Grimley V Brolly, row in full swing

Started by T Fearon, May 21, 2013, 09:19:47 AM

Quote from: ck on May 21, 2013, 10:09:57 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 21, 2013, 07:42:03 PM
Did Brolly ever take on a club team in Derry?
The only coaching role I can remember him being involved with was with Antrim. It was there that this tactical genious came up with the plan that Antrims full back line shouldn't face the ball but stand facing their opponents instead.
Not sure how this was meant to work but there ya go. Never took off anyhow.

To the best of my knowledge Brolly has never coached any team at senior level. Sure he's a loose canon. Good on TV not good on a sideline I would suggest.
Where did you hear that he coached Antrim? Seriously doubt that.
He coached Antrim along with Jody Gormley.

I think he came in round championship time to help out rather than it being a full year?

Some manners and a wee bit of respect wouldn't go amiss from joe.  He has a lot to offer but i think he's started to believe his own hype.

I don't know how many people watch the sunday game for the punditry. I watch it for the games and if the punditry gets annoying, like sunday night, i turn it over between games.

Quote from: blackcard on May 21, 2013, 09:14:50 PM
The facts are Joe was right. Big Paul was obstinate. He reinforces his obstinacy in today's Irish News.
You and the blinkered crew, take a wake up tablet realspiritof98. Please make relevancy your objective
and refrain from silly soundbites.

Lots of new posters supporting Joe this week.  ;)

However, I would say Joe could do with listening to your last sentence.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 05:18:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 04:23:30 PM
All three of them are complete w@nkers and as far as I know, not one of them has ever been confident enough in their own ability to actually go out and manage an intercounty team.

Brolly was eulogising about how Donegal (or was it Tyrone?) would have been smart enough to pull down players running through unlike Galway. O'Rourke put him back in his box when he asked if Joe would be writing an article about their cynical and persistent fouling....

Have manners you pup.
Colm has managed plenty of teams in his time.
Club, school, county underage, International Rules.

Plenty of intercounty teams?? It's not like the opportunity to do something with Meath hasn't arisen for wee Colm but clearly he figured he wasn't good enough to take it on. That you're bringing "coaching" the international rules team into it says it all about his experience.

All three of them are hurlers on the ditch who are happy enough to come out with smartarse throwaway comments in the knowledge that nobody is there to rebutt them. When it comes down to it, none of them are willing to put themselves on the line and actually go out and manage a county team. Fair enough, it's their job to critique teams and the way the play but they could try to do it without acting like smug arseholes.

Quote from: muppet on May 21, 2013, 10:34:03 PM
Quote from: blackcard on May 21, 2013, 09:14:50 PM
The facts are Joe was right. Big Paul was obstinate. He reinforces his obstinacy in today's Irish News.
You and the blinkered crew, take a wake up tablet realspiritof98. Please make relevancy your objective
and refrain from silly soundbites.

Lots of new posters supporting Joe this week.  ;)

However, I would say Joe could do with listening to your last sentence.
Is it only in the black North, that someone resembling a lunatic having a fit of pique on TV, is regarded as a normal event, perhaps even worthy of applause about some sense he might have ranted on about?

I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look. Have to think Spillane couldn't resist firing up Windows 95 to see the reaction when he brought out his greatest hit ('puke football' to you and me), if only to bathe in the sea of froth it produced.

Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look.

I doubt those lads would be doing that kind of research, it's pretty much a "turn up on the day and get the make-up done" sort of a job for them

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 05:18:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 04:23:30 PM
All three of them are complete w@nkers and as far as I know, not one of them has ever been confident enough in their own ability to actually go out and manage an intercounty team.

Brolly was eulogising about how Donegal (or was it Tyrone?) would have been smart enough to pull down players running through unlike Galway. O'Rourke put him back in his box when he asked if Joe would be writing an article about their cynical and persistent fouling....

Have manners you pup.
Colm has managed plenty of teams in his time.
Club, school, county underage, International Rules.

Plenty of intercounty teams?? It's not like the opportunity to do something with Meath hasn't arisen for wee Colm but clearly he figured he wasn't good enough to take it on. That you're bringing "coaching" the international rules team into it says it all about his experience.

All three of them are hurlers on the ditch who are happy enough to come out with smartarse throwaway comments in the knowledge that nobody is there to rebutt them. When it comes down to it, none of them are willing to put themselves on the line and actually go out and manage a county team. Fair enough, it's their job to critique teams and the way the play but they could try to do it without acting like smug arseholes.

In fairness to O'Rourke, he is the only one of the three that brings a bit of balance to proceedings, the other 2 invariably end up sniping at each other in an attempt to score petty points. I genuinely think they can't stand each other, Brolly seems to really get on Spillanes nerves and Brolly plays up on this.

I also think that Brolly intimidates younger fresh panellists and is annoyingly condescending towards them. I used to think Brolly was great craic and not to be taken too seriously but in the last year or so his ego has grown as his platform for getting his views across has increased. Plenty of people just laugh him off as a bit of an eejit but many others repeat his views as their own. I just wish he would tone it down a bit and not make it all about Joe.

The man is creaming a fortune from GAA columns and analysis yet constantly bleats on about his devotion to St Brigids U-10's as though he is at the hub of all grass roots activities of the GAA. The reality is that he is probably simply doing what plenty of other fathers are doing for teams that their children are involved in.   

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 21, 2013, 11:01:18 PM

Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many of the panel pop on for a look.

I doubt those lads would be doing that kind of research, it's pretty much a "turn up on the day and get the make-up done" sort of a job for them

Given he called Alan Dillon's addition to the starting line-up on Sunday a ''huge surprise'' Pat wasn't partaking in my excellent reportage of said likelihood in mid-week  8) 8)

They need to get Colm Parkinson on to stand up to Joe.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 11:04:59 PM
They need to get Colm Parkinson on to stand up to Joe.

Jinxy, what do you think about the fact that they had Rourkey sitting in a child's chair on Sunday? Is it subliminal message about the state of Meath football? Pat look like a towering giant in his well-suspended seat compared to Colm.

i met joe in a dublin pub on his way to rte in croker. hes a great man and great craic and loves armagh and armagh people. i suggest he was just as disgusted as the rest of us last sunday when he saw a very capable team running around rudderless playing retro football. all grimleys armagh team needed was grainey black and white pictures and jerseys with laces around the neck.

as regards his credentials the two brians devised the system of football (blanket defence) now employed by modern winning teams solely to combat the threat of non other than joe brolly so i'd say hes specially equipped to comment on team tactics or the lack of them.

Quote from: lawnseed on May 21, 2013, 11:31:04 PM
i met joe in a dublin pub on his way to rte in croker. hes a great man and great craic and loves armagh and armagh people. i suggest he was just as disgusted as the rest of us last sunday when he saw a very capable team running around rudderless playing retro football. all grimleys armagh team needed was grainey black and white pictures and jerseys with laces around the neck.

as regards his credentials the two brians devised the system of football (blanket defence) now employed by modern winning teams solely to combat the threat of non other than joe brolly so i'd say hes specially equipped to comment on team tactics or the lack of them.

Absolutely no doubt he would be great craic off camera but I do think when he has a public platform he should not be as personal. Generally he is well informed, can be witty and normally makes good points but its just his sniping digs at various people to try and garner a reaction and increase publicity for himself that he needs to rein in.

thebuzz

Quote from: yellowcard on May 21, 2013, 11:35:28 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 21, 2013, 11:31:04 PM

Absolutely no doubt he would be great craic off camera but I do think when he has a public platform he should not be as personal. Generally he is well informed, can be witty and normally makes good points but its just his sniping digs at various people to try and garner a reaction and increase publicity for himself that he needs to rein in.

That's it in a nutshell. He could be funny, witty and easy to listen to without the insults.

regal

Joe is just a vindictive little pr**k. An average forward who played in a great Derry team. I believe he missed the start of Derry's 1993 AI campaign because he preferred to concentrate on his exams, whilst he refused to play on other derry teams because he didn't like the manager. His personal hatred of people like mickey moran, mcgeeney and now grimley amongst others is quite sad.

I don't believe he should be given the platform which RTE grants him. Whilst he is clearly articulate and witty, his knowlege of football is limited.

The criticism of paul grimley (generally) has been appalling. There is no doubt he (along with the vast majority of players) made istakes on sunday but he shouldn't be crucified.