GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on May 21, 2013, 09:19:47 AM

Title: Grimley V Brolly, row in full swing
Post by: T Fearon on May 21, 2013, 09:19:47 AM
Back page story in Irish News today.Paul considering withdrawing co operation with RTE as a result of Brolly's attack on Sunday. Seems to be infuriated particularly because Brolly brought the twins into the debate.Obviously Joe has forgotten the fate of John Lynch.
Title: Re: Grimley V Brolly, row in full swing
Post by: EC Unique on May 21, 2013, 09:43:48 AM
Toys out of the pram?  ;D
Post by: tc_manchester on May 21, 2013, 10:19:02 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 21, 2013, 09:19:47 AM
Back page story in Irish News today.Paul considering withdrawing co operation with RTE as a result of Brolly's attack on Sunday. Seems to be infuriated particularly because Brolly brought the twins into the debate.Obviously Joe has forgotten the fate of John Lynch.
Yeah - and Eugene McKenna sorted that out at the start of the second half
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 10:29:02 AM
If Grimley had used a sweeper in front of him a lot of those comments from Brolly would have been intercepted.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2013, 10:38:34 AM
Brolly is getting a bit carried away with himself.

Everything is about him now and not about discussion on games.

Getting very irritating how he has no time for other people's opinions that don't match his own and he is incredibly condescending.
Post by: sheamy on May 21, 2013, 10:52:12 AM
Joe is the Keith Lemon of GAA analysis. He's like Pat Spillane with a 'titter of wit'. Ultimately not to be taken too seriously.
Post by: Count 10 on May 21, 2013, 10:53:04 AM
Grimley's proposed boycott of RTE may only last one game ::)

Whilst Brolly's comments are OTT a lot of the time, Grimley is big enough to take it on one of his chins ;)
Post by: nothingbettertobeat on May 21, 2013, 10:53:56 AM

Maybe its just me but no matter what he tends to harp on about when he eventually gets to his punchline he's almost on the money every time. he was 100% correct about Grimley last weekend.Manager is suppose to be there to make big calls and it was clear to be seen from after 20 mins gone that the best two players on field was Eugene keating and Dunne from cavan and a sweeper should have been employed, but he put his own beliefs in front of the best interests of his side so deserves all the slating he gets. the top managers see these game changing moves early they dont wait to the first round of qualifiers to make it!
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2013, 10:55:03 AM
There's a difference between slagging and belittling someone. Joe seems to have forgot that.

Used to be funny - now he's believed all the hype.

He is perceptive nothingbetterto beat but there are ways to do things.
Post by: NAG1 on May 21, 2013, 10:57:40 AM
Quote from: Count 10 on May 21, 2013, 10:53:04 AM
Grimley's proposed boycott of RTE may only last one game ::)

Whilst Brolly's comments are OTT a lot of the time, Grimley is big enough to take it on one of his chins ;)

Quote from: nothingbettertobeat on May 21, 2013, 10:53:56 AM

Maybe its just me but no matter what he tends to harp on about when he eventually gets to his punchline he's almost on the money every time. he was 100% correct about Grimley last weekend.Manager is suppose to be there to make big calls and it was clear to be seen from after 20 mins gone that the best two players on field was Eugene keating and Dunne from cavan and a sweeper should have been employed, but he put his own beliefs in front of the best interests of his side so deserves all the slating he gets. the top managers see these game changing moves early they dont wait to the first round of qualifiers to make it!

Yeah I would agree with the above, Brolly for all his bluster and crap talk is very very rarely wrong on the core issues on analysis of the games. The fact that RTE cant get an equally matched pundit to sit beside Joe to rein him in or even compete with him on some of his points is not Brollys fault. EoH looked like a guy they lifted off the street between CW and JB, CW is too worried about saying controversial to be alongside Brolly.
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2013, 11:00:56 AM
Have to say I think he went over the line. Hugely sensationalist and it was basically slagging.

We all know Armagh were poor, we all know that Grimley's naievete was a huge problem. Branding him a disgrace and slagging off his 2 brothers for being big and slow isn't on. Why couldn't Brolly just have said that and moved on?

In my own opinion I think Aaron Kernan got a bad knock in the first half and was never the same after it. If Armagh had a sweeper the game would have been much closer but there is no guarantee they would have won.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 21, 2013, 11:02:48 AM
In fairness to Whelan, hes in his second year now and is still reigning in his antlers a bit.............................sure look most of the country folk still hate him so he has to be diplomatic on the sunday game .................................
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2013, 11:16:03 AM
Like the guy in the crowd that heckles the comedian there is only ever going to be one winner.  Less said sooner mended as the saying goes and maybe that should have been the case here.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 21, 2013, 11:43:12 AM
INHO
Brolly is made for tv and that's why RTE are happy to have him on.
He's a total motor mouth who loves talking and having the crack. He has a very OTT confident personality that often gets out of hand and gets himself into trouble. Often he doesn't know where to draw the line and often crosses the line. He doesn't care a lot of the time who he offends as he sees himself above it. He loves himself so much that who cares if he offends a few people on the way as long as he's funny and entertaining. I'd say the wife must dread him.

As a few of ye have said though he often is well informed and on the money. He was a big fan of Mickey Harte's tactics & systems and now he'd jumped onto McGuinness who he sees as the next GAA genius. Joe knows he's onto a winner with Jimmy's winning tactics as he'll get loads of interesting titbits to talk about all year. He enjoys talking to Jimmy who like Brolly would talk football all day and night. I think two years ago Joe was slating his tactics but now he's a fan and I will be surprised if he says a bad word about Jimmy for the years to come.

I reckon though Lyster & O'Rourke have joined Spillane in having enough of Joe's rude northern brashness and lack of respect for what they have to say. He does need to wind his neck in a good bit and let others have time to make their point without him butting in if, I mean when, he disagrees.

Finally I feel sorry for Joe's kids if they go to any more matches with him this year as they're gonna be hearing all sorts of vocab thrown his way. Joe might be able to handle all that but its not fair on his kids.
Post by: God14 on May 21, 2013, 11:58:42 AM
If Grimley does boycott RTE... and bearing in mind the following:
* James Horan was very very upset with recent comments Brolly made
* The Cork lads were enraged when Brolly labelled them "as a dumb team"
* Jimmy McGuinness was furious with Spillane not that long ago, when he refused to name a man of the match in one of their USFC matches such was his frustration with Donegal
* Mickey Hartes ongoing Boycott of RTE due to the nasty sketch on the John MUrray radio show
... The list genuinely goes on & on

How far are the producers of the Sunday Game going to let this go? At what point are they going to reign these 'analysts' in? Surely a man can provide analysis of a game, have a bit of craic without repeatedly offending people?
I know some people say its only a bit of craic and all that - but these are amateurs. They all return to their families & places of employment on a monday morning after this public sledging match. And as Grimley pointed out - they have no opportunity to defend themselves (or their families) at all
Am I the only one who can forsee a complete black out by players and management at some stage in the future?
Post by: blackcard on May 21, 2013, 12:53:40 PM
Big Paul's ego seems to be the issue here. Insisting in not changing because his reputation as a manager
would suffer is very telling. His team were hemmoraging at the back and he persisted.

,quote todays Irish News "I was seriously tempted to drop one maybe two men back....... I loose my nerve... STREWTH!

Thank god for the Joe Brollys of this world.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 21, 2013, 01:31:04 PM
Brollys PR team in full swing, new members popping up in every forum across the country. You might have give away your kidney Joe but you never had balls to begin with.
Post by: NAG1 on May 21, 2013, 01:37:20 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 21, 2013, 01:31:04 PM
Brollys PR team in full swing, new members popping up in every forum across the country. You might have give away your kidney Joe but you never had balls to begin with.

And this is relevant how?
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2013, 01:37:39 PM

Good to see Grimley's PR team out as well!!
Post by: Bensars on May 21, 2013, 01:42:50 PM

A common misconception, totally removed from reality.

I have seen seen him go toe to toe against some hardy boys.  However dont let a lie stand in the way of a good story !

Carry on ...............
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 01:46:40 PM
If no manager or player was ever interviewed again TSG wouldn't be much poorer for it. I have a lot of respect for most of them but they are almost always reading off an autocue in interviews.
Post by: johnneycool on May 21, 2013, 01:48:37 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 21, 2013, 11:58:42 AM
* Jimmy McGuinness was furious with Spillane not that long ago, when he refused to name a man of the match in one of their USFC matches such was his frustration with Donegal
* Mickey Hartes ongoing Boycott of RTE due to the nasty sketch on the John MUrray radio show

How far are the producers of the Sunday Game going to let this go? At what point are they going to reign these 'analysts' in? Surely a man can provide analysis of a game, have a bit of craic without repeatedly offending people?
I know some people say its only a bit of craic and all that - but these are amateurs. They all return to their families & places of employment on a monday morning after this public sledging match. And as Grimley pointed out - they have no opportunity to defend themselves (or their families) at all
Am I the only one who can forsee a complete black out by players and management at some stage in the future?

There's two aspects on this as far as I can see, Joe embellishes his points which more often than not are right by being smart arsed and cheap digs at lads who indeed who have no route for recourse. I heard his comments yesterday about the batman signal for the McEntee twins and thought he was getting too personal in his attack on the Armagh management, there was no need for that at all.

Secondly, some of these lads think they're the next Alex Ferguson, where no one dares to ask difficult questions of them like poor we Marty getting ate alive by Brian Cody after the AI win a few years ago, and Micky Harte falling out with RTE over some lad getting taken off the air, Jim McGuinness refusing to continue a press conference after the AI win because some lad had the cheek to interview Kevin Cassidy for a book.
Get over yourself lads FFS.
Post by: NAG1 on May 21, 2013, 01:55:53 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 21, 2013, 01:48:37 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 21, 2013, 11:58:42 AM

There's two aspects on this as far as I can see, Joe embellishes his points which more often than not are right by being smart arsed and cheap digs at lads who indeed who have no route for recourse. I heard his comments yesterday about the batman signal for the McEntee twins and thought he was getting too personal in his attack on the Armagh management, there was no need for that at all.

Secondly, some of these lads think they're the next Alex Ferguson, where no one dares to ask difficult questions of them like poor we Marty getting ate alive by Brian Cody after the AI win a few years ago, and Micky Harte falling out with RTE over some lad getting taken off the air, Jim McGuinness refusing to continue a press conference after the AI win because some lad had the cheek to interview Kevin Cassidy for a book.
Get over yourself lads FFS.

Would serve all the managers well, to put down the cliche book and actually give an honest interview for once. Too much of this crap of trying to bluff people left rignt and centre all the time.
Post by: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 02:01:07 PM
I can see a day (and it might not be too far away) where RTE are forced to fire Brolly. He has got increasingly personal with his comments in the last year or two and there always appears to be an agenda in play.

With Grimley the agenda appears to be his love in with the McEntees and with Crossmaglen. The 2 McEntees are definitely strong candidates to be considered for the post of next Armagh managers but Brolly has already put them forward as saviours of gaelic football never mind Armagh football. Totally OTT imo. Now I would be more than happy to see the twins manage the county and think that they would make very good county managers and I think there is a groundswell of support within the county for this move. With Brolly, it is always black or white but he allows his obsession with Crossmaglen/McEntees/Donegal/McGuinness to get in the way too much. It is rarely as simple as that. Mostly I find myself agreeing with his comments but often not the tone.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 21, 2013, 02:08:38 PM
They would be better off having no other analysts when Brolly is around. Saw a bit of the Sunday game, and he was constantly speaking over Whelan and O Hara. Seemed like a very personal attack on Grimley. He went over board last year during the Seanie Johnston sage, spilling out rubbish without knowing the full facts
Post by: T Fearon on May 21, 2013, 02:14:08 PM
Too much of the adversarial/legal approach. Nothing personal meant, but I always have to have the last word,rest my case scenario with Brolly.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 02:24:27 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 02:01:07 PM
I can see a day (and it might not be too far away) where RTE are forced to fire Brolly. He has got increasingly personal with his comments in the last year or two and there always appears to be an agenda in play.

With Grimley the agenda appears to be his love in with the McEntees and with Crossmaglen. The 2 McEntees are definitely strong candidates to be considered for the post of next Armagh managers but Brolly has already put them forward as saviours of gaelic football never mind Armagh football. Totally OTT imo. Now I would be more than happy to see the twins manage the county and think that they would make very good county managers and I think there is a groundswell of support within the county for this move. With Brolly, it is always black or white but he allows his obsession with Crossmaglen/McEntees/Donegal/McGuinness to get in the way too much. It is rarely as simple as that. Mostly I find myself agreeing with his comments but often not the tone.

That love suffered a fair old hardship in February; love becoming stronger through trials of faith?
Post by: ck on May 21, 2013, 02:31:54 PM
Lads, in all of your eagerness to slag Brolly do any of you switch over when he speaks? No? Well THAT'S why he's on TV. He doesnt shy away from calling a spade a shovel and thats what we all enjoy watching as a form or entertainment, and lets face it, that's all it is, Entertainment.

As for Grimley. He has proved that he is out of his depth. His ego matched with lack of front line management experience meant he froze on the day and couldnt adapt tactics even though Stevie Wonder could see he needed to. He has been an absolute disaster for Armagh, full stop. Brolly is bang on the money on this occasion!
Post by: God14 on May 21, 2013, 02:48:03 PM
Jarlath Burns just weighed into the debate on twitter:

Jarlath Burns‏ @jburns8341h
@JoeBrolly1993 @mcshane_michael @aaronkernan  Joe. I hope you regret what you said about a GAA volunteer. It was totally unacceptable.
Post by: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 02:50:23 PM
Quote from: ck on May 21, 2013, 02:31:54 PM
Lads, in all of your eagerness to slag Brolly do any of you switch over when he speaks? No? Well THAT'S why he's on TV. He doesnt shy away from calling a spade a shovel and thats what we all enjoy watching as a form or entertainment, and lets face it, that's all it is, Entertainment.

As for Grimley. He has proved that he is out of his depth. His ego matched with lack of front line management experience meant he froze on the day and couldnt adapt tactics even though Stevie Wonder could see he needed to. He has been an absolute disaster for Armagh, full stop. Brolly is bang on the money on this occasion!

I think most would agree that the general point about his suicide tactics and unwillingness to change was correct. However with Brolly it was a convenient excuse to push his agenda again by using sensationalist language. Much the same way as he he highlighted Mayo's cynical fouling in the run up to last years AI final much to the angst of James Horan. That was also part of his pro-Donegal/McGuinness agenda.

I don't necessarily think he is deliberately personal in his remarks but he doesn't mind insulting someone if it gains a bit of publicity. I could just imagine that the fact that this story is in the newspapers this week is a mild source of amusement to him.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 21, 2013, 02:51:56 PM
Quote from: ck on May 21, 2013, 02:31:54 PM

On the money here. As for Burns. Sure he's no different. Loves the attention!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2013, 02:52:28 PM
PG would have been far better served saying something along the lines of 'well Joe entitled to his opinion but sure we all know the phrase about opinions and everyone having one'.It would have got a laugh and still got the required shot across Brolly's bow.  Joe is loving this,he is paid for this type of stuff!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 21, 2013, 02:58:19 PM
Good man Jarlath. He was out of line, especially commenting about his brothers?
Would Joe be happy if somebody said something about his wife or family?

Yer right Yellowcard. Joe's probably delighted with how he's become the centre of attention since Sunday. He's got the platform now to enhance his ego even further and he'll probably make more money out of it from becoming such a controversial star.
He's learnt from Spillane & Eamon Dunphy but if ye ask any of the Derry 1993 squad, he always was like this.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 03:10:14 PM
Would Big Antony be the man to draft into the A panel to marshal the Brolly properly?

This is becoming the year of the umbrella.
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2013, 03:13:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 03:10:14 PM
Would Big Antony be the man to draft into the A panel to marshal the Brolly properly?

Anthony had a very bad accident recently so I don't think he'll be on the TV anytime soon.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/gaa-legend-anthony-tohill-has-eye-and-face-surgery-after-horror-chainsaw-accident-at-his-home-29177983.html
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2013, 03:17:26 PM
The main issue I would have is the lack of manners - as soon as someone says anything he has issue with he cuts them off. Let them say their piece and debate it. YOu can slag the life out of them then.
Post by: Orior on May 21, 2013, 03:27:47 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 21, 2013, 02:48:03 PM
Jarlath Burns just weighed into the debate on twitter:

Jarlath Burns‏ @jburns8341h
@JoeBrolly1993 @mcshane_michael @aaronkernan  Joe. I hope you regret what you said about a GAA volunteer. It was totally unacceptable.

Joe has on more than one occasion boasted about appearing on TV, saying a few controversial things, and then being handed a cheque. So why would he ever change?

The jury will have to wait for another 6 weeks to rule on the PG method.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 03:29:37 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 21, 2013, 03:13:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 03:10:14 PM

Anthony had a very bad accident recently so I don't think he'll be on the TV anytime soon.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/gaa-legend-anthony-tohill-has-eye-and-face-surgery-after-horror-chainsaw-accident-at-his-home-29177983.html

Ah I know, but if ever there was something to put on the motivation board it's a picture of Brolly.

In all seriousness I hope his recovery is going well.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 21, 2013, 03:41:45 PM
The Sunday Game producers are rubbing their hands with glee!!!! Their viewing figures are in for a massive jump next week. Cant wait to see what Brolly says about Kerry's new manager Brosnan if Tipp beat them. :P ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 03:53:12 PM
I don't mind Joe.
I think he's a bit of craic.
He needs to shut up and let other people talk though.
It's not the Joe Show.
Post by: johnneycool on May 21, 2013, 03:56:50 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 21, 2013, 03:41:45 PM
The Sunday Game producers are rubbing their hands with glee!!!! Their viewing figures are in for a massive jump next week. Cant wait to see what Brolly says about Kerry's new manager Brosnan if Tipp beat them. :P ;)

Has Eamon Fitzmaurice got the boot already?

They're a tough crowd down there alright!
Post by: DuffleKing on May 21, 2013, 03:57:39 PM

Debating brolly is endorsing the clown.

One point of query is to question why he is clamouring for the McEntee twins? I wouldn't have thought John would be anywhere near consideration for a county job?
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 03:58:34 PM
Twins only count as one man for the purposes of GAA management.
Post by: Main Street on May 21, 2013, 03:59:12 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 21, 2013, 03:17:26 PM
The main issue I would have is the lack of manners - as soon as someone says anything he has issue with he cuts them off. Let them say their piece and debate it. YOu can slag the life out of them then.
And then he never wanted to let go of the microphone when he had it,  as he meandered off on a search though his brain bank for the explanation, getting lost time and time again, but undaunted he screams "howl on" "howl on" before embarking on another wayward futile search. There isn't a container big enough to hold Joe's insecurity. Some people find that entertaining but I want to listen to various pundit opinions about the game, not observe a crackpot go mental.

Post by: Fuzzman on May 21, 2013, 04:00:48 PM
Howl on lads Howl on there

(http://s0.jrnl.ie/media/2012/07/spillane1-390x285.jpg)

Would ye whishst sor for a minute, let me finish, let me finish

Wouldn't it be funny if Spillane and O'Rourke starting winding him up.
Hardly saying anything and when asked a direct question say
"I don't know, What do you think Joe?"

Remember this wee rant last year
http://www.thescore.ie/as-it-happened-joe-brolly-v-pat-spillane-537893-Jul2012/ (http://www.thescore.ie/as-it-happened-joe-brolly-v-pat-spillane-537893-Jul2012/)
Post by: 5 Sams on May 21, 2013, 04:03:56 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 21, 2013, 03:56:50 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 21, 2013, 03:41:45 PM

Has Eamon Fitzmaurice got the boot already?

They're a tough crowd down there alright!

;D >o Brolly kept talking about "Brosnan" this and "Brosnan" that on Sunday when referring to the Kerry manager and Spillane took great pelasure in correcting him.
Post by: sam03/05 on May 21, 2013, 04:10:32 PM
the bosses at the sunday game must be loving it.
Quite often the debate in the studio is better than the game itself.
The first thing i like to see after match is not the highlights but the studio reaction.

wipes the floor with bbc championship coverage.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 04:23:30 PM
All three of them are complete w@nkers and as far as I know, not one of them has ever been confident enough in their own ability to actually go out and manage an intercounty team.

Brolly was eulogising about how Donegal (or was it Tyrone?) would have been smart enough to pull down players running through unlike Galway. O'Rourke put him back in his box when he asked if Joe would be writing an article about their cynical and persistent fouling....
Post by: nrico2006 on May 21, 2013, 04:23:56 PM
Jeesus, some people here need to wise up.  Brolly is a pundit who happens to be a slabber, hardly unique.  It doesn't matter if a fella is a paid professional or a 'GAA volunteer' as Sir Jarlath proclaimed, they are still entitled to criticism and if a fella goes a bit over the top then its hardly a hanging offence.  I assume that most people on here have been involved in gaelic games for most of their lives, and some of the verbal and physical hits you see and have been on the end of surely have enabled you to grow a bit of thickness in the skin.  We are getting more and more like women with our crying about what he/she/their dog said about me.  I don't see anybody complaing about the stuff Dunphy or whoever else on football shows come out with about players?  Why pick on Brolly? 
Post by: rodney trotter on May 21, 2013, 04:34:23 PM
Look at the FAI thread on here and you will see people complaining about Dunphy. Why would people be mentioning him on this section, its the Gaa section after all. He is talking about players on 50k a week, are Gaa players on that
Post by: Zulu on May 21, 2013, 04:36:09 PM
To be fair Gary Linekar pointed out that RTE can get away with that type of 'straight shooting' as the premiership players and their families don't hear their spouting. I do think you have to be careful about how you structure your criticism of players or managers. I noticed that both Galway and Armagh have been slammed for being naive but Dublin play the same way and are All Ireland favourites. It wasn't simply a case of naive tactics but a lack of quality and intensity. This idea that 5 defenders against 5 forwards is sure to be a disaster as some are suggesting after the Armagh game is patently nonsense unless those 5 defenders can't play football.

There is more than one way to win football matches as long as you have the quality and application. Galway certainly seemed well short on both an Armagh kicked plenty of very scorable opportunities so questioning their quality is reasonable too.

It isn't all about the manager and a willingness to load up your defence, Cavan would have been well beaten by Dublin who would have played a similar system to Armagh.
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2013, 04:47:15 PM
There are times when Brolly has something mildly interesting to say and there are times when he has nothing to say. Unfortunately he feels the need to talk in both situations. When he has nothing intelligent to say he tends towards gratuitous insults and this is what pisses people off. They know he is spoofing and is merely firing off insults to disguise it. For example calling Ciaran McDonald a Swedish maid is mildy funny, to adolescents, but coming from a man who blew kisses to the crowd in the early 1990s it is hypocrisy.

As for the Sunday Game, we watch it because out teams are on TV, or our rivals, or the next team we play, or the likely champions etc. Anyone who watches because of Brolly needs to look at themselves. Maybe he could have his own show where he blows kisses to his fans and leave the football to the rest of us.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 04:50:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 21, 2013, 04:47:15 PM
There are times when Brolly has something mildly interesting to say and there are times when he has nothing to say. Unfortunately he feels the need to talk in both situations. When he has nothing intelligent to say he tends towards gratuitous insults and this is what pisses people off. They know he is spoofing and is merely firing off insults to disguise it. For example calling Ciaran McDonald a Swedish maid is mildy funny, to adolescents, but coming from a man who blew kisses to the crowd in the early 1990s it is hypocrisy.

As for the Sunday Game, we watch it because out teams are on TV, or our rivals, or the next team we play, or the likely champions etc. Anyone who watches because of Brolly needs to look at themselves. Maybe he could have his own show where he blows kisses to his fans and leave the football to the rest of us.

I'm guessing he won't be a passenger in your car any time soon?
Post by: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 04:52:42 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 21, 2013, 04:36:09 PM
To be fair Gary Linekar pointed out that RTE can get away with that type of 'straight shooting' as the premiership players and their families don't hear their spouting. I do think you have to be careful about how you structure your criticism of players or managers. I noticed that both Galway and Armagh have been slammed for being naive but Dublin play the same way and are All Ireland favourites. It wasn't simply a case of naive tactics but a lack of quality and intensity. This idea that 5 defenders against 5 forwards is sure to be a disaster as some are suggesting after the Armagh game is patently nonsense unless those 5 defenders can't play football.

There is more than one way to win football matches as long as you have the quality and application. Galway certainly seemed well short on both an Armagh kicked plenty of very scorable opportunities so questioning their quality is reasonable too.

It isn't all about the manager and a willingness to load up your defence, Cavan would have been well beaten by Dublin who would have played a similar system to Armagh.

Dublin are playing a different more attacking system under Gavin but there is no way in the world that Dublin would allow a 70 yard gap develop between their opponents 2 man full forward line and the next defender.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on May 21, 2013, 05:04:27 PM
Leaving Brolly aside for a moment which of the following managers would have persisted with a plan which was obviously not working.
Mickey Harte?
Jim McGuinness?
Pete McGrath?
Joe Kernan?

Surely any manager has to adapt and be willing to adapt on the day.

Grimly's attitutude bore the hallmarks of a First World War general. Keep on doing exactly the same thing regardless of the result.

Had Hylandsent Cavan out to play open football and entertain, great, but he did'nt, he sent them out to win.

We needed to stop them playing first, and then try and play our game.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 05:18:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 04:23:30 PM
All three of them are complete w@nkers and as far as I know, not one of them has ever been confident enough in their own ability to actually go out and manage an intercounty team.

Brolly was eulogising about how Donegal (or was it Tyrone?) would have been smart enough to pull down players running through unlike Galway. O'Rourke put him back in his box when he asked if Joe would be writing an article about their cynical and persistent fouling....

Have manners you pup.
Colm has managed plenty of teams in his time.
Club, school, county underage, International Rules.
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2013, 05:53:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 04:50:37 PM

I'm guessing he won't be a passenger in your car any time soon?

I'd be very happy to give him a lift.  ;D
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 05:59:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 05:18:40 PM

Have manners you pup.

Sure Pat wanted to be involved with the Kerry underage set-up but that dastardly board of their's thwarted his ambitions. The feckers.
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2013, 06:31:53 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 21, 2013, 04:36:09 PM

Dublin don't play a similar system. that's Breheny created Mythology.
Post by: Throw ball on May 21, 2013, 07:33:22 PM
It is sad that Brolly has created such a stir that people, and headlines, are talking about him rather than the fact that Cavan have followed their under 21 success with senior progress. Martin Dunne should be the topic today. Not Joe Brolly.

As for the remarks, like BCB I would normally suggest that the best thing to say is nothing. However, once his family was mentioned Big Paul came out fighting. For that he cannot be condemned in my opinion.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 21, 2013, 07:42:03 PM
Did Brolly ever take on a club team in Derry?
The only coaching role I can remember him being involved with was with Antrim. It was there that this tactical genious came up with the plan that Antrims full back line shouldn't face the ball but stand facing their opponents instead.
Not sure how this was meant to work but there ya go. Never took off anyhow.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 07:55:37 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 21, 2013, 07:42:03 PM
The only coaching role I can remember him being involved with was with Antrim. It was there that this tactical genious came up with the plan that Antrims full back line shouldn't face the ball but stand facing their opponents instead.

I think he funds Dublin's underage system with his TSG wages, though.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 21, 2013, 08:07:40 PM
Brolly mouthing does not make him popular in Derry, no-one likes a "smart ass" or "know it all" even if they are right. Tohill was just as informative only more pleasant to be on TV and had alot more manners.  Though he fell foul of Rte for highlighting rightly a incident in a game with Kerry, Kerry cried foul and he didnt last a year after it. We all know Armagh were very poor, but i seen john Brennan play the same tactic against Kildare 2 yrs ago in croke park and the Derry full back line got roasted. Old timers must think games can still be won playing old style. Joe say these boys beside him didnt know much about football as they picked Galway. Joe them 2 men have 10 all-irelands, 11 all-stars, and are living legends in Meath and kerry, it be nice if he showed them the respect they earned on the football field and at least got their opinions across unhindered
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2013, 08:34:26 PM

Seriously?

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 21, 2013, 08:40:14 PM
Brolly says what he says so that ye can fill 5 pages on Gaaboard talking about him. There is no such thing as bad publicity. Gaa has Brolly & Spillane, Rugby has Hook, Soccer has Dunphy. Thats the way to keep the viewing figures up and more importantly to keep ye all watching at half time in between the adverts.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 08:50:35 PM
To be fair he's great craic. Can't wait until we get our moment in the sun on June 16th, which will be quickly followed by us being thrown under the bus 8)
Post by: blackcard on May 21, 2013, 09:14:50 PM
The facts are Joe was right. Big Paul was obstinate. He reinforces his obstinacy in today's Irish News.
You and the blinkered crew, take a wake up tablet realspiritof98. Please make relevancy your objective
and refrain from silly soundbites.

Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2013, 09:26:44 PM
Joe was completely correct. Called it beforehand and stuck by it.

No point on being on a show like that, thinking one think and afeard to say it. If you want that, watch re-runs of MOTD.

Joe for president.
Post by: babarino on May 21, 2013, 09:36:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2013, 09:26:44 PM

No point on being on a show like that, thinking one think and afeard to say it. If you want that, watch re-runs of MOTD.

I agree. I thought he was talking bs before the game. Grimley had a big reputation when he was with Monaghan and many would have backed him to take over from Banty. 

It wasn't difficult to work out how Cavan were going to play, pack the defence, negate the threat of Jamie Clarke, by fair and foul means and catch them on the break. Grimley didn't have a plan to deal with it and cost Armagh victory against an inferior footballing outfit.
Post by: ranch on May 21, 2013, 09:42:46 PM
As an Armagh man I agree totally with Joe, and did so before Sunday too.
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2013, 09:54:04 PM

They should merge TSG with TLLS. Have Twink and Dickie Rock doing the odd preview. Spillane could do music intros. Spend the money they save on a proper GAA programme. Get Jinxy and one of the Nordies on to do the analysis.
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2013, 10:06:51 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 21, 2013, 08:07:40 PM
Brolly mouthing does not make him popular in Derry, no-one likes a "smart ass" or "know it all" even if they are right. Tohill was just as informative only more pleasant to be on TV and had alot more manners.  Though he fell foul of Rte for highlighting rightly a incident in a game with Kerry, Kerry cried foul and he didnt last a year after it. We all know Armagh were very poor, but i seen john Brennan play the same tactic against Kildare 2 yrs ago in croke park and the Derry full back line got roasted. Old timers must think games can still be won playing old style. Joe say these boys beside him didnt know much about football as they picked Galway. Joe them 2 men have 10 all-irelands, 11 all-stars, and are living legends in Meath and kerry, it be nice if he showed them the respect they earned on the football field and at least got their opinions across unhindered

Big Pat and Colm go for Galway before the game???????????????????????????? :o :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: ck on May 21, 2013, 10:09:57 PM

To the best of my knowledge Brolly has never coached any team at senior level. Sure he's a loose canon. Good on TV not good on a sideline I would suggest.
Where did you hear that he coached Antrim? Seriously doubt that.
Post by: Itchy on May 21, 2013, 10:11:40 PM
Quote from: babarino on May 21, 2013, 09:36:05 PM

I agree. I thought he was talking bs before the game. Grimley had a big reputation when he was with Monaghan and many would have backed him to take over from Banty. 

It wasn't difficult to work out how Cavan were going to play, pack the defence, negate the threat of Jamie Clarke, by fair and foul means and catch them on the break. Grimley didn't have a plan to deal with it and cost Armagh victory against an inferior footballing outfit.

Inferior football outfit? By my reading we should have won that game by 8 points. What makes you think we are inferior?
Post by: babarino on May 21, 2013, 10:17:06 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 21, 2013, 10:11:40 PM
Quote from: babarino on May 21, 2013, 09:36:05 PM

Inferior football outfit? By my reading we should have won that game by 8 points. What makes you think we are inferior?

Player for player I rate Armagh as superior. And if Cavan were set up like Armagh were and Clarke was getting the supply that Cavan were up front, it would have been more than 8 points.
Post by: mackers on May 21, 2013, 10:18:58 PM
Quote from: ck on May 21, 2013, 10:09:57 PM

To the best of my knowledge Brolly has never coached any team at senior level. Sure he's a loose canon. Good on TV not good on a sideline I would suggest.
He coached Antrim along with Jody Gormley.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2013, 10:29:25 PM
I think he came in round championship time to help out rather than it being a full year?

Some manners and a wee bit of respect wouldn't go amiss from joe.  He has a lot to offer but i think he's started to believe his own hype.

I don't know how many people watch the sunday game for the punditry. I watch it for the games and if the punditry gets annoying, like sunday night, i turn it over between games.
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2013, 10:34:03 PM
Quote from: blackcard on May 21, 2013, 09:14:50 PM
The facts are Joe was right. Big Paul was obstinate. He reinforces his obstinacy in today's Irish News.
You and the blinkered crew, take a wake up tablet realspiritof98. Please make relevancy your objective

Lots of new posters supporting Joe this week.  ;)

However, I would say Joe could do with listening to your last sentence.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 10:38:26 PM

Have manners you pup.

Plenty of intercounty teams?? It's not like the opportunity to do something with Meath hasn't arisen for wee Colm but clearly he figured he wasn't good enough to take it on. That you're bringing "coaching" the international rules team into it says it all about his experience.

All three of them are hurlers on the ditch who are happy enough to come out with smartarse throwaway comments in the knowledge that nobody is there to rebutt them. When it comes down to it, none of them are willing to put themselves on the line and actually go out and manage a county team. Fair enough, it's their job to critique teams and the way the play but they could try to do it without acting like smug arseholes.
Post by: Main Street on May 21, 2013, 10:55:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 21, 2013, 10:34:03 PM

Is it only in the black North, that someone resembling a lunatic having a fit of pique on TV, is regarded as a normal event, perhaps even worthy of applause about some sense he might have ranted on about?

Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look. Have to think Spillane couldn't resist firing up Windows 95 to see the reaction when he brought out his greatest hit ('puke football' to you and me), if only to bathe in the sea of froth it produced.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 11:01:18 PM

Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look.

I doubt those lads would be doing that kind of research, it's pretty much a "turn up on the day and get the make-up done" sort of a job for them
Post by: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 11:01:46 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 10:38:26 PM

Have manners you pup.

Plenty of intercounty teams?? It's not like the opportunity to do something with Meath hasn't arisen for wee Colm but clearly he figured he wasn't good enough to take it on. That you're bringing "coaching" the international rules team into it says it all about his experience.

All three of them are hurlers on the ditch who are happy enough to come out with smartarse throwaway comments in the knowledge that nobody is there to rebutt them. When it comes down to it, none of them are willing to put themselves on the line and actually go out and manage a county team. Fair enough, it's their job to critique teams and the way the play but they could try to do it without acting like smug arseholes.

In fairness to O'Rourke, he is the only one of the three that brings a bit of balance to proceedings, the other 2 invariably end up sniping at each other in an attempt to score petty points. I genuinely think they can't stand each other, Brolly seems to really get on Spillanes nerves and Brolly plays up on this.

I also think that Brolly intimidates younger fresh panellists and is annoyingly condescending towards them. I used to think Brolly was great craic and not to be taken too seriously but in the last year or so his ego has grown as his platform for getting his views across has increased. Plenty of people just laugh him off as a bit of an eejit but many others repeat his views as their own. I just wish he would tone it down a bit and not make it all about Joe.

The man is creaming a fortune from GAA columns and analysis yet constantly bleats on about his devotion to St Brigids U-10's as though he is at the hub of all grass roots activities of the GAA. The reality is that he is probably simply doing what plenty of other fathers are doing for teams that their children are involved in.   
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 11:04:05 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 11:01:18 PM

Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look.

I doubt those lads would be doing that kind of research, it's pretty much a "turn up on the day and get the make-up done" sort of a job for them

Given he called Alan Dillon's addition to the starting line-up on Sunday a ''huge surprise'' Pat wasn't partaking in my excellent reportage of said likelihood in mid-week  8) 8)
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 11:04:59 PM
They need to get Colm Parkinson on to stand up to Joe.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 11:12:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 11:04:59 PM
They need to get Colm Parkinson on to stand up to Joe.

Jinxy, what do you think about the fact that they had Rourkey sitting in a child's chair on Sunday? Is it subliminal message about the state of Meath football? Pat look like a towering giant in his well-suspended seat compared to Colm.
Post by: lawnseed on May 21, 2013, 11:31:04 PM
i met joe in a dublin pub on his way to rte in croker. hes a great man and great craic and loves armagh and armagh people. i suggest he was just as disgusted as the rest of us last sunday when he saw a very capable team running around rudderless playing retro football. all grimleys armagh team needed was grainey black and white pictures and jerseys with laces around the neck.

as regards his credentials the two brians devised the system of football (blanket defence) now employed by modern winning teams solely to combat the threat of non other than joe brolly so i'd say hes specially equipped to comment on team tactics or the lack of them.
Post by: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 11:35:28 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 21, 2013, 11:31:04 PM
i met joe in a dublin pub on his way to rte in croker. hes a great man and great craic and loves armagh and armagh people. i suggest he was just as disgusted as the rest of us last sunday when he saw a very capable team running around rudderless playing retro football. all grimleys armagh team needed was grainey black and white pictures and jerseys with laces around the neck.

as regards his credentials the two brians devised the system of football (blanket defence) now employed by modern winning teams solely to combat the threat of non other than joe brolly so i'd say hes specially equipped to comment on team tactics or the lack of them.

Absolutely no doubt he would be great craic off camera but I do think when he has a public platform he should not be as personal. Generally he is well informed, can be witty and normally makes good points but its just his sniping digs at various people to try and garner a reaction and increase publicity for himself that he needs to rein in.
Post by: thebuzz on May 21, 2013, 11:57:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 11:35:28 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 21, 2013, 11:31:04 PM

Absolutely no doubt he would be great craic off camera but I do think when he has a public platform he should not be as personal. Generally he is well informed, can be witty and normally makes good points but its just his sniping digs at various people to try and garner a reaction and increase publicity for himself that he needs to rein in.

That's it in a nutshell. He could be funny, witty and easy to listen to without the insults.
Post by: regal on May 22, 2013, 12:02:24 AM
Joe is just a vindictive little pr**k. An average forward who played in a great Derry team. I believe he missed the start of Derry's 1993 AI campaign because he preferred to concentrate on his exams, whilst he refused to play on other derry teams because he didn't like the manager. His personal hatred of people like mickey moran, mcgeeney and now grimley amongst others is quite sad.

I don't believe he should be given the platform which RTE grants him. Whilst he is clearly articulate and witty, his knowlege of football is limited.

The criticism of paul grimley (generally) has been appalling. There is no doubt he (along with the vast majority of players) made istakes on sunday but he shouldn't be crucified.
Post by: theticklemister on May 22, 2013, 12:06:15 AM
By the looks of it regal he made the right choice that year.......... Ended up with a class degree and job and an-ireland in september.
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 22, 2013, 12:08:03 AM
Quote from: regal on May 22, 2013, 12:02:24 AM
Joe is just a vindictive little pr**k. An average forward who played in a great Derry team. I believe he missed the start of Derry's 1993 AI campaign because he preferred to concentrate on his exams, whilst he refused to play on other derry teams because he didn't like the manager. His personal hatred of people like mickey moran, mcgeeney and now grimley amongst others is quite sad.

I don't believe he should be given the platform which RTE grants him. Whilst he is clearly articulate and witty, his knowlege of football is limited.

The criticism of paul grimley (generally) has been appalling. There is no doubt he (along with the vast majority of players) made istakes on sunday but he shouldn't be crucified.

It's a little rich to complain about Brolly's personal criticism of Grimley & at the same time call him a"vindictive little pr**k". People in glasshouses...........
Post by: rrhf on May 22, 2013, 07:11:02 AM
Jeez too much venom on this thread for my liking.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on May 22, 2013, 07:54:25 AM
Sure Joe has at least one fan from Tyrone

http://tyronetribulations.com/2013/05/20/brackaville-pensioner-still-incurably-in-love-with-joe-brolly/
Post by: stibhan on May 22, 2013, 08:41:37 AM
Time and time again, it's been proven that slating Joe Brolly doesn't decrease the viewership of the Sunday Game but increases it. He makes his living by being controversial and brash but by being able to back it up with shrewd analysis of games, systems and players. There really aren't many who can do that - try and think of a time when Brolly said something as stupid as 'I'll eat my hat if Brian Dooher wins an All-Ireland'. I don't think he has.

To suggest that he thinks he is the life-blood of the GAA for what he does with his U-10 team is also ridiculous because in every column he reserves that accolade for a series of other people, and the fact is that he gave his 'life-blood' to a clubmate! I don't think that should shield him from criticism about his punditry but to accuse him of being selfish or self-centred is foolish, vindictive and plain wrong.

As for those saying he was average as a player, well he has two All-Stars and an All-Ireland medal from a County who has only won one. He has also excelled at club level. I'd love to be average if that's what we call it.
Post by: blackcard on May 22, 2013, 10:57:53 AM
I would never turn over the TV when Brolly is on - you would be mad to do so-most of you critics
would never match his articulation or wit if a microphone were live and in your face. He is compulsive viewing
no matter. Blow us another kiss Joe.
Post by: naka on May 22, 2013, 10:59:56 AM
have to say Joe actually likes Armagh and always wishes to see them do well,
I was disgusted on Sunday and still am embarrassed everytime I see other GAA guys as to how to explain away the debacle
joe probably lost the run of himself and a lot of what was said although over the line i believe wasnt intentionally personal.
PG in hindsight might have been better to keep quiet and get the team ready for 29 June and think about a plan B COS HE WILL NEED IT
Post by: Fuzzman on May 22, 2013, 11:06:32 AM
As I said a few weeks ago, an interview with TSG panel in the Irish Times showed the lads admitted that's it's entertainment and not balanced analysis that the lads are providing.
Maybe they were just taking the easy option and were giving themselves some leeway to continue ranting every week.

To me Brolly just shoots from the hip most of the time and so he doesn't think about who he might offend or how his opinions affect other people or the GAA community as a whole.
I would imagine Mickey Harte doesn't even watch the show any more or at least the analysis/entertainment part as he thinks the lads do nothing but talk down our games and say how poor they are.

Whilst I can't stand Spillane and I think Brolly is over confident and offends too many people, I still enjoy the show and actually look forward to the arguments between these two. Can you imagine how tasty it would be if Derry were up there at the top table winning things and how much more intense the rivalry would be between these two.
Post by: blackcard on May 22, 2013, 11:25:02 AM
Come off it Fuzzman, I sort of sense you are puckering up to Joe, going by your prevous posts-I gaad for you
Fuzzy.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 22, 2013, 11:44:47 AM
How do you mean blackcard?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 22, 2013, 12:04:32 PM
Give me Brolly over any of the wooden planks they have had over the years..............http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WyAZy4cM8uE

HOWL ON  HOWL ON
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2013, 12:12:04 PM
Having not read back through the last 8 pages not heard what he said, I'm sure people are praising Brolly for "calling it as it is" while others are slating him for "calling it as it is".

Personnally, I find him and Spillane nothing more than a circus act now, both out to out do each other. Been a while since I've watched them in action and will only switch on for the game itself. If i wanted their opinions on the meaning of life I'd read their newspaper columns, which thankfully i don't.

They add nothing to the game but negativity.
Post by: Main Street on May 22, 2013, 12:29:07 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 22, 2013, 12:04:32 PM
Give me Brolly over any of the wooden planks they have had over the years..............http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WyAZy4cM8uE

HOWL ON  HOWL ON

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ABQLFX7KnI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ABQLFX7KnI)
Post by: rosnarun on May 22, 2013, 12:35:49 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 22, 2013, 12:12:04 PM
Having not read back through the last 8 pages not heard what he said, I'm sure people are praising Brolly for "calling it as it is" while others are slating him for "calling it as it is".

Personnally, I find him and Spillane nothing more than a circus act now, both out to out do each other. Been a while since I've watched them in action and will only switch on for the game itself. If i wanted their opinions on the meaning of life I'd read their newspaper columns, which thankfully i don't.

Thanks for that infusion of positivity
Post by: Hillbilly on May 22, 2013, 12:40:03 PM
Is it not a case of Joe tells it as it is and then you have the sit on the fence men or nice lads but win feck all, put it what ever way you want but Brolly is spot on,PG did not have a clue. Prove me wrong PG by getting to the last 8.
Post by: AMayoFan on May 22, 2013, 12:54:57 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 22, 2013, 12:12:04 PM

Well said, I couldn't agree more.
Post by: Feckitt on May 22, 2013, 01:46:39 PM
Brolly gets it right nearly all the time.  His articles in the Gaelic Life are brilliant.  Last week he had an article about Alex Ferguson and Man Utd, where he lamented grown men fawning over Alex, Man Utd, and all the other premiership stars, he summed up an elequent piece with the rather inelegant "Man Utd dont give two fucks about you".  He eventually tied it all back to the GAA by comparing the premiership nancy boys to his own personal hero  Big Anthony Tohill.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 22, 2013, 02:12:36 PM
I don't know why my fellow Armagh fans are so upset. Brolly was right, the two Grimley's were slow, hardly dynamic mid fielders but the best Armagh had at the time. Paul Grimley's on Sunday put paid to any illusion that he was the brains behind Joe. I don't know where to begin, from team selection to tactics he seemed not to have a clue. If he wants to play Harold or Lavery at midfield he needs Hannratty in there to scrap and win secondary possession. Defensively McKeever has always played best at centre half where his job is to sweep and cover allowing AK and ANO to break forward. Another point Brolly rightly made was that Armagh set up to play old style positional football, but when Cavan pulled 12 men back the Armagh players didn't know what to do and the line gave no direction. That said the team showed for about 10 minutes in the second half what they are capable of whilst Maurice Deegan again showed what a poor ref he is, and but for him Grimley's could have had the last laugh. Managing a team is quite a different task to coaching and I'm afraid PG is struggling. He can turn it around but he needs to be more adaptive and decisive. Joe Brolly is also right when he says the Armagh fan base deserves more than Sundays abject performance.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 22, 2013, 02:35:07 PM
I always thought Mark grimley was fair handy to have around middle of the field for Armagh
Post by: mackers on May 22, 2013, 03:18:41 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 22, 2013, 02:35:07 PM
I always thought Mark grimley was fair handy to have around middle of the field for Armagh
100% correct. Mark was more mobile than John.  Injury hampered Mark Grimley from fully realising his potential.
Post by: GLfantasyfootball on May 22, 2013, 03:19:30 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 22, 2013, 01:46:39 PM
Brolly gets it right nearly all the time.  His articles in the Gaelic Life are brilliant.  Last week he had an article about Alex Ferguson and Man Utd, where he lamented grown men fawning over Alex, Man Utd, and all the other premiership stars, he summed up an elequent piece with the rather inelegant "Man Utd dont give two f**ks about you".  He eventually tied it all back to the GAA by comparing the premiership nancy boys to his own personal hero  Big Anthony Tohill.

Here it is...

http://gaeliclife.com/2013/05/joe-brolly-thank-god-anthony-tohill-never-got-that-tattoo/
Post by: bennydorano on May 22, 2013, 03:56:05 PM
I didn't watch TSG on Sunday Night, but I did watch it live during the day as I couldn't make the game, I heard Joe briefly mention the Grimleys in MF, I didn't think it was overly insulting - did he revisit the topic on Sunday night to 'insult' them further or has the story taken on a life of it's own?

For those saying Joe is always right - catch yourselves on, he's an excellent knowledge of GAA but his opinions are all over the shop. Muppet or someone memorably said one time that Eamon Dunphy doesn't have an opinion, he has a multitude of them - I think Joe is of the same ilk, he continually covers his tracks, some people obviously buy his revised backtracking version of events rather than his initial opinion.

He was 100% correct in his assessment on this occasion and I haven't heard too many people say otherwise, the trouble was in the delivery. I for one have never bought into Grimley. I've repeatedly made the point that we've been rebuilding since 2008/09, he pretty much shredded 4 years of rebuilding to start again - a nonsense approach, never mind anything else that's happened recently.
Post by: orangeman on May 22, 2013, 05:07:55 PM
Quote from: GLfantasyfootball on May 22, 2013, 03:19:30 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 22, 2013, 01:46:39 PM
Brolly gets it right nearly all the time.  His articles in the Gaelic Life are brilliant.  Last week he had an article about Alex Ferguson and Man Utd, where he lamented grown men fawning over Alex, Man Utd, and all the other premiership stars, he summed up an elequent piece with the rather inelegant "Man Utd dont give two f**ks about you".  He eventually tied it all back to the GAA by comparing the premiership nancy boys to his own personal hero  Big Anthony Tohill.

Here it is...

http://gaeliclife.com/2013/05/joe-brolly-thank-god-anthony-tohill-never-got-that-tattoo/

"Giving your loyalty to an English soccer club is like endlessly chasing a woman that has no interest in you."

"Father Andy Dolan, who pronounces one word in every five, said a beautiful mass (I think)"

Pure class.
Post by: orangeman on May 22, 2013, 05:16:23 PM
For all those who criticise Joe, here's a piece by Ryan Feeney of Ulster council fame about Joe and a Donaghmore Gael :

Last week I witnessed the GAA at its best in two very different circumstances. Firstly on Tuesday morning I received the news that Francie Donnelly, a man I revered and a St Patrick's Donaghmore stalwart, had died after battling illness. Francie leaves a strong legacy in every area of his life.

He was a man who was devoted to his family, his community and his club, Francie was one of the greatest Gaels I ever had the privilege of knowing. He was given an appropriate send off at his funeral on Thursday where the GAA represented at all levels paid tribute to man whose fingerprints are on every aspect of the Donaghmore community.
St Patrick's did an outstanding job supporting the family throughout the wake and funeral and in doing so reminded all those who visited the Donnelly house what the GAA is truly about.

Back in mid August one evening I called around to Brolly household to be entertained by Joe and his children for an hour. I would regularly visit Joe on a Friday evening for chat and a coffee – well, strictly speaking, Joe would talk and I would listen – while his wonderful wife Emma usually tries to make dinner and get the boys ready for training with St Brigid's.

Joe Brolly is someone I have looked up to all my life, a childhood hero, who is one of my closest friends he is without doubt one of the most decent, honourable and genuine people I know. Like Francie Donnelly he is a GAA believer who is constantly in awe of the GAA's ability to change lives, build communities and be a force for good.

The Brolly family have been at the forefront of Derry GAA for nearly a century. Joe's parents Francie and Anne have been leaders in the North Derry GAA community for many years. Both are teachers, musicians and Irish language enthusiasts and both became local councillors in their retirement, Francie moving on to become an MLA. They remain excellent company. Joe Brolly was raised surrounded by the GAA, it is the only way of life in the Brolly family.
On the Friday in question I was welcomed at the door by Joe shouting, "Come on in sir."

He then asked me to come in his living room and shut the door as he had something important that he wanted to tell me that he did not want the children to hear. I sat down thinking this was Joe carefully plotting a joke – he is the man after all who, after watching me play football, analysed my performance by telling me that I had a great future as a GAA administrator.

Joe opened the conversation by telling me about his friend Shane who coached alongside him in the St Brigid's u-10 team management. He explained Shane's had a health issue and he required a kidney transplant.

"I have been undertaking tests for about nine months, my kidney is a match so on 3rd October I am giving Shane my spare kidney," said Brolly.

He stopped talking and looked at me with a smile on his face. I sat in silence, probably the first time in my life as I was completely stunned.
Joe asked, "Well, what do you think?"

I asked him if had he thought through this unbelievable and compassionate gesture. His response was classic Brolly.
"Yes and you and I won't be having a debate on this as my intellect is far superior to yours, I am telling you this so you know."

He then smiled and let out a roar of laughter, I looked at him unsure of what to say or do next.
The conversation that we had after is one I will remember for the rest of my life.

He put it plainly, that this is what GAA people do. It is the GAA way. Our Association is about giving not taking. So when a seriously ill GAA man with a wife and children needed his help and he was in a position to help, there was the only one thing to do. There was to be no discussion and no debate. Joe was going to help his friend.

I am delighted to report that Joe and Shane Finnegan are recovering well in Guys Hospital London. Both men whose friendship was formed through their voluntary commitment to the GAA now have a bond that will last for the rest of their lives.

They have also been involved in something totally inspirational and uplifting. Joe's actions have given Shane and his family a second chance and a future, they will be forever grateful. When I was talking to Joe on Sunday night he was euphoric. All he could talk about was Shane's progress and how happy the doctors were with the operation. He never mentioned himself once.

Francie Donnelly leaves behind him a close family, a thriving business and a united and strong Club. His service to others and his selfless passion for doing good set a standard that the next generation of the Donaghmore Club members must follow.

As he said himself, "Our Club is about improving ourselves and getting the best from each other."

Over the years Francie and I had many debates and discussions all of them about the GAA he was a man who always had a clear opinion on the big issues and I can admit now he was always right. In the future when Francie's grandchildren Joey, Catherine, Eoghan, Molly, Evie and Jack put on a Donaghmore jersey not only will they be representing their club and community they will also be fulfilling the legacy of their Grandfather who left for them a strong GAA in Donaghmore.

For all cynics that say that society is broken, that there is no such thing as community and that the only way to get ahead in life is push a harsh, individualistic and selfish agenda, it is men like Francie Donnelly and Joe Brolly who prove that there is a better way, a positive way, a selfless and honest way. There is the GAA way.

A final thought. What if medical science developed the capability to transplant the spirit, ethos and style of men like Joe Brolly and Francie Donnelly? Think of the benefits.

On second thoughts though, there's no need for the medics to go down that path. We already have that transplant vehicle in place. It's called the GAA. Cherish it. Rejoice in it. Be part of it.

ryan.feeney.ulster@gaa.ie

Ryan Feeney is head of Community Development, Strategy and Public Affairs with Ulster GAA
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 22, 2013, 05:51:52 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 21, 2013, 10:55:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 21, 2013, 10:34:03 PM

Is it only in the black North, that someone resembling a lunatic having a fit of pique on TV, is regarded as a normal event, perhaps even worthy of applause about some sense he might have ranted on about?
To be fair MS there's a few of them on Telly accepted as normal down here - dunphy, hook etc

As for orourke he was as bad to several counties notably the flourbags when he was first on the Sunday game.

IMO Joe was a bit unmannerly in how he phrased things on Sunday.
A bit ott. There's no need for that really as he is insightful without having to use that kind of terminology. If I bump into him I'd say it to him. Joe however won't give a sihte and prob will laugh!
Post by: Orchardman on May 22, 2013, 06:07:01 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 22, 2013, 03:56:05 PM
I didn't watch TSG on Sunday Night, but I did watch it live during the day as I couldn't make the game, I heard Joe briefly mention the Grimleys in MF, I didn't think it was overly insulting - did he revisit the topic on Sunday night to 'insult' them further or has the story taken on a life of it's own?

For those saying Joe is always right - catch yourselves on, he's an excellent knowledge of GAA but his opinions are all over the shop. Muppet or someone memorably said one time that Eamon Dunphy doesn't have an opinion, he has a multitude of them - I think Joe is of the same ilk, he continually covers his tracks, some people obviously buy his revised backtracking version of events rather than his initial opinion.

He was 100% correct in his assessment on this occasion and I haven't heard too many people say otherwise, the trouble was in the delivery. I for one have never bought into Grimley. I've repeatedly made the point that we've been rebuilding since 2008/09, he pretty much shredded 4 years of rebuilding to start again - a nonsense approach, never mind anything else that's happened recently.

Eh, really what rebuilding was done that he has shredded away though? He's had a poor year right enough but the guys that came through after the 07/08 retirements are the likes of toner, vernon who are injured and still have to step up to the plate in the big time anyway. Brendy donaghy: injured as well. Grimbo has give plenty of people a chance this year and he played a young team on sunday with still plenty of the 09 minors to come through.

As for that long essay above from feeney about joe brolly: I usually like and agree with brolly and that that's a nice story that we've heard before. He deserves plenty of praise for what he did with the kidney but doesn't need to be invloved in this thread IMO, he's still there to be shot down fairly if people think he has said or done wrong
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2013, 06:42:01 PM
Quote from: stibhan on May 22, 2013, 08:41:37 AM
Time and time again, it's been proven that slating Joe Brolly doesn't decrease the viewership of the Sunday Game but increases it.

Link please.
Post by: Main Street on May 22, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 22, 2013, 06:42:01 PM
Time and time again, it's been proven that slating Joe Brolly doesn't decrease the viewership of the Sunday Game but increases it.

Link please.
While you're waiting for that link here's a link to Brolly (or someone similar) on Turkish TV, demonstrating in typical ott fashion, the Dooher dive.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkKX24z1fVo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkKX24z1fVo)
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2013, 07:20:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 22, 2013, 07:17:58 PM

Link please.
While you're waiting for that link here's a link to Brolly (or someone similar) on Turkish TV, demonstrating in typical ott fashion, the Dooher dive.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkKX24z1fVo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkKX24z1fVo)

I can see why that reminded you of The Sunday Game!
Post by: brian gorman on May 22, 2013, 07:53:45 PM
well i think whoever name him joe brolly ,got it wrong it should be wolly, the way joe layed into paul grimley on sunday before a ball was kicked was very low. joe i think  you should take time out and think about your  future with rte because paul grimley takes  time out and trains armagh team for buttons and for joe to sit back and make remarks about grimley is  a low point in gaa terms . all a man can do is his best , and by the way joe you should have had your home work  done as you didnt even know who was the kerry football manager was untill pat spiiliane told you . so before you start running down someone else look at your owen door step.{orange man from keady}
Post by: Minder on May 22, 2013, 08:22:58 PM
The problem with the Sunday Game is very simple, they spend far too long indulging Brolly and whatever other guests are on at the expense of actual highlights of the games. The total running time of the highlights of Westmeath v Carlow, Laois v Antrim & Carlow v London was less than five minutes.
Post by: ranch on May 22, 2013, 08:52:11 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on May 22, 2013, 06:07:01 PM

Eh, really what rebuilding was done that he has shredded away though? He's had a poor year right enough but the guys that came through after the 07/08 retirements are the likes of toner, vernon who are injured and still have to step up to the plate in the big time anyway. Brendy donaghy: injured as well. Grimbo has give plenty of people a chance this year and he played a young team on sunday with still plenty of the 09 minors to come through.

We seriously can't be expecting these 09 minors to be our saviours. Many of them haven't even proven themselves at club level yet.
Our u21 title in '04 has led to nothing, those players would all be approaching their peak by now you'd imagine.
Post by: ck on May 22, 2013, 09:07:45 PM
Quote from: mackers on May 21, 2013, 10:18:58 PM

My in laws are from Belfast and big GAA heads, they say he came in for an odd session but he was not the coach and was not on the line during games
Post by: ONeill on May 22, 2013, 09:24:13 PM
Leave Joe alone yousins.
Post by: Orchardman on May 22, 2013, 09:33:12 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 22, 2013, 08:52:11 PM

We seriously can't be expecting these 09 minors to be our saviours. Many of them haven't even proven themselves at club level yet.
Our u21 title in '04 has led to nothing, those players would all be approaching their peak by now you'd imagine.

well that's the thing, i don't expect them to be our saviours, but who will be our saviours? I don't think anyone will to be honest, i've been playing div 1 football for 10 years and can see from that why we are where we are. As for the 2004 team we actually did well out of that in terms of numbers. 2 kernans, mckeever, andy mallon, brian mallon, finnian mo, paul duffy and another duffy?, swift. Jes nearly the whole team played at one time or another like greg loughran, and even ronan clarke was only couple of months overage. Very teams apart from the tyrone one had a big number like that to step uo to a senior team in one go, the problem is they just wern't good enough to win an all-ireland. The guys left are 30 now and will be done in another 2-3 years
Post by: ranch on May 22, 2013, 09:39:17 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on May 22, 2013, 09:33:12 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 22, 2013, 08:52:11 PM

well that's the thing, i don't expect them to be our saviours, but who will be our saviours? I don't think anyone will to be honest, i've been playing div 1 football for 10 years and can see from that why we are where we are. As for the 2004 team we actually did well out of that in terms of numbers. 2 kernans, mckeever, andy mallon, brian mallon, finnian mo, paul duffy and another duffy?, swift.

In terms of numbers I totally agree, and it was a very talented bunch. Lads like Toal from the Harps were very talented too.
I was referring to that u21 success in terms of it translating to senior success though. Out of that bunch we've got an Ulster title in '08 and a Division 2 title in 2010.
Post by: regal on May 22, 2013, 11:11:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 22, 2013, 05:16:23 PM
For all those who criticise Joe, here's a piece by Ryan Feeney of Ulster council fame about Joe and a Donaghmore Gael :

Last week I witnessed the GAA at its best in two very different circumstances. Firstly on Tuesday morning I received the news that Francie Donnelly, a man I revered and a St Patrick’s Donaghmore stalwart, had died after battling illness. Francie leaves a strong legacy in every area of his life.

He was a man who was devoted to his family, his community and his club, Francie was one of the greatest Gaels I ever had the privilege of knowing. He was given an appropriate send off at his funeral on Thursday where the GAA represented at all levels paid tribute to man whose fingerprints are on every aspect of the Donaghmore community.
St Patrick’s did an outstanding job supporting the family throughout the wake and funeral and in doing so reminded all those who visited the Donnelly house what the GAA is truly about.

Back in mid August one evening I called around to Brolly household to be entertained by Joe and his children for an hour. I would regularly visit Joe on a Friday evening for chat and a coffee – well, strictly speaking, Joe would talk and I would listen – while his wonderful wife Emma usually tries to make dinner and get the boys ready for training with St Brigid’s.

Joe Brolly is someone I have looked up to all my life, a childhood hero, who is one of my closest friends he is without doubt one of the most decent, honourable and genuine people I know. Like Francie Donnelly he is a GAA believer who is constantly in awe of the GAA’s ability to change lives, build communities and be a force for good.

The Brolly family have been at the forefront of Derry GAA for nearly a century. Joe’s parents Francie and Anne have been leaders in the North Derry GAA community for many years. Both are teachers, musicians and Irish language enthusiasts and both became local councillors in their retirement, Francie moving on to become an MLA. They remain excellent company. Joe Brolly was raised surrounded by the GAA, it is the only way of life in the Brolly family.
On the Friday in question I was welcomed at the door by Joe shouting, “Come on in sir.”

He then asked me to come in his living room and shut the door as he had something important that he wanted to tell me that he did not want the children to hear. I sat down thinking this was Joe carefully plotting a joke – he is the man after all who, after watching me play football, analysed my performance by telling me that I had a great future as a GAA administrator.

Joe opened the conversation by telling me about his friend Shane who coached alongside him in the St Brigid’s u-10 team management. He explained Shane’s had a health issue and he required a kidney transplant.

“I have been undertaking tests for about nine months, my kidney is a match so on 3rd October I am giving Shane my spare kidney,” said Brolly.

He stopped talking and looked at me with a smile on his face. I sat in silence, probably the first time in my life as I was completely stunned.
Joe asked, “Well, what do you think?”

I asked him if had he thought through this unbelievable and compassionate gesture. His response was classic Brolly.
“Yes and you and I won’t be having a debate on this as my intellect is far superior to yours, I am telling you this so you know.”

He then smiled and let out a roar of laughter, I looked at him unsure of what to say or do next.
The conversation that we had after is one I will remember for the rest of my life.

He put it plainly, that this is what GAA people do. It is the GAA way. Our Association is about giving not taking. So when a seriously ill GAA man with a wife and children needed his help and he was in a position to help, there was the only one thing to do. There was to be no discussion and no debate. Joe was going to help his friend.

I am delighted to report that Joe and Shane Finnegan are recovering well in Guys Hospital London. Both men whose friendship was formed through their voluntary commitment to the GAA now have a bond that will last for the rest of their lives.

They have also been involved in something totally inspirational and uplifting. Joe’s actions have given Shane and his family a second chance and a future, they will be forever grateful. When I was talking to Joe on Sunday night he was euphoric. All he could talk about was Shane’s progress and how happy the doctors were with the operation. He never mentioned himself once.

Francie Donnelly leaves behind him a close family, a thriving business and a united and strong Club. His service to others and his selfless passion for doing good set a standard that the next generation of the Donaghmore Club members must follow.

As he said himself, “Our Club is about improving ourselves and getting the best from each other.”

Over the years Francie and I had many debates and discussions all of them about the GAA he was a man who always had a clear opinion on the big issues and I can admit now he was always right. In the future when Francie’s grandchildren Joey, Catherine, Eoghan, Molly, Evie and Jack put on a Donaghmore jersey not only will they be representing their club and community they will also be fulfilling the legacy of their Grandfather who left for them a strong GAA in Donaghmore.

For all cynics that say that society is broken, that there is no such thing as community and that the only way to get ahead in life is push a harsh, individualistic and selfish agenda, it is men like Francie Donnelly and Joe Brolly who prove that there is a better way, a positive way, a selfless and honest way. There is the GAA way.

A final thought. What if medical science developed the capability to transplant the spirit, ethos and style of men like Joe Brolly and Francie Donnelly? Think of the benefits.

On second thoughts though, there’s no need for the medics to go down that path. We already have that transplant vehicle in place. It’s called the GAA. Cherish it. Rejoice in it. Be part of it.

ryan.feeney.ulster@gaa.ie

Ryan Feeney is head of Community Development, Strategy and Public Affairs with Ulster GAA

What bullshit
Post by: BennyHarp on May 22, 2013, 11:28:38 PM
Feeney is Brollys cousin isn't he?
Post by: theticklemister on May 22, 2013, 11:29:50 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 22, 2013, 11:28:38 PM
Feeney is Brollys cousin isn't he?

Dunno about that now, but Feeney is a toolbag. Brolly less of a toolbag.
Post by: Orior on May 22, 2013, 11:55:18 PM
Is Master Feeney not a regular poster here?
Post by: tbrick18 on May 23, 2013, 09:27:19 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 22, 2013, 07:17:58 PM

Link please.

My grasp of the turkish language wouldn't be brilliant, but I believe the dna test results just proved that he wasn't the father.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 23, 2013, 09:29:13 AM
Quote from: ck on May 22, 2013, 09:07:45 PM
Quote from: mackers on May 21, 2013, 10:18:58 PM

My in laws are from Belfast and big GAA heads, they say he came in for an odd session but he was not the coach and was not on the line during games

Joe went in to do some forward coaching approaching a championship game....nothing more than that ASFAIK.
Post by: red hander on May 23, 2013, 06:57:42 PM

That's rich coming from a Meath man  ::)
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 08:26:28 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 23, 2013, 06:57:42 PM

+1 Colm loves to lament the "pullin and draggin" in the modern game but he was (by his own admission) a fine exponent of it back in the day when they played Cork in the AI final. Brilliant player but very much a hypocrite as a pundit.

Brolly was a fine player and has displayed exceptional personal bravery in his recent kidney donating saga. That makes it more disappointing that as a pundit he is sneering, patronising and frequently nasty and personal.

Imagine someone of Joe's class as a forward being critical of a team for not cynically fouling a current day team as they run through a defence?  Zero credibility. O'Rourke should be sent out to pasture and Joe is a cartoon that needs to transfer to the Nickelodean channel!
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 08:26:28 PM

+1 Colm loves to lament the "pullin and draggin" in the modern game but he was (by his own admission) a fine exponent of it back in the day when they played Cork in the AI final. Brilliant player but very much a hypocrite as a pundit.

Brolly was a fine player and has displayed exceptional personal bravery in his recent kidney donating saga. That makes it more disappointing that as a pundit he is sneering, patronising and frequently nasty and personal.

Imagine someone of Joe's class as a forward being critical of a team for not cynically fouling a current day team as they run through a defence?  Zero credibility. O'Rourke should be sent out to pasture and Joe is a cartoon that needs to transfer to the Nickelodean channel!

Imagine the same pundit publicly pressurising a referee, to watch for one team in an AIF doing exactly that.

Zero credibility is right.
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 08:37:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:30:49 PM

Imagine the same pundit publicly pressurising a referee, to watch for one team in an AIF doing exactly that.

Good point Muppet. Forget that.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 24, 2013, 12:06:52 AM

The ref generally officiated the game correctly.
I say generally as personally I thought he gave the underdogs more than the benefit of the doubt - poss as they were losing.
Cynical fouling is fouling and punishable by free kicks. Too many refs don't blow for this.
My oul lad was going ballistic watching the Cavan v Armagh rerun on setanta this afternoon and the unpunished cynical fouling.
I have to say he was right.
As was the ref in 2012 all Ireland football final. Brolly has no influence here.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 24, 2013, 12:24:51 AM
The RTE football pundits have been shite for years but people still persist in watching them. Switch to BBC for a while and as viewing figures reduce RTE wont be long about taking action
Post by: theticklemister on May 24, 2013, 01:13:30 AM
Mchugh and burns.............

Post by: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 09:00:56 AM
I've got to be honest, whilst i don't think Grimley is the right man to take Armagh forward (shock horror) and i think his letter is at best cringeworthy and at worst naive and a desperate attempt to try and keep Armagh fans. I've never seen a manager in recent times more public humliated on TV and social media. This is not what the GAA is all about, yes we can call a spade a spade and say Grimley lost the game for Armagh, yes his tactics were wrong and he didn't have a 'Plan B' but in the name of good god let's leave the personal jibes and have some respect to him as a gael and a volunteer.

Some people like to adhere to the values of the GAA when it suits them. 'The GAA is a community based volunteer organisation promoting Gaelic games, culture and lifelong participation.' Some people should remember what the GAA is all about, and some reporters should remember they aren't the British RAGs like the Sun or Mirror.

Disgraceful humilation of a true GAA man.

On another note, yes Armagh are in 'transition' (i hate that word) they clearly no longer have the calibre of players they once did. Also what a lack of respect Cavan have been shown, how dare they win that game with relative ease. The cheek. I think they'll improve massively in the next few years.
Post by: God14 on May 24, 2013, 09:10:45 AM
I'd agree with all that Dennis. Hit the nail on the head.
Post by: north aontroim gael on May 24, 2013, 10:27:26 AM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 09:00:56 AM
I've got to be honest, whilst i don't think Grimley is the right man to take Armagh forward (shock horror) and i think his letter is at best cringeworthy and at worst naive and a desperate attempt to try and keep Armagh fans. I've never seen a manager in recent times more public humliated on TV and social media. This is not what the GAA is all about, yes we can call a spade a spade and say Grimley lost the game for Armagh, yes his tactics were wrong and he didn't have a 'Plan B' but in the name of good god let's leave the personal jibes and have some respect to him as a gael and a volunteer.

Some people like to adhere to the values of the GAA when it suits them. 'The GAA is a community based volunteer organisation promoting Gaelic games, culture and lifelong participation.' Some people should remember what the GAA is all about, and some reporters should remember they aren't the British RAGs like the Sun or Mirror.

Disgraceful humilation of a true GAA man.

On another note, yes Armagh are in 'transition' (i hate that word) they clearly no longer have the calibre of players they once did. Also what a lack of respect Cavan have been shown, how dare they win that game with relative ease. The cheek. I think they'll improve massively in the next few years.

Summed it up perfectly Dennis.  I quite like Joe Brolly but he recently wrote an article in the Gaelic Life bestowing the virtues of the GAA and how it was far superior to the Premiership etc.  His punditry is much like that the tabloid press in England who are fond of a witch hunt at times.  No need for the personal attacks.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 10:29:51 AM
Agreed and I'm a Derry man so i've no axe to grind, just my opinion for it's worth!
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2013, 10:53:11 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 24, 2013, 12:24:51 AM
The RTE football pundits have been shite for years but people still persist in watching them. Switch to BBC for a while and as viewing figures reduce RTE wont be long about taking action

But...... they're a million times worse!
No exaggeration.
Post by: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:29:38 AM
Utter nonsense. I've highlighted this in another thread, Armagh fans are not humilated by being beaten by Cavan, they are humilated by the team's performance. Through all of the post match analysis on here (and there's been a lot) not once have I saw a post by an Armagh fan commenting on how embarrassed they were by being beaten by Cavan.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 11:33:07 AM
Quote from: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:29:38 AM
Utter nonsense. I've highlighted this in another thread, Armagh fans are not humilated by being beaten by Cavan, they are humilated by the team's performance. Through all of the post match analysis on here (and there's been a lot) not once have I saw a post by an Armagh fan commenting on how embarrassed they were by being beaten by Cavan.

The team's performance is indicative of the players they have along with tactics. The vast majority thought Armagh would win the game and I wouldn't expect any fan to be as blunt to say they were embarrassed. I think it was a shock to many Armagh fans.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2013, 11:37:39 AM
The GAA at county level is a long way from being the amateur game that county chairmen and the suits love to talk about and bum the grass roots up in order to make them feel good and keep them on side.

The GAA at county senior level will typically have 20 of a backroom team, the vast majority of whom are NOT unpaid volunteers. Far from it in some cases.

To attack and criticise Brolly by saying that it's an amateur game and he shouldn't be coming out with this sort of stuff about volunteers might not strictly be correct.

I'm not referring specifically to PG here as I am not a party to his "deal" and is in all likelihood doing the job for the love of the game like a lot of good gaels out there.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 11:41:23 AM
Even if someone is paid be it through whatever loophole, there is a dignified way for constructive criticism to be carried out that is within the GAA ethos. The volunteer or not, he is a gael and although not immune to fair criticism, should be shown at least shown respect that in certain quarters hasn't be given.
Post by: yellowcard on May 24, 2013, 11:57:28 AM
From what Grimley has said, he does realise that the gameplan isn't working but he appears to believe that if it is executed properly it is still the way to go. That remains to be seen and I would have serious doubts about this. I honestly believe he will think the job not worth the hassle and vacate the seat at the end of the season. Whilst he has tried something different, it hasn't worked and I can't see it falling into place at this stage of the year. Morale will be a big problem but some of the players need to look at themselves also.

Whilst Grimleys reign has been disappointing, people have to realise that he has been trying to do the job all year with his hands tied behind his back. Much more so than previous regimes which at least had some semblance of backing. The finances simply aren't there that other counties have access to but in fairness to Grimley he has never used that as an excuse. That will be the biggest stumbling block to getting the 'best man for the job' when it next comes to looking for a new manager. There may not be too many willing to put their hands up.
Post by: mackers on May 24, 2013, 12:52:43 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 24, 2013, 11:33:07 AM
Quote from: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:29:38 AM

The team's performance is indicative of the players they have along with tactics. The vast majority thought Armagh would win the game and I wouldn't expect any fan to be as blunt to say they were embarrassed. I think it was a shock to many Armagh fans.
The days of Armagh fans going to matches confident of a win are gone for the time being.  We have watched them get stuffed by Derry and Monaghan, get beaten by Roscommon and have a inconsistent league campaign.  I can honestly say that any fans I spoke to in the run up to the game were far from confident.  The media had talked them up but those of us who have followed them would not.  The performance was a shock to Armagh fans, the result less so.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 24, 2013, 12:06:52 AM

The ref generally officiated the game correctly.
I say generally as personally I thought he gave the underdogs more than the benefit of the doubt - poss as they were losing.
Cynical fouling is fouling and punishable by free kicks. Too many refs don't blow for this.
My oul lad was going ballistic watching the Cavan v Armagh rerun on setanta this afternoon and the unpunished cynical fouling.
I have to say he was right.
As was the ref in 2012 all Ireland football final. Brolly has no influence here.

I have no problem with the ref, other than the two brave men attacking 20 year old O'Connor at the start whether he had the ball or not. But I would blame the silent umpires more than the ref.

My problem with Brolly was the intent of this article, not how the ref reacted: http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0920/338376-joe-brolly-tips-donegal-to-edge-dour-encounter/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0920/338376-joe-brolly-tips-donegal-to-edge-dour-encounter/)

The most polite thing I can say it that it wasn't a very balanced analysis by a supposedly neutral pundit.
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 12:14:56 PM
Now it's Paul's turn - fighting talk.

Grimley got his chance to respond to the RTÉ pundit's heated criticism of his tactics against Cavan in the wake of the county's qualifier win over Wicklow on Sunday.

Brolly questioned Grimley's ability to be an inter-county manager and mentioned his twin brothers, Mark and John, who are former Armagh footballers.

"I don't change my tactics because someone like Joe Brolly doesn't like them or thinks I shouldn't be here," rapped Grimley.

"The thing about pundits and analysts is, you're only an expert analyst if you're wearing the same shoes as the person you're criticising. Joe hasn't and it's doubtful he ever will. He has a right to say what he wants but he hasn't a right to insult people or mock them or make fun of members of their family which is what he did.

"As far as I'm concerned, there is no line drawn under it, and there never will be."

Grimley insists he has more respect for pundits who have managed teams, such as former Ireland International Rules boss Colm O'Rourke.

He added: "I'll take criticism from people like Colm O'Rourke every day of the week. Somebody like Joe Brolly is just classed as an entertainer.

"I'd be quite prepared to take constructive criticism from any man but people like him, who jumps on a man when he stumbles, and tries to make himself popular, well, his opinion doesn't count."
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 02, 2013, 12:19:15 PM
Grimley is right. A few Armagh posters on here could also apply to his view of Brolly.
Post by: sheamy on July 02, 2013, 12:21:56 PM
He never knows when the clatter is falling out of him
Post by: Applesisapples on July 02, 2013, 12:32:41 PM
I still believe Brolly called it right with big Paul. He did however personalize it which became the issue. It is not necessary to have managed a County Team to have an opinion or for that matter to have even managed a club team. Many astute tacticians would not manage a team, it doesn't make their assessment of Paul's tactics any less valid. Managing a County team is about surrounding yourself with the right people and then being able to use their expertise as required. It also means being able to manage players, the county board and the expectations of supporters. One win against wicklow does not change that. But hopefully the lessons are being learned. In relation to Joe, Paul needs to move on otherwise their will be only one winner.
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 12:35:57 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 02, 2013, 12:32:41 PM
I still believe Brolly called it right with big Paul. He did however personalize it which became the issue. It is not necessary to have managed a County Team to have an opinion or for that matter to have even managed a club team. Many astute tacticians would not manage a team, it doesn't make their assessment of Paul's tactics any less valid. Managing a County team is about surrounding yourself with the right people and then being able to use their expertise as required. It also means being able to manage players, the county board and the expectations of supporters. One win against wicklow does not change that. But hopefully the lessons are being learned. In relation to Joe, Paul needs to move on otherwise their will be only one winner.

He's not for moving on - there won't be a line drawn under it EVER acording to Grimley.

I didn't think he'd be the type to hold a grudge !  ;)
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2013, 12:38:03 PM
I agree with both of them!
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:49:22 PM
To be fair, Broly runs rings around the Leitrim man as a pundit, and this is from someone who knows O'Rourke is the only of the the three amigos that is half-ways close to not collapsing under the weight of his own ego. Doesn't matter one iota if O'Rourke is the greatest manager of all time.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2013, 12:53:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:49:22 PM
To be fair, Broly runs rings around the Leitrim man as a pundit. Doesn't matter one iota if O'Rourke is the greatest or worst manager of all time.

That's like saying Mr Pastry (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0DXDV1xThU) runs rings around Yeats as a poet.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2013, 01:39:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:49:22 PM
To be fair, Broly runs rings around the Leitrim man as a pundit, and this is from someone who knows O'Rourke is the only of the the three amigos that is half-ways close to not collapsing under the weight of his one ego. Doesn't matter one iota if O'Rourke is the greatest manager of all time.

Do you not have hair to cut or something?

(http://i4.ytimg.com/vi/_CcDIdd2ycQ/mqdefault.jpg)
Post by: God14 on July 02, 2013, 01:46:16 PM
I genuinely wouldn't want to be in Brollys shoes when Paul Grimley inevitably bumps into him.
Brolly will pass it off with a laugh & a joke - but its clear he has really got under Grimleys skin. Big Paul will not be laughing & will be looking answers.
I like Brolly. He talks a lot of sense MOST of the time & is good entertainment value. He does loose the run of himself though & has upset too many people in the last couple of years. Slagging & mocking GAA volunteers, whom are doing their level best isn't really the ethos of the association.
Brolly needed his wings clipped with the personalised stuff. I think (even though he'd never admit it) he was taken aback by the twitter / media backlash to his comments.
Hopefully Brolly will have the good grace to admit he went too far, apolgise & they can move on.
Post by: sheamy on July 02, 2013, 01:48:54 PM
Do you think he'll hit him? He'd need a good lawyer then, so.
Post by: God14 on July 02, 2013, 02:20:15 PM
Sheamy - If he doesn't get the answers he wants, Yes I think he will.
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 02:21:34 PM
Quote from: God14 on July 02, 2013, 02:20:15 PM

Grist to the mill surely ?.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2013, 02:28:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 02:21:34 PM

It's highly unlikely that some night wee Joe decides to take a piss up some side street off the welly park behind a transit van, Grimley spots him and follows him to deliver his own form of retribution is it now?

He fell M'lud is hardly going to cut it.

:o

Post by: theticklemister on July 02, 2013, 02:36:48 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 02, 2013, 02:28:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 02:21:34 PM

It's highly unlikely that some night wee Joe decides to take a piss up some side street off the welly park behind a transit van, Grimley spots him and follows him to deliver his own form of retribution is it now?

He fell M'lud is hardly going to cut it.

:o

I reckon Brolly cold handle himself against Grimley.
Post by: ardchieftain on July 02, 2013, 02:53:42 PM
Brolly got the head beat of him in school, more than once, for his slabbering.........
Post by: Count 10 on July 02, 2013, 02:55:05 PM
Grimley should have said something along the lines of ....thank god I'd a plan B ....that would/should have been the end of it....instead it will drag on and on....and I agree only on winner here...Brolly. ;D
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 03:10:47 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on July 02, 2013, 02:53:42 PM
Brolly got the head beat of him in school, more than once, for his slabbering.........

He's a stubborn boy then cos he's far from scupid !
Post by: sheamy on July 02, 2013, 03:18:48 PM
(http://img.u.tv/galleries/777/620x349/organ_cycle_18052013.jpg)

Big Paul would want to be picking his fights. Joe knows people  ;)
Post by: theticklemister on July 02, 2013, 03:20:41 PM
Quote from: sheamy on July 02, 2013, 03:18:48 PM

Quote from: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 03:10:47 PM

When they were fighting Joe was working and got a fantastic job out of it!

Dunno 2 boys in that pic, but McGuinness can't give him much support these days.

Wait.is that peter robinson to the right?
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2013, 03:23:23 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 02, 2013, 03:20:41 PM

Dunno 2 boys in that pic, but McGuinness can't give him much support these days.

Who is yer man with the goggles on ? Looks like a hardy boy.

Them other boys look like safties. You wouldn't have seen them boys in charge of an army.
Post by: muppet on July 02, 2013, 03:26:19 PM
Witness: M'lud he got that cut from his sharp wit.

Lordship: But it looks like he was hit by a blunt object?

Witness: Exactly m'lud.
Post by: men in black on July 02, 2013, 03:56:52 PM
Can any body put a figure on the amount of money that these greats of the game get for their
so called analysis.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2013, 04:07:11 PM
€1k a sunday IIRC.
Post by: yellowcard on July 02, 2013, 04:09:14 PM
Quote from: men in black on July 02, 2013, 03:56:52 PM
Can any body put a figure on the amount of money that these greats of the game get for their
so called analysis.

Do the salaries of RTE employees (as a public service broadcaster) get published?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2013, 04:26:00 PM

I think the lad on the left is that Shane fella that Joe gave the kidney to.
Post by: johnneycool on July 03, 2013, 08:42:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2013, 04:26:00 PM

I think the lad on the left is that Shane fella that Joe gave the kidney to.

That third force jacket still comes in handy for Pete every once in a while.
Post by: grounded on July 03, 2013, 11:27:51 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 02, 2013, 04:09:14 PM
Quote from: men in black on July 02, 2013, 03:56:52 PM
so called analysis.

Do the salaries of RTE employees (as a public service broadcaster) get published?

http://www.rte.ie/about/en/press-office/press-releases/2013/0327/378687-rte-on-target-to-achieve-over-30-savings-on-top-10-presenter-fee/

Post by: ck on July 03, 2013, 12:15:04 PM
Grimley obviously couldn't wait to get rippin into Joe after hammering Wicklow. To me he sounded badly hurt by it all.
The difficulty for Grimley is that Brolly will always have the final say due to his TV platform. Armagh will loose, Brolly will sneer and say that Grimley is a joke and Grimley can't argue after loosing again. He's destined to fail.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 03, 2013, 04:46:09 PM
If the Wicklow game proved anything it was that Brolly was right, if a bit uncouth.