Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 12:01:29 PM

Title: Hatton could fight in Dublin
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 12:01:29 PM
Thi could be a good night out:

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=95261

i take it the pro Rule 42 lads would be giving out stink about this aswell.
Title: Re: Hatton could fight in Dublin
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 23, 2008, 12:46:16 PM
Bring it on - and while you're at it - give the cricket lads a lash on the pitch as well
Post by: corn02 on May 23, 2008, 01:05:29 PM
Would love to see this happen.
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:12:21 PM
Would be a great specatacle.

Tankie, no need to drag another rule 42 debate into it. A bad winner is as bad as a bad loser.
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:15:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:12:21 PM
Would be a great specatacle.

Tankie, no need to drag another rule 42 debate into it. A bad winner is as bad as a bad loser.

Mayweather is a total legend, it would be great to see him fight live!

On the rule 42 i was just wonder would there be as much opposition to a boxing match and God save the queen would have to be played so that could upset the lot of them.
Post by: lurganblue on May 23, 2008, 01:16:00 PM
any idea on who he would be likely to fight?
it would be great to see a re-match with pretty boy there! unlikely though
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:21:40 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 23, 2008, 01:16:00 PM

it would be against Mayweather alrite
Post by: lurganblue on May 23, 2008, 01:23:28 PM
Quote from: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:21:40 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 23, 2008, 01:16:00 PM

it would be against Mayweather alrite

that would certainly go a long way to attracting the crowd that they are expecting.  A lesser fighter in opposition and they could struggle IMO
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 23, 2008, 01:33:51 PM
I think Croke Park is holding more than enough non-GAA events at this stage.  It would definitely have to be later in the year as more than enough GAA events have been removed from Croke Park already.

Croke Park is about more than just making money.

/Jim.
Post by: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:38:27 PM
I think it would be a disgrace if he were forced to leave his own country to come over here.  Would Twickingham not hold it or wembley? Why could wembley not hold it?  What sort of nation would let their sportsmen - a proper british man leave to fight in Ireland.  We didnt let it happen here and we cant facilitate  it happen to others.  Rickey Hitman Hatman deserves much better than this.

Or is Croker the cheapest whore in town. 
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:40:26 PM
Quote from: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:15:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:12:21 PM
and God save the queen would have to be played so that could upset the lot of them.

Tankie would you cop on, I was againt Croke park opening up and it had nothing to do with god save the queen.  That sort of generalisation make you look like an eegit.

Post by: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:44:04 PM
If Ricky Hitman Hatman fights in Croke Park, how far have we moved from the original reasoning for opening up Croke Park for national sporting teams whilst LR is being devoloped.   

We are the cheapest whores in Town
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:49:21 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:44:04 PM
If Ricky Hitman Hatman fights in Croke Park, how far have we moved from the original reasoning for opening up Croke Park for national sporting teams whilst LR is being devoloped.   

Feetoflames, I'd wait to hear if this is anything more than just gossip before we go calling ourselves whores.

Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:51:07 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 01:49:21 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:44:04 PM

Feetoflames, I'd wait to hear if this is anything more than just gossip before we go calling ourselves whores.

Its a focking sports venue for focks sake, sport should be played there.
Post by: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
I voted for the opening of Croke Park for the soccor and the rugby, not in the "national" interest because Im Northern Irish / Irish but I felt it was right to do that for the soccor and rugby teams.  but I draw the line at Scouser boxers taking the pay day of their lives out of the stadium.  This is in nobodys interests and I just hope theres nothing too it.  The way I read these things is that when potentially controversially they are leeked to sus out reaction.
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 01:58:50 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
I voted for the opening of Croke Park for the soccor and the rugby, not in the "national" interest because Im Northern Irish / Irish but I felt it was right to do that for the soccor and rugby teams.  but I draw the line at Scouser boxers taking the pay day of their lives out of the stadium.  This is in nobodys interests and I just hope theres nothing too it.  The way I read these things is that when potentially controversially they are leeked to sus out reaction.

Sure Ali boxed there already so it mustnt be an issue for the GAA to allow boxing. lads need to get over themselves and stop threating this stadium as if its the be all and end al of gaa.
Post by: corn02 on May 23, 2008, 01:59:30 PM
Ali fought in Croker, so what is the difference.
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 02:01:16 PM
Tankie, only one person so far has objected to this fight taking place.
Stop being such a drama queen.
Post by: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 02:04:00 PM
Those comparing Mohammed Ali to Ricky Hatton dont belong on a boxing thread. 
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 02:06:56 PM
Anyway, its not like we havent seen punches thrown in Croke park before  ;)
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 02:16:40 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 02:04:00 PM
Those comparing Mohammed Ali to Ricky Hatton dont belong on a boxing thread. 

Their talents have nothing to do with it!
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2008, 02:28:10 PM
I voted for the opening of Croke Park for the soccor and the rugby, not in the "national" interest because Im Northern Irish / Irish but I felt it was right to do that for the soccor and rugby teams.  but I draw the line at Scouser boxers taking the pay day of their lives out of the stadium.  This is in nobodys interests and I just hope theres nothing too it.  The way I read these things is that when potentially controversially they are leeked to sus out reaction.

QuoteThose comparing Mohammed Ali to Ricky Hatton dont belong on a boxing thread.

Those who call Ricky Hatton (A Citeh boy) a scouser don't belong either :D
Post by: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 02:56:19 PM
I think the whole point here is that Tankie is trying to make out like theres an outcry from the pro rule 42 camp over this suggestion when in fact there isnt.

In two pages and the thread being up all day only one single poster has said he is against it.

Stop trying to drum up arguments that only exist in your head Tankie  ;)

Post by: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 03:02:13 PM
What has this got to do with rule 42.  I voted to abolish it.  What does that mean Tankie,  What side am I on or in your eyes meant to be on?  If Hatton doesent have scouse blood in him Ill eat my goddamn hat. 
Post by: baoithe on May 23, 2008, 03:20:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 23, 2008, 02:28:10 PM
I voted for the opening of Croke Park for the soccor and the rugby, not in the "national" interest because Im Northern Irish / Irish but I felt it was right to do that for the soccor and rugby teams.  but I draw the line at Scouser boxers taking the pay day of their lives out of the stadium.  This is in nobodys interests and I just hope theres nothing too it.  The way I read these things is that when potentially controversially they are leeked to sus out reaction.

QuoteThose comparing Mohammed Ali to Ricky Hatton dont belong on a boxing thread.

Those who call Ricky Hatton (A Citeh boy) a scouser don't belong either :D

You got there before me AZ.
Post by: Tankie on May 23, 2008, 03:33:22 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on May 23, 2008, 03:02:13 PM
What has this got to do with rule 42.  I voted to abolish it.  What does that mean Tankie,  What side am I on or in your eyes meant to be on?  If Hatton doesent have scouse blood in him Ill eat my goddamn hat. 

I never put you on a side but you do seem to have an issue with certain events beings held or with certain people in that event.
Post by: Hardy on May 23, 2008, 03:35:48 PM
Cue the GPA whinging about lads getting paid for fighting in Croke Park when all their members get for it is suspended.
Post by: Zapatista on May 23, 2008, 03:51:45 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 02:56:19 PM
I think the whole point here is that Tankie is trying to make out like theres an outcry from the pro rule 42 camp over this suggestion when in fact there isnt.

In two pages and the thread being up all day only one single poster has said he is against it.

I strongly oppose such a move.

Boxing is a violent sport which should be countered with sports such as curling and celebrity spotting at every avenue. This type of violent blood lusting spectacle should not be forced upon the God fearing law obiding citizen of inner city North Dublin.
Post by: Gnevin on May 24, 2008, 06:02:46 PM
As long as Gaelic Games aren't affected by events being played their i couldn't care less if extreme ironing and tiddley winks where played in Croker , this talk about being the cheapest whore in town is moronic .

Croker is a stadium not a temple !
Post by: stew on May 24, 2008, 09:00:28 PM
God almighty. We have had american football played on Croke Park,  Sawker and Rugby has been played there. Neil Feckin Diamond has played there so quit pissin and moanin about the fact that Hatton might fight there. So what? It is not as if GSTQ has not been played there already now is it?

We took the money and now we pay the price, lets put the stadium to use on our terms and if that means that Hatton fights there so what, it is not as if we have the historical implications to take into account anymore, That ship has long sailed.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2008, 11:11:55 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 23, 2008, 03:51:45 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 23, 2008, 02:56:19 PM

I strongly oppose such a move.

Boxing is a violent sport which should be countered with sports such as curling and celebrity spotting at every avenue. This type of violent blood lusting spectacle should not be forced upon the God fearing law obiding citizen of inner city North Dublin.

Are there many of that type out there ?  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on May 26, 2008, 09:15:01 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 23, 2008, 03:35:48 PM
Cue the GPA whinging about lads getting paid for fighting in Croke Park when all their members get for it is suspended.
Which is probably a fair point, the more the gaa continue with their drive to make money, the less justification there is for retaining amateur status for players.
Somebody else pointed it out already, but how hypocritical was allowing Ali to fight there back in the 60's?  Or did they claim boxing was encompassed by the 'Athletic' part of the association's name?
As for the fight itself, I'm no longer a boxing fan, but what is the appeal of Hatton? Did he not get a bad beating last time round?  What would watching boxing be like in a big stadium anyway, presumably it's no harder to watch than hurling, where I just follow the players, (gave up looking for the ball years ago).
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 26, 2008, 09:48:07 AM
QuoteOn the rule 42 i was just wonder would there be as much opposition to a boxing match and God save the queen would have to be played so that could upset the lot of them.

As for the fight itself, I'm no longer a boxing fan, but what is the appeal of Hatton? Did he not get a bad beating last time round?  What would watching boxing be like in a big stadium anyway, presumably it's no harder to watch than hurling, where I just follow the players, (gave up looking for the ball years ago).

The opposition was due to the fact that soccer and rugby are competing sports which can't be said for boxing. Hatton won fairly impressively on Saturday night. As for the big stadium, Calzaghe has fought in the Millenium Stadium.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 26, 2008, 10:24:25 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 26, 2008, 09:48:07 AMThe opposition was due to the fact that soccer and rugby are competing sports which can't be said for boxing. Hatton won fairly impressively on Saturday night. As for the big stadium, Calzaghe has fought in the Millenium Stadium.
I know boxing has taken place in big stadia, just wondering what the experience is like for the viewer.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 26, 2008, 10:26:01 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 26, 2008, 10:24:25 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 26, 2008, 09:48:07 AMThe opposition was due to the fact that soccer and rugby are competing sports which can't be said for boxing. Hatton won fairly impressively on Saturday night. As for the big stadium, Calzaghe has fought in the Millenium Stadium.
I know boxing has taken place in big stadia, just wondering what the experience is like for the viewer.

No one complained during the Meath-Mayo or Armagh-Tyrone bouts, so it must be grand :D
Post by: orangeman on May 26, 2008, 11:51:59 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2008, 10:26:01 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 26, 2008, 10:24:25 AM

No one complained during the Meath-Mayo or Armagh-Tyrone bouts, so it must be grand

That was the ancient art of handbags !  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 26, 2008, 12:58:59 PM
Why would folk bother going to Hatton v. Mayweather anyway? I could tell you the result now!
Post by: full back on May 26, 2008, 01:00:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 26, 2008, 12:58:59 PM
Why would folk bother going to Hatton v. Mayweather anyway? I could tell you the result now!

I could say the same about your upcoming championship game seanie ;)
Post by: screenexile on May 26, 2008, 01:04:17 PM
Quote from: full back on May 26, 2008, 01:00:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 26, 2008, 12:58:59 PM

I could say the same about your upcoming championship game seanie ;)

BURN!!!!
Post by: stiff breeze on May 26, 2008, 04:01:54 PM
after the way hatton fought on saturday night  a rematch with mayweather will be unlikely. He was fighting a poor oponent and took alot of shots in the face. mayweather would destroy him earlier this time. depends wat way hattons next fight goes b4 a rematch will even be discussed. Atmosphere at the fight was unbelievable though