A ggreat game this morning between St. Kilda & Sydney. Very tight throughout with womderful defense & Tadgh back to his very best and a star for the Swans who could have been overrun in the first quarter but held on and could of stolen at the end. I am not an expert on what constitutes a foul in Aussie Rules but there was no doubt the Swans were on the wrong side of the officials with the count about 3 to 1 against them. I know they are notpopular with the AFL chiefs but this was ridiculous!
Elsewhere Marty Clarkes Collingwood won but judging by the blogs he had an indifferent game. Brisbane also lost and Carlton were beaten on Thusday so its 3 down & 1 up for the Paddies down under
Zoyler are you in Australia?
Quote from: zoyler on March 22, 2008, 02:01:15 PM
A ggreat game this morning between St. Kilda & Sydney. Very tight throughout with womderful defense & Tadgh back to his very best and a star for the Swans who could have been overrun in the first quarter but held on and could of stolen at the end. I am not an expert on what constitutes a foul in Aussie Rules but there was no doubt the Swans were on the wrong side of the officials with the count about 3 to 1 against them. I know they are notpopular with the AFL chiefs but this was ridiculous!
Elsewhere Marty Clarkes Collingwood won but judging by the blogs he had an indifferent game. Brisbane also lost and Carlton were beaten on Thusday so its 3 down & 1 up for the Paddies down under
Tadgh Kennelly was one of the few Swans players who i consider had a good game. He does look very different though now that he is bald.
No sir, Ireland thank God, but getting up early to watch live on Setanta is well worth it!
They appear to be showing 3 live games a week. The Thusday night game which we have on Thursday morning and the Saturday & Sunday games at various times from 6 to 8 o'clock. So far this week they have been well worth watching. Youre right about Tadgh though - the haircut is awful. He must be trying to save a few dollars on haircuts!!!
I enjoy the highlights package on TG4 but I'm afraid my enthusiasm wouldn't extend to getting up at some ungodly hour to watch a live game. Even if Irish lads were involved (unless it was the grand final).
Quote from: zoyler on March 22, 2008, 02:20:30 PM
Youre right about Tadgh though - the haircut is awful. He must be trying to save a few dollars on haircuts!!!
I saw Tadgh Kennelly and Brendan Murphy on the news afew days ago and both were completely bald and had painted their bald heads green (for St Patrick's Day).
I might do it for charity but not for St. Patrick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank God I did not et up to watch Setanta this morninf - Hawthorn 154 - Melborne 50 - in the other one the Bulldogs beat Adelaide by 3 points with just about the last kick of the game - wrong one on TV again.
what day do the highlights programme be on lads? or have they started on TG4 yet?
Think it starts Wednesday night on TG4.
watched the Carlton v Richmond match myself, the big fanfare was on the Chris Judd starting for Carlton, he is their superstar player that they are hoping will get them off the botton of the ladder, Unfortunately it didnt go the script and Richmond beat them well in the end, Judd got plenty of possession but not any where near the danger zone so didnt really contribute on the scoreboard. Setanta o'hAilpin was playing, but more as a bench player, he did reasonably well for the amount of possession he got, it got a over and one behind. I think he will hold a permanent position this season, in defence though.
Have Setanta a game on live Friday morning - I see Brisbane are to play Collingwood on Friday night Oz time
Heading to the Sweans game on Sunday ;D
Are you permananently in Oz or just on holiday Stephenite ?
Clarke has been dropped for the next game.
Any of you know the craic with buying AFL jerseys online. Do you know of the best websites?
lads, do any of yous know good AFL sites/ blogs etc? need it for part of my course! All help greatly appreciated!
Quote from: mhacadoir on March 28, 2008, 01:20:21 PM
lads, do any of yous know good AFL sites/ blogs etc? need it for part of my course! All help greatly appreciated!
This is the biggest AFL forum
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/index.php
cheers!!
Quote from: mhacadoir on March 28, 2008, 02:18:55 PM
cheers!!
No problem. Here are some wikipedia pages which has plenty of information if you want it.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_rules_football
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_Football_League
Quote from: ykickamoocow on March 28, 2008, 02:10:14 PM
The average bigfooty poster seems to be a poorly educated teenage boy who hates everything other than the club he supports. If you are after an intelligent discussion, I wouldn't get my hopes up.
sam maguire -
i have just been on the official AFL website www.afl.com.au and there is a merchandise shop on it.
i checked out collingwood, and prices for a guernsey os $109, about 50 quid sterling. sydney swans is $120. quite expensive.
sam - keep an eye on ebay, some good jerseys on it for cheap as fook, i recently got long sleeve carlton blues jersey for £23quid inc postage from oz...
also try rebelsports.com.au
AFS asks a very interesting question,
Are the lads Tadgh,Colm Begley,Marty Clarke being overhyped a bit because they are Irish,(im not doubting how good the lads are ,or how hard it must be to adapt to the game)
or is Tadgh at the level of the Barry Halls, Ben Cousins, Chris Judd,Matthew Pavlich,Daniel Kerr (up there with the very best).
Tadgh certainly is judging by the difference he made when he made what they were calling his comeback game last weekend.He was the best afiekd for the Swans involved in nearly everything they did.
Claaarke had a grteat start last year but a mare last Saturday so was dropped to the VFL team this week tpo help him find form. Begley is going well but neither is at Kennellys level yet
Young Horse to return!!!!
This is from www.kerrygaa.ie and was also reported in some of the Sunday Papers. I'm sure his Dad would be so proud to see him in Green and Gold on the third Sunday in September.
Tadhg Kennelly to Return to Kerry Football
Sunday, 23 March 2008
Tadhg Kennelly has sensationally revealed that he plans to return home to Ireland next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal with Kerry.
The 26-year-old from Listowel has established himself as one of the top players in Aussie Rules over the past seven seasons but his current deal with the Sydney Swans, with whom he won an AFL title in 2005, expires at the end of next year.
And Kennelly is not interested in extending his stay in Australia as he has his heart sent on lifting Sam Maguire.
"I'm definitely going home next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal," he told the Irish Mail on Sunday.
"I will always miss Aussie Rules and I won't cut my ties to Australia, but I want to win an All-Ireland with Kerry."
Kennelly has enjoyed all the benefits of professional sport during his time in Australia and one would imagine that he would be in favour of the GAA doing away with it amateur status.
But that is not the case. Indeed, he feels that the core values of the game would be corrupted by professionalism.
However, Kennelly does believe that inter-county players should receive some financial reward for giving over so much time to the sport.
"I would never halve left the GAA if Gaelic football was professional and players were paid the same as in Aussie rules, but I hope that the GAA doesn't try to pay its players professional wages," he said.
"Aussie rules is a franchise business.... but Irish sport is completely different.
"In Ireland, players compete for their counties, their local clubs and their families. There is more passion and players are driven by a different culture.
He continued: "Some of the county boards in Ireland look after their players very well but I think there is room for players to get more recognition in terms of a long-service award.
"There's a retirement fund out there for the players and for every year you play you get $15,000. If you play for 10 years you get $150,000 on retirement as a lump sum.
"When you think about it, the GAA isn't really amateur when you see country managers getting paid, full-time country secretaries, and players getting mortgages paid.
"Maybe the GAA needs to look at setting up a fund to help players who have given up their best years to Gaelic.
"But given that Australia's population, over 20 million, compared to Ireland which is only 5m, means GAA players should stay amateur."
But will he really come home Frank - I'd love to see him home playing for the Kingdom - a lot of posters here reckon he's simply negotiating his contract in public ??
Thats a fair point but I've a feeling he might. He has always said that he wanted to pick up a Celtic Cross, and follow in his Dad's and brother's footsteps. If this was an attempt to get another better contract then, after this one, we're looking at a fellow hitting 30 and prospects more limited for getting on to a Kerry side.
Its really now or never for him and I truely hope its now.
Financially he'd be worse off - but perhaps it's something he feels that he really NEEDS to do.
But isn't there a chance that he mightn't make this fantastic Kerry side ? Who would step aside for him ? Where do you think he'd be best suited to play in GAA ?
Quote from: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 10:49:29 PM
Financially he'd be worse off - but perhaps it's something he feels that he really NEEDS to do.
But isn't there a chance that he mightn't make this fantastic Kerry side ? Who would step aside for him ? Where do you think he'd be best suited to play in GAA ?
Absolutely. Although they'd give him every chance.
Keery Mike or Frank - would Tadgh make this Kerry team ? Where might he play ?
as far as scanlon has come, he'd be looking over his shoulder. dara and kennelly would be some midfield pairing. although as its two years away kerry will probably be looking for a relacement for dara by then
Carlton took another hammering today from St. Kilda and while Setanta played well he looked totally pissed off at the end. Playing on a bad team all the time is no joke.
Else where Marty Clarke and Kevin Dyas teamed up for the Collingwood reserves in the VFL and had a good win with Marty showing much improvement rom last week and Kevin playing really well, loving the tackleing but not totally up to speed on all the rules.
Quote from: Uladh on March 29, 2008, 09:48:13 AM
as far as scanlon has come, he'd be looking over his shoulder. dara and kennelly would be some midfield pairing. although as its two years away kerry will probably be looking for a relacement for dara by then
That's what I was thinking Uladh - Dara is near the end of his tether - Kennelly would be some replacement.
He is nowhere near big enough to be a primary ball-winner at midfield. He could make a good Shane Ryan-esque ball carrier though.
What height is he anyway ?
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2008, 03:33:12 PM
He is nowhere near big enough to be a primary ball-winner at midfield. He could make a good Shane Ryan-esque ball carrier though.
Jinxy - Having stood beside him he is more than big enough
Didn't look too big during the international rules and he was dwarfed by Brendan Murphy when they appeared on TV together a couple of weeks back.
i think murphy is about 6ft 7 though - kenelly is about 6ft1
According to the Swans website, Kennelly is 190cm and 86 kg - that's 6'4" and 13 stone 9lb ???? Lovely !
He'd make some mdifielder !
He is in his hoop 6'4". And if he was, at 13 stone 9lbs he'd want to be having an extra weetabix or 2 in the morning.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 30, 2008, 12:35:13 PM
He is in his hoop 6'4". And if he was, at 13 stone 9lbs he'd want to be having an extra weetabix or 2 in the morning.
I didn't think he was quite that tall either.
He is at least 6'2 and is probably at least as physically strong as nearly any other midfielder..
If you saw the amount of horsing and running he was doing off the ball, never mind if his ball winning at the SCG yesterday he'd walk onto any county team in virtually any position, I reckon he's be lethal at CHB
The new Pony, the man is playing some stuff from what I have seen, a fantastic engine on him.
Quote from: stephenite on March 31, 2008, 12:39:53 AM
If you saw the amount of horsing and running he was doing off the ball, never mind if his ball winning at the SCG yesterday he'd walk onto any county team in virtually any position, I reckon he's be lethal at CHB
Marc O'Se, Aidan O'Mahony and Tadgh Kennelly - some half back line ??????????
QuoteMurphy subject of racial abuse
Rising AFL star Brendan Murphy has vowed to rise above the racial abuse he endured whilst playing for the Sydney Swans reserves in just his second outing.
Murphy is steadily rising through the ranks of the Swans and is hotly tipped to have a bright future in the game having just left Carlow six months ago.
Last Sunday, the Swans played Belmaine in a reserve match and right from the throw in, the former Carlow minor's opponents were taunting him about his native country.
"From the bounce the other team gave me a lot of stick for my accent and told me to f*ck off back to Ireland," revealed Murphy. "I just laughed it off, because I'm going to get a lot of that over my career."
Suppose no worse than you'd get playing Junior B football, actually timid, didnt even mention his mother,
Its is racial abuse and I still think it is frig all. Irish slags just don't have the same bitterness as other forms of racism. Unacceptable though.
'f**k off back to Ireland'? Jesus, oh-ee.
Quote from: corn02 on April 04, 2008, 12:19:43 PM
Its is racial abuse and I still think it is frig all. Irish slags just don't have the same bitterness as other forms of racism. Unacceptable though.
'f**k off back to Ireland'? Jesus, oh-ee.
You'd hear worse here many a time.
Feck that racism is racism and I'm sure Murphy was on the recieving end of worse than he admitted. If Greaghy had to eat humble pie and be on the recieving end of vilification a few years back over his alledged comments then the same should go for those gulity of this.
Quote from: scalder on April 04, 2008, 01:02:57 PM
Feck that racism is racism and I'm sure Murphy was on the recieving end of worse than he admitted. If Greaghy had to eat humble pie and be on the recieving end of vilification a few years back over his alledged comments then the same should go for those gulity of this.
It's no big feal considering most of the Australians have Irish blood in them !
An Irish rivalry re-ignited
IF SYDNEY Tadhg Kennelly and Brisbane Lion Colm Begley were still in Ireland playing Gaelic Football, they wouldn't exactly be classed as ardent rivals.
Kennelly is from the football stronghold of Kerry. His county boasts 35 All-Ireland titles, five of which his famous dad Tim played in, even captaining the side on one occasion in 1979. As well as that, Tadhg's brother Noel has three to his name.
On the other hand, Begley hails from Laois, and can't brag much about his county's football exploits. They've yet to win a senior All-Ireland football title. It's a fact that Kennelly still reminds his compatriot of when they ignite their Australian football rivalry in Swans versus Lions clashes.
"I always try and get him with a shoulder early on and say to him, you're nothing but a Laois you-know-what," Kennelly laughed.
"But he's just as quick with his remarks. We've got a good bit of banter going."
Begley's defence is that he achieved county success before leaving for Australia.
"I won an All-Ireland minor (under-18) medal before I came out here. If I was still back there playing who knows what could have happened," Begley joked.
Kennelly is quick to admit that, although the rivalry between Irish recruits is friendly, it does serve as motivation for both to perform at their peak.
"It does spice it up. I'm sure Colm will be keen to play well this weekend knowing he's up against me and I'll be the same. It's like playing Collingwood (who have Irish recruit Marty Clarke) or Carlton (the O'hAilpin brothers), you always try to play well when you're playing against your fellow countrymen. It's a healthy rivalry."
Begley says personal contests against other Irishmen are the most important ones to win during the season.
"It gives you bragging rights for the rest of the year if you beat them and it's especially good to have bragging rights against him (Kennelly)."
Whereas the Swans' defender is winning in the rivalry stakes when it comes to home county honours and indeed his own premiership achievement in Australia, there is one bragging right which firmly belongs to Begley.
"I made a faster AFL debut than Tadhg. And it's not that I like boasting but if someone asks then I have to tell them that. I couldn't lie about it. It's just part of what happened out here, part of my ongoing career," Begley chuckled.
Kennelly confirms Begley's openness about discussing the coup.
"He rang me up straight away and said 'you know, I'm playing AFL football quicker than you, I'm playing my first game quicker than you did'. He let me know on numerous occasions about that one, that's for sure."
But the pair's rivalry extends much further than the football field. According to Begley, it's in off-field areas that he excels over his Kerry compatriot. And when it comes to sledging, Begley uses his "advantage" in that area as material.
"He's an OK looking guy, but you couldn't really compare him to me," Begley said.
"The last time we played each other I chatted to him about losing his hair. It's unfortunate for him but he's getting old I suppose," he laughed.
Kennelly's response to such jibes is simple.
"He can keep his looks and I'll keep my premiership medal," he said.
Speaking of Grand Final victories, Kennelly's Irish jig, which he performed after winning the 2005 premiership with the Swans, attracted a lot of attention. He says overall he's a much better dancer than his compatriot.
"I've seen him in action. He's got two left feet. He's got no idea. He might have the looks but I've got the moves," Kennelly said.
As for Begley, he says there's only one way to really know who's better.
"At the end of the year, we'll have a few drinks and a dance off instead of an interview. And we'll see who's got the moves then."
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57358
(http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20P-T/Kennelly_Begley246x316.jpg)
I see Kennelly has rubbished all the talk about him coming back to Kerry next year. He said the OIRISH Mail had it all wrong. He still has this and next year on his contract and will talk to the Swans then. Only a fool would believe anything in the Mail rag anyway.
Quote from: zoyler on April 04, 2008, 03:35:43 PM
I see Kennelly has rubbished all the talk about him coming back to Kerry next year. He said the OIRISH Mail had it all wrong. He still has this and next year on his contract and will talk to the Swans then. Only a fool would believe anything in the Mail rag anyway.
Was it not all over the papers ? Whoever said contract negotiations was right ! You're right Zoyler - we're fools !
at 700k a year - he'd have to be an absolute plonker to come home.
Depending on how much he's already made Id hardly say he's a fool if he comes home and trys to fulfill a lifetime ambition. If he doesnt try and win an all ireland now he'll never get one. If you've already got plenty of money wouldnt it be nice to try and do something that you could be proud of the rest of your life, as well as getting to come back to his family/friends.
Lally is Oz-bound
04 April 2008
Declan Lally is to try his hand at Australian Rules after opting out of the Dublin football squad earlier this week.
The St. Brigid's clubman flies out to Hong Kong on Saturday to discuss a job offer, and will travel on from there to Sydney next Tuesday where he is due to have talks with the team manager and chairman of an Aussie Rules club.
Lally wouldn't reveal the name of the club, but confirmed that it wasn't the Sydney Swans who currently have Irish players Tadhg Kennelly and Brendan Murphy on their books.
"All I can say is that it is a feeder club for one of the big professional clubs," said the 26-year-old, who admitted that he had become frustrated at his lack of appearances for Dublin since joining the panel in late 2003.
"Over the last 12 months with Dublin, it hasn't worked out as well for me as I had hoped. Really, I felt that I was going nowhere with the Dublin set-up, and so I felt that the time was right for me to go to Australia and play Aussie Rules."
is the collingwood game on setanta this weekend?
what time?
Don't think so. Kennelly was excellent today again.
Quote from: INDIANA on April 04, 2008, 05:44:12 PM
I dont believe you $700k plastic Ozzie dollars or the chance to wear the green and gold to win no 36 in 2012 .
CArlton v Collingwood is next Saturday - unfortunately its an afternoon game so starts at 5.15 am here -still should be worth getting up for
Quote from: zoyler on April 06, 2008, 12:16:18 AM
CArlton v Collingwood is next Saturday - unfortunately its an afternoon game so starts at 5.15 am here -still should be worth getting up for
Better off waiting to see the Swans give WCE a lesson at 10am....
No doubt in that - he is going to try and secure his future back home here by staying as long as he can and get as much as he can.
I am pretty damned happy tonight as Freo beat the Eagles today.
The Eagles, minus Cousins, Judd and Chick were pretty average, but made to look good by an experienced Freo team that forgot how to kick the feckin Sherrin straight. Freo should have won by at least forty points. But of course the weeping and gnashing of teeth has commenced from WC Eagle land. Oh we've a very young squad, we've got injuries...moan moan moan, feckit the simple truth is they won the premiership with "stars" who where on 'ice'. I was watching the game beside a former South Fremantle player and his business partner was working at Daniel Chick's house the day he and Cousins got arrested. Seems Mr Chick liked to "fly high" when he was not at training or games.
I've been busy with work over the past two weekends and haven't had much time to follow the fortunes of the Irish lads although there is an interesting article in this week's AFL website (www.AFL.com.au) on Kennelly and Begley. Clarke is very quiet this year. Now if only Freo could get Kielt over...
I'm going to the Freo v. Geelong game on April 25 at Subiaco and there's a possibility I will be at the Gabba to see the Lions v. Freo as I'm doing a course over at the Sunshine Coast. I may be able to squeeze in Melbourne v. Freo on May 4th. too.
PS. thanks Stephenite :-[
Quote from: johnpower on April 05, 2008, 11:49:42 PM
I dont believe you $700k plastic Ozzie dollars or the chance to wear the green and gold to win no 36 in 2012 .
just want to add as kerrymike said in another thread there are no walk-on places in the kerry team. tadgh will have to earn his spot when he comes back ;) ;D ;D
Can't see Tadgh ever coing back whilst he'd be fit to play for Kerry - the money is simply too big and he'll need a significant war chest in order to retire.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/trial-and-error-the-ohailpins/2008/04/09/1207420487752.html (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/trial-and-error-the-ohailpins/2008/04/09/1207420487752.html)
Quote from: Frank Casey on March 28, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
Young Horse to return!!!!
This is from www.kerrygaa.ie and was also reported in some of the Sunday Papers. I'm sure his Dad would be so proud to see him in Green and Gold on the third Sunday in September.
Tadhg Kennelly to Return to Kerry Football
Sunday, 23 March 2008
Tadhg Kennelly has sensationally revealed that he plans to return home to Ireland next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal with Kerry.
The 26-year-old from Listowel has established himself as one of the top players in Aussie Rules over the past seven seasons but his current deal with the Sydney Swans, with whom he won an AFL title in 2005, expires at the end of next year.
And Kennelly is not interested in extending his stay in Australia as he has his heart sent on lifting Sam Maguire.
"I'm definitely going home next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal," he told the Irish Mail on Sunday.
"I will always miss Aussie Rules and I won't cut my ties to Australia, but I want to win an All-Ireland with Kerry."
Kennelly has enjoyed all the benefits of professional sport during his time in Australia and one would imagine that he would be in favour of the GAA doing away with it amateur status.
But that is not the case. Indeed, he feels that the core values of the game would be corrupted by professionalism.
However, Kennelly does believe that inter-county players should receive some financial reward for giving over so much time to the sport.
"I would never halve left the GAA if Gaelic football was professional and players were paid the same as in Aussie rules, but I hope that the GAA doesn't try to pay its players professional wages," he said.
"Aussie rules is a franchise business.... but Irish sport is completely different.
"In Ireland, players compete for their counties, their local clubs and their families. There is more passion and players are driven by a different culture.
He continued: "Some of the county boards in Ireland look after their players very well but I think there is room for players to get more recognition in terms of a long-service award.
"There's a retirement fund out there for the players and for every year you play you get $15,000. If you play for 10 years you get $150,000 on retirement as a lump sum.
"When you think about it, the GAA isn't really amateur when you see country managers getting paid, full-time country secretaries, and players getting mortgages paid.
"Maybe the GAA needs to look at setting up a fund to help players who have given up their best years to Gaelic.
"But given that Australia's population, over 20 million, compared to Ireland which is only 5m, means GAA players should stay amateur."
Hello,
I'm a huge fan of Tadhg Kenelly as you can tell from my username and I am quite sure that he will be staying with the Sydney Swans until the end of the 2009 season.
I am a member and supporter of the Sydney Swans.
Quote from: orangeman on April 04, 2008, 01:06:42 PM
Quote from: scalder on April 04, 2008, 01:02:57 PM
It's no big feal considering most of the Australians have Irish blood in them !
I have Irish heritage and proud of it mate.
My ancestors came from Waterford.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 02:52:16 PM
Quote from: ykickamoocow on March 28, 2008, 02:10:14 PM
The average bigfooty poster seems to be a poorly educated teenage boy who hates everything other than the club he supports. If you are after an intelligent discussion, I wouldn't get my hopes up.
Bigfooty is an overrated website. Too many trolls there, and there are better Aussie Rules forums.
Hiya tadhg Kennely,
could you suggest some good forum and websites? i am looking at afl.com.au, realfooty.com, the roar and aflfootyblog, any more good ones?
Quote from: mhacadoir on April 10, 2008, 10:45:49 AM
Hiya tadhg Kennely,
could you suggest some good forum and websites? i am looking at afl.com.au, realfooty.com, the roar and aflfootyblog, any more good ones?
I've sent you a private message mate with a couple of good Aussie Rules websites involving Forums, news and statistics.
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on April 10, 2008, 11:13:47 AM
Hiya tadhg Kennely,
I've sent you a private message mate with a couple of good Aussie Rules websites involving Forums, news and statistics.
whats the story with the O hALPIN brothers? Are they likely to make the cut?
Not looking good for Setanta and Aisake at the moment. Don't think the gamble will pay off. Setanta was doing well at full back last season and then they started moving him all over the park to cover other positions instead of letting him develop in the position. Now he's a bit of a jack of all trades. Aisake has had a lot of injuries. I'd say both will be doing well to get their contracts renewed and they certainly won't be on big money. They would have been better off if they stayed in Cork to be honest. Big fish in a small pond and all that.
TBT can you pm them sites aswell?
yeah jinxy setanta was doing well at full back an it strange why they moved him about so much..i honestly cant see them getting offered another contract because their not good enough...any word of how murphy is going at swans...watched tg4 last night and have to say the hawks looking good...my eagles are poor, losing judd and cousins has fcuked them up bigtime and kerr has to do it all himself
I thought the Eagles would struggle without the 2 lads, but I didn't think they'd be this bad. They always get themselves up for Sydney so tomorrow nights clash at homebush should be a good one
Murphy is supposed to be doing very well at the Swans. Playing for the reserves at the mo. Great athlete. The aussies always seemed to be impressed by agile big guys with a bit of pace about them, and by all accounts Murphy is pretty fast. I'd say he'll do well, and may be groomed as a CHF. Big difference taking a lad who's 6'5" from a footballing background and taking a hurler the same size. I'll be disappointed for the 2 Cork lads if they end up coming home but they'll be welcomed back with open arms.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 11, 2008, 01:09:21 AM
Murphy is supposed to be doing very well at the Swans. Playing for the reserves at the mo. Great athlete. The aussies always seemed to be impressed by agile big guys with a bit of pace about them, and by all accounts Murphy is pretty fast. I'd say he'll do well, and may be groomed as a CHF. Big difference taking a lad who's 6'5" from a footballing background and taking a hurler the same size. I'll be disappointed for the 2 Cork lads if they end up coming home but they'll be welcomed back with open arms.
If the Ó hAilpíns don't make it in Oz I assume it would be the football they will be playing in Cork as they would be so long away from the hurling. Remember in the programme Tall Dark and Ó hAilpín Aisake and Setanta on about not having even a puc about in a few years since heading to Aussie Rules.
Quote from: TBT on April 10, 2008, 12:50:48 PM
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on April 10, 2008, 11:13:47 AM
Hiya tadhg Kennely,
whats the story with the O hALPIN brothers? Are they likely to make the cut?
I think Setanta will be a good player, he's back in the team to play Collingwood on Sunday.
I'm not sure about Aisake though, I haven't seen enough of him, to make a comment.
If Carlton continue to struggle this year, which is likely, Aisake might get a game later on in the year.
Someone mentioned Brendan Murphy. I can't wait to see this bloke play.
I am betting that he is going to take over from Barry Hall at Centre Half-Forward down the track.
I hope he makes the grade. He'll struggle to play a game this year, but 2009, could see him debut.
The Western Bulldogs defeated Essendon last night by 30 points.
They had to come from behind at 3 quarter time to win, which
was the first time they had done that since Round 21, 2000.
Essendon 1.2 7.7 14.12 14.14 (98)
Western Bulldogs 4.3 10.6 13.8 19.14 (128)
GOALS
Essendon: Stanton 3, McVeigh 2, Hille 2, Davey 2, Winderlich, Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Reimers, Laycock
Western Bulldogs: Welsh 3, Akermanis 2, Minson 2, Griffen 2, Harbrow 2, Giansiracusa 2, Cooney, Johnson, Hahn, Eagleton, Lake, Murphy
BEST
Essendon: McVeigh, Fletcher, Stanton, Davey, Hille
Western Bulldogs: Akermanis, Griffen, Cross, Minson, Lake, Cooney
INJURIES
Essendon: Lonergan (hamstring), McVeigh (hamstring)
Western Bulldogs: Nil
Reports: Nil
Umpires: Stevic, Head, McLaren
Official crowd: 47,641 at Telstra Dome
Source: AAP
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57686
I thoroughly enjoyed that game last night. I'm glad the Dogs won but will take my hat off to the Bombers for the performance in the third and fourth quarters. Had they not lost McVey they might have sneaked it. Having said that it is great to see men like Murphy, Johnson and Scott West getting a bit of time in the sun. And what can you say about Aker? The man is some operator. I am equally impressed by young Perth boy Paddy Ryder for the Bombers. That mark in the the fourth quarter was pretty neat and Alwyn Davey (brother of Melbourne rocket, Aaron-Tiwi Island boys I think) and Lovett and Lovett-Murray will put the fear of God up the Irish if/when the international rules series starts again.
Why was Matt Lloyd not playing?
A mate is in Melbourne and will be at the Pies-Blues game today. He's a die-hard Eagles fan but, like the rest of the country, will be roaring for the Blues today. It'll be interesting to see how Marty Clarke performs. I have a feeling he was brought in as this is seen as an easy game for the Pies and they will want to give him more time exposure on the paddock.
Freo and the Tigers will be an awkward one I feel although a few of the big men have been brought back in by Freo. Tarrant, Solomon and McPharlin will make a huge difference physically, I just hope Tarrant finds his kicking feet. We've been waiting a year.
Quote from: Aerlik on April 12, 2008, 04:19:37 AM
I thoroughly enjoyed that game last night. I'm glad the Dogs won but will take my hat off to the Bombers for the performance in the third and fourth quarters. Had they not lost McVey they might have sneaked it. Having said that it is great to see men like Murphy, Johnson and Scott West getting a bit of time in the sun. And what can you say about Aker? The man is some operator. I am equally impressed by young Perth boy Paddy Ryder for the Bombers. That mark in the the fourth quarter was pretty neat and Alwyn Davey (brother of Melbourne rocket, Aaron-Tiwi Island boys I think) and Lovett and Lovett-Murray will put the fear of God up the Irish if/when the international rules series starts again.
Why was Matt Lloyd not playing?
A mate is in Melbourne and will be at the Pies-Blues game today. He's a die-hard Eagles fan but, like the rest of the country, will be roaring for the Blues today. It'll be interesting to see how Marty Clarke performs. I have a feeling he was brought in as this is seen as an easy game for the Pies and they will want to give him more time exposure on the paddock.
Freo and the Tigers will be an awkward one I feel although a few of the big men have been brought back in by Freo. Tarrant, Solomon and McPharlin will make a huge difference physically, I just hope Tarrant finds his kicking feet. We've been waiting a year.
You must mean Scott Welsh, Scott West didn't play mate. lol
Matthew Lloyd, I think suffered a hamstring injury during the week mate apparently.
looks like barry hall is in a llot of trouble, caught his west coast eagles marker with a left hook and knocked him clean out! a moment of madness from the big fella!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzN4Ly_yd9w
Total dickhead. Sydney getting a bit of momentum going and Big Bad Barry goes and does this.
he'll get a hefty suspension out of that, thats the boxing coming out in him.
Quote from: bridgegael on April 12, 2008, 11:34:45 AM
he'll get a hefty suspension out of that, thats the boxing coming out in him.
Jesus ye that was a fair left hook :o he took care of the second fella fairly easily with a strong arm wouldn't like to mess with big barry what height is he?
Actually TK, I DID INDEED mean Scott West, he of over 320 AFL appearances and still going strong. He may not have played last night but is still a key component of the dogs' squad. I think he has only played a handful of 'finals' games in his whole career.
Hall to get at least 5 weeks for that strike. Staker is a huge man having seen him out in Perth so to deck him like he did gives you some idea of the force of the blow. The eyes weren't too healthy after it on the sideline either.
big bazza can swing with the best of them...they still not trying to get him to fight rugby league hard man wille mason in the ring. would be some fight.
my Eagles getting dusted again, gona be a long year for the boys.
Aerlik agree that the young boy Ryder looks the business and Davey is a gun!
Quote from: Aerlik on April 12, 2008, 12:06:13 PM
Actually TK, I DID INDEED mean Scott West, he of over 320 AFL appearances and still going strong. He may not have played last night but is still a key component of the dogs' squad. I think he has only played a handful of 'finals' games in his whole career.
Hall to get at least 5 weeks for that strike. Staker is a huge man having seen him out in Perth so to deck him like he did gives you some idea of the force of the blow. The eyes weren't too healthy after it on the sideline either.
It helps when the fella you punch is not looking at you. It was a seriously cheap shot and the fact that Hall was swinging around added to the force of the blow.
Lads, hats off to Colm Begley and the Brisbane Lions. Getting pasted at halftime by Port Adelaide, they have swung around and bloody well won. Amazing comeback. I was watching the Super 14 game too, but bugga that, the AFL is much better. Except if you're a Melbourne or Port Adelaide fan. ;D
That guy Hunter coming in to sort Hall out after his big KO, falling on his arse and toddling away is hilarious. :D
I'll freely admit i'm not a fan of aussie rules, but that is the action of a complete sc**bag. the guy wasn't even looking and the previous jostling was minimal.
Not sure how having criminal assault on the field of play helps the attraction of any sport
I'm pissed off that he did it.
As a Sydney Swans supporter, I ask why?
He didn't really had to do it, when we were playing so well!
We play the top team next week against Geelong, and it may
very well hurt us.
4 weeks mininum, and on top of that, he has a broken wrist. :O
But, we have some younger guys like, Heath Grundy and the
experience of Nick Davis, to come back into the side.
Quote from: Uladh on April 12, 2008, 02:36:22 PM
I'll freely admit i'm not a fan of aussie rules, but that is the action of a complete sc**bag. the guy wasn't even looking and the previous jostling was minimal.
Not sure how having criminal assault on the field of play helps the attraction of any sport
He's far from a sc**bag mate, and lay off the criminal assault charge too!
It was a stupid thing to do, and it will cost him.
Anyone who does that to an unsuspecting victim at any time, sport or not, is a sc**bag in my book. plain and simply.
If you do that on the street in any civilised country in the world you will get jail. It's assault, GBH, whatever you want to call it.
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on April 12, 2008, 02:45:16 PM
[Edited by Mod3] it was criminal and in professional sport the action of a thug ! As for you simply saying it will cost him a suspension shows how lightly you take this behaviour and how beating up the Irish was nothing only a bit of fun !
Quote from: orangeman on April 12, 2008, 03:08:52 PM
[Edited by Mod3]it was criminal and in professional sport the action of a thug ! As for you simply saying it will cost him a suspension shows how lightly you take this behaviour and how beating up the Irish was nothing only a bit of fun !
[Edited by Mod3]. I class that a racist remark.
(http://www.pjhlaw.co.uk/uploads/images/Racist_sheep.jpg)
Don't be such a drongo!
Typical Aussie mentality - it was criminal and in professional sport the action of a thug ! As for you simply saying it will cost him a suspension shows how lightly you take this behaviour and how beating up the Irish was nothing only a bit of fun !
OM would disagree,we see incidents like that at every level of Football in our country,Would you agree that the goings on in the Laois under 21 football championship and the incidents of Joe Canning being assaulted with Portumna a year or two ago are typical of the Irish sporting mentality????
In contact games like GAA and Aussie Rules,there will always be that thuggish mentality there,Its not right just to label all Aussies the same just because a few of their IR team acted like scumbags and the actions of Barry Hall etc.
TKennelly
Belated welcome to the board,im a big fan of aussie rules, really gotten into it in the last year or two.
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2008, 08:42:28 PM
Typical Aussie mentality - it was criminal and in professional sport the action of a thug ! As for you simply saying it will cost him a suspension shows how lightly you take this behaviour and how beating up the Irish was nothing only a bit of fun !
OM would disagree,we see incidents like that at every level of Football in our country,Would you agree that the goings on in the Laois under 21 football championship and the incidents of Joe Canning being assaulted with Portumna a year or two ago are typical of the Irish sporting mentality????
In contact games like GAA and Aussie Rules,there will always be that thuggish mentality there,Its not right just to label all Aussies the same just because a few of their IR team acted like scumbags and the actions of Barry Hall etc.
TKennelly
Belated welcome to the board,im a big fan of aussie rules, really gotten into it in the last year or two.
Thanks mate for the welcome. I agree with what you said, why brandish a whole country because of a minority? It's stupid!
And Jinxy, I know you from bigfooty (I think)
[Edited by Mod3]
Typical Australian. No sense of humour.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2008, 01:00:52 AM
Typical Australian. No sense of humour.
Whatever..... ::)
Tadgh, you need to relax man, Jinxy is only on the wind-up. Alot of that on this site, but it mostly in good nature.
You must admit though, it was a bit thuggish.
Contemplating getting up in a few hours to watch the Collingwood game.
Dyas got his first goal today in the reserves, meat to be a goodie too.
Quote from: corn02 on April 13, 2008, 01:05:45 AM
Tadgh, you need to relax man, Jinxy is only on the wind-up. Alot of that on this site, but it mostly in good nature.
No doubt it was a bit thuggish! I did call it stupid, if anybody cared to read what I said!
And I do not like anybody from Bigfooty!
Stay in bed! :-\
Lads, Hall's punch was out of order and there is not a single TV personality suggesting otherwise. Let's leave it at that. I remember playing hurling against Belfast teams and when the ruckus broke out, we were attacked with the hurls.
Port Adelaide are still winless for the season. However that should change in the next few weeks as they play the Eagles. The loss last night was bad, very bad.
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2008, 03:00:17 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 13, 2008, 02:53:30 AM
Stay in bed! :-\
Lads, Hall's punch was out of order and there is not a single TV personality suggesting otherwise. Let's leave it at that. I remember playing hurling against Belfast teams and when the ruckus broke out, we were attacked with the hurls.
Port Adelaide are still winless for the season. However that should change in the next few weeks as they play the Eagles. The loss last night was bad, very bad.
What the fcuk has that got to do with anything?
People like you, like to brand Australians as thugs, so he's making a point, that your game isn't clean either. :o
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2008, 03:08:30 AM
I have never branded any Australian as a thug.
Anyway, my mate once got his hand sliced with a razor blade as he ordered a drink at a bar.
NO, you might not have, so I take that back, but others did, which is why I am pissed off mate!
Do you call someone like Cathy Freeman a thug? I know, she's in a different sport, but she's far from a thug!
Brett Kirk who plays for the Sydney Swans, is a champion player, and is far from a thug.
Do you get my drift mate?
I'm 100% sure, that Hall will apologise, and will be feeling quite low about himself and what he did!
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2008, 03:11:16 AM
A bee stung me on the arm when I was in France.
Huh? ???
20 million Chinese died in World War II.
Just watching the Carlton v Collingwood game, Carlton looking good for their first victory this season. Its in the final quarter and hopefully they can hold their nerve. Both o'hAilpin and Clarke are playing.
Hardstation, my point is that there are thugs in every game. Not only does it happen in the AFL but in the secondary and junior leagues in this country. I know as I live here. Likewise, we in the GAA have mass brawls with thuggery. I am not defending Hall as I've seen him at his finest, but I was sickened by that punch. Why? Two reasons, uncalled for, and my 6 y.o. plays Aussie Rules and like any child of that age picks up on these things and I don't want him thinking it's good.
Re. the hurls, YES it did happen when I was hurling for Lavey v. Gort na Mona at Cargin in the Antrim Minor Hurling League in 1985. They swung hurls at our lads' heads. And the same happened v. St.Mary's CBS in a Colleges game. We'll leave it at that.
Great win for Setanta and Carlton today. Pleased with the result. Dockers down by three goals at the end of the 1st quarter. Groan.
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on April 13, 2008, 07:16:25 AM
Just watching the Carlton v Collingwood game, Carlton looking good for their first victory this season. Its in the final quarter and hopefully they can hold their nerve. Both o'hAilpin and Clarke are playing.
Badly.
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on April 13, 2008, 01:14:50 AM
No doubt it was a bit thuggish! I did call it stupid, if anybody cared to read what I said!
And I do not like anybody from Bigfooty!
Just as a matter of interest, are you male or female?
Don';t agree they played badly - it took Clarke a while to get going but he was much better by the end and got a cracking goal from over 50 meters - two steps and BANG. Setanta also made a good contribution with one goal and put himself about well.
Whatever about Clarke I suggest you have a look at some of the Carlton forums to see what they thought of Setanta. The words "had a shocker" crop up more than once.
Setanta only kicked the ball 6 times, and conceded 3 free kicks against him. Very poor performance.
Clarke had a reasonably good game for the losing team.
Freo got thumped by Richmond. One of the worst TV performances I have seen by them in years. Comparable to the very forgettable years of 2001 and 2002. Thank God I didn't pay to see that shite. A few of the big names will have to take a long hard look at their games. Pure shite. And to make matters worse, Adelaide next week away and Geelong the week after. Ah well, I'm still going to the game to see a good team play. Jimmy Bartell, what a player. Deserved Brownlow medalist.
Good win for Carlton - couldn't believer the stupidity of Barry Hall, no need for it and with Geelong up next week he'll be missed. He's getting surgery on the wrist today so will be out for 6-8 weeks apparently regardless of whatever ban the authourities hand down. Good win for Carlton also
Brendan Murphy I heard is playing very well at the moment, in our reserves competition in Canberra.
If he keeps going like he is, he could very well make his debut this year.
For a change, a pathetic Freo effort is NOT the backpage headline of the West Australian (crap excuse of a newspaper at the best of times anyway). It is screaming out for Hall to be suspended for the rest of the year.
Needless to say the Melbourne press are ramping up the pressure too, but they seem to forget Alan Didak's smack of someone last year, v. Carlton? I can't remember.
TK, Stephenite, what do you make of the season so far? I'm looking forward to the Hawthorn v. Geelong game, although I can't see anything other than a Geelong victory. This season seems to have the makings of the least predictable in many years with so many teams being much improved.
Hall got 7 weeks.
Still not enough according to the W.A. press. Jeff Farmer got six weeks for eye gouging and Hall gets one more for smacking someone. Hmm, strange.
The Media see to have gotten total hysteria in realation to BigBad Barry who has been well behaved for a long time now. It seems that taking the Paddys out is OK but hitting one of their own when he is not looking is bad form!!
Don't know if he was proveked by word or deed but presume the suspension will more or less balance out with the recovery from a broken wrist!!
Zoyler, I totally agree with that comment. W.A is one of the strongest AFL regions in the country (second to Melbourne, I believe) and there has been nothing but condemnation all around from every quarter about Hall's actions. Feckit we even had cameras and reporters waiting outside the hospital to find out if Staker was OK and if the brain scans were all clear and we had one doctor on claiming he could have been killed. Then last night as we were all sitting down I raised the issue of the Chris Johnson's tackle on the Irish player. Ah sure feckit that was the International Rules and if the player couldn't take it then he shouldn't have been playing the game etc, etc. I sat there and let them rant and rave then retorted with one word: "crap". Silence ensued.
I think the funniest place to be will be in the Leadership Team meeting today at the Swans ground when Hall will be put on a pedestal and his colleagues condemn him...reminds me of Post-1966 China or Cambodia during Pol Pot's regime. Yeah, right...what are you going to say to Hall, that he won't remember and then pummel the shite out of you at training?
It's going to be a long depressing season Aerlink especially having to endure the WCE media.
Little mention of Staker's girlfiriend in the press - Candice Falzon. Clearly not the smartest tool in the shed especially after Barry rattled the box. The good folks in Ireland might want to google Candice for some humour - especially the part about Sonny Bill Williams.
Quote from: zoyler on April 15, 2008, 06:37:19 PM
The Media see to have gotten total hysteria in realation to BigBad Barry who has been well behaved for a long time now. It seems that taking the Paddys out is OK but hitting one of their own when he is not looking is bad form!!
Don't know if he was proveked by word or deed but presume the suspension will more or less balance out with the recovery from a broken wrist!!
The Western Australian and Victorian media are pretty pathetic, and certainly one tracked minded for one way or the other.
I have blown a fuse, listening to the garbage what has been said over the radio.
They will not let it go. Any other player, it wouldn't even be this big.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=vr81dc4o5yI
Now to be truthful, I consider this to be a worse action than what Barry Hall ever did.
Brodie Hollland, could have paralyzed Brett Montgomery. The hysteria in that case, wasn't that bad compared to the Barry Hall's case.
Complete over reaction by the media intent on putting as much pressure as possible on the tribunal, hopefully they'll let this go now
Round 5
Friday, Apr 18
St. Kilda vs. Essendon Telstra Dome 7:40 pm
Saturday, Apr 19
Geelong vs. Sydney Skilled Stadium 2:10 pm
Adelaide vs. Fremantle AAMI Stadium 2:40 pm
Brisbane Lions vs. Hawthorn Gabba 7:10 pm
Collingwood vs. Kangaroos MCG 7:10 pm
Sunday, Apr 20
Melbourne vs. Carlton MCG 1:10 pm
Western Bulldogs vs. Richmond Telstra Dome 2:10 pm
West Coast vs. Port Adelaide Subiaco 2:40 pm
Tough round to pick this week in the AFL.
My tips for Round 5.
St.Kilda should get over the line over an injury depleted Essendon line up. Scott Lucas being out for Essendon is hurting them, he's a star.
Geelong should account for Sydney at home in Skilled Stadium, but I am hoping that I am dead wrong with this tip. Don't be surprised if an upset occurs.
Adelaide in another game where I will be giving it to the home team. Could go either way this one.
Brisbane Lions in one of the toughest games of the round to pick. The Lions have the arsenal up forward to burst Hawthorn's bubble
North Melbourne in a must win game over Collingwood in another tough game this week.
Carlton should keep their winning ways against bottom of the ladder team Melbourne.
Western Bulldogs should keep their undefeated streak against an improving Richmond side.
West Coast Eagles should get over the line over a disappointing Port Adelaide. The loser of the game, will not make the finals.
St Kilda 5.3 12.9 14.12 18.15 (123)
Essendon 3.0 6.1 12.1 14.3 (87)
GOALS
St Kilda: Riewoldt 3, Koschitzke 2, Armitage 2, Ball 2, Milne 2, C. Gardiner 2, King, Clarke, Montagna, Dempster, Hayes
Essendon: Houli 2, Lovett 2, McPhee 2, Pears, Stanton, Ramanauskas, Welsh, Nash, Laycock, Ryder, Stanton
BEST
St Kilda: Hudghton, Hayes, S. Fisher, Dempster, Riewoldt, Armitage
Essendon: Houli, McPhee, Ryder, Ramanauskas, Watson, Hille
INJURIES
St Kilda: King (hamstring), Dal Santo (shoulder)
Essendon: Nil
Umpires: Vozzo, Nicholls, Jeffery
Official crowd: 46,792 at Telstra Dome
Tadhg Kennelly looks like going to be a late withdrawal replaced by Luke Brennan. Damn, I don't think we have much chance of winning this game now. :o
very tough match with the Swans 30 points down at end of 1st qtr coming back to within 3 points early in last qtr before Geelong pulle away in last 10 mins......with Kennelly, Malceski, Everitt and Hall to come in and guys like Bird/Brennan/Jack/Barlow/Moore/McVeigh getting more experience an absolute classic Grand Final between these could be on the cards with Sydney winning...
Geelong 6.2 7.8 8.13 16.18 (114)
Sydney 1.2 6.7 7.9 10.12 (72) <!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
<!--[endif]-->
GOALS
Geelong: S.Johnson 4, Stokes 4, G.Ablett 3, Bartel 2, Hunt, Mooney, Wojcinski
Sydney: Barlow 2, Moore 2, Ablett, Bevan, J.Bolton, Davis, Jolly, O'Keefe
BEST
Geelong: G.Ablett, Bartel, S.Johnson, Scarlett, Chapman, Stokes
Sydney: Jolly, Goodes, McVeigh, Mattner, Kirk, Moore
INJURIES
Geelong: None
Sydney: Kennelly (hamstring) replaced in selected side by Brennan
Umpires: McBurney, Rosebury, Ellis
Official crowd: 24,368 at the Skilled Stadium
In the end, the loss of Barry Hall, Nick Malceski and Tadhg Kennelly was too great to cover, and we ended up going down by 42 points.
Having said that, the margin didn't reflect the nature of the game. Geelong got a few late goals in the end, and the margin should have
been closer sadly.
Jarrad McVeigh continues to be a big improver for the Swans, he was probably our best today. Onya Macca!
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on April 19, 2008, 08:39:03 AM
Geelong 6.2 7.8 8.13 16.18 (114)
Sydney 1.2 6.7 7.9 10.12 (72) <!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
<!--[endif]-->
GOALS
Geelong: S.Johnson 4, Stokes 4, G.Ablett 3, Bartel 2, Hunt, Mooney, Wojcinski
Sydney: Barlow 2, Moore 2, Ablett, Bevan, J.Bolton, Davis, Jolly, O'Keefe
BEST
Geelong: G.Ablett, Bartel, S.Johnson, Scarlett, Chapman, Stokes
Sydney: Jolly, Goodes, McVeigh, Mattner, Kirk, Moore
Heh, heh. ;D
NORTH MELBOURNE 3.4 5.9 9.12 16.16 (112)
COLLINGWOOD 2.4 8.6 10.11 15.15 (105)
Goals: North Melbourne: S Grant 3 L Thomas 3 M Campbell 3 E Lower 2 N Thompson 2 A Simpson C Jones D Hale. Collingwood: P Medhurst 5 J Fraser 4 L Davis 2 A Didak S Pendlebury R Shaw A Rocca.
Best: North Melbourne: B Harvey S Grant L Harding L Thomas D Wells M Firrito. Collingwood: A Didak J Fraser T Lockyer P Medhurst R Shaw S Pendlebury.
Report: North Melbourne – Daniel Pratt reported by umpire Hayden Kennedy for charging Josh Fraser in the first quarter.
Umpires: C Donlon H Kennedy D Sully.
Official crowd: 51,990 at the MCG.
Adelaide 3.4 6.6 8.13 12.16 (88)
Fremantle 1.1 2.5 6.9 10.11 (71)
GOALS
Adelaide: Goodwin 3, Burton 3, Porplyzia 2, McLeod 2, Tippett, Thompson
Fremantle: Farmer 3, Johnson 2, McPharlin 2, Hinkley, Thornton, Solomon
BEST
Adelaide: McLeod, Bock, Goodwin, Burton, Symes, Porplyzia
Fremantle: Palmer, Hayden, Dodd, Drum, Bell, Ibbotson
INJURIES
Adelaide: Nil
Fremantle: Nil
Umpires: McLaren, Head, Avon
Official crowd: 39,554 at AAMI Stadium
HAWTHORN 4.5 10.9 14.13 19.16 (130)
BRISBANE LIONS 5.3 9.7 14.11 17.16 (118)
GOALS
Hawthorn: Franklin 8, Rioli 2, Williams 2, Mitchell, Sewell, Hodge, Osborne, Young, Ellis, Roughead
Brisbane Lions: Bradshaw 7, Johnstone 2, McGrath 2, Adcock, Corrie, Hooper, Charman, Begley, Leuenberger
BEST
Hawthorn: Franklin, Croad, Mitchell, Sewell, Crawford, Burchill
Brisbane Lions: Black, Bradshaw, Power, Johnstone, Sherman, Rischitelli
Injuries:
Brisbane Lions: N Lappin (Achilles) replaced in selected side by R Copeland. Hawthorn: Nil.
Reports: J Brown (Brisbane Lions) by umpire L Farmer for charging S Mitchell (Hawthorn) in second quarter.
Umpires: Farmer, Chamberlain, McInerney
Official crowd: 30,019 at the Gabba
I'm off to the Western Bulldogs v Richmond game today, should be a good one if Richmond shows up.
The Carlton fans seem to be growing weary of the Irish experiment even though they won today. Setanta had another shocker and there are plenty of calls for him to be dropped. Aisake didn't play well for the reserves yesterday either. Not looking good for them. For all this "oh its a great life being a professional athlete" stuff, I'd say at the moment they'd swap it all to be bona fide hurling stars back home (which Setanta already was).
I see Dyer had a stand out game for Collingwood Reserves in the VFL particularly in the last quarter whenthey came under intense pressure but held out to win by 14 points - with Clarke showing a good improveent in form Irish hearts in Melborne may be shifting from the Blues to the 'Pies!
Quote from: zoyler on April 21, 2008, 02:19:54 PM
I see Dyer had a stand out game for Collingwood Reserves in the VFL particularly in the last quarter whenthey came under intense pressure but held out to win by 14 points - with Clarke showing a good improveent in form Irish hearts in Melborne may be shifting from the Blues to the 'Pies!
God forbid.
Still the hounds in the Press are baying for the red card to be introduced. Not a bad idea I think, however it will seriously undermine a team with any of the four replacements injured during the game.
I'm off to Freo v. Geelong on Friday night with mini-me. Nothing short of a total pasting is on the cards but I can only hope.
I watched the Carlton-Melbourne game there this morning. Melbourne are woeful even moreso than Freo v. Richmond. And on the subject of the Tigers what about their performance on Sunday. Very commendable. Jinxy you may have a very valid point re. the Carlton fans and the two Irish boys...when you have the likes of Judd, Fevola etc. you must surely be starting to think bigger. It isn't enough to finish above the Demons on the ladder now.
The Essendon-Collingwood ANZAC game is again a sell-out on Friday afternoon. I'm looking forward to watching that and although I don't have much time for either team, I will be hoping the dons win, purely as my son has them as his second team...because he plays for Belmont Bombers.
Friday April 25
Collingwood v Essendon at the MCG, 2.40pm AEST
Fremantle v Geelong at Subiaco Oval, 6.40pm AWST
Saturday April 26
Carlton v Adelaide at the MCG, 2.10pm AEST
Western Bulldogs v West Coast at Telstra Dome, 7.10pm AEST
Port Adelaide v St Kilda at AAMI Stadium, 7.10pm ACST
Sunday April 27
Brisbane Lions v Melbourne at the Gabba, 1.10pm AEST
North Melbourne v Sydney at Telstra Dome, 2.10pm AEST
Hawthorn v Richmond at the MCG, 4.40pm AEST
COLLINGWOOD v ESSENDON
COLLINGWOOD
B: Heath Shaw, Shane Wakelin, Tyson Goldsack
HB: Nick Maxwell, Nathan Brown, Harry O'Brien
C: Scott Pendlebury, Dane Swan, Tarkyn Lockyer
HF: Alan Didak, Anthony Rocca, Paul Medhurst
F: Cameron Wood, Travis Cloke, Dale Thomas
Foll: Josh Fraser, Shane O'Bree, Leon Davis
IC: Martin Clarke, Ben Johnson, Ryan Cook, Rhyce Shaw
EMG: Sharrod Wellingham, Chris Bryan, Shannon Cox
In: Maxwell, Cook
Out: Ben Reid (quad), Brodie Holland (ankle)
ESSENDON
B: Andrew Welsh, Mal Michael, Dustin Fletcher
HB: Bachar Houli, Patrick Ryder, Kyle Reimers
C: Angus Monfries, Jobe Watson, Ricky Dyson
HF: Henry Slattery, Adam McPhee, Andrew Lovett
F: Matthew Lloyd, David Hille, Alwyn Davey
Foll: Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Brent Stanton
I/C: Courtney Johns, Jay Nash, Tayte Pears, Adam Ramanauskas
EMG: Darcy Daniher, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Damien Peveril
In: Johns
Out: Andrew Lovett-Murray
FREMANTLE v GEELONG
FREMANTLE
B: Steven Dodd, Antoni Grover, Roger Hayden
HB: Ryan Crowley, Luke McPharlin, Michael Johnson
C: David Mundy, Rhys Palmer, Byron Schammer
HF: Des Headland, Ryan Murphy, Dean Solomon
F: Peter Bell, Matthew Pavlich, Jeff Farmer
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Josh Carr, Shaun McManus
I/C: Marcus Drum, Daniel Gilmore, Clayton Hinkley, Garrick Ibbotson
EMG: Brock O'Brien, Robert Warnock, Scott Thornton
In: Headland, Murphy
Out: Scott Thornton, Matthew Carr
GEELONG
B: Tom Harley, Matthew Scarlett, Josh Hunt
HB: Darren Milburn, Harry Taylor, Corey Enright
C: Cameron Ling, Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel
HF: Steve Johnson, Cameron Mooney, Paul Chapman
F: James Kelly, Tom Hawkins, Mathew Stokes
Foll: Mark Blake, Gary Ablett, Joel Corey
I/C: Shane Mumford, Andrew Mackie, Ryan Gamble, David Wojcinski
EMG: Brent Prismall, Max Rooke, Trent West
In: Taylor, Gamble, Mumford
Out: Prismall, West, Rooke (omit)
New: Shane Mumford (Geelong VFL)
Round 6 teams so far.
This week, I am off to the North Melbourne v Sydney Swans game at the Telstra Dome.
Should be another good game. I'm hoping for a Swans win, but swaying towards the Kangaroos at this stage sadly.
TK what did ya make of Paul Roos reaction to Adam Goodes performance v Geelong? I thought he did okay, not his best but was surprised his coach gave him a wrap on the knuckles for his form. Hopefully it will rub Goodes up the right way - that he lifts his game to what he's capable of.
I thought it was right for Paul Roos to do. In the 1st half, he was shocking but Goodes did have a better 2nd half though.
I hope he hits top form soon, we have a tough game against North Melbourne, who we always seem to have close games.
Ya I hope it gets the right response, big pressure on Goodes now in Barry Hall's absence
Found a good article about Colm Begley in the Irish Times.
Getting the measure of the Rules
HOME AND AWAY AUSTRALIAN RULES PLAYER COLM BEGLEY Mark Duncan talks to former Laois footballer Colm Begley, whose reputation continues to grow at the Brisbane Lions
ON A HUMID, late Wednesday afternoon in March the Brisbane Lions are put through their paces. Coach Leigh Matthews, a stout cut of a man, stands beside a wheelie bin of balls in the middle of the vast oval field and directs operations.
The hard pre-season graft over, the session is little more than a series of drills: handpassing, kicking, support play, the sort of stuff that most GAA teams do as a matter of routine.
Giffen Park, where the Lions train, is situated in the south-east suburb of Coorparoo, a short distance from the Gabba, the club's city base. The ground is unfenced, open to the public and as this day gives way to early evening it is brimming with activity.
Much of it is centred not around the imposing herd of professional athletes, but on the neighbouring field where an army of kids, little more than seven or eight years old, are being schooled in elementary skills by the local junior Aussie Rules club.
By the time the Lions players, among them Laois's Colm Begley, finish up and head for the showers, the kids and their parents are waiting for them.
No security. No barriers. These are accessible sports stars: they sign autographs and mix easily. "That's one of the really good things about Brisbane", says Begley. "It's more relaxed here, not as hard-core."
In AFL terms, the Brisbane Lions operate on the periphery, a two-and-a-half hour flight from Melbourne, the sport's birthplace and stronghold still. The distance makes a difference. "Melbourne is just crazy. It's like a religion there, you know", Begley remarks, relieved, you sense, that he remains at a remove from the fervour of it.
"I think if you're up in Melbourne, you have the media more around you, I think you're probably pumped up a bit more as well. I mean if you're out on the town, you're immediately recognised and you're the focal point of the night. It can happen that your head can get a little big and, you know, you can get ahead of yourself, which you don't want, especially when you can go from rising real well to hitting a dead wall and not playing games."
Few players have risen as well, or as fast as Begley. Last season, only his second in the sport, he established himself as a first team regular, starting 19 of the Lions' 22 Premiership games and ending up as Club Rookie of the Year.
A young man might be excused if he lost the run of himself. But Begley, at 21, appears remarkably mature. Self-effacing, he prefers to talk about how much he has to learn rather than what he has achieved so far. "There's always room for improvement" he says. "I've only been here two years and the way I look at it, I'll never be fully perfect as a player . . . It's a new game, it's a game I haven't played for all my life. So, you can't get ahead of yourself here, especially when there's so much competition for positions."
Nevertheless, modesty aside, Begley's development as an Aussie Rules player, like that of Martin Clarke at Collingwood, has stunned many AFL coaches and commentators.
He remembers how it all started, how he attended a Lions trial in Limerick in late 2005 and how, two days later, he got a call with an offer of a contract. With a life-changing decision to make, he turned to his family. His brothers, with whom he played club football in Stradbally, urged him to jump at the opportunity, but his father, initially at least, was rather less starry-eyed. Begley, after all, was the holder of an All-Ireland minor medal with Laois, had graduated to the county senior panel, and had taken up a college scholarship at UCD. In the self-contained world of the GAA, he was a made-man. Why jeopardise it?
He stewed on the offer for a couple of weeks. He turned over the pros and cons in his mind, sounded out Kerry's own Sydney Swan, Tadhg Kennelly, and, finally, decided to accept. Begley assured his father and himself that it was less a gamble than a personal investment. "I went and met up with Tadhg and asked him about it and he told me how he went out, the advantages and the disadvantages. I told my dad then that I reckon I can do it - 'If I go to do it, I'll do it.' He said, 'right, so.' Looking at it, it's a win, win situation. If you come home after two years and if you don't make it, you'll have learned so much about looking after your body as a sports player, saved a bit of money, visited Australia."
It helped that he wasn't journeying alone. Fellow Laois starlet at the time, Brendan Quigley, had also been courted by the Lions. However, his Australian adventure, blighted by injury and homesickness, was short-lived. Where Begley kept thoughts of home at bay by keeping busy at the gym and lifting extra weights, a collarbone injury denied Quigley similar release and he returned shortly after to Timahoe and Laois, picking up where he left off as one of the county's brightest prospects.
For Begley, the wrench from family and the rhythms of the GAA was something for which he was prepared, but struck by nonetheless. "It's a huge adjustment, massive, especially when you grow up with Gaelic football and stuff, growing up living that life . . You come over here then and it's a different place: new friends, a different life altogether. Your family isn't just a two-hour drive away . . . If you have two weeks off, you know, you still can't go home because it's such a long trip . . . but when you decide to come over, you set yourself mentally for that. You say to yourself, 'I'm leaving now to play a different sport. I'm going to be on my own, away from family and friends for nine months of the year, 10 months of the year,' so you set yourself up for that."
The new life he has set for himself has, for the most part, revolved around training and games. At home, balancing the demands of club, county and college had taught him much about the regimen of training, but it still took time for his body to adapt to a professional routine.
"You're training every day and it's just a different workload," he says. "It has different effects on your body the first few weeks you're over here. You find yourself fine for a few weeks, but then you're pretty tired, you mightn't have got used to training every day and you're drained. It takes a while to get used to."
He catches himself momentarily and laughs, wary of making of it sound like a burden. "But it's a good job," he quickly adds. "You wake up in the morning and what have you to do for work? Go down and do a weights session or whatever, a running or skills session. I love it, so it's an adjustment you enjoy taking part in, you relish it when you're doing it."
It's not all grind, of course. One of the great privileges - and potential pitfalls - of the professional life is the free time that comes with it and Begley is anxious not to squander it.
"You want to fill it up with something worthwhile," he remarks. He tried his hand at a business course, but it didn't work out, the books getting squeezed as he adjusted to his new sporting demands. And anyway, accountancy was just "too boring". He plans to look again at university options. In the meantime, he's taken up golf and plays regularly with some of the other Lions players. He's seen a bit of Australia too, though not in the boozy, carefree way that other Irish lads his age might - "You don't get to see it like that."
He's not complaining. Begley is enjoying the Australian lifestyle and professional experience and, for now, it's where he sees himself. And while a return to Ireland is part of the overall plan, it may not be for another five or six years. In time he hopes to still make a contribution to Laois. His exile, however, has not prevented him from giving Stradbally a dig out over the last couple of years, the AFL closed season dovetailing nicely with the business end of the Laois championship. On both occasions, however, Stradbally came up short.
"The first year I went home, we should have won: Ballyroan beat us in a semi-final. I won't forget that. The second year I came back we got to a county final and got smashed by Portlaoise and I won't forget that either. That was a bad day."
Poppies don't grow tall in the thicket of Laois football and against Portlaoise in particular, he shipped his share of verbal taunts. A "bit of banter" is how Begley prefers to remember it.
"There was a bit of slagging here and there," he recalls. "You know, 'Come on boys, he's not worth a f****n' s***e. Look at him, he can't even kick the ball anymore.' "
The abuse, if anything, made Begley feel more at home and he responded, as his father had always told him to do, by simply smiling back.
He returned to Australia after that defeat to Portlaoise. He was without a county championship medal, but with a new recruit. Mayo teenager Pearse Hanley had been approached by the Brisbane Lions during the summer, having caught the eye of scouts in the Under-17 International Rules series with Australia the previous year. Begley and Hanley had talked on the phone, but never met before they stepped on the plane in Dublin. The two got on well and now share a house with fellow Lions player Cheynee Stiller.
"He's doing amazingly well," Begley says of Hanley, his 19-year-old junior. "He's a talented footballer, a talented athlete, he's very fast and his skills - he's ahead of me where I was at this stage. He's just adapted well. Whether the coaches know him because they've gone through me and through everything they would have known what to do, he's just done really well."
Begley sees no end to the AFL recruitment of young Irish players like Hanley. The clubs, he believes, know where to look in Ireland and the quality of some of the players they've attracted will further fuel the trend. His belief in the inevitability of a growing Irish presence in the AFL has led him to become involved in moves to establish a player welfare group, intended to help young Irish players settle in and make the most of their opportunity.
The brainchild of Tadhg Kennelly, who floated it with some of the Irish contingent, Begley is keen not to overplay the move. "It's nothing major, it's just something to help us out," he says. Part of it will simply involve the Irish players catching up with each other and checking if anybody's got problems. But another part of it may involve opening up previously unexplored commercial avenues. "As a group", Begley believes the Irish players "have a lot to offer different teams . . You always look for something to give you more opportunity and I think it'll help the young fellas coming out a lot as well, knowing that they have something to lean back on, or even a support group from the older players."
The greening of Australian Rules, it seems, has only started.
Mark Duncan is a co-founder of the InQuest research company and a historian of the GAA
Thursday, April 24.
Tadhg Kennelly's insists that he has made no decision on whether his future lies with the Sydney Swans or playing Gaelic football with his native Kerry.
It was reported earlier this month that Kennelly was ready to make a dramatic return to The Kingdom when his contract with The Swans runs out at the end of next season.
However, the 26-year-old is adamant that any plans to return home are very much in the long term.
"With the relationship I have with the club and around Sydney, it's going to be a decision that is just as hard as when I first decided to come out here," Kennelly said.
"Certainly, in the long-term I want to go home and win an All-Ireland title. That is still an ambition of mine."
Good win for the 'pies and Marty Clarke today as they stuffed Essendon in the ANZAC day game. They won by 10 goals and while he was not brilliant Marty had a solid game with vert few efforts and lots of possies to take from the game.
Quote from: orangeman on April 25, 2008, 04:17:25 PM
Thursday, April 24.
Tadhg Kennelly's insists that he has made no decision on whether his future lies with the Sydney Swans or playing Gaelic football with his native Kerry.
It was reported earlier this month that Kennelly was ready to make a dramatic return to The Kingdom when his contract with The Swans runs out at the end of next season.
However, the 26-year-old is adamant that any plans to return home are very much in the long term.
"With the relationship I have with the club and around Sydney, it's going to be a decision that is just as hard as when I first decided to come out here," Kennelly said.
"Certainly, in the long-term I want to go home and win an All-Ireland title. That is still an ambition of mine."
There is a rumour going around that Tadhg Kennelly might be at the Swans longer than 2009. I hope this is true.
Another rumour is, that he's girlfriend isn't keen on settling in Ireland, and Tadhg is having second thoughts about going home.
Should be interesting to see what his decision is.
On another note, what a boring game yesterdays ANZAC day game was. Collingwood winning by 73 points, 23.16.154 to 12.9.81.
Paul Medhurst got the Anzac Medal for kicking 6 goals.
Fremantle and Geelong had a ripper of a game, the Cats came from behind to win by 1 point, after Matthew Pavlich missed a shot on goal
which hit the post with 2 minutes to go. At one stage in the 2nd quarter, the Dockers were 38 points in front, and in a 7 minute burst,
Geelong kicked 6 goals, and only trailled by 2 points. Very odd but enjoyable game.
The 'hitting the post' rule is the one in AR that really gets my goat ! If it hits but is inside the post why can it not be a full score - can't see the logic in the rule!
Am I the only one who could not give a ballix at this stage if Tadhg Kennelly stays there, comes home or starts a penguin farm in the Antartic? Why the need for all these articles rehashing the same old information?
No.
It's like back in the 80s when The Irish Times was besotted with Tony Ward and couldn't seem to write about anything/anybody else. There was a story going around at the time about how an Irishman was killed on the London underground and how the various papers headlined it:
The London Times - Tube Tragedy
The Guardian - Funding Cuts Are Costing Lives
The Sun - Drunken Paddy In Tube Snarl-Up
The Daily Telegraph - Terrorist Plot Foiled By Own-Goal
The Irish Times - Tony Ward Held Up For Hours In Train Delays
:D :D :D :D
Quote from: Hardy on April 26, 2008, 01:37:37 PM
The London Times - Tube Tragedy
Was the tragedy that the tube was still breathing?
Well lads, I'm still hoarse from Friday night's thriller at Subiaco. Not the best performance by Freo, but a very technical one which pushed Geelong to the brink. One point...one feckin point. Jayzus I nearly cried. Mini-me just looked up and declared "It's only a game dad". Nearly fell over laughing when he said that. The last five minutes of the second quarter are to be forgotten but I will say one name. Tom Hawkins. Watch out for the next superstar of the game. Ah feckit, I'm still hurting. Fecking one point. ONE POINT. Feckit.
Quote from: Aerlik on April 28, 2008, 10:26:15 AM
Well lads, I'm still hoarse from Friday night's thriller at Subiaco. Not the best performance by Freo, but a very technical one which pushed Geelong to the brink. One point...one feckin point. Jayzus I nearly cried. Mini-me just looked up and declared "It's only a game dad". Nearly fell over laughing when he said that. The last five minutes of the second quarter are to be forgotten but I will say one name. Tom Hawkins. Watch out for the next superstar of the game. Ah feckit, I'm still hurting. Fecking one point. ONE POINT. Feckit.
And ye was robbed of 9 seconds playing time ;)
I've been to two games so far this year, for two draws. What are the odds on that.
I still believe Brett Kirk kicked a goal. :o
Bloods' test comes back too negative
Mike Sheahan
Monday, April 28, 2008 at 09:23am
SYDNEY's Darren Jolly kicked a goal from the opening bounce yesterday. In the first 60 seconds.
Were we in for a rare treat from the Swans?
Nuh. Nooooo. Definitely not. It was to be business as usual.
A two-hour war of attrition with North Melbourne fittingly ended in a draw - 64 points each.
No winner. No satisfaction or joy in the stands, either.
Why must the Swans come face to face with defeat before they embrace the task of winning rather than saving a game?
They were 16 points down with less than eight minutes to play before the penny dropped.
In the end, they will count themselves unlucky, kicking 2.6 in the final term. It was their second-best quarter of the game.
At Telstra Dome. With the roof closed.
They kicked 8.16 for the afternoon and six of the behinds were rushed.
Why such negativity? From both teams.
The only winning score lower than 12 goals in first five rounds this year was St Kilda's 6.15 in Round 1.
Against guess who? Yep, Sydney.
The Swans salvaged two points from the game only because their most imaginative, creative player, Tadhg Kennelly, finally tired of the frustration and imposed himself on the contest.
Kennelly had nine disposals in the last quarter and was single-handedly responsible for the Sydney revival, even allowing for Michael O'Loughlin's two goals for the term.
He won the footy, ran with it, took opponents on, and delivered superbly, as usual.
He is only millimetres behind Adam Goodes as the team's most important player.
Thankfully, mercifully, Goodes was prepared to play the game with the flair it allows. Invites. He kept most of us engaged for the first three quarters.
North Melbourne isn't quite Geelong, either, in the way it plays its footy, but was more adventurous than the opposition this time.
In the third quarter, the Swans kept banging the ball into their forward half, only to see it rebound from a one-on-three or four contest.
Yes, Barry Hall is missing, but the forward division still includes Ryan O'Keefe, O'Loughlin and Nick Davis.
Not that Davis is any certainty to survive.He missed two sitters (for him) in the first half and had just two possessions in the second half, finishing with 1.2.
Jude Bolton also made a hash of his opportunities in the third quarter, but, unlike Davis, Bolton has an alibi of sorts - he is an habitually poor kick for goal.
To further illustrate the point about how conservative the Swans are in their forward moves, they racked up 81 more possessions than the Roos and finished square on the scoreboard.
North and the Swans sit 3-2 with a draw after six rounds. They are in no trouble, but the extra two points would have rewarded the winner with a spot in the top four.
While the Swans have Hall, Peter Everitt and Nick Malceski to return, North was missing Josh Gibson, Daniel Pratt and Jesse Smith.
Both teams will need to improve significantly to challenge the big boys, Geelong and Hawthorn. Maybe even the Western Bulldogs.
We shall learn more next weekend, when North faces Adelaide in Adelaide and Sydney hosts the Bulldogs.
Had the fixture thrown up Adelaide and Sydney instead, we would have been in for a snorefest.
The Crows strangled Carlton at the MCG on Saturday before surging to a 30-point win.
Chris Judd and Nick Stevens lacked sparkle and the team's Dr Jekyll and and Mr Hyde, Brendan Fevola, came as Mr Hyde.
From the moment he spilled a pass from Judd in the first quarter, he was in a for a long, trying, afternoon, and so it unfolded. His return was a miserable 1.3.
The Blues were disappointing after two wins in a row. Too little intensity, too many unforced errors.
One or two of them just didn't cope with the pressure that the good teams apply, the pressure of a big game.
The revival at Princes Park still has a long way to go.
Just shows you how highly Kennelly is rated. Also he is chosen in the dream team match to be played in a while as part of the AFL 150 birthday celebrations. He is representing the 'Rest of Australia' team against the Victoria team. I think my namesake represented Victoria in his day.
tadgh has been one of the best in AFL for the last few years and im sure he would get on any team in the competition...his running out of defence is his strong point and im sure could come back at 32 years and probably get another crack at all ireland. he'd be mad to come home now and leave the lifestyle and plenty of $$$ behind down under
Quote from: stephenite on April 28, 2008, 10:47:17 AM
And ye was robbed of 9 seconds playing time ;)
Nah, feckit, giving up 6 goals in 8 minutes at the end of the second period doesn't justify anyone gurning about 9 seconds. Now if Schammer had kicked the ball towards Sandilands at the end then it might have been a different story. Jaysus he's a big hoor. All 7ft. of him. I'm pleased to say I was at the game where Sandilands gave his first stellar performance for the Dockers.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNPHdTScBA&feature=related
Tadgh and Brendan Murphy on St Paddys Day this year.
Brendan Murphy has been getting very good reports so far this year. Consistantly beening named in the best players every week.
Begley is out for the Lions, Kennelly Right Corner Back, as is Setanta and Clarke is on the interchange for this weekend's games.
Alot of excitement over here with the return of Chris Judd to Subiaco to front up to the Eagles. Had to laugh when on the Footy Show last night, Garry Lyons asked him if his decision to leave the WC Eagles was anything to do with the off-field behaviour of Cousins, Chick, Kerr. And true to form he said it wasn't. Yeah, right, of course not.
Melbourne are favourites to beat Freo this weekend. Oh Sweet Jayzus please let there be a Freo win. Losing at the G in front of 20,000 to the Demons will be the end of the season otherwise.
Nice to see Setanta showing a bit of form against thw West Coast Eagles thismorning. Made some good runs -dis not give the ball away and got in some good spoiling blocks/punches. Probable the best hes played this season though the Eagles were awful especially in the first half and did well to get as close as they did.
The Eagles were disgraceful in the first half - indiscipline everywhere. More interested in trying to punch Chris Judd - fair play to Setanta is right, did his job quietly and efficently
The Eagles are a rabble at the moment. lol
West Coast 2.1 2.7 8.9 10.14 (74)
Carlton 2.4 10.7 12.8 17.9 (111)
GOALS
West Coast: Kennedy 2, Armstrong 2, Embley, C Jones, Schofield, Selwood, Rosa, Lynch
Carlton: Fevola 4, Simpson 2, Gibbs 2, Betts 2, Murphy, Cloke, Ellard, Browne, Wiggins, Fisher, Stevens
BEST
West Coast: Embley, Cox, Selwood, B Jones, Wirrpanda, Lynch, Glass
Carlton: Carrazzo, Scotland, Stevens, Simpson, Fisher, Judd, Browne
INJURIES
West Coast: Nil
Carlton: Nil
Umpires: Margetts, McLaren, Head
Official crowd: 41,254 at Subiaco.
Hawthorn continuing their good form against Collingwood
Hawthorn 154 ; Collingwood 89
The Hawks wereoutstanding and played great sweeping football to win very easily in the end but my God the standard of refereeing/umpiring was woeful - it actually made the GAA guys look good! As far as I can see when a defender pushes an attacker its a free and when its the other way round its play on!!I thought they were awful today and while leaning towards Hawthorn did not effect the result.
Zoyler if the back puts his hands on the forwards back it is a free.....if your pushing from the front its ok
Swans went down to Western Bulldogs yesterday afternoon - entertaining enough game but the Swans shooting was woeful, they looked pretty lethargic all over the field to be honest. Bulldogs certainly stepping up to the plate this year
Some of the Swans shooting in the third quarter especially was woeful. Only O'Loughlin seems to be delivering in attack and even he was guilty of missing a sitter.
Geelong still looking awesome though, Brisbane had them under serious pressure for 90% of the game and Geelong still won by nearly 30 points
How do you push/wrestle from the front? ???
If your in front of someone you can push them backwards or in the chest etc....
Swans shooting was poor alright and they could/should have won....But then again they are missing Hall who is their main forward and Everitt/Playfair were playing their first games....Imagine how losing Brown woudl impact Brisbane or Fevola Carlton or Cooney for Bulldogs or Ablett for Geelong or Franklin for Hawthorn or Riedwolt for St Kilda etc.....
I take your point but even the ususally reliable Mickey O'Loughlin was missing sitters that you would have banked on him to nail on any other day.
I thought some of you would be interested in this
Kennelly clues up on interstate rivalry
Irishman Tadhg Kennelly admits he will have to learn how to generate some anti-Victorian animosity very quickly ahead of this weekend's AFL Hall of Fame match.
The Swans premiership defender, who will line up for the Dream Team against Victoria at the MCG on Saturday, has been forced to look to his teammates for tips on how interstate rivalry works.
"It's pretty hard but it's something I'm trying to feed off the rest of the players that have been here," Kennelly said.
"Obviously AFL is very, very strong in Victoria and I really do see myself as a New South Welshman, now I've been in Sydney for 10 years.
"It's definitely something that you can see they have a lot of pride in and it would be great to get one over them."
Kennelly, one of the league's Irish recruitment success stories, said he was delighted to be the only `foreigner' in the side.
"I don't really feel like it, I've been here 10 years now but I'm very proud - it's an honour to be selected to play.
"Just meeting all the players is something we don't get an opportunity to do a whole lot in Sydney, playing with them and training with them and you can learn habits from them.
"I didn't even think I'd be playing at the MCG or playing Aussie Rules 15 years ago.
"It's been a long road and it's good to get recognised.
"It's a great opportunity for me to learn and play so much with the best players in the competition and learn so much from them.
"It's picking their brains more than anything else. Andrew McLeod is a similar type of player to myself - those types of players, you just want to learn as much from them and the way they carry themselves."
Kennelly said his selection in the team had been vindication for his decision to leave Ireland and start a new life in Australia.
"It is and it's great to get recognised amongst such good players.
"I left a lot behind and it's just good to know that a lot of the hard work I've done in the past has paid off," he said.
"Home's always going to be home no matter where in the world you're from I think but it is feeling more like home every year that I play here."
According to Kennelly the team which communicates better off the field is likely to have the edge in the clash.
"You don't know which way it's going to go, it's which team gets on a bit together off the field more than anything else then see if they can gel on the field," he said
http://news.realfooty.com.au/kennelly-clues-up-on-interstate-rivalry/20080507-2bvy.html
Anyone know if you can watch this interstate game in ireland?
what time does it start at overhere?
Its just been announced that Tadhg Kennelly wont play in the Dreamteam vs Victoria due to injury. Its a shame as i was really looking forward to seeing him play.
Heres 2 good youtube videos for you about Marty Clarke.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U90uAXoW38w
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cuny7rXiP8&feature=related
Kennelly went off injured today - dislocated knee cap again - looked sore as feck as he tried to bang the cap back into place. Swans leading 124-52 with 4 minutes remaining
Pies completely destroyed geelong today. Marty Clarke was the best on the field apparently. Kicked a good goal and got 28 disposals. unreal effort from Marty
Quote from: JimStynes on May 23, 2008, 05:33:56 PM
Pies completely destroyed geelong today. Marty Clarke was the best on the field apparently. Kicked a good goal and got 28 disposals. unreal effort from Marty
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/tabid/5586/Default.aspx?newsid=60159
As much as I hate to admit it, that was one helluva performance by The Pies last night. I thought it would be the usual Geelong thrashing of a middling team, but not to be. Marty was quite impressive indeed. I didn't hear so much of the commentary but the one signicicant bit I did hear was when he volleyed the ball and Denis Commetti dryly added something along the lines of, met first time by you know who.
There was one moment in the third quarter when Gary Ablett left Marty and another Pie player flatfooted as he skipped past both of them. And Dale Thomas' goal is worth watching over again.
glad marty finally got back to his best after a mediocre season so far...hes a tough boy, many a man could have went back in performance level and not getting a game! dale thomas goal was brilliant!
Quote from: stephenite on May 18, 2008, 07:42:04 AM
Kennelly went off injured today - dislocated knee cap again - looked sore as feck as he tried to bang the cap back into place. Swans leading 124-52 with 4 minutes remaining
i take it thats why he wasnt playing today either. i got a chance to catch some of the sydney v port adelaide game. just missed the last 15 mins or so. seemed like a good game, which was geering up to a big finish. I was trying to spot Kennelly but couldnt. this explains it i suppose
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFN7QWS2q0U
martys goal is near the end of the video.
Lurganblue-kennelly has done his knee again. he probably be out for a while. He must have come back to soon, think thats the 3rd or maybe 4th time hes done it in the past 2 seasons.
Kennelly did his knee and I did my feckin head. For the fourth game in succession, Freo had the chance to win leading going into the last 10 minutes but then blew it. My God supporting this team is painful. And to make matters worse feckin Eagles won. Feck, feck, feck.
Actually its his other knee - not the one that got done last year. They are hopeful its not too bad and he might be back next 2 weeks
How the f**k does he keep doing his knees. Unreal that he can come back in 2 weeks from something like that.
I think you've answered your own question there. They keep bringing him back too soon.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 25, 2008, 11:52:44 PM
I think you've answered your own question there. They keep bringing him back too soon.
But its the other knee this time!
Thats the way it works. I've lost count of the amount of lads who've done the cruciate in one knee a few weeks after returning from a cruciate injury to the other knee. The problem is compensation and imbalance as the muscles/joints aren't strengthened/recovered sufficiently. He obviously has dodgy knees, which he'll have for the rest of his life.
Marty Clarke got in this weeks team of the week. Heres what was said about him:
Martin Clarke (Collingwood) - The second year Magpie was brilliant to watch. Not only did the dashing Irishman play his best game for 2008, it was the finest of his 19-game career so far, accumulating a career-high 28 disposals.
You ever had a drink with him Jim?
What's a disposal? A tackle? Or is it a pass?
Total Kicks + total hand passes = total disposals. In AFL, having possession of the ball more than 20 times in a game is very good.
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 27, 2008, 10:37:51 AM
You ever had a drink with him Jim?
You know it Nail. Hes not fond of throwing the 20s out though
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2008, 08:55:00 AM
Thats the way it works. I've lost count of the amount of lads who've done the cruciate in one knee a few weeks after returning from a cruciate injury to the other knee. The problem is compensation and imbalance as the muscles/joints aren't strengthened/recovered sufficiently.
Explain in more detail please?
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2008, 08:55:00 AM
Thats the way it works. I've lost count of the amount of lads who've done the cruciate in one knee a few weeks after returning from a cruciate injury to the other knee. The problem is compensation and imbalance as the muscles/joints aren't strengthened/recovered sufficiently. He obviously has dodgy knees, which he'll have for the rest of his life.
But it is a totally different injury to what he has suffered this season and it was the knee cap in a tackle that dislocated rather than anything else
It is a knee injury. He has dislocated his kneecap before and much the same as lads that dislocate their shoulder he is now predisposed to this type of injury due to the excessive mobility in his knee, unless he goes down the surgery route. If Sydney rush him back, he might get through a few games without it happening again, but if he is favouring that knee due to the inherent weakness I wouldn't be surprised if he broke down again. I know plenty of people who've dislocated their kneecaps. Most of them have not resulted from impact or as the result of a tackle, usually its from landing awkwardly or turning suddenly. It's no joke, although like most injuries it can be more serious for some than it is for others. It's one thing to carry a shoulder injury through games. You don't run around on your hands. If he keeps going the way he's going, I don't think we'll see him in a Kerry jersey.
Jinxy it was the opposite knee that he dislocated and it was last season he did it....this time he was involved in a tackle and his legs bent under the impact and his knee popped....
Yeah, and he injured the same knee again in June 2007 (although it wasn't a dislocation) and now he's dislocated the other knee. His knees will be f*cked before long. I notice also that Brendan Murphy is having groin problems. Maybe its not such a good idea to put on 11kg in the space of a few months.
So far this weekend Collingwood have beaten the Eagles by 100 points and Marty had a reasonable game highlighted by getting a good tackle in on Kerr who is very rarly nailed - elsewhere Charlton were well beaten by Geelong but Setanta had one of his better days and was in no way to blame. The Lions had an easy win with out Begley who is still 1/2 weeks away from match fitness. Swans play at 4 in the morning our time and i ts on Setanta for those bothered enough to get up or sober enough when they get hme. Not sure if Kennelly plays but heres hoping!
Swans hockeyed Richmond off the pitch - Kennelly played. Fell asleep during it - one way traffic and was fairly boring to be honest
Actually heading down to Melbourne in a couple of weeks and hope to catch the Collingwood v Carlton game. Looking forward to it and hope Clarke and Setanta are playing but must admit I'm really looking forward to seeing this Fevola boyo.
:-[
Yet AGAIN I come on with another tale of woe. FFS for the fifth time this season Fremantle throw away a final quarter lead. Instead of being in the top six, they're now one from the bottom. Depressing feckin depressing.
Jim Stynes is set to be announced the new Chairman of Melbourne Demons Football Club.
Im delighted ;D
Young Irish players, and parents, to get taste of what AFL offers
Peter Hanlon | June 13, 2008
AUSTRALIAN football's global star search is set to intensify with a virtual draft camp to be held in Ireland in August featuring the best young Gaelic footballers with designs on a career in the AFL.
Player manager Ricky Nixon will this morning meet officials from Geelong, St Kilda, Richmond, North Melbourne and Brisbane Lions, who have paid $30,000 each to be the inaugural member clubs in what is essentially a national Irish recruiting scheme.
Nixon hopes their reward will be almost immediate.
"I'm pretty determined to get each of our original member clubs a good player in the first 12 months; I'm committed to that," Nixon said yesterday.
"If we don't it will be because the system doesn't work and the pool's not there, but I very much doubt that, given the footage I've seen in the last 24 hours. It's very exciting what some of these kids are going to be doing off half-back flanks or a wing in the next few years."
While talent-spotting in Ireland is nothing new to AFL football — nine Irishmen feature on 2008 club lists — Nixon's project would intensify the search to an unprecedented level. When he lands in Ireland in a fortnight, he will join a group of seven heading up the project at that end, including Lion Colm Begley's brother Joe, plus an elite junior coach, a sports psychologist, a university professor, an Australian expat who played in the VFL, and an ex-AFL teammate of Nixon's.
"I've already heard that one club person has heard I'll be in Ireland for a month and jumped on a plane," he said of the concern his plan has created among clubs who have preferred to go it alone.
"Clubs here feel like they've been doing it, but they know they haven't been doing it well. Not only that, they're fearful of who we might have on our list, and that this cartel is going to be far more attractive to a player than just one club going to see them."
A group of 20 to 30 Gaelic footballers aged 17 to 22, but mostly in the 17 to 19 bracket, will be invited to attend a camp in either Dublin or Belfast in August. Their parents will also be invited, with presentations made on all things AFL as well as life in Australia.
"This is a massive step forward compared to one club going over there and saying, 'Come to Australia, we'll look after you'," Nixon said.
The groundwork for drawing up a list of 100 prospective draftees has been made easier by using software from Swedish company Dartfish, which AFL clubs have already used as a teaching tool, but which in this instance has been applied to footage from GAA games to form a database of players.
"The software tags whatever you want — kicks, marks, handballs, shots on goal, etc. It will enable us to call up, say, Bill Murphy from Dublin, and if you click on 'kicks', footage of all of his kicks will come up one after the other. You don't need the whole game.
"We've got 100 players listed, full profiles on them, and we've ranked the first 15 to 20.
"We've identified a No. 1 draft pick — he's very quick, six foot three (191 centimetres), a Tadhg Kennelly type but a bit bigger."
Nixon said he had encountered resistance from GAA clubs and officials fearful of losing prime talent, and he hoped to meet them while in Ireland. He would tell them: "Anyone we take out of there will be a good chance to play AFL footy, as opposed to the amount who come across here now and end up playing VFL or in the suburbs."
AFL clubs are allowed no more than two international players on their lists.
congrats jim, some step up from aghagallon treasurer :D
Quote from: JimStynes on June 12, 2008, 10:42:27 PM
Young Irish players, and parents, to get taste of what AFL offers
Peter Hanlon | June 13, 2008
AUSTRALIAN football's global star search is set to intensify with a virtual draft camp to be held in Ireland in August featuring the best young Gaelic footballers with designs on a career in the AFL.
Player manager Ricky Nixon will this morning meet officials from Geelong, St Kilda, Richmond, North Melbourne and Brisbane Lions, who have paid $30,000 each to be the inaugural member clubs in what is essentially a national Irish recruiting scheme.
Nixon hopes their reward will be almost immediate.
"I'm pretty determined to get each of our original member clubs a good player in the first 12 months; I'm committed to that," Nixon said yesterday.
"If we don't it will be because the system doesn't work and the pool's not there, but I very much doubt that, given the footage I've seen in the last 24 hours. It's very exciting what some of these kids are going to be doing off half-back flanks or a wing in the next few years."
While talent-spotting in Ireland is nothing new to AFL football nine Irishmen feature on 2008 club lists Nixon's project would intensify the search to an unprecedented level. When he lands in Ireland in a fortnight, he will join a group of seven heading up the project at that end, including Lion Colm Begley's brother Joe, plus an elite junior coach, a sports psychologist, a university professor, an Australian expat who played in the VFL, and an ex-AFL teammate of Nixon's.
"I've already heard that one club person has heard I'll be in Ireland for a month and jumped on a plane," he said of the concern his plan has created among clubs who have preferred to go it alone.
"Clubs here feel like they've been doing it, but they know they haven't been doing it well. Not only that, they're fearful of who we might have on our list, and that this cartel is going to be far more attractive to a player than just one club going to see them."
A group of 20 to 30 Gaelic footballers aged 17 to 22, but mostly in the 17 to 19 bracket, will be invited to attend a camp in either Dublin or Belfast in August. Their parents will also be invited, with presentations made on all things AFL as well as life in Australia.
"This is a massive step forward compared to one club going over there and saying, 'Come to Australia, we'll look after you'," Nixon said.
The groundwork for drawing up a list of 100 prospective draftees has been made easier by using software from Swedish company Dartfish, which AFL clubs have already used as a teaching tool, but which in this instance has been applied to footage from GAA games to form a database of players.
"The software tags whatever you want kicks, marks, handballs, shots on goal, etc. It will enable us to call up, say, Bill Murphy from Dublin, and if you click on 'kicks', footage of all of his kicks will come up one after the other. You don't need the whole game.
"We've got 100 players listed, full profiles on them, and we've ranked the first 15 to 20.
"We've identified a No. 1 draft pick he's very quick, six foot three (191 centimetres), a Tadhg Kennelly type but a bit bigger."
Nixon said he had encountered resistance from GAA clubs and officials fearful of losing prime talent, and he hoped to meet them while in Ireland. He would tell them: "Anyone we take out of there will be a good chance to play AFL footy, as opposed to the amount who come across here now and end up playing VFL or in the suburbs."
AFL clubs are allowed no more than two international players on their lists.
This is a disaster lads. I know we've lost players before but it has only been a trickle. The floodgates could open here. Certainly in Mayo if two or three more players go along with Pierce Hanley there will be a lot of resentment
Lads we live in a free country and people have the right to go where they want and do what they please. We even have the right to shoot our elves in the foot - look at the referendum result!
So what if a few more go - how many will make the grade and how many will settle - it will still be a small fraction. It also shows how wise Croke Park was to try and maintain some link with the AFL in the hope of at least regularising the traffic because legally it cannot be stopped.
correct zoyler, the only way gaa can get lads to stay is to offer financial benefits and with no contracts being signed the AFL clubs can take who ever they please!
Please God we will not see contracts in the GAA any time soon -we just cannot afford to go down that road on a national basis. Good luck to the very few who may make it in Oz
either way zoyler what difference does it make regulated or not? they are still going to be leaving now in bigger numbers it seems. i appreciate thats its up to the players but some loss to some of the smaller counties when it might take 20 years to produce a similar talent.
It makes a difference to the life of the young lad going out to Oz if its regulated to make sure they are properly looked after from lodgings to training to life beyond and after a sporting career.
By the way that was a great game today beteween the Crows and the Hawks - didn't care who won but hope the Magpies beat Charlton in the morning - its on Setanta at about 4.30 am
http://sports.ninemsn.com.au/afl/
Good interview on the footyshow with myself.
Charlton have just beaten Collinwood in a great tight game at the MCG. The just about deserved to win but just like in our game vital decisions by the refs played a large part in it and all the vital ones went Charltons way.
Clarke had a queit game -did nothing wroung but never seemed able to get into it. SAs for Setanta reports of his demise seem exagerated. He had a great game, making many vital blocks and interceptions and will be listed as one of their 'best fors'
Quote from: zoyler on June 13, 2008, 12:50:09 PM
Lads we live in a free country and people have the right to go where they want and do what they please. We even have the right to shoot our elves in the foot - look at the referendum result!
So what if a few more go - how many will make the grade and how many will settle - it will still be a small fraction. It also shows how wise Croke Park was to try and maintain some link with the AFL in the hope of at least regularising the traffic because legally it cannot be stopped.
Thats terrible.
(http://boardsgalore.com/store/images/22444%20elves.jpg)
An interesting weekend of results. I only got to see the highlights last night (Monday) due to work but was pleased that:
a) The Bombers beat the Eagles...never have I listened to a more nauseating group of gurning, greeting, whinging, moaning feckers than the Eagles - on a par with ALL Melbourne teams who have to leave Vic for a game, principly Collingwood.
b) Sydney beat the Saints
c) Hawks beat the Crows in a great game and that Buddy Franklin will not get the Brownlow this year...thug
d) Carlton beat the Pies...what did Setanta say to Travis Cloke to earn the reply he got after Cloke scored one?
e) and finally.... FREO WON A GAME. Wooooooohooooo and what a performance it was. Speaking to mates who were at Subiaco, they totally leathered them despite the TV images to the contrary.
The small issue (not) of St.Kilda next weekend and then the home game v. Essondon. And I'll be there with mini-me.
Victoria Bitter? Nah, Bitter Victorians.
QuoteVictoria Bitter? Nah, Bitter Victorians.
Laughed at that one Aerlik. Was at the G for the pies blues game in the company of a couple of diehard pies fans. Good banter between the fans I thought.
Buddy is some man alright isn't he- cheap blow
Saw the Blues-Collingwood game last night on Eurosport 2, good comeback, very entertaining. The ref made some crucial calls it seems but I dont know the rules so I wasnt sure. Am I correct is saying you can shove a guy in the back going for a high ball outfield but not in front of goal?
I thought Setanta had a poor game, or maybe I'm reading it wrong, He was just spoiling catches and not trying to catch it himself. I know that can work but to be a great player shouldnt he be going for a mark.
He played well Juice. He was on the oppositions best key forward and his job was to stop him taking marks and scoring. The fans seemed very happy with how he played anyway.
Interesting piece from examiner.ie Glad to see Kennelly taking this stance
Beware Aussie Rules 'draft' camp, warns Swans star Kennelly
By Colm O'Connor
IRELAND'S most successful Australian Rules convert, Tadhg Kennelly, has warned GAA clubs and players off a controversial new recruitment drive to find new Irish talent for AFL clubs.
Ricky Nixon, Australia's most high-profile sports agent, last week met with representatives of five AFL clubs last week — all of whom have paid AUS$30,000 (€18,200) to sign up for the Irish recruiting scheme. There are plans for "draft" camps to be set up here — in either Dublin or Belfast — that will run the rule over a shortlist of up to 30 young Gaelic footballers.
But Kennelly is preaching caution to anyone contemplating becoming involved in the system.
"Be very wary," said the Listowel native, the only Irish man to have won an AFL Premiership title.
"He (Nixon) is coming over promising the world and painting a wonderful picture of Australia and the clubs out there.
"But the reality is different.
"The clubs involved in this scheme don't all have the resources or infrastructure in place to develop young Irish talent."
He offered to help any youngster considering a move down under to try their hand in the foreign code.
"I am more than happy for any player approached by this man, to contact me or my agent Michael Quinlan via the Sydney Swans website to discuss what their options are and what they should be looking for if they come to Australia."
He continued: "The Irish kids that have come out here, that have been successful like myself, all had one-on-one coaching with their clubs.
"That was vital. The ones that didn't have that one-on-one assistance ended up going home and went back the worse for the experience.
"My advice would be to make sure the club you are going to have the resources and infrastructure in place and have a track record of developing talent."
And the Sydney Swans star, who went to Australia in 1999, blasted: "Not alone will the youngsters suffer but so will the GAA if this continues."
AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou admitted earlier this year that he would not support Nixon's plans for a recruiting network in Ireland.
He said in February: "I spoke to the GAA and in fairness they understand why some of their players come over to Australia and made it clear they can't stop young players chasing their dream (of a professional football career given Gaelic Football is an amateur sport)."
"But we can help them (the GAA) and provide some framework to assist them so we don't have people over there almost raiding their clubs and their counties and promising heaven and earth to these young lads when, really, out of every 50 Irish players that come over here, only one or two succeed."
Meanwhile the Brisbane Lions have stepped up their bid to bring another Laois GAA player to the southern hemisphere with the confirmation former minor footballer Conor Meredith has been offered a trial by the club.
The major AFL club already have Stradbally native Colm Begley in their ranks but they now have made a huge effort to add Meredith to their recruiting drive.
"I'm meant to be going out there in a couple of weeks," said Meredith, who scored three goals in last year's Leinster minor football final
"I don't know much about dates or anything like that at the moment though.
"I would love to go out and see what it's like," he concluded.
One in 50 is wrong - Kennelly, Clarke, Begley, O'Halphin. Murphy is highly rated as is Dyas.
Quote from: HeaveHo on June 20, 2008, 04:07:21 AM
One in 50 is wrong - Kennelly, Clarke, Begley, O'Halphin. Murphy is highly rated as is Dyas.
Yeah its probably closer to 50%. But that would start to diminish rapidly in a programme like this and both the individual and the GAA would be suffering
Its like the difference between line angling and trawling !
The Saints v Dockers game was the worst game of the year!
Quote from: Tadhg_Kennelly on June 21, 2008, 04:07:14 AM
The Saints v Dockers game was the worst game of the year!
Aye, absolute pute shite. Jeeeeeezus how difficult is it to kick the feckin thing? Mini me was out yesterday scoring from all angles and yet these eejits...ahhh feckit, I'm still upset. Feck. Nah, I'm not going to comment any more. What should have been consilidation of a top-4 place is seeing how to escape the bottom 4. But wait...
hark...
I hear something...
was that a Miaow from the WC Eagles
Hahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Suddenly a gloomy weekend became all the brighter. The snobs totally leathered by .... 135 points... at home....hahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
The back page on the paper yesterday was gold...."Kitty Litter" cos they were totally shat on.
There now. I'm feeling better already.
Bombers next Sunday. (gulp)
Top Australian sports agent Ricky Nixon has accused Tadhg Kennelly of 'sour grapes' after the Kerry native slated the agent for his plan to hold a training camp in Ireland to identify potential AFL recruits.
'I think people need to understand that the day after I proposed my programme Tadhg went to the AFL with his manager and said he could compete with me and do the same thing,' Nixon told the Irish Star.
And Nixon has said his camp is a better alternative to than what he claims was set to be a free-for-all.
'What was about to happen was an explosion of clubs coming over here, willy nilly, unofficially, ducking behind trees, ringing players and being pretty disorganised.
'What I'm trying to put in place is something organised, up front and honest.'
:-\
Aye as predicted, Freo snatched defeat from the open goals of victory YET again this season. Was at the game too which made it more disappointing. Some big surprises this weekend.
Jim Stynes' Melbourne won an entertaining game v. Brisbane (Begley still out I believe)
The Eagles got leathered again v. Hawthorn, although not as much as the week before
St.Kilda came from behind to beat N.Melbourne in a fairly decent game
The best game for me was the Carlton victory over Richmond. Big Setanta did OK and he seems to get alot of game time.
Western Bulldogs hammered Pt.Adelaide.
We threw away another win against Essendon -Oakleaf has already been on to me about it.
Next weekend sees only two games, Collingwood v. Sydney the unofficial Melbourne v. Sydney game as Collingwood thinks it is Victoria, period, and Adelaide v. Geelong.
2.12% seperates West Coast and the bottom of the ladder.
Admin why is this thread in the Gaa section?
I have to agree. I watch the AFL a good bit but we might as well have a soccer/rugby thread in here following the careers of all the ex-GAA players i.e. Kevin Doyle, Shane Horgan, Niall Ronan, Shane Long etc. The interested parties will still be able to find the thread in the non-GAA section.
Those who have taken flight for the smell of the pound have forfeited their right to be on the main page....
Quote from: Uladh on July 01, 2008, 02:31:43 PM
Those who have taken flight for the smell of the pound have forfeited their right to be on the main page....
:D ;D
Both Clarke and Kennelly start for their respective teams in the big game this weekend. Should be a good game.
Heading out to Olympic Stadium on Saturday evening for this one - looking forward to seeing both lads playing.
Quote from: stephenite on July 03, 2008, 11:04:06 PM
Heading out to Olympic Stadium on Saturday evening for this one - looking forward to seeing both lads playing.
Will be there too. It would be handy if every Swans match was in ANZ stadium, right next door to me. I was there last year when Clarke stole the show. I haven't seen Kennelly play in person for quite some time.Should be a good match.
I hate ANZ, it's not that far for me either, but I much perfer the atmosphere at the SCG
Heading out too. Its a balls of a job out in Homebush though, Saturday evening games are great in the SCG so ya can head straight to town afterwards.
Beer won't go hand in hand with watching the Swans in Homebush though. Still really looking forward to seeing Clarke play for the first time. Hopefully it'll be a dinger
Does anyone else find themselves explaining the rules to all the Aussies surrounding you at the game? I've noticed this at every Swans game I've been too. Also, there seems to be more Irish accents heard in the queues on the way into the match than anything else.
RedAndGreenSniper sure a train from Olympic Park to Lidcombe then to the city is only half an hour. Don't let that ruin your night.
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 04, 2008, 05:17:11 AM
Does anyone else find themselves explaining the rules to all the Aussies surrounding you at the game? I've noticed this at every Swans game I've been too. Also, there seems to be more Irish accents heard in the queues on the way into the match than anything else.
RedAndGreenSniper sure a train from Olympic Park to Lidcombe then to the city is only half an hour. Don't let that ruin your night.
Oh is that all, thought it was further, my first journey out there. Not too bad so.
Yeah I find that's the case at Swans games - explaining rules. I guess its probably because its a minority sport in Sydney. Get a taxi in Melbourne and if its an Aussie driving he'll redden your ear talking about AFL!
Christ I thought that was one of the most dire efforts this season. Swans were pretty shite and Kennelly got caught out by Dale Thomas when he should have got rid of the ball. Didn't see much of Clarke.
low scoring afair....fec Barry Hall is an animal.....from being in australia this past week just i have found that the AFL is so much more bigger in Melbourne than sydney...more in2 the rugby league up here.....
Terrible game
yep the AFL is very powerful in Victoria, South Australia, Northern Territoy, Tasmania and Western Australia, so much so that you rarely see Rugby League on WA tv. Queensland and New South Wales are the strongpoints for the NRL, as seen in the State of Origin. Go the maroons. ;D
The NRL is in a bit of stick at the moment as numbers playing the game are dwindling and the AFL and soccer is making headways into traditional NRL country such as NSW and SE Queensland.
Worst game ever
Was out all morning and had to watch the replay in the afternoon - awful game - nearly as bad as poor rugby union! Having said that I wonder if the dreadful condition of the pitch had anything to do with it? I don't think I have ever seen as many bad bounces and handlin errors. A good result for the magpies nonetheless. I wonder what the big chat between Marty & Tadgh was about at the end?
Yeah poor game alright but Pies deserved it and they seem to have the jinx over the swans. Kennelly caught out badly by Thomas and big bad Barry was at it again. Pitch was a disgrace - like a badly laid carpet. No beer and drove home in 40 minutes.
What a brutal game. Ya the pitch was awful but so were the Swans.
Did anyone see the Hall incident. Looks like he will be banned for a few matches.
Suspended indefinitely by his club. Galloot :-[
Good day at the office for Marty Clarke this morning. Involved all through the game - and finished with a lovely give and get the return to score from 50m. Good win for the 'pies who may yet finish in the top 4.
Why isn't this thread on the non gaa section?
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2008, 05:12:20 PM
Was thinking that myself. Should be moved.
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 12, 2008, 08:40:48 PM
Moot point I'd say: wish that it were so, but the AFL has a very real relevance to the GAA at the minute, much more of a relevance than many of us are comfortable with.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2008, 10:52:06 PM
Moot point I'd say: wish that it were so, but the AFL has a very real relevance to the GAA at the minute, much more of a relevance than many of us are comfortable with.
Why has it relevance? Because we're losing players to it? We're losing players to soccer and rugby too - does that mean we should have soccer and rugby threads on the main gaa section?
Discussing the AFL and the affect it has on the GAA/what we can do about it etc is one thing and has a place here.
However, discussing games, clubs, players etc (the same as what we've got in Liverpool, Man utd threads) has no place here and should be on the Non Gaa section.
Given the numbers heading to Oz and its potential to force the semi professionalism on the GAA it should be kept on the GAA side of the board
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2008, 10:57:19 PM
Why has it relevance? Because we're losing players to it? We're losing players to soccer and rugby too - does that mean we should have soccer and rugby threads on the main gaa section?
Discussing the AFL and the affect it has on the GAA/what we can do about it etc is one thing and has a place here.
However, discussing games, clubs, players etc (the same as what we've got in Liverpool, Man utd threads) has no place here and should be on the Non Gaa section.
As I said, moot, and I agree with you. Let's get it moved (
pace johnpower's comments).
Quote from: johnpower on July 12, 2008, 11:00:27 PM
Given the numbers heading to Oz and its potential to force the semi professionalism on the GAA it should be kept on the GAA side of the board
That is a separate issue to what actually happens in the games themselves. I follow the results to see how the Irish lads are going but I don't expect gaaboard to provide me with this information. There are plenty of sites and forums where you can get detailed information about the games if you want from the horses mouth (I use realfooty.com.au, BigFooty and the aussie papers). I think it should be moved. If you look at any of the Irish forums for soccer or rugby, they have the GAA discussion in a separate section to the main board. It's just common sense really.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2008, 11:08:08 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 12, 2008, 11:00:27 PM
That is a separate issue to what actually happens in the games themselves. I follow the results to see how the Irish lads are going but I don't expect gaaboard to provide me with this information. There are plenty of sites and forums where you can get detailed information about the games if you want from the horses mouth (I use realfooty.com.au, BigFooty and the aussie papers). I think it should be moved.
I myself am a fan of Aussie Rules having lived there for a while .I am concerned with the impact it may have on the GAA .If a young player has an opportunity (or thinks he may have ) then how can the GAA keep them at home playing Gaa . I fear that some club/county will enter into some semi professional arrangement which maybe come the norm ,I do not have the answers but putting such a topic over to the other side of the board takes the focus off it
are use serious? just think about what use are arguing about! who cares?
marty clarke is a superb footballer. what a loss to the gaa board
Freo legend Shaun McManus plays his last game on Sunday against the Eagles and I just managed to get tickets for mini-me and I. He's been at the club since the beginning and a big send-off is planned. None better than stuffing the snobs would help.
I see Setanta wasn't even featured in the Carlton set up for the game last weekend. Is he injured or out of form? Clarke has been average the past two weeks. Hope he makes it to the last game of the normal season v. Freo in Perth.
Swans looking a bit average at the wrong time of the year. Oh dear, Hall's absence taking its toll.
Setanta is injured according to Carlton Board on Bigfooty
I dunno lads. For someone who used to religiously watch the highlights on TG4 and read the aussie rules forums, I find myself giving less and less of a ballix about the AFL these days. Haven't seen any highlights in weeks and I'm just not that fussed anymore to be honest. The novelty of following the progress of a handful of Irish players has worn off I think.
Fair enough Jinxy, I know how you feel. I used to religiously follow the sumo on the internet after 6 years of life in Japan, but pulled the pin for a while, but am reading it again. Now that we have Setanta at home in Perth, I get my GAA fix several times a week with the championship and am looking forward to either Tipp or Waterford winning the hurling. The cousin's cousin is the captain of the Tipp team.
There will be some interest I'm sure for a wee while to come in the AFL as the Irish make their names. Clarke is in this week at RHB with Kennelly on the LHB position. Spare a thought for David Rodan/Rogan (the Port Adelaide player). He's from one of the Pacific Islands and is a national hero over in his home country.
Anyway, G'waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan Freo.
Do we have any members who are involved with AFL in Ireland? I see our national squad are playing in the International Cup over the next week. Also there is a number of clubs in Ireland, mainly in Dublin and a few scattered around the rest, Mullingar and Cork really, However none up north, I thought there was one in belfast?
I heard the AFL held a selection session on Saturday past somewhere in Mayo.
Apparently they had attracted a good number of our most promising lads between ages 18 - 21. Any further info on this?
Pav, Jako back International Rules return
FREMANTLE captain Matthew Pavlich and former West Coast All-Australian centre half-back Glen Jakovich have backed the return of International Rules and say players and fans should get behind the series.
Pavlich said representing his country was one of the highlights of his career, one he would be honoured to repeat at Subiaco and the MCG this October, provided his body was willing.
"It's the kind of pride that as an AFL footballer I rarely get to show," Pavich wrote in his regular column on afl.com.au.
"The opportunity to represent my country in the 2002 and 2003 International Rules series was one of the most privileged, humbling and satisfying experiences I have had in my nine years of football."
Jakovich, Australia's goalkeeper in the 2003 series against the Irish, said the experience provided a career highlight before his retirement from competitive sport the following year.
A Western Australian representative at the age of 17, he said the demise of State of Origin football gave him extra incentive to strive for national representation late in his career.
"At the end of the day, I treated it very seriously, extremely seriously [given] that I'm playing for my country. And I'm representing myself and my club in the West Coast Eagles," Jakovich said.
The speed of the game in front of a packed house at Subiaco added to the adrenalin rush of playing for the green and gold.
"The excitement and the atmosphere at Subiaco – I'll never forget it," Jakovich said. "The noise, the roar. And it became nation versus nation, and it's something I've always thrived on, the 'us versus them' mentality."
More than 100,000 people attended the Subiaco and MCG matches in 2003 to witness Australia's first series win on home soil.
The 41,000-strong crowd at Subiaco saw the unlikely teaming of Fremantle's Pavlich and Paul Hasleby with West Coast Eagles Jakovich and David Wirrpanda; an experience Pavlich said was unique in bonding fans of both teams.
Jakovich said seeing local talent go head-to-head would again draw fans to Subiaco, but above all, the Australia versus Ireland rivalry would produce a great show.
"It's a fun night out," he said. "It's a great spectacle, you get to see the Irish – how passionate they are. The seriousness of some amateur footballers, which they are, you see them they don't even flinch to take on boys that are bigger, stronger..."
"I think they set a very good example, their patriotism for their country."
Ticketing information:
Tickets to the International Rules Series will be on sale to the general public through Ticketmaster at 9am (local time) on Monday 25th August.
For the game at Subiaco Oval, members of the AFL, Fremantle, the West Coast Eagles and other AFL Clubs will have priority access to purchase tickets from 9am (WST) Thursday, August 21 until 5pm Sunday, August 24.
f**k id love to see big pavlich play in the rules series again. He is a serious player. IMO probably in the top 3 players in the competition.
Collingwood had a good win against the swans lastnight. Marty kicked a goal and kennelly had a good game. Buddy is going to have to wait to next week to kick his 100 goal for the season. He only needs 2 more to do it.
Gwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan Freo...
well next year anyway. A good but scrappy win over the most hated team in the contest, the Pies. I couldn't make the game due to work commitments. But damnit I'm happy we beat them, Marty or no Marty.
Pavlich is a wile lump of a man. I'd love to see Jeff Farmer (my favourite) play for Aus. in Perth. That'll make for interesting comments from the fans in Perth.
The end of a very, very disappointing season for Freo. Ah well, there's always next year.
Proud, loyal, passionate, Freo, Freo.
The finals start tonight. All the very best to Tadhg and Marty (it really hurts to say that as he is a Pies player, but anyway). Doubtful if anyone will come anywhere near Geelong.
I'm still in mourning with the retirement of Jeff Farmer. Wiz the king. :'(
Only 16,000 tickets sold for the Swans elemination final against North Melbourne tomorrow apparently.
Having games in Homebush is a bad idea. Poor atmosphere, most fans are too far away from the game and need to keep looking at replays on the screen to see what happens. BY the time some fans stop celebrating a score, other fans are only realising that it was a goal. Pity it wasn't in the SCG.
I've a sneaking feeling that Kilda could cause an upset against Geelong. They're $5 odds. I'll throw 20 on them for the sake of it anyway
The Pies beat the Crows in Adelaide by 31 points. It was a super game - well worth getting up at 5 am to see on Setanta. Marty had a good game - hardly touched the ball in the first quarter because the ball never left the Crows half. Was under pressure when the Crows scored 7 goals in the 2nd quarter but was flawless thereafter with pin point passes and some hgreat tackleing and interceptions. To top it all off he scored the clinching score and then made the pass for tlhe icing on the cake final score, Next up Kennelly and the swans at 10.00am!
thought clarke was excellent today, his tackling, passing and picking up loose ball was top class. as said already he scored late on and could have went for his second goal but laid it off to medhurst. all in all a good game.
saying as malthouse is manager for aussie international rules team this year, how many collingwood players do ya's think will play and who??
As a well-publicised fan of whoever the pies are playing, I have to admit, that was quite an enjoyable game and good to see Marty get a goal and a win. That's not the end of the road for them this year either as they will be up against, most likely, St.Kilda who play Geelong tomorrow. However, thereafter there will only be one winner this year, the Cats.
Off to watch the second half of Sydney v. N.Melbourne at the boss's house.
Anymore word on new Irish recruits for next year.
Brendan Donnelly (Louth) Adelaide Crows
Kyle Coney (Tyrone) Sydney Swans
Zac Tuohy (Laois) - Carlton
Right I think I've got this now... hadn't a clue how the Finals worked until I checked it up on Wikipedia there.
So these semi finals are actually a kind of quarter final with the teams going through to play Geelong and Hawthorn. Might make an effort to get up and watch them this weekend actually. I watched a few Swans and Magpies games this year and was impressed with both... what odds on them in the Grand Final? Anyway I hope for 2 exciting games this weekend!
Can't see anyone getting near Geelong to be honest - Hawthorn the only ones that might. That said it is the finals and anything can happen etc.
Cats look unbeatable alright but Buddy took some scores at the weekend
He's unbelievable alright
Swans go out of this year's comp. after being well beaten by the Bulldogs. It was a good game imo. But neither team would have gone much further.
That leaves Marty and Collingwood tomorrow v. St.Kilda. Should be a pies victory.
Quote from: Aerlik on September 12, 2008, 03:06:23 PM
Swans go out of this year's comp. after being well beaten by the Bulldogs. It was a good game imo. But neither team would have gone much further.
That leaves Marty and Collingwood tomorrow v. St.Kilda. Should be a pies victory.
Hope its pies victory. Great win last weekend and with saints getting a good beating on the other hand, pies will be slight favs. Winners play hawthorn and thats a daunting prospect. They have some unbelivable forward i think called franklin (i really bad with names) he scored over 100 goals this yr...a i felt sorry for fevola though coming so close to 100 aswell.
Marty seems to be playing well judging by the highlights show. Good luck to him..
Franklin is the one and only Lance "Buddy" Franklin. He is some operator alright, with a great left peg. I expect Collingwood to win fairly handily tonight but that will be the end for them. I'm hoping for a Hawks Cats final, with the former to win. Keep an eye out for young Cyril Rioli, another star of the future and the big forward Roughhead. He's a great athlete.
I wouldn't write off the pies assuming they get past the saints. They have the stuff to beat the Hawks alright. They will have to fire up on the day but they definitely have it in them.
As a cats fan though I cant wait for the bulldogs game next week. Expect another massacre :)
Gaz Ablett vs Jim Bartell in the Brownlow should be interesting.
Collingwood are dire. Ball into their forwards is terrible. Outplayed all over the field.
49-35 at half time to St Kilda, it should be more.
i see medhurst giving out to a few of the pies players at half time, no doubt abiut the quality of ball going in. thay haven't really got going yet, this one will go right to the end!
Great to feel the finals atmosphere in the air. It was certainly lacking last night. Travis Cloke is a total spectator. Pies need to get on their bike in the next 10 mins or the saints might kick away. Hope it stays close and a barnstorming finish follows. Medhurst is an awful gobshite!
one of the st kilda players looks like marty clarkes brother john! i think its kisinsky.
Saints out to a six goal lead at the 5 minute mark of the 3rd quarter. Pies are butal tonight. Shut the gate now id say. Pity though..i was really hoping marty would get a crack at the prelim final. Would have been massive.
St Kilda marches on to prelim
Sat 13 September, 2008
ST KILDA will meet Hawthorn next week for a place in the Toyota AFL Grand Final after disposing of Collingwood by 34 points in their semi-final clash at the MCG on Saturday night.
The deadly-accurate Saints won 17.4 (106) to Collingwood's 9.18 (72) in front of 76,707 spectators.
St Kilda's captain, Nick Riewoldt, was a commanding figure up forward with five goals, marking almost everything that came his way and kicking beautifully, with his notoriously fragile radar working perfectly.
Nick Dal Santo dominated around the ground with more than 30 possessions, while Raph Clarke was imperious across half-back, especially in the first half when the game was still a genuine contest.
The Saints also had good contributions from Justin Koschitzke – although he was reported and will have a nervous wait for the Match Review Committee's considerations – Jason Gram, Sam Fisher and Jason Blake in a complete team performance.
Good contributors for the Pies were hard to find, but Scott Pendlebury and late selection Rhyce Shaw tried hard all night, as did Dane Swan and Harry O'Brien.
Collingwood will be desperately disappointed with the efforts of Travis Cloke and Dale Thomas, who were both sadly out of touch.
Collingwood's John McCarthy scored the first goal of the final term, to give the Magpies' faithful a glimmer of hope, but that was snuffed out straight away when Koschitzke won a free kick from Shane Wakelin and kicked truly.
Riewoldt's fifth goal sealed the result, if any confirmation was needed, 10 minutes into the last quarter, and the remainder of the term counted for little, with the Saints simply hoping for no injuries with a preliminary final looming.
A six goals to one in the third quarter set up the win for the Saints.
Collingwood desperately needed the first goal of the second half after trailing by 14 points at half time, but instead it was Stephen Milne who opened the scoring.
Robert Harvey then created the umpteenth goal of his career, this one for Adam Schneider who extended the lead to four goals.
The game was slipping away from Collingwood until Travis Cloke – who might have been wearing an invisibility cloak, such was his lack of influence on the match – won a free kick and goaled.
When Jason Gram gave away a 50m penalty by delaying the return of the ball to Chris Bryan, the Pies appeared to have been gifted a second goal in a minute, but Bryan missed the gimme shot on goal, which seemed to sum up his team's fortunes.
Riewoldt's fourth restored the Saints' four-goal margin. That was stretched to 29 points when Andrew McQualter goaled from 25m out.
The Saints' skipper was at it again, passing to Dal Santo for another goal, and St Kilda looked home. Gram added icing to the cake with his second late in the third term
Four consecutive goals to the Saints from mid-way through the second term gave them a 14-point half-time lead after the teams traded goals for the first quarter and a half.
The Saints' James Gwilt finally broke the goal-for-goal pattern 16 minutes of the second quarter. Milne extended that a couple of minutes later after a defensive mistake by the Pies, and when the goal-sneak roved cleverly after Riewoldt failed in a spectacular marking attempt and snared another, St Kilda had a three-goal margin close to the main break.
Seven of St Kilda's eight goals to half time came from Collingwood errors.
Bad news for the Saints in the second term was the report of key forward Koschitzke after an incident with Shane Wakelin.
The first quarter was won narrowly by the Saints after the teams went goal for goal. Riewoldt, who was dominating young Pie Nathan Brown, kicked three of St Kilda's four majors, with Koschitzke snaring the other.
Collingwood's goals came John Anthony, Tarkyn Lockyer and Dane Swan, while key forward Cloke had been totally blanketed.
Luke Ball was a late withdrawal for the Saints, replaced by Jarryd Allen, who himself was out of the match with a hip injury by half time. Collingwood captain Scott Burns and key defender Simon Prestigiacomo were also out, with Rhyce Shaw and Wakelin coming in.
St Kilda 4.1 8.1 14.2 17.4 (106)
Collingwood 3.4 4.11 5.16 9.18 (72)
Goals:
St Kilda: Riewoldt 5, Milne 3, Koschitzke 3, Gram 2, Dal Santo, McQualter, Schneider, Gwilt
Collingwood: Clarke, Brown, Medhurst, McCarthy, Cloke, Goldsack, Anthony, Swan, Lockyer
Best:
St Kilda: Riewoldt, Dal Santo, Gram, R Clarke, Fisher, Blake, Koschitzke
Collingwood: Pendlebury, Swan, R Shaw, O'Brien, O'Bree
INJURIES
St Kilda: Ball (hamstring) replaced in selected side by Allen, Allen (hip).
Collingwood: Burns (calf) replaced in selected side by R Shaw, Prestigiacomo replaced in selected side by Wakelin.
Reports: St Kilda: Koschitzke reported for rough conduct on Wakelin by umpire Kennedy
Umpires: Kennedy, Rosebury, McLaren
Official crowd: 76,707 at MCG
The views in this story are those of the author and not necessarily those of the clubs or the AFL
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
ARFLI News: Start A New Club Today
ARFLI are looking to hear from anybody interested in forming a new club for the 2009 Season. Last year new clubs were formed in Mayo and Kerry but were not up and running in time for the season start. Both these clubs will participate in the 2009 Campaign, but now we want to hear from anybody with an interest in setting up new clubs in other areas. We're particularly interested in hearing from individuals in Down & Armagh, Galway, Belfast and the Southeast. For more details simply e-mail us at arflipr@yahoo.com and we'll be more than willing to help anyone get things off the ground and get out on the paddock next season.
picked this up off their website, anybody involved with this or know anything about the standard?
G'wan the hawks...g'waaaaaan Buddy boyo.
Buddy will need to perform miracles on Sat if the Cats are to be beaten. Can't see it myself
Me neither, the Cats have lost only 2 games out of the last 44 over 2 seasons, Hawks are a good, coming side but the Cats are just too strong on every line.
Hawthorn'll be hard to handle in the final, and could possilbly nick it. I certainly dont think that the cats will walk it.
I think some of the Hwaks payers will be in awe of the occasion and the game will pass them by, I'd love it if I'm wrong and Buddy kicks 8
Quote from: stephenite on September 25, 2008, 11:29:03 PM
I think some of the Hwaks payers will be in awe of the occasion and the game will pass them by, I'd love it if I'm wrong and Buddy kicks 8
They'll call on the spirit of Matthews, Judge and Brereton of the 80s teams to pull them through
EDIT: Ah jeez the Dipper too, how could I forget the Dipper.
What did you call the Hawthorn player with the long Black hair from the eighties, he played against Ireland aswelll? Used to enjoy watching him.
John Platten
Is that a son of Maurice Rioli playing now, Cyril, I think hes called
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on September 25, 2008, 11:39:20 PM
What did you call the Hawthorn player with the long Black hair from the eighties, he played against Ireland aswelll? Used to enjoy watching him.
This bloke? (http://halfbackflanker.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/dipper.jpg)
Robert "Dipper" DiPierdomenico
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6KpyGtSYWg&feature=related
Just to get you in the mood!
Hawks win well but the Cats contribute hughly to their own downfall by kicking behind after behind - at one stage they had scored 19 behinds out of a total of 22 scores. They owned the ball in the second quarter but the score was more or less tied at half time!
i recently watched a dvd called '100 years of australian football' and they talk about the grand final of 1989 which was also between geelong and hawthorn. apparently 12 players had to be taken to hospital that day and the 'dipper' played on with a punctured lung after a collision with gary ablett!
Quote from: clarshack on September 27, 2008, 10:54:30 AM
i recently watched a dvd called '100 years of australian football' and they talk about the grand final of 1989 which was also between geelong and hawthorn. apparently 12 players had to be taken to hospital that day and the 'dipper' played on with a punctured lung after a collision with gary ablett!
You can buy that match off e-bay. It's some game. Dermott Brereton got hit as the ball was thrown in and played on with cracked ribs.
As a Hawthorn fan I am delighted with todays result. Good to see Shane Crawford have his day in the sun. There are more flags in that team. They are very young.
1989...one of, if not the greatest final ever. Gary Ablett kicked a bagful of goals yet finished on the losing side. Dermot Brereton sustained a burst lung in the first quarter yet played on.
My sister, just a face in the crowd yet the camera zooms in on her and there we are on the other side of the world watching the highlights and there she is.
Soooo glad the hawks won today. Great from the neutral's perspective. Enjoyable game.
That was a surprise - Though reading the reports the Cats seemed to kick it way.
Aisake shown the exit
Tuesday, October 14 2008 @ 06:03 AM EST
Contributed by: Brett
The Carlton Football Club has issued a press release confirming the de-listing of four players. As we suggested in O'hAilpin split looming? and speculated on during the past year, the Blues' cull includes one of their Irish players, Aisake O'hAilpin. The other players departing are Cain Ackland, Clinton Benjamin, Luke Blackwell, Ryan Jackson (de-listed) and Jason Saddington has retired.
The releases stated that: "Aisake O'hAilpin was recruited from Cork, Ireland as an International Rookie in the 2005 NAB AFL Rookie Draft (4th round selection). He was elevated to the Carlton senior list in 2007 but did not play a senior game".
And regarding all players, Carlton's General Manager Football Operations, Steven Icke, said "We sincerely thank the players for the commitment they have given to the Carlton Football Club during their careers and we wish them well going forward".
Another player with European links, though possibly fairly thin, is Adelaide's 28 year old Kris Massie, born in Sweden and de-listed after many years at AFL level. Referring to Massie and other players, General Manager of Football Operations John Reid said: "We thank them all for their commitment to the club and wish them well in their future endeavours. Kris in particular has given the club great service playing 88 games for Adelaide and six pre-season games". Massie also played with Carlton prior to being traded to the Crows.
The question now is whether O'hAilpin and Massie will enter the upcoming drafts in an attempt to stay on an AFL list.
Update 6pm 14/10/2008: Carlton's Steven Icke has been further quoted as saying that they were disappointed to de-list Aisake, and that "There was never any issue with his athleticism. It was more just his game understanding where we needed to see a bit more development". The club hope Setanta can continue as a key position defender, and are considering offering contracts to Cork's Ciaran Sheehan and Zach Tuohy from Laois. More details in Blues persist with Irish experiment.