With the English National Anthem banned this is bubbling up nicely into an Old firm lite clash,live on tv on Saturday.To add further spice,the Courts have banned Jamie Bryson from attending too!
With both clubs having exclusively nationalist and loyalist supports respectively,why not tune in and see how little progress has been made since the GFA in 1998.
Jesus you're practically reveling in the prospect of sectarian violence.
You and Bryson are peas in a pod.
Quote from: trileacman on May 03, 2013, 11:15:31 PM
Jesus you're practically reveling in the prospect of sectarian violence.
You and Bryson are peas in a pod.
Hardly, Tone is allowed to attend should he so wish, Bryson is not, oh and he was also fishing and got himself a wee bite.
They will still be waving different flags in 50 years, even if N.I. joins up with the Republic.
Or if the Republic re-joins the UK :)
There's no history of violence between the fans of both clubs. Glentoran fans are more likely to start a riot against Portadown and they'd both attract Unionist/Loyalist supporters!
Any violence caused will be due to outside influences, like Bryson and his cohorts. T Fearon making an issue out of something that hasn't even happened, pathetic ::)
Glentoran is a shitty club, mired in sectarianism, feck them I hope Cliftonville hammer seven shades o shite outta them! :)
There will be no violence,due to effective (we hope) security measures.The point I'm trying to make is that it will basically and sadly be a sporting occasion laced with sectarianism,taunting,goading etc,all on live tv,sadly demonstrating how little progress has been made in that regard since 1998.
Quote from: dillinger on May 04, 2013, 12:00:50 AM
They will still be waving different flags in 50 years, even if N.I. joins up with the Republic.
Or if the Republic re-joins the UK :)
United States of Europe ones!
Which side is Catholic and which side is Protestant?
I don't know who to support.
Quote from: stew on May 04, 2013, 02:58:52 AM
Glentoran is a shitty club, mired in sectarianism, feck them I hope Cliftonville hammer seven shades o shite outta them! :)
I'm glad Cliftonville wont be mired in sectarianism ::) Have you ever been to a Cliftonville Blues match? do me a favour......
Thats some breeze, Clifftonville should be up a few points before the break
Quote from: hardstation on May 04, 2013, 03:09:12 PM
Yes! Sicken those b**tards throwing stuff on the pitch.
Nice rebound off the defender,happy days. Windsor park looks like some hole......
Terrible quality stuff. Any wonder there are a serious amount of empty seats on the cup final day! Load of sh1t.
Extra time.Oh dear,judging by her tweets Sports Minister Caral Ni Chuilin is not exactly impartial today!
COYG!
Looks like Caral will be disappointed
Best team winning this game, fair play the Glens
Shockingly poor standard.
Cliftonville players mustn't have stopped drinking since they won the league by the look of some of them.
Some specatacle.
More at a national league game.
On commentary yesterday,after Waterworth's second goal,Jackie Fullerton said"The last man to score twice in an Irish Cup Final was....Mark Mc Allister last year" Definite change of tone when he realised it was only last year instead of 1907 or something ;D
Quote from: orangeman on May 04, 2013, 06:39:03 PM
Some specatacle.
Aye and that was with reds fans crawling out from under every stone on the Antrim Rd ;D. Must have little to be at to sit through that.
Is the rumoured open top bus parade story for real btw??
Quote from: Last Man on May 05, 2013, 09:50:51 AM
Some specatacle.
Aye and that was with reds fans crawling out from under every stone on the Antrim Rd ;D. Must have little to be at to sit through that.
Whoops. I'm one of those who crawled out from the Antrim Road to see this match. Good day out, but disappointing result.
Plenty of humour about, huge Gerry Adams masks, Da from the Hole in the Wall gang, some boyo dressed up as the Pope, and UVF flags from the east Belfast wans. The pint in Cassidy's afterwards could have tastier, but you can't win them all. Plus Armagh hurlers were bate.
In summary, crowd participation was good but the fun was nowhere near as good as a GAA match
Quote from: Orior on May 05, 2013, 10:04:52 AM
Quote from: Last Man on May 05, 2013, 09:50:51 AM
Some specatacle.
Whoops. I'm one of those who crawled out from the Antrim Road to see this match. Good day out, but disappointing result.
Plenty of humour about, huge Gerry Adams masks, Da from the Hole in the Wall gang, some boyo dressed up as the Pope, and UVF flags from the east Belfast wans. The pint in Cassidy's afterwards could have tastier, but you can't win them all. Plus Armagh hurlers were bate.
In summary, crowd participation was good but the fun was nowhere near as good as a GAA match
So it didn't have the Old Firm feel about it? Tony will be very disappointed he was looking for blood and guts being spilled all over the place I Claudius style
How much was a ticket into the stand for to watch that ?
It's great to see how far we've come when you can fly tricolours in Windsor Park and not a word about it.
what would be the equilavent standard in England/Scotland? I'm think div 2/3 in Scotland.
Well Linfield were defeated by the Scottish Third Division Champions,2 nil,at Ibrox,a few weeks ago. :P
Hard to compare standards part time v full time.A few players yesterday (Boyce and both goalkeepers) could play at a higher level,but overall Irish League would be of general Scottish DIv 3 or Blue Square League in England standard.
In fairness, I'd say its closer to Scottish division 3. Some teams in the blue square premier would wipe the floor with the likes of Donegal Celtic and the likes.
I watch a fair bit of East Of Scotland League football, which is one level below SL3.
The top 3-4 teams would be lower to mid Irish League standard. Certainly better than most of the Irish 1st division.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2013, 01:45:35 PM
I'm glad Cliftonville wont be mired in sectarianism ::) Have you ever been to a Cliftonville Blues match? do me a favour......
Yes I have, Glentoran are worse than Lingfield ffs!
Quote from: stew on May 06, 2013, 04:15:39 PM
Always said I found the Glens and Crues fans worse than Linfield ones.
That's the problem with Irish League football,no club attracts cross community support and sectarian behaviour by fans attracts no sanctions from the authorities.
Quote from: T Fearon on May 06, 2013, 05:15:32 PM
That's the problem with Irish League football,no club attracts cross community support and sectarian behaviour by fans attracts no sanctions from the authorities.
It might sound a little biased but Newry always attracted a cross community support.
Quote from: ranch on May 08, 2013, 03:22:47 AM
It might sound a little biased but Newry always attracted a cross community support.
So much support that they went out of business ::)
Quote from: NAG1 on May 08, 2013, 09:11:51 AM
Hardly relevant, I'm talking about their ordinary fans not the actions of a couple of individuals at the top.
Quote from: stew on May 06, 2013, 04:15:39 PM
My point being that some Cliftonville fans are singing as many sectarian songs as the Blues, Glens, Crues. Like for like
As I said, no Irish League club with any significant following has genuine or substantial cross community following, it all tends to be one side or the other.
Quote from: tintin25 on May 05, 2013, 11:44:15 AM
what would be the equilavent standard in England/Scotland? I'm think div 2/3 in Scotland.
At a guess they would have regional leagues with a higher standard in England.
Have to say though that the money in Irish league is hefty for boys who are only part time.
Quote from: ranch on May 08, 2013, 10:24:40 AM
Hardly relevant, I'm talking about their ordinary fans not the actions of a couple of individuals at the top.
Totally relevant to the whole debate around IL soccer in that it is not sustainable.
Quote from: NAG1 on May 09, 2013, 04:26:36 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 08, 2013, 10:24:40 AM
Totally relevant to the whole debate around IL soccer in that it is not sustainable.
Totally irrelevant to a debate about cross community support.
Think what he means is cross community support in an average home gate of 53 isn't much to boast about.
Quote from: T Fearon on May 09, 2013, 06:29:57 PM
Think what he means is cross community support in an average home gate of 53 isn't much to boast about.
53? What club are you referring to here, Windmill Stars?