GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 11:12:03 AM

Title: Gambling left Oisin Mc Conville with debts of £100,000
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 11:12:03 AM
McConville talks of gambling hell 

Oisin McConville has been helped by Gamblers Anonymous 
Armagh gaelic football star Oisin McConville has spoken of his gambling addiction which left him with debts of more than £100,000.
In an exclusive interview with BBC Sport NI, McConville revealed that the problem "spiralled out of control" after Armagh's 2002 All-Ireland win.

"There was one day when I'd lost maybe £10,000," said the Crossmaglen man.

"I went out to the car and gathered together maybe £8 and went back (to the shop) and had another bet."

With no money left after that day's betting, McConville has barely enough fuel left in his car to take him home.

"When I was was driving home, the diesel light was on my car and I almost didn't have enough to get home.

"At that point, I just said to myself:'I can't go on like this any more'."

McConville spoke to BBC Northern Ireland journalist Denise Watson in advance of the publication of his autobiography entitled 'The Gambler' in November.

My life was totally unmanageable

Oisin McConville

The book will detail the former All Star's five-year battle against his addiction and subsequent rehabilitation.

McConville told the BBC that he had been "eaten up" by his gambling problem.

"I was trying to portray to the general public that everything was brilliant, that I was playing great football and that it was great to be in the limelight.

"It was probably late 2002 and 2003 that the whole thing really started to spiral out of control.

"But the first thing you hear when you go to Gamblers Anonymous is the way your life has become uncontrollable due to gambling.

"That was exactly what it had done. My life was totally unmanageable.

"It had taken me from one of the highest points of my life to just rock-bottom."

McConville acknowledged that he felt "humiliated" by his situation.

"I had no pride left, no self-esteem."

With gambling it is inside. Generally speaking nobody know that it's happening

Oisin McConville

The footballer gambled on "horses, poker games - really anything that moved" before his family's intervention started him on the road to rehabilitation.

"They were very good. They got me to spend three months in a place in Galway and that was where it all started for me.

"People may see it as three months of your life wasted but to be honest, it was the best three months I ever spent in my life."

McConville says that he knows that there are many people who have become mired in exactly the same predicament that he found himself.

"They need to come forward and admit it.

"Alcoholism you can see because you may see something stumbling out of a pub.

"With gambling it is inside. Generally speaking nobody know that it's happening."

McConville believes that sporting organisations such as the GAA should be aware of the problem.

"The GAA maybe needs to go out into the clubs and the counties and say that if there is a problem that we maybe have somebody here who can help."

Title: Re: Gambling left Oisin Mc Conville with debts of £100,000
Post by: Gnevin on September 18, 2007, 11:39:07 AM
He should of stopped betting on Armagh to win sam 3 years ago  ;D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 11:43:09 AM
Will someone please think of the children and ban him from the gaa! Looks like another money raising initiative, at least its an original one for the gaa.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 18, 2007, 11:45:29 AM
Just wondering was this common knowledge ? I hope he comes through his addication he did well to play at at with debts of £100,000.00
Post by: full back on September 18, 2007, 11:46:03 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 11:43:09 AM
Will someone please think of the children and ban him from the gaa!

WTF?
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 11:47:04 AM
I would be a bit wary of stories like this preceeding an autobiography, of course it may well be true but he may also be trying to maximise the selling potential of his book.
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 18, 2007, 11:47:59 AM
Been on the BBC NI website and compared their coverage of this to their report on the all-ireland. Needless to say anything negative about the GAA gets twice the column and headlne, as well as a video report (none for all-ireland day of course). The BBC sports department are disgraceful in their bias and balls to their license fee
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 11:49:24 AM
I was joking full back for god sake. If he wasnt trying to sell a book dont think he'd be that keep to let everyone know about it. Wonder has it been exaggerated - £100,000 seems like a fair amount.
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 11:50:20 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 18, 2007, 11:47:59 AM
Been on the BBC NI website and compared their coverage of this to their report on the all-ireland. Needless to say anything negative about the GAA gets twice the column and headlne, as well as a video report (none for all-ireland day of course). The BBC sports department are disgraceful in their bias and balls to their license fee

Do you not think Mc Conville went to them with this story, as he has an autobiography coming out????
Post by: longball on September 18, 2007, 11:51:51 AM
think his book wud be an interesting read....

-----------------------------------------------------
Spreading rumors about players personal lives will not be accepted on this board. It is inappropriate.

mod1
Post by: Fear Boirche on September 18, 2007, 11:54:30 AM
Good point whiskeysteve, but it seems Oisin has given his full co-operation, ie the exclusive interview with Denise Watson. I agree that the BBC's coverage of GAA needs to radically improve, but I think in this case the real issue is that Oisin got himself into the situation he did. The three months he spent in Galway was well covered up as none of the papers picked up on it. Was the line put out that he was injured? Has he really got a recurring back problem or is this another cover story? Knowing the family, and his mother in particular, he is very lucky to have such help when he needed it. Of course, the clue is in the title of the his book. Also, I wonder did he ever have a flutter on himself to score the first goal, as a certain Down footballer reportedly does before every Championship match.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 18, 2007, 11:56:30 AM
Whatever about his gambling being common knowledge.....I would seriously consider removing your last post there Longball....I wouldn't be a fan of Oisín's but theres no place for that shite on here.
Post by: full back on September 18, 2007, 12:00:18 PM
Well done mod
Bollix
Post by: Jinxy on September 18, 2007, 12:01:15 PM
Was there nowhere nearby he could get some cheap diesel? :o
Post by: Maximus Marillius on September 18, 2007, 12:01:49 PM
Have to say i knew about this a while back and fortunately for Oisin he has it all sorted, he deserves alot of credit for having the strenght to fight the problem. Another great line that will shock people in the book is and I am not quoting, its goes someting like...the last time i spoke to Joe was two years ago....something like it :o :o :o

should be interesting
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 18, 2007, 12:12:45 PM
Quote from: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 11:50:20 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 18, 2007, 11:47:59 AM

Do you not think Mc Conville went to them with this story, as he has an autobiography coming out????

Aye fair enough but look at their website coverage of the biggest day in Irish sport! Now check out their football column on 'Blues face Reds in Shield Clash'. thats right its longer. How many people will be there to cheer on this shield clash - 400?.

I know this is nothing to do with Oisin and the gambling but it is shocking bias - you can only conclude that they are purposefully ignoring the popularity of the GAA because those in certain postions of the BBC are anti-gaa.

Couple this with the full TV report of the fermanagh fella who recieved sectarian abuse on the pitch AND the incredible amount of money and time ploughed into snaring Gerard Cavlan - and you have an anti-gaa agenda in the BBC
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 12:21:57 PM
Oisin must have been betting on Armagh - had bet on Crossmaglen all the time, he'd be sitting with a decent profit at this stage -

BBC are a bundle of arseholes - they love to hear stories about GAA players falling from grace.
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 12:24:01 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 12:21:57 PM
Oisin must have been betting on Armagh - had bet on Crossmaglen all the time, he'd be sitting with a decent profit at this stage -

BBC are a bundle of arseholes - they love to hear stories about GAA players falling from grace.

How many times, he sought out the BBC, mutually beneficial as they say.......
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 12:31:18 PM
Quote from: Fear Boirche on September 18, 2007, 11:54:30 AM
Good point whiskeysteve, but it seems Oisin has given his full co-operation, ie the exclusive interview with Denise Watson. I agree that the BBC's coverage of GAA needs to radically improve, but I think in this case the real issue is that Oisin got himself into the situation he did. The three months he spent in Galway was well covered up as none of the papers picked up on it. Was the line put out that he was injured? Has he really got a recurring back problem or is this another cover story? Knowing the family, and his mother in particular, he is very lucky to have such help when he needed it. Of course, the clue is in the title of the his book. Also, I wonder did he ever have a flutter on himself to score the first goal, as a certain Down footballer reportedly does before every Championship match.

He definately has a back injury, when he gets out of the car sometimes he puts his hand on the ground getting out. He already knows that he is going to have back/arthritic problems in later life.

He didn't engage in bets on himself, and I would be fairly sure of this.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 12:32:04 PM
I was glad to see Gerard Cavlan pointing out the bias of the bcc's coverage in realtion to the gaa and trying to over emphasis his position as a gaa player and how they ignore the sporting side of the gaa. Bit disappointed that McConville has turned to the bbc to try and sell the story - it was obvious theyd use it as another negative story.
Post by: zoyler on September 18, 2007, 12:33:47 PM
Of course we would all like more coverage frrom the BBC but lets look at the facts and not just our own predjuices.  The BBC spending is controlled by a budget which they spend as best they can.  They lost out on the GAA Champioship having previously given it good coverage.  Covering NI soccer is dirt cheap ergo it gets plenty of coverage.  
Cavlan was not 'snared' - he dug a great big hole for himself and then jumped in.  Clearly McConville has cooperated mybe even arranged the BBC interview which seems to me to be good public service broadcasting highlighting a large social problem not just convined to the GAA.  I understand that they have bookies in loyalist areas too!
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 12:37:41 PM
I wonder what else he'll admit to in this book
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 12:41:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 12:37:41 PM
I wonder what else he'll admit to in this book

You cant leave us hanging like that, elaborate POG !!
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 12:42:57 PM
Not saying anything, just wondering what else he might want to admit to.
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 12:43:57 PM
Do you know something we don't pints ???????
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
Not necessarily, but he'd like you to think so
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 12:44:58 PM
Will the book receipts go towards the Armagh training fund ? Or the overdraft ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 12:46:08 PM
Fullback why do you keep posting after me and then deleting it?
Post by: rrhf on September 18, 2007, 12:53:11 PM
Fair play to Oisin, Im glad he came through his own troubles - he contributed a lot to Ulster football and if he produces a warts and all book he'll probably stand over it unlike certain Kerry managers.   
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 12:55:58 PM
As Armagh and Ulster's most prolific forward of all time, he deserves our respect, and not the begrudgery of his neighbours.
Post by: rrhf on September 18, 2007, 12:59:29 PM
agreed
Post by: uselessfootballer on September 18, 2007, 01:01:04 PM
Anyone who admits to and then takes action to combat their addiction deserves nothing but credit.

Hopefully some of the media attention that will undoubtably surround the launch of his book will serve to highlight the very real problems that compulsive gambling and the resulting behaviours causes for thousands of individuals and their families in this country.

Fair play to you Oisin, one day at a time.
Post by: armaghniac on September 18, 2007, 01:01:21 PM
Here you have a situation where there was no discussion of Oisin and gambling on this board although many like Marillius on the board, half of Cross, the Armagh setup and people in Cavan, Galway and elsewhere had a good idea about it. On the other hand some people continue spread other rumours which people like BC had refuted in the past. Not only the BBC are willing to put a bad look on things.
Post by: bingobus on September 18, 2007, 01:02:41 PM
It was well known round the border area that he was a big gambler and not very good at it. He was barred from most bookie shops round Blayney, Monaghan Town etc after running up a few debts with them at the time. Often seen him about Carrick in a few of the shops but that was prob 2/3 years back.

Funny story about Oisin was a number of years back in was drinking in Blayney and had quite a few on board. Was drinking in a pub in Blayney near the traffic liights and Peter Duffy (Faughs player and Ex-county Monaghan player) was drinking in the same pub. Oisin (with a lot of soup on board) decdided he could beat Peter in a sprint (Peter was a bit of speed merchant) and repeatedly challenged Pip to a sprint up the street, firstly for money but his offer was politely declined. Eventually Pip gave in and it was agreed that they'd race from the traffic lights (as the lights turned green) down to Taveys at botton of town. Taveys pub was rang and told to judge the winner and the two pubs emptied out onto the street on a Sunday evening in Blayney.

Both "Sprinters" lined up, hunched on the line at the lights waiting for Green. Lights went green, McConville was gone like a hare flying up the street. Pip calmly turned, walked back into the pub and drank his pint much to the amusement of the gathered crowd. McConville sprinted to Taveys, thinking he had stuffed Peter the Great  ;D He later challenged Pip to more than a sprint but nothing happened.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on September 18, 2007, 01:05:12 PM
Fair play to Oisin is right in my opinion. Firstly, it takes a big man to admit his problem so this took a bit of guts on his part.

On the book, I respect his honesty (or warts and all approach as you say rrhf)
He did not go out to release a glossy book blowing his own trumpet about achievements on the field solely. The rough is there with the smooth.

Pints, what do you mean what else he might admit to? Like what?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 01:26:18 PM
Come on its pretty obvious he's trying to sell a book, announcing this was always going to get coverage. Id have my doubts about the amount of debts in question - the bookies arent thick and neither are bank managers!
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 01:27:48 PM
Dreamer - you're probably right about the figure - £ 100k is probably a huge exageration - probably more like £ 10k -
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 01:28:13 PM
Would he have admitted to a gambling problem if he did not have a book to promote?
Post by: illdecide on September 18, 2007, 01:30:26 PM
Well its like this lads everyone has a skelton or 2 in their closets so don't be so quick to condem the man, i personally don't know him so i can't destroy the fella but a lot of you guys are quick to throw the first stone. there's no doubting that a lot of the stories are true but the fella had a problem and it's good to know he got sorted. My club would be one of Cross's biggest rivals so there is no favouritism there.
Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 01:35:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 01:27:48 PM
Dreamer - you're probably right about the figure - £ 100k is probably a huge exageration - probably more like £ 10k -

Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 01:49:55 PM

I'm having hard tme believeing £100k covered it.

He didn't pay it back
Post by: Hereiam on September 18, 2007, 01:53:44 PM
Does anyone think that he could have kicked a few wides in games to lose them to win a couple of pound. Just a thought.
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 01:56:02 PM
I don't think so - but it HAS been known to have happened.
Post by: longball on September 18, 2007, 02:00:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 18, 2007, 01:56:02 PM
I don't think so - but it HAS been known to have happened.

:-\ sad but true
Post by: Spiritof98 on September 18, 2007, 02:44:47 PM
Obviously a plug for the book, but why write a book if you don't want to sell it. Fair play to the lad, hope he has it sorted, was drinking in his company after the 2002 ulster final, I picked a 16/1 winner in the 1st race and he put £50 on every horse I fancied after that, lost a clean fortune.
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 02:47:58 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 01:49:55 PM

He didn't pay it back

Both untrue Uladh, it was the guts of 100k, and he doesn't have any outstanding debts.
Post by: Spiritof98 on September 18, 2007, 02:53:05 PM
out of interest what would he be taking in for the Lucozade Sport craic and the Jiggs and reels thing. That would have covered a bit of it, although rumours that Hugh and the boys helped cover him as long as he played for the county for a few more years.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 18, 2007, 02:58:40 PM
Uladh, if you know he didn't pay it back fair enough, if you don't shut your f**king mouth you half arsed cnut.  I am sick sore and tired of your snide little comments about anything Cross.  You have a serious f**king chip on your shoulder that must stem from looking at your navel all you f**king life.

The lad has had his problems in the past but he has learned to deal with it.  If we all can sit up in our ivory towers and castigate people we must live fantastic lives.  No wonder you and you ilk never won anything, nothing but a shower of begruding, petty minded idiots who love to see people squirm.

Post by: gerry on September 18, 2007, 02:59:34 PM
Another day and another gaa hammering in the press, no doubt
Post by: downtown on September 18, 2007, 03:18:33 PM
When is he book released?
Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 03:35:37 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 02:47:58 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 01:49:55 PM

He didn't pay it back

Both untrue Uladh, it was the guts of 100k, and he doesn't have any outstanding debts.

i'm not saying the money wasn't repaid, i'm saying he didn't repay it.

bc - get off your f**king high horse. i've never discussde oisin's well known gambling problems on here or the numerous other personal traits i may know of concerning other footballers. hoever, he has decided to try to make money from his story by writing a book and releasing promotional interviews. in that case the full story is fair game.
classy post by the way.
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 03:38:58 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 03:35:37 PM

i've never discussde oisin's well known gambling problems on here or the numerous other personal traits i may know of concerning other footballers

That makes you a real gent sir.

Quote from: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 03:35:37 PM

i'm not saying the money wasn't repaid, i'm saying he didn't repay it.

And what business is that of yours?
Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 03:40:27 PM

Are you for real?

he's writing a book about it!!!!
Post by: thebandit on September 18, 2007, 03:43:29 PM
How can you say for sure?

What makes you such an authority?

They are dangerous things to say when you aren't 100% sure what you are talking about.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on September 18, 2007, 03:45:49 PM
Uladh....by reading BC post, I think he would beat ye stupid at the minute if he could get hold of ye :D
Post by: The Iceman on September 18, 2007, 03:48:11 PM
i think the gambling was well known around armagh before he made a public statement on it.  I don't believe 100K is exaggerated either - think about it, whats 100K if you are gambling in thousands? All the serious guys gamble in thousands about Armagh and make sure everyone knows about it, the Maccari's and Gaffneys of this world - only thing is they have the money to lose.

Fair play he admitted it - good marketing tactic - will definitely sell a few more books - and seeing as he hasn't really been paid for his past county efforts then good luck to him making profit from his career anyway he can.
Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 03:48:47 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on September 18, 2007, 03:45:49 PM
Uladh....by reading BC post, I think he would beat ye stupid at the minute if he could get hold of ye :D

who says you can't type emotions?
Post by: ziggysego on September 18, 2007, 04:08:35 PM
Gambling is an illness, just like alcoholism or something more physical.

Oisin has shown great courage in owning up to this illness, as it is mostly look upon as a fault in the victim.

The fact that has seeked help and appears to have overcome this affliction is fantastic and shows the strenght in his character. He has wrote about it in his book, not hiding the full facts. This could be used as encouragement for other people suffering from Gambling.

Now I haven't seen the BBC's reporting on this, so I don't know what view they have taken, but I can only imagine this can be a good thing. There would be a certain percentage of the population that would have no wish to read Oisin's book, for one reason and another, so the BBC highlighting this will bring it to a wider audience.

Since Oisin has gone to the BBC about this, I'm sure he'll have some say in the editing process.

So I say Congratulation Oisin.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 18, 2007, 04:20:48 PM
Uladh, I will not get off my high horse about this.  You typed that Oisin didn't pay it back and implied that it was in excess of £100k.  Over the years you and a number of other posters have put up rumours, innuendo and shite talk as fact on this board.  I am sick and tired of the constant sniping about what players do/what they are/what the club does etc.

If you believe it is in excess of £100k how do you know?

If you believe he didn't repay it and someone else did, how do you know? 

Has it come out of your bank account?

You have a twisted mentality and think that the craic around the bar at the Carrickdale is gospel,  "i got it from a good source" attitude.

I know he has been my friend for many years, but I will always criticise him if it is warranted.  My criticism and commentary though will not be based on the opinions of people who may have agendas in what they are saying, and you, sir, always have an agenda in what you type.  Unlike you I do not hide who I am, people on this board from Armagh and further know my identity and I have no issue who does.  You know my identity and players from Cross know who I am on here, because trust me a lot of people you mightened realise check this place out.  You can fight your little anonymous battle behind the safety of you Dell computer, I wouldn't waste my time in giving you a thumping like max said I would!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 04:40:56 PM
People might bet in thousands but they usually have the money in the 1st place to cover the bet. I cant see the bookies being stupid enough to let 1 person build up a £100,000 worth of debt with them. I also cant see the banks letting any individual build up such debts over a short space of time with no business plan etc. Its hard to fool a bookie and even harder to fool a bank manager.
Post by: 2ams on September 18, 2007, 06:13:48 PM
Did he ever put several thousand on cannonball?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 06:22:06 PM
KB
QuotePints, what do you mean what else he might admit to? Like what?
I can't say what as the admin will delete it and BC will come on roaring and shouting and accusing me of having a chip on my shoulder (but he'll probably do that anyway).
I think oisin deserves great credit for facing his addiction problem and speaking about it, it cant have been easy - book or no book.
However, there are many locals who could tell you a lot of about oisin and I was just wondering if it'll all be in the book.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 06:33:29 PM
The main headline on the bbc news - they are taking the piss now! Their focus on anything negative in the gaa while ignoring the positives is a disgrace. I remember on season ticket a few years ago at the height of ulster teams success gaelic was ignored on show. Then one week they did a big feature on how the crowds at the railway cup had disappeared and sent camera's to somewhere like Limercik to show that nobody was attending the games.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 06:36:16 PM
unreal
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 06:46:49 PM
Its about time the GAA tackled the BBC and their coverage of gaelic games. The fact that they dont broadcast the games but any time they find a negative story plant it as the main news headline isnt on.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 06:57:18 PM
QuoteMcConville believes that sporting organisations such as the GAA should be aware of the problem.

"The GAA maybe needs to go out into the clubs and the counties and say that if there is a problem that we maybe have somebody here who can help."

Something I don't understand, why is this a gaa problem?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 18, 2007, 07:05:51 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 18, 2007, 07:03:30 PM
Its no more a GAA problem than dangerous dogs, but he is another high profile GAA player in the media spotlight and it gives the BBC another chance to get a dig at the GAA.

But no one was asking the gaa to go around and help people who were watcing dog fighting.
Post by: ludermor on September 18, 2007, 07:10:28 PM
If he was 100K in debt just how did he pay it off? I not stirring but surely the question has to be asked, it not likely tha the got lucky on the horses so the cash must have come from somewhere.
I dont know why people are tearing into the BBC on this issue (other issues fair enough), he is giving the interview , he is advertising the book.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 07:26:05 PM
My arguement with the bbc doesnt relate to sympathy with McConville - he asked for the coverage. My problem was that they had it as the main headline in the news. Come on that was way over the top and again show's the lengths they will go to to portray the gaa in a negative light. If they were interested enough in the gaa to show its games and give it a bit of coverage in their sports section then I could understand the news coverage. However they basically said their wasnt enough interest in the gaa to broadcast it, so how can their be enough interest for it to be the main news headline when one of its stars has a gambling problem.
Post by: stew on September 18, 2007, 07:26:13 PM
Uladh you are out of order on this thread, way out of order, your hatred of all things Cross seems to have gotten the better of you. ::)
I hope Oisin continues toget the help he needs and that he can beat this horrific disease.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 08:37:38 PM
If Gerard Cavlan claims to have been addicted to dog fighting and says he had a "disease" will you lads support him then?
Post by: Frank Casey on September 18, 2007, 09:01:33 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 08:37:38 PM
If Gerard Cavlan claims to have been addicted to dog fighting and says he had a "disease" will you lads support him then?

TD - I don't think theres much of a comparison.
Post by: Puckoon on September 18, 2007, 09:16:18 PM

Oisin hopefully only harmed himself TD. There is no comparison. Gambling is a brutal struggle, one that no one ever knows the extent of, because a gambler will never tell you the truth. The thing is that its everywhere - like the drink. We even have threads on it on here. I wonder what that place in galway cost? Sadly - that might not be accessible to everyone. Did oisin pay for it? While news like this makes us realise that everyone is vunerable - it might also show that help may not be readily available to everyone. Like the detox clinics for rich hollywood celebs. Either way, good luck oisin.
Post by: Uladh on September 18, 2007, 09:32:35 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 18, 2007, 04:20:48 PM
If you believe it is in excess of £100k how do you know?

If you believe he didn't repay it and someone else did, how do you know? 

Has it come out of your bank account?

You have a twisted mentality and think that the craic around the bar at the Carrickdale is gospel,  "i got it from a good source" attitude.

As i have said before. this is not new news in football circles but oisin has brought it into the public domain himself and are you going to tell me it cannot now be discussed and speculated on? granted you are a friend of oisin's but very few of his friends were aware of the extent of his difficulties until they were resolved and even fewer are aware how how that was achieved. you are preaching to me when plainly you are not in possession of all the facts. your post tells me that i obviously know more about the details of this than you on this occasion.

I have answered the three questions you have asked in a pm.

Just because you are known to posters doesn't give your opinion or your carte blanche defence of all things cross any more credance than anyone else's.

i'd like you to point out posts where i criticise crossmaglen unfairly. i have particular issue with one man and his methods & motives but i'm not going to get back into that and i'm hardly on my own. for example, his greatest critic is your own former chairman.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 09:32:49 PM
Good luck to the lad is right, sounds as if he has got over his problems. Would have preferred he hadnt went to the BBC with his story though in light of their treatment of the gaa.
Post by: Puckoon on September 18, 2007, 09:35:54 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 09:32:49 PM
Good luck to the lad is right, sounds as if he has got over his problems. Would have preferred he hadnt went to the BBC with his story though in light of their treatment of the gaa.

This should maybe be on another thread - but I think the BBC does a decent job of covering the ULster GAA.
Post by: wobbller on September 18, 2007, 09:53:58 PM
 You're point on the BBC Puckoon is total boll..ks!  Quote "The Ulster GAA" is not a phrase I or other Gaels would be familar with.Are you an Ulster Scot?
Post by: Balboa on September 18, 2007, 10:08:28 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on September 18, 2007, 09:32:49 PM

Lads bit of a reality check here, do you think Mc Conville gives a flying f**k about the BBC's coverage of the GAA? He used the BBC for his own means,namely maximising the sales of his book.
Post by: stew on September 18, 2007, 10:29:39 PM

What an inane comparison, forget what County Cavlan played for, the fact is what he did is not a disease, it is a disgusting form of barbarism he chose to be a part of and to compare the two is ridiculous.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 18, 2007, 11:11:24 PM
Fair play to Oisin for overcoming this illness - he is close to a good friend of mine and I know that he was very nervous about the interview - take a bow son - balls of steel, and great to see him come out the other side with his head held high. Like alcoholism, his predicament was an illness, and he has battled through! Nice one!

Got a couple of insights into the book, and I would suggest that it is a must read for any Armagh fan, and indeed for a lot of fans further afield. I don't think there is anything particularly contoversial - but a great insight into stories and anecdotes concerning our greatest ever team. I hope it sells well. I personally can't wait to read it.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 18, 2007, 11:36:30 PM
My ma always said he looked as miserable as sin.... now we all know why.
Post by: johnpower on September 19, 2007, 12:20:50 AM
Crazy stuff dont know who to believe any more .I will wait for the book before commenting . Some posters really getting worked up.
Post by: Puckoon on September 19, 2007, 12:35:37 AM
Quote from: wobbller on September 18, 2007, 09:53:58 PM
You're point on the BBC Puckoon is total boll..ks!  Quote "The Ulster GAA" is not a phrase I or other Gaels would be familar with.Are you an Ulster Scot?

Would you prefer if i phrased it "coverage of gaelic games involving ulster counties and clubs", or "the GAA in ulster"? Of course you are familiar with it - dont we have an Ulster intercounty championship, an Ulster club championship, and an Ulster council? Dont try and act pedantic with me over fecking semantics. Ive never not found a report of a game of note in Ulster at both club and county level when I looked for it online at the BBC website. That was my initial point.
Post by: Tyrones own on September 19, 2007, 12:42:29 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 18, 2007, 11:36:30 PM
My ma always said he looked as miserable as sin.... now we all know why.

Not much to add to what has been said other than the interview will do the book sales a world of good,
its sole purpose no doubt. Maybe it'll help pay down some of the debt ;)
Now that you mention it OTB, he did always have an o'l sad head up on him alright!
Post by: hectorsheroes on September 19, 2007, 09:16:07 AM
Where does anybody get £100 grand to bet with?
Post by: rrhf on September 19, 2007, 09:19:54 AM
Good luck Oisin hope ye make a few quid from it.  Boys theres a massive ignorance to gambling problems on here.  I know people whose lives, marriages, work were ruined by this illness, men who couldnt buy a loaf of bread on a Friday evening after a hard weeks work.  Drinks bad but you can only drink so much,  but you can gamble everything away very quickly.  I hope he stays on top of his illness, and I just cant believe  people from within Oisins own county would use his admission to attack him.  The GAA is Irish life, it has all types of individuals most with flaws of some sort  in it because it is so comprehensive and all encompassing.  What I suspect is an undercover investigation based on betting by players to be attempted by the BBC, I suspect they will find nothing.  
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 19, 2007, 09:34:27 AM
Quote from: hectorsheroes on September 19, 2007, 09:16:07 AM
Where does anybody get £100 grand to bet with?

i think the point is that he didn't have it.
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 19, 2007, 09:36:28 AM
Oisin says that his gambling spiralled out of control in late 02 and 03.  Based on the timing of this I assume that it had something to do with the high he felt when Armagh won the All Ireland.

If that is so, I wonder if he in any way would swap winning the All Ireland with not having his gambling problem?
Post by: Bensars on September 19, 2007, 09:37:02 AM
Quote from: rrhf on September 19, 2007, 09:19:54 AM
Good luck Oisin hope ye make a few quid from it.  Boys theres a massive ignorance to gambling problems on here.  I know people whose lives, marriages, work were ruined by this illness, men who couldnt buy a loaf of bread on a Friday evening after a hard weeks work.  Drinks bad but you can only drink so much,  but you can gamble everything away very quickly.  I hope he stays on top of his illness, and I just cant believe  people from within Oisins own county would use his admission to attack him.  The GAA is Irish life, it has all types of individuals most with flaws of some sort  in it because it is so comprehensive and all encompassing.  What I suspect is an undercover investigation based on betting by players to be attempted by the BBC, I suspect they will find nothing.  

Hold on a second here. It was Mc Conville ( or publishers ) that contacted the BBC for the interview. Im not the biggest fan of the BBC regarding their coverage and all things GAA but this is a different ball game altogether. Yes its good that hes over it and by it may make people more aware of the various organisations out there that may be of assistance for them.

He said in the the interview that the GAA should do something. It has nothing to do with the GAA.  Does the GAA get involved in all other areas of social and private life , absolutley not.

If oisin feels that strongly about about it , why doesnt he donate the proceeds of athe book to the GAA to appoint a gambling advice officer/counsellor.

Mr Mc Conville has enjoyed a lot of the trappings that only the best in GAA will experience, and i personally feel he has a cheek to ask or insinuate that the GAA should get involved. Whats next ? Marriage Guidence ? Spousal abuse ? Speeding ? the list is endless !!

Post by: Kentucky Blue on September 19, 2007, 09:47:23 AM
Bensars, I think the GAA should look after their own and give something back, it's not as if they dont have the money.

McConville doing the interview will raise awareness of the problem and its seriousness, and if that saves even one person from going down the same road that Oisin did, then it has been a very worthwhile exercise in my opinion.
Post by: orangeman on September 19, 2007, 09:50:45 AM
A lot of GAA personalities have written books - and there's no doubt that Oisin is a legend - top scorer in Ulster - and I read a piece in y'days paper where it said that but for Peter Canavan and Oisin Mc Conville, Kerry would have had 5 in a row !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 19, 2007, 09:52:44 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 19, 2007, 09:50:45 AM
...where it said that but for Peter Canavan and Oisin Mc Conville, Kerry would have had 5 in a row !

Or even SIX in a row (2002, 2003 + 2005), only for us eh?  ;)
Post by: Bensars on September 19, 2007, 09:56:06 AM
Absolutley i agree. I wish the fella all the best and as i have said it will raise awareness of the problem.

Its not a GAA issue though. We are an amatuer organisation and in regards of looking after our own , it is done on a micro club level all the time. Take the example of the injury compensation scheme, its an absolute joke whereby some young fella at club level may be off work for a substantial length of time nad may have to support a wife family and mortgage.

Tonight in some small clubrooms up nad down the country i bet you ( pardon the irony) there will be benfits/injury functions taking place. These guys are equally as deserving of our assitance as is our blue ribbon players.

We do look after our own, its our choice/breeding/moral conscience that enables us to do it.

However the personal addiction should not be laid at the altar of the GAA to repair !!
Post by: Uladh on September 19, 2007, 10:04:45 AM
I just cant believe  people from within Oisins own county would use his admission to attack him.  

Where has anyone from his own county attacked oisin for this?
Post by: Balboa on September 19, 2007, 10:13:46 AM
Have to agree with Bensars, Mc Conville has a bit of a cheek. Would he be saying the GAA should be looking into it if he didnt have a book to promote? Will we have to rely on someone having a book to promote before we know of someones gambling problem, how would this extend to the club player?
Post by: cavan4ever on September 19, 2007, 10:21:21 AM
Quote from: Balboa on September 19, 2007, 10:13:46 AM
Have to agree with Bensars, Mc Conville has a bit of a cheek. Would he be saying the GAA should be looking into it if he didnt have a book to promote? Will we have to rely on someone having a book to promote before we know of someones gambling problem, how would this extend to the club player?

I agree aswell, if he hadn't a book to promote we wouldn't have heard about the gambling. 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 19, 2007, 10:39:22 AM
All this talk about McConvilles great nerve doing the intereview is a load of balls. Its obvious he did the interview to promote his book - another good money making scheme.
Post by: Bensars on September 19, 2007, 10:44:30 AM
Book ?      What Book ?

Is there a book coming out  ? :o
Post by: shotstopper1 on September 19, 2007, 10:53:34 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on September 19, 2007, 10:21:21 AM
I agree aswell, if he hadn't a book to promote we wouldn't have heard about the gambling. 

After his stint in Virginia a lot of people in the county already knew about his gambling, book or no book.
Post by: oneillcup2007 on September 19, 2007, 10:56:08 AM
Whats  a virgina ???
Post by: thebandit on September 19, 2007, 11:03:17 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on September 19, 2007, 09:36:28 AM
Oisin says that his gambling spiralled out of control in late 02 and 03.  Based on the timing of this I assume that it had something to do with the high he felt when Armagh won the All Ireland.

If that is so, I wonder if he in any way would swap winning the All Ireland with not having his gambling problem?

I strongly suspect not!

There's no doubt that the two are linked though

Post by: armaghniac on September 19, 2007, 11:12:12 AM
There is discussion on the radio now about a prominent Irish rugby player having some gambling issues, so perhaps the winning buzz affects players in all codes.

I agree that the GAA is not responsible for sorting all social problems but it gives amateur players a very high profile in some cases and if this is linked to particular problems then some awareness of the issue in the GAA would be a good thing.
Post by: Buckass on September 19, 2007, 11:32:39 AM
He only has himself to blame..I lost a nice bundle backing Kerry in late 02 as well :D
Post by: Kentucky Blue on September 19, 2007, 11:41:00 AM
It's very debatable whether the GAA looks after their own now but maybe that's another issue...

My main point is whether or not you think its a publicity stunt by Oisin or the BBC lambasting the GAA, maybe a few other people will admit to their problems now and try do to something about it and good luck to them.

Maybe saying the GAA should be responsible is too strong but they should have some role. We already have GAA officers raising the awareness of the dangers of alcohol and drugs ause, why not gambling too?  As it was pointed out by some already on the thread, it's a disease.
Post by: Balboa on September 19, 2007, 11:46:06 AM
Its only a disease if you are losing........
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 19, 2007, 11:57:50 AM
Are you a compulsive gambler?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/5010172.stm
Post by: Bensars on September 19, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
(http://rhdam.randomhouse.co.uk/getimage.aspx?class=books&size=small&id=9781845962951&issue=1)

Available for pre order now £ 10.79

www.rbooks.co.uk/author.aspx?id=57370

And it wasnt a staged PR stunt. ::)
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2007, 12:16:03 PM
Slighty off topic, but I was told the other day that Crossmaglen have never lost an Armagh championship game when Oisin was playing for them. Does anyone know if this is true? some record if it is.

I think the last time Cross lost a championship game in Armagh was 1995, im not sure if Oisin had broken into the team by then.
Post by: Balboa on September 19, 2007, 12:20:32 PM
Will he be doing a book signing session in Eastwoods instead of Easons?
Post by: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 12:24:54 PM
QuoteSlighty off topic, but I was told the other day that Crossmaglen have never lost an Armagh championship game when Oisin was playing for them. Does anyone know if this is true? some record if it is.

You could say that about any player playing since Oisin started with the county and since Cross didnt lose any when he wasnt playing either, it makes it a bit of a non-story in terms of McConville alone.
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2007, 12:27:26 PM
any player who has a career longer than ten years and never looses a club championship game within their county needs a bit of credit!
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 19, 2007, 12:29:22 PM
Quote from: Bensars on September 19, 2007, 09:37:02 AM
Good luck Oisin hope ye make a few quid from it.  Boys theres a massive ignorance to gambling problems on here.  I know people whose lives, marriages, work were ruined by this illness, men who couldnt buy a loaf of bread on a Friday evening after a hard weeks work.  Drinks bad but you can only drink so much,  but you can gamble everything away very quickly.  I hope he stays on top of his illness, and I just cant believe  people from within Oisins own county would use his admission to attack him.  The GAA is Irish life, it has all types of individuals most with flaws of some sort  in it because it is so comprehensive and all encompassing.  What I suspect is an undercover investigation based on betting by players to be attempted by the BBC, I suspect they will find nothing. 

Hold on a second here. It was Mc Conville ( or publishers ) that contacted the BBC for the interview. Im not the biggest fan of the BBC regarding their coverage and all things GAA but this is a different ball game altogether. Yes its good that hes over it and by it may make people more aware of the various organisations out there that may be of assistance for them.

He said in the the interview that the GAA should do something. It has nothing to do with the GAA.  Does the GAA get involved in all other areas of social and private life , absolutley not.

If oisin feels that strongly about about it , why doesnt he donate the proceeds of athe book to the GAA to appoint a gambling advice officer/counsellor.

Mr Mc Conville has enjoyed a lot of the trappings that only the best in GAA will experience, and i personally feel he has a cheek to ask or insinuate that the GAA should get involved. Whats next ? Marriage Guidence ? Spousal abuse ? Speeding ? the list is endless !!

great post, agree with every word.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 12:30:54 PM
Quoteany player who has a career longer than ten years and never looses a club championship game within their county needs a bit of credit!

Without doubt, but is McConville the only player with 10 years on the clock on the cross team?  Credit to them all equally I say.
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2007, 12:33:40 PM
Im not sure Id say the McEntees are probably on the same boat, but the question im asking is did he(or the others for that matter) play the last time they got beat in Armagh?!!
Post by: armaghniac on September 19, 2007, 12:36:17 PM
Oisin has never missed a championship game with Cross', some other well established players have through injury. And to his credit he put the work in while being treated for his problem.
Post by: rosnarun on September 19, 2007, 12:41:32 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 12:30:54 PM
Quoteany player who has a career longer than ten years and never looses a club championship game within their county needs a bit of credit!

Without doubt, but is McConville the only player with 10 years on the clock on the cross team?  Credit to them all equally I say.
I know i shouldn't
but is it this not the cause of the problem  in the first place ::)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 19, 2007, 12:43:17 PM
I did that test and got 7/20 which states that I am a compulsive gambler!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 19, 2007, 01:02:44 PM
Outside of my spate with uladh, I agree with Bensars to an extent that this is not a percievd problem associated with the GAA and I think perhaps Oisin has gone one the wrong road.  However, it could be a bigger problem than we realise and I know that other players are into laying big money and there have been accusations of game fixing etc. so maybe there is more to that than it would first appear.

In regards to the side issue, Oisin made his championship debut for Cross in 1993 and I think the Harps beat Cross in the battle of Killeavey that year, in 1994 we were beaten by the Ogs in Keady, when about 4 more of us made our full debuts.  A dire game where Harney scored 3 goals in the first half and the Ogs slowed the game down the whole second half.  I remember it vividlly as a certain Houlie gave me a roasting in midfield on my debut.  In 1995 Mullaghbawn beat us and Oisin was playing that day as well and that was the last defeat in Armagh.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 01:06:43 PM
QuoteOisin has never missed a championship game with Cross', some other well established players have through injury. And to his credit he put the work in while being treated for his problem.

That's pretty impressive record then, given his back problems and off-field issues.   Should we presume he'd wagered big on Cross winning the championship at the start of each year then??  :-\
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2007, 01:09:46 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 19, 2007, 01:02:44 PM
Outside of my spate with uladh, I agree with Bensars to an extent that this is not a percievd problem associated with the GAA and I think perhaps Oisin has gone one the wrong road.  However, it could be a bigger problem than we realise and I know that other players are into laying big money and there have been accusations of game fixing etc. so maybe there is more to that than it would first appear.

In regards to the side issue, Oisin made his championship debut for Cross in 1993 and I think the Harps beat Cross in the battle of Killeavey that year, in 1994 we were beaten by the Ogs in Keady, when about 4 more of us made our full debuts.  A dire game where Harney scored 3 goals in the first half and the Ogs slowed the game down the whole second half.  I remember it vividlly as a certain Houlie gave me a roasting in midfield on my debut.  In 1995 Mullaghbawn beat us and Oisin was playing that day as well and that was the last defeat in Armagh.

thanks for clearing that up BCB
Post by: Spiritof98 on September 19, 2007, 01:12:54 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 19, 2007, 01:02:44 PM

Off the topic again, but I was only 11 that day and clearly remember the battle both on and off the field. But I think Cross beat the Harps
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 19, 2007, 01:58:37 PM
You could be right there Spirit, I know that was his debut in the championship.  Now that I think of it I think Maghery beat us in the semi that year down in the Athletic Grounds and the Clans beat them in the final.
Post by: thebandit on September 19, 2007, 02:55:58 PM
Lets be honest, it is not a GAA problem, it is a social problem. Oisin has undeniably got a great story to tell and the book should be a bit different to the usual sort of thing. He wouldn't have been an obvious candidate for a book, but coming at it from a slightly different angle will make it all the more interesting.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 19, 2007, 06:13:01 PM
I'd love to know the bookies he was punting in though that let him run up these debts
Post by: orangeman on September 19, 2007, 06:28:51 PM
The figures would be well exaggerated I'd say.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on September 20, 2007, 10:14:12 AM
I think it's a great idea, both for a book and as a form of Rehab for Oisin. He's obviously far enough down the road now to talk publicly about it which is good for him. It's an awful affliction, it's independent of age and can strip any man in a very short space of time. It's ignorant of anyone to have a go at anyone who has suffered from this or any other addiction for that matter. I hope he does well out  of it and wish him the best of luck. The admirable thing about him was he didn't let it encroach on his football and always seemed to stay committed and focus. Not easy I'd imagine!

Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2007, 10:45:45 AM
Too right Flash- how he kept is focus was amazing - fair play to him.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on September 20, 2007, 10:49:35 AM
Does McConville have a job now? or even did he in the past?
Post by: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 11:39:45 AM
He does drywalling, he's busy at the minute as well.

He worked as a brickie before that, was a Sales rep before that, and he started out as a claims handler.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 20, 2007, 12:02:22 PM
Did he not run a pub in Monaghan as well???
Post by: bingobus on September 20, 2007, 12:31:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 20, 2007, 12:02:22 PM

It was Cavan, Virginia I think. Apparently it was more a case of him putting his name to it and working in it rather than him actually owning it
Post by: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 12:47:34 PM
Quote from: bingobus on September 20, 2007, 12:31:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 20, 2007, 12:02:22 PM

It was Cavan, Virginia I think. Apparently it was more a case of him putting his name to it and working in it rather than him actually owning it

I forgot about that! That isn't right btw, he was the gaffer
Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2007, 03:31:39 PM
Drywalling ? Is that the same as Stonewalling ?
Post by: armaghniac on September 20, 2007, 04:57:23 PM
QuoteIs that the same as Stonewalling ?

That's Francie's job, not Oisin's!  :P
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 20, 2007, 05:26:15 PM
I knoiw Ill get abuse for this but I actually thought Francie was the most overrated hardman in the history of the gaa. Fair enough he put in some big hits but most were against smaller forwards and quite often when the forward didnt see him coming like MicKey Linden. In Omagh one year Canavan saw him coming and put him straight to the ground and he was hardly a big man. Some guys call Cavanagh soft but he left Francie in pain for months after a 50 50 shoulder in 2005. O'Neill went buy him as if he wasnt there in 05 as well. He's a tough man but wouldnt come closer to Geezer or Darren Fay for example.
Post by: new devil on September 21, 2007, 12:13:55 AM
Heard a story in volding MC conville,MC Entee twins and geezer few years back..wonder is that in the book  :P
Post by: downtown on September 21, 2007, 10:31:18 AM
Quote from: new devil on September 21, 2007, 12:13:55 AM
Heard a story in volding MC conville,MC Entee twins and geezer few years back..wonder is that in the book  :P

Fill us in Devil!!
Post by: longball on September 21, 2007, 11:19:01 AM
Quote from: downtown on September 21, 2007, 10:31:18 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

Downtown i heard of this story as well but i posted it to this asking if it wud be in the book and my post was edited  :-\ >:(
Post by: downtown on September 21, 2007, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: longball on September 21, 2007, 11:19:01 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

Downtown i heard of this story as well but i posted it to this asking if it wud be in the book and my post was edited  :-\ >:(

Fair enuf... jus gona have 2 read the book now!! ;)
Post by: The Subbie on September 21, 2007, 06:08:25 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 11:39:45 AM

He worked as a brickie before that, was a Sales rep before that, and he started out as a claims handler.

He sold phones for charlie mc guinness in Monaghan as well
Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2007, 06:19:27 PM
QuoteWill anyone, other than Armagh fans, actually have any interest in this book?

I'd say you will 5iveTimes, you'll be looking for ammo for some anti-Armagh postings!
Post by: thebandit on September 21, 2007, 06:20:30 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 21, 2007, 06:08:25 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 20, 2007, 11:39:45 AM

He sold phones for charlie mc guinness in Monaghan as well

That's what I meant by sales rep
Post by: stew on September 21, 2007, 08:36:31 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 21, 2007, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 21, 2007, 06:19:27 PM
QuoteWill anyone, other than Armagh fans, actually have any interest in this book?

I'd say you will 5iveTimes, you'll be looking for ammo for some anti-Armagh postings!

My gripe with Armagh is more with their fans than their players. The players seem to be a decent bunch of lads (mostly) and with Big Joe they got their rewards in 2002. If I had wanted "ammo" I could have posted the various rumours involving Oisin, but the lad has problems and needs help, not abuse.
I just dont think it would be a very intersting book and I for one will not be buying it.

Right enough! and of course every player on the Down squad are lilly white and always have been, none of them have ever had   questionable character  :-\

You dont think it would be interesting? you cannot be that interested in gaelic games then, I buy a lot of GAA related books and at last count I had 31 of them and I will certainly buy this one when it comes out.

Like him or loathe him, McConville has been one of the top players in the country for the past decade and I am sure it will be an interesting read like most of them are.
Post by: Cloc Mor on September 21, 2007, 09:49:11 PM
Dont talk shit Stew.  I dont want to buy a book to pay of his debts cause he couldn't show self restraint.  Name me any one Down player who has put themselves in a similar position like him, with £100,000 of debts built up because he couldn't say no.  I have no sympathy for him.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 21, 2007, 09:50:50 PM
Post by: Cloc Mor on September 21, 2007, 09:54:02 PM
?
Post by: new devil on September 21, 2007, 10:18:33 PM
Quote from: longball on September 21, 2007, 11:19:01 AM

Fill us in Devil!!

LB id say were both talking along the same lines but i didn't see your posts....couldn't see the MC Entees giving him a beaten thou! Should be a good read...were on line could you but it?
Post by: stew on September 21, 2007, 11:17:19 PM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on September 21, 2007, 09:49:11 PM
Dont talk shit Stew.  I dont want to buy a book to pay of his debts cause he couldn't show self restraint.  Name me any one Down player who has put themselves in a similar position like him, with £100,000 of debts built up because he couldn't say no.  I have no sympathy for him.

Where did i say you had to buy the book and where did I say that a down player racked up agambling debts of $100.000 and who asked you to have sympathy for him cloc mor?

somebody is talking shite on this thread but it isnt me! ;)
Post by: Bensars on September 22, 2007, 03:39:25 AM
i also wont be buying the book.

especially after he hoored himself out the bbc (of all bodies) on a purely PR stunt.

If theres such a concern about gambling, why isnt it said from the start that all proceeds will go to gamblers anonomous ??  ( if tha\t was the case i would buy the book)

or as stated in the interview that the GAA become involved. Put to proceeds to funding a paid representive that give counsel to any gaa player affected !!
Post by: haveaharp on September 22, 2007, 09:40:22 AM
Typical thats its only Down men having a pop at Oisin. If any member of their panel (coulter included) had half his talent they might not be so bitter.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 22, 2007, 09:51:08 AM
QuoteLike him or loathe him, McConville has been one of the top players in the country for the past decade and I am sure it will be an interesting read like most of them are.

And like most biogs, no doubt it will be self gratifying.  I d/k McConville personally, however I know a lot of boys from Cross who say that you couldn't like him if you had reared him.   I might read it but I certainly wouldn't buy it after he's prostituted himself to the BBC given their anti-GAA track record.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 22, 2007, 01:55:40 PM
Id go a £100k into debt gambling if I thought other mugs were going to fit the bill. Its a no brainer. If he did have such debts I wonder how much he actually paid back himself. Im sure the books sales wont make that much but should help to bankroll part of the gambling. The way some posters are behaving Im half expecting some to come on calling for people to buy the book as its for a good cause.
Post by: orangeman on September 22, 2007, 03:49:22 PM
Ronan O'Gara was accused by L'Equippe of having a 300k gambling debt - Oisin's was small change compared to that !
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 05:57:04 PM
To be fair, it is likely that a lot of the posters on here who are refusing to buy the book are hardly the type to be using their spare time to read anyway!   ;)

I'm convinced that the book will be an excellent read, and of interest to many GAA followers from outside Armagh. 
Post by: thewingedlady on September 22, 2007, 06:13:52 PM
Agreed rufus, top post!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 22, 2007, 06:56:13 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 22, 2007, 06:21:48 PM
Rufus, I normally read one or two books a week. I have quite a large book collection, sporting, political and classic english literature. I am not going to hand out money to pay off a gamblers debts, if he cannot control himself it isnt my problem. I think our money would be better spent on the vicitims of domestic violence  ;)
Just to enlighten everyone about what several posters have been alluding to, here is what Oisin himself had to say about it:
http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=TribuneFTF&id=76219&SUBCAT=&SUBCATNAME=&DT=09/07/2006%2000:00:00&keywords=oisin%20mcconville&FC=

Not as big a secret as you all thought is it?
Post by: armaghniac on September 22, 2007, 07:14:04 PM
QuoteI am not going to hand out money to pay off a gamblers debts

With this idea that you don't approve of the author's lifestyle, can you really say that you approve of the authors of all of books you bought 5ive Times? Many authors are dissolute wasters from one perspective and I'd say that you have a CD or two from bands that have entirely irresponsible attitudes to drugs or screwing groupies. I'd say even some of the posters here watch the BBC from time to time if the programme is of interest.

It all comes down to whether it will be an interesting read or not. I think it will be.
Post by: Hollow Man on September 22, 2007, 07:26:30 PM
QuoteRufus, I normally read one or two books a week. I have quite a large book collection, sporting, political and classic english literature. I am not going to hand out money to pay off a gamblers debts, if he cannot control himself it isnt my problem.

You are a w**ker.

Not that I'm a McConville or Aramgh apologist - I heard personally what one Armagh player said to Pter Reilly in 2004 and it was sickening.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 07:43:08 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 22, 2007, 06:21:48 PM
Rufus, I normally read one or two books a week. I have quite a large book collection, sporting, political and classic english literature. I am not going to hand out money to pay off a gamblers debts, if he cannot control himself it isnt my problem. I think our money would be better spent on the vicitims of domestic violence  ;)

Out of curiosity, how would you place the posts that you put up on this board, where you offer to meet up with fellow posters to knock them out!?! Would you for example say that you were exercising 'self control', when doing so? Still, your sympathy for victims of domestic violence is all the more touching given your own wish to knock out a few fellow Board members here!  :D

To be honest though, posts like that would tend to come from those who enjoy classic english literature, I'm sure you would agree!    ;)
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 08:45:15 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 22, 2007, 08:30:53 PM
It would be better for all concerned if he was remembered for his time on the field, not what he does off it.

Well said sir!!

Just a pity though, you happened to mention in the very same post...

Rufus, have you ever considered the fact that McConville just doesnt come across as a likeable person?
Myself and a few friends were out for a drink one night not too long after Armaghs 2002 victory. McConville happened to be in the same bar and ended up chatting to a girl who was sitting at our table, when asked to leave by this girls husband, he replied "do you know who I am?".He ended up being escorted from the premises after being picked up off the floor.

But you want Oisin to be remembered for what happens on the pitch, yes?  What pitch was that on then?  ::)

Thanks for your insight anyway, but having been in Oisin's company on a few occasions myself, and on each occasion found him great company, I'll choose to make my own mind up!  ;)
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 08:53:17 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 22, 2007, 08:50:01 PM
So you have been in Oisins company? What is it they say, birds of a feather......

Who's 'they' then?

And you didn't answer my question!  Stuck for words?   :D

Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 09:11:09 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 22, 2007, 09:01:30 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 08:45:15 PM
But you want Oisin to be remembered for what happens on the pitch, yes?  What pitch was that on then?  ::)

Not just Oisin, but I think its best that players are remembered for what they done on the field of play, not what they do in their private lives.
Is Oisin interested in helping the plight of other gamblers? Or is he merely trying to make a quick buck while he is still associated with the Armagh team? If he is interested in helping others, then surely he will donate the proceeds of the book to Gamblers Anonymous.

You have not answered my question. However, being a reader of the classics you will have the intelligence to already know that!  ;)

Just to remind you though, why are you constantly making posts on this Board that can do nothing but blacken Oisin McConville's name - including references to off the field incidents that you allege occurred to support your opinion of Oisin, and yet insist that it is best he be remembered for his on field activities?

And whilst on the subject, would your posts to blacken the name of one of the most high profile GAA stars of recent years, on this a public forum, not make your accusations of anti GAA bias against the BBC, appear hollow in the extreme?

That's two answers by the way!   ;)
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 03:49:25 PM
You still haven't answered the questions I have put to you, not Oisin. The problems that Oisin have had are irrelevant in the context of me asking you about your own inconsistencies, i.e. your claim that you want Oisin to be remembered for what happens on the football field alongside your determination to blacken his name for alleged off field stories, through what you post here.

I've asked you several times, and you have not answered on each occasion. And to be honest, I don't think you will answer - end of story!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 05:49:20 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 23, 2007, 04:03:24 PM
How can you say that I have tried to blacken Oisins name?

:D :D :D

Well, for example on this thread, you have written;

Quote...the fact that McConville just doesnt come across as a likeable person..

Quoteas a person he has his flaws,

QuoteOisin has his own agenda here, he has a book to promote, a profit to make.

Quotehes an obnoxious little bollox.

QuoteThere were certain stories regarding Oisins personal life

Tell me which of the above relate to him as a footballer, for after all, you did say you wanted him remembered for his on field activities. 

Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 23, 2007, 04:03:24 PM
Your County loyalties seem to cloud your judgment.

Are you aware of irony? Methinks not! 

You can have the last word - you've bored me with your double standards, inconsistencies and your failure to address them.
Post by: thebandit on September 23, 2007, 07:51:32 PM
Quote...the fact that McConville just doesnt come across as a likeable person..

Quoteas a person he has his flaws,

QuoteOisin has his own agenda here, he has a book to promote, a profit to make.

Quotehes an obnoxious little bollox.

QuoteThere were certain stories regarding Oisins personal life

These personal attacks are a bit uncalled for. We could all tell stories about fellas who play football, but this sort of stuff is unneccesary to say the least.

You portray the bad side with innuendo, so I'll tell the good side with fact.

Here is a story that is a fact regarding Oisín's personal life. I know Oisin well, and the only time I ring him is when I'm looking for a favour, coming to coach youngsters, hand out medals, help out freetakers. If I was him I'd have quit answering the phone when he sees my number coming up, but he always obliges, and always does it with a heart and a half.

As well as that he, along with 29 others gave thousands of people the greatest day of their lives in 2002. Along with a group of the most committed club footballers of their generation he brought joy to a town that had seen bad days during the troubles. That in itself is a story worth telling. The fact that there is a twist, only serves to make his story more interesting.

Wise up lad.
Post by: Balboa on September 23, 2007, 09:54:48 PM
Have to agree with 5iveTimes, gambling is not an illness, that is just a cop out. No body makes them spend all day in the bookies, why should he be bailed out now ? Would he have admitted to being addicted to gambling if he had of won a fortune? He is a cynical shite and i for one wont be putting a penny into his coffers.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 10:29:19 PM
Quote from: Balboa on September 23, 2007, 09:54:48 PM
i for one wont be putting a penny into his coffers.

Sure don't let it bother you Rocky - by starting this thread in the first place, you have done a lot more for the success of the book and than anyone person could have done with purchases - 4,100 visits and counting, eh?   :-*
Post by: armaghniac on September 23, 2007, 11:14:58 PM
QuoteSpreading rumors about players personal lives will not be accepted on this board. It is inappropriate.
mod1

Moderator you posted this on this thread earlier. Time to ban posters who ignore the principles of the board. Balboa's post falls into this category.

Post removed. Thanks Moderator. 
Post by: Puckoon on September 23, 2007, 11:39:35 PM
Have to agree with 5iveTimes, gambling is not an illness, that is just a cop out. No body makes them spend all day in the bookies, why should he be bailed out now ? Would he have admitted to being addicted to gambling if he had of won a fortune? He is a cynical shite and i for one wont be putting a penny into his coffers.

Alright - Id posted earlier after 5 Times called it a weakness and then I deleted it, as I assumed no more than one person could think that way. Addiction (to anything, drink, drugs, sex, violence and so on) is absolutely an illness. Take a walk into the addictions unit of any psyciatric ward and sure - youll see those at the end of their rope with physical addictions to drugs and its brutal viewing. However psychological addictions can be just as tough - maybe more so, because you think that people will take the viewpoint handed out here by Balboa. It leaves you petrified to ask for help - but helpless to stop the addiction. You think Oisin is kiddin when hes talking about going out to the car to scrape together 8 quid for one last bet? Until you have been there - dont come on here belittling the absolute inner turmoil that it causes the gambling addict. Knowing you are throwing away your hard earned cash, and that those depending on you are going to hear the same lies from your mouth when you are asked why there is no money at the end of the week, but being absolutely powerless to stop yourself, or to even be honest with yourself? Its rock bottom alright and it shouldnt be made light off.
Now Im not defending Oisin the person - I dont claim to know anything about his life. But Ill certainly point out the realities of addiction and defend the addict.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 24, 2007, 12:03:34 AM
Quote from: Balboa on September 23, 2007, 10:35:27 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 10:29:19 PM

Sure don't let it bother you Rocky - by starting this thread in the first place, you have done a lot more for the success of the book and than anyone person could have done with purchases - 4,100 visits and counting, eh?   :-*

I think the BBC is probably more widely viewed than this thread/site, so i dont think Mc Conville was ever gonna have any problems publicising his new venture.

:D Which only further underlines the irrelevance of you not buying the book!!   :-*
Post by: new devil on September 24, 2007, 12:36:57 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 10:29:19 PM

I for one would never of knew he had a book out...iam going to buy it so thanks for that ballbag :-* :-*
Post by: stephenite on September 24, 2007, 12:40:31 AM
The sanctimonious claptrap of certain people on here is truly sickening
Post by: new devil on September 24, 2007, 01:04:49 AM
 ??? ???
Post by: haveaharp on September 24, 2007, 11:41:32 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 24, 2007, 11:37:20 AM
Rufus, if you want to class gambling as an illness, then so be it. I see it as a weakness, the same way as I see alcoholism. No one ever forced anyone to gamble/drink. Its a personal choice. At the end of the day Oisin chose to write this book for one reason or another. We can all have our own opinionjs on his motives, but we may be wrong. If he hadnt decided to write this book, we wouldnt be having this argument. We all know how good he was on the playing field, but now he will also be remembered for his weakness as a human being. I can just speak from my own experiences, but if I was in Oisins shoes, I would want to be remembered for being the man that scored the goal that beat the Kingdom in Croke Park, there was a book in that story alone.
Good luck to the lad, I hope he sorts himself out.

Is lung cancer from smoking a weakness and not a disease?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 24, 2007, 12:56:09 PM
No one ever forced anyone to gamble/drink. Its a personal choice.

For some it is a compulsion.
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on September 24, 2007, 01:29:00 PM
Have read this thread with interest. Thought I'd throw in my only Oisin story.

Have only met Oisin once and he was nothing short of a gentleman.

Shortly after Cross won the All-Ireland club title last season I was at a match with the wife and her parents

The wifes father, who is certainly not an Armagh fan and who had heard all the rumours about Oisin, found himself sitting in front of Oisin at the match. He congratulated Oisin on the All-ireland victory and the two of them struck up conversation.

Osin chatted away and didn't mind at all that his personal time was being hijacked by a complete stanger.

It made the father in laws day, he left with a great opinion of Oisin and still takes great delight in telling people about the night he yarned with Oisin McConville.

P.S. Addiction of any kind is a disease. Have a read here:
http://www.medical-online.com/addict.htm (http://www.medical-online.com/addict.htm)
Post by: stew on September 24, 2007, 02:31:11 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on September 22, 2007, 08:45:15 PM
It would be better for all concerned if he was remembered for his time on the field, not what he does off it.

Well said sir!!

Just a pity though, you happened to mention in the very same post...

Rufus, have you ever considered the fact that McConville just doesnt come across as a likeable person?
Myself and a few friends were out for a drink one night not too long after Armaghs 2002 victory. McConville happened to be in the same bar and ended up chatting to a girl who was sitting at our table, when asked to leave by this girls husband, he replied "do you know who I am?".He ended up being escorted from the premises after being picked up off the floor.

Thanks for your insight anyway, but having been in Oisin's company on a few occasions myself, and on each occasion found him great company, I'll choose to make my own mind up!  ;)

:D :D :D :D :D

I was thinking the same thing myself. :D
Post by: stew on September 24, 2007, 02:44:12 PM
Rufus, if you want to class gambling as an illness, then so be it. I see it as a weakness, the same way as I see alcoholism. No one ever forced anyone to gamble/drink. Its a personal choice. At the end of the day Oisin chose to write this book for one reason or another. We can all have our own opinionjs on his motives, but we may be wrong. If he hadnt decided to write this book, we wouldnt be having this argument. We all know how good he was on the playing field, but now he will also be remembered for his weakness as a human being. I can just speak from my own experiences, but if I was in Oisins shoes, I would want to be remembered for being the man that scored the goal that beat the Kingdom in Croke Park, there was a book in that story alone.

It must be great to never have erred, let someone down or hurt someone by vitue of your actions and deeds. I didnt think it was posible to have so many people live that way and for them all to post on this board is remarkable.

I have no time for Peter Canavan but if he was in the  financial shape Oisin was in I would pull for him all the way because I would rather see people suceed in beating their demons than further succumb to them and if mcConville has to write a book to pay off what he owes so be it, as long as he is not making personal attacks on others I am fine with it.

I have never been a gambler but i have known and loved those who are and it is a horrible disease and I hope and pray that Oisin gets himself sorted. To be honest 5times I dont think you give two shites if Oisin sorts himself out or not.
Post by: Tyrones own on September 24, 2007, 05:53:35 PM
Quote from: stew on September 24, 2007, 02:44:12 PM

It must be great to never have erred, let someone down or hurt someone by vitue of your actions and deeds. I didnt think it was posible to have so many people live that way and for them all to post on this board is remarkable.

I have no time for Peter Canavan but if he was in the  financial shape Oisin was in I would pull for him all the way because I would rather see people suceed in beating their demons than further succumb to them and if mcConville has to write a book to pay off what he owes so be it, as long as he is not making personal attacks on others I am fine with it.

I have never been a gambler but i have known and loved those who are and it is a horrible disease and I hope and pray that Oisin gets himself sorted. To be honest 5times I dont think you give two shites if Oisin sorts himself out or not.

An Armagh man having something positive to say about Peter would be a first, you'd have to admit Stew ;)
Post by: armaghniac on September 24, 2007, 07:31:09 PM
QuoteAn Armagh man having something positive to say about Peter

Canavan was a right bollix at times on the field, as well as being plain brilliant, both of which are annoying to Armagh people. However I have heard very positive things about his dealings with people off the field, which reflect credit on the man.

For well known players any adverse activity, real or imagined,  is repeated ad nauseam and their good work is overlooked.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 24, 2007, 08:02:27 PM
Anyone remember the video the Armagh one's made about Peter Canavan after beating Tyrone in the 2005 ulster final. A south Armagh man putting on a gay voice and going on about Canavan and Mulligan being gay. Made Canavan's winning point in the semi just over a month later all the more sweeter, guess the joke was on them.
Post by: heurebag on September 24, 2007, 08:34:36 PM
whiskey steve is right in his entirety, although i was talkin to mc geeney yesterday n he says tht hes been asked to go over to asussie rules to be the manager of colingwood
Post by: Over the Bar on September 24, 2007, 09:02:03 PM
QuoteCanavan was a right bollix at times on the field

Like when he stuck that free over in injury time AISF '05?  :-\
Post by: SeanSouth on September 24, 2007, 09:25:55 PM
Every GAA player in the 6 counties is an absolute saint and to suggest any of them has any negative traits is ridiculous........
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 24, 2007, 09:47:51 PM
It's getting more and more like orchard county every day.
Post by: SeanSouth on September 24, 2007, 09:53:04 PM
Can i tell you my anecdote about Saint Oisin, i saw him one day helping a couple of old ladies across the road with their shopping, i then asked him what he had planned for the rest of the day,to which he replied that he would be heading shortly to read stories to some blind children from both sides of the community. He told me he didnt want the press to hear of these good deeds though...... So leave Oisin alone.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 24, 2007, 10:14:58 PM
Personally I'd blame the bookies for taking bets from him when they knew he had an addiction, but maybe he wasn't putting the bets on himself and was getting school kids to do 'runner' for him in return for buying their carry-outs for them.  :P
Post by: Tyrone lady on September 24, 2007, 10:54:28 PM
Know very little about Mc Conville as a person. But thats irrelevant, the lad obviously had a serious problem and i hope to god he has it well under control, dont think any gambler or anyone with any kind of addiction is ever cured, they can only control something as best they can. If this book helps him pay of his debts then so be it, noone is asking anyone to buy it.
Five times ur attitude personally makes me sick, your the most jumped up arrogant self righteous person i have saw on here in a long time. Who are you to say gambling or acoholism isnt an illness ? Some people can take a few drinks and stop, some people can make a few bets win a few pound and go home happy, others cant, they have a compulsion for more and more, and even though they know they are going to the depths of insanity with their actions they dont stop it, because they cant  eventually some may control it. Dont you think alcoholics would love to walk away after a few drinks, and gamblers after a few bets?? An illness and a horrible disease as is any addiction when you have lost control and the only way you can see to make things better is doing the very thing that put you in the mess in the first place.
Post by: stew on September 24, 2007, 11:44:53 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 24, 2007, 05:53:35 PM
Quote from: stew on September 24, 2007, 02:44:12 PM

An Armagh man having something positive to say about Peter would be a first, you'd have to admit Stew ;)

Well if it helps I have him as the best player ever to play the game and said so on here many years ago.

In fairness there are a brave few tyrone boys that cant abide the wee fecker either.
Post by: thevoiceofreason on September 25, 2007, 02:35:32 PM
such nonsense spouted here- if gambling is about as much of an illness as being an alco neither is an illness nor a disease it just a means to try to justify peoples own mess ups in life and this must be seen as what it is a publicity stunt and i really hope it backfires especially after the nonsense about not betting on himself- oisin you are pathetic and i really hope your book flops as any decent person can see right through what you are doing, oision the book sure it could be wrote on the back of a stamp- wait mcgeeny will be next when he flops at management
Post by: full back on September 25, 2007, 02:37:29 PM
Quote from: thevoiceofreason on September 25, 2007, 02:35:32 PM
such nonsense spouted here- if gambling is about as much of an illness as being an alco neither is an illness nor a disease it just a means to try to justify peoples own mess ups in life and this must be seen as what it is a publicity stunt and i really hope it backfires especially after the nonsense about not betting on himself- oisin you are pathetic and i really hope your book flops as any decent person can see right through what you are doing, oision the book sure it could be wrote on the back of a stamp- wait mcgeeny will be next when he flops at management

What a f**king asshole >:(
Post by: Spiritof98 on September 25, 2007, 02:38:39 PM
AHH the voice of reason,  ???  were have you been all our lives? Great 1st post :-\ Tube
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 25, 2007, 02:40:11 PM
is he the voiceofreason or the mayomachine either way he is a wum
Post by: thevoiceofreason on September 25, 2007, 02:50:25 PM
just calling it as i see it and i am entitled to speak my mind, really hope it flops and i know it will beside the stupid handouts from armagh people, ive a tip for you oisin dont bet on armagh ha ha you loser!!
Post by: Uladh on September 25, 2007, 02:57:03 PM
Quote from: thevoiceofreason on September 25, 2007, 02:50:25 PM
just calling it as i see it and i am entitled to speak my mind, really hope it flops and i know it will beside the stupid handouts from armagh people, ive a tip for you oisin dont bet on armagh ha ha you loser!!

is there a coherent sentance in there somewhere?
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on September 25, 2007, 03:05:03 PM
Quoteive a tip for you oisin dont bet on armagh ha ha you loser!!

Speaking of losers, Goodbye. Is there another school holiday on or something?
Post by: full back on September 25, 2007, 03:08:00 PM
Well done mod, on the ball today
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 25, 2007, 03:09:47 PM
Aye well done as they say in our part of the world it there was a shortage of pric*ks he would make 2 of them ;)
Post by: shotstopper1 on September 25, 2007, 03:38:15 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 25, 2007, 03:09:47 PM
Aye well done as they say in our part of the world it there was a shortage of pric*ks he would make 2 of them ;)

Funny that this is quoted on a thread featuring McConville,as it was himself that said, while in Virginia, that there was that many women swarming round him, he'd need two mickies to keep them all happy  ;D
Post by: Balboa on September 25, 2007, 03:42:18 PM
Quote from: shotstopper1 on September 25, 2007, 03:38:15 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 25, 2007, 03:09:47 PM

Funny that this is quoted on a thread featuring McConville,as it was himself that said, while in Virginia, that there was that many women swarming round him, he'd need two mickies to keep them all happy  ;D

There is no accounting for taste......
Post by: goldenyears on September 25, 2007, 03:56:13 PM
yesterday's news; who gives a fcuk. some of you fellas wanna wise up arguing and slanging over another lad's misfortune. if it was announced as a wee bit of pre book launch PR then fair enough.....move on....

i look forward to buying the book!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 25, 2007, 03:57:28 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 24, 2007, 10:14:58 PM
Personally I'd blame the bookies for taking bets from him when they knew he had an addiction, but maybe he wasn't putting the bets on himself and was getting school kids to do 'runner' for him in return for buying their carry-outs for them.  :P
Now that's funny :D
Post by: full back on September 25, 2007, 03:58:01 PM
Quote from: goldenyears on September 25, 2007, 03:56:13 PM
yesterday's news; who gives a fcuk. some of you fellas wanna wise up arguing and slanging over another lad's misfortune. if it was announced as a wee bit of pre book launch PR then fair enough.....move on....

i look forward to buying the book!

Coming from a Down man, that is a big statement goldenyears - well said
Post by: Uladh on September 25, 2007, 04:24:36 PM

Yes full back but GY is keen to see if he gets a mention, being a former class mate of the man himself
Post by: full back on September 26, 2007, 10:39:02 AM
I know he is uladh ;)
Bet you he has called oisin lately just to see how he is getting on :D
Post by: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 12:52:01 PM
McConville in appeal for addicts' support

Armagh's Oisin McConville
12 October 2007

Oisin McConville has revealed how playing with Armagh helped him to overcome his gambling addiction which left him with debts of EUR150,000.

But he believes that gambling and other addictions are common among sportspeople, who crave an adrenaline rush when they are away from the highs of competition, and has called for support structures to help them deal with their problems to be put in place.

"I don't know how prevalent it is, but it is a problem in society so it's going to be a problem in sport," McConville said at the launch of the AIB club championships in Belfast.

"A lot if it is trying to replace the adrenaline you get from playing on a football field in front of 50,000 people.

"It's a problem everywhere and it's widespread. They did a survey in Britain and they reckon that 2.5 million people are suffering from it. If that's the case, I'm not alone - even if I felt like it at the time.

"I think it's something that needs to be addressed. Someone at some level needs to look at it. I don't know whether that's within the GAA or the Sports Council or whatever, but something has to be done."

A good start would be to walk past the bookies...........

Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 12, 2007, 01:22:24 PM
QuoteA good start would be to walk past the bookies...........

not remotely funny ye tool
Post by: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:25:09 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 12, 2007, 01:22:24 PM

Not supposed to be, just sound advice then maybe we can put the violins away for Oisin.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 12, 2007, 01:27:06 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:25:09 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on October 12, 2007, 01:22:24 PM

Not supposed to be, just sound advice then maybe we can put the violins away for Oisin.

your ignorance of an addiction is demostrated by a throw away comment...ah sure just walk past it
Post by: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:28:59 PM
People have to be willing to help themselves.
Post by: full back on October 12, 2007, 01:30:22 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 12:52:01 PM

Uneducated fool....
Go tout some tickets or do something useful with yourself
Post by: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:33:38 PM
Quote from: full back on October 12, 2007, 01:30:22 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 12:52:01 PM

Uneducated fool....
Go tout some tickets or do something useful with yourself

Why dont you educate me then Full Back
Post by: full back on October 12, 2007, 01:41:51 PM
I would have thought that if you were educated enough to tout tickets you would have been educated enough to know gambling is an addiction...........
Post by: goldenyears on October 12, 2007, 01:46:41 PM
fullback / uladh; you two know too much! ;D

Post by: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:47:52 PM
Quote from: full back on October 12, 2007, 01:41:51 PM
I would have thought that if you were educated enough to tout tickets you would have been educated enough to know gambling is an addiction...........

Do you know something i dont? Or is this in relation to the thread where i mentioned i may sell two NFL tickets on ebay? In any case i have those four tickets in the house, i would sell you two of them for face value but alas i have promised them to two fellas i know in London. Keep fighting the fight Full Back.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 12, 2007, 01:50:53 PM
Wile lot of bitching goin on across the board today, unbelievable actually.
some very sensitive people out there it seems, just waiting to pounce.
Post by: thebandit on October 12, 2007, 06:24:53 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 12, 2007, 01:28:59 PM
People have to be willing to help themselves.

Which Oisin did you sack
Post by: cross4capital on October 13, 2007, 03:42:38 PM
I think its disgraceful that this thread has even been alowed  to carry on. We should all leave oisin alone, he has done so much for his club and county and is a great role model for all of us young feens. I'd take a 100k debt anyday if I could have his ability or looks. Lay off the man.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 13, 2007, 03:53:06 PM

Cross4capital has to be a piss take. surely?
Post by: new devil on October 13, 2007, 08:01:42 PM
Has the book come out yet...if so were online would i get it
Post by: Cloc Mor on October 13, 2007, 08:05:56 PM
www.boylesports.com
Post by: new devil on October 13, 2007, 08:08:42 PM
 :D :D :D The funny thing is i actually clicked on it
Post by: Balboa on October 13, 2007, 08:52:14 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 13, 2007, 08:08:42 PM
:D :D :D The funny thing is i actually clicked on it

The funny thing is you are mental Devil.......
Post by: new devil on October 14, 2007, 04:08:32 AM
 ::) ::) another brilliant post from ballbag
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2007, 08:54:15 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 22, 2007, 08:46:00 PM
Ghost writer details (http://www.randomhouse.co.uk/catalog/author.htm?authorID=57370)

Steve Staunton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Staunton)

Post by: Frank Casey on October 22, 2007, 08:57:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 22, 2007, 08:54:15 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 22, 2007, 08:46:00 PM
Ghost writer details (http://www.randomhouse.co.uk/catalog/author.htm?authorID=57370)

Steve Staunton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Staunton)

More like dead man walking.
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2007, 09:43:19 PM
Don't know about that TYP.
Post by: corn02 on October 23, 2007, 10:21:33 AM
What is that Gaa Confidential book about then?
Post by: corn02 on October 23, 2007, 10:25:07 AM
 :)

Have you read it 5Times?
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 22, 2008, 08:15:36 PM
Not strictly related to this thread, but 'Booked', a collection of Tom Humphreys' articles is currently on offer in Easons' sale for the princely sum of £0.99. Whilst some of the articles may appear a bit dated (it was first published in 2003), it is still a very good read and an excellent addition to anyone's library.

And it is only 11.01% of the cost of "The Gambler", on sale in the same store for £8.99.
Post by: gerry on January 23, 2008, 12:31:45 AM
QuoteNot strictly related to this thread,

you can say that again
Post by: orangeman on January 23, 2008, 12:35:40 AM
Cross are 7/4 fav to win All Ireland again - sounds a good bet to me - what do you think ?
Post by: stephenite on January 23, 2008, 12:36:54 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 23, 2008, 12:35:40 AM
Cross are 7/4 fav to win All Ireland again - sounds a good bet to me - what do you think ?

Good value - nobody going to get near them
Post by: orangeman on January 23, 2008, 10:01:27 AM
I honestly can't see them getting beat either. So get on !!!!!!!!!!!  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 23, 2008, 10:16:49 AM
You're some chancer stephenite! I am sure ballina have their own feelings. You'll coast past Nemo to hopefully set up the revenge attack from 1999!
Post by: Bogball XV on January 23, 2008, 10:38:10 AM
I started reading the book last night, not impressed so far - it seems like he's decided to write a book aimed at getting revenge on all those people who have slighted him over the years. 
Worse than that, he claims that in his first year playing (1994) he didn't get a run out as Armagh were hammered in the Athletic Grounds by Derry, now, maybe I'm totally wrong on this one, but Derry did not play Armagh in 1994 (game of the decade v Down, Celtic Park, anyone remember), since he seems to be taking each year one after each other, surely this is going to come to light at some stage?  Maybe later on in the book himself and ghost writer are going to cotton on to the inaccuracy and tell us all how they've been having a laugh, at this stage it just seems very shoddy.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 23, 2008, 11:06:48 AM
Bogball -

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2230.0
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 23, 2008, 07:30:01 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 23, 2008, 12:31:45 AM

you can say that again

Not strictly related to the thread, but, in a tangential type way Bogball seems to be getting the drift. Whilst people continue to happily shell out a fair bit of money for a poorly written book with numerous factual inaccuracies, I simply highlighted that you can buy a much more enjoyable book of a much superior journalistic standard for a fraction of the price.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 23, 2008, 07:57:37 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 23, 2008, 07:30:01 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 23, 2008, 12:31:45 AM

you can say that again

Not strictly related to the thread, but, in a tangential type way Bogball seems to be getting the drift. Whilst people continue to happily shell out a fair bit of money for a poorly written book with numerous factual inaccuracies, I simply highlighted that you can buy a much more enjoyable book of a much superior journalistic standard for a fraction of the price.
I am flabbergasted that they could let such a glaring inaccuracy through, I mean fair enough Oisin may forget what year he first sat on the bench for a championship game, but for the journo etc to do so too is unbelievable, I shudder to think what awaits me (if I get round to picking it up again).  Now I bought the book myself as I thought it would be an interesting read, and I think Oisin should have a decent story to tell, but thusfar it's very poor.  I didn't expect it to be the standard regularly churned out by the likes of Duggan or Humphries, but still....

Btw, well highlighted Sam.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 23, 2008, 08:02:17 PM
Full of inaccuracies, most (if not all) have already been highlighted on the board. By the way the John Laverty he refers to is actually new Slaughtneil manager (and Oisin's former Armagh team mate) John Rafferty. Derry Daisy told me.
Post by: ONeill on January 23, 2008, 09:41:24 PM
That suggests he has just recorded Oisin talking. Maybe when we read 'Davy Harte is a wee bastard' he really said J'ammy tarts and green mustard'.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 23, 2008, 10:06:07 PM
QuoteI mean fair enough Oisin may forget what year he first sat on the bench for a championship game, but for the journo etc to do so too is unbelievable, I shudder to think what awaits me (if I get round to picking it up again).  N

Basically the date errors continue throughout the description of the 90s in the book. The inaccuracies are very annoying. I think Oneill has hit the nail on the head in that Oisin likely never put a pen to paper. Very shoddy journalism though. A day's proof reading by anyone with a decent knowledge of Armagh football in the 90s could have sorted the problem out. But the fact that the dates are mixed up doesn't mean that the incidents described (Gormley's mouthing, Harte's taunting etc) aren't accurate accounts of factual events.

Its a reasonable read, the stuff about the fiasco Armagh endured before the Galway match is interesting. Some good anecdotes as well. Great to hear what a generous soul Francie Bellew is.
Post by: mhacadoir on January 24, 2008, 01:57:06 AM
i agree, the inaccuracies are quite annoying, i was quite annoyed with the quality of journalism... it is a good story there to be told and it could have been done better.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 24, 2008, 09:00:40 AM
QuoteBut the fact that the dates are mixed up doesn't meanthat the incidents described (Gormley's mouthing, Harte's taunting etc) aren't accurate accounts of factual events.

If he is telling fibs regarding dates who are you to say he is so truthful with regards to everything else.
Post by: thebandit on January 24, 2008, 11:19:55 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 24, 2008, 09:00:40 AM
QuoteBut the fact that the dates are mixed up doesn't meanthat the incidents described (Gormley's mouthing, Harte's taunting etc) aren't accurate accounts of factual events.

If he is telling fibs regarding dates who are you to say he is so truthful with regards to everything else.

I dont think anyone dispute that it did happen in 2003, I couldn't believe the carry on of Gormley that day in Omagh, he's far too good a defender to have to resort to that shite
Post by: orangeman on January 24, 2008, 11:21:29 AM
Was it only Conor Gormley that was misbehaving that day ? Hard to believe that it would only be himself ?? ;)
Post by: Uladh on January 24, 2008, 03:22:18 PM

There's something in your eye
Post by: Pangurban on January 24, 2008, 10:43:32 PM
GAA Confidential is an amusing book of nonsensical,whimsical pieces, with a little history thrown in. A good read
Post by: The Iceman on March 07, 2008, 08:41:30 PM
just finished the book there - picked it up from my brother when I was back home for 2 weeks.

Interesting read - could really have been compiled by any of the cross/county boys of the era but I have to admit I did enjoy it

some good insight into what went on in the back room and some good stories

i loved the story about how management made a "peace with inches" speech using the family of the players

Would love the mighty Geezer to one day tell his story

what a read that would be...........
Post by: stew on March 09, 2008, 12:01:38 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 07, 2008, 08:41:30 PM
just finished the book there - picked it up from my brother when I was back home for 2 weeks.

Interesting read - could really have been compiled by any of the cross/county boys of the era but I have to admit I did enjoy it

some good insight into what went on in the back room and some good stories

i loved the story about how management made a "peace with inches" speech using the family of the players

Would love the mighty Geezer to one day tell his story

what a read that would be...........

As long as he used a ghost writer he would be ok.

Geezer, the single most influencial Armagh player of all time, not even close to being the best player but no matter. I love the man and wish him all the best in his new role.
Post by: stew on March 09, 2008, 12:08:47 AM
Quote from: cross4capital on October 13, 2007, 03:42:38 PM
I think its disgraceful that this thread has even been alowed  to carry on. We should all leave oisin alone, he has done so much for his club and county and is a great role model for all of us young feens. I'd take a 100k debt anyday if I could have his ability or looks. Lay off the man.

Oh fcuk me pink!!! O'Neill is this you again????

I love what Oisin has done for armagh, a tremendous servant for both club and county, that said the man look like a cross ( pardon the pun) between a roman soldier and ballyregan bob.

Some of you tyrone cnuts have nothing better to do that take this pish out of armagh men. :'(