Lads i have 2 sisters going to New York next week for 5 days (with their partners/husbands before there are any smart remarks) and they asked me to see if any of you guys have info for them on where to go and where not to go. They intend going to Empire state building, statue of liberty, ground zero etc. But they havent a clue about restaurants and bars/clubs. Does anyone know any good ones for late 30's, good food, good music etc...They are also going to try to go to the Comedy Store/Comic Strip, has anyone been??
Any tips would be most welcome
Thanks
Heganboy's yer man for that sort of info....I'm sure he'll be along shortly...if not try PM'ing him.
McSorley's Ale House is worth a look. Pete's Tavern is good for a reasonably priced meal. Go to Gramercy Park hotel for a drink and celebrity spot. Oyster Bar in Grand Central is trendy. For a great steak Peter Lugers in Brooklyn. Carnegie deli for the sandwich of a lifetime.
Ellis Island is a great place to visit and you can look up your ancestors who may have passed thru there. Central Line boat trip is essential for anyone on their first visit.
St Patrick's on 5th Ave and sign the visitors' book.
I'm sure I'll think of other places.
What type of places do they like?
If they like the trendier bars the meatpacking district is the place to go - theres plenty of restaurants and bars in the area.
It is roughly between 12th street and 16th street and 8th and 11th avenue.
Also ive found http://newyork.citysearch.com/ (http://newyork.citysearch.com/) a good site for looking for stuff when im staying there, there are other similar sites about also.
Thats the stuff lads keep her lit ;)
Thanks for your help
I'm over for the week now at the end of the month as well.
We were over last year and used a bar called Emmetts on 6th Avenue (I think) as the local for a few each time before heading on anywhere. Mostly Irish staff so they were actually good for telling us where to go. and what to do.
There's a club called China that we went to and it was good. Plenty of choice of bars. Went up to Woodside in Queens for a few drinks and to catch some football and had a great day in a bar called the starting gate (it was the day Cyprus beat Ireland in the Euro qualifiers!) - had a good band on that night and all. And the beer's a lot cheaper out there than it is in Manhattan.
For the girls (and sorry to sound like a woman here), tell them to go to the Abercrombie and Fitch store on 5th Avenue. Think they might enjoy it - in fact - so will the husbands - you wanna see the girls working in that place! all like models!
The Starting Gate is a good wee spot for a match. I used to go there quite a bit, before I discovered myp2p and Setanta Broadband started broadcasting online matches in North America.
Smith and Wolenskys steak house. 49th street and 3rd Avenue
http://www.smithandwollensky.com/new_york.htm (http://www.smithandwollensky.com/new_york.htm)
Puckoon I've eaten in S&M and I think its not a patch on Peter Lugers or for that matter Gallaghers or Ben & Jacks www.benandjackssteakhouse.com
Illdecide your folks might like the Rainbow Rooms in midtown, food OK, but great dancing spot with revolving floor.
Tavern on the Green is another place to see and be seen, book early. Food just OK
www.tavernonthegreen.com
The New York lads here are good at that sort of advice, but if you're interested I put together a few pages for the Mrs and her mates who went a few weeks ago - places to eat, things to do, even places to shop as well as basic stuff about how to get on in NYC - subways, taxis, tipping, etc. If you want it, PM me.
Also, for anyone looking for a place to stay, the reports back on the Washington Square Hotel (on the corner of Washington Square, strangely), are excellent.
I'm no expert as I was only in New York for three days in June 2006 but I absolutely loved the place... Manhattan is coming down with bars/restaurants and is well worth a dander round, but tell them to get a taxi into Greenwich Village ... the cosmopolitan atmosphere and the amount of different (African, European, Asian, Middle-Eastern etc) places to eat and drink was totally mindblowing...
Try last years thread as well.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=572.45 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=572.45)
i'd have said Macy's was a must for the ladies.
Quote from: john mcgill on January 04, 2008, 04:12:17 PM
Puckoon I've eaten in S&M and I think its not a patch on Peter Lugers or for that matter Gallaghers or Ben & Jacks www.benandjackssteakhouse.com
Illdecide your folks might like the Rainbow Rooms in midtown, food OK, but great dancing spot with revolving floor.
Tavern on the Green is another place to see and be seen, book early. Food just OK
www.tavernonthegreen.com
I cant cross compare but any time Ive been in S&M its been top drawer. I even took a taxi in and out of JFK to have lunch there (albeit my dad had left his credit card behind the bar for me and the wife to have a free lunch). A family friend is the wine manager.
Thats your man from beragh puckoon?? Tell them to try uncle jacks steak house 33rd & 8th ave..IL get back on later and drop another few places to go
Yeah, him and my old man went so school together. His brother used to coach us at underage in St Endas.
On a quieter note i think a Broadway show is a must anytime you find
yourself in New York especially if you're with the quere one ;) dined in
Tavern on the Green, wasn't that impressed with the food for the
price $$$, Lugers is a great spot alright.
I highly recommend going to a Broadway show (if they have the time).....Cheaper tickets can be bought at a ticket booth in Times Square for unsold seats for all shows that night....The Lion King is fantastic, as is Chicago...
If they plan on doing a lot of shopping... try to take electronics...ipods, digital cameras etc home in hand luggage....I've heard of an unprecedented amount of these items being stolen out of peoples luggage after check in....my brother had a digital camera stolen three times in the past eighteen months travelling through Kennedy, (and he usually flies first class...not in steerage with the rest of us...(you'd think he'd have learned after the first time, for a brainbox..he ain't too bright)...
Also, take all labels off new clothes, turn them inside out, put them in with dirty clothes on the return trip, basically try to make them look used......customs will clean you out....The lady sitting next to my sister on a recent flight to Dublin told her she was dreading customs as she had spent over 4k on her trip....Sister would have offered to take one of her bags through (but she was trying to avoid them herself, big shopping trip too).....Unfortunately the other lady got pulled in....don't know how that panned out but I'd imagine her purse was a little lighter.
If your family like Indian food...try Bombay Palace....head west opposite the Cartier store on 5th...half a block down...great food...as mentioned above Smith and Wollensky is great. Jersey Gardens Mall for shopping (no sales tax in Jersey)...I'm sure they can get a bus out there...take one of those expandable wheely suitcases with them or they will have trenches in the hands by the time they get back to NYC for a few bevies...Enjoy the trip...I've lived in NY for 20yrs....
QuoteEnjoy the trip...I've lived in NY for 20yrs....
Very few men could argue with that Boynegael 8)
ill decide, thanks for the pm- I hadn't seen this.
Anyway for the record. Ben and Jacks is one of the best steakhouses anywhere (their bacon is class and the barman's from Donegal), S&W was a great place but I think has gone downhill over the last 2/3 years. Luger's is great too, but too much like hard work to get out there. There's a few other which I like : the striphouse on 12th, BLT on 57th (though overpriced wine list) Bobby vans in the park ave walkway under the helmsley (but they pack you in too much and everybody is fond of the sound of their own voice) Delmonico's is maybe the granddaddy of them all and has been a wall street fixture for a hundred odd years. Anyway big money but the story telling value of a steak in a NYC steakhouse is worth it. Try and get creamed spinach with your steak, not a very Irish thing to do but worth it.
Re Boyne gael's posts- very little to argue with there- tix is the booth in times square, you can also see a show you like and head to the theatre yourself, if you are in a decent hotel, drop the concierge a few bucks and ask him to do the booking for your restaurant and shows as he'll get you better seats and a table at a busy time.
Do not put electronics in your checked luggage.
Jersey Gardens is good Nike store there is great value (there is a sales tax though, but its way less than New York). Depending on what you're planning, there is the hell on earth that is woodbury common, Outlet store village where half the shoppers seem to be Irish/British, its definitely a "name brand" bargain hunters paradise (century 21 on steroids). Or if you're feeling a bit more exclusive and dont fancy the fifth avenue brigade, there's always short hills mall where all the soprano wannabes spend their not so hard earned inheritance. Architecture there is quite good to :-)
as for pubs clubs etc, thats a pretty open ended question- give me some more info and I'll see if anything comes to mind. Marquee is worth a look for the celeb spotters out there, but only if you're young and beautiful (or if you know the staff...)
If you want a good day out at a theme park go to the 6 flags in New Jersey. You can get a bus from Port Authority terminal that will take you straight there in about an hour. Think it costs about 60 bucks for the bus and entrance to the theme park, however you pay more if you want an express ticket for the rides.
tip- bring an extra pair of underwear with ya, some of the rides there would scare ya shitless.
Theres also a waterpark and Safari there too so theres loads to do.
Excellent lads, much appreciated...
Smith and Wollensky's is very pricey, but you won't find a better steak house in the world, I reckon.
The Rockerfeller Centre is good and a trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is an absoulte must, though you must set aside an entire day for this.
An NBA game at the Garden (home of the NY Nicks) can be good also, though the Nicks were shit when I was last there, though that does make it easier to get tickets.
You can queue for Broadway tickets on Times Square, I think.
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2008, 04:35:49 PMAlso, for anyone looking for a place to stay, the reports back on the Washington Square Hotel (on the corner of Washington Square, strangely), are excellent.
Good man Hardy thats my hotel sorted. I'm going to a mates wedding in August and the church is just a few blocks north of this place according to Google earth. Myself and the missus have been searching for ages for somewhere half decent. Only $215 a night too which is really good compared to some of the prices i have been quoted.
your in the uni area there ryano, so its dead on.
Plenty of bars in the area just below you - greenwich village - as well
Yes it's a good location and good for the price. The Mrs and her mates were full of praise for the place. The rooms were good, service very friendly, concierge very helpful, they were good about storing luggage, etc. I booked it for them based mainly on reviews in Tripadvisor.com - I've always found it reliable. The women recommend not bothering with the breakfast, though. But that's only because, in New York, you'd always go to a diner for breakfast. Well, I would anyway.
Tripadvisor is ur only man, hasn't let me down yet. Got a superb hotel in Florence off it over New Years...
That TKTS place in Times Square is at the back of the Marriot Hotel. Half price tickets for shows on Broadway on the same day. Mamma Mia in the Winter Garden is superb.
Was in Smith & Wollenskys on 3rd and 49th on Saturday night just for a drink to meet people. Great atmosphere and barman from Armagh good craic (so what part of Tyrone are you from again?? ad nauseum).
Enjoyed PJ Clarkes as well.
Saw a person who very much ressembles a former Donegal footballer who does a bit of TV commentating in Langans near Times Square on Friday night
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2008, 02:18:24 PM
The Starting Gate is a good wee spot for a match. I used to go there quite a bit, before I discovered myp2p and Setanta Broadband started broadcasting online matches in North America.
Aye last time i was there it was the finishing post as well - feckin jaegar bombs! lot of northerners knock about there too.
Theres a good one in the Bronx i think called Keenans - good spot for a bit of paddywhackery, and theres the Pipers Kilt in that area too
If they are over for a few days only Id say avoid travelling to Bronx or Queens for a pub.
There are plenty around Manhattan.
If they stay in that hotel on Washington Sq they are a short dander from some decent places.
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
If they are over for a few days only Id say avoid travelling to Bronx or Queens for a pub.
If they stay in that hotel on Washington Sq they are a short dander from some decent places.
I agree, why would you go to New York to hang out in an Irish bar in Queens or the Bronx, we laugh at the Brits going abroad and refusing to eat nothing bit fish & chips when we do something similar like hang out in Irish bars when abroad.
if there's some game on that you must see- football/ Hurling Fiona's 88th and 1st , rugby baker street 63rd and 1st and soccer Nevada Smiths on 3rd between 11th and 12th. But seriously whats the point in going to nyc and only hanging around in Irish bars?
Quote from: heganboy on January 09, 2008, 02:47:51 PM
if there's some game on that you must see- football/ Hurling Fiona's 88th and 1st , rugby baker street 63rd and 1st and soccer Nevada Smiths on 3rd between 11th and 12th. But seriously whats the point in going to nyc and only hanging around in Irish bars?
I ask my friends that all the time
4 exiles thinking the same thing. Interesting. :-\
Wll lads if they are like the irish bars at home the will be fecking empty it aint what it used to be >:(
The pubs out in queens are like home from home. The Irish bars in the city surprisingly enough havent that many Irish people drinking in them. Most of the bar staff are Irish and they are the best guides you'll get.
Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2008, 03:53:45 PM
eh?
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 04:03:01 PM
eh?
I think the point Puck is trying to make is what's the point in leaving Ireland for another country if all you do is sit in an Irish pub every weekend with other Irish people
well I know thats the point I was making- not sure if Puck agrees or disagrees? Puck?
ye the four lads who are living in the states stated that they couldn't understand the irish heading to irish bars when they went to New York
The last Irish bar I was in outside of Manhattan was the Kilmegan Arms in Queens. I dont think its there anymore....it was like walking into Gormans in Mayobridge. I knew every second person in it....as well as that everybody was flat out smoking (despite the ban being in force for years in NYC), boys sitting at the bar hammered in their work clothes and the odd row breaking out in the corner....just like home.
On the other hand as someone else said above... the Irish Bars in Manhattan are full of yanks lettin on they're Irish.
Dont get me wrong fellas, a bit of irishness and familiarity is great, especially when the homesickness hits in a little bit. I just dont get the people on holidays, or there for a couple of months who cant think outside the irish box. Irish food, drink, clubs, pubs. Experience a little. I seem to be looked at funny by the irish clique here for stepping away from them just a little. That said, I make a little money from playing irish music in an irish bar... Anyways, thats all I have to say about that before I get lambasted.
Oh, and people who go to the chinese and order a steak. I dont get that one either.
got ye now puckoon;)
I agree with you there.
When im in NY I dont tend to hit the irish bars much (apart from Ulysses round the corner from work, Puck Fair with its late night lock ins and Bua on st Marks Place which doesnt seem remotely like and irish bar)
Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2008, 04:15:56 PM
Dont get me wrong fellas, a bit of irishness and familiarity is great, especially when the homesickness hits in a little bit. I just dont get the people on holidays, or there for a couple of months who cant think outside the irish box. Irish food, drink, clubs, pubs. Experience a little. I seem to be looked at funny by the irish clique here for stepping away from them just a little. That said, I make a little money from playing irish music in an irish bar... Anyways, thats all I have to say about that before I get lambasted.
Oh, and people who go to the chinese and order a steak. I dont get that one either.
what instrument do you play puckoon?
the flute ;)
there's allway one :D :D
I've done a bit of travelling to different parts of the world and I always check an Irish bar out. I find that the bartenders are pretty knowledgeable and can give you sound advice on avoiding the tourist traps. Probably come from working abroad in the 70's and using the Irish pub as a labour exchange (God that expression really dates me!).
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 09, 2008, 02:37:38 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
I agree, why would you go to New York to hang out in an Irish bar in Queens or the Bronx, we laugh at the Brits going abroad and refusing to eat nothing bit fish & chips when we do something similar like hang out in Irish bars when abroad.
i feel the opposite - its New Yorks Irish bars that are unique especially in those areas - you won't get it anywhere else. American bars are usually sports bars with an irish feel anyhow
they are only 20 minutes on the subway plus they are not anything like irish bars at home, and you tend to find the biggest local bronx/queens eejits hang out in the irish american places not the manhatten joints, ye won't meet the like anywhere else if ye enjoy that sort of thing!
Why go to New York and hang out in a wine bar? Embrace the fact you are a paddy in New York and enjoy it
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2008, 05:06:16 PM
the flute ;)
You are one cheeky fecker gabriel.
Ive been known to twang on the old g-string now and then.
Puckoon are there many Irish bars in Reno? I think I mentioned on a thread, a couple of years, ago about playing a GAA match in Reno against a touring Kerry team, back then in the late 70's I don't remember any.
http://www.delta.com/booking/retriev...7391728 9#top (http://www.delta.com/booking/retriev...7391728%209#top)
£ 150 Return to London Gatwick to New York (JFK) Wed 12th March Return 19th March if any on you fancy St Paddys in the Big Apple !
Some nice fancy bars in the east village
fishbait, not a fan of the wine bars myself, and not totally against the irish bars either -as i say theres a few id frequent in NY -the lock in in PF can be particular craic.
I prefer the "dive bar" types in the east village/LES - the likes of Doc Holday are hard to beat for something a bit different.
each to their own now, if i was there for a few days and staying downtown i wouldnt be heading for 20+ mins for an irish bar - if i was to leave manhattan itd be williamsburg
A few of us flew into NY last Easter and were sitting having dinner in the Shades of Green Pub. A young American guy served us and wished us all a "happy Good Friday". When we burst out laughing he was a little bewildered.
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2008, 04:06:44 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 04:03:01 PM
eh?
I think the point Puck is trying to make is what's the point in leaving Ireland for another country if all you do is sit in an Irish pub every weekend with other Irish people
Its got nothing really to do with irish people - i go out for a bit of craic, i detest wine bars. The fact is - even if it doesn't have an irish or british name above the door there will be the same aul caper in any proper bar around the world (no feckin coffee for sale). People round the world love irish theme bars, a bit of banter and the music etc... so enjoy it for god sake. Why move to another country and give up part of your culture? would ye change your accents too?
plus a lot of irish bars are not owned, managed or frequented by paddies - god knows who ye come across in an "irish" bar, all colours, all religions - they all go there because any bar with an irish theme is considered fun, bit of a laugh after a days work and its as simple as that - i've been in "irish" places where me and the barman are the only honky's about the place - great stuff, theres a good reason why theres irish bars in some of the most godforsaken places ye'll ever see
i worked in newyork and a man in a bar told me he was in ireland before and visited county donegalway ???
Anyone recommend a reasonably priced hotel in NY thats not a dungeon for the paddys weekend?
5Sams - fighting in the pub?? Couldn't have been like Gormans then so... ;)
Quote from: miss mess on January 09, 2008, 09:40:13 PM
i worked in newyork and a man in a bar told me he was in ireland before and visited county donegalway ???
ha ha, where else would ye get it!
Have sat with pished aussies actually sobbing into their beer about missing the "Homeland" "when were you last back home?" "never been there mate..." well it was about 800 fahrenheit outside, so i gave him the benefit of the doubt
when we said we were from the north of ireland the yanks used to ask, did you come over here to escape the troubles? they are mental.. and this was only 2yrs ago
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 08:57:49 PM
fishbait, not a fan of the wine bars myself, and not totally against the irish bars either -as i say theres a few id frequent in NY -the lock in in PF can be particular craic.
I prefer the "dive bar" types in the east village/LES - the likes of Doc Holday are hard to beat for something a bit different.
each to their own now, if i was there for a few days and staying downtown i wouldnt be heading for 20+ mins for an irish bar - if i was to leave manhattan itd be williamsburg
Fair enough
Dives? good stuff, too many clean places emerging, the jacks are meant to look like the jacks not a nursery. Not sure where Doc Holidays is, but it sounds good! the bigger the kip, the better the bar .........to blazes with the wine bar and all who sail in her
Quote from: miss mess on January 09, 2008, 10:05:59 PM
when we said we were from the north of ireland the yanks used to ask, did you come over here to escape the troubles? they are mental.. and this was only 2yrs ago
true, but funnily enough i think the aussie irish are worse, not in a bad way, just nuts - way too much sun
Wine bars or irish bars? That's all you got ffs there are ethiopian bars and kurdish bars in new york. There are some fantastic bars in new york, I used to live on tompkin square park in alphabet city (now the very cosmopolitan east village) go to 7B or 1A dive bars are the way forward. If there's a golden tee you're usually on a winner. Go in mid afternoon and wait to see who ye end up chatting to. I miss it. Ulysses is weird, its an irish/dive/yuppie/alcho bar and I'm a big fan. They say there are 2000 places in manhattan that serve alcohol surely there's something you could find?
Quote from: heganboy on January 09, 2008, 10:50:57 PM
Wine bars or irish bars? That's all you got ffs there are ethiopian bars and kurdish bars in new york. There are some fantastic bars in new york, I used to live on tompkin square park in alphabet city (now the very cosmopolitan east village) go to 7B or 1A dive bars are the way forward. If there's a golden tee you're usually on a winner. Go in mid afternoon and wait to see who ye end up chatting to. I miss it. Ulysses is weird, its an irish/dive/yuppie/alcho bar and I'm a big fan. They say there are 2000 places in manhattan that serve alcohol surely there's something you could find?
No Doubt. What is an ethopian bar? sounds like a theme bar - good to go for a feed and a pint for something different, usually too expensive for the sesh i find.
I'll try any pub/bar/club/food anywhere - depends what drinking in a pub means to each person, i don't go drinking for the decorations, but they are good for novelty value - would ye see yourself as a regular punter at a kurdish or ethopian bar? Could ye get the craic going with the barman/woman? i find those types of joints too much of a cafe atmosphere, but thats just my flavour on the thing
Doc Holidays is just off tomkins square, av A and 8th or 9th
Its worth a visit, cowboy boots on the roof, load johnny cash and some of the worst bogs ive seen.
Plenty of other good places round there too.
Ulysses is good heganboy - though jammed with assholes on Thursday evening in particular. Dead on staff though
Quote from: john mcgill on January 09, 2008, 08:54:22 PM
Puckoon are there many Irish bars in Reno? I think I mentioned on a thread, a couple of years, ago about playing a GAA match in Reno against a touring Kerry team, back then in the late 70's I don't remember any.
There are 3 or 4 genuine ones. Corrigans (run by an american), Foleys (run by noel foley from galway) and Ceol (run by an american family with Irish parents). Ceol is only a year old, and I personally think its the nicest. The guy who runs Foleys wants to be the only irishman in town, so he doesnt really want any of us about the place. Corrigans is a tip which could well have been on the go in the late 70s, it at least looks like it was.
To the guys in the states, is there anything special worth seeing in New York this weekend? Sports events, etc...? Heading over tomorrow and so far it looks like bar after bar but if there's anything else happening I'd be glad to know about it.
don't think there's any sports on this weekend. there's an NBA game tomorrow night - and nothing until Wed/Thursday again.
The place should be buzzing though with the Giants in the Superbowl next weekend
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 24, 2008, 04:06:07 PM
don't think there's any sports on this weekend. there's an NBA game tomorrow night - and nothing until Wed/Thursday again.
The place should be buzzing though with the Giants in the Superbowl next weekend
Yeah, we were saying we timed our visit wrong - a week later would've been far better!!
Quote from: amallon on January 09, 2008, 09:54:48 PM
Anyone recommend a reasonably priced hotel in NY thats not a dungeon for the paddys weekend?
5Sams - fighting in the pub?? Couldn't have been like Gormans then so... ;)
Aidan,
I have stayed in the http://www.wellingtonhotel.com/ (http://www.wellingtonhotel.com/) for Paddy's Day and its grand....tiny rooms but you can't beat the location....turn left when you come out the front door and you are 10 minutes walk from Times Square...turn right and you are 10 minutes from the Park....two blocks behind you is 5th Ave and straight in front of you is the famous[/url]http://www.carnegiedeli.com/[/url] and their outrageous "sandwiches". I have booked it again for Easter and I can be a fussy hoor so it must be ok. Drop me an e mail when you get a chance.