Disturbing story in this morning's Irish News.Obviously the 18 year old girl didn't live through the troubles and probably thought it was ok to accept her friend's invitation to go for a drink in a Rangers Supporters Club in the Village, and got a severe beating but thankfully didn't lose her life.
Now I wouldn't even drive down that shit hole in the dark much less stop in it,but is this irrational hatred ever going to be acknowledged by unionists never mind tackled effectively?
Quote from: T Fearon on May 11, 2013, 04:20:44 PM
Disturbing story in this morning's Irish News.Obviously the 18 year old girl didn't live through the troubles and probably thought it was ok to accept her friend's invitation to go for a drink in a Rangers Supporters Club in the Village, and got a severe beating but thankfully didn't lose her life.
Now I wouldn't even drive down that shit hole in the dark much less stop in it,but is this irrational hatred ever going to be acknowledged by unionists never mind tackled effectively?
Whilst up at uni me and one of the boys thought it would be a laugh to pop into South Belfast NI Supporters Club for a pint. They just seemed to know immediately we weren't the "right" sort. Stayed for two pints and left. We were fortunate perhaps that we went at about 2pm before there was any real crowd there.
Quote from: ranch on May 11, 2013, 04:28:33 PM
Whilst up at uni me and one of the boys thought it would be a laugh to pop into South Belfast NI Supporters Club for a pint. They just seemed to know immediately we weren't the "right" sort. Stayed for two pints and left. We were fortunate perhaps that we went at about 2pm before there was any real crowd there.
ye not have common sense and just not go in there to cause confrontation??
Quote from: theticklemister on May 11, 2013, 04:41:49 PM
Cause confrontation? Catch yourself on. We had two pints because it was on the way of our walk from the Europa to the holylands and we always wondered what the place was like. They didn't do anything, we just got a strange feeling, perhaps we were wrong especially as there were only about five other punters there.
Pure madness that this girl accepted the invitation in the first place, unless she lived out of Norn Iron for the past 18 years then she might not have known about the troubles, but if she was from here then it was daft to accept. Hope she gets well soon
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2013, 04:51:26 PM
Pure madness that this girl accepted the invitation in the first place, unless she lived out of Norn Iron for the past 18 years then she might not have known about the troubles, but if she was from here then it was daft to accept. Hope she gets well soon
From what I gather she was a with a Protestant friend, so maybe thought she was ok? Apparently the friend has since been forced out of her home by paramilitaries. Naivity on her behalf of course but being a female she maybe thought they wouldn't stoop to that level.
Scumbags nonetheless, plenty of CCTV around that place if I remember correctly, good luck to the cops getting any of it of course ::)
Quote from: ranch on May 11, 2013, 04:46:58 PM
Cause confrontation? Catch yourself on. We had two pints because it was on the way of our walk from the Europa to the holylands and we always wondered what the place was like. They didn't do anything, we just got a strange feeling, perhaps we were wrong especially as there were only about five other punters there.
What's it like in there? Always wondered, go past it all the time.. wouldn't give them the steam off my piss mind you.
Quote from: qubdub on May 11, 2013, 05:01:24 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 11, 2013, 04:46:58 PM
What's it like in there? Always wondered, go past it all the time.. wouldn't give them the steam off my piss mind you.
Exactly how it looks from the outside, bit of a dump.
Do you have a link to the story? Did the Tele cover it?
Not in tele but front page lead story in Irish News.Murmurings about it on twitter last night too.
Some might blame the kid for being naive but I honestly don't think that teenagers growing up post troubles in whatever passes for normal areas up here realise the risk they're taking in going to a shit hole like this.Heavy UVF involvement, I expect the PSNI will be feeling a few collars shortly...not.
Would something like that happen on the Falls? Or any Nationalist area?
Quote from: qubdub on May 11, 2013, 05:24:46 PM
I personally would very much doubt it.
No,I do not think a person would be harmed,particularly an 18 year old girl,on account of her religious persuasion in a nationalist area.
QuoteWould something like that happen on the Falls? Or any Nationalist area?
No. There appears to be a different level of bitterness and hatred among them completely, spirit of the Shankill Butchers is still around.
Wouldn't be too smug about it.I'd say plenty of Protestants have got a kicking also for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, but generally the level of hatred driving to kill inspired by the mere mention of the word "Fenian" is confined to loyalist areas.
On the one hand, walking into the wrong pub can lead you into bother in most cities in the world, regardless of local issues. That does not make it right, just a fact of life. On the other hand this sectarian rap really needs to be dealt with once and for all.
Until Protestant leaders and citizens start saying: 'enough is enough'; it will go on.
Personally broke up a lynching on the Falls road many years ago. Havent heard of too many in fairness
In my view Paisley stirred anti catholicism up for years and the DUP/UUP fanning the flames every so often (the recent leaflet about the flags being a perfect example) keep it going.
A "lynching"? Tony used that word and now you, Milltown. Doesn't it mean a "hanging." Surely that wasn't the intention of the two groups you describe, was it?
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 11, 2013, 05:53:51 PM
A "lynching"? Tony used that word and now you, Milltown. Doesn't it mean a "hanging." Surely that wasn't the intention of the two groups you describe, was it?
Hanging and jumping on someones head will always have the same outcome in my opinion. Not sure how the lad ended up there but very lucky.
But I'd say if someone strays into most back street bars they could end up in bother. The Ballroom of Romance on the Glen Road a few years ago wouldn't have been the best of bars for locals to drink in nevermind strangers, the PD on the Andytown road, both of the Felon pubs the Bank bar at the bottom of the Falls, mental place.
Well said Tony. I hope these ........(can't think of a strong enough word to describe this brand of unionist) get what's coming to them, one way or the other. As someone who's not too well informed about the North , I was very surprised that this kind of attack would still happen. What is the PSNI's track record for dealing with cases like this?
Quote from: Asal Mor on May 11, 2013, 06:15:52 PM
Well said Tony. I hope these ........(can't think of a strong enough word to describe this brand of unionist) get what's coming to them, one way or the other. As someone who's not too well informed about the North , I was very surprised that this kind of attack would still happen. What is the PSNI's track record for dealing with cases like this?
Very poor unless people come forward and who's going to do that? If there is cctv then hopefully they will get someone. Wasn't that long ago a lad was kicked to death in Omagh
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2013, 06:18:46 PM
Very poor unless people come forward and who's going to do that? If there is cctv then hopefully they will get someone. Wasn't that long ago a lad was kicked to death in Omagh
There was something similar last year that springs to mind, with extras on a film set, was that the same area of Belfast? Was the Omagh incident sectarian in nature? I just find it hard to believe, Rangers bar or no Rangers bar that grown men would beat the lumps out of a teenage girl over her religion!
Let's face it - there are some areas of Belfast [and probably elsewhere] that you don't go into & that you should never go into : in your entire lifetime; not even after this week's news that we're all supposed to love each other in around 2023, according to Peter & Marty.
If anybody seriously thinks that attitudes have changed that much over the past 20 years, they're not living in the real world.
Quote from: qubdub on May 11, 2013, 06:22:32 PM
There was something similar last year that springs to mind, with extras on a film set, was that the same area of Belfast? Was the Omagh incident sectarian in nature? I just find it hard to believe, Rangers bar or no Rangers bar that grown men would beat the lumps out of a teenage girl over her religion!
Omagh one wasn't but still no different, probably worse if you think about it
They once killed a Protestant woman (believing mistakenly she was catholic).Ironic this should happen in the week that the ten year plan to dismantle peace Walls was announced.The role of unionist politicians and the Orange Order and their detestable flute bands in sustaining this vicious and irrational hatred needs to be examined.
Whereas if you wander into the Rangers Supporters Club in Sandy Row, you will need a number for O'Kanes or Healeys PDQ.
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 06:30:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2013, 06:13:50 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 11, 2013, 05:53:51 PM
Hanging and jumping on someones head will always have the same outcome in my opinion. Not sure how the lad ended up there but very lucky.
But I'd say if someone strays into most back street bars they could end up in bother. The Ballroom of Romance on the Glen Road a few years ago wouldn't have been the best of bars for locals to drink in nevermind strangers, the PD on the Andytown road, both of the Felon pubs the Bank bar at the bottom of the Falls, mental place.
The PD and the Felons are two republican social clubs. I don't think a prod would get much bother in either tbh.
+1. As Republicans Protestantism has nothing to fear from their idelogy and in fact is welcomed.
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 06:42:21 PM
I don't think this would happen on the Falls but I wouldn't be so sure about Ardoyne or the Strand.
The Falls is a large nationalist area which isn't ever under threat from prods and therefore would be less wary of them than the "surrounded areas" would be. They are a lot more vulnerable and have suffered many attacks from prods.
Yeah would agree with that.
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 06:42:21 PM
I don't think this would happen on the Falls but I wouldn't be so sure about Ardoyne or the Strand.
The Falls is a large nationalist area which isn't ever under threat from prods and therefore would be less wary of them than the "surrounded areas" would be. They are a lot more vulnerable and have suffered many attacks from prods.
Aye but beating up a young girl? As if a girl would ever pose a threat. I know loyalists have done it before but that was in the bad days. You'd think now they'd maybe cool the hatred a wee bit.
Quote from: qubdub on May 11, 2013, 05:24:46 PM
Maybe not the "politically correct" thing to say but sectarianism is a disease which seems much more prevalent within the unionist community than the nationalist one. I know that my own area, which is overwhelmingly republican, that the few Protestant families there are were always very well respected, right through the worst years.
QuoteI don't think this would happen on the Falls but I wouldn't be so sure about Ardoyne or the Strand.
There were the Australian tourists attacked from the Short Strand, for instance.
However there is no real symmetry here, whatever about specific examples, a "Prod" going into a GAA club or pub in your average nationalist area would be regarded with curiosity rather than hatred, especially a young woman.
And this is not accidental. There an underlying philosophy in nationalism (although often forgotten) that unionists must be persuaded and if someone comes along then they are presumed to be reaching out and not "bigoted". Of course there are half brained louts whose understanding of anything is negligible. But Unionism only has croppies lie down,
Actually had a couple of pints in that club
Some decent guys when I was there and they knew I was a taig
There are bad guys everywhere
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 09:20:55 PM
Quote from: naka on May 11, 2013, 09:14:24 PM
How did that come about?
Had a pint in the Welders on Dee street, didn't like it at all and was with fellow workers!! Worked on the Shankill for 3 years didn't feel safe but nothing ever happened. Had a few pints in a social club after a funeral in Rathcoole thought I was going to be next. This place is a shite hole sometimes, we claim to be the nicest people in the world but the things we have done to ourselves over the years is sick.
All because of where you happened to be born. Pure daft
That's not a fair comment. Several lads are up on charges as a result of that incident, handed in there passports, tagged and all that. They are awaiting trial currently.
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2013, 10:29:55 PM
That's not a fair comment. Several lads are up on charges as a result of that incident, handed in there passports, tagged and all that. They are awaiting trial currently.
Yes but in the past as in the case in Lurgan a few years ago it was always difficult (sectarian wise) to get people to talk
Lads are a bit quick here with the peeler bashing, I'm no fan of them but they did arrest the suspects of the killing in Omagh on new years very quickly. You could compare that with the, as of yet, unsolved murder of a Gardai in Louth who you would have to assume is being sheltered by a largely republican community.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2013, 10:35:32 PM
Yes but in the past as in the case in Lurgan a few years ago it was always difficult (sectarian wise) to get people to talk
Fair enough, but the Omagh case wasn't an example.
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 09:20:55 PM
Quote from: naka on May 11, 2013, 09:14:24 PM
How did that come about?
Joys of being a lawyer
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2013, 10:36:49 PM
I used the Omagh case as a example that people getting kicked to death isn't just a sectarian thing and when it happens in with no apparent reason then its actually worse, though any type of murder is as bad
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2013, 10:35:54 PM
Lads are a bit quick here with the peeler bashing, I'm no fan of them but they did arrest the suspects of the killing in Omagh on new years very quickly. You could compare that with the, as of yet, unsolved murder of a Gardai in Louth who you would have to assume is being sheltered by a largely republican community.
Without wanting to totally steer off topic, if there's evidence over the Gardai murder in Louth then those responsible should be arrested and charged. I don't see how you can assume those responsible are being 'sheltered' by a whole community?
Agreed.
'Tell them na'hin' is a badge of honour when it's your side but it is 'a disgrace' when it's themmuns.
Well said muppet
Not being sheltered by republicans fer fex sake - why did ya come out with that sihte!
People in the area are all pointing the finger at a couple of people who they are convinced did it,but the cops just don't have the evidence to do them.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 11, 2013, 11:34:27 PM
Not being sheltered by republicans fer fex sake - why did ya come out with that sihte!
People in the area are all pointing the finger at a couple of people who they are convinced did it,but the cops just don't have the evidence to do them.
Exactly. To say the "community" is sheltering anybody in relation to the murder is 100% wrong. If the Gardai had the evidence those responsible would surely be charged.
Quote from: hardstation on May 11, 2013, 11:37:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 11, 2013, 11:19:23 PM
Agreed.
'Tell them na'hin' is a badge of honour when it's your side but it is 'a disgrace' when it's themmuns.
Yeah and you get the same hypocrisy on all political levels.
This is where people learn it!
I can think of an
Oath of Silence or two which are the same thing.
Had a few pints in a social club after a funeral in Rathcoole thought I was going to be next.
You wern't in the Alpha were you?
I'm from Rathcoole and i would avoid that club, esp. at night, even these days.
Has this story been reported anywhere else other than the Irish News? It's not on BBC NI, UTV or Belfast Telegraph websites, which I'd expect it to be if this was a serious assault.
Quote from: dillinger on May 11, 2013, 11:55:11 PM
Had a few pints in a social club after a funeral in Rathcoole thought I was going to be next.
The Rathfern boys drink in there,stay clear
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 11, 2013, 11:56:58 PM
Has this story been reported anywhere else other than the Irish News? It's not on BBC NI, UTV or Belfast Telegraph websites, which I'd expect it to be if this was a serious assault.
Check the BBC website dickhead
4 of us walking near Whiteabbey late one night, 1 guy on his own (we guessed from nearby Rathcoole) shouts at us saying 'ye better not be southern taigs'. We bravely said nothing and kept walking.
Quote from: glens abu on May 11, 2013, 11:59:37 PM
Check the BBC website d**khead
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/northern_ireland/
Where?
The BBC would be all over it if it was a row on a GAA field.
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s480x480/942070_529926383721033_178195020_n.jpg)
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2013, 11:03:01 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 11, 2013, 10:36:49 PM
I used the Omagh case as a example that people getting kicked to death isn't just a sectarian thing and when it happens in with no apparent reason then its actually worse, though any type of murder is as bad
Sorry I thought you meant it in a "PSNI not doing there jobs" way.
I think yer all a shower of animals up there.
To start a sentence with I think, then end it with evidence that you clearly dont, is not very clever Laoislad
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-wL8qA_2srYw/T1Xlt9h5CKI/AAAAAAAAAeA/o4eAXke-vdQ/s320/sponge_bob_hold_on_im_searching_for_a_fuck_to_give.jpg)
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 12, 2013, 12:19:10 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s480x480/942070_529926383721033_178195020_n.jpg)
State of that place. f**k it but they love their flags.
There s a cultural thing there that will never go away. It is urban and 'working class'. Stupidity, arrogance, bigitory and insecurity will never get a good result. Especially when these types are used as muscle by mad clerics and neo-Carsons.
Quote from: moysider on May 12, 2013, 12:56:30 AM
There s a cultural thing there that will never go away. It is urban and 'working class'. Stupidity, arrogance, bigitory and insecurity will never get a good result. Especially when these types are used as muscle by mad clerics and neo-Carsons.
http://www.geograph.ie/photo/2957382
Unless I'm thinking of a totally different supporters club, that's it from the front.
You are thinking of a different club. The club in your pic was burned down a few years ago, the other club is off Donegall Avenue, on the way to Windsor Park.
btw, what was the friend doing while this was happening and, specifically, what happened to the victim?
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 12, 2013, 01:07:48 AM
You are thinking of a different club. The club in your pic was burned down a few years ago, the other club is off Donegall Avenue, on the way to Windsor Park.
Yep, thought that. I know the other one now
You could compare that with the, as of yet, unsolved murder of a Gardai in Louth who you would have to assume is being sheltered by a largely republican community.
That's the sort of utter shite you'd expect to read in the indo.
I did and it's not there, which is why I asked the question, dickhead.
Quote from: ranch on May 12, 2013, 01:02:04 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 12, 2013, 12:56:30 AM
http://www.geograph.ie/photo/2957382
Unless I'm thinking of a totally different supporters club, that's it from the front.
Drinking clubs - poor Margaret Wright was murdered by psychopaths from her own community after visiting one of those establishments. How come Belfast has so many drinking clubs ? what is wrong with pubs?
And there was the poor girl from Armagh, was she called Anne Smyth, who suffered a similar fate all because she went to Glentoran social club!!!
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 12, 2013, 01:25:10 AM
You could compare that with the, as of yet, unsolved murder of a Gardai in Louth who you would have to assume is being sheltered by a largely republican community.
That's the sort of utter shite you'd expect to read in the indo.
+1 the guys involved in this shooting are part of the 'underworld' that has developed around things like fuel laundering, fag smuggling, drugs and thieving. they have grown like a fungus in the space between what used to be paramilitary policing and proper policing. a few years back they'd have been too scared of getting nutted to engage in their nocturnal activies. now the police pick them up and they become unpaid informers free to square up even to former combatants who are powerless to do any thing about it. so they run wild in the belief that they are untouchable. they spend their time stealing your heating oil or your lawnmower or breaking into your home. their foray into credit union robbing is a step up and I'd say they were probably on drugs. they are despised by republicans and everyone in the area and hopefully they'll be caught asap
Aye was years ago wouldn't be in a hurry to go back, have been in the Cloughfern arms Offy a few times over the years when the local Offy is shut and they have a door that links it to the pub many a time the punters come through, having worked in the Yard (not Scotland :o) I met a few who knew me in there asking me in for a pint!! Sorry lads canny do it in a hurry. Another pub to stay out of
Quote from: lawnseed on May 12, 2013, 09:17:39 AM
+1 the guys involved in this shooting are part of the 'underworld' that has developed around things like fuel laundering, fag smuggling, drugs and thieving. they have grown like a fungus in the space between what used to be paramilitary policing and proper policing. a few years back they'd have been too scared of getting nutted to engage in their nocturnal activies. now the police pick them up and they become unpaid informers free to square up even to former combatants who are powerless to do any thing about it. so they run wild in the belief that they are untouchable. they spend their time stealing your heating oil or your lawnmower or breaking into your home. their foray into credit union robbing is a step up and I'd say they were probably on drugs. they are despised by republicans and everyone in the area and hopefully they'll be caught asap
This post says so much and yet so little.
It is as if you know all about these people, but yet we have no arrests.
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 12, 2013, 07:12:16 AM
I did and it's not there, which is why I asked the question, d**khead.
Come on Glens Abu, throw up the link from the BBC website!
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 10:37:21 AM
muppet, it is one thing to know who has done something and another to actually have evidence. I'm not saying that a lot of people know who did it but names have been bandied about but what are people going to do. It is only the members of the gang that can turn on one of the others and the reality is that will not happen. In the 'good old days' this would not have happened as the gang would not have existed or if they did they would have been controlled. There is a vacuum in many republican areas that is the inevitable fall out from the 'peace process' where lawlessness has developed. The people involved in the shooting of the guard are 'known' but did anyone see them pull the trigger?
Is this a recent attack of just getting reported by the paper now? I can't see anything about it on the BBC.
Horrendous that this sort of shit still happens.
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 10:37:21 AM
Don't often say this but lawnseed is bang on the money on this one.
The gang involved in the shooting of Garda Donohoe were allowed to get away with too much for it to be a coincidence. They had previously robbed the same credit union, getting away with around €60k. Two of them robbed a bookmaker in the car park of Dundalk racecourse after a race night, the bookmaker in question fought back and disarmed them, but they got away with the cash. He named one of them, but no charges were ever brought. They were caught red handed with a load of stolen plant in Ravensdale, oddly enough by the Garda who they later shot, although charges were brought, the case was thrown out in court because the book of evidence wasn't ready in time. I would be here all day if I were to list all the examples.
The cops on both sides of the border have carried out a number of searches recently where they have targeted other criminal enterprises. The raids on Slab Murphys premises and associated searches were part of the wider investigation into the murder of the Garda, despite what we are being told in the media. Only last week a man who had been renting a shed/yard to this gang lost 1.2 million cigarettes, 400kg of tobacco and a quantity of vodka when Gardai raided that same yard. These raids are happening regularly over the past number of weeks and aren't receiving a lot of media attention. Are the Gardai hoping that local criminals and former republicans will take this gang out?
I mentioned this before and it seems to be to be a good time to mention it again.
Why can we not push for cross-border policing?
You can dream up all of the laws you like around which to frame it, but for serious crimes like this the border is extremely convenient for these scumbags. Surely any Nationalist/Republican would prefer to see more cross-border ties and selling a clampdown on dissidents and breakaway/criminal groups might be possible in Stormont?
I am not blind to the obvious difficulties but real leadership requires brave decisions sometimes.
Sure the Brits were happy to cross the border whenever they thought they'd get away with it...
But yeah it's a good concept, I'd certainly support it, but it's one that I don't think the Unionists would ever agree to.
As would the Sindo, Indo, RTÉ etc... >:(
QuoteYou can dream up all of the laws you like around which to frame it, but for serious crimes like this the border is extremely convenient for these scumbags. Surely any Nationalist/Republican would prefer to see more cross-border ties and selling a clampdown on dissidents and breakaway/criminal groups might be possible in Stormont?
The border doesn't help, but this case is also about actually getting evidence, hearsay is not enough.
As for cooperation, sure some cannot stomach cooperation on the health front, never mind security, and not all of these would describe themselves as unionists.
Quote from: armaghniac on May 12, 2013, 02:17:08 PM
QuoteYou can dream up all of the laws you like around which to frame it, but for serious crimes like this the border is extremely convenient for these scumbags. Surely any Nationalist/Republican would prefer to see more cross-border ties and selling a clampdown on dissidents and breakaway/criminal groups might be possible in Stormont?
The border doesn't help, but this case is also about actually getting evidence, hearsay is not enough.
As for cooperation, sure some cannot stomach cooperation on the health front, never mind security, and not all of these would describe themselves as unionists.
This applies to every case. The border is a major hindrance and it would be difficult for Unionists to argue against that.
Unionists might not like it but they don't like the idea of a 32 county Ireland or a day to honour all those who fought for Ireland, and Adams, for example, has no problem publicly calling for those.
Realistically IMHO (I know I diverge) a 32 County Ireland will happen because it makes sense. It won't happen overnight and it won't happen by force or we will have the Troubles in reverse. It will happen incrementally and it will happen because issues like this are dealt with pragmatically, I hope.
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 01:40:57 PM
I mentioned this before and it seems to be to be a good time to mention it again.
You can dream up all of the laws you like around which to frame it, but for serious crimes like this the border is extremely convenient for these scumbags. Surely any Nationalist/Republican would prefer to see more cross-border ties and selling a clampdown on dissidents and breakaway/criminal groups might be possible in Stormont?
I am not blind to the obvious difficulties but real leadership requires brave decisions sometimes.
The simple solution is to gradually get rid of the border, but can anyone really police south Armagh and north Louth?
Despite what you hear from politicians and see on the news the Gardai are getting very little help from the PSNI on this case, if anything the PSNI are hindering the investigation. They won't do anything without a risk assessment which can take weeks and any evidence that has been obtained has been slow to be handed over. Too much red tape.
Breen and Buchanan would call it karma.
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 12, 2013, 02:35:54 PM
The simple solution is to gradually get rid of the border, but can anyone really police south Armagh and north Louth?
Despite what you hear from politicians and see on the news the Gardai are getting very little help from the PSNI on this case, if anything the PSNI are hindering the investigation. They won't do anything without a risk assessment which can take weeks and any evidence that has been obtained has been slow to be handed over. Too much red tape.
Breen and Buchanan would call it karma.
This would be what I suspected.
Quote from: qubdub on May 12, 2013, 01:52:06 PM
Sure the Brits were happy to cross the border whenever they thought they'd get away with it...
But yeah it's a good concept, I'd certainly support it, but it's one that I don't think the Unionists would ever agree to.
That worked both ways. I know a member of the Garda who told me they used to nip over the border in pursuit of crims. At times even met and talked to RUC patrols when doing so.
Quote from: dillinger on May 12, 2013, 11:47:10 PM
Quote from: qubdub on May 12, 2013, 01:52:06 PM
That worked both ways. I know a member of the Garda who told me they used to nip over the border in pursuit of crims. At times even met and talked to RUC patrols when doing so.
Cool, this should be easier than I thought then.
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 02:24:24 PM
The border is a major hindrance and it would be difficult for Unionists to argue against that.
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 02:24:24 PM
Realistically IMHO (I know I diverge) a 32 County Ireland will happen because it makes sense....and it will happen because issues like this are dealt with pragmatically, I hope.
(http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view3/3640431/jon-stewart-gospel-choir-o.gif)
Once spent a couple of hours drinking in the Highfield Rangers Supporters Club about 20 years ago, but the scariest bar I've ever walked into for the reaction from locals was in Moortown... and I'm from feckin Dungannon!!!!
Remember being in a bar in Monkstown over 30 years ago. The locals decided to have a sports quiz, and one of them came up with a boxing poser to which the answer was Rinty Monaghan. The answer wasnt forthcoming so he said "I'll give you a clue, he was a fenian!" Ever get the strange experience of crapping yourself and laughing simultaneously?
Quote from: T Fearon on May 13, 2013, 02:38:39 PM
Remember being in a bar in Monkstown over 30 years ago. The locals decided to have a sports quiz, and one of them came up with a boxing poser to which the answer was Rinty Monaghan. The answer wasnt forthcoming so he said "I'll give you a clue, he was a fenian!" Ever get the strange experience of crapping yourself and laughing simultaneously?
Yes, on the day I got married and when the kids were born ;)
Did this make the UTV or BBC news over the last few days?
I can't see much sign of it anywhere.
im assuming the main part of their culture is constant triumphalism, banging drums and blasting flutes for songs of victory over catholics. It is constantly drummed into them to hate us.
Whereas our definig cultural aspect is Gaelic games which in my opinion has long since moved on from any sectarian linkage if ever any. It is all about 100% sport.
A certain level of equlity has led the majority of nationalists to contentment where a minority of them see it as the dying embers of a union that no longer cares if the stay or go, and they feel threatened.
A disgrace that anyone should be battered because of their religion, what was the motive did she stand up and abuse people on their beliefs? i doubt it.
Quote from: snoopdog on May 13, 2013, 04:59:49 PM
im assuming the main part of their culture is constant triumphalism, banging drums and blasting flutes for songs of victory over catholics. It is constantly drummed into them to hate us.
Whereas our definig cultural aspect is Gaelic games which in my opinion has long since moved on from any sectarian linkage if ever any. It is all about 100% sport.
A certain level of equlity has led the majority of nationalists to contentment where a minority of them see it as the dying embers of a union that no longer cares if the stay or go, and they feel threatened.
A disgrace that anyone should be battered because of their religion, what was the motive did she stand up and abuse people on their beliefs? i doubt it.
Unfortunate timing for this post given events in Monaghan this weekend.
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 13, 2013, 04:37:22 PM
Did this make the UTV or BBC news over the last few days?
I can't see much sign of it anywhere.
Being covered on UTV Live now (6pm) apparently
Just covered on UTV live.Jaysus Sharon O'Neill could be doing with a good feed of spuds.
Rangers supporters club claiming in was a domestic dispute, non sectarian and they don't tolerate sectarianism! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
I spoke too soon.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/22516112
Pardon my ignorance but what is the difference between a pub/bar and a 'drinking club'?
"drinking club" has a whiff of the sinister about it,the illicit,and definitely unrefined patrons connotation.
Quote from: Don Johnson on May 13, 2013, 07:42:28 PM
Pardon my ignorance but what is the difference between a pub/bar and a 'drinking club'?
Club normally owned by members.