Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM

Title: Top 3 cities
Post by: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM
3. Cork - it's by a distance my favourite place to go supping and doesn't involve a feckin airport.

2. Rome - the coolest spot about

1. London, by a fair bit. Has everything. Try and get over a few times / year.. definitely helps having a free room to go to

Title: Re: Top 3 cities
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 24, 2026, 02:33:44 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM3. Cork - it's by a distance my favourite place to go supping and doesn't involve a feckin airport.

2. Rome - the coolest spot about

1. London, by a fair bit. Has everything. Try and get over a few times / year.. definitely helps having a free room to go to

In Ireland

1. Galway
2. Derry
3. Kilkenny

Post by: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 03:05:51 PM
1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane
Post by: lurganblue on April 24, 2026, 03:08:16 PM
World...

London
Vienna
Rome

Ireland...

Galway
Derry
The rest I could take or leave.  I will probably go for Dublin for the big day out at HQ.
Post by: clonian on April 24, 2026, 04:16:03 PM
Nice
Copenhagen
Edinburgh
Post by: Hereiam on April 24, 2026, 04:20:00 PM
The great city of Bangor Co. Down  ;D  ;D  ;D get ta fcuk
Post by: armaghniac on April 24, 2026, 04:20:22 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 03:05:51 PM1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

There is a whole world beyond B, try c to z.

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich
Post by: gallsman on April 24, 2026, 04:52:29 PM
Edinburgh
Brisbane
San Diego

Honourable mention to Havana but can imagine it's not at the minute.
Post by: FirstToTheBall on April 24, 2026, 04:54:32 PM
Rome defo, heading to naples later this year never been.

London defo a good spot.

Paris and barcelona.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2026, 04:56:44 PM
Malaga
London
Amsterdam

Plenty that fit the bill for various reasons

London as you could go 10 times and not do or go somewhere twice

Malaga for the city heat food and handiness

Amsterdam as it's lovely and not a bad place to pivot to other cities if needs be.

Ireland

Galway childhood holidays and lads weekends

Dublin as the craic has always be great

Can't leave out my home city for all the bad craic I've had some cracking years living partying clubbing

All dear holes bar Amsterdam and Malaga
Post by: illdecide on April 24, 2026, 05:06:23 PM
Genuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.
Post by: thebuzz on April 24, 2026, 05:09:08 PM
Had a few trips to Munich in my youth. Great times.
Spent a year in London but was working seven days a week so didn't get the good of it at all.
The only plus was that I saved enough for 6 months in New York which was great.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 05:16:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 24, 2026, 04:20:22 PM
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually went to Zagreb in the same trip as Budapest and it's a kip!
Post by: Puckoon on April 24, 2026, 05:28:15 PM
Budapest
Chicago
New York

Honorable mention to Austin for it's weirdness. Seattle would rank better if it didn't look like the wet grey divis flats lots of the time, but a super city as well.
Post by: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 05:30:52 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 24, 2026, 05:06:23 PMGenuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.

So much to see and do and it's really handy to get around. The last couple of times we were over we took in an early kick off game at Selhurst PK, walked Hyde Pk (pint at the Serpentine), Highgate Cemetery, food markets at Ally Pally, swam in the outdoor heated pool, noodles in Chinatown, hit up all the music stores on Denmark St, played indoor golf, went to a music exhibition at the Royal College of music and a gig down on the South Bank...relative over there has a booked called London in 365 days, a book with something off the beaten path to do each day of the year
Post by: FirstToTheBall on April 24, 2026, 05:32:27 PM
Budapest seems to be scoring plenty, good trip?

Last few years ive been doing spots in italy, love the place, cinque terre, puglia, capri, heading to rome, ischia and naples this june.
Post by: gallsman on April 24, 2026, 05:33:43 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 24, 2026, 05:06:23 PMGenuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.

Literally everything.
Post by: armaghniac on April 24, 2026, 05:51:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 05:16:31 PM
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually went to Zagreb in the same trip as Budapest and it's a kip!

Actually, I've never been. I once had planned a trip to Budapest and Zagreb and I had to cancel.
Post by: laoislad on April 24, 2026, 06:32:50 PM
Portlaoise
Portarlington
Stradbally
Post by: Puckoon on April 24, 2026, 06:46:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 24, 2026, 06:32:50 PMPortlaoise
Portarlington
Stradbally

Wrong order LL according to Christy anyhow

Well there's people here upon my word from every corner of the world
Portarlington Portlaoise and Tullamore
From Two Mile House and Poulaphouca
From Blacktrench Cutbush and Boolea
Such a crowd I've never seen before
Post by: gawa316 on April 24, 2026, 07:38:17 PM
Galway
Prague
Edinburgh

These were all great for the rip but too old for that shite now.

Most overrated...New Orleans
Post by: naka on April 24, 2026, 08:15:02 PM
Rome
Madrid
London
Three top cities
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 24, 2026, 08:28:39 PM
London
Paris
New York

Cities you could do a fortnight in with ease.

Lesser but weekend break crackers.

Malaga
Wroclaw
Prague
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2026, 08:42:05 PM
Beirut
Kyoto
Siena
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 08:53:53 PM
Was in Seville a few weeks ago - lovely small city. London definitely in the Top 3. You can see and do so much without even entering a museum or a gallery.

I'm a big fan of Edinburgh. Haven't been to Rome since my honeymoon but plan to tackle it next year and possibly Malaga this summer.

Large:
1. London
2. Paris
3. Rome

Small:
1. Edinburgh
2. Seville
3. Copenhagen
Post by: playwiththewind1st on April 24, 2026, 08:57:37 PM
Hard to pick just the 3, TBH.

Big cities:
Amsterdam.
Vienna.
Istanbul.

Smaller scale:
Savannah.
Marrakech.
Santiago de Compostela.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2026, 04:56:44 PMMalaga
London
Amsterdam

Amsterdam as it's lovely and not a bad place to pivot to other cities if needs be.

Ireland

Can't leave out my home city for all the bad craic I've had some cracking years living partying clubbing

Have never been to Amsterdam and would like to visit but the missus has been and it pished the whole time she was there (30 yrs ago!) so she's not keen. I don't think she's up for letting me go unattended either  :D
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 24, 2026, 09:05:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2026, 04:56:44 PMMalaga
London
Amsterdam

Ireland

Have never been to Amsterdam and would like to visit but the missus has been and it pished the whole time she was there (30 yrs ago!) so she's not keen. I don't think she's up for letting me go unattended either  :D
It isn't what it used to be. The red light is gone, the 'cafes' are less and less with the smoking ban.
Post by: gallsman on April 24, 2026, 09:29:38 PM
Granada and San Sebastian are top notch "small" cities in Spain as well. Could happily spend my life going back to either of them.

Wife is a huge fan of Porto.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on April 24, 2026, 09:36:55 PM
Did a Porto-Coimbra-Lisbon trip a good few years ago. All great spots.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 09:42:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 24, 2026, 09:29:38 PMGranada and San Sebastian are top notch "small" cities in Spain as well. Could happily spend my life going back to either of them.

Good to know. I hadn't been in Spain in 20 years til went to Seville. Will go back and tackle some of those smaller cities. Would like to visit San Sebastian.
Post by: AustinPowers on April 24, 2026, 09:53:03 PM
Hard to beat Galway.

I  liked Edinburgh. Manchester too.
Post by: Rois on April 24, 2026, 09:57:39 PM
London
Annecy, France
Palm Springs

Quote from: gawa316 on April 24, 2026, 07:38:17 PMMost overrated...New Orleans
Agree fully - Bourbon St is a weird, dirty place
Post by: DaleCooper on April 24, 2026, 10:01:37 PM
Kyoto
Innsbruck
Monaco

Post by: gawa316 on April 24, 2026, 10:54:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 09:42:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 24, 2026, 09:29:38 PMGranada and San Sebastian are top notch "small" cities in Spain as well. Could happily spend my life going back to either of them.

Good to know. I hadn't been in Spain in 20 years til went to Seville. Will go back and tackle some of those smaller cities. Would like to visit San Sebastian.

Yes agree with San Sebastián, great spot.

Also loved Hossegor/Capbreton in France and Cartagena in Spain
Post by: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 11:36:45 PM
Quote from: FirstToTheBall on April 24, 2026, 05:32:27 PMBudapest seems to be scoring plenty, good trip?

Last few years ive been doing spots in italy, love the place, cinque terre, puglia, capri, heading to rome, ischia and naples this june.

What an amazing place...had never heard of it until I was told we were going (3 years ago)

Spent a long weekend in Minori about 10 years ago, fitted our budget better than some of the other spots. Amazing walks, great beach , well priced amazing food and no American tourists! 😁
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 24, 2026, 11:46:07 PM
Budapest
Berlin
Lisbon
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 25, 2026, 12:10:01 AM
Good to see Berlin getting a mention. Heading back there again next month, great city.

Have done most of the main options in Europe, only place I wouldn't go back to is Brussels.

Not much help if you're looking a top three though. Apologies.
Post by: PMG1 on April 25, 2026, 12:27:48 AM
World
Shanghai
Osaka
Brisbane

Europe
Porto
Bratislava
San Sebastián

Ireland
Galway
Cork
Galway again
Post by: FirstToTheBall on April 25, 2026, 07:04:28 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 11:36:45 PM
Quote from: FirstToTheBall on April 24, 2026, 05:32:27 PMBudapest seems to be scoring plenty, good trip?

What an amazing place...had never heard of it until I was told we were going (3 years ago)

Spent a long weekend in Minori about 10 years ago, fitted our budget better than some of the other spots. Amazing walks, great beach , well priced amazing food and no American tourists! 😁

Whats not to love eh
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 25, 2026, 08:36:03 AM

Was in San Sebastián last year, brilliant spot and will definitely go back soon
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 25, 2026, 08:40:30 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 25, 2026, 12:10:01 AMGood to see Berlin getting a mention. Heading back there again next month, great city.

Have done most of the main options in Europe, only place I wouldn't go back to is Brussels.

Brussels getting a bad rep now unfortunately as it was and should be a good visit

Berlin on the list
Post by: RedHand88 on April 25, 2026, 09:49:58 AM
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually not being funny here when I say Berlin and Bruges get honourable mentions.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 25, 2026, 10:45:13 AM
Have to say I find London too busy. For me Paris is hard to beat when you are strolling down along the Seine on a nice evening.

Haven't been to San Sebatian but it's on the list - did do Bilbao and it was a class spot. Not as high end but super cheap and the Guggenheim is the best fun you will have in a museum. Thinking of heading to a La Liga match this year so Athletic or Real Sociedad.

I'd go:
Paris
Athens - a bit gritty but cool and the history is everywhere
Buenos Aires (it was before head the ball took over)

Post by: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 11:15:09 AM
Quote from: FirstToTheBall on April 25, 2026, 07:04:28 AM

Whats not to love eh

I've no real problem with American tourists, just not throngs of them like some parts of the Almafi coast(which drives the prices way up) eg Positano, Ford Capri
Post by: armaghniac on April 25, 2026, 12:45:25 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 25, 2026, 09:49:58 AM
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually not being funny here when I say Berlin and Bruges get honourable mentions.

Berlin, Bilbao and Bologna. f**k Bruges.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 25, 2026, 01:26:13 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 11:15:09 AM

Whats not to love eh

I've no real problem with American tourists, just not throngs of them like some parts of the Almafi coast(which drives the prices way up) eg Positano, Ford Capri
Was thinking of going back to Amalfi Coast next year as we were there for honeymoon 25 yrs ago next year. From checking online it looks hellish in the summer and the hotel we stayed in is now over a grand a night  :o
Post by: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 04:33:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 25, 2026, 01:26:13 PM

Whats not to love eh

Was thinking of going back to Amalfi Coast next year as we were there for honeymoon 25 yrs ago next year. From checking online it looks hellish in the summer and the hotel we stayed in is now over a grand a night  :o

Our trip was a wedding anniversary (a big enough one)...originally pushing the boat out and had booked three nights in a hotel in Positano. Caught ourselves on re cost and booked a wee air BnB down the coast for a fraction of the cost. I can get the details of needed
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 25, 2026, 06:04:17 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 04:33:10 PM

Whats not to love eh

Our trip was a wedding anniversary (a big enough one)...originally pushing the boat out and had booked three nights in a hotel in Positano. Caught ourselves on re cost and booked a wee air BnB down the coast for a fraction of the cost. I can get the details of needed
Aye PM me the details like a good lad. Might call into the hotel (also in Positano!) for a glass of tap water  ;D
Post by: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 08:38:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 25, 2026, 06:04:17 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 25, 2026, 04:33:10 PM

Whats not to love eh

Aye PM me the details like a good lad. Might call into the hotel (also in Positano!) for a glass of tap water  ;D

👍
Post by: galwayman on April 25, 2026, 11:29:09 PM

Thinking of visiting Ischia next year. Any recommendations on which part of the island is best to stay? Cheers
Post by: JoG2 on April 26, 2026, 12:15:09 AM
Quote from: galwayman on April 25, 2026, 11:29:09 PM

Thinking of visiting Ischia next year. Any recommendations on which part of the island is best to stay? Cheers

We stayed about a 15 mins walk from the port in Ischia town (I'll ask the wife re hotel name but I do mind it was only a € for a beer at the hotel pool) halfway between the port and the castle island. 3 nighter, we stayed in the 1 town. Not another English speaker did we meet , apparently it's where the locals go on holiday. Beaches / swimming great. That Aragonese Castle island is a great spot.
After watching Race Across the World,if we had to do it again , we'd spend a night or two in Naples after. Have only ever travelled through it, looks a great spot
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2026, 01:21:06 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 24, 2026, 09:57:39 PMLondon
Annecy, France
Palm Springs

Great call with Annecy. I love Haute Savoie and Evian.

My daughter loves sauces so I made her a tartiflette. It was like a gratin with sliced potatoes on the bottom.  The sauce was white wine, cream and soft cheese. Amazing flavour.
Post by: markl121 on April 26, 2026, 01:23:35 AM
1. New York
2. Lisbon
3. Funchal
Post by: gawa316 on April 26, 2026, 04:02:49 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 24, 2026, 09:57:39 PMLondon
Annecy, France
Palm Springs

I wasn't there at night but walked backed through to my hotel one morning after going to Cafe De Monde...the smell of piss, stale alcohol, weed, and puke was brutal
Post by: tbrick18 on April 27, 2026, 10:52:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 25, 2026, 08:40:30 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 25, 2026, 12:10:01 AMGood to see Berlin getting a mention. Heading back there again next month, great city.

Brussels getting a bad rep now unfortunately as it was and should be a good visit

Berlin on the list

What's happened Brussels? I was there 20-odd years ago, loved it!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2026, 11:40:12 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on April 27, 2026, 10:52:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 25, 2026, 08:40:30 AM

Berlin on the list

What's happened Brussels? I was there 20-odd years ago, loved it!

Mass immigration in towns just outside the city, I've been many times over the years but not recently, no issues that last time but I've friends that live there and while its no different that some major cities its just different to before.. Drugs, gangs, structural decay..

Hard to find a city though that doesn't have its problems though, but policing, it needs to be better, there are multiple videos of cities were things are kicking off