run in, to where they would expect that an average couple can fork out more than 200$ for a wedding gift? I mean even if you could afford it - 500$ is a serious chunk of change. You could cover christmas for the whole family for that price.
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 10:47:38 PM
What bout those of us who get "and guest" on their invitation.
Also, depending on how close a friend/rellie they are, first it is an engagement pressie, then wedding day and then its the christening pressies.
Those of us who are resigned to the single life get sweet FA- woohoo heres a present to celebrate you not getting engaged  :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 10:55:45 PM
QuoteWhat bout those of us who get "and guest" on their invitation.
How much would you give as a wedding present?  Maybe you can accompany Gerry to mine.
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 10:59:25 PM
I usually give £70 (credit crunch and all that) but prob around £120 for a close mucker.
Congrats BTW-when is the big day?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:05:34 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 15, 2008, 10:59:25 PM
I usually give £70 (credit crunch and all that) but prob around £120 for a close mucker.
Congrats BTW-when is the big day?
That's good, you can go with Gerry.
I haven't decided on the day yet, will need to look at the profit margins.

Have to find someone that will suck my toes as well.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:15:49 PM
€150 usually, if its a close friend then €200

I can stand people who actually send out a list of presents they want in the invitation,I think its the height of ignorance
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:17:10 PM
QuoteI can stand people who actually send out a list of presents they want in the invitation,I think its the height of ignorance
Same here.
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 11:21:17 PM
Why though? I think its a good idea, esp if the couple are living together.
They dont want 5 toasters, kettles etc.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:23:21 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 15, 2008, 11:21:17 PM

Eh maybe because getting married isn't about how many or how good presents you get?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:25:02 PM
If you're going to a wedding of a couple who've been living together you're not going to get them a toaster or kettle.
It's the height of ignorance to assume that people should get you anything - you don't put out christmas or brithday lists do you?
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 11:27:31 PM
Yes but obviously you expect ppl to give gifts by way of tradition so if you already live together and have built a home together, its a bit of guidance for guests-they dont want to be getting something you already have.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 15, 2008, 11:28:44 PM
50 Euro per person.
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 11:29:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:25:02 PM
If you're going to a wedding of a couple who've been living together you're not going to get them a toaster or kettle.
It's the height of ignorance to assume that people should get you anything - you don't put out christmas or brithday lists do you?

Sorry-you are talking brown stuff-you do assume ppl will get you wedding presents
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:29:26 PM

Spot on pints
I know couples who actually admitted they were inviting people they wouldn't care if they ever saw again as they knew they were going to make a profit on every guest that was invited....
If I ever make my gf a honest woman I will have my family and a few very close friends and she will have the same.I certainly won't be telling them they have to buy me a present..Its pure and utter ignorance to do as such IMHO
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 11:29:54 PM

pints when you do get married and get your "toes sucked" (whatever thats about) and get f$%k all presents you should come back to this thread and see how you feel then!
Post by: milltown row on October 15, 2008, 11:31:20 PM
i'd no control over wedding and didn't really want to, to be honest its the womans day. they dream of it and for them it has to be right, wedding gifts are part of it and i'd prefer actually going to a wedding with a gift that will actually be put into use as opposed to being stuck up in th attic (i've a few up there)

we went and done the Debenhams thingy for my wedding many years ago. everything was got. you go and pick loads of stuff and if they get them then grand, if not it didn't really matter. one familly usually still turns up with the money in a card, the other gets gifts.

anyone looking a porcelin holy book :D
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2008, 11:33:15 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 15, 2008, 11:29:54 PM

pints when you do get married and get your "toes sucked" (whatever thats about) and get f$%k all presents you should come back to this thread and see how you feel then!

He will be too busy trying to flog his 15 toasters/kettles and duvet sets on ebay!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:36:50 PM
leenie, maggie - you assume people will give you presents but what I mean is that they should be considered a bonus. giving someone a list of what you want is just cheeky because you're saying "i expect you to get me a present and I dont want any oul shite, will you get me this".

leenie, why wouldnt I get any presents for my wedding?

QuoteHe will be too busy trying to flog his 15 toasters/kettles and duvet sets on ebay!
nah i wouldnt sell anything anyone bought me.
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 11:47:04 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:36:50 PM
leenie, maggie - you assume people will give you presents but what I mean is that they should be considered a bonus. giving someone a list of what you want is just cheeky because you're saying "i expect you to get me a present and I dont want any oul shite, will you get me this".

leenie, why wouldnt I get any presents for my wedding?

QuoteHe will be too busy trying to flog his 15 toasters/kettles and duvet sets on ebay!
nah i wouldnt sell anything anyone bought me.

all i want is to be in the house of god and have him witness the union of two people who will spend there lives, as joey would put it, giving and receiving and receiving what they give and in return to give what they receive"

presents would a mere bonus as long as i had those dear to me there to see us share our love

and to see me looking pure class..........
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:48:29 PM
That's a bit soppy.
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2008, 11:50:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:48:29 PM
That's a bit soppy.

it's all about the love.................

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 15, 2008, 11:54:44 PM
i thought you were Married Pints, ah well

Your life hasnt ended yet   :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:58:42 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 15, 2008, 11:54:44 PM

ach it's near enough over.
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:01:02 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 11:58:42 PM

i take it your better half isn't a member
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 12:14:36 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:01:02 AM

i take it your better half isn't a member
of the board? no.

why?
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:16:25 AM

it's not the most romantic thing to say
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 12:19:13 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:16:25 AM

Ach I'm only joking! She's a saint, ask anyone that knows us - they're always saying it!
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:20:13 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 12:19:13 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 16, 2008, 12:16:25 AM

Ach I'm only joking! She's a saint, ask anyone that knows us - they're always saying it!

aaaawwwwww
Post by: Puckoon on October 16, 2008, 01:06:32 AM
Stop down playing yourself pints! you are some catch.

(http://images.buycostumes.com/mgen/merchandiser/21994.jpg)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 16, 2008, 01:43:54 AM
100 if alone - 200 with date, covers the food and drinks with some left over for the couple.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 16, 2008, 08:46:46 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 16, 2008, 01:43:54 AM
100 if alone - 200 with date, covers the food and drinks with some left over for the couple.

You talking € or the old £
Post by: full back on October 16, 2008, 08:55:34 AM
Think 'Yes I Would' is getting married in December (said he was going on honeymoon in Dec).

Have you a wedding list or are you looking for the green back?
How many from the board are invited? (Dont ask pog, he will get you feck all)
Post by: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:12:53 AM
£100 is usually the norm around here. That bitch that was demanding 500 Euro from people needs a quare kicking.... ::)
CHEEKY F*CKER!!!
Post by: Onion Bag on October 16, 2008, 09:17:25 AM
Quote from: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:12:53 AM
£100 is usually the norm around here. That bitch that was demanding 500 Euro from people needs a quare kicking.... ::)
CHEEKY F*CKER!!!

Here Here Candyman  ;)
Post by: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:26:16 AM
Whats the norm where you live Onion?? (Where do you live by the way  ;))
She should have got a hand grenade for a present!!!
Post by: Onion Bag on October 16, 2008, 09:28:10 AM
The norm  is £100, I live in Co. Armagh,  ;)

A Hand Grenade and a kick in the teeth, and told to f**k off,

Post by: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:32:59 AM
I'll see ye Sunday sure in the Green & Gold!!  ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2008, 09:38:04 AM
Think the general expectation in the North now is at least £100 STG as a gift.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on October 16, 2008, 09:46:24 AM
Anywhere between £100-£140 in the occupied 6.  Down in Mexico, its between 150 and 200 yoyo's
Post by: tyrone86 on October 16, 2008, 09:50:00 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on October 16, 2008, 09:46:24 AM
Anywhere between £100-£140 in the occupied 6.  Down in Mexico, its between 150 and 200 yoyo's

Per couple or per head?
Post by: full back on October 16, 2008, 09:51:27 AM
Im assuming that is per couple

Thought it was a standard £100 per couple, or am I being a tight b4stard?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on October 16, 2008, 09:52:34 AM
Quote from: full back on October 16, 2008, 09:51:27 AM
Im assuming that is per couple

Thought it was a standard £100 per couple, or am I being a tight b4stard?

Aye, per couple.
Post by: kinghen on October 16, 2008, 09:55:22 AM
the woman's cousin is getting married tomorrow, she wouldnt let me contribute any money towards the wedding present!  I seen her put about £150 into the card when we were writing it, couldve been more cuz i know she was looking around that day for MORE £50 notes!! I'm from Down and from what i can gather from the weddings i've been to is that £50 a head is about right to cover the cost of the meal etc, maybe it is the norm in tyrone for the amount to be larger. (due to other circumstances we're not even goin to the meal/reception) Only thing i'm worried about now is that i have 3 family weddings next year, (and probably a couple of friends weddings too!) I hope that i dont have to fork out the whole amount for all those weddings!!

with regards to weddings being a money making exercise, i thought this was ridiculous, as i thought the costs were too high. but when you look at the figures; say that the wedding is costing you £25,000, then 250 guests averaging £100 a head and you're breaking even! invite an extra 50 guests; costs dont rise too much (economies of scale etc) and youre onto a winner!!
Post by: under the bar on October 16, 2008, 09:55:41 AM
A mate of mine works in the Art College as a lecturer and for every wedding he gets a piece of art from a student who needs beer money.  Cheap-skate opportunist!
Post by: liihb on October 16, 2008, 09:58:08 AM
100 yo yo if you are going by yourself, and 200 if you are bringing the queen....WHat about if you are best man? Are you expected to give more?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on October 16, 2008, 10:00:22 AM
Quote from: kinghen on October 16, 2008, 09:55:22 AM
with regards to weddings being a money making exercise, i thought this was ridiculous, as i thought the costs were too high. but when you look at the figures; say that the wedding is costing you £25,000, then 250 guests averaging £100 a head and you're breaking even! invite an extra 50 guests; costs dont rise too much (economies of scale etc) and youre onto a winner!!

250 guests is a big big wedding.  Plus, weemen like their weddings lists, so say 100 or so people decide to purchase or buy their own gift, suddenly instead of breaking even, you're down £10,000 already
Post by: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 10:10:43 AM
Anyone who wants to make money from their wedding and budgets accordingly to do so is a complete tool!!!
Im getting married in 2028 so i've plenty of time to save... lol  ;)
Post by: kinghen on October 16, 2008, 10:15:02 AM
Quote from: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 10:10:43 AM
Anyone who wants to make money from their wedding and budgets accordingly to do so is a complete tool!!!
Im getting married in 2028 so i've plenty of time to save... lol  ;)

just for the record, i wasnt saying that this is how i would go about doing things, was merely stating that when you look at the figures it might be possible to cover your costs! I agree that anyone that is looking to make money out of their wedding day is an ass hole! but i still think that giving something to cover the cost of your own meal is courteous even if it shouldnt be "expected"
Post by: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 10:17:02 AM
Quote from: full back on October 16, 2008, 08:55:34 AM
Think 'Yes I Would' is getting married in December (said he was going on honeymoon in Dec).

Yes Full Back the big day is looming, although if Downgirl keeps sending me those nudey pics i will have a big decison to make over the next few weeks.
Think 240 invited, expecting about 200 to show considerimg the times we are in and the time of year.
No wedding list provided with CPO (Cash presents Only) very much prefered. Ive been forking out £120 stg this past 3 or 4 years and just assumed that this was now the going rate. Some people will no doubt give a few quid more or a few quid less, so it should even itself out.  
Remember its not about the money its about the lifetime commitment to the woman you love!!

Jeez i hope to god none of the shower that be on here are going although you just wouldnt know.
By the way if anyone wants to offer a monetary donation as a present PM me and i will provide my bank details.

Post by: the Deel Rover on October 16, 2008, 10:17:59 AM
Give betwen €150 and €200 yo yo's for a wedding thankfully most of the lads are married at this stage, i'd nearly prefer a court summons rather than a wedding invite at this stage its gone so expensive  ;)
Post by: full back on October 16, 2008, 10:20:03 AM
Any chance of sending a few of them nudey pics 'yes I would' ?

Do you think the time of year has a bearing on the presents you give to people?

BTW, where is the wedding? If it is in 'Mexico' the exchange rate has fcuked you :-\
Post by: Onion Bag on October 16, 2008, 11:52:26 AM
Quote from: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 09:32:59 AM
I'll see ye Sunday sure in the Green & Gold!!  ;)

Im not a Green and Gold man, I'll be watching as a neutral
Post by: Candyman on October 16, 2008, 11:55:39 AM
AYE RITE!!! bounce on big lad...  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 02:49:46 PM
If someone fairly close was odd enough to get married at a very small ceremony and not invite you would you still get them a present?

I believe no is the correct answer  ;)
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 02:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 02:49:46 PM
If someone fairly close was odd enough to get married at a very small ceremony and not invite you would you still get them a present?

Fcuk thats a bit rough Tony, they must hate you.........
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 03:01:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 02:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 02:49:46 PM

Fcuk thats a bit rough Tony, they must hate you.........
No they're just a bit odd. I have a feeling someone is after the groom! Saves me a few hundred quid anyway which they wouldn't have deserved anyway.
Post by: under the bar on October 16, 2008, 03:01:39 PM
IF you are in it for the dough then invite loads of people that you know won't go.  Senior bosses, CEO, local MP, MEP, Vice Chancellor of Queens, Mary McAleese, The Lord Viceroy of India etc,
Post by: The Gs Man on October 16, 2008, 03:18:10 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 10:17:02 AM

Yes Full Back the big day is looming, although if Downgirl keeps sending me those nudey pics i will have a big decison to make over the next few weeks.
Think 240 invited, expecting about 200 to show considerimg the times we are in and the time of year.
No wedding list provided with CPO (Cash presents Only) very much prefered. Ive been forking out £120 stg this past 3 or 4 years and just assumed that this was now the going rate. Some people will no doubt give a few quid more or a few quid less, so it should even itself out.  
Remember its not about the money its about the lifetime commitment to the woman you love!!

Jeez i hope to god none of the shower that be on here are going although you just wouldnt know.
By the way if anyone wants to offer a monetary donation as a present PM me and i will provide my bank details.

Hullo.  My Name is Prince Comere G'wan Feck from Hoomalooma in Nigeria.

Me got $600million tied up in bank shares that me and you split 50:50.  All I need is your bank account details, yo mammas maiden name, your passport number and what colour of kecks your wearing.
Post by: Maiden1 on October 16, 2008, 05:02:07 PM
Had about 200 at our wedding.  We had been saving for a few years so had it paid for before the wedding.  Not sure if we broke even but had about 10k in the back pocket for the honeymoon in Vegas    :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 07:13:18 PM

people who I like and who aren't actually inviting me for my present would get plenty.
My cousin got married a while back, 300 or soemthing at his wedding, he'd hardly say hello to me if he met me in the street but I was invited to his  ::)  He didn't even get one of those return cards.

QuoteAnywhere between £100-£140 in the occupied 6.  Down in Mexico, its between 150 and 200 yoyo's
If it's not family (that you like) or a close friend I think that's ridiculous.

Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 08:46:01 PM
I am getting married tomorrow, had planned "the big day" for September '09 but couldnt justify the outlay or hassle. Having 2 witnesses at the chapel then going for something to eat afterwards in Nicks Warehouse in Belfast. Usually you have to give at least 3 mths notice to get married but the priest said he would make an exception as he agreed with the way we were doing things. He said he hates seeing young couples getting into debt over the head of one day. He also said if he told a couple that the previous wedding he did had a smoke machine at the front door and the bride walked through it up the aisle the couple would want one............The secrets out
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:54:01 PM
QuoteI am getting married tomorrow,
Jesus minder, congrads.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 08:56:11 PM
Minder are you sure you didn't start off by inviting all your friends and ended up with 2 people? You would need to be a real miserable **** to not even invite your own family to your wedding! ;)
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 08:56:45 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:54:01 PM
Jesus minder, congrads.

Cheers Pints, her sister is one of the witnesses and doesent even know yet !
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 08:57:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 08:56:11 PM
Minder are you sure you didn't start off by inviting all your friends and ended up with 2 people? You would need to be a real miserable c**t to not even invite your own family to your wedding! ;)

You can choose your friends............
Post by: maggie on October 16, 2008, 08:58:00 PM
The board will be with you in spirit-all the best

Although might be time to switch the computer off and go and sort your witnesses out ??? ???
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 09:02:20 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 16, 2008, 08:58:00 PM

Although might be time to switch the computer off and go and sort your witnesses out ??? ???

Balls to that, not my department. She knows to be ready, just not what to be ready for !
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 09:03:28 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 08:56:45 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:54:01 PM
Jesus minder, congrads.

Cheers Pints, her sister is one of the witnesses and doesent even know yet !
ha ha! she'll love that! member of my family done something similar while back - though she invited a few of us! - actually, she told us "you can come if you want".  It was a great day!
Id do it the same way if it was me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2008, 09:08:02 PM
I think Minder getting his affairs in order so close to a huge *alleged* hacking scandal on the gaaboard can be no coincidence. Maybe preparing himself for a long stretch at HMP.
Post by: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 09:08:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 09:02:20 PM

Balls to that, not my department. She knows to be ready, just not what to be ready for !

All the best tomorro Minder. Sounds like a very lucky lady.
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2008, 09:09:34 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 09:08:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 16, 2008, 09:02:20 PM

All the best tomorro Minder. Sounds like a very lucky lady.

She has no idea how lucky
Post by: maggie on October 16, 2008, 09:11:04 PM
im sure she will tomorro nite ;)
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:14:02 PM
christ at the moment i'm surrounded by wedding talk........ having lived away in a bigger smoke than the home place, it was never talked about as alot of my friends the same age and older were single......... but since i have returned home it's all people talk about... and when i meet people i haven't seen in a while it's the same question.....

"so are you giving us a big day then?"

my reply........

"not planning to die just yet!"

nosy buggers
Post by: Yes I Would on October 16, 2008, 09:20:05 PM
But sure half of these weddings are up in smoke within a year.

Girl i work with been married and split once already (shes 29) was engaged last year called it off before xmas, and surprise surprise landed into work last week with another sparkler from the new man. There together a whole 6 months.
Post by: maggie on October 16, 2008, 09:22:11 PM
I used to hate weddings.
All the oldies would poke me and say you're next.
They soon stopped that shite when i did the same to them at funerals  ;D ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 09:25:50 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:14:02 PM
christ at the moment i'm surrounded by wedding talk........ having lived away in a bigger smoke than the home place, it was never talked about as alot of my friends the same age and older were single......... but since i have returned home it's all people talk about... and when i meet people i haven't seen in a while it's the same question.....

"so are you giving us a big day then?"

my reply........

"not planning to die just yet!"

nosy buggers

Why do so many women think that getting married and having babies is the bees knees?

Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:31:43 PM
read it again p.o.g................

my point is that i couldn't give a flying monkeys but it's others that are obsessed...... i'm very happy with my lifestyle, young free and single but others seem to think it's strange! the word spinster has been whispered!
did i say i'm only 26!  a lot more exploring for this girl to do!   ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

as for babies............ i couldn't think of anything worse!
Post by: Puckoon on October 16, 2008, 09:34:11 PM
Have you been to the marble arch caves?
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:35:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 16, 2008, 09:34:11 PM
Have you been to the marble arch caves?

took me a second to get that!!!!!!!!!!

lol good one puck  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 09:38:54 PM
I wasn't talking about you leenie, you've the right attitude.

I've a cousin who's about your age and done really well to get a very decent! job a few years ago, bought a house etc 
I ran in to an old friend of hers a few months after all this and of course I was asked about the cousin.  I told this nosey one about waht she was up to and she'd done well out of uni etc - the nosey one says me to "and is she married yet" - I says no.  nosey one says "oh, is she engaged" - I says "no, I don't even think she's going with anyone".  nosey one says "oh, well maybe soon"  :D
wtf! Why is it that some women judge success on marriage and babies?!
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:39:13 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 16, 2008, 09:22:11 PM
I used to hate weddings.
All the oldies would poke me and say you're next.
They soon stopped that shite when i did the same to them at funerals  ;D ;D

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
good one maggie.............
Post by: leenie on October 16, 2008, 09:46:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 09:38:54 PM
I wasn't talking about you leenie, you've the right attitude.

I've a cousin who's about your age and done really well to get a very decent! job a few years ago, bought a house etc 
I ran in to an old friend of hers a few months after all this and of course I was asked about the cousin.  I told this nosey one about waht she was up to and she'd done well out of uni etc - the nosey one says me to "and is she married yet" - I says no.  nosey one says "oh, is she engaged" - I says "no, I don't even think she's going with anyone".  nosey one says "oh, well maybe soon"  :D
wtf! Why is it that some women judge success on marriage and babies?!

i don't know .............. i think its really sad.... but women like that i wouldn't care what they thought, they have that little going on in their lives they occupy themselves with other peoples lives! you'd kinda feel sorry for them!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2008, 10:48:17 AM
A friend texted me last night to say Minder and his partner Scott got married last night without a hitch in a civil partnership at Belfast City Hall. Best wishes to both of them.
Post by: Minder on October 18, 2008, 01:35:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2008, 10:48:17 AM
A friend texted me last night to say Minder and his partner Scott got married last night without a hitch in a civil partnership at Belfast City Hall. Best wishes to both of them.
You should have your own show Tony,it would probably be called "Tony is a ****" though. . . .
Post by: milltown row on October 18, 2008, 01:43:22 PM
is that why he was missing last night?  ;) 

another free pass then Minder? i've one saved up for next Sat. should be good craic