Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 03:28:49 PM

Title: Football boss sent bullet in post
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 03:28:49 PM
A police investigation is under way after a package addressed to Cliftonville manager Eddie Patterson was found to contain a bullet.

It was intercepted at a postal sorting office on Wednesday but details only emerged after Cliftonville's cup match against Linfield on Saturday.

It had been addressed to Mr Patterson at the club's Solitude ground, off the Cliftonville Road in north Belfast.

A Cliftonville spokesman said it was a "disgusting and sad day for football".

Police said the package also contained a letter.

In a statement released on Saturday, the club said that, with Mr Patterson's agreement, they had not commented until now to avoid disrupting the team's preparations or raising tensions in any way.

"Cliftonville Football Club and the PSNI are treating this as a very serious matter and have offered Mr Patterson and his family every support and assistance at this time," the statement said.

Linfield manager David Jeffrey said the person who sent the bullet was "absolutely sick".

"I trust the police will apprehend whatever idiot has done this. Words like condemnation are an understatement. I'm angry that a man like Edward Patterson should be subjected to that," he said.

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7320637.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7320637.stm)

A sorry state of affair. I had really hoped soccer in the north had moved on him this. I hope the IFA and the PSNI do thelr damnest to find the idiot and throw the full force of the law at him.
Title: Re: Football boss sent bullet in post
Post by: stew on March 29, 2008, 04:04:45 PM
What a shame this is. Hatred is alive and well in the north and there are still many scumbags out there who refuse to move on. Fair play to the Linfield manager for his comments and I hope the peelers somehow find out which coward sent this disgusting threat.
Post by: red hander on March 29, 2008, 05:07:52 PM
Apparently a bunch of Linfield scum went on the rampage in Castle Street an hour ago, attacking Cosgrave's Bar and stabbing some passer-by in the throat ... nice people those bluemen
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 06:10:35 PM
We could do without things like that but when final score from bbc Northern Ireland came on you would have thought 40 people were massacred at a game today judging by Sidearses manner,its just some clown looking attention and now he has got it.
Post by: red hander on March 29, 2008, 06:54:08 PM
Apparently, victim in his 20s is fighting for his life after having his throat slashed  during the rampage by Linfield 'fans', who ran amok after attacking Cosgraves
Post by: stew on March 29, 2008, 08:12:52 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 29, 2008, 05:44:47 PM
Quote from: stew on March 29, 2008, 04:04:45 PM
What a shame this is. Hatred is alive and well in the north and there are still many scumbags out there who refuse to move on.

Before you read this thread had you stopped reading Fearon's sectarian, hatred filled posts?  You don't have to send bullets in the post to live in the past.

I never said you did and I wasnt aware I had to pass comment on Fearon before I posted about a bullet being sent in the mail with a hate filled letter. TYP please let me know going forward if reading fearons posts are  a pre-requisite before commenting on threads in this forum.
I love your last comment, it speaks volumes. Obviously I thought that it was indeed a requirement that you had to send a bullet and a hateful letter in the post to be living in the past. :-\

Feck sake, Fearon seems to control every facet of this board and now we have Tyronies as well as OWC with a Fearon fixation.
Post by: redcard on March 29, 2008, 08:35:54 PM
Quote from: stew on March 29, 2008, 08:12:52 PM
What a shame this is. Hatred is alive and well in the north and there are still many scumbags out there who refuse to move on.

Before you read this thread had you stopped reading Fearon's sectarian, hatred filled posts?  You don't have to send bullets in the post to live in the past.

I never said you did and I wasnt aware I had to pass comment on Fearon before I posted about a bullet being sent in the mail with a hate filled letter. TYP please let me know going forward if reading fearons posts are  a pre-requisite before commenting on threads in this forum.
I love your last comment, it speaks volumes. Obviously I thought that it was indeed a requirement that you had to send a bullet and a hateful letter in the post to be living in the past. :-\

Feck sake, Fearon seems to control every facet of this board and now we have Tyronies as well as OWC with a Fearon fixation.

TYP a Tyronie? 
Post by: the green man on March 29, 2008, 08:36:29 PM
If its the Loyalist paramilitries, they'll be caught in no time, sure them'uns sing like canaries.

On a serious note, I think its repulsive. I've had the pleasure of speaking to Eddie on a few occasions, and I found him to be a total football man, never caring what creed a body happened to be.

But hey, there's always one out there.
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 08:53:37 PM
I wonder would the indignation be as strong on this board if David Jeffrey got the bullet in the post . . . . .
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 29, 2008, 09:02:34 PM
Dare I even start to try and list the long line of thuggery associated with Linfield fans.. ? Obviously a crowd heading to the Shankill - cops should have spotted them a mile off... 
Post by: Chrisowc on March 29, 2008, 10:29:18 PM
Both Minder's posts sum it up.

I'm sure he's scundered I'm agreeing with him ;)
Post by: stew on March 29, 2008, 10:32:11 PM
Quote from: redcard on March 29, 2008, 08:35:54 PM

TYP a Tyronie? 

He lives there and by all accounts is a closet tyrone fan. :P

I was trying to inject a little bit of humour into the situation. I know full well who TYP is.
Post by: stew on March 29, 2008, 10:34:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 29, 2008, 08:53:37 PM
I wonder would the indignation be as strong on this board if David Jeffrey got the bullet in the post . . . . .

I would like to think it would, it doesnt matter who received it because it couldnt be more disgusting no matter the receipent.

Chris/minder. Forget whataboutery in this case and condone it for what it is.

Post by: stew on March 29, 2008, 10:37:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 29, 2008, 06:10:35 PM
We could do without things like that but when final score from bbc Northern Ireland came on you would have thought 40 people were massacred at a game today judging by Sidearses manner,its just some clown looking attention and now he has got it.

It is big news regrdless of your attempt to minimize it. I seem to recall a certain Northern Ireland player quitting the team because of a cowardly death threat, will this nonsense ever end.
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 10:39:45 PM
Quote from: stew on March 29, 2008, 10:34:47 PM

I would like to think it would, it doesnt matter who received it because it couldnt be more disgusting no matter the receipent.

Or condemn......? I have already said we could do without it but i think there are more important/serious things happening in the world
Post by: Chrisowc on March 29, 2008, 10:40:13 PM

Minder said we could do without things like this and I said I agreed with Minder's post.

Do you actually believe myself or Minder would condone sending someone a bullet in the post?
Post by: redcard on March 29, 2008, 11:24:13 PM
Quote from: stew on March 29, 2008, 10:32:11 PM
Quote from: redcard on March 29, 2008, 08:35:54 PM

TYP a Tyronie? 

He lives there and by all accounts is a closet tyrone fan. :P

I was trying to inject a little bit of humour into the situation. I know full well who TYP is.

Got you now Stew :D But when calling TYP a Tyronie please consider the Tyronies feelings  :D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 30, 2008, 10:47:06 AM
Probably fair not to label all Linfield fans with the same brush. There are probably elemants here that are scum...but sure bar Chelsea all 'soccer' clubs have this elemant.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 01:54:45 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 29, 2008, 10:39:45 PM

Or condemn......? I have already said we could do without it but i think there are more important/serious things happening in the world

Ooops. Thanks for pointing that out minder, my bad.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 01:59:28 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 30, 2008, 08:13:07 AM
Quote from: redcard on March 29, 2008, 11:24:13 PM

Got you now Stew :D But when calling TYP a Tyronie please consider the Tyronies feelings  :D

I have feelings too you know! :(                 :D

It could have been worse TYP, I could have called you a downie. :-[

I married one and the two kids were born in Daisy Hill, its torture I tell ya. :'(

Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2008, 02:00:13 PM
Less of the rubbish. If the same happened to David Jeffrey, of course I would have posted it. Why wouldn't I? Doesn't make it any less wrong depending on what 'side' it's happening to.

Don't know why I am surprised that some of the usual suspects are nit-picking at the news to further their own cause.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 03:55:19 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on March 29, 2008, 10:40:13 PM

Minder said we could do without things like this and I said I agreed with Minder's post.

Do you actually believe myself or Minder would condone sending someone a bullet in the post?

Did I infer that you would? I know you wouldnt condone such behaviour. I would have thoguht however you speak about the issue instead of agreeing with minder. If this had happened at a GAA game to GAA people I would have met this isue head on, the last thing I would have done was talk about if it had ben a norn iron sawker game. You boys will do anything to deflect criticism from the IFA or its team. Chris, how about this, how about you condemning the actions of a few sc**bag supporters of Linfield FC and attempted murderers and leaving it at that.
Post by: nifan on March 30, 2008, 04:13:28 PM
Ill happily condemn all the knackers, but stew its par for the course here for people to bring up the failings of the other sort when defending their "lot"
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 05:11:38 PM
Quote from: nifan on March 30, 2008, 04:13:28 PM
Ill happily condemn all the knackers, but stew its par for the course here for people to bring up the failings of the other sort when defending their "lot"

I am very quick to condemn those that derail the GAA that are supposedly GAA supporters, take for example that stupid protest in Chicago that was going on when OWC toured, all I did was condemn their actions and call them out, I didnt point fingers at OWC or say what about........................

Is it too much to ask that people look at an issue and comment on it without having to dredge up the other side and their failings, last time I checked we  had all failed somewhere along the line so in the grand scheme of things is it at all possible that we could talk about the issue at hand and only the isue at hand?

Probably not but it would be nice.

BTW, I in no way, shape or form hold the IFA accountable for the actions of a few would be murderers that claim to support Linfield FC, I just thought I would throw that out there.
Post by: T Fearon on March 30, 2008, 06:02:36 PM
The IFA are certainly not without blame in this scenario. For decades the tolerated their favourite club, Linfield's no catholics policy and still refuse to abandon the unionist trappings that attracts scumbags. Also our esteemed Sports Minister is strangely silent on this matter,yet The  never misses an opportunity to have a go at the GAA
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2008, 06:04:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 30, 2008, 06:02:36 PM
Also our esteemed Sports Minister is strangely silent on this matter,yet The  never misses an opportunity to have a go at the GAA

Noticed that too....
Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 06:07:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 30, 2008, 06:02:36 PM
The IFA are certainly not without blame in this scenario. For decades the tolerated their favourite club, Linfield's no catholics policy and still refuse to abandon the unionist trappings that attracts scumbags. Also our esteemed Sports Minister is strangely silent on this matter,yet The  never misses an opportunity to have a go at the GAA

Tone the IFA had nothing to do with that poor young man getting stabbed in the neck other than he was a 'supporter' of one of their affiliate clubs.

As for the minister for sports, what do you expect from a clown like that. The fact that he hasnt spoken on the issue does speak volumes.
Post by: Chrisowc on March 30, 2008, 08:04:31 PM
Quote from: stew on March 30, 2008, 03:55:19 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on March 29, 2008, 10:40:13 PM

Did I infer that you would? I know you wouldnt condone such behaviour. I would have thoguht however you speak about the issue instead of agreeing with minder. If this had happened at a GAA game to GAA people I would have met this isue head on, the last thing I would have done was talk about if it had ben a norn iron sawker game. You boys will do anything to deflect criticism from the IFA or its team. Chris, how about this, how about you condemning the actions of a few sc**bag supporters of Linfield FC and attempted murderers and leaving it at that.

Stew, I have absolutely no problem condemning all violence.

As for doing anything to deflect criticism from the IFA or it's team?  Garbage!
Post by: Main Street on March 30, 2008, 09:18:52 PM
Maybe I am very naive on this but why would anybody think that Jeffries is on one side and Patterson on another.
AFAIC they are on the same side, they are both soccer club managers in the IL.

I only saw this incident being reported on the BBC NI website
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7321231.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7321231.stm)
They make out that it was trouble between supporters at some place outside the ground. As in two sets of supporters with equal blame attached.
Rather than Red Handers report that Linfield supporters attacked bi standers.

If such a thing did happen with GAA supporters would it receive any higher profile attention?

Post by: stew on March 30, 2008, 11:32:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 30, 2008, 09:18:52 PM
Maybe I am very naive on this but why would anybody think that Jeffries is on one side and Patterson on another.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7321231.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7321231.stm)
They make out that it was trouble between supporters at some place outside the ground. As in two sets of supporters with equal blame attached.

If such a thing did happen with GAA supporters would it receive any higher profile attention?

We cannot answer this as it never happens. ;D

Post by: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 09:11:35 AM
Stew,

Why do Linfield/IFA attract Loyalist extremists, Combat 18 etc? It is because they are perceived as a loyalist club due to their historical hostility towards catholics, not signing catholics etc. The IFA has tolerated this for decades and still refuses to shed its unionist/loyalist baggage therefore in my opinion it is very much responsible for the events on Saturday.

It will be interesting to see if any sanctions are imposed by the IFA on Linfield. I wont be holding my breath anyway.

The solution is of course for the likes of Cliftonville, Donegal Celtic etc to follow the example of Derry City and join the Eircom League. Look how successful this has proved for Derry.

At the end of the day, Belfast Celtic and Derry City were forced out of the Irish League due to the fact that they constituted a threat of Linfield's dominance. This is waht is currently happening to Cliftonville.
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 10:15:47 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 30, 2008, 09:18:52 PM

I don't think anybody is blaming either set of supporters (apart from the usual numpties on here). The Chief peeler, on the radio this morning, said the 'mob' had been drinking in a different pub and were then seen on CCTV on their way to attack. As the incident took place between 15:15 and 15:30 it's unlikely that many Linfield fans had left the Oval, made their way into town, gone drinking, then left the pub and went on the rampage. If you look at the pictures the people involved are wearing Celtic tops and the ones who started the trouble aren't wearing any colours at all. No sign of either Linfield or Cliftonville fans (and the match at the Oval passed off without incident). We'll obviously have to wait for any enquiries/reports but this looks like the usual shite that happens after Old Firm matches.

http://www.presseye.com/photolibrary/image_list.asp?cid=2093 (http://www.presseye.com/photolibrary/image_list.asp?cid=2093)
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 10:28:07 AM
As it stands now the most likely explanation is a drunken mob (unrelated to Linfield) came on a rampage to attack anybody in the vicinity of a pub known to have Celtic fans among its clientele.

Post by: Orior on March 31, 2008, 10:38:57 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 10:28:07 AM
As it stands now the most likely explanation is a drunken mob (unrelated to Linfield) came on a rampage to attack anybody in the vicinity of a pub known to have Celtic fans among its clientele.

Not quite. It appears they were well organised.
Post by: bennydorano on March 31, 2008, 11:04:15 AM
The Scumday World was doing it's best yesterday in trying to ratchet up(or create might be better) the sectarian tension.
Post by: nifan on March 31, 2008, 11:10:45 AM
Ive little idea as to what has gone on due to being out of the country, and really only whats posted here is what im seeing.
If it was organized tehn hopefully that will mean there is a chance of getting to the bottom of it and finding the scumbags responsible.

Orior, any understanding of what was organised? or by whom?

Fearon - is there any reason you are aware of that Linfield can or even should be sanctioned here?
Also im surely not the only one who laughs at the irony of you stating what a disgrace it is that linfield is a perceived loyalist club, but on another thread you where lauding cliftonville for being a republican and gleefully going on about windsor being awash with tricolours.
Post by: Zapatista on March 31, 2008, 11:34:04 AM
What a shame this is. Hatred is alive and well in the north and there are still many scumbags out there who refuse to move on. Fair play to the Linfield manager for his comments and I hope the peelers somehow find out which coward sent this disgusting threat.

Comments like this do not help. Hatred is alive an well everywhere. Even places like Kerry and Dublin have both had high profile murders and hatred lately. Your comments are more at home in places like the News of the World.

I hope the person/s responible are caught and punished for this.
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 11:53:02 AM
Absolutely disgusting post there by Sammy. Here's what is known about the incident. Those responsible got off a bus full of Linfield supporters which had been escorted by the PSNI as far as the city centre. They attacked Cosgroves Bar but were beaten out of it again by those inside. They then attacked people on the street stabbing one in the throat. After the attack they made their way up College Avenue towards Sandy Row, home of Linfield and Windsor Park. Coming after the threat to the manager it's a fair assumption to make that someone associated with Linfield was hell bent on making trouble last weekend. And to think the OWC people expected the GAA to bring people into the city with this type of unionist soccer scum running around looking opportunity to attack a Fenian.
Post by: thejuice on March 31, 2008, 12:50:16 PM
Quote from: nifan on March 31, 2008, 11:10:45 AM
................due to being out of the country

Oh really, how convenient.....

:P
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 01:00:32 PM
If you say you were in Dublin, I'll smack you one nifan lol
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:17:34 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 11:53:02 AM
Absolutely disgusting post there by Sammy.

In what way?
Here's what is known about the incident. Those responsible got off a bus full of Linfield supporters which had been escorted by the PSNI as far as the city centre.
Absolute bullshit
They attacked Cosgroves Bar but were beaten out of it again by those inside.
Correct
They then attacked people on the street stabbing one in the throat.

Again correct
After the attack they made their way up College Avenue towards Sandy Row, home of Linfield and Windsor Park.
Not sure where you got that from.
Coming after the threat to the manager it's a fair assumption to make that someone associated with Linfield was hell bent on making trouble last weekend.
WTF has the disgusting threat got to do with either Linfield or the match at the weekend (which passed off without incident)
And to think the OWC people expected the GAA to bring people into the city with this type of unionist soccer scum running around looking opportunity to attack a Fenian.
EDITTED To protect the iinnocent : Rangers scum attack Celtic fans and somehow this becomes something to do with OWC and the Maze. Sickening.
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 01:20:46 PM
OK OK.

The attack was terrible at the weekend. Hopefully the PSNI will be able to track the thugs down. Linfield and the IFA should ban them from future games (though it's debateable if they were even at the game).

That said, I can't see how Linfield FC and/or the IFA can be held responsible. It's just up to them at act upon it, as the case would be in any sporting code.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 01:23:48 PM
Ive little idea as to what has gone on due to being out of the country, and really only whats posted here is what im seeing.
If it was organized tehn hopefully that will mean there is a chance of getting to the bottom of it and finding the scumbags responsible.

Fearon - is there any reason you are aware of that Linfield can or even should be sanctioned here?
Also im surely not the only one who laughs at the irony of you stating what a disgrace it is that linfield is a perceived loyalist club, but on another thread you where lauding cliftonville for being a republican and gleefully going on about windsor being awash with tricolours.

The fact is that the IFA hasn't the balls to deal with the extreme Linfield supporters.. we are still waiting for the sanctions over the Oval debacle in 2005.. I will though acknowledge that the Linfield club has done its best to deal with the issue in Windsor but they cannot deal with the 'hangers-on' who troop to the Oval, Coleraine etc etc and then go into the town for trouble. It's just another sympton of the sick place we live in.. However, Linfield and the IFA cannot wash their hands completely of the problem as there has been an acceptance for too long of the scumbags... Whatever you say, say nothing and don't mention the elephant in the kitchen..
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:26:23 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 01:23:48 PM

The fact is that the IFA hasn't the balls to deal with the extreme Linfield supporters.. we are still waiting for the sanctions over the Oval debacle in 2005.. I will though acknowledge that the Linfield club has done its beat to deal with the issue in Windsor but they cannot deal with the 'hangers-on' who troop to the Oval, Coleraine etc etc and then go into the town for trouble. It's just another sympton of the sick place we live in.. However, Linfield and the IFA cannot wash their hands completely of the problem as there has been an acceptance for too long of the scumbags... Whatever you say, say nothing and don't mention the elephant in the kitchen..

So the IFA should be responsible for Rangers supporters, who weren't at or even near the match, fighting in town. How do you manage to come to that conclusion?
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 01:29:49 PM
Two articles from today's Irish News.

QuoteStabbed man critical after gang target city-centre bar By Andrea McKernon

A man remained in a critical condition last night after being stabbed in the neck by a gang of loyalists outside a Belfast city centre pub.

The victim, originally from Glasgow but living in the Cliftonville area of north Belfast, had been in Cosgrove's bar in King Street when it was attacked by a mob armed with knives and other weapons.

Named locally as Hugh McNally (32), he was one of a number of people injured as violence spilled into surrounding streets. Two other men had facial injuries and one a head wound.

The attack took place around an hour after the end of the Linfield v Cliftonville Irish Cup semi-final in east Belfast on Saturday afternoon.

Customers at the bar said yesterday that they were still stunned by the vicious attack which happened in broad daylight in front of shocked shoppers at the busy junction of Castle Street and King Street.

The Irish News understands that police are investigating the possibility that the gang had been in the city centre drinking and had walked from McHugh's Bar in Queen's Square to Castle Street, a predominately nationalist area.

A PSNI spokeswoman confirmed that CCTV footage from a number of locations in the city centre would form the basis of the investigation.

But Sinn Fein's Fra McCann said he had questions to put to the force about how the gang was able to make their way to the area before launching the attack.

He said police responded to the violence after it was picked up by a CCTV monitor at the nearby Millfield junction.

A friend of Mr McNally, who was last night in the intensive care unit at the city's Royal Victoria Hospital, described how the pub was attacked.

"I was outside the door having a smoke when they came walking up Castle Street. One of them spat in my face and called me a Fenian bastard," he said.

"I ran into the bar shouting because they were all dressed the same – in black, with baseball caps.

"The majority of the bar was just old men sitting, because anyone watching the match had left. There was a small number of younger fellas playing pool upstairs and they ran down and stopped them from getting into the bar."

The man, who asked not to be identified, said that during the ensuing violence he was unaware that his friend had been attacked.

"My son told me that he was lying on the road. I went over to him and he was lying with blood pumping out of his neck,'' he said.

"He was unconscious. I don't even know what had happened. There were drivers from the taxi depot working on him and then the ambulance arrived."

Another witness said there was broken glass around the victim and a lot of blood.

"These eejits were lifting bricks and throwing them at anybody standing about,'' he said.

"They ran along King Street and up towards Jury's Hotel to Great Victoria Street

when they opened their jackets and revealed scarves and colours."

Another bar regular said that up to 40 loyalists aged in their thirties were involved.

"They were armed with knuckle-dusters, goggles and flick sticks. They caused mayhem on a Catholic community and some of them had English accents. They were all outside shouting 'Famous Section F' and 'Fenian bastards'."

Police in a statement condemned the violence and said their investigation was continuing.

"The disturbance itself was picked up on CCTV at 15:34. Officers were tasked at 15:37 and arrived at the scene at 15:39.

"This will be a complex and protracted enquiry and a dedicated team of detectives has already been put in place to investigate the disturbance.

"There are a vast amount of witnesses and witness statements are currently being progressed. CCTV footage is in the process of being collated and will be examined as a priority."

QuoteLoyalists shouted neo-Nazi slogans By Andrea McKernon

Neo-nazi slogans were shouted along with sectarian insults by those involved in Saturday afternoon's attack, witnesses said.

The gang, some of whom had English accents, were said to be dressed in black baseball caps and jackets and shouted 'Combat 18' as they approached the bar.

The Combat 18 group – which takes its name from the fact that Nazi leader Adolf Hitler's initials were the first and eighth letters of the alphabet – has been responsible for violent attacks on ethnic minorities and immigrants in Britain and has also been linked to football violence. It has also been known to have sought to establish links with loyalist paramilitaries in Northern Ireland.

Sinn Fein assembly member Fra McCann said the attack was sinister.

"It doesn't surprise me that these people were shouting about Combat 18. This attack was well organised with descriptions of men dressed in black,'' Mr McCann said.

"There have been connections with ultra right-wing groups and loyalists for years and they are active around football in other areas."

Belfast Lord Mayor Jim Rodgers condemned the violence, describing it as "appalling, sickening and disgusting".

"It besmirches the good name of Belfast. No right-thinking football supporter would be involved in this nonsense. There are not enough police on the ground and too few police in Belfast city centre," he said.

In a statement last night Cliftonville FC stressed that the violence did not involve any of their supporters.

The Irish Football Association condemned the attack.

Cliftonville manager Eddie Patterson was sent a bullet in the post last week. The package was intercepted at a sorting office. A PSNI investigation is under way.

The news was only released after Saturday's cup semi-final in which Linfield beat Cliftonville by two goals to one. It was condemned by Linfield boss David Jeffrey.

Although the game passed off peacefully, there were reports that a UVF flag was flown in the crowd.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 01:43:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:26:23 PM

The fact is that the IFA hasn't the balls to deal with the extreme Linfield supporters.. we are still waiting for the sanctions over the Oval debacle in 2005.. I will though acknowledge that the Linfield club has done its beat to deal with the issue in Windsor but they cannot deal with the 'hangers-on' who troop to the Oval, Coleraine etc etc and then go into the town for trouble. It's just another sympton of the sick place we live in.. However, Linfield and the IFA cannot wash their hands completely of the problem as there has been an acceptance for too long of the scumbags... Whatever you say, say nothing and don't mention the elephant in the kitchen..

So the IFA should be responsible for Rangers supporters, who weren't at or even near the match, fighting in town. How do you manage to come to that conclusion?

Not trying to draw any conclusions, but how can you be so sure they weren't at the game? 

The BBC website says it is claimed those involved were Linfield, rather than Rangers, supporters by the way.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7322242.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7322242.stm)
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:45:54 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 01:43:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:26:23 PM

Not trying to draw any conclusions, but how can you be so sure they weren't at the game? 
Because they were in McHugh's bar all afternoon and unless they've invented cloning (unlikely as scum like that can barely count to 10 never mind do complicated neuro-science) they can't have been in two places at once.
The BBC website says it is claimed those involved were Linfield, rather than Rangers, supporters by the way.
As did everybody (including me) before the facts came out.
Post by: his holiness nb on March 31, 2008, 01:46:12 PM
Donagh makes a good point, with these sort of extreme loyalist scum (whoever they support) around, I certainly wouldnt feel safe attending a GAA game nearby. It would be an ideal target for these guys to cause trouble. A disaster waiting to happen.

Maybe in a generation or two, but right now, it would be crazy.
Post by: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 02:11:00 PM
A couple of points.

Lets here no more nauseating crap (not to mention annual awards ceremonies) about how "we" have dealt with sectarianism at Windsor Park, "we" are the best supporters in the world etc.

Also I still say that Linfield (who only last week announced that they would have no part in an All Ireland league) and the IFA must do a hell of a lot more to make themselves less of a magnet for loyalist extremists by removing the symbols and loyalist baggage from their events.

I still also say that teams like Donegal Celtic (who the IFA tried hard to keep out of the Irish League) and Cliftonville would be much better off in the Eircom League (just imagine the crowds on a Sunday afternoon in West or North Belfast for Cliftonville V Shamrock Rovers or Celtic V Bohemians). Look what this has done for Derry City. There will never be a level playing pitch in the Irish League, if you'll pardon the pun. Linfield have always and will continue to rule the roost
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 02:56:25 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:45:54 PM
Because they were in McHugh's bar all afternoon and unless they've invented cloning (unlikely as scum like that can barely count to 10 never mind do complicated neuro-science) they can't have been in two places at once.

The coppers have said in a statement (I have copied it from the IN report).

"The disturbance itself was picked up on CCTV at 15:34. Officers were tasked at 15:37 and arrived at the scene at 15:39.

"This will be a complex and protracted enquiry and a dedicated team of detectives has already been put in place to investigate the disturbance.

"There are a vast amount of witnesses and witness statements are currently being progressed. CCTV footage is in the process of being collated and will be examined as a priority."

Yet SammyG has it all sussed in a matter of minutes (and from some distance too by the way). Are you Conor Murphy by any chance?

That link is still up on the IFA website.
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:06:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 02:11:00 PM
A couple of points.

Lets here no more nauseating crap (not to mention annual awards ceremonies) about how "we" have dealt with sectarianism at Windsor Park, "we" are the best supporters in the world etc.

Also I still say that Linfield (who only last week announced that they would have no part in an All Ireland league) and the IFA must do a hell of a lot more to make themselves less of a magnet for loyalist extremists by removing the symbols and loyalist baggage from their events.

I still also say that teams like Donegal Celtic (who the IFA tried hard to keep out of the Irish League) and Cliftonville would be much better off in the Eircom League (just imagine the crowds on a Sunday afternoon in West or North Belfast for Cliftonville V Shamrock Rovers or Celtic V Bohemians). Look what this has done for Derry City. There will never be a level playing pitch in the Irish League, if you'll pardon the pun. Linfield have always and will continue to rule the roost

I agree that they have a long way to go to combat sectarianism, no doubt about that. I think it also fair to say that they are not the best supporters in the world here but tell me this, how many of these tramps are known owc supporters and was this not a game at the local level? news flash, the six were not playing tone.

If I was the decision maker at solitude I would stay right where I am and force the IFA's hand to clean up their sport. The scum want a fenian freeleague and by doing what you suggest they could have it, why let this scumhave their way. The best way to get at them is to win the League, they hate the very notion of it so come on Cliftonville, win the fecker every year.
Post by: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 03:09:16 PM
Saffron Sam2

I was at the oval on saturday and having read those articles from the Irish News I can remember about 5 lads queing for coffee dressed in all black and with English accents.  One even had a gas mask.  They did stand out, but after I went back to my mates behind the goal I thought no more of it.
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:13:30 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 03:09:16 PM
Saffron Sam2

I was at the oval on saturday and having read those articles from the Irish News I can remember about 5 lads queing for coffee dressed in all black and with English accents.  One even had a gas mask.  They did stand out, but after I went back to my mates behind the goal I thought no more of it.

let me get this straight, you saw 5 english lads all dressed the same and one had a feckin gas mask with him and you thought nothing of it????

Maybe they were from the pipe fitters union and were waiting to put a cork in the keepers hoop if he let rip during the game?

memo to Chris. If five guys are dressed the same from head to toe and they speak with foreign accents and one of them has a gas mask, bad things are going to happen! :-[
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 03:14:17 PM
Saffron Sam2

Chris, I have no idea whether or not the boys in question were at the Oval or in McHugh's or in both or neither. Nor, if he is being honest, does SammyG.

I have deliberately not made any comments, inferences or conclusions. I just hope the injured party makes a full recovery and that those responsible are caught.
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 03:14:58 PM

Couldn't have been them, sure they were in McHughs all afternoon.  ::)
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:16:32 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 03:14:58 PM

Could it be that sammyg is lying through his teeth again??? How many times is this now???
Post by: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 03:17:45 PM
Quote from: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:13:30 PM
Saffron Sam2

let me get this straight, you saw 5 english lads all dressed the same and one had a feckin gas mask with him and you thought nothing of it????

Maybe they were from the pipe fitters union and were waiting to put a cork in the keepers hoop if he let rip during the game?

memo to Chris. If five guys are dressed the same from head to toe and they speak with foreign accents and one of them has a gas mask, bad things are going to happen! :-[

I had a few beers and was freezing and soaking wet.  Forgot all about it until I read the article.
Post by: nifan on March 31, 2008, 03:18:36 PM
Ziggy - im in tokyo, may as well be dublin for all i understand the accents!

Looking at that report it said the guys had english accents - yet tony is still blaming NI fans. Strange.

Ive no idea if they came from the linfield game or not, seems to be some dispute, but if they did i dont know what can be done other than banning them, and even then is that even legal if they did not do anything at the game?
I would hope so, but you know what european laws are like? I heard before that it is against human rights laws to have pictures of people banned from grounds up behind the turnstiles - anyone heard this before?
Post by: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 03:19:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 03:14:17 PM
Saffron Sam2

Chris, I have no idea whether or not the boys in question were at the Oval or in McHugh's or in both or neither. Nor, if he is being honest, does SammyG.

I have deliberately not made any comments, inferences or conclusions. I just hope the injured party makes a full recovery and that those responsible are caught.

Totally agree.
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 03:38:36 PM
Quote from: stew on March 31, 2008, 03:16:32 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 03:14:58 PM

Could it be that sammyg is lying through his teeth again??? How many times is this now???
The peelers have them om CCTV!!!!!
Post by: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 03:39:47 PM
Will someone answer me as to why Brit Nazis as well as local loyalists are attracted to Linfield/IFA? Surely there can be no other reason than the ultra loyalist background and history of this club, which is inextricably linked with the IFA and has been sponsored for decades  by the same IFA? Also are Linfield Fans not also North of Ireland and Rangers fans naturally as well?

Also it is not so long ago that any Linfield sc**bag would never have ventured near King Street, as they would have known well what would have become of them. The peace process has its drawbacks as well >:(
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 03:42:53 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 02:56:25 PMThe coppers have said in a statement (I have copied it from the IN report).

Yet SammyG has it all sussed in a matter of minutes (and from some distance too by the way). Are you Conor Murphy by any chance?
The chief peeler (didn't catch his rank) was on Radio 6 counties this morning and said they have CCTV footage of them in McHughs and that they had been there 'for several hours prior to the attack'.

That link is still up on the IFA website.
It's still on the BBC website as well (and on lots of posts on here and on OWC but the facts have shown otherwise).
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 03:44:38 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 31, 2008, 03:14:17 PM
I just hope the injured party makes a full recovery and that those responsible are caught.

On that we can all agree.
Post by: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 03:53:02 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 03:39:47 PM
Will someone answer me as to why Brit Nazis as well as local loyalists are attracted to Linfield/IFA? Surely there can be no other reason than the ultra loyalist background and history of this club, which is inextricably linked with the IFA and has been sponsored for decades  by the same IFA? Also are Linfield Fans not also North of Ireland and Rangers fans naturally as well?

Also it is not so long ago that any Linfield sc**bag would never have ventured near King Street, as they would have known well what would have become of them. The peace process has its drawbacks as well >:(

No doubt you are on the wind up but your posts are becoming more desperate, crass and offensive.
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 04:17:41 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 03:42:53 PM

The chief peeler (didn't catch his rank) was on Radio 6 counties this morning and said they have CCTV footage of them in McHughs and that they had been there 'for several hours prior to the attack'.

For someone who has been caught out telling so many lies on this Board before, one would have thought you'd have had more sense in spinning another outrageous one such as that.  ::) 
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 04:25:22 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 04:17:41 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 03:42:53 PM

For someone who has been caught out telling so many lies on this Board before, one would have thought you'd have had more sense in spinning another outrageous one such as that.  ::) 

WTF are you on about? You were the one caught lying (again), I'm repeating what was said on the Radio this morning. Pretty easy to confirm, my quote, it'll be on iPlayer if you want to listen back.
Post by: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 04:30:24 PM
I am not on a wind up. I am smply asking the question. Why are Brit Nazis and local Nazis attracted to Linfield FC?
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 05:01:07 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 04:25:22 PM
WTF are you on about? You were the one caught lying (again), I'm repeating what was said on the Radio this morning. Pretty easy to confirm, my quote, it'll be on iPlayer if you want to listen back.

You are a liar. The PSNI spokesman said nothing of the sort.
Post by: stew on March 31, 2008, 05:13:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 04:30:24 PM
I am not on a wind up. I am smply asking the question. Why are Brit Nazis and local Nazis attracted to Linfield FC?

It is a legitimate question. I for one would like to know why!
Post by: Solomon Kane on March 31, 2008, 05:16:06 PM
I am not trying to link these these events, but a few years ago I narrowly missed driving in to trouble on two seperate occasions after the usual Old Firm sectarian w**k-fests. Once as I was driving through Short Strand, and the other time at Carlisle Circus. Both times the wee shitbags thought it was a good idea to throw stones and bottles at cars who just happened to be driving by just after the final whistle had blown in Glasgow.

That doesn't make the events on Saturday any less despicable, or indeed the comments of the usual suspects here any less predictable or pathetic.
Post by: Chrisowc on March 31, 2008, 05:52:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 04:30:24 PM

Funny.  That isn't the question you asked in the post I quoted.
Post by: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 08:20:28 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 05:01:07 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 04:25:22 PM

You are a liar. The PSNI spokesman said nothing of the sort.

So what did he say, then?
Post by: Mutley on March 31, 2008, 09:05:26 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on March 31, 2008, 05:16:06 PM
I am not trying to link these these events, but a few years ago I narrowly missed driving in to trouble on two seperate occasions after the usual Old Firm sectarian w**k-fests. Once as I was driving through Short Strand, and the other time at Carlisle Circus. Both times the wee shitbags thought it was a good idea to throw stones and bottles at cars who just happened to be driving by just after the final whistle had blown in Glasgow.

That doesn't make the events on Saturday any less despicable, or indeed the comments of the usual suspects here any less predictable or pathetic.

I am not even going to comment on this thread, it is awful.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 09:07:46 PM
Sammy are you not the one who claimed that the PSNI super said that the gang were inside the pub for hours.
The PSNI Super on Radio Ulster said that some of the gang had been tracked back to a pub where they had been inside for an hour /hour and a half.
Match was incident free.
Match ended 2.20pm?  
Doesn't leave much time for any body at the match to meet up at the pub and go on a rampage.

Witnesses stated something about Linfield regalia amongst the mob. (Obviously the Fenian statements can be ignored  ;) )

Loyalist Nazi gang, alleged wearing football related regalia, witnesses alleged Linfield related, partake in a wild bloody sectarian attack on people.

Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 09:52:37 PM
Dear All.. the fact that the gang of Loyalists were heard to be chanting 'FAMOUS SECTION F' puts to bed any notion that they were not Linfield fans.. Of course all those in the know are aware that SECTION F is / was the nearest point in the upper deck of the North Stand at Windsor Park to the Spion Kop.. Whenever Cliftonville played there in the the 80s and 90s, SECTION F is where the NF skinheads (Lower Shankill UDA - Adair, McCrory et all) gathered to fire snooker balls into the KOP and give the NF salutes.. I think Linfield fans stand guilty...

Shower of Scum!
Post by: Mutley on March 31, 2008, 11:07:09 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 09:52:37 PM
Dear All.. the fact that the gang of Loyalists were heard to be chanting 'FAMOUS SECTION F' puts to bed any notion that they were not Linfield fans.. Of course all those in the know are aware that SECTION F is / was the nearest point in the upper deck of the North Stand at Windsor Park to the Spion Kop.. Whenever Cliftonville played there in the the 80s and 90s, SECTION F is where the NF skinheads (Lower Shankill UDA - Adair, McCrory et all) gathered to fire snooker balls into the KOP and give the NF salutes.. I think Linfield fans stand guilty...

Shower of Scum!

Blanket statement hurler on the bitch. Not all Linfield fans engaged in this disgusting rampage but some did, and they are as you said scum. In this day and age some people are still Hitler fanatics, the mind boggles.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 31, 2008, 11:15:18 PM
Linfield at board level and player/manager level have moved on. A tiny proportion of their followers obviously haven't moved with the times, but there haven't been any major problems recently when they played DC / Reds / Setanta Cup.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:24:10 PM
Agree - Blanket Statement !!! But how many Bluemen will be thoroughly ashamed by the incident? How many NI fans cringe (rather piss themselves with pride in the South Stand) when "No Surrender" is shouted during GSTQ? (THE QUEEN SAYS IT ALL) -  Guilty by association methinks! If I was a decent Blueman (PERSON) I would have jumped ship years ago rather than endure the shite that is sprouted at Windsor - Methinks that they must be comfortable (enjoy?) such hatred and aggro... certainly would not bring my kids to sit through that hatred!! Then again would anyone like to argue with me by saying that the Blues fans have not been responsible for 95% of the badness in local football over the years? ps - there is a man in his 80s living in Lurgan who has a leg 1 and a half inches shorter than his other due to the fact that Bluemen queued up to jump on it on 27.12.1948.. Jimmy Jones of Belfast Celtic is his name!!!!  By the way . that dunderin inn of a  'Shrine' of Windsor has still intact the actual piece of terracing that Jones was kicked into - AFTER 60 YEARS... National Stadium? You're having a LAUGH!
Post by: Mutley on March 31, 2008, 11:29:40 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:24:10 PM
Agree - Blanket Statement !!! But how many Bluemen will be thoroughly ashamed by the incident? How many NI fans cringe (rather piss themselves with pride in the South Stand) when "No Surrender" is shouted during GSTQ? (THE QUEEN SAYS IT ALL) -  Guilty by association methinks! If I was a decent Blueman (PERSON) I would have jumped ship years ago rather than endure the shite that is sprouted at Windsor - Methinks that they must be comfortable (enjoy?) such hatred and aggro... certainly would not bring my kids to sit through that hatred!! Then again would anyone like to argue with me by saying that the Blues fans have not been responsible for 95% of the badness in local football over the years? ps - there is a man in his 80s living in Lurgan who has a leg 1 and a half inches shorter than his other due to the fact that Bluemen queued up to jump on it on 27.12.1948.. Jimmy Jones of Belfast Celtic is his name!!!!  By the way . that decrepitated 'Shrine' of Windsor has still in tactthe actual piece of terracing that Jones was kicked into - AFTER 60 YEARS... National Stadium? You're having a LAUGH!

Excuse me for asking but............................................ what does decrepitated mean?????

There is no way to know how many Linfield supporters will be ashamed of what happened so it is a silly question. I have read about what happened to that poor man and this year it is 60 years ago. Just because some of the Linfield fans have not moved on does not mean that you shouldnt either.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:34:29 PM
f**k me you're right .. with a mixture of sarcasm, pathos and shite - and 14 posts - you have crucified me! Fuckthis! I'm f**king well phoning on sick tomorow.. I have been scundered by a NF apologist and a p***k!!!
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 11:38:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2008, 09:07:46 PM
Sammy are you not the one who claimed that the PSNI super said that the gang were inside the pub for hours.
The PSNI Super on Radio Ulster said that some of the gang had been tracked back to a pub where they had been inside for an hour /hour and a half.
Match was incident free.
Match ended 2.20pm? 
Doesn't leave much time for any body at the match to meet up at the pub and go on a rampage.

Witnesses stated something about Linfield regalia amongst the mob. (Obviously the Fenian statements can be ignored  ;) )

Loyalist Nazi gang, alleged wearing football related regalia, witnesses alleged Linfield related, partake in a wild bloody sectarian attack on people.

He said they were following a "line of inquiry" not that they were in the pub. Similarly there are other lines of inquiry that the forty people are connected to the 'Section F' crowd at the match. 
Post by: Mutley on March 31, 2008, 11:41:55 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:34:29 PM
f**k me you're right .. with a mixture of sarcasm, pathos and shite - and 14 posts - you have crucified me! Fuckthis! I'm f**king well phoning on sick tomorow.. I have been scundered by a NF apologist and a p***k!!!

I didnt try and crucify anyone but you are either drunk or have rage control issues. I am away to bed, I dont have to take this kind of abuse from anyone. Calm down big man, you will take a heart attack if you keep this up.

One last thing, I am far from a NF apologist, you are just mad at me because you have very limited writing skills. Decrepitated :D Classic.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:47:45 PM
Thanks Mutley - maybe I was a bit out of order. Sorry. If you are going to bed now make sure that you turn everything off. Heating, lights, computer etc. And don't pull the head off it when your polishing the tip!!! ;) ...
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on March 31, 2008, 11:52:24 PM
Still waiting for a response ...  :-\ feck this I'm away to bed...Keep the noise down mutley !!! ...Is that you kissing your hand in foreplay?!!!!
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2008, 01:29:10 AM
Quote from: Donagh on March 31, 2008, 11:38:13 PM
Match was incident free.
Match ended 2.20pm? 

Witnesses stated something about Linfield regalia amongst the mob. (Obviously the Fenian statements can be ignored  ;) )

He said they were following a "line of inquiry" not that they were in the pub. Similarly there are other lines of inquiry that the forty people are connected to the 'Section F' crowd at the match. 

The PSNI Super, Mark Rodden? about 8.15am said it was definite line of enquiry that put a group in a pub nearby for an hour/ hour and a half but they haven´t been able to put the group at the match, that is a line of enquiry they were trying to establish.

There are lines of enquiry, definite lines of enquiry and then there is speculation.

Who the feck is that Belfast Lord Mayor - 'drink and drugs fuelled rampage' -  amadán.   

Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 07:36:46 AM
He said hours on Good Morning Ulster yesterday morning.
Match was incident free.
Correct
Match ended 2.20pm?  
Or thereabouts
Correct
Witnesses stated something about Linfield regalia amongst the mob. (Obviously the Fenian statements can be ignored  ;) )
This is a complete lie (which seems to have been made up by BBC and Sunday World journos). The mob were all dressed in black Stone Island shite and weren't wearing any team colours. There are pictures of them on the link in my previous post.
No, so called Loyalist scum, wearing black Stone Island partake in a sickening sectarian attack but sure don't let the facts get in the way of a good 'it's all themmuns fault' rant.
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 07:36:46 AM

No he didn't.

Match was incident free.
Correct
UVF flags in the Linfield end were clearly visible on the news last night.

Match ended 2.20pm? 
Or thereabouts
Correct
Bus from  the ground takes less than 10 minutes
This is a complete lie (which seems to have been made up by BBC and Sunday World journos). The mob were all dressed in black Stone Island shite and weren't wearing any team colours. There are pictures of them on the link in my previous post.[/quote]
It is not a lie. The witnesses were all saying this on the Sat evening news.

No, so called Loyalist scum, wearing black Stone Island partake in a sickening sectarian attack but sure don't let the facts get in the way of a good 'it's all themmuns fault' rant.
An unprovoked attack by a mob on an innocent man - it's obvious who's fault it is.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 09:34:57 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMUVF flags in the Linfield end were clearly visible on the news last night.
Probably true but WTF has that got to do with the discussion. If you want to discuss sectarian behaviour by fans at IL matches then fire away, I thought this discussion was about the poor sod that got knifed in town.

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AM
Again true but there was no bus, the people involved walked from McHughs

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMIt is not a lie. The witnesses were all saying this on the Sat evening news.
By witnesses I presume you mean the SDLP woman who hadn't seen it but managed to decide that there were both Linfield and Cliftonville shirts on display (depsite the fact that the photos of the incident clearly show otherwise). Or do you mean the witnesses that saw 70 men get off a bus and attack the pub?

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMAn unprovoked attack by a mob on an innocent man - it's obvious who's fault it is.
It certainly is and hopefully the scum will be put away for a very long time.
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:56:47 AM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 09:34:57 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMUVF flags in the Linfield end were clearly visible on the news last night.

Probably true but WTF has that got to do with the discussion. If you want to discuss sectarian behaviour by fans at IL matches then fire away, I thought this discussion was about the poor sod that got knifed in town.

You said there were no incidents at the match itself, I'm simply pointing out that you wrong, again.

Again true but there was no bus, the people involved walked from McHughs
You have no proof of that. There are witnesses to say many of them got off a bus full of Linfield supporters. There were 40+ people involved in this mob.

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMIt is not a lie. The witnesses were all saying this on the Sat evening news.
By witnesses I presume you mean the SDLP woman who hadn't seen it but managed to decide that there were both Linfield and Cliftonville shirts on display (depsite the fact that the photos of the incident clearly show otherwise). Or do you mean the witnesses that saw 70 men get off a bus and attack the pub?[/quote]

There were many witnesses on the various news outlets after the incident.

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMAn unprovoked attack by a mob on an innocent man - it's obvious who's fault it is.
It certainly is and hopefully the scum will be put away for a very long time.

Yes but you are the worst kind of coward. They type that by their attempts at denial and coverup gives these bigots cover and allows them to continue with their behaviour. A quick perusal through Bebo will show anyone interested who was responsible and the attitude of the Linfield fans to the "Taig"/"Tim" who got his throat slashed.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 11:35:54 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:56:47 AMYou said there were no incidents at the match itself, I'm simply pointing out that you wrong, again.
Sorry I've obviously missed something, whaty happened at the match?

You have no proof of that. There are witnesses to say many of them got off a bus full of Linfield supporters. There were 40+ people involved in this mob.
No proof apart from the two minor facts that !)all the Linfield buses are accounted for and 2) The peelers said that they have them on CCTV walking from McHugh's.

Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 09:09:13 AMYes but you are the worst kind of coward. They type that by their attempts at denial and coverup gives these bigots cover and allows them to continue with their behaviour.
When havce I denied or covered-up anything? I have been totally clear that the scum involved should be put away for a very long time. The fact that I haven't wallowed in the sort of bullshit that you and the Sunday World seem to enjoy, doesn't mean I'm supporting or covering-up for the scum involved.
A quick perusal through Bebo will show anyone interested who was responsible and the attitude of the Linfield fans to the "Taig"/"Tim" who got his throat slashed.
That Bebo site is sickening but a quick perusal shows that it's full of teenagers, from both sides (most of them look about 14) talking shite about how hard they are. Hopefully if any of them were involved they'll be easy to pick up because their photos are all over the site.
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 11:49:47 AM
Sammy, your not even worth responding to when you persist with the lies, denials, and outright bullshit. Though I'm not surprised that you've been caught out again it does disgust me that you haven't the balls to see whats put in front of your face - obviously the tribal call is stronger than facts and common sense.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 11:56:28 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 11:49:47 AM
Sammy, your not even worth responding to when you persist with the lies, denials, and outright bullshit.
Come on it one example of each, it won't take you two minutes!
Though I'm not surprised that you've been caught out again it does disgust me that you haven't the balls to see whats put in front of your face
WTF are you on about I have unreservedly condemned the scum that were involved, what else do you want me to do?
- obviously the tribal call
What 'tribal call;', I can't stand Linfield and have very little interest in the Irish League, so I'm not sure what you're on about?
is stronger than facts and common sense.
What 'facts and common sense'? I have stuck to the facts, as they are known and haven't delved into the Sunday World bullshit, which you seem to be obsessed by, even when it's be shown to be completely false.
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 12:06:18 PM
Sammy you have no credibility on this Board. Even on this thread you have been caught lying in order to provide cover for the culprits of this attack, not to mention the personal abuse directed at me for pulling you on it. Very sad.   
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 12:10:02 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 12:06:18 PM
Sammy you have no credibility on this Board. Even on this thread you have been caught lying in order to provide cover for the culprits of this attack, not to mention the personal abuse directed at me for pulling you on it. Very sad.   

Come on, all my posts are there for you to see, show me which ones I was lying in? It's not that difficult, surely?
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 12:12:52 PM
I'm usually not in the habit of repeating myself and am certainly not going to waste my time doing it for you.
Title: Lies
Post by: passedit on April 01, 2008, 12:34:11 PM
Sammy, I have exclusive proof that there was a bus involved and will posta picture of it as soon as i get clearance.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 12:36:57 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 12:12:52 PM
I'm usually not in the habit of repeating myself and am certainly not going to waste my time doing it for you.

Is that an apology, for your bull or have I read it wrong?
Title: Conclusive Proof
Post by: passedit on April 01, 2008, 12:47:03 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44416000/jpg/_44416326_paddywagon.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2008, 12:51:58 PM

"One hour, an hour and a half" is the direct quote.

BBC RADIO ULSTER 8.15am,  the only interview with the PSNI Superintendent on the program.

Post by: cville on April 01, 2008, 01:05:37 PM
Dear owc contributors.. please could you clarify this - SECTION F was chanted by the mob.......... Linfield? Yes or No? 
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 01:14:44 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:17:34 PM
Absolutely disgusting post there by Sammy.

In what way?
Here's what is known about the incident. Those responsible got off a bus full of Linfield supporters which had been escorted by the PSNI as far as the city centre.
Absolute bullshit
They attacked Cosgroves Bar but were beaten out of it again by those inside.
Correct
They then attacked people on the street stabbing one in the throat.

Again correct
After the attack they made their way up College Avenue towards Sandy Row, home of Linfield and Windsor Park.
Not sure where you got that from.
Coming after the threat to the manager it's a fair assumption to make that someone associated with Linfield was hell bent on making trouble last weekend.
WTF has the disgusting threat got to do with either Linfield or the match at the weekend (which passed off without incident)
And to think the OWC people expected the GAA to bring people into the city with this type of unionist soccer scum running around looking opportunity to attack a Fenian.
EDITTED To protect the iinnocent : Rangers scum attack Celtic fans and somehow this becomes something to do with OWC and the Maze. Sickening.

Sammy can you explain the statement highlighted in bold please.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 01:18:23 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 01:14:44 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:17:34 PMEDITTED To protect the iinnocent : Rangers scum attack Celtic fans and somehow this becomes something to do with OWC and the Maze. Sickening.

Not sure what you want explained, a crowd of scumbags claiming to be Rangers fans attacked a pub full of Celtic fans, as can be seen by all the photos.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 01, 2008, 01:23:25 PM
Quote from: cville on April 01, 2008, 01:05:37 PM
Dear owc contributors.. please could you clarify this - SECTION F was chanted by the mob.......... Linfield? Yes or No? 

Good question. Any takers?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 01:30:41 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 01:18:23 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 31, 2008, 01:17:34 PMEDITTED To protect the iinnocent : Rangers scum attack Celtic fans and somehow this becomes something to do with OWC and the Maze. Sickening.

Not sure what you want explained, a crowd of scumbags claiming to be Rangers fans attacked a pub full of Celtic fans, as can be seen by all the photos.

Are we still talking about Saturdays incident?
If we are then, the pub attacked was "full" of elderly men, as most if not all of the younger men in watching the Celtic match had left, also the pub involved would be more of a Mau U/Liverpool bar, with a strong boxing history - not a Celtic bar.
The scumbags were reported by people at the scene to chant Section F and Super section F - not Rangers, also they were observed to be wearing Linfield jersies and scarves, when they got up King Street and opened their jackets.
The people seen in your photos wearing Celtic jersies did not come from Cosgroves but from Fat Harrys (the Sitting Room) the National and from the bookies.
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2008, 01:36:34 PM
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/NeoNazi-thugs-involved-in-throat.3930856.jp (http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/NeoNazi-thugs-involved-in-throat.3930856.jp)

'ENGLISH neo-Nazi thugs were among the loyalist mob who slashed the throat of a Celtic fan at the weekend, eyewitnesses have claimed.
Eyewitnesses in Castle Street - a mainly nationalist thoroughfare - said the Linfield supporters alighted from a bus and rushed towards the area.

Onlookers today reported some of them were wearing neo-Nazi gear.
One eyewitnesses told the show: "The men tried to get into the bar at first, and one was carrying an extendable baton. Another had a pair of knuckle-dusters and were chanting, 'Combat 18'."

Post by: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 01:36:46 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 01, 2008, 01:23:25 PM
Quote from: cville on April 01, 2008, 01:05:37 PM

Good question. Any takers?

It's not really a good question.

When and where cville?
Post by: his holiness nb on April 01, 2008, 01:39:01 PM
I dont get why Sammy claims that he cant stand Linfield yet seems hell bent to convince us their fans werent involved when numerous eye witness reports suggest otherwise.
Seems like he has an ulterior motive to protect the linfield fans here.

Then again given the numerous times he has been caught telling lies (dont waste our times asking for examples, its happens all the time) its reasonable to take anything he says with a great deal of skepticism.

now cue Sammy calling me one of the "usual suspects" or something childish in return.
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 02:32:37 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 12:36:57 PM

An apology? No it is not. At best you are a liar and a coward, that much is proven on this thread and many others. At worst, by your attempts to excuse them, you are complicit in the actions of the scum that attacked that man on Castle Street.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 02:45:08 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 02:32:37 PM

An apology? No it is not. At best you are a liar and a coward, that much is proven on this thread and many others. At worst, by your attempts to excuse them, you are complicit in the actions of the scum that attacked that man on Castle Street.

Can you show me where anyone has attempted to excuse the attack on the man in Castle Street?
Post by: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 02:45:08 PM

Can you show me where anyone has attempted to excuse the attack on the man in Castle Street?

Sorry that should have been 'deny'. Reminiscent of the glory days of Unionism, when obsfucation, misinformation and lies where enough to let countless murderers off the hook by shifting the blame onto someone else.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 03:39:53 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 01, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 02:45:08 PM

Sorry that should have been 'deny'. Reminiscent of the glory days of Unionism, when obsfucation, misinformation and lies where enough to let countless murderers off the hook by shifting the blame onto someone else.
If this wasn't such a serious subject your posts would be laughable. Show me one post where I have denied anything? I have 100% condemned the scum involved and want to see them put away. How can you read that as denying (or even excusing as your previous post stated)?
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 03:46:38 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 01:30:41 PM

If we are then, the pub attacked was "full" of elderly men, as most if not all of the younger men in watching the Celtic match had left, also the pub involved would be more of a Mau U/Liverpool bar, with a strong boxing history - not a Celtic bar.
I never said it was a Celtic bar, I'm not sure what point you're trying to make. The mob attacked the bar and was 'beaten back' by the customers and then attacked a passer-by because he happened to be wearing a Celtic shirt.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:02:36 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 03:46:38 PM

I never said it was a Celtic bar, I'm not sure what point you're trying to make. The mob attacked the bar and was 'beaten back' by the customers and then attacked a passer-by because he happened to be wearing a Celtic shirt.

You were happy enough to bandy about the labels Celtic and Rangers in respect to this incident, when in fact the evidence leads us to the conclusion that this had nothing to do with the OF, rather an attack on Catholics by whats looking more and more like a combined Linfield/Loyalist/Neo Nazi mob.
As for the victim wearing a Hoops jersey, haven't seen any evidence yet that he was wearing one, infact was he not just a poor man in the wrong place, who walked into a mob of animals who wanted any fen*ans blood!
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:07:53 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:02:36 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 03:46:38 PM

You were happy enough to bandy about the labels Celtic and Rangers in respect to this incident, when in fact the evidence leads us to the conclusion that this had nothing to do with the OF, rather an attack on Catholics by whats looking more and more like a combined Linfield/Loyalist/Neo Nazi mob.

A mob of Rangers fans watch the Old Firm and then go and attack a bar full of Celtic fans. WTF else would you 'label' it as?
As for the victim wearing a Hoops jersey, haven't seen any evidence yet that he was wearing one,
The press reports said he was wearing a Celtic shirt, although given some of the shite they've written he might not have been.
infact was he not just a poor man in the wrong place, who walked into a mob of animals who wanted any fen*ans blood!
That is true whether he was wearing a Celtic shirt or not.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:19:30 PM
Jezuz Sammy will you please give it up, when the feck has Rankers been mentioned by anyone (bar yourself) in relation to this incident.
As for the bar, I drink in it on occasion and on a Saturday afternoon you would get approx 10-20 older men supping a pint in it, as well as the fact that eye witnesses have already stated that the bar was quite empty, certainly not "full of Celtic fans" as you so dramatically put it.
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:23:01 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:19:30 PM
Jezuz Sammy will you please give it up, when the feck has Rankers been mentioned by anyone (bar yourself) in relation to this incident.
As for the bar, I drink in it on occasion and on a Saturday afternoon you would get approx 10-20 older men supping a pint in it, as well as the fact that eye witnesses have already stated that the bar was quite empty, certainly not "full of Celtic fans" as you so dramatically put it.

The 'eye witnesses' said that 100 people left the bar to 'beat back' the mob and stop them attacking the bar. How can 100 people have fought with the mob if there were only 10-20 oul lads in the pub?
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:33:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 01, 2008, 04:29:59 PM
100 people?? You're having a laugh....

See Main Streets post at the top of the page. I wasn't there so I've no idea how many people were in the pub (and I've already said that most of the 'eye witness' reports have turned out to be shite).
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:44:27 PM
Can you pleaseeeeeeeeee tell me your reason for blaming Rangers fans for this attack??
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:47:55 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 04:44:27 PM
Can you pleaseeeeeeeeee tell me your reason for blaming Rangers fans for this attack??
The scum who did this watched the Old Firm match and then went and attacked a bar full of Celtic fans. Obviously it's possible that they were Celtic fans but I'd say that Rangers fans was more likely.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 01, 2008, 04:51:19 PM
was the bullet used or live?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 05:00:02 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:47:55 PM
The scum who did this watched the Old Firm match and then went and attacked a bar full of Celtic fans. Obviously it's possible that they were Celtic fans but I'd say that Rangers fans was more likely.

Ah f**k this I cannot be bothered with the roundabout obtuse nature of your denials, anymore.  ::)
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 05:01:44 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 05:00:02 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 04:47:55 PM

Ah f**k this I cannot be bothered with the roundabout obtuse nature of your denials, anymore.  ::)
WTF have I denied and what was roundabout or obtuse about my answer? You asked a question and I answered it.
Post by: thejuice on April 01, 2008, 05:15:23 PM
is it fair to say that none of you were there, and are relying on 2nd hand news from the papers and radio shows....................
Post by: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 05:50:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 01, 2008, 05:20:08 PM
Yes.
End of discussion. Thank you all for your views.

Discussion shall be reopened if an eye witness registers with the board.

Amen!
Post by: pebble-dasher on April 01, 2008, 06:06:36 PM
did chris owc not say that he saw some men dressed in that particular black clothing with english ascents at windsor park!  Surely this means that the scum did indeed watch the c'ville linfield match!

The attack was pre-planned and shows Linfield Football club in a very bad light. 

The people who carried out the attack must think they are part of the film green street as they  shouted 'Famous Section F' just like in the film where they chant 'Were your famous GSE'
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 01, 2008, 07:02:37 PM
THE SAME SECTION F OF THE NORTH STAND FROM WHERE ADAIR AND HIS TATTOOED FUCKWITS SPROUTED THEIR BILE - LATER BLAST BOMBS - ONTO THE SPION KOP!! FAMOUS SECTION F .. SKINHEAD. NF.. BNP...LI.. NF...IELD.. PS - CHRIS OWC .. "WHEN AND WHERE?" SAD APOLOGIST FOR SCUM!..NO BALLS MATE!
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 07:24:59 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on April 01, 2008, 06:06:36 PM
did chris owc not say that he saw some men dressed in that particular black clothing with english ascents at windsor park!  Surely this means that the scum did indeed watch the c'ville linfield match!
There wasn't a match at Windsor Park  ::)
Post by: Chrisowc on April 01, 2008, 10:41:47 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 01, 2008, 07:02:37 PM
THE SAME SECTION F OF THE NORTH STAND FROM WHERE ADAIR AND HIS TATTOOED FUCKWITS SPROUTED THEIR BILE - LATER BLAST BOMBS - ONTO THE SPION KOP!! FAMOUS SECTION F .. SKINHEAD. NF.. BNP...LI.. NF...IELD.. PS - CHRIS OWC .. "WHEN AND WHERE?" SAD APOLOGIST FOR SCUM!..NO BALLS MATE!

Thanks for that.

When and where is extremely appropriate in this case.  When and where have I apologised for scum?

I asked when and where the Section F chant took place which I think was fair enough.  Cville hasn't come back yet, so lets see when and where he was talking about before accusing anyone of being a sad apologist for scum.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 01, 2008, 11:31:30 PM
Apologies. I thought that you were asking CVILLE for a fight - "when and where?" - I thought that outside Cosgrove's would have been appropriate. However, seeing as the Sunday Life, The Irish News, the Tele etc etc - and a dog down our street called Barney - were all aware of the SECTION F chant (check it out on the net also - BEBO) I am sorry but the blueman are guilty!... FYI .. AND FOR THOSE OF A OWC PERSUASION.. Cville has advised me that his name has nothing to do with the football club CLIFTONVILLE.  he is merely associated with a seaside resort in England of that name. The reason why he attends Cliftonville matches is that he is confused and geographically illiterate and would like to point out that he has never supported Cliftonville and was only in Belfast for the past 29 years to watch Celtic games. He never did naffin and adds "what time is my easyjet to Luton?" Feckin Packies / Paddies - bloody everywhere!!!! I mean WE ARE THE PEOPLE!!!!! Feckin Aryan blood etc etc !!!! No Horse Thieves of Rapists in our Genes" - Master Race we are ... our mates in Ulster etc etc !!! ...
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 02, 2008, 10:18:49 AM
THE SAME SECTION F OF THE NORTH STAND FROM WHERE ADAIR AND HIS TATTOOED FUCKWITS SPROUTED THEIR BILE - LATER BLAST BOMBS - ONTO THE SPION KOP!!

Hurler - you would need one hell of an arm on you to throw a blast bomb onto the Spion Kop fron section F of the North Stand - section F is roughly a third of the way between the halfway line and the railway stand.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 01:48:35 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 02, 2008, 10:18:49 AM
THE SAME SECTION F OF THE NORTH STAND FROM WHERE ADAIR AND HIS TATTOOED FUCKWITS SPROUTED THEIR BILE - LATER BLAST BOMBS - ONTO THE SPION KOP!!

Hurler - you would need one hell of an arm on you to throw a blast bomb onto the Spion Kop fron section F of the North Stand - section F is roughly a third of the way between the halfway line and the railway stand.

Aye, but Mad Dog works out ::)
Post by: his holiness nb on April 02, 2008, 01:53:41 PM
I realise where Linfield is and that they are an extremely loyalist club, but have the fans been involved in this sort of indicent before?
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 02:19:20 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on April 02, 2008, 01:53:41 PM
I realise where Linfield is and that they are an extremely loyalist club, but have the fans been involved in this sort of indicent before?

Lets say they'd be no strangers to a few hammers or hatchets, nor Stanley knives and spanners either.
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 02:20:56 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 01:48:35 PM
Aye, but Mad Dog works out ::)

Adair with his fellow 'F Section' gluesniffers working out after a Linfield game.

(http://www.geocities.com/irishafa/gluesniffmarch.jpg)
Post by: Minder on April 02, 2008, 02:21:49 PM
I remember in the late 80's an Irish Cup match against Donegal Celtic (i think) when a fan ran on to the pitch and laid into one of the DC players.........Im sure it was out of character though.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 02:27:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 02, 2008, 02:21:49 PM
I remember in the late 80's an Irish Cup match against Donegal Celtic (i think) when a fan ran on to the pitch and laid into one of the DC players.........Im sure it was out of character though.

Not quite laid into him.  A school kid (I know he was a school kid because he went to my mates school) ran onto the pitch kicked him up the hole then climbed back into the crowd.

Disclaimer.  Before I am accused of condoning this, or of being an apologist for scum, I wholeheartedly condemn anyone who invades the field of play, in order to strike an competitor in any sporting fixture.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2008, 02:35:08 PM
Why can it not be taken for granted that the usual disclaimers apply?

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 02, 2008, 02:48:13 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 02:27:10 PM

Not quite laid into him.  A school kid (I know he was a school kid because he went to my mates school) ran onto the pitch kicked him up the hole then climbed back into the crowd.

Disclaimer.  Before I am accused of condoning this, or of being an apologist for scum, I wholeheartedly condemn anyone who invades the field of play, in order to strike an competitor in any sporting fixture.

Chris why do you feel the need to trivialise the incident, getting "kicked up the hole by a school kid" is a very serious thing, school kid could be 6 foot tall weighting 15 stone as were a few lads in my school!! Wouldn't fancy it myself.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 02:48:48 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2008, 02:35:08 PM
Why can it not be taken for granted that the usual disclaimers apply?

Agreed.  It was a tongue in cheek comment based on a couple of posts in the last day or two.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 02:52:34 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 02, 2008, 02:48:13 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 02, 2008, 02:27:10 PM

Chris why do you feel the need to trivialise the incident, getting "kicked up the hole by a school kid" is a very serious thing, school kid could be 6 foot tall weighting 15 stone as were a few lads in my school!! Wouldn't fancy it myself.

Yeah, but this was in the day when you weren't too big for a trip to the headmaster's office for a severe lashing.

Thank God for Social Workers.
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 03:29:39 PM
Was that back in the day when they were throwing hand grenades at the Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park? Linfield soccer club has to be held responsible when these things happen for allowing the bigots on their terraces as obviously the young and easily led are taking their cues from them. FFS selling records about cutting people up with knives and like look at the shape of these bucks  ::):

(http://file040a.bebo.com/14/large/2008/03/12/19/2862781513a7134087487l.jpg)

(http://file040a.bebo.com/14/large/2008/03/12/19/2862781513a7134087914l.jpg)
Post by: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 04:05:12 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 03:29:39 PM
Was that back in the day when they were throwing hand grenades at the Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park?
Do you ever stop talking shite? For the millionth time the grenade was thrown by UVF scum, from the street, into the open space/car park behind the Kop (and was cheered to the rafters because the supporters in the ground, thought somebody was attacking the peelers). There were not grenades and the one that was thrown went nowhere near the Cliftonville fans and was nothing to do with Linfield or anybody else inside the ground.

To engage in hideous (and totallly irrelevant) whataboutery should the GAA be held responsible for the 2 bomb attacks by the IRA and INLA on NI supporters, on the grounds that some GAA members might have been in the IRA at some stage.

And before anybody starts mis-quoting me, of course they shouldn't, I'm using a ridiculous example to show how pathetic Donagh's stance is.
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 04:26:58 PM
Sammy after spinning so many lies you have zero credibility on this Board. That you are again trying to belittle the actions of the people that attacked the Cliftonville supporters inside Windsor Park is disgusting and shameful. As for your retreat into 'whataboutry' - that's just sad but again illustrates the depths to which you have no hesitation in descending in your defense of bigotry.
Post by: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 04:47:26 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 04:26:58 PM
Sammy after spinning so many lies you have zero credibility on this Board. That you are again trying to belittle the actions of the people that attacked the Cliftonville supporters inside Windsor Park is disgusting and shameful.

A complete an utter lie and you know it is so why do you keep repeating it.
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 04:26:58 PM
As for your retreat into 'whataboutry' - that's just sad but again illustrates the depths to which you have no hesitation in descending in your defense of bigotry.
You lie and that means that I'm defending bigottry, right got that, thanks.  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on April 02, 2008, 04:51:49 PM
Was reading the Orange Letter to-day. Apparently a cd containing fascist and derogatory songs aimed at other clubs supporters was on sale in Linfield/IFA's retail shop, but has now been withdrawn. Linfield/IFA say they were unaware of the content ::)

FFS You coudn't make it up. Football for All, my arse as Jim Royle might say
Post by: red hander on April 02, 2008, 04:55:34 PM
Was that back in the day when they were throwing hand grenades at the Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park? Linfield soccer club has to be held responsible when these things happen for allowing the bigots on their terraces as obviously the young and easily led are taking their cues from them. FFS selling records about cutting people up with knives and like look at the shape of these bucks  ::):

(http://file040a.bebo.com/14/large/2008/03/12/19/2862781513a7134087487l.jpg)

(http://file040a.bebo.com/14/large/2008/03/12/19/2862781513a7134087914l.jpg)

The little p***k on the right in the top picture seems to be giving the w**ker signal ... how appropriate indeed
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 05:57:08 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 04:47:26 PM

How is it a lie? Hand grenades were thrown at Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park. If they weren't being thrown at Cliftonville supporters who were the targets then?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 02, 2008, 07:42:52 PM

Apologies - not having an indepth knowledge of blast bombs like you etc... However the incident of which I speak - November 1992 - the blast bomb was thrown from Olympia Drive outside the ground - fell short though.. I would imagine that a blast bomb thrown from Section F would have landed in the Kop...
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 02, 2008, 07:45:51 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 02, 2008, 07:42:52 PM

Apologies - not having an indepth knowledge of blast bombs like you etc... However the incident of which I speak - November 1992 - the blast bomb was thrown from Olympia Drive outside the ground - fell short though.. I would imagine that a blast bomb thrown from Section F would have landed in the Kop...

and it was the uda by the way!!!!!!!! The Village is UDA TERRITORY etc...
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 08:01:14 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 02, 2008, 07:45:51 PM

Cue Sammy et al to tell us that Windsor Park is not in the Village but in fact situated in the commercial Boucher Road.
Post by: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 08:56:47 PM
QuoteApologies - not having an indepth knowledge of blast bombs like you etc... However the incident of which I speak - November 1992 - the blast bomb was thrown from Olympia Drive outside the ground - fell short though.. I would imagine that a blast bomb thrown from Section F would have landed in the Kop...

and it was the uda by the way!!!!!!!!
It was indeed, typo in my previous post, I meant UFF not UVF (not that it really matters what label the scumbags were using). Also good to see that you try to stick to the facts, rather than the shite that Donagh's spouting.

The Village is UDA TERRITORY etc...

If you say so, I'll believe you. I haven't been anywhere near the Village in years.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 02, 2008, 09:27:04 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 08:01:14 PM

Cue Sammy et al to tell us that Windsor Park is not in the Village but in fact situated in the commercial Boucher Road.

Windsor Park is built on a bog in the Bog Meadows (pitch question answered).............................. Commercial area? ..... Nah.. That's like saying that the Oval is located in the GB Airport.... Anyway, argument settled .. the scum on Saturday were a mixture of Combat 18 tourists who, at the behest of the Section F Linfield fans, came over for the game at the Oval and targeted Cosgroves as it was an easy hit!!! Still ... then again ... they are entitled to do such things as they are 'THE PEOPLE!!!!'... so they tell us... 
Post by: Mutley on April 02, 2008, 10:35:03 PM
Aye, these clowns look like the best fans in the world alright.  :-\

Build the stadium in Belfast. They having a laugh.

Fearon is right when he says the stadium should never be built in Belfast and sammyg is caught lying through his teeth once again. :-[

Post by: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 10:38:41 PM
Quote from: Mutley on April 02, 2008, 10:35:03 PM
sammyg is caught lying through his teeth once again. :-[

When was this?
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 02, 2008, 10:39:16 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 02, 2008, 04:51:49 PM
Was reading the Orange Letter to-day. Apparently a cd containing fascist and derogatory songs aimed at other clubs supporters was on sale in Linfield/IFA's retail shop, but has now been withdrawn. Linfield/IFA say they were unaware of the content ::)

FFS You coudn't make it up. Football for All, my arse as Jim Royle might say

Just out of curiousity, how many newspapers do you read a day, and how long do you spend on the internet? It must be a lonely life being Mrs Fearon. :'(

By the way, well done on getting your name in the tele tonight again, despite your silly protests about it's bias.
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2008, 02:44:23 AM
When and where was Our Wee Tony on the telly?
Post by: his holiness nb on April 03, 2008, 01:17:36 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 10:38:41 PM
Quote from: Mutley on April 02, 2008, 10:35:03 PM
sammyg is caught lying through his teeth once again. :-[

When was this?

Take your pick Sammy, happens all the time  :D :D

I'm amazed you keep digging  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on April 03, 2008, 01:19:58 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 02, 2008, 10:39:16 PM
Just out of curiousity, how many newspapers do you read a day, and how long do you spend on the internet? It must be a lonely life being Mrs Fearon. :'(

Solomon, why didnt you ask the same of your pal Sammy, who posts much more often.

Is it cause he is unionist?  8)
Post by: An Fear Dearg on April 03, 2008, 02:39:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 09:11:35 AMThe solution is of course for the likes of Cliftonville, Donegal Celtic etc to follow the example of Derry City and join the Eircom League. Look how successful this has proved for Derry.
Did Derry City not go bankrupt and have to be re-formed at one stage between their return in 1985 and today?

We were founder members of the IFA and the Irish League.  I can't see us moving.

Quote from: T Fearon on March 31, 2008, 09:11:35 AMAt the end of the day, Belfast Celtic and Derry City were forced out of the Irish League due to the fact that they constituted a threat of Linfield's dominance. This is waht is currently happening to Cliftonville.
I fear you may need to tell the IFA that.  At present they're helping us to fund our new £1.5m stand and changing rooms project.  And more ground improvements are in the pipeline, courtesy of their financial assistance.  They've also been extremely helpful with us in any of our licensing and invitational league application discussions and problems, and I think I could safely say that our relations with our governing body have never been better, at least in my 32 years as a Reds fan.  Granted they're not perfect (who is?) but I don't think there's any attempt to force us out of the league.  If our enemies couldn't manage it during the troubles, I certainly don't think they'll achieve it now, as our club moves from strength to strength...
Post by: An Fear Dearg on April 03, 2008, 02:42:05 PM

It was November 1991.  And the Section F that the Linfield hooligans are named after is the one in the South Stand, at the end nearest the Kop, where Cliftonville fans would have been.
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 07:15:47 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on April 03, 2008, 01:19:58 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 02, 2008, 10:39:16 PM

Solomon, why didnt you ask the same of your pal Sammy, who posts much more often.

Is it cause he is unionist?  8)

I have never net Sammy AFAIK so he isn't really a pal. He does seem like a top bloke to me all the same ;), and not being a unionist myself that has no bearing on my question. The reason I asked TF was that barely a week goes by without at least one of his ill-founded and mis-informed letters in the press.

I hope this has cleared things up for you NB.
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 07:17:37 PM

Apologies - not having an indepth knowledge of blast bombs like you etc...

You are an arse.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 07:41:43 PM
Quote from: An Fear Dearg on April 03, 2008, 02:42:05 PM

It was November 1991.  And the Section F that the Linfield hooligans are named after is the one in the South Stand, at the end nearest the Kop, where Cliftonville fans would have been.

Apologies - it was 1991 - SECTION F is the red seats nearest the KOP in the North Stand .. the one opened in 1984 ... (was in it for the first international .. Sept 12 84 N Ireland v Rumania).. The South Stand in those days was always season ticket holders and quite tame... The Shankill Skinz were the cheerleaders in the North Stand - when Cville played there there was a mass gathering of them on the top deck... Snooker balls and all .....
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 07:51:00 PM
(http://www.haraldbeisemann.de/northern_ireland.jpg)

That look out post has been blocking the view of the Kop since 1986.. SECTION F is the top deck in the North Stand .. opposite.
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 08:19:20 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 07:51:00 PM

That look out post has been blocking the view of the Kop since 1986.. SECTION F is the top deck in the North Stand .. opposite.

No it's not according to my ticket for the last international. Section P is the  section in the upper tier nearest the Alex Russell stand. Unless of course I am a liar? ::)
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2008, 09:08:13 PM
What are the nets there for?

to catch the grenades being flung from the Kop? ;D

Stonewall proof, case closed.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:01:06 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 08:19:20 PM

No it's not according to my ticket for the last international. Section P is the  section in the upper tier nearest the Alex Russell stand. Unless of course I am a liar? ::)

The whole Section F thing was so big in the 1980s that perhaps the Sections were re-lettered through embarrassment by the Blues and the IFA - WHO BUILT THE FECKIN THING!!! ....I sat in Section F in Feb 1985 and even as a 12 year old cringed as these animals showered John Barnes with bananas in a World Cup qualifier... am I mistaken or is there a metal fence between the North Stand and the Alex Russell stand today?....!
Post by: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 10:39:38 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:01:06 PM

The whole Section F thing was so big in the 1980s that perhaps the Sections were re-lettered through embarrassment by the Blues and the IFA - WHO BUILT THE FECKIN THING!!! ....I sat in Section F in Feb 1985 and even as a 12 year old cringed as these animals showered John Barnes with bananas in a World Cup qualifier... am I mistaken or is there a metal fence between the North Stand and the Alex Russell stand today?....!

Interesting use of the word "perhaps". I'm sure that would stand up in any court of law. There is no fence there these days, but "perhaps" the fence was there to stop the ball hitting spectators in the Spion Kop?

There is no debate that these Section F characters are tubes, but blurting out ideas that come into your head as if they were facts does not get anyone anywhere. 
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:49:03 PM
Dear Solomon.. you are slaying me! Stop, please! Anyway, a man of your intellect must be congratulated for posting a response. However, I feel that this thread has run its course - bit like the bluemen from Castle Street to Sandy Row!!! maybe now you will do us all a favour and take your face for a SHITE!
Post by: Fishbat on April 03, 2008, 11:36:53 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 10:39:38 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:01:06 PM

Interesting use of the word "perhaps". I'm sure that would stand up in any court of law. There is no fence there these days, but "perhaps" the fence was there to stop the ball hitting spectators in the Spion Kop?

There is no debate that these Section F characters are tubes, but blurting out ideas that come into your head as if they were facts does not get anyone anywhere. 

Don't want to butt in here but - why is it called the Spion Kop?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 11:48:40 PM
Battle of Spion Kop during the Boer War.. ie battle fought over a hill that was a strategic vantage point! It seems that all vantage points overlooking football fields acquired this name .. and if I am not mistaken Liverpool lost a lot of men.. so Anfield.. etc etc Spion Kop..........................................
Post by: Fishbat on April 04, 2008, 12:18:38 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 11:48:40 PM
Battle of Spion Kop during the Boer War.. ie battle fought over a hill that was a strategic vantage point! It seems that all vantage points overlooking football fields acquired this name .. and if I am not mistaken Liverpool lost a lot of men.. so Anfield.. etc etc Spion Kop..........................................

ahh the siege mentality and a bit of kopying then...
Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 07:47:16 AM
Quote from: Fishbat on April 04, 2008, 12:18:38 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 11:48:40 PM

ahh the siege mentality and a bit of kopying then...
Spion means look-out and Kop means hill. Lots of soldeirs from Liverppol were killed in the Boer War, so when the new terrace was opened (a couple of years after the war) it was named Spion Kop (as it was a big hill to watch the match from) in memory of the soldiers. After that loads of grounds with large terraces, became known as Kop(s) and it became a generic name for big open terraces at football grounds. Nothing whatever to do with siege mentalities or any other shite.

Post by: his holiness nb on April 04, 2008, 01:34:23 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 07:15:47 PM
and not being a unionist myself that has no bearing on my question.

:D :D :D :D

Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 03, 2008, 07:15:47 PM
I hope this has cleared things up for you NB.

Deffo a Unionist, just couldnt bring yourself to utter the words "his holiness" could ya  ;)
Post by: An Fear Dearg on April 04, 2008, 01:42:47 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 07:41:43 PMApologies - it was 1991 - SECTION F is the red seats nearest the KOP in the North Stand .. the one opened in 1984 ... (was in it for the first international .. Sept 12 84 N Ireland v Rumania).. The South Stand in those days was always season ticket holders and quite tame... The Shankill Skinz were the cheerleaders in the North Stand - when Cville played there there was a mass gathering of them on the top deck... Snooker balls and all .....

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:01:06 PMThe whole Section F thing was so big in the 1980s that perhaps the Sections were re-lettered through embarrassment by the Blues and the IFA - WHO BUILT THE FECKIN THING!!! ....I sat in Section F in Feb 1985 and even as a 12 year old cringed as these animals showered John Barnes with bananas in a World Cup qualifier... am I mistaken or is there a metal fence between the North Stand and the Alex Russell stand today?....!
Section F in the South Stand (after which the Linfield hooligans - not ordinary Linfield fans in club club colours - who were almost certainly responsible for last Satruday's stabbing, are named) is the section of seats at the left hand end, as you're sitting in it, i.e. the section nearest the Kop, where Cliftonville fans used to be placed in Blues-Reds games.

No sections in the North Stand have been re-lettered since its opening in 1983.  The lettering starts at the Railway end, the opposite end from the Kop.  Thus Section F is the third section from the Railway End (in the upper deck from memory) and is much closer to the Railway Stand than the Spion Kop.
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 02:42:57 PM
There is no way I will ever set foot in WP again after this. I was prepared to go and watch the six play in WP to se for myself what the atmosphere islike and how welcoming the fans are but there is no need to go anymore. I would prefer to keep my neck intact and not have to worry about monkeys wearing gas masks, especially if I had to buy a ticket to go to the game.

Fearon might be wrong here and there but on the subject of norn iron football he was proven right. Football For all is an embarassment at this stage. Do yourselves a favour lads and give up the ghost.
Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 03:15:17 PM
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 02:42:57 PM
There is no way I will ever set foot in WP again after this. I was prepared to go and watch the six play in WP to se for myself what the atmosphere islike and how welcoming the fans are but there is no need to go anymore. I would prefer to keep my neck intact and not have to worry about monkeys wearing gas masks, especially if I had to buy a ticket to go to the game.
So you think that some neo-Nazi hooligans, with no connection to WP, or the IFA or Linfield is a reason for not attending an NI match? You can't beat logic like that.
Fearon might be wrong here and there but on the subject of norn iron football he was proven right. Football For all is an embarassment at this stage. Do yourselves a favour lads and give up the ghost.
WTF have some neo-Nazi scum got to do with FFA?
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:02:17 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 03:15:17 PM
So you think that some neo-Nazi hooligans, with no connection to WP, or the IFA or Linfield is a reason for not attending an NI match? You can't beat logic like that.

They are attracted to the IFA because of their rather checkered past, present and are trying to be a part of their furure. The problem is sammy that if the IFA never once show that they have the balls to hold the clubs accountable for their fans behaviour the neo nazis see that as an opportunity. they identify with linfield because they were themselves an extremist organization with their no catholic policy just like their sister club of hate rangers had such a policy.

Ask yourself this sammy. What is it about northern ireland football that atracted this shower of shit in the first place???

The IFA have let far to much go in the past, they are a pro union organization themselves and their top brass have always been predominantly protestant. Why would any catholic fan go to any games in the north after this?

The fact is soccer attracts more of their fair share of scumbags, Northern Ireland has a ton of decent fans who want nothing to do with controversy but they continue t be let down by the IFA and the fact that groups such as the neo nazis see something i the northern ireland fans to want to identify with them. In short they see an extremist element and they gravitate toward it. Scum like some of the linfield fans and indeed some of the glentoran fans who have almost as bad a history as Linfield hurt the FFA campaign and I believe they want to do so because they want a mono cultural sport and the IFA do little to hold them accountable so in comes the neo nazis to further set back a noble idea.
Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 04:10:23 PM
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:02:17 PM

They are attracted to the IFA because of their rather checkered past, present and are trying to be a part of their furure. The problem is sammy that if the IFA never once show that they have the balls to hold the clubs accountable for their fans behaviour the neo nazis see that as an opportunity. they identify with linfield because they were themselves an extremist organization with their no catholic policy just like their sister club of hate rangers had such a policy.

Ask yourself this sammy. What is it about northern ireland football that atracted this shower of shit in the first place???
The IFA have let far to much go in the past, they are a pro union organization themselves and their top brass have always been predominantly protestant. Why would any catholic fan go to any games in the north after this?

The fact is soccer attracts more of their fair share of scumbags, Northern Ireland has a ton of decent fans who want nothing to do with controversy but they continue t be let down by the IFA and the fact that groups such as the neo nazis see something i the northern ireland fans to want to identify with them. In short they see an extremist element and they gravitate toward it. Scum like some of the linfield fans and indeed some of the glentoran fans who have almost as bad a history as Linfield hurt the FFA campaign and I believe they want to do so because they want a mono cultural sport and the IFA do little to hold them accountable so in comes the neo nazis to further set back a noble idea.

They weren't attracted to Northern Ireland football, they weren't at the match and have no connection to the IFA or either of the teams playing in the match. How can the IFA be held responsible for the actions of a crowd of thugs in town, are they responsible for all the Saturday night drunks as well?
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:25:10 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2008, 05:57:08 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 02, 2008, 04:47:26 PM

How is it a lie? Hand grenades were thrown at Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park. If they weren't being thrown at Cliftonville supporters who were the targets then?

maybe it was the fenian linesman from the republic that dared work the line during a nordie game about 18 months to two years ago.
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:32:20 PM
Saffron Sam2

It would appear that some of the scum you claim were not at the game actually were at the game. sammy, you are either the most deluded plonker I have ever come across or else you are a bit of a bitter fecker, my money is on a bit of both.
Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 04:36:10 PM
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:32:20 PM
Saffron Sam2

It would appear that some of the scum you claim were not at the game actually were at the game.

Don't know if that's aimed at me (you've quoted Chris) but none of the scum involved on Saturday were at the match. That has now been acknowledged by everybody from the bar owner, to the Peelers, to even the Andytown News.
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:40:38 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 04:36:10 PM
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:32:20 PM
Saffron Sam2

It would appear that some of the scum you claim were not at the game actually were at the game.

Don't know if that's aimed at me (you've quoted Chris) but none of the scum involved on Saturday were at the match. That has now been acknowledged by everybody from the bar owner, to the Peelers, to even the Andytown News.

So it is safe to say then that the 5 englanders, one of whom had a feckin gas mask had nothing to do with the trouble that broke out when catholics attacked the bar.

Is it also fair to say that the pictures that have been posted on this thread are a fabrication?

I am sure that the GAA will be pulling the plug on the stadium if there is even mention of it being built in Belfast.

Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 04:45:55 PM
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:40:38 PMSo it is safe to say then that the 5 englanders, one of whom had a feckin gas mask had nothing to do with the trouble that broke out when catholics attacked the bar.
It is safe to say that no-one who was at the match, was involved in the attack on the bar. (p.s. it turns out it wasn't a gas mask it was one of the horrible CP jackets (http://www.stoneisland.co.uk/images/default/en/catalogue/medium/48184D67.jpg)
Would you pay £600 to look that shite?
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:40:38 PM
Is it also fair to say that the pictures that have been posted on this thread are a fabrication?
Not at all but they are completely unrelated to the attack on Saturday
Quote from: stew on April 04, 2008, 04:40:38 PM
I am sure that the GAA will be pulling the plug on the stadium if there is even mention of it being built in Belfast.
Aye because the Maze is in a totally neutral area  ::)
Post by: An Fear Dearg on April 04, 2008, 04:51:48 PM

If you're basing your hyperbole on some of the Sunday newspaper coverage of events on Saturday, then I'd suggest you take a step back.  The reports of bus(es) of Linfield fans in Linfield colours stopping and said fans getting off to wreak havoc in the Castle Street/Kings Street area are simply untrue.

The most likely explanation is that those responsibile were Linfield's organised hooligans, Section F, together with some like-minded far-right accomplices from England (possibly Chelsea) and Scotland (possibly Rangers and/or Airdrie). They would have been in casual clothes, not Linfield colours, and while it seems that they were scouring the city centre for Reds fans to attack on Saturday, they may well even not have been at the Linfield-Cliftonville match.  That is often the modus operandi of such groups - they have no interest in the actual football, only in violence, usually - as in this case - nowhere near the heavily policed stadium where the game takes place.

And if you're trying to lay the blame or any responsibility for what they did with the IFA and/or Linfield then I think you're being very unfair, and I say that as a Cliftonville fan who has no time for how the IFA often tried to shaft our club in years gone by, and who is not a big Linfield fan.  What could the IFA and/or Linfield do about a group of Linfield hooligans, who may well not even have been at the game, and who carried out acts of violence miles away from the stadium over an hour after the final whistle?!  :-\
Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 05:10:58 PM
AFD

You're getting confused and along stupid things like facts, to cloud your judgement.  ;)
Post by: stew on April 04, 2008, 05:31:51 PM
Quote from: An Fear Dearg on April 04, 2008, 04:51:48 PM

If you're basing your hyperbole on some of the Sunday newspaper coverage of events on Saturday, then I'd suggest you take a step back.  The reports of bus(es) of Linfield fans in Linfield colours stopping and said fans getting off to wreak havoc in the Castle Street/Kings Street area are simply untrue.

The most likely explanation is that those responsibile were Linfield's organised hooligans, Section F, together with some like-minded far-right accomplices from England (possibly Chelsea) and Scotland (possibly Rangers and/or Airdrie). They would have been in casual clothes, not Linfield colours, and while it seems that they were scouring the city centre for Reds fans to attack on Saturday, they may well even not have been at the Linfield-Cliftonville match.  That is often the modus operandi of such groups - they have no interest in the actual football, only in violence, usually - as in this case - nowhere near the heavily policed stadium where the game takes place.

And if you're trying to lay the blame or any responsibility for what they did with the IFA and/or Linfield then I think you're being very unfair, and I say that as a Cliftonville fan who has no time for how the IFA often tried to shaft our club in years gone by, and who is not a big Linfield fan.  What could the IFA and/or Linfield do about a group of Linfield hooligans, who may well not even have been at the game, and who carried out acts of violence miles away from the stadium over an hour after the final whistle?!  :-\

You said it yourself, these are Linfield fans, Linfield attract neo nazi groups because oftheir past and the fact that they have a hooligan element in their supporters ranks and as such they should be held accountable for the actions of their fans. The IFA are more to blame than Linfield in my opinion, for decades they have turned a blind eye to the rancid discrimination and lack of an equal playing field so to speak, Donegal celtic and cliftonville can attest to this. Linfield are the darlings of the IFA, they are not held accountable for the actions of their so called fans. man Untied, Liverpool, Chelsea etc are all held accountable by the Engglish FA, what the feck is so special about Linfield?
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2008, 05:34:30 PM
I didn't see that in the Andersontown News.

In fact the editorial could be written by Stew  :)

Editorial
Sectarian savagery

Andersonstown News Monday

The smouldering sectarian tensions which accompany so much of the local soccer scene exploded into bloodshed on Saturday with a vicious sectarian attack by so-called Linfield fans on Catholic men whose 'crime', it appears, was to support Celtic.
This sickening assault has horrified all right-minded people and focused attention yet again on thugs who style themselves followers of the 'beautiful game' but indulge in bloodcurdling terrace chants about wading "up to their necks in Fenian blood".
While there has been much talk about kicking sectarianism out off the local soccer set-up, the reality is that a hard rump of loyalists — some linked to English fascist groups — continues to peddle its racist and sectarian ideology at our soccer grounds. Their existence, sadly, is tolerated by some senior figures within the local soccer scene who refuse to accept that the thugs are ruining the game for genuine fans.
Astonishingly, as we go to press, there are no plans by the Irish Football Association to organise a demonstration against this sectarian savagery. Likewise, there has been barely a peep from unionist politicians.
But it is not too late. The vast majority of Linfield fans who are outraged by this savage city-centre attack need to make their voices heard just as loudly as they are heard during home matches in Windsor Park.
The harrowing scenes from King Street on Saturday, with paramedics struggling to save the lives of victims of sectarian violence, speak of a bitter and divided past. Those who wish to drag us back to those dark and violent times need to be booted out of soccer before more lives are destroyed.

Post by: Solomon Kane on April 04, 2008, 06:29:01 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on April 03, 2008, 10:49:03 PM
Dear Solomon.. you are slaying me! Stop, please! Anyway, a man of your intellect must be congratulated for posting a response. However, I feel that this thread has run its course - bit like the bluemen from Castle Street to Sandy Row!!! maybe now you will do us all a favour and take your face for a SHITE!

Post by: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 07:35:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 04, 2008, 05:34:30 PM
I didn't see that in the Andersontown News.

In fact the editorial could be written by Stew  :)
Main story on the front page (although the inside pages are a repeat of 'busload of Linfield fans' allegations). http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/Launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=3e0MqE9170Bk&PBID=b944e2d0-c973-41d7-a624-57c93df6fada (http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/Launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=3e0MqE9170Bk&PBID=b944e2d0-c973-41d7-a624-57c93df6fada)
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2008, 08:41:54 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 04, 2008, 07:35:35 PM
Main story on the front page (although the inside pages are a repeat of 'busload of Linfield fans' allegations). http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/Launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=3e0MqE9170Bk&PBID=b944e2d0-c973-41d7-a624-57c93df6fada (http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/Launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=3e0MqE9170Bk&PBID=b944e2d0-c973-41d7-a624-57c93df6fada)
That's probably the best bit of acute reporting on the whole incident and a savage indictment on the PSNI sense of alertness to Loyalist mobs on the prowl on a "sensitive" day.
One eyewitness says that a gang of them sober and well dressed, conspiring to attack Cliftonville supporters. were in the pub at 1.45 and from other sources the pub was not showing the SPL game.  It wasn't a Rangers mob hunting for Celtic fans.
The PSNI had  20 - 30 minutes prior warning by bar staff that a 30 man mob were on the way to look for trouble.

The PSNI should be savaged for their sloppy response and delay with establishing the verified account of what hapenned in a City rife with speculation.

Post by: Chrisowc on April 04, 2008, 10:35:14 PM
Thanks An Fear Dearg for some perspective.

I probably didn't help with my 'gas mask' statement but Armaghstew seems to be creaming his keks to get stuck into Linfield, IFA and whoever else. 

An Fear Dearg, hopefully you feel comfortable enough to go back to 'WP' (as stew likes to say).
Post by: MW on April 04, 2008, 10:50:40 PM
Was that back in the day when they were throwing hand grenades at the Cliftonville supporters in Windsor Park?

FFS are you still peddaling that lie?

Clue - this is what actually happened?

However the incident of which I speak - November 1992 - the blast bomb was thrown from Olympia Drive outside the ground - fell short though..

Is the fact that a terrorist thug or thugs threw a grenade into a ground in an attempt to murder Cliftonville fans not 'bad' enough for you?

Does it not make 'sexy' enough copy, is that it?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 04, 2008, 11:38:15 PM
Hello - this post has died a natural death and is about as fashionable as Ian Paisley's square c**k! (apparently square cocks were "in" about 1961) ... lets draw a line under it and move on........................ I mean its what Elvis Presley would have wanted!!! ps .. apparently one of the attackers looked like Iris Robinson and that is the reason why the punters in Cosgrove's tried to slam the door shut.. ps the boul Iris is 12 to 1 to win the National tomorrow (ridden by Peter)......
Post by: ziggysego on April 05, 2008, 12:24:37 PM
Hurlers right. It's gone on far too long and lets be honest, a lot of you are just repeating yourselves now.

With this in mind, I'm now locking the thread.

:-*