GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2015, 09:50:23 AM

Title: Longford v Kildare AI SFQ
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2015, 09:50:23 AM
So these two great stalwarts of Leinster football will duke it out next weekend in the senior championship and the minor championship. What a time to be alive!
Title: Re: Longford v Kildare AI SFQ
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 10:13:14 AM
Halycon days for sure.

It's Maynooth v Mostrim
Sallins v Slashers
Clane v Columbas

We owe ye one after the last time we met in Leinster when we had a perfectly good goal disallowed for a square ball. Other that that we have rarely met in Leinster in more recent times.

Hopefully it will be in Longford (prob all ticket) and ye can park the Horse boxes adout on the by-pass.

Then there's the recent U21 defeats for us, the upcoming minor final (as you correctly point out) and now this.

Let the fun begin.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2015, 10:18:57 AM
Ardclough v Abbeylara
Ballyteague v Ballinamuck
Clogherinkoe v Colehill
Derrinturn v Drumlish
Eadestown v Edgeworthstown
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2015, 10:26:10 AM
I was only thinking this morning that this weather had a distinct 'O'Byrne Cup' feel about it.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2015, 10:27:54 AM
The bihatimber should be recommissioned for the winners of this.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 10:59:25 AM
Did you know there are two Slashers clubs in Longford?

Longford Slashers
Shroid Slashers
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 12:10:24 PM
Game will be in Mullingar at 7pm Saturday 11th July 2015.

Post by: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 12:45:51 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 12:10:24 PM
Why not Longford?
Post by: LaurelEye on July 06, 2015, 12:54:09 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 12:45:51 PM
Why not Longford?

Because the stands in Pearse Park are currently considered structurally unsafe by Croke Park.

Would have gone for Breffni myself.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 12:55:42 PM
QuoteWhy not Longford?

It was discovered earlier in the year that some of the stands built about 8-10 years ago were not properly constucted and, ergo, are now closed.

COWBOYS TED..........NOTHING BUT A BUNCH OF COWBOYS

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BGZv_0mCEAAQ6FM.png:large)

This reduces the capacity and with a large horde expected from Lillyland it's now in Mullingar.
Post by: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 01:19:15 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 06, 2015, 12:54:09 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 12:45:51 PM
Why not Longford?

Because the stands in Pearse Park are currently considered structurally unsafe by Croke Park.

Would have gone for Breffni myself.
A quick Google shows the capacity of Pearse Park is currently 8,000 even with a section cordoned off. If that is so, surely that's still enough for such a fixture?
Post by: panc56 on July 06, 2015, 01:22:18 PM
Kildare Offaly only had 5000, can't understand us not at least pushing for a home tie.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 01:22:47 PM
I dunno Sidney, I'd imagine a decent crowd of Kildare lads and Longford lads would be heading to this. 10k or thereabouts? I think there was near 7k in Tullamore? 6,600 or something?
Post by: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 01:28:46 PM
Quote from: panc56 on July 06, 2015, 01:22:18 PM
Kildare Offaly only had 5000, can't understand us not at least pushing for a home tie.
Looked a lot smaller than 5,000.

Kildare's "massive travelling support" certainly wasn't in evidence, anyway.

If capacity is 8,000, Longford should certainly be pushing for a home tie.

Mullingar only holds 11,000, sod all difference.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 02:13:37 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 01:28:46 PM

I'd love to know where the 11k in Mullingar fits in.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 02:20:51 PM
5,400 at Kildare v Offaly. Probably a 60:40 split in favour of Kildare. Expect Kildare to bring our usual die-hard 4k, Longford should be able to match that hence 8k is on the limit and would involve all-ticket. Logistically probably makes sense to go with Mullingar and considering they brought us to Portlaoise one year to play Limerick they have previous in these matters.

Post by: macdanger2 on July 06, 2015, 02:25:36 PM
Anything to be said for having it in the Gaelic Grounds?  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 02:26:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 02:20:51 PM
5,400 at Kildare v Offaly. Probably a 60:40 split in favour of Kildare. Expect Kildare to bring our usual die-hard 4k, Longford should be able to match that hence 8k is on the limit and would involve all-ticket. Logistically probably makes sense to go with Mullingar and considering they brought us to Portlaoise one year to play Limerick they have previous in these matters.

I thought it would be Tullamore. Not like we need it.
Post by: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 02:51:54 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 02:13:37 PM

There's a four-tier stand behind one of the goals which doubles as the cereal shelves for the Dunnes Stores there.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 06, 2015, 02:57:16 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 06, 2015, 02:51:54 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 02:13:37 PM

There's a four-tier stand behind one of the goals which doubles as the cereal shelves for the Dunnes Stores there.
Go there and hear a computer voice shouting "unexpected item in the bagging area" for the afternoon!

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 03:39:58 PM
LOL lads but FFS don't be dissing Cusack Park else you'll have Croí in here shoutin-and-roarin.

We'll bate Kildare anywhere - it's just handier for them and their 4be4s to make the early escape when they are parked on the Sligo Rd on the bypass in Longford as opposed to clogging up Dunnes' carpark so it's Kildare followers I feel sorry for.

Mullingar is easy-peasy. Shur me Auld Lad used to cycle to it in the olden days in the 1940s and 50s when it hosted some mightly clashes between Longford and the likes of Meath and Dublin.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:21:48 PM
Have fun getting out of Dunnes Stores car park after the game SS  :-*
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 04:28:28 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:21:48 PM

Best place to park Croí? Looking for a quick exit home post match! Normally travel to Mullingar via motorway but via Rhode would be an option.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 04:29:14 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 04:28:28 PM

Best place to park Croí? Looking for a quick exit home post match! Normally travel to Mullingar via motorway but via Rhode would be an option.

Stop rubbing it in you bastard!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 04:30:50 PM
You could go via Rochfortbridge alright. You could park up near the courthouse and walk up the main street and up past the lake county.

(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/mullingar.png)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:52:36 PM

Take the motorway and take the second exit for Mullingar signposted Delvin. Left at the top of the slip road and pass by St. Lomans Hospital on your right hand side. If you have a match car like myself that you're not overly bothered about take the fourth road into the housing estate on your right (if you see the canal you've gone too far). Springfield (the housing estate) is working class but I've never had a problem. Keep going straight until the end of the road and turn left. This will bring you to a cul de sac and park up on the grass there. Head to Cusack Park via the tunnel under the canal. If you're bringing the 4x4 there is a free car park on your left as you're driving in to town, just after the car park for St. Paul's Church. Definitely stick to that side of the canal as opposed to parking outside Cusack Park as Saturday is busy in Mullingar. Shamrocks will probably be open in Springfield either, shark might be able to verify.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 05:14:38 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:52:36 PM

Take the motorway and take the second exit for Mullingar signposted Delvin. Left at the top of the slip road and pass by St. Lomans Hospital on your right hand side. If you have a match car like myself that you're not overly bothered about take the fourth road into the housing estate on your right (if you see the canal you've gone too far). Springfield (the housing estate) is working class but I've never had a problem. Keep going straight until the end of the road and turn left. This will bring you to a cul de sac and park up on the grass there. Head to Cusack Park via the tunnel under the canal. If you're bringing the 4x4 there is a free car park on your left as you're driving in to town, just after the car park for St. Paul's Church. Definitely stick to that side of the canal as opposed to parking outside Cusack Park as Saturday is busy in Mullingar. Shamrocks will probably be open in Springfield either, shark might be able to verify.

Cheers AZ, Croí I'll bring the Audi runabout so and park up in Springfield.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 05:22:04 PM
Best place to park?
Beside Mullingar Shamrocks
Walk under the canal and you are right at the ground.
After the game straight out the Delvin road and you're onto the M4
(http://i.imgur.com/iGpT3OE.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 05:23:15 PM
Jaysus lads, Springfield and Dalton Park? They'll burn the 4x4 to the wheels.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 05:25:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 05:14:38 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:52:36 PM

Cheers AZ, Croí I'll bring the Audi runabout so and park up in Springfield.

The R8 is a nice car alright  :P

You'll be taking the Springfield Cottages road there from the map and parking down where the Brosna meets the canal. In and out like nobodies business.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 05:26:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 05:23:15 PM
No they won't.
It is actually not a bad area.
Plenty worse areas in towns like Naas, Newbridge or Longford
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 05:47:39 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 05:26:11 PM
No they won't.

I think the majority of council estates in urban towns are all pretty grand. Social housing policy changes have ensured that we have moved away from large clusters of social housing which were not socially inclusive and ended up as breeding grounds for Anti-Social Behaviour. This old estates though in the meantime have matured and through tenant purchase schemes etc are slowly re-introducing a sense of community and pride.

You'll always get the odd isolated incident and a bad egg is a bad egg but we shouldn't be tarring Council Estates as some sort of commune of degenerates.
Post by: shark on July 06, 2015, 06:37:15 PM

Hey!! Nothing wrong with it. Seriously tho, the locals won't touch your car. It's a council estate, but it's grand, especially during daylight hours. One of the local members of the travelling community is on the Shamrocks senior team now, so they are all mad for GAA  ;).

Whether Shamrocks will be open or not I can't say for sure, but there will be plenty of parking in the estate.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 06:40:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2015, 05:47:39 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 06, 2015, 05:26:11 PM
No they won't.

I think the majority of council estates in urban towns are all pretty grand. Social housing policy changes have ensured that we have moved away from large clusters of social housing which were not socially inclusive and ended up as breeding grounds for Anti-Social Behaviour. This old estates though in the meantime have matured and through tenant purchase schemes etc are slowly re-introducing a sense of community and pride.

You'll always get the odd isolated incident and a bad egg is a bad egg but we shouldn't be tarring Council Estates as some sort of commune of degenerates.

Dinny, it's a council estate in Mullingar!! The whole town in is a commune for degenerates.

Only Kidding bucks :)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2015, 07:26:53 PM
Jazes lads - a football conversation may break out soon......................
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 08:02:15 PM
Sure not much point when there won't be much football going on out on the field  ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2015, 08:19:51 PM

They leave a footman with the wagon to deter random arson.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:23:38 AM
Just be glad ye don't have to head up to Omagh.
I won't be stopping for any man.

(http://blogforarizona.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/stagecoach-04.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2015, 09:29:43 AM
You'll be in our prayers

(http://i.guim.co.uk/img/static/Guardian/world/gallery/2008/aug/13/georgia/GD8364030@A-man--is-seen-in-his-9700.jpg?w=700&q=85&auto=format&sharp=10&s=1b94b439ac1a609f075b927042b4b7d1)
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2015, 09:40:37 AM
Sure we'll be in our element up there.

(http://www.anfearrua.com/images/upload/thailand.jpg)
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 07, 2015, 09:49:44 AM
Longford v Kildare in Mullingar. Can it get any worse than that?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 07, 2015, 09:53:41 AM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on July 07, 2015, 09:49:44 AM

Offaly playing Kilkenny in the minor beforehand I'm guessing?
Post by: Shrewdness on July 07, 2015, 09:54:25 AM
Even though they're not the team they were, i still expect Kildare to win this. By about 3-4 points. Losing home advantage is a blow to Longford.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 07, 2015, 10:33:59 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 07, 2015, 09:53:41 AM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on July 07, 2015, 09:49:44 AM

Offaly playing Kilkenny in the minor beforehand I'm guessing?

And then the Carlow boys stick their oversized heads in the door. I'm going to have nightmares about this.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2015, 10:51:28 AM
QuoteLongford v Kildare in Mullingar. Can it get any worse than that?

Yes - preparing for the local championship!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 08, 2015, 01:14:21 PM

westmeathgaaofficialVerified account
‏@westmeath_gaa

Longford/Kildare game Cusack Pk Sat 11 July 7pm. Mullingar festival is on with traffic restrictions & Mount Street closed so do arrive early
Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2015, 01:16:04 PM
See? should have been Tellamore.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 08, 2015, 04:30:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 08, 2015, 01:14:21 PM

westmeathgaaofficialVerified account
‏@westmeath_gaa

Longford/Kildare game Cusack Pk Sat 11 July 7pm. Mullingar festival is on with traffic restrictions & Mount Street closed so do arrive early

You'll be grand with Springfield. Mount Street runs up beside the courthouse where that sneaky AZ fella was sending u...
Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2015, 04:39:50 PM
Yeah but you'd be parking before Mount Street :)
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 10, 2015, 09:50:50 PM
No posts on this thread in 2 days, everyone hiding in the long grass?!

Looks like a wet and windy evening in store so might not be the cracker we're all expecting! Dont think Longford have anything to fear, great to see them bounce back after the hiding form the Dubs, they are not as bad as they were made to look that day as shown in 2nd half performance in Tullamore and again in Ennis last week. First appearance in round 3 since 2006 so hopefully we give it a good rattle,same price with the bookies as we were last week btw if anyone looking for a value bet  ;)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 11, 2015, 09:38:15 AM
If anyone wants to be adventurous, drive in the Castlepollard road and turn up by the hospital and park in the grounds of Loreto College Secondary school.
5 minute walk to the ground.
The Longford traffic will be coming in that way though.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2015, 10:22:04 AM
Heading at 2pm from Dublin to make sure I get parking.....

(i) Sandwiches - check
(ii) Flask a tay - check
(iii) Tickets bought in Supervalu in Blackrock - check (I got quare stares)
(iv) Holy water from Knock - check (but Mayo holy water never works for them so may be poured out on the way)
(v) Four premium tickets for Croke Park tomorrow (Longford in minor final) - check

Good weekend for us Larries  8)
Post by: larryin89 on July 11, 2015, 10:47:03 AM
Evidence of snobbery in this thread and it is something I'd love to see the GAA tackle someday , I believe GAA misses out on some fine talent because of it .

I do hope yer motors get burnt out though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2015, 01:01:07 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 11, 2015, 10:47:03 AM
Evidence of snobbery in this thread and it is something I'd love to see the GAA tackle someday , I believe GAA misses out on some fine talent because of it .

I do hope yer motors get burnt out though.

Piss off! It was an arrogant biffo, us lilies have no problems slumming with any social class, after all most of our house and grounds staff come from Dublin.
Post by: inexile on July 11, 2015, 08:14:52 PM
Kildare 2-19 Longford 0-7.  KFM seem to be having a discussion between the commentators rather than commentating
Post by: yellowcard on July 11, 2015, 09:11:24 PM
Another great advertisement for a second tier championship.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2015, 10:17:46 PM
Kildare destroyer of the Midlands. Laois Offaly Longford

Great parking spot Croi.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 11, 2015, 10:37:55 PM
Only positive from the evening was the parking advice! Don't think any point in analysing game, better team won although not sure if they were  20+ points better, although thats really splitting hairs!

Anyway tomorrows another day, how will the minor game go? Might pop in to support the youngsters if they have a chance? Cant really face another lopsided senior game though!
Post by: Rossfan on July 11, 2015, 10:40:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2015, 10:17:46 PM

Great parking spot Croi.

So ye expect to draw Westmeath next to do the full circle :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2015, 10:49:37 PM
Oh God. I wasn't expecting a tanking. We made Kildare look like the Dubs.

Writing was on the wall after 5 minutes. There was a brief window after Kildare No 12 got the black card but their goal just before half time (our goalie has a nightmare of a game) killed that off.

Well done Kildare - we were beaten out the gate by a superior side.

Yellowcard - I assume after Kildare's loss by 19 pts to Dublin you'd have them in the second tier as well!

Or maybe you want to go like the hurling and have four competitions........
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2015, 12:00:12 AM

Great parking spot Croi.

The last thing to do as much damage in the midlands was Hurricane Charley in 1986!

2-24 is serious scoring in those conditions. We had twelve different scorers by my reckoning. It was a bit worrying when O'Neill was black carded because he had been moving well up to that point but Sherry was excellent for a lad making his debut. Paul Cribbin did great work when the game was still a contest. I'd say they were delighted to get some game time into Peter Kelly who tore into it with his usual gusto!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 12, 2015, 02:20:49 AM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 11, 2015, 10:37:55 PM
Only positive from the evening was the parking advice! Don't think any point in analysing game, better team won although not sure if they were  20+ points better, although thats really splitting hairs!

Anyway tomorrows another day, how will the minor game go? Might pop in to support the youngsters if they have a chance? Cant really face another lopsided senior game though!
You're welcome...
Post by: Shrewdness on July 12, 2015, 08:57:55 AM
Kildare could get another midlands team in round 4 as Westmeath are sure to be in it as losers of the Leinster Final.. The alternative draw is to get the loser of the Munster final.
Post by: heffo on July 12, 2015, 09:00:46 AM
If they get to another quarter final doing the same again, we'll have Kildare blogger Ewan MacKenna telling us they're 'up with the very best' again
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2015, 10:15:10 AM
LOL. Seemingly Diarmuid Masterson sent off on one yellow card. I wondered at the time where he got the first but, by that stage, I was disengaged with the game.

Sheedy was very animated on the line with the linesman as Masterson trooped off - reminiscent of his former teammate, Tom Carr, in Thurles many years ago.

We also had a dodgy penalty (i.e. Brian Kavanagh went down like Lee Harvey Oswald was in Dunnes Stores book depository) overturned for a hop ball.

All doesn't matter - we were beaten after 10 minutes.

Depressing really - as I said before it's not the defeat - it's the hope being crushed time and time again.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2015, 11:21:37 AM
Intermediate Championship for ye??
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2015, 11:44:36 AM

Great parking spot Croi.

Has saved me manys the time running late for games. Trust you kept some energy to roar on the maroon seeing as it was easier than expected.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 12:32:05 PM
The Lilies seem to be able to beat counties with very small population compared to their 210,000. Actually 210,000 puts them the 7th highest populated county in Ireland! Really makes their lack of success pathetic when you think they don't play much hurling.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 12, 2015, 01:17:47 PM
Good point Teo and population would also explain Laois' abject surrender to Antrim.
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2015, 02:00:58 PM
Teo's amazing, isn't he?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 12, 2015, 02:47:50 PM
Interesting guy.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 04:04:11 PM
Antrim have a proper excuse as to why their population hasn't won them much and they can play hurling!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2015, 05:22:12 PM
Laois play hurling? Yer man Edam certainly talks a good game - imagine what they could do if they had monney, a population and some decent players.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:29:48 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2015, 05:22:12 PM
Laois play hurling? Yer man Edam certainly talks a good game - imagine what they could do if they had monney, a population and some decent players.

The Lilies had money and population but are still waiting for a provincial title longer than the midlands minnows like Laois and Westmeath! :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2015, 05:35:55 PM
Kildare won a provincial title today.

:P

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF443/1025839.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2015, 05:47:21 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:29:48 PM

The Lilies had money and population but are still waiting for a provincial title longer than the midlands minnows like Laois and Westmeath! :D

I'm sure I read somewhere why  Dublin win all those titles sure what chance have Kildare got.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:53:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2015, 05:35:55 PM

We don't care about minor victories anymore. Been there, done that. What is it? 2 senior provincials in 60 years? A disgrace for a county that size. And none of ye can use a hurley the way it was meant to be used. Ye may stop whipping horses and learn how to whip a sliothar instead.
Post by: LilySavage on July 12, 2015, 05:55:51 PM
We may. And ye may stop riding your cousins.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:58:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2015, 05:47:21 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:29:48 PM

I'm sure I read somewhere why  Dublin win all those titles sure what chance have Kildare got.

I've heard a thing or two about the advantage Dublin have also but the Lilies tried their best to match those advantages and we all had to bail them out like anglo. Toxic debt, toxic smell off the place and a toxic stadium that ye still wont do anything about.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 05:59:50 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 12, 2015, 05:55:51 PM
We may. And ye may stop riding your cousins.

Your ma. :D
Post by: mad tan on July 12, 2015, 07:49:39 PM
Longford played 2 important games[ Senior/Minor] over the week end and were well beaten in both. Where do we go from here? I'm sick of all the talk about a small pick. We need to win a big game. In both game's it seems we were very slow to start.     
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2015, 09:15:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2015, 05:35:55 PM

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF443/1025839.jpg)

Great win for the baby bots!
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 13, 2015, 12:53:57 AM
I like how we've given the latest lily-borgs interesting haircuts to make them appear more human.
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2015, 09:33:24 AM
Fooling no one.
You can't hide their cold, dead eyes.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2015, 06:39:54 PM
Jack Sheedy steps down.
Post by: panc56 on July 22, 2015, 08:26:18 PM
Resigned before he was dumped out. James Horan for the job
Post by: giveballaghback on July 22, 2015, 09:07:35 PM
James Horan is going to have a lot of jobs going on threads on this forum.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 22, 2015, 09:59:33 PM
A lot of Longfords best  u21 players from the last few years weren't involved with Longford Senior panel this year like Mark Hughes Robbie Smith , was that down to Sheedys management?

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 22, 2015, 11:19:55 PM
QuoteResigned before he was dumped out. James Horan for the job

Nah. The next manager will be local. Clubs have been asked to nominate and the only criteria is that it has to be a Longfordian.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2015, 11:47:09 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 22, 2015, 09:07:35 PM

He has quite a few jobs already - Journalist in The Star, Journalist in The Western People, Analyst on Off the Ball on Newstalk, Analyst with Setanta Sports, Coach with St. Joseph's Secondary School Senior team Castlebar, Backroom with Ballintubber Senior team and Manager in Coca Cola Ireland.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 23, 2015, 12:37:59 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 22, 2015, 09:59:33 PM
A lot of Longfords best  u21 players from the last few years weren't involved with Longford Senior panel this year like Mark Hughes Robbie Smith , was that down to Sheedys management?

Certainly in the case of Hughes it was.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:44 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 22, 2015, 11:47:09 PM

He has quite a few jobs already - Journalist in The Star, Journalist in The Western People, Analyst on Off the Ball on Newstalk, Analyst with Setanta Sports, Coach with St. Joseph's Secondary School Senior team Castlebar, Backroom with Ballintubber Senior team and Manager in Coca Cola Ireland.

at the moment he is just waiting for ratification as Laois football manager, Tipperary football manager, Derry football manager and Longford football manager.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2015, 10:13:57 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 22, 2015, 11:19:55 PM

Nah. The next manager will be local. Clubs have been asked to nominate and the only criteria is that it has to be a Slasher.

Fixed that for you SS.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 23, 2015, 12:59:04 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2015, 10:13:57 AM

Nah. The next manager will be local. Clubs have been asked to nominate and the only criteria is that it has to be a Slasher.

Fixed that for you SS.

Well, Connerton isn't originally a Slasher but he manages them, and after last Sunday a parting of the ways is more likely  ;D.
Post by: Tubberman on July 23, 2015, 01:09:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:44 AM

at the moment he is just waiting for ratification as Laois football manager, Tipperary football manager, Derry football manager and Longford football manager.

The Rossies are looking for him too!
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2015, 02:07:31 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 23, 2015, 01:09:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:44 AM

The Rossies are looking for him too!

Lookit, we have no interest in another man with a cap after FOD.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 23, 2015, 05:08:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2015, 10:13:57 AM

Fixed that for you SS.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr - fighting words.

On Saturday Ich bin ein Fermanagh-er
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 23, 2015, 08:26:50 PM
Would Denis want to take the job again, especially now that his son is on the panel and pushing hard to be a regular in the coming years?

Heard it will be a local appointment alright so hopefully this will lead to everyone buying in for next year.Goes without saying that need as many lads available as possible to challenge for positions as has been mentioned here before, its sometimes harder to get off the team than on it! Interesting that there was only one player from arguably the 2 strongest teams in the county, who were in last years county final, involved in the championship.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 24, 2015, 01:09:23 AM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 23, 2015, 08:26:50 PM
Interesting that there was only one player from arguably the 2 strongest teams in the county, who were in last years county final, involved in the championship.

I'm not sure that I'd consider us one of the two strongest teams in the county - I'd definitely rank Dromard and Abbey ahead of us along with Killoe - but our players made it clear locally after the Tipperary match last year that they had no confidence in the then-current management and weren't interested in going in while they were in place. That prompted us to oppose his re-appointment last year but we got very little support at the time. Personally I'd look at Eugene McCormack who has a good record at minor and particularly under-21 level and I think would be able to enthuse players again.