GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligeach on June 03, 2008, 12:40:01 PM

Title: International Rules Squad
Post by: sligeach on June 03, 2008, 12:40:01 PM
Ok lads, I know its early days and we still have the championship only starting and ... yadda yadda yadda.

I'm just interested on peoples opinions ?

So who should be on it ? who shouldn't ?

Title: Re: International Rules Squad
Post by: orangeman on June 03, 2008, 12:40:56 PM
Paddy Bradley should be captaen na foirne !
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 03, 2008, 12:41:09 PM
paddy bradley  ;) he's crying out for inclusion apparently
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2008, 12:49:10 PM
Kevin Reilly.
Post by: corn02 on June 03, 2008, 12:51:58 PM
Would Dyas have a chance? Obv Clarke and Kennelly are certs.
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 03, 2008, 01:03:42 PM
Quote from: corn02 on June 03, 2008, 12:51:58 PM

Interesting. I reckon all the australia based lads should get a chance - if they have reached the senior level over there
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 01:14:33 PM

Not to forget Colm Begley either
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2008, 01:16:47 PM
It'd save a fortune on travel if most of the Irish panel were to consist of players based in Australia  ::)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2008, 06:55:39 PM
I dont mind 2 or 3 of our AFL players making the Irish squad but in my opinion any more than that kinda goes against the nature of the game and spoils it.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 03, 2008, 08:30:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2008, 06:55:39 PM
I dont mind 2 or 3 of our AFL players making the Irish squad but in my opinion any more than that kinda goes against the nature of the game and spoils it.

The lads are still irish, if they're good enough then they should be in.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2008, 08:46:44 PM
They might be Irish but they're no longer gaelic footballers and most of them havent even played county football at senior level. The games in my eyes are about about pitting the best current gaa players against the best current AFL players. Would like to see Kieran Donaghy play the game again, he was poor the last time but is bound to have potential at this.
Post by: sligeach on June 04, 2008, 12:21:32 AM
I believe that the last year the squad lacked many things.

For one, they didn't seem to have the passion for it that they've had in previous years. The squad also seemed to consist of too many guys on the small side and worse still, top class gaelic football forwards who couldn't score!

I reckon we need guys with fight in them, I don't mean punch-up fight, I mean guys that never drop the head.
Post by: Fishbat on June 04, 2008, 04:37:35 AM
Quote from: sligeach on June 03, 2008, 12:40:01 PM
Ok lads, I know its early days and we still have the championship only starting and ... yadda yadda yadda.

I'm just interested on peoples opinions ?

So who should be on it ? who shouldn't ?

Sure its already been announced, on the other thread - none of them could be classed as household names mind you.

Whatever the squad is - you can be dead sure there'll be many lads muttering "good enough for ye ya (insert rival county) bollix" as a fellow Irishman gets guillotined by some buffed balloon come October.

Lets face it its the main reason a fair few watch!! 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 04, 2008, 06:59:39 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2008, 08:46:44 PM
They might be Irish but they're no longer gaelic footballers and most of them havent even played county football at senior level. The games in my eyes are about about pitting the best current gaa players against the best current AFL players. Would like to see Kieran Donaghy play the game again, he was poor the last time but is bound to have potential at this.

In theory that would be great but if the last game showed anything it was that the Aussies were the much better athletes. It would be great for Irish amateurs to be able to mix it with Aussie pros but the reality was different I'm afraid.
We'd be lambs to the slaughter if we didn't have the likes of Kennelly, Clarke, Begley, O'Hailpin and, if they make an early breakthrough, Hanley, Murphy and Dyas.
And that's presuming the Aussie's only pick a middle of the road side like last time. If they pick a full strength squad, and they well might because they are celebrating 150 years this year, then the gulf will be even more apparent.

Quote from: sligeach on June 04, 2008, 12:21:32 AM
I believe that the last year the squad lacked many things.

For one, they didn't seem to have the passion for it that they've had in previous years. The squad also seemed to consist of too many guys on the small side and worse still, top class gaelic football forwards who couldn't score!

I reckon we need guys with fight in them, I don't mean punch-up fight, I mean guys that never drop the head.

Absolutely agree, if we are to be in any sort of shake up we need Irish based players who are horses for courses. I think in the past that was acknowledged in team selections but it has to be the number one consideration this time - lads that are physically able to handle themselves. Throw in the Irish Aussie Rules players and we might have a fighting chance ;)
Post by: EugeneGeraghty on June 04, 2008, 08:30:25 AM

He only came on as a sub for the dublin minors against Meath so I don't think its fair to put him into the international rules series. Its not a game for young lads anyways
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 04, 2008, 09:18:34 AM
Quote from: EugeneGeraghty on June 04, 2008, 08:30:25 AM

He only came on as a sub for the dublin minors against Meath so I don't think its fair to put him into the international rules series. Its not a game for young lads anyways

Dyas is from Armagh
Post by: EugeneGeraghty on June 04, 2008, 09:26:14 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 04, 2008, 09:18:34 AM
Quote from: EugeneGeraghty on June 04, 2008, 08:30:25 AM

Dyas is from Armagh

Sorry my mistake, should have read the whole thing. Had dias the jack in my head when writting that
Post by: Doire abú on June 04, 2008, 01:09:08 PM
Niall McCusker, Enda Muldoon, Fergal Doc and Paddy Bradley.

And of course Ireland's most capped player ever.....Seán Marty!!

Can't see 5 Dery men getting picked though.
Post by: thewobbler on June 04, 2008, 01:13:54 PM
Ronan Murtagh, Paul Murphy and Shane Mulholland.
Post by: billy the kid on June 04, 2008, 01:15:34 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 04, 2008, 01:13:54 PM

what about them??
Post by: thewobbler on June 04, 2008, 02:02:56 PM
Quotewhat about them??
Well if all everyone else is going to do is name their random favourite players, regardless of suitability, then I'm going to name mine.
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 04, 2008, 02:07:19 PM
geoffrey mcgonigle
Post by: billy the kid on June 04, 2008, 02:11:51 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on June 04, 2008, 02:07:19 PM
geoffrey mcgonigle

:D :D :D

Brian McGilligan, John McDerrmot, Plunket Donaghy, Brian Mullins and Sheeny McQuillan ;) ;)
Post by: corn02 on June 04, 2008, 02:18:38 PM
The Grimleys.
Post by: T O Hare on June 04, 2008, 02:27:53 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 04, 2008, 01:13:54 PM
you forgot BOO Murtagh ;)
Post by: billy the kid on June 04, 2008, 02:35:07 PM
Quote from: corn02 on June 04, 2008, 02:18:38 PM
The Grimleys.

They would be certs. ;D ;D

Post by: magpie seanie on June 04, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
I think we should have a training programme in the jails of the country. A select few criminals with the proper physical atributes should be selected and depending on how they do they could get their sentences shortened. A kind of community service. The public could vote on it and we could have three judges commenting on their actions. Knocking out an Aussie could get them released or something? What do ye think? Makes as much sense as International Rules anyway.
Post by: nutsy--1 on June 04, 2008, 02:59:28 PM
Geoffrey mc gonigle, the grimleys now if we could a few more boys like that we wouldn't fear anybody not even Chris Johnston.
fergal doherty is a cert!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 04, 2008, 03:02:42 PM
Well as Tom Kelly of Laois was the only Irish player to actually stand up to the Aussie's the last time im sure he would be a shoe in to the squad
Not sure if he will play though seeing as it was hard enough to get him to play for Laois
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 04, 2008, 03:24:53 PM
il throw some names out
Aussie Rules lads
Tadgh Kennelly
Colm Begley
Martin Clarke

Armagh
Ciaran McKeever
Francie Bellew    ;D
Paul McGrane
Stevie McDonald

Tyrone
Sean Kavanagh
Brian Dooher

Donegal
Kevin Cassidy

Down
Benny Coulter

Monaghan
Gary McQuaid  :D
Vincent Corey
Paul Finlay
Tommy Freeman

Fermanagh
Marty McGrath
Mark Murphy

Derry
Fergal Doherty
Niall McCusker
Paddy Bradley
Kevin McCloy

Cavan
Dermot McCabe
Seanie Johnston

Antrim
Tomas McCann
Sean Kelly???

Sligo
Eamon O Hara

Mayo
Alan Dillon
Ronan McGarrity

Roscommon
Seamus O Neil????

Galway
Joe Bergin
Finian Hanley
Michael Meehan

Leitrim
Declan Maxwell?
John McKeown?

London or New York not likely

Louth
Paddy Keenan

Meath
Darren Fay
Graham Geragthy
Caoimhin King

Dublin
Stephen Cluxton
Bryan Cullen
Shane Ryan
Ciaran Whelan
Alan Brogan

Offaly
Niall McNamee
Ciaran McManus
Thomas Deehan

Kildare
Dermot Earley
Gary White

Laois
John O Loughlin
Ross Munnelly
Tom Kelly

Longford
Brian Kavanagh
Paul Barden

Westmeath
Martin Flanagan
Dessie Dolan

Carlow
?????

Wicklow
Leighton Glynn
Thomas Walsh

Wexford
Matty Forde
Ciaran Lyng

Kilkenny

Cork

Graham Canty
Noel O Leary
Nicholas Murphy
James Masters
Donncha O Connor

Kerry
Paul Galvin
Tomas O Se
Mark O Se
Darragh O Se
Kieran Donaghy
Bryan Sheehan
Gooch has all but ruled himself out of the IR series

Tipperary

Barry Grogan

Waterford
Gary Hurney
Thomas O Gorman

Clare
??????

Limerick
Stephen Kelly
Stephen Lavin
Post by: billy the kid on June 04, 2008, 03:36:59 PM
Diver and Muldoon from Derry woul have to be considered due to size and fact both are very good footballers.  Diver would be ideal as he is huge and very fast
Post by: Louth Exile on June 04, 2008, 03:43:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 04, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
I think we should have a training programme in the jails of the country. A select few criminals with the proper physical atributes should be selected and depending on how they do they could get their sentences shortened. A kind of community service. The public could vote on it and we could have three judges commenting on their actions. Knocking out an Aussie could get them released or something? What do ye think? Makes as much sense as International Rules anyway.

:D :D :D I like it Seanie, I don't think it would be a runner this year, with it being in OZ, but when it returns to our own native shores, well, why not. Sure the Joy is within a mile of Croker, so it would be easy enough to transport them to and from the ground.

But in all seriousness with Paddy Kennan getting an Allstar nomination we might actually see the first Louth man to pull on an IR jersey this year.
Surprised nobody mentioned Mark Ward from Meath, the man is a monster, just what we would need against those animals.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 04, 2008, 03:45:34 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on June 04, 2008, 03:43:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 04, 2008, 02:58:23 PM

:D :D :D I like it Seanie, I don't think it would be a runner this year, with it being in OZ, but when it returns to our own native shores, well, why not. Sure the Joy is within a mile of Croker, so it would be easy enough to transport them to and from the ground.

But in all seriousness with Paddy Kennan getting an Allstar nomination we might actually see the first Louth man to pull on an IR jersey this year.
Surprised nobody mentioned Mark Ward from Meath, the man is a monster, just what we would need against those animals.

Ward is a monster at 6'6 but iv seen him get cleaned at Midfield against Both Dublin and Cork last year, dont know if hes at that level yet.
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2008, 04:09:33 PM
He's a better player this year. He had half of Wexford hanging off him every time he came down with the ball.
Post by: moysider on June 04, 2008, 04:17:43 PM

Ciarán McDonald. Johnno does nt think he needs him but last time he played he was well able for the flaking. Sure he s used to being targeted every game he s ever played.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 04, 2008, 04:19:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 04, 2008, 04:09:33 PM
He's a better player this year. He had half of Wexford hanging off him every time he came down with the ball.

if so hed have to be a definite 6'6 and 15 stone, i knew he was a good player but inconsistent. plus i didnt see the wexfords game.
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2008, 04:33:23 PM
He's actually pretty mobile too for the size of him. He got tired towards the end of the Wexford game as Meade went off injured and he had to carry midfield on his own. Plus some of the Wexford tackles on him were quite *ahem* robust in the 2nd half. If he was a couple of years younger I think the AFL scouts would have been sniffing around.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 04, 2008, 04:34:12 PM
You can be damn sure that Boylan will have him out for the trials anyway
Post by: magpie seanie on June 04, 2008, 04:35:19 PM
QuoteSure the Joy is within a mile of Croker, so it would be easy enough to transport them to and from the ground.

Yeah - kind of like Escape to Victory with an Irish twist!
Post by: Doire abú on June 04, 2008, 08:03:08 PM
Throw a couple of them Shourki's in as well.
Post by: Fishbat on June 05, 2008, 12:18:55 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 04, 2008, 04:35:19 PM
QuoteSure the Joy is within a mile of Croker, so it would be easy enough to transport them to and from the ground.

Yeah - kind of like Escape to Victory with an Irish twist!

Yes yes, like the train of thought, but never mind that Rocky ballax.....

Any of the Monaghan lads know if Kevin "The Clones Colossus" McBride ever kicked any ball?  even if he didn't - get him on te f**k

What about getting Steve Collins out of retirement - put him in nets.

Or thon guy -  is it the Pink Panther he calls himself? wheres he from.

would Roy "take that ye ***t" Keane help us out also?

Have to think outside the box for these Aussie hoors
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 05, 2008, 03:30:01 AM
And could imagine how useful Paul O'Connell, Donnacha O'Callaghan, Denis Leamy and Co would be
Post by: sligeach on June 05, 2008, 05:42:15 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 05, 2008, 03:30:01 AM
And could imagine how useful Paul O'Connell, Donnacha O'Callaghan, Denis Leamy and Co would be

John Hayes :D Would love to see them try picking a fight with the bull.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 05, 2008, 06:23:05 AM
Quote from: sligeach on June 05, 2008, 05:42:15 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 05, 2008, 03:30:01 AM

John Hayes :D Would love to see them try picking a fight with the bull.

Hayes versus Barry Hall would be some tussle :D
I don't know who'd put manners on who but with O'Connell and O'Callaghan waiting in the wings, Hayes'd have some army behind him
Post by: orangeman on June 05, 2008, 09:40:16 AM
Why don't we send the entire Dublin panel and backroom team ? Only one problem - Sean Boylan would have to stay at home - You'd need Pillar out there to manage this lot !  ;) ;D
Post by: Uladh on June 05, 2008, 10:26:38 AM
So long as the aussies don't sending over john eales and his mates
Post by: Louis the Red on June 05, 2008, 01:18:41 PM
Charlie Vernon would be in with a shout - he's as strong as an ox and captained Ireland in the series at U19.  Apparently he was a natural at the the game!!
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 05, 2008, 01:20:53 PM
Quote from: Louis the Red on June 05, 2008, 01:18:41 PM
Charlie Vernon would be in with a shout - he's as strong as an ox and captained Ireland in the series at U19.  Apparently he was a natural at the the game!!

not even established as an armagh senior yet
Post by: billy the kid on June 05, 2008, 01:26:28 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on June 05, 2008, 01:20:53 PM
Quote from: Louis the Red on June 05, 2008, 01:18:41 PM

not even established as an armagh senior yet

Spot on Steve.

But neither are Paul OConnel, or John Hayes :D :D
Post by: heffo on June 05, 2008, 02:16:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 05, 2008, 09:40:16 AM
Why don't we send the entire Dublin panel and backroom team ? Only one problem - Sean Boylan would have to stay at home - You'd need Pillar out there to manage this lot !  ;) ;D

Well it worked the last time a Dublin man was in charge of the team!

Heffernan picked Kevin Fagan who was a notorius hachet man  in Dublin club football, he hadn't played inter-county - his brief was to box Jim Stynes every time he looked at the ball.

He also a Derry hurler who was a monster of a fella...asair...he went on to play senior football for Derry..
Post by: Louth Exile on June 05, 2008, 02:43:23 PM
Even Paul O'Connell or the Bull Hayes would do well to deal with B Hall

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=BAboJAcWESg
Post by: Glensman on June 05, 2008, 02:45:24 PM
What does it matter if Vernon's not an established Armagh star yet? This is a compeltely different game.
Reckon he could be a very good asset.

And the suggestions of O'Connell and Callaghan shouldn't be dimissed in the slightest...maybe even Brian Carney, Horgan.
All would have the basic skills and be super in the tackle.
Would add publicity (most of what this is about) and certain strength.
I would be glued to the TV watching O'Connell give yer man Chris (whatever) his surname is (the dirty one) a good slap.

PS what about John Duddy? He'd be fit....did he kick ball as a youngster.
Post by: Will Hunting on June 05, 2008, 02:54:50 PM
Quote from: Glensman on June 05, 2008, 02:45:24 PM
And the suggestions of O'Connell and Callaghan shouldn't be dimissed in the slightest...maybe even Brian Carney, Horgan.
All would have the basic skills and be super in the tackle.
Would add publicity (most of what this is about) and certain strength.

And while we're at it, tell the Aussies to gather up a similar breed of sportsmen, give them an oval ball, and play the game in Croker!
Post by: Uladh on June 05, 2008, 03:08:08 PM

ah but you'd have to fork out a fortune to get them to play
Post by: moysider on June 05, 2008, 03:24:00 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 05, 2008, 02:16:45 PM

Heffernan picked Kevin Fagan who was a notorius hachet man  in Dublin club football, he hadn't played inter-county - his brief was to box Jim Stynes every time he looked at the ball.

He also a Derry hurler who was a monster of a fella...asair...he went on to play senior football for Derry..

That would have been Brian McGilligan would it not?
Post by: heffo on June 05, 2008, 03:31:24 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2008, 03:24:00 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 05, 2008, 02:16:45 PM

That would have been Brian McGilligan would it not?

That's the one - allegedly Heffernan seen him knock seven shades of shit out of Dublin players in Parnell park in a hurling game and asked him did he play any football - I don't think he had played senior for Derry at that stage in '86..
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 06, 2008, 11:28:07 AM
I wonder will we be able to bring this lad out of retirement for the International Rules?

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=DwucRJBkWv0

He has some engine on him and was certainly Ireland's most productive player on the day until he was, wrongly imho, dragged off
Post by: HeaveHo on June 08, 2008, 05:23:39 AM
Send whoever you like - the AFL will be able to rustle up a team to match up. I have noticed all this tough talking on this board quickly turns to girly squealing the minute the ball is bounced (or thrown in) and the rants start about the Aussies thugs or hoors. Pick some lads with some steel and send them out with instructions not to back down - it isn't that hard. The team the Aussies sent over last time was not a team of thugs (B Hall aside) but rather some speedy types suited to the flowing nature of IR. The tackle on GG was just plain bad luck - it was not an act of thuggery. That happens every other week in the AFL (fortunately the lad on the receiving end doesn't always get KO'd) despite the AFL's attempts to stop players getting slung to the ground after a tackle has been made.

Despite all that I hope this years series is played in the right spirit and is hard but fair. The Irish need to play to their strengths if they want to be competitive. Mind you the Aussies no longer pick a side based on All Australian selection with reference to the AFL season but rather a team that will match up particularly in terms of speed. If Buddy Franklin (of Hawthorn) plays it will be interesting to see which Irish lad matches up on him. He is 6'6", around 100 kg, is very quick and has a massive wind tank. He apparently wins both the sprints and the time trials at Hawthorn which is unusual for a lad of his size. He is nearly an impossible match up for AFL backs so I suspect he will test the GAA lads.

Post by: Puckoon on June 08, 2008, 05:33:20 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 06, 2008, 11:28:07 AM
I wonder will we be able to bring this lad out of retirement for the International Rules?

He has some engine on him and was certainly Ireland's most productive player on the day until he was, wrongly imho, dragged off

Christ thats brilliant - had forgotten all about it.

"Hes Irelands best defender"

Cracking stuff. :D :D :D
Post by: ykickamoocow on June 08, 2008, 05:42:18 AM
Obviously not this season (as he is yet to play a game for the Sydney Swans) but in afew years you guys will have Brendan Murphy playing for the Irish team. From what ive heard (from people who watch the Swans Reserves play) he will be a apsolute gun. Im expecting him to debut for the Swans next season as either a CHB (Centre Half Back) or CHF (Centre Half Forward) which are two key positions.
Post by: Main Street on June 08, 2008, 11:47:39 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 08, 2008, 05:33:20 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 06, 2008, 11:28:07 AM

Christ thats brilliant - had forgotten all about it.

"Hes Irelands best defender"

Cracking stuff. :D :D :D
I had to laugh more when the dog was the last "player" to touch the ball before it went over the sideline.
One of the commentators said that it should have been an Australian ball because it came off the dog.