GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 01:00:54 AM

Title: Connacht Club Championship
Post by: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 01:00:54 AM
Ballina down to take on Sligo Champs Tourlestrane this weekend. Ballina coming into the game showing serious dodgy form, a loss to Claremorris in the league with a full strength team does not bode well for this match, Tourlestrane seemed to be able to do enough to get over Leitrim Champions - will Eamonn O'Hara make a return from injury to mark his first cousin Pat Harte in a centre field battle?
Hopefully the Stephenites can turn it around to make a Connacht final - if the likes of Eanna Casey can continue the form he appears to be in and gets a helping hand from the 3 Bradys, Hughes and McGarry the forwards will be a handful for anyone. With Harte and Mcgarrity probably the centrefield pairing they should be able for most other clubs but will the presence of his first cousin have an effect of Pat? Doubt it.
Hoping for a big game from Martin Wynne in the full back line.

Should be a great game
Title: Re: Connacht Club Championship
Post by: Mano on November 06, 2007, 09:06:01 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 01:00:54 AM
Ballina coming into the game showing serious dodgy form, a loss to Claremorris in the league with a full strength team does not bode well for this match
I wouldn't look much into this result. Tourlestrane lost the league final to a very understrength Curry team the week after beating the Leitrim champions. I think these results indicate a focus on the upcoming bigger game. For Ballina i would be more concerned of a lack of championship action in 6 weeks. Our lads have been inactive for 4 weeks (only Connaught council know why the connaught preliminary round game was played the week after the county final).
O Hara has the cast off and no doubt will be rearing to go. It will be interesting to see if we have any plans to curtail Brady at full forward.
Should be an interesting game and hopefully we can make a match of it
Post by: mannix on November 06, 2007, 10:00:39 AM
I reckon Ballina will win.
Did anyone see d brady during the mayo final, if a teamate was not busting a gut brady would have killed them.He is like roy keane in that respect, could turn out to be a good manager some day if the players would listen and take some of his fight onboard.
Its early days but this ballina team are good enough to win it all.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 06, 2007, 11:35:12 AM
Ballintubber are playing Moycullen in the Intermediate Connaught Final on Sunday 18th November in McHale park...
Moycullen are said to be a good team because they were senior for years in Galway.... 

I fancy Ballina over Tourlestrane purely on the basis that club football is stronger in Mayo at the minute.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 06, 2007, 06:31:43 PM
Lads where is the game and what time is the throw in? Should be a cracker. Hope o hara is back and toulestrane march on. Be nice to do a club and county double.
Post by: Rossfan on November 06, 2007, 09:23:55 PM
St Brigid's travel to Tuam to play Killererin in their own backyard next Sunday - live on TG4 I believe.
Hopefully the long gap since the Ros final on 30th Sept.won't come against them.
Post by: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 09:51:24 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 06, 2007, 06:31:43 PM
Lads where is the game and what time is the throw in? Should be a cracker. Hope o hara is back and toulestrane march on. Be nice to do a club and county double.

It's on in Ballina but not sure of the throw in time yet - I'll stick it up as soon as I see it
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 06, 2007, 10:31:02 PM
2pm. Could be a tight one, wouldn't be all that surprised by a Tourlestrane victory though.

The Killererin-Brigid's game will be an interesting one too - arguably the final favourites to emerge from this one.
Post by: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 10:39:05 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 06, 2007, 10:31:02 PM
2pm. Could be a tight one, wouldn't be all that surprised by a Tourlestrane victory though.

Neither would I :'(
Post by: magpie seanie on November 07, 2007, 09:31:31 AM
Think I may travel to this. Could be a good game. Like many here would give Tourlestrane a good chance though the home side would be warm favourites.
Post by: Mano on November 07, 2007, 10:29:22 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 07, 2007, 09:31:31 AM
Think I may travel to this. Could be a good game. Like many here would give Tourlestrane a good chance though the home side would be warm favourites.

Your support would be appreciated-you will be supporting us i hope.

Quote from: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 09:51:24 PM
It's on in Ballina but not sure of the throw in time yet - I'll stick it up as soon as I see it

Have Ballina always played their Connaught club games in Ballina. Whe did Ballina pitch get county groud status. Whe was the last time a county match was played in Ballina?
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 07, 2007, 10:41:12 AM
Quote from: Mano on November 07, 2007, 10:29:22 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 07, 2007, 09:31:31 AM

Your support would be appreciated-you will be supporting us i hope.

Quote from: stephenite on November 06, 2007, 09:51:24 PM

Have Ballina always played their Connaught club games in Ballina. Whe did Ballina pitch get county groud status. Whe was the last time a county match was played in Ballina?

all county matches are now played in Castlebar .Up to a few years ago  intercounty League matches used to be played in Castlebar, Ballina and Crossmolina used to get a few. However now all league and championship matches are played in Catlebar
Post by: magpie seanie on November 07, 2007, 10:45:59 AM
QuoteYour support would be appreciated-you will be supporting us i hope.

Oh yes - I'll defo be supporting Tourlestrane.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2007, 11:15:08 AM
Ya more the Sligo people going the better. St molaise gaels are behind toulestrane. A few of us are going and looking forward to it. Im sure Tommy jordan will be shouting for toulestrane aswell ;).  Is ohara far away from starting does anyone know?

Ya I see the aertel 2pm throw in in ballina.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 07, 2007, 11:25:06 AM
is michael moyles still in charge of the minors? Jesus there will be no one left in Cross at all if sligo have their way  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2007, 11:37:48 AM
I presume he is deel rover.....he did a very ordinary job with our minors last yr and speaking to a few minors recently the players arent that impressed by him. I expected more to be honest. Only one great showing against Galway, but in the league and other championship games our minors looked like a bunch of sheep being chased by a wolf. I see about 5 of there games last yr and was a very frustrated man.
Post by: Mano on November 07, 2007, 01:00:06 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2007, 11:15:08 AM
Is ohara far away from starting does anyone know?

The cast is off and he has been trianing for last 2 weeks. Not sure if he is in line to start but can't imagine them leaving him on the sideline if he is raring to go
Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 07, 2007, 04:30:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 06, 2007, 09:23:55 PM
St Brigid's travel to Tuam to play Killererin in their own backyard next Sunday - live on TG4 I believe.
Hopefully the long gap since the Ros final on 30th Sept.won't come against them.

Are Kilererin highly rated? Assume with Joyce they will be a force.

I know Brigids had Jack o'connor down from Kerry over seeing one training session. Suppose they are missing the input from o'Mahoney..
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 07, 2007, 05:16:05 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on November 07, 2007, 04:30:11 PM

I know Brigids had Jack o'connor down from Kerry over seeing one training session. Suppose they are missing the input from o'Mahoney..

Killererin actually are a club with a very small pick especially compared to some of their rivals in the greater Tuam area such as Tuam Stars, Corofin, etc. They are a very tight bunch however as many small clubs are. They haven't done to well outside Galway though in recent years and have had to watch Corofin, Caltra and Salthill all win All-Ireland's even though Killererin have probably been the most consistent team in Galway over the past decade.

Padraig is still pulling the strings for them. Fairly rolled back the years with a fantastic display against Milltown in the county final. He was both creator and finisher that day as Nicky Joyce was held pretty well by the scans. Tommie Joyce is still playing very good club football too.

Not sure how they'll get on against Brigid's. As I said Killererin haven't done themselves justice outside Galway yet so surely they'll get it right one year. The game being in Tuam Stadium might tip it their way but hard one to call IMO.
Post by: stephenite on November 07, 2007, 08:40:59 PM
Quote from: Mano on November 07, 2007, 10:29:22 AM

Yes, always played home Connacht Club games in Ballina, in fact this is the first time we will have played a Sligo team in the Connacht Club Championship anywhere but Markievicz Park. I don't think that County Ground status is necessary for holding games of these status - but I assume your ground has to be able to accomadate a certain capacity, which we can do comfortably.
Post by: guy crouchback on November 08, 2007, 04:45:56 PM
after the county final a member of the county board (feeney i think) approached  the Ballina chairman and told him that they expected Ballina to play the rest of their games in Castlebar. he was politely told to f**k off.
as the county board now own McHale park suppose they want every gate they can get.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 08, 2007, 04:49:32 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on November 07, 2007, 04:30:11 PM

Killererin are a very good footbaling side and along with Corofin have been one of the most consistent sides in Galway over the past 10 years.  They are absolutely superb at holding on to possession and eking out crucial scores when a game is very tight as they demonstrated vs NUIG and Salthill in the Galway championship.

Bridgets are a decent side but it took a wonder strike from Karol Mannion in the dying moments of their game v Corofin last year (were dire 2yrs ago v Salthill in Pearse Stadium) to win through and to be honest Killererin have alot more fire power than Corofin.  With the game being in Tuam its like a home match for Killererin I just think the lads from Barna Dearg will pull through by a few points.

Post by: stephenite on November 08, 2007, 10:10:00 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on November 08, 2007, 04:45:56 PM
after the county final a member of the county board (feeney i think) approached  the Ballina chairman and told him that they expected Ballina to play the rest of their games in Castlebar. he was politely told to f**k off.
as the county board now own McHale park suppose they want every gate they can get.

Someone tried this before - it's going back a few years now. County Board official explained that any County Champions they had a "duty" to play in a central location so the whole county could have the opportunity to watch them, think he wandered off after everyone fell on the ground laughing at the notion of great swathes of people from Ballinrobe travelling to watch the Stephenites play
Post by: Mano on November 09, 2007, 04:17:41 PM
Should be a interesting game at the weekend. I would expect O'Hara to start, where he will play and what role he will have is anyones guess. Don't think there are any other injuries-full panel to choose from for first time in the championship.

Ballina have an excellent sextet of forwards and the Tour defense has been excellent all year-the Haran, Brady battle should be interesting. However Tour haven't came up against anything near the quality of forwards Ballina possess. I expect Tour to funnel players behind the ball and try to frustrate the Ballina forwards and then break at speed with fast runners like O'Hara and Egan.

Ballina's attitude to the game will be key i think-if they are any way complacent Tour will have great chance. However they will have learned for the Curry experience of a few years ago. Also factor in Ballina enforced 6 week championship break since Mayo county final and possible lack of focus since and you never know we just might nick it. Here's hoping
Post by: sligoman2 on November 10, 2007, 01:34:27 AM
Hello all - long time no speak.  The bastards have shut down the site at work.

Obvioulsy a difficult assignemt for Tourlestrand and Ballina would be favourites but that is the way we want it.

I expect no more than a point or two at the final with hopefully Tourlestrane on top.
Post by: dodo on November 10, 2007, 08:46:44 PM
Best of luck to the Stephenites tomorrow and on their quest for further glory.
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 11, 2007, 02:37:00 PM
Brigids leading at half time - 3-4 to 0-7. Good entertaining stuff from both teams.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 11, 2007, 02:38:50 PM
Ballina 1.3  Tourlestrane 0-3

Dreadful stuu - hoping for a better second half
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 11, 2007, 03:23:33 PM
Good win for Brigids 4-10 to 1-11. Better team all round but great display from Padraig Joyce for Killererin
Post by: mannix on November 11, 2007, 03:39:06 PM
Ballina have a lot of work to do to beat the roscommon crowd.And the Hurlers have a lot more to do to beat the galway champions.

Credit must be paid to the Ballina club, by anyones standards they are quite a club, hurling and football provincial finalists.
Also happy to hear ciaran macdonald is still playing very well with crossmolina.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 11, 2007, 03:40:00 PM
Not sure what happened to Killererin. Their full-back line was absolutely woeful today. They never seem to perform up to their capabilities outside Galway for some reason.

Padraig Joyce almost seems rejuvenated these days. Playing some fantastic football. St Brigid's won't be easy to beat for anyone.
Post by: Rossfan on November 11, 2007, 03:43:59 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 11, 2007, 03:40:00 PM
Not sure what happened to Killererin.
Met a superior team oul pal  ;)
I know it doesnt fit the stereotype but some Ros people can play football and when they win it's not always because the other team played bad or picked the wrong team or wore the wrong jerseys or one of the myriad other reasons that we hear (npt often enough unfortunately) from our neighbours. ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 11, 2007, 04:14:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 11, 2007, 03:43:59 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 11, 2007, 03:40:00 PM
Not sure what happened to Killererin.
Met a superior team oul pal  ;)
I know it doesnt fit the stereotype but some Ros people can play football and when they win it's not always because the other team played bad or picked the wrong team or wore the wrong jerseys or one of the myriad other reasons that we hear (npt often enough unfortunately) from our neighbours. ;D

Would you ever get that chip of your shoulder.

If you had paid any attention at all you'd know that I said a week ago that Killererin just don't seem to perform well outside Galway even though they've been the most consistent team in the county for a good few years now. Corofin, Salthill and Caltra have all gone on to win All-Ireland's but Killererin haven't even though they've won more county titles than the others. Which is why I was hesistant about their chances.

Don't think anybody was disputing that Brigid's fully deserved to win. Just that Killererin yet again underperformed by their own standards. Especially in defence where they conceded some very soft goals by badly misjudging bread and butter long punts into the square.

Not a concern of Brigid's though. They took advantage and look well placed for a Connacht title and maybe even more.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 11, 2007, 06:29:58 PM
Was at the toulestrane Ballina game and it was tight gripping club match albeit with a whistle happy ref and some poor mistakes. But it was entertaining. Both sides missed chances but what was fatal was mcgowans free taking was atrocious he got 3 from 8 id say approx. The toulestrane game plan was a joke. In the first half the flooded the there own backline with half forwards and 2 up front on there own with no support and 5 ballina backs surrounding them. The biggest joke was taking off j marren (he got terrible ball near the sideline everytime looked up and was surrounded by ballina players.what was he to do.) Clueless tactics... Kicking to the corners that day is over stone age football I call it. the one time they ran at ballina down the middle they opened them and got a penalty. Ballina like wise in first half goal. The half forwards worked hard but didnt support the front 2 and they were way to isolated. The half forwards fluffed how many chances and seemed to be toulestranes weakline.. 1-4 and Id say about 12 or more wides isnt going win matches. Ballina need huge improvment too because if toulestrane were anyways clincal theyd have won. Dominated for long periods but there tactics cost them dear. Hope henry never gets near the sligo job. But toulestrane did play with great heart and never gave in but didnt do themselves justice sadly. Brigids look the favourites. Wasnt impressed with Ballina. Last time I seen them in Croker they were the best club team performance id ever seen even to this day. If they get back to that level who knows. I was supporting and watching toulestrane today and thought were better team just didnt take there chances.
Post by: stephenite on November 11, 2007, 09:42:19 PM
Very happy with that result obviously - had a feeling all week that it would be a fairly tight affair. Had just moved house over the weekend and they hadn't connected the ADSL (bastards) so couldn't even listen to the game :'(

Brigids will be strong favourites I'd imagine to retain their Provincial title following that result

Big congrats to the Hurlers also - fantastic acheivement for Danny, Gary Barrett and all the lads involved. Hughie Ruane down to mark Joe Canning I'm hearing in the final - be very afraid Joe ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 12:18:06 AM
Well done Stephenite on the double, a fine achievement for any team. Ye will be up against it in both though, I'd say Killererin would have taken ye were they playing ye today, not to mention Brigid's. Have to concur with sligonian, Tourlestrane's limitations were exposed, by their own doing. Very few reliable options for scoring, the best beng a man who played in the SFC....of 1984. Ball being played in wasn't great though, hitting high balls in on Gerry for a time, and then latterly running into blind alleys, which the half-forwards liked to do. Plus Henry on McGarrity at MF is a contest with only one possible winner. O'Hara didn't seem too sharp as the game wore on, and indeed could have seen the line, mad to get involved, no more than DB. Egan lost the head as the game petered out too. But it was a niggly affair that could have easily erupted had it gone on for another while. Gerry missed some kickable frees, one effort in the second half being shocking. But he did take the penalty very well, and it looked good for tourlestrane, they had the majority of play in the second half up to then, but Ballina upped it after that, and DB went in to the FF line, and kicked a point into process, very simple and something Tour just couldn't seem to replicate. McGarry was given MOM as well.

Another year, another Sligo representative falls in a game which was for the taking. Almost makes one hark for the era of the Mary's team of the late 70's/80's, with emphasis on the 'almost'.
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2007, 02:08:00 AM
The lads seem to be doing just enough to get through the big games. Brigids will justifiably be strong favourites, but when you see the calibre of some of the lads playing with us, I mean any team that can boast talent like Harte, McGarrity, DB, Ger, Brian Ruane, Enda Dev, Clarke, McGarry, Casey etc. not to mention the rest of them and the experience that they have together, well, if they click they could match anyone I feel.
Post by: Barney on November 12, 2007, 08:08:36 AM
Brigids look good but if Ballina can get somebody scoring well on the day their backs and midfield could do enough to push them over the line.
Post by: galwayman on November 12, 2007, 08:26:17 AM
The Killererin defence was woeful yesterday. Especially the FB line. I lost count of the number of times a player in the FB line ran out to meet an incoming Brigids player too early - thereby leaving his own man free inside available for the pop pass over his head and in on goal. Headless stuff. The golden rule I've always been taught is not to leave your own man free inside and only start coming out when the incoming player hits the 21.That way the player will usually either try to go himself, or else if he does pass over your head, then the goalie should be on top of the player by the time he gets it.

Brigids were by far the better team overall and fully deserved their win.
PJ showed what a class act he is once again though.He always plays well in Tuam Stadium.
He still has plenty to offer at county level. Nicky was quiet.

I'd fancy Ballina to win the Connacht final, as they are particularly strong.
Post by: Silky on November 12, 2007, 08:28:26 AM
It was a good match to watch on TV. I think the mild weather this year has made it easier for the club players to play well. The pitches are in great shape too.
Post by: mannix on November 12, 2007, 09:13:28 AM
Ballina footballers are doing just enough to win theses games.With the quality of players they have on board you would be expecting bigger things and I reckon they will give brigids something to think about,for the winter.
They still are not as slick as they were a few years back, though were they to click again they will be hard to beat by any team.Brady at fullforward again and the fullback was exposed again as they have been by his strenght and height, he really is growing into the role of late appearing ff.
Good luck to them,and the hurlers too.
Title: Connacht Club Championship
Post by: Mano on November 12, 2007, 09:58:07 AM
Well done to Stephenite on the double for his club team at the weekend-was their anyone who played in both matches?

With regard to the football match on Sunday it was a very poor match and Ballina will have to improve. However they looked to be doing just enough to get the result-evident after they conceded the goal they got the next 3 points.
The game had many parallels with the Sligo Cork game in AI Quarter final. Tourlestrane had 13 men behind the ball in the first half leaving 2 lads with 5 defenders for company. They then tried to run the ball out from the back which was never going to work against a physiccally imposing Ballina team. Second half they had a more orthodox shape and made inroads into the Ballina defense.
Wee Gerry unfortunately had one of those games both from play and frees-the miss from the 21 metre free defied belief. If he had scored those 5 frees he missed we would have had a chance-however none of our other forwards looked like scoring (Tom Jordan will be looking elsewhere for forward talent for the Sligo panel).
Our lads battled their hearts out though and cannot be faulted for committment-however a lack of scoring forwards proved costly and may stunt the development of this team if its not rectified.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on November 12, 2007, 11:44:07 AM
Full back line got destroyed by the quality of ball coming in from outfield. Killererins game involves flooding the backline and then breaking at pace. The long ball into the full back line meant that they hadnt time to funnel men back behind the ball and exposed the lack of pace in the full back line. Besides, the quality of ball being played in was fantastic and didnt give the backs much chance. Brigids also exposed the Killererin midfields lack of mobility and kept creating overlaps all over the place in the forward line.
PJ proved to be a legend once again.......hes the heart and soul of the team. You'd fear for us when he retires cos Nicky is not fit to lace his boots. Delusions of grandeur after one decent inter-county campaign........still has alot to learn.
Fair play to Cunningham, for a hurling man he picked the perfect game plan to counter our lads.
Still, good year for Killererin.......fair play to them. This game may have come a week too early for them after the Co final.......given the celebrations!
Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 12, 2007, 12:29:10 PM
Thought Killererin were all round very poor yesterday - with the obvious exception of Joyce. Brigids are a far superior side and desevered their win. I thought their foot passing and ability to retain the ball was first class. However the connaught final will be a different affair and Ballina will be a tougher nut to crack. Frankie yesterday proved maughan was right to recall him to the county set-up, the mans passing and free taking ability is top class.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 12:55:08 PM
Quote from: Mano on November 12, 2007, 09:58:07 AM
Well done to Stephenite on the double for his club team at the weekend-was their anyone who played in both matches?
Kenny Golden was mentioned on MWR. don't know if there were others.

What was the ref like in Tuam? He being the lesser of two Enniscrone evils, heard he made a hames of it.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 12, 2007, 02:11:45 PM
I have to say this having had a friend close to me with the same illness as mcgarrity. Yday was the first day Id seen him since. He was outstanding yday (great fielder) and fair play to him deserves alot credit and admiration. Well done and he gives hope to others with a miraclously quick recovery. He has a bright future.

I agree only ohara and egan will be in sligo panel. Gerrys been a great servant and deserves credit but time to blood the future and not the past. He showed character yday with the peno too.
Post by: Mano on November 12, 2007, 03:10:51 PM
I think McIntyre, Henry & Kennedy might be worth a look-they are still young lads though. They will be on u-21 panel anyway
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 04:05:27 PM
Quote from: Mano on November 12, 2007, 03:10:51 PM
I think McIntyre, Henry & Kennedy might be worth a look-they are still young lads though. They will be on u-21 panel anyway
Kennedy's overage for U21. Not a bad footballer as is McIntyre, though the latter has the better chance of making it. The Henrys strike me as being the most awkward looking footballers I've seen, for that level anyway. Stephen is young though, has some way to go before he can compete seriously with McGarrity et al, would be better at wing-forward.
Post by: spectator on November 12, 2007, 08:09:35 PM
Quote from: Silky on November 12, 2007, 08:28:26 AM
It was a good match to watch on TV. I think the mild weather this year has made it easier for the club players to play well. The pitches are in great shape too.

That's an interesting point. Just goes to show that the top clubs can aspire to the level of many county teams given the right pitch & weather conditions.

Joyce's performance yesterday was class, when you saw him kicking the early long range point off his right you knew he well in the zone...

A few of Frankie's floated deliveries in were memorable & to be fair have in the past bamboozled more experienced defenders.

However, as stephenite + Barney have said, Ballina will be a serious test. With their pedigree & the big match experience of many of their players, one would be foolish to bet against them.

Brigids looked a good all-round side yesterday, it'll be interesting to see Ballina's tactics next day out.
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2007, 09:18:17 PM
Should really be a dinger of a final - as Spectator mentions Brigids have a well rounded team and they're the hardest to beat. Ballina's injury worries mounting with Liam Brady, James Dev and Shane Melia long term. Not sure what the sotry is with Enda Dev? We were lucky to be able to being a player of the experience and class of Shane Sweeney yesterday
Post by: ross matt on November 12, 2007, 09:43:36 PM
I expected Brigids to win yesterday based on their good run last year and the fact that I wouldnt have thought the standard in Galway was good this season. However I didnt think they'd run in 4 goals and be unlucky not score one or two more. Thought Killererin were very poor. Quite literally a one man team.

The conditions were excellent for football but overall I thought it was an ok match with alot of defensive errors. The final will be interesting. Ballina are very strong physically and have lots of big time experience. Brigids have lots of strength in depth and the likes of Dolan and Mannion can up their game again from yesterday. It should be a great match and it would be great for Ross football if Brigids can put 2 Connacht titles back to back.
Post by: Rossie11 on November 12, 2007, 10:12:44 PM
It was a poor Galway county final and I thought Killererin as a team would improve but they didnt. However I was very impressed with Bridgets. They are miles ahead of anything else in Ross (and will be for some time to come) and put together some fine passing moves.. something we havent seen our county team do in years. The foot passing especially from Dolan was excellent.
His pass for the 2nd goal was a peach. With distribution like that a full forward line will always create goal chances.

Ballina will be a much tougher task. Bridgets may go in slight favorites but when can any Roscommon team go to Mayo and be confident of coming away with a win after some of the drubbings we have received in club & county games the past 20 years. They will need to be on top of their game. Should be a cracker

Post by: dodo on November 12, 2007, 11:17:57 PM
Apologies if it's been mentioned before but when is the Connacht club final being played ?
Post by: stephenite on November 12, 2007, 11:25:43 PM
Sunday week in Ballina I believe
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 13, 2007, 04:32:58 AM
Quote from: ross matt on November 12, 2007, 09:43:36 PM
I expected Brigids to win yesterday based on their good run last year and the fact that I wouldnt have thought the standard in Galway was good this season. However I didnt think they'd run in 4 goals and be unlucky not score one or two more.

Jimmy Nail was on fire. He displayed all the hallmarks of the bold Mickey Freyne, Roscommon's first all-star, loitering around the goalmouth with some serious intent. Another player who's been left out in the cold since Tommy Carr kicked him off the panel in 03, not long after he saved Roscommon's hide with a last gasp goal against Leitrim. His chance in county colours is probably gone now. Good to see Shane Curran back in goals again. It would be nice to see him win a Connacht title with Bridgit's after injury ruled him out last year. Hopefully it wasn't the world famous "tee cake" that caused his injury, as he kicked out that last ball. Maughan should call him back to the panel too. Ros seniors are thin enough in the number one position, not to mention leadership stakes.
Post by: ross matt on November 13, 2007, 11:10:26 AM

Jimmy Nail was on fire. He displayed all the hallmarks of the bold Mickey Freyne, Roscommon's first all-star, loitering around the goalmouth with some serious intent. Another player who's been left out in the cold since Tommy Carr kicked him off the panel in 03, not long after he saved Roscommon's hide with a last gasp goal against Leitrim. His chance in county colours is probably gone now. [/quote]

What age is Jimmy Nail now Turlough? He looked alot fresher and more mobile on Sunday than he had in the past
Post by: dodo on November 13, 2007, 11:39:02 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on November 13, 2007, 04:32:58 AM
Jimmy Nail was on fire. He displayed all the hallmarks of the bold Mickey Freyne, Roscommon's first all-star, loitering around the goalmouth with some serious intent. Another player who's been left out in the cold since Tommy Carr kicked him off the panel in 03, not long after he saved Roscommon's hide with a last gasp goal against Leitrim. His chance in county colours is probably gone now. Good to see Shane Curran back in goals again. It would be nice to see him win a Connacht title with Bridgit's after injury ruled him out last year. Hopefully it wasn't the world famous "tee cake" that caused his injury, as he kicked out that last ball. Maughan should call him back to the panel too. Ros seniors are thin enough in the number one position, not to mention leadership stakes.

O'Connor took his scores well but in fairness the marking was brutal. He had plenty of time and was under little enough pressure to finish his chances.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 13, 2007, 12:14:07 PM
Quote from: dodo on November 13, 2007, 11:39:02 AM

O'Connor took his scores well but in fairness the marking was brutal. He had plenty of time and was under little enough pressure to finish his chances.

True, Ballina will offer a sterner test. Still think Jimmy Nails would be a good option for the county. Would be a good man to have in around the box for 20 mins or so. And curran is without doubt still the best keeper in ros, however reckon there is no chance that he will be back. I realise you have to build for the future but you need a mix, last year we had no leaders at all. Curran, Dolan and jimmy nails would bring an extra dimension
Post by: spectator on November 13, 2007, 09:11:24 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 12, 2007, 09:43:36 PM
I expected Brigids to win yesterday based on their good run last year and the fact that I wouldnt have thought the standard in Galway was good this season. However I didnt think they'd run in 4 goals and be unlucky not score one or two more.

The thing I remember about Jimmy Nail in the Ros colours, is that he was a very accurate forward when it came to kicking points, who also had a keen eye for goal.

He never really got a good run in the major games, although that may have been down to differences between himself & the management, if I remember the talk doing the rounds at the time correctly?
Post by: Duine Eile on November 13, 2007, 09:49:00 PM
What a disaster, an absolute bloody disaster. :-[ I don't know what the hell happened out there on Sunday. The only one's to come out of the game with their heads held high are Thomas Hughes, Micheal Keane, Padraic Joyce and Tomas Fahy. The rest might as well have waited at home. Alan Keane was absolutely atrocious, was the cause of 2 if not 3 of the goals. He's done well all year but let himself down badly on Sunday.The full back line was nowhere to be seen all day. Mike Mitchell hasn't played well at all this year and was persisted with and on Sunday it really showed how far back he has gone, he was regarded as one of the best full backs in Galway until this year's championship. Damien Fla and Dec Kelly tried hard but just couldn't cope with the amount of ball being lumped in on top of them. Half back line didn't get to grips with the game at all.Tommy had the odd burst up the field but was quiet enough all day. Midfield played well. They both caught some brilliant ball in the middle, only thing going against them was their lack of pace. If they had a bit of help from the half forwards or half backs thay might have dominated. Jonathan Keane and Tom Flynn seemed to have an enormous amount of ball but did nothing with it. Shane Hughes was ok I suppose but can do a lot better. Young Tom Fahy played with a maturity beyond his years, showed well for the entire game and wasn't afraid to take a chance. Nicky Joyce was nearly completely anonymous, scored a monster of a point in the opening minutes, made you think he was going to have one of those days but he disappeared after that. Padraic was a class apart, head and shoulders above the rest. Never gave up, nearly every ball he got he managed to score with. Still one of the top forwards in the country and despite what the county board think he should be leading the Galway forward line next year. What was the story with the goal, haven't seen it on TV but I know Padraic himself is adamant it should have been allowed?

All in all a disappointing day out. I think Micheal Keane's reaction to being taken off summed up the frustration and disbelief of the team and supporters alike. Can't understand why they decided to take him off anyway, he was one of our better players, not surprised he reacted the way he did. There was a complete lack of guidance form the sideline though, A blind man could see the full back line were all over the place yet nothing was done to rectify the situation, they were wide open whenever one of the Brigid's players ran at them. Padraic Joyce could be heard all over the stadium bellowing like a bull to them to do something about Karol Mannion running through the Killererin defence but still nothing was done and when they did make a change it was with about 2 mins to go and they take off Micheal. They haven't a clue. The most annoying thing about this is we're seen as a one man team yet again but Padraic Joyce didn't get man of the match in any game until the county final, that tells you how well the rest of the lads were playing. Until now that is. I dont know what happened them, I'd say it's the end of the road for Stephen, Murt and John though. Well done to St. Brigid's though, best of luck against Ballina.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on November 13, 2007, 10:34:43 PM
Jimmy Nail has just turned 26. he is a super player always has been since u-12. Always had a bit of an edge to him and has been very hard to manage. he loves playing football though and when i met him last year he told me he never forgave his u-16 manager who wouldn't play in the u-16 final even though he had broken his hand in the semi-final. St. brigids were vey strong attcking but weak at the back, they miss Ian kilbride and Donal o'Connor. hopefully they can make it 2 in a row
Post by: stephenite on November 19, 2007, 11:58:46 PM
Gutted I won't get to see this match - should be a real dinger I reckon. Brigids as defending champs will be favourites and Ballina will miss Liam Brady. As in other years Ballina have had players that have really stood up when needed. Have a suspicion that the Brady to Full forward ploy might not be employed as much this weekend
Post by: guy crouchback on November 20, 2007, 12:48:23 PM
really looking forward to this game as well as it should be a dinger. Ballina won the toss and will be wearing their  regular strip. St Bridget's will be coming into this game as favourites and rightly so as defending Connaught Champs. having said that The Ballina defence will probably be the best they have played against and with the ballina midfield as strong as it is they will certainly not have it all their own way.
Enda devanney will be back for ballina which i think is vital as we really missed his forward runs against tourlastrane and as our forward unit is not working as it should recently his presence will be a big boost.

Post by: Rossfan on November 20, 2007, 07:23:55 PM
I believe Ballina are favourites in the Bookies?
They are playing at home and won a tougher County Championship than the Kiltoomers.
Hopefully Bridgets will do it but Ballina will be some test.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2007, 02:26:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 20, 2007, 07:23:55 PM
I believe Ballina are favourites in the Bookies?
They are playing at home and won a tougher County Championship than the Kiltoomers.
Hopefully Bridgets will do it but Ballina will be some test.

Don't know about that Rossfan st brigids beating Killerein in Galway was a great result. We played them last year and i think they have improved since then, their backs are tigerish they have an excellent midfield and a great target man in o'connor not to mention francie dolan who seems to get through an awful lot of work. Ballina haven't been at their best since the county semi final when they bet Ballaghdreen and they were underdogs ( wrongly in my opinion) and they have to improve a lot on the last game. Should be a good game just hope the weather stays good 
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 21, 2007, 09:20:09 PM
Ballina are favourites with Paddy Power (10/11) with Brigids at 5/4.
Post by: Mano on November 22, 2007, 12:20:43 PM
I think Ballina will win this. They have the advantage of playing at home on a narrow sticky pitch which suits their style of play with big physical players. However they won't have it their own way with Brigids who are also a powerfully built side.

Against Tourlestrane they didn't impress and midway through the second half they were there for the taking if we could have taken some of our many chances but you always sensed that if they were in a spot of bother they could up their game. Which they did when we converted a penalty with 10 minutes remaining. Was very impressed with their fullback lin especially Wynne and Golden-very tight markers who hit hard and don't give up scores easily. Also is there a better club midfield anywhere in the country, Brady, McGarrity and Harte. Ballina by 4 points in a hard hitting encounter
Post by: Rossfan on November 22, 2007, 08:12:13 PM
Quote from: Mano on November 22, 2007, 12:20:43 PM
Ballina by 4 points in a hard hitting encounter
St Bridgets dont do hard hitting ..unless it's by Jimmy Nail on the ball.
Post by: guy crouchback on November 23, 2007, 03:13:39 PM
going to go for Ballina by 2 with D Brady scoring a least one goal.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 02:03:16 PM
Ballina 1-0 ; St.Brigids 0-1 after 70 seconds
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 02:15:35 PM
Ballina Stephenites 2-3 ; St. Brigids 0-4
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 02:27:34 PM
Ballina Stephenites 2-4 ; St. Brigids 0-6 - Half time score
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 02:44:05 PM
Brigids conceded one dreadful goal, missed a good goal chance (great save by Clarke) and have missed three scoreable frees. Stephenites seem stronger around the middle of the field but Brigids not out of this.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 25, 2007, 02:45:24 PM
My word but this ref is some chimp. Does he even know the rules?

(1) He gave a penalty for two hops - leaving out the fact that the ball crossed the line and it should have been a goal to begin with, you can't give a penalty for a technical foul - it was either a goal or a 14m free.

(2) Got codded by the Ballina corner back who knew he was due a red card, so he lay down after his own punch and got away with it.

(3) Immediately after got sucked in by a ridiculous swan dive by the St. Brigid's wing back.

I'm not on either side here, but this guy could do anything. He seems to be pulling most of his decisions out of a hat.
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 02:48:53 PM
Agree LS it should have been a goal but if he did not allow it it was a 13m free. He seems to make up the rules as he goes along and his failure to allow the advanatge to Brigids which cost them a point was poor refeering.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 02:49:46 PM
Listening to the match and the lads on MWR were equally bemused by the penalty decision. Ah well :D
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 02:54:28 PM
Ballina Stephenites 2-4 ; St Brigids 0-9
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:05:20 PM
Ballina down to 14 men (David O'Mahony) , David Brady sounds to badly injured :(

2-6 ; 0-9

13 minutes left
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:11:30 PM
2-8 ; 0-9

Liam Brady kicking some vital frees, c'mon the Stephenites
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:12:26 PM
8 minutes left - Frankie Dolan point reduces it to 4 points gap
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 03:18:24 PM
McGarrity got MoM. I think though it is Clarke and the FB line that have won this for Ballina. Brigids had as many chnces but Stephenites showed their experience at vital times.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:19:28 PM
3 points in it - minutes of normal time left
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 03:21:11 PM
2 pts now and 4 mins injury time. The missed frees in teh first half will haunt Brigids

O'Carrol hits cross bar when he should have scored. Just not Brigids day :(
Post by: blasmere on November 25, 2007, 03:24:10 PM
Brigids just hit the bar
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:24:20 PM
Brigids hit the crossbar - 4 minutes into injury time, herself has come out from bed and asked me to stop shouting at the computer ::)
Post by: ludermor on November 25, 2007, 03:24:30 PM
David Brady is doing some play acting. No need for it
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 25, 2007, 03:25:22 PM
Brigid's hit bar with a shot that would have won it for them at the death.

LOL @ David Brady. Just did a Rivaldo. Brigid's player tries to punch ball from his hands and he goes down clutching his face. :D

Brigid's did a bit of a Killererin on it. Conceded some soft early goals and never really recovered from them.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:27:26 PM
Quote from: ludermor on November 25, 2007, 03:24:30 PM
David Brady is doing some play acting. No need for it

Injury time in a Connacht final? Two points in it - course there's a need for it

Done and dusted - fantastic result and sounded like a dinger to watch. Congrats to all involved. ;D ;D ;D

Up for work in 4 hours :'(
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 03:28:15 PM
Experince and possibly home venue they key and Brigids lost shape at a vital time in the second half Still think they were unlucky to lose as overall they looked the better footballing side but missed some vital chances. Clarkes two saves were the difference - Cake was a big loss for Brigids.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2007, 03:29:32 PM
David Brady's a diving bollocks.
Post by: ludermor on November 25, 2007, 03:31:04 PM
Congrats to Ballina.
Stephenite, Brady didnt dive one or twice, the last 15mins he was on the ground most of the time.
Post by: joemamas on November 25, 2007, 03:33:23 PM
have to agree about Brady. he is an embarrasment.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 03:34:59 PM
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 25, 2007, 03:38:37 PM
David Brady learned it from the masters. ;D

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=BVTw1ysCgBY&feature=related (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=BVTw1ysCgBY&feature=related)
Post by: Barney on November 25, 2007, 03:56:48 PM
On a day when Francie Dolan showed that he is just not good enough to don a green and red jersey congrats to Ballina.

Good tough game. Thought Bridgets made too many changes at the start of the second half when they had Ballina on the racks and last momentum.

Great to see McGarrity back to his best. What an end for the year for him. Also David Clarke looked more confident than he did last Summer even though his kick-outs were poor at times.

Think a team with pace would trouble Ballina but they have won it once so why not again? Nemo or Ballinacourty up next.

With my county hat on it is not great for Mayo. We will be short some players for the start of the league and its going to be tough enough even if we had them. Propsects to join the squad - Hughes was excellent, but probably too small. Leonard and Sweeney were very good in the half-back line. Maybe lack the pace required on a dry day in June though.

By the way why do the Connacht Council let the Chuckle Brothers from Sligo officiate at any match? They are a disaster - but for both teams today.
Post by: Rossfan on November 25, 2007, 04:49:23 PM
The refereeing was not of the highest quality right enough - still it was better than the Mayo fella who did the Connacht Minor Final.
St Bridgets had the chances to win today but didnt take them.
Also they seemed to lose their way after a good start to the second half.
The bog pitch didnt help them - I wonder why do Ballina get the game on their own pitch when all other games are played in County grounds -Bridgets in the Hyde last year,Killererin in Tuam this year,Moorefield in St Conleths Park,Dromard in Pearse Park etc.
Castlebar would have suited the Bridgets better than the Ballina Bogside.
Still it's all about taking your chances and having conceded two goals St B's needed at least one goal to win it but Clarke and the post denied them 3 times and that was that.
From a selfish Ros County point of view ( Or does it matter anyway..?? :-\) The 6 or 7 Bridgets lads on the panel can concentrate on County business.
However with another army trainer lined up it will be more preparation for a march to Moscow instead of training for 70 minute games of football.
Post by: spectator on November 25, 2007, 05:15:58 PM
Could have gone either way, but I think you'd have to say Ballina just about deserved it.

Their physical approach was beyond borderline at times, but that's aprt & parcel of the game. They moved the ball well at times and made the most of their chances, taking some nice points in the process.

Brigids, on the other hand, make costly mistakes in defence, including giving away a couple of soft close-in frees at a crucial stage mid-way through the second half which enabled Ballina to pull away again. Also, they just didn't make the most of their chances. Too many of their players struggled to perform on the big occasion today.

Agree with Tatler that Brigids looked the better footballing side of the two. Ballina though, had the cuteness to break up the play in the final stages of the game, preventing Brigids from getting up a head of steam which could have pipped them at the death.

Hard Luck to Mark O'Carroll hitting the crossbar, but you'd have to agree the greater experience of Ballina saw them through in the end.
Post by: Rudi on November 25, 2007, 07:17:42 PM
The better team lost. Goalkeeper making the most fundamental of errors cost Bridgets the game. As a fullback from the age of 10 the thing I was told repeatedly was not to cross my own goal, a cardinal sin for a fullback let alone a goalkeeper. Robbie kelly was caught out badly for the first goal. O Carrol & Mannion never let the heads down & O Carrol was desperately unlucky to see his last gasp shot come of the crossbar, a goal at that stage was what Bridgets deserved. The two Dolans were poor on the day, Frankie missing two handy frees & generally playing well below his capabilities.

For the Mayo boys, Liam Brady kicked well & their goalkeeper did well with an excellent one handed save to deprive G.Dolan a goal in a well worked move. D.Brady (a player I admire greatly) started well with two well taken points, but let himself down badly with unsporting ducking & diving thereafter - seriously pissed off about that. Ballina crowd also booed F.Dolan at every chance which I think is chit.

In conclusion the better football team lost, a cute hoor of a Ballina side roughed things up, fell on the ground in the tackle & won as a result of Bridgets mistakes. All that said ye are west of the Shannon so the very best of luck for the rest of the All Ireland series.
Post by: guy crouchback on November 25, 2007, 07:35:48 PM
not long back from a very happy stephenites club house. A great win for ballina and a great game to boot. St Bridget's were witout a doubt the best team that ballina have played in the connaught championship in the last 10 years.
Ballina's experience stood to them in the second half and they steadied the ship just when it looked that bridegets were on a roll. MC garrity and hughes were outstanding for ballina where as Frankie dolans first half free kicks cost st b's dearly.
the pitch was very heavy and the ref was not the best but i don't think any of his decisions affected the outcome. i just watched the match report on the news and the ballina penalty was a good decision.

Post by: guy crouchback on November 25, 2007, 07:39:53 PM
[In conclusion the better football team lost, a cute hoor of a Ballina side roughed things up, fell on the ground in the tackle & won as a result of Bridgets mistakes

pathetic
Post by: ross matt on November 25, 2007, 07:44:34 PM
It might have been an exciting finish but the quality was poor enough on the day and wont keep any other provincial champions up all night with worry. Ballina won it by using their physical advantage to win primary possession (and dodgy frees) on their heavy home sod and because their key men McGarrity & Brady (a diver now as well as a show boating media clown) stood up and were counted when it mattered. Bridgets lost it because they gifted early scores, missed costly ones themselves and their high profile players like Dolan allowed themselves to be bullied out of it. They were definitely the better footballing side but there are days when you have to win ugly and today was one of them.

Fair play to McGarritty. Top class performance and great workrate. Very humble interview afterwards too. Very deserving man of the match. Karol Mannion kicked a fine point and himself and O'Carroll got in alot of work but they were well beaten on the kickouts. O'Carroll was very unlucky at the death to see his point come off the post.

Bad result for Ross football. I would have expected Brigids experience from last year to see them through a day like today and a 2nd Connacht title in a row would boost morale in general in the county. I dont think Ballina are a patch on the successful side they had a few years back yet Brigids were too lightweight against them today. Hope for the sake of Connacht that the Stephenites progress but I suspect a pacy team on a drier sod would really expose them.

Post by: highking on November 25, 2007, 07:46:11 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 25, 2007, 02:45:24 PM
My word but this ref is some chimp. Does he even know the rules?

(1) He gave a penalty for two hops - leaving out the fact that the ball crossed the line and it should have been a goal to begin with, you can't give a penalty for a technical foul - it was either a goal or a 14m free.

Im very surprised Lone Shark that you dont know the ruling. All technical fouls conceded inside your own small square result in a penalty. If the ref felt that he hopped the ball twice, and the second hop was inside the small square, then its a penalty. He should have signalled it straight away and been more decisive, but Id say he was giving an ordinary free at first, but then got the message through his miked up link that it was a penalty by his brother doing the line, and then gave the penalty.....
Post by: mannix on November 25, 2007, 08:54:51 PM
Congrats to Ballina.
Good enough now to win the title.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 25, 2007, 09:27:15 PM
Brady was a disgrace. He did a Dida just after Brigids hit the crossbar. He wasn't hit anywhere near the mouth. He was playing to get men sent off and he succeeded with the Brigids sub.

Ballina are a good team though and will put it up to anyone. Them, Nemo and Cross are three very strong teams. Dunno who will win Leinster but I don't think they'll be up to the standard of the other three. Thought Enda Devenney looked very good for Ballina though was disappointed in Ger Brady. McGarrity is a quality footballer too. Think he's half a stone off being a top top player but very good none the less.

Brigids are a good team too.If not for the penalty the game could have had a different outcome.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 10:00:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 25, 2007, 04:49:23 PM
The bog pitch didnt help them - I wonder why do Ballina get the game on their own pitch when all other games are played in County grounds -Bridgets in the Hyde last year,Killererin in Tuam this year,Moorefield in St Conleths Park,Dromard in Pearse Park etc.
Castlebar would have suited the Bridgets better than the Ballina Bogside.

Ballina can host provincial club games at home - because they have a suitable venue, I don't know that the home grounds of any of the clubs you mentioned would have the relevant facilities to enable them to host such a game?

The bitterness from some of the Rossies is hilarious and certainly brightening up my Monday morning Rossfan and Rudi in particular - grumble grumble pitch , grumble grumble f**king Brady. Hardly a mention of how their great white hope Frankie shat himself when the chips were down once again, must be exciting having him back for the County lads ;D :D ;D :D ;D
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 10:55:47 PM
QuoteThe bitterness from some of the Rossies is hilarious and certainly brightening up my Monday morning Rossfan and Rudi in particular - grumble grumble pitch , grumble grumble f**king Brady. Hardly a mention of how their great white hope Frankie shat himself when the chips were down once again

Hardly bitterness Stephenite – a few comments on the game that most agree with  - I take it you only listened to the game.  I would have thought a few years in Australia would have helped you mature – obviously not.

Watching the game I thought Brigids looked the better footballing team but Ballina knew how to win  and that's what counts. I hope they represent Connacht proudly but I think they would need to improve a lot on today's performance as they overly relied on a few players. By the way thought Devenny played very well when he came on.

As regards Frankie Dolan he had an off day with his free taking that can happen to any player. I am no fan of his but the comment "he shat himself" is off the mark. In fact today he played a few excellent balls in to the forwards that on another day would have led to goals.

Enjoy the victory for itself Stephenite without the need to reinforce it with childish bladder about "bitterness".
Post by: blast05 on November 25, 2007, 11:07:42 PM
QuoteDavid Brady is doing some play acting. No need for it

Injury time in a Connacht final? Two points in it - course there's a need for it

Seanie, i can only presume your above comment is based on the fact that you did not see the incidents involving Brady in the last 10 minutes.
The radio obviously did not properly convey what he was up to. On about 3 seperate occassions he blatantly dived literally throwing himself up in the air after very minimal contact and then landed holding some part of his anatomy as if he needed to be strecthered off. One of these dives lead to a Bridgids lad being sent off - for what its worth, i don't think it should have even been a free in that instance as the shoulder contact came from the Bridgids lad (who was only half the size) just as Brady was playing a handpass.
Yes Brady had a good game in the footballing sense and i was happy to see Ballina win but if you and Ballina folk in general truely feel it is acceptable for your team to resort to this type of stuff in dieing minutes in order to secure victory then i certainly won't be wishing you well next February.
All in all I suppose at least we were spared the site of Brady being interviewed after the game for a change talking about all the abuse he took and how his body isn't able for it "but i'm going to push myself through the pain barrier," and "i definitely won't be back for Mayo next year unless i change my mind next week" etc. Instead we were treated to Ronan McGarritty being interviewed (the first time i have heard him being interviewed) and he came accross as a genuine decent guy - honest, humble and being genuine in takling about the result being a team effort.

Actually when i am ranting about Brady  .... a comment on his relationship with the media, particularly given his recent very central role in the book "House of Pain" - now while i love to see players engaging the media and giving informed comment and opinion, Bradys relationship, or rather the scale and tone/manner of it has been such over the last 5 or so years that he seems to have created a legacy for himself as a Mayo footballer which is vastly greater than what is actually justified. Am i the only one that thinks this ?
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 11:11:47 PM
My comments were directed at one or two of the Rossies on here - one in particular who cannot log on without taking a swipe at something or other Mayo based, be it our bog pitch or some reference to a Mayo ref in a game totally unconnected to the one played. Just having a little swipe back ;)

From the radio commentary it would appear that Brigids played the better football and most comments appear fair enough about Ballina having the cuteness or experience to win as opposed to actually playing the better football.

Improvement will most definitely be necessary if they are to progress but this team has been doing just enough in every game and that tells me that they are just a very hard team to beat - into the All Ireland series and that may no longer be enough. Time will tell I suppose.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 11:22:50 PM
Quote from: blast05 on November 25, 2007, 11:07:42 PM
QuoteDavid Brady is doing some play acting. No need for it

Seanie, i can only presume your above comment is based on the fact that you did not see the incidents involving Brady in the last 10 minutes.
The radio obviously did not properly convey what he was up to. On about 3 seperate occassions he blatantly dived literally throwing himself up in the air after very minimal contact and then landed holding some part of his anatomy as if he needed to be strecthered off. One of these dives lead to a Bridgids lad being sent off - for what its worth, i don't think it should have even been a free in that instance as the shoulder contact came from the Bridgids lad (who was only half the size) just as Brady was playing a handpass.
Yes Brady had a good game in the footballing sense and i was happy to see Ballina win but if you and Ballina folk in general truely feel it is acceptable for your team to resort to this type of stuff in dieing minutes in order to secure victory then i certainly won't be wishing you well next February.
All in all I suppose at least we were spared the site of Brady being interviewed after the game for a change talking about all the abuse he took and how his body isn't able for it "but i'm going to push myself through the pain barrier," and "i definitely won't be back for Mayo next year unless i change my mind next week" etc. Instead we were treated to Ronan McGarritty being interviewed (the first time i have heard him being interviewed) and he came accross as a genuine decent guy - honest, humble and being genuine in takling about the result being a team effort.

Actually when i am ranting about Brady  .... a comment on his relationship with the media, particularly given his recent very central role in the book "House of Pain" - now while i love to see players engaging the media and giving informed comment and opinion, Bradys relationship, or rather the scale and tone/manner of it has been such over the last 5 or so years that he seems to have created a legacy for himself as a Mayo footballer which is vastly greater than what is actually justified. Am i the only one that thinks this ?

My name isn't Seanie but am guessing it was directed at me?

You're right, the radio gave no indication as to what was going on in those last few minutes, they mentioned him being injured but there was no suggestion that it 'play acting'

I don't think anyone would condone getting another player sent off - my impression (again from listening to MWR) was that David O'Mahony was maybe a tad unlucky to get the line and that perhaps the ref was looking to even things up, Eamonn Clarke seemed to think so. But as I didn't see it, I can't really comment.

DB will always be castigated for any public utterances, and I've no doubt you will get a lot of people agreeing with your sentiments. I won't be one of them, but you certainly won't be the only Ballina man with that particular point of view.

McGarrity certainly appears to carry himself impeccably on and off the field, and given what he came through earlier in the year I think we can all agree that it's fantastic to see this guy back to his best

EDIT :  Just to clarify my remarks above about there being a need for it, injury time in a Connacht final, your side just about holding on to a very slender lead - it would be very naive of anyone to suggest that most modern players wouldn't hit the deck in order to get a free, keep possesion and stop the opposing team from getting an equalising/levelling score.
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 11:41:27 PM
The second yellow of O'Mahoney was way off camera and a long way from the play at the time so only people at the game would know what happened. Overall ref was poor but was not a factor in Brigids loss - though his failure to play advantage just before half time denied them a point.

As for Brady well if Ros have Frankie then Mayo have the bould Brady. Having siad that he had an excellent game and showed all his experience and cuteness.

I know nothing about the Ballina pitch and always hold the view that it is the same field for both teams. However you did get the impression that  a more open pitch with a firm sod would have suited Brigids better. That said they had enough chances to win regardless of the pitch.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2007, 11:50:08 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on November 25, 2007, 11:41:27 PM

As for Brady well if Ros have Frankie then Mayo have the bould Brady. Having siad that he had an excellent game and showed all his experience and cuteness.

For all his faults, DB has stood up on some of the big days in Croker and proved himself when all around him were lost. If you're comparing controversial media darling than perhaps you've got a point
Post by: imtommygunn on November 25, 2007, 11:51:48 PM
Stephenite it's fair enough doing a bit of time wasting - who wouldn't do it.

However rolling round holding your face when you were hit nowhere near it is disgusting behaviour. A man was sent off  for Brady's acting. He was an embarassment and I held no real opinion about the fella prior to this. His behaviour was really like Dida's of AC Milan. If you didn't see it trust me it was really bad.

Youse are a good team and don't need to resort to that kind of crap. That said he was the only boy at it.

The field had no bounce in it whatsoever but no-one can ever blame pitches - like Jack says same for both teams.
Post by: blast05 on November 26, 2007, 12:13:58 AM
Quotebut you certainly won't be the only Ballina man with that particular point of view

OK, just cos i inadvertently called you (Magpie) Seanie doesn't mean you have to reply with a preposterous slander like that   :P
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 12:17:22 AM
Quote from: blast05 on November 26, 2007, 12:13:58 AM
Quotebut you certainly won't be the only Ballina man with that particular point of view

OK, just cos i inadvertently called you (Magpie) Seanie doesn't mean you have to reply with a preposterous slander like that   :P

Hmmm, I'm not convinced, your writing style is very familiar
Post by: blast05 on November 26, 2007, 09:44:43 AM
Well i can asure you, i ain't from Ballina and i can't fathom where that notion has come from
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 10:14:06 AM
It should be a source of pride in the County Mayo that other counties attack David Brady as much as they do. Anyone from Galway or Roscommon that I know despise him at a very visceral level. This is good. If they're suffering, then Mayo must be prospering, and that can only be a good thing. Mayomen spend too much time tipping their caps and buying glass hammers. His refusal to do this is one of the things that makes David Brady great.

Why fellow Mayomen would attack him, however, is something of a mystery. And then I remember Brady's jaw being broken with a punch in a club game game seven or eight years ago, and then I begin to figure it out. Not much to be proud of there.

As regards the game, goalkeeping was the difference, of course. Brigid's keeper let in two goals, David Clarke saved three. If Shane Curran had played the result could have been very different. But he didn't, it isn't, and Ballina are Connacht Champions once again, making apologies to neither God, man nor the devil. More luck to them - please God they'll win it all.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2007, 10:33:36 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 10:14:06 AM
It should be a source of pride in the County Mayo that other counties attack David Brady as much as they do. Anyone from Galway or Roscommon that I know despise him at a very visceral level. This is good. If they're suffering, then Mayo must be prospering, and that can only be a good thing. Mayomen spend too much time tipping their caps and buying glass hammers. His refusal to do this is one of the things that makes David Brady great.

Why fellow Mayomen would attack him, however, is something of a mystery. And then I remember Brady's jaw being broken with a punch in a club game game seven or eight years ago, and then I begin to figure it out. Not much to be proud of there.

As regards the game, goalkeeping was the difference, of course. Brigid's keeper let in two goals, David Clarke saved three. If Shane Curran had played the result could have been very different. But he didn't, it isn't, and Ballina are Connacht Champions once again, making apologies to neither God, man nor the devil. More luck to them - please God they'll win it all.

Couldn't agree more..every Successful county has a couple of these type of players... well done Ballina and go on and win the bloody thing now. Best of luck!
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 10:43:17 AM
Fair play IolarCoisCuain - the only reason DB is so despised by some is people see his presence in the media as something that's bad. It's never affected his game and I for one appreciate that his willingness to be open to journalists is something that had bought great publicity to our club and town.

I'm sure that other players were asked to contribute to Duggans book - Ciaran Mac & Jimmy Nallen don't do media and no shame in that either,  and he'd be the only one left who would've been involved in everything from '96 to the recent defeats.

Whatever the reasons he'll pay no heed to those who castigate him for it, neither should he
Post by: Hardy on November 26, 2007, 10:50:24 AM
Lads you could drop the persecution complex. People are not commenting on Brady's media career or his personality - I'm sure he's a grand lad and kind to old ladies, etc.  They're commenting on his diving and playacting yesterday, which were as bad as I've ever seen outside of soccer. This type of shite is ruining the game and I make no apologies for pointing that out at every opportunity. Soccer is virtually unwatchable now, largely because of it and football will go the same way unless we campaign against it and point it out every time we see it, however worthy the culprit in other regards.
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 10:56:11 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 26, 2007, 10:50:24 AM
People are not commenting on Brady's media career or his personality

Quite a habit of not reading threads fully these days Hardy, Stews dismissal quandry was only last week and now this ;)

Blast made the following comment above

I am simply responding to this
Post by: full back on November 26, 2007, 10:59:02 AM
Fair play to Ballina, when things were getting tight yesterday they steadied the ship. No doubt the goalkeeping was a major difference between the 2 teams.

BTW, a f**king disgrace is the only way I can sum up David Brady yesterday >:(
He should be ashamed of himself & this sort of sh1te is destroying our game
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 26, 2007, 11:01:19 AM
Fair play to Ballina, took their chances on the day, had a little luck run their way and are worthy Connacht Champions.  In contrast, Bridgets were the architects of their own dowfall on this occassion.  In what was always going to be a tight and keenly contested game, no team can afford to miss some of the relatively kickable frees that Frankie missed yesterday.  Hitting the crossbar late in the game just summed up their day.

McGarrity was excellent yesterday and is maturing into a fine midfielder (thought he was v v green in 2004).  Clarke in goals made some crucial saves and the little corner forward also played v well.  Brady was decent throughout, although some of his time wasting tactics were blatant (one of two of the dives were shocking), he was basically trying to steer the ship home at that stage.  A lot of people dont like the chap (even in Mayo!) but in fairness to the man he has stood up to be counted on some big days for Mayo football when all around him was falling to asunder.     
Post by: ross matt on November 26, 2007, 11:12:48 AM
Excellent and well made points about Brady Blast. I dont for a moment think the overall dislike of him is peculiar to Roscommon or Galway. There are many Mayo football supporters (with the obvious exception of his biggest fan) who consider him to be an embarrassment. He is a tough, powerful campaigner who has done the business on some big days but is a limited footballer who has been found lacking against the likes of Kevin Walsh and others of that calibre many other times. His media interviews give him a level of importance way above that which his ability or "suffering" demands. Definitely the David Brent of Gaelic Football. 
Post by: orangeman on November 26, 2007, 11:14:07 AM
Sadly the goalkeeper comittted an awful howler or 2  - this was essentially the only difference between the teams !
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 11:22:25 AM
I'm ploughing a fairly lonely furrow here obviouisly, evryone in the oul sod still in bed nursing hangovers no doubt - he still continues to provoke some interesting reactions such as that from Ross Matt (David Brent, classic ;D) and as long as that is happening he's probably doing something right for the club, and sure that's all I really care about

I'll leave it at that for now - the lads will enjoy the Xmas and look forward to whoever Munster throws up.

Na Stiofanaigh abu!!
Post by: orangeman on November 26, 2007, 11:26:47 AM
Mc Garrity is great player - Ballina have a very strong team all round - Frankie Dolan was disappointing y'day - he has provoked a lot of debate about whether or not he could do a job for Roscommon next year - based on y'day's performance I can't see it.
Post by: ross matt on November 26, 2007, 11:32:13 AM
Your obsession with David (coupled with your own attention seeking posts) makes me wonder if you really are him Stephenite. Look  back over my original post on the match (which unlike you I saw) and you will see I gave Brady his due as a footballer on the day but there are more than just Rossies who have commentated here regarding his other antics. Really unclear as to why you came charging to his defence or take it all so personal.
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 11:39:10 AM
I think I've made it clear that I don't condone anyone getting another player sent off - as regards to rushing to his defence. Pointless personal attacks aside, I've simply tried to defend a fella I know from some unwarranted vitriol over the amount of coverage he gets in the media

AS regards to posting your surname - you have it highlighted for everyone to see - I've responded to your PM letting you know that I've edited it, and explained how to hide it - I posted it because I though you were maybe attention seeking.

Specifically which of my own posts have been attention seeking, out of interest??
Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 26, 2007, 12:05:53 PM
I was very dissappointed with Bridgets yesterday - thought they had a great chance of going the whole way this year. Ballina were that little bit cuter and experienced and that brought them through in the end. In regard to all the talk about David Brady on this thread, it is obvious many people dont like him(personally I am not a fan)  but he is a great servant to his club and county and you have to respect him for that.

Anyway well done to Ballina and all the best in the next game.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 26, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
I thought that David Brady's behaviour yesterday was awful and it is a sad day when you see a big strong man resorting to such low-life behaviour. Contrast his behaviour with that of both Aaron Kernan and Oisin McConville who could easily have reacted in a way that would have ensured two opponents were sent off. That they didn't meant the referee gave the benefit of the doubt twice when few would have argued with red cards.

If Cross come up against Ballina, I know who I support.

Some people have no class, simply.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2007, 12:48:07 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 10:14:06 AM

I don't think criticising the actions of David Brady Esq is peculiar to Galway or Roscommon people. Far from it in fact. Some of the worst criticism I've heard about him has been from, wait for it, Mayo people. And I'd hardly think we're suffering all that much becasue DB is still togging out these days. However when you court the media like he has done throughout his career and then indulge in the various antics he gets up to on a football field such as diving, feigning injury and throwing digs about (and receiving a few himself it has to be said) then you can expect to get some stick for it and I'm sure he's big and ugly enough to realise this himself.

As a footballer I have respect for Brady as even though he was fairly limited talent wise he usually turned up on some days when not many of his teammates did in a green and red jersey.
Post by: Jinxy on November 26, 2007, 12:55:50 PM
Brady has been at this craic for years. It also drives me mad when he refers to himself in the 3rd person. "This isn't about David Brady" etc. etc.
Post by: Ryano on November 26, 2007, 01:26:53 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 26, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
I thought that David Brady's behaviour yesterday was awful and it is a sad day when you see a big strong man resorting to such low-life behaviour. Contrast his behaviour with that of both Aaron Kernan and Oisin McConville who could easily have reacted in a way that would have ensured two opponents were sent off. That they didn't meant the referee gave the benefit of the doubt twice when few would have argued with red cards.

If Cross come up against Ballina, I know who I support.

Some people have no class, simply.

Fully agree Sam. McConville no matter what people's opinion of him should be lauded for his behaviour towards the end of the game. (i did not see the other incident). He could have easily stayed down and got the other lad in a lot more bother. There was only the kick of a ball between them at the end and reducing St Gauls by a player would have certainly been a huge advantage and upset the Gauls players. Contrast it with that clown David Brady who repeatedly fell down and rolled about feigning injury and succeeded in having a player sent off. Give him a red nose and over sized shoes and the image is complete....

On another note congrats to Ronan McGarrity. He is a credit to himself and his club to come back from his illness and be able to turn out a MOTM performance like that. He came across so well too (for a Mayo Man ;)) on the tv afterwards. An inspiration to all.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 01:36:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2007, 12:48:07 PM
Some of the worst criticism I've heard about him has been from, wait for it, Mayo people.

The worst critics of any Mayo player are Mayo people Galway Bay Boy. Take a look at the threads after any Mayo loss and you'll see every damn one of them is both the most gifted player to ever lace a boot and hopeless, heartless son of a bitch ratbastard that shamed the proud old colours of the heather county, all at the same time. I wouldn't be placing too much store in that.  ;D

And I still stand over what I said earlier - there is something about David Brady that especially gets on the goat of the Rosserroos and the Heron Chokers. The Rossies especially - welcome Ryano, how have you been? ;)
Post by: prewtna on November 26, 2007, 01:41:51 PM
attempting to rationalise david brady.

first of all im not a defender of david brady but it has to be said that he did what he felt was necessary to win the game.  brigids were coming back towards the end and brady probably felt the momentum was with them and this had to be stopped. so, waste a bit of time, have a chat with the worms under the grass, take a dive - call it what you want - he disrupted brigids a lot and probably saved ballina. it was a win at all costs attitude he had. he knew it would make him look like a gimp but winning is winning. there wont be too many ballina people saying anything bad about him today!

ballina were very lucky yesterday and i dont think they are a better team then brigids. the young keeper for brigids - what was he at crossing his own goalmouth?! they outscored ballina 12 scores to 10. they missed a lot of scorable chances and had the ros men brought their shooting boots with them i believe they would have kicked ballina out the gate. their forwards seemed to have the beating of the ballina backs. ballina can thank clarke for his heroics in goals. had brigids regular keeper been playing the result would have been much different.
Post by: Hardy on November 26, 2007, 02:03:00 PM
Quote from: stephenite on November 26, 2007, 10:56:11 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 26, 2007, 10:50:24 AM
People are not commenting on Brady's media career or his personality

Quite a habit of not reading threads fully these days Hardy, Stews dismissal quandry was only last week and now this ;)

Blast made the following comment above

Actually when i am ranting about Brady  .... a comment on his relationship with the media, particularly given his recent very central role in the book "House of Pain" - now while i love to see players engaging the media and giving informed comment and opinion, Bradys relationship, or rather the scale and tone/manner of it has been such over the last 5 or so years that he seems to have created a legacy for himself as a Mayo footballer which is vastly greater than what is actually justified. Am i the only one that thinks this ?

I am simply responding to this

Fair enough. I'll have to get a secretary. Consider the first two sentences and the first three words of the third sentence of my previous post deleted.
Post by: Ryano on November 26, 2007, 05:42:34 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 01:36:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2007, 12:48:07 PM
Some of the worst criticism I've heard about him has been from, wait for it, Mayo people.
And I still stand over what I said earlier - there is something about David Brady that especially gets on the goat of the Rosserroos and the Heron Chokers. The Rossies especially - welcome Ryano, how have you been? ;)

Not bad up until yesterday actually ICC. The red and green mist decended then and it's all been a bit of a haze over the last 24 hours ;D

I have never particularly liked David Brady, (and it's nothing to do with him being a Mayo man btw) i think he is just a hatchet man to make up for his lack of footballing ability and of course that tv interview after the club AI did not help. I remember him laying out Seamie O'Neill in the Hyde back in 2002/2003?? not sure of exact year. The ball was cleared and gone up the field by Mayo and O'Neill (who had been having a pretty good game and was just 19/20 years of age) was jogging back out to midfield. The bould David came running up from behind and to O'Neill's right hand side and punched him on the jaw. It was the most cowardly thing i have ever seen and i have never liked him since. If he had come face onto O'Neill and given him a chance to defended himself then you might be able to say something for him. But from behind and to a then young fella of 19 was just pathetic and sums him up really. A thug of limited abilities. Its a pity as these are the sorts of things he will be remembered for and not the games where he has played well or made a difference such as the AI semi against Dublin.
Post by: Rossfan on November 26, 2007, 07:56:38 PM
I think it's fair to say that the most vociferous complaints about Brady over the last 5 or 6 pages have been by non Rosfolk and non Galway folk.
Enuf said.
Now get rid of the bags a spuds off ye're showlders and try to think like winners for a change.
Oh and cheer up -no Kerry team left  ;)
Post by: Mano on November 28, 2007, 01:21:39 PM
We can add this Sligo fan to the dislike David Brady club also.

Looks like this could be "probably his last" year though ;)

Ballina and Mayo talisman David Brady admits winning the Connacht title in "probably his last" year makes the success all that bit sweeter.

The Mayo kingpins defeated defending Connacht champions St.Brigid's on Sunday in the Connacht final and Brady is elated with the sides achievement. The midfielder also had a special mention for his colleague Ronan McGarrity.

"It's fantastic, it's a great feeling and all the more so because it's probably my last one," explained Brady.

"You look at Ronan McGarrity and all that he has been through this year, it's amazing. It was a team effort. We have battled-we battled through there and, at the end of the day, we won the Connacht title.

"After losing at the semi-final stage last year we were hurt and we were just looking for a Connacht title, that's what we're happy with now," concluded Brady

Post by: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 03:15:51 PM
I have been trying to come with an anagram of David Brady and with the Milan keeper in mind so far I've got v bad Dida but I don't know what to do with the r and the y. Pity he didn't spell his name Bradey.
Post by: Mano on November 28, 2007, 03:26:24 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 03:15:51 PM
I have been trying to come with an anagram of David Brady and with the Milan keeper in mind so far I've got v bad Dida but I don't know what to do with the r and the y. Pity he didn't spell his name Bradey.

How about vry bad dida-a different variant of very
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 28, 2007, 08:42:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 28, 2007, 05:42:38 PM
QuoteI have been trying to come with an anagram of David Brady
Why?

Just saw the obvious link to Dida in Brady's first name and some of his recent behaviour reminded me of the Milan keeper.  The real anagram was an afterthought.
Post by: thefont on November 29, 2007, 06:13:30 PM
pretty hilarious the sour grapes from the rossy lads, we bet you even with an enniscrone ref letting persistent fouling  go on the Ballina man in possession and sending of O'Mahoney for no apparent reason, while railroading Ballina for things like over carrying on numerous occasions, our forward line was sluggish but we still had enough to win it with 14, enough said.
RE the DB abuse I'd say the big man has heard worse abuse but lads come on a bit of persepective. Brigids clearly went into the game with a policy of cute hoorism i.e diving and feigning injury to get the Ballina man booked, and it obviously worked by getting O'Mahoney sent off, not enough to save ye unfortunately. Before you go back up to the rarefied atmosphere of the  high moral ground have a look at the TG4 web tv coverage: i'll pick out one incident of many, saffron sam and all the other neutrals take note. Go to 35 min 40 sec on the video, pat harte hits one  bridget's man a shoulder just as he hand passes the ball, then Eanna Casey hits a guy not shoulder to shoulder, fouling him. Both bridgets men are seen writhing in agony champions league style on the ground in an effort to get their men booked, in the case of the former they are successful with Harte picking up a yellow, both Bridgets men miraculously recover to play the rest of the game. Sound familiar DB knockers? Ask yourself if you're a Ballina player seeing this go on what are you thinking? you;re thinking this ref is going to be influenced by people feigning injury, DB used his experience at the end to win the game, end of story. What he did happens in every club and on every county team, get off your high horses people...the problem was not with DB but with an incompetent ref. Would Rossies who castigated DB for his end of game diving care to comment on their own lads behaviour? Was that also a disgrace to the GAA etc etc? Maybe we were just too 'physical' or whatever other ridiculous excuse you can come with, take your beatin like men in future, nothing brings more disgrace on the GAA then whinging, abusive hurlers on the ditch.
Post by: spectator on November 29, 2007, 06:39:08 PM
Quote from: thefont on November 29, 2007, 06:13:30 PM

nothing brings more disgrace on the GAA then whinging, abusive hurlers on the ditch.

And nothing comes more naturally to Ballina folk than picking up a fishing rod, attaching their bait to the hook and ... erm ... going fishing :D ;D ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2007, 08:41:05 PM
Quote from: thefont on November 29, 2007, 06:13:30 PM
pretty hilarious the sour grapes from the rossy lads, we bet you even with an enniscrone ref letting persistent fouling  go on the Ballina man in possession and sending of O'Mahoney for no apparent reason, while railroading Ballina for things like over carrying on numerous occasions, our forward line was sluggish but we still had enough to win it with 14, enough said.
RE the DB abuse I'd say the big man has heard worse abuse but lads come on a bit of persepective. Brigids clearly went into the game with a policy of cute hoorism i.e diving and feigning injury to get the Ballina man booked, and it obviously worked by getting O'Mahoney sent off, not enough to save ye unfortunately. Before you go back up to the rarefied atmosphere of the  high moral ground have a look at the TG4 web tv coverage: i'll pick out one incident of many, saffron sam and all the other neutrals take note. Go to 35 min 40 sec on the video, pat harte hits one  bridget's man a shoulder just as he hand passes the ball, then Eanna Casey hits a guy not shoulder to shoulder, fouling him. Both bridgets men are seen writhing in agony champions league style on the ground in an effort to get their men booked, in the case of the former they are successful with Harte picking up a yellow, both Bridgets men miraculously recover to play the rest of the game. Sound familiar DB knockers? Ask yourself if you're a Ballina player seeing this go on what are you thinking? you;re thinking this ref is going to be influenced by people feigning injury, DB used his experience at the end to win the game, end of story. What he did happens in every club and on every county team, get off your high horses people...the problem was not with DB but with an incompetent ref. Would Rossies who castigated DB for his end of game diving care to comment on their own lads behaviour? Was that also a disgrace to the GAA etc etc? Maybe we were just too 'physical' or whatever other ridiculous excuse you can come with, take your beatin like men in future, nothing brings more disgrace on the GAA then whinging, abusive hurlers on the ditch.

How's it going David? ;D
Post by: stephenite on November 29, 2007, 09:55:58 PM
Weclome to the Board my friend the font - the only important thing to note at the end of it all is the result, rise above the rest of the begrudgers, naysayers and inbreds, we're better than them ;)

Actaully, if you want some decent, informed logical opinions on the game from Roscommon folk, head over to Stolen Sheep - that's where the real Rossies appear to hang out and no mass hysteria there - calm sensible comment that is well thought out. To the extent that my opinion of Roscommon people might actually change - it's a great site
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2007, 10:31:08 PM
Very sensible posters indeed on S/Sheep -- except for Micky 51 and two others of the red and green ilk.
Still if ye want to improve yereselves - we should do our best to help those less fortunate than ourselves. :D
Post by: darbyo on November 30, 2007, 10:49:34 PM
Haven't read all the posts on this thread but as a neutral DB left himself down badly. And like so many other threads people aren't willing to accept that their own players are at fault, there is no excuse for what DB did. Until we are mature enough to say ' yeah our lad made a meal of it' and accept he was wrong then the game of football is destined to go the way of soccer.
Post by: Frank Casey on November 30, 2007, 11:10:34 PM
Quote from: darbyo on November 30, 2007, 10:49:34 PM
Haven't read all the posts on this thread but as a neutral DB left himself down badly. And like so many other threads people aren't willing to accept that their own players are at fault, there is no excuse for what DB did. Until we are mature enough to say ' yeah our lad made a meal of it' and accept he was wrong then the game of football is destined to go the way of soccer.

Well said. There's a society thing about this. We as a nation must take responsibility for when we err - even in the heat of battle. If we can't be honest then are we any better that a certain portugese international who got his clubmate sent off in an international world cup match last year and acknowledged it with a wink. No thanks please.
Post by: mannix on December 01, 2007, 09:09:28 AM
Its a case of sore losers from st brigids. If they were able to contain db and co they would have.Remember mcgarrity,brady and harte have been in the biggest game in the country twice in the last few years, ross are happy with a good showing or a qualifier in Croke Park, Mayos lads are not,even if it has eluded them.
Ross would love to have any of the ballina lads on their side.
DB INCLUDED.
Post by: Frank Casey on December 01, 2007, 09:52:18 AM
Quote from: mannix on December 01, 2007, 09:09:28 AM
mcgarrity,brady and harte have been in the biggest game in the country twice in the last few years

I can't remember them doing much while there.
Post by: spectator on December 01, 2007, 01:53:11 PM
Quote from: stephenite on November 29, 2007, 09:55:58 PM

Actaully, if you want some decent, informed logical opinions on the game from Roscommon folk, head over to Stolen Sheep - calm sensible comment that is well thought out. To the extent that my opinion of Roscommon people might actually change - it's a great site

Janey Mac, who'd ever have thought that Mayo fans would take so well to stolen sheep.

One or two have even seen the light already ;)
Post by: Rossfan on December 01, 2007, 03:10:30 PM
Quote from: mannix on December 01, 2007, 09:09:28 AM
Its a case of sore losers from st brigids.

EEJIT.
Most of the people givin out about Brady are not from Ros or Brigid's.
And as the Kerry chap said - I don't think ye should be going on about ye're appearances in Croke Park in Sept 04 or 06. ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 01, 2007, 06:04:37 PM
Where were the Rossies in Sept 04 and 06? ::)
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on December 01, 2007, 06:13:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on December 01, 2007, 06:04:37 PM
Where were the Rossies in Sept 04 and 06? ::)

In Croke Park too on one of those occasions ;)
Post by: Rossfan on December 02, 2007, 08:50:28 PM
We were indeed and we of course did NOT lose to Kerry... ;) :D
Post by: From the Bunker on December 02, 2007, 11:26:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 02, 2007, 08:50:28 PM
We were indeed and we of course did NOT lose to Kerry... ;) :D

When is the last time anyone lost to Kerry in an AI Final other than at Senior Grade?