GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 04:38:30 AM

Title: Railway Cup Final to be played in Dallas
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 04:38:30 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mdHsS82sE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mdHsS82sE)

Excellent promotional video by Fionn McCumhails GAA club, Dallas on the Railway Cup final coming to Texas.  They're going to host it in the Cotton Bowl!
Title: Re: Railway Cup Final to be played in Dallas
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2013, 07:05:06 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 04:38:30 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mdHsS82sE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mdHsS82sE)

Excellent promotional video by Fionn McCumhails GAA club, Dallas on the Railway Cup final coming to Texas.  They're going to host it in the Cotton Bowl!

How much does it cost to rent out a stadium the size of the Cotton Bowl? It seems like an incredible waste of the GAA's money when you'd be lucky if a thousand people turn up.

I used to be behind the Railway Cup as a concept but the GAA are trying their damnedest to ensure it becomes such a waste of time and money that not even our childrens' children will want to revive it the next time. You're able to rent out a 92,100 capacity stadium in the Deep South of the United States but you can't even get television to cover the games when they're played here? No offense to this club but it seems very much like the left hand hasn't a clue what the right hand is doing when it comes to the Railway Cup. There's so many mixed signals the tournament is downright bipolar.

It's a good video but unless they plan on pouring money into advertisements and having a free gate then it sounds very much like a Gaelic Park style vanity project.

What's so wrong with obvious options, Boston, NY and SF? It's not like the GAA is so huge in those markets we can go on tour to other parts safe in the knowledge we've established the sport elsewhere in the country.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 07:38:46 AM
I'd reserve judgment until we see what kind of crowds do show up. From what I've seen so far this crew seems to have its sh!t together and they know what they're doing. They put together their proposal, gave it to the top brass when they were in New York, and got to host the event at a time when Liam O'Neil was just saying that we need more high profile games in the states for promotional purposes.  Even the North American Board didn't see that coming.

As for San Fran, NY etc. yeah, you'd get a thousand or so people to show up without trying too hard. The problem with cities like that is a lot of GAA people don't think outside the box* and only advertise the event to the established GAA community.  Clubs in cities with smaller Irish communities tend to market more to the general public outside the Irish community, which is a considerably bigger market.  The biggest hurling clubs in America at the minute are the ones with the fewest Irish people and the least connection to the traditional GAA way of doing things. There's a lesson there.

What this club is doing is a little riskier than the bird-in-hand of a guaranteed 1,000 crowd that you'd get in Boston, but the potential rewards are massive if they pull it off.  Might even be the saviour of the Railway Cup.

Personally I think they're going to advertise the living daylights out of this and rake in a big crowd, but like I said we'll wait and see before we decide if it's a waste of money or not.

*Apologies for the jargon cliché
Post by: Hardy on March 01, 2013, 10:14:11 AM
Fair play to Dallas. If the interprovincial series has a future, this may be it - an annual touring exhibition series. It seems a good fit:
- the players seem to like the interprovincial series, so they should like it even more if it's a kind of extended All-Stars series with an attractive trip as the prize.
- the fans here don't care about it, so sell it to fans abroad who won't know or care that it's not the flagship competition in the GAA calendar.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 10:55:35 AM
Exactly. If people in Ireland aren't going to appreciate it, maybe people elsewhere will.

We've had the All Stars in San Fran twice in the last six years and while it was nice to have them, the games themselves were a bit of an anti-climax. They lacked a competitive bite, so you don't actually see the game played at full intensity, which really defeats the purpose of a touring game. There wasn't even a side to cheer for.

Railway Cup on the other hand, that means something to the players and they're going to fight for it.
Post by: heffo on March 01, 2013, 11:00:43 AM
Martin Donnelly has put some amount of money into it over the years for very little return - great idea having it in Dallas if he can afford it.

Post by: Rossfan on March 01, 2013, 11:12:57 AM
Today is 1st March ..

not 1st April as I thought when I first saw the title of this thread.
Post by: Zulu on March 01, 2013, 11:13:23 AM
Great video and the only way forward for the RC.
Post by: Zulu on March 01, 2013, 03:50:32 PM
Nope, I've no problem with any single game/competition/tournament/code/age group/event, the problem I have is with the structure of the season. We need to cut, modify, restrict, expand different competitions so that the overall year works for the majority and makes sense to any reasoned person. We don't have that now and the RC is part of a nonsensical season. If it fits into a sensible season and serves a purpose other than as a kick around for a few lads then I'm all for it, if it doesn't they scrap it. Plenty of competitive, meaningful games for all players is what I want and there are no sacred cows that can't be binned in search of that.
Post by: fearbrags on March 01, 2013, 04:11:27 PM
Dallas is  a excellent city for hosting events
Ck this out
http://www.theirelandfunds.org/past-events/id.385/title.Inaugural-Dallas-Emerald-Ball-2013nts

The  Idea would be that the Railway cup would be held in conjunction with the North Texas Irish Festival which is held ever year and attracts  60,000 people
This Festival is held in the grounds  adjoining the Cotton Bowl
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 06:57:34 PM
Dunno why people are so sceptical about this.  High profile GAA games have been held outside of Ireland before. RC final and Ulster Hurling final were held in Boston on the same weekend about 7 years ago. There used to be the Whit at Wembley games in front of large crowds of ex-pats.
Post by: Puckoon on March 01, 2013, 07:22:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 01, 2013, 10:55:35 AM
Exactly. If people in Ireland aren't going to appreciate it, maybe people elsewhere will.

We've had the All Stars in San Fran twice in the last six years and while it was nice to have them, the games themselves were a bit of an anti-climax. They lacked a competitive bite, so you don't actually see the game played at full intensity, which really defeats the purpose of a touring game. There wasn't even a side to cheer for.

Railway Cup on the other hand, that means something to the players and they're going to fight for it.

Agree fully. I would try to go and watch the railway cup in a relatively close by American City, but I wouldn't waste the petrol money on a 4 hour drive to watch the All-star game again.
Post by: fearbrags on March 04, 2013, 05:12:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9R8fOrl0UM

Video up and running again after resolving a few issues
Post by: Orchardman on March 04, 2013, 05:52:04 PM
I havn't seen this announced anywhere else but on here, what's the story? The gaa said the railway cup was confirmed for another 3 years and the idea was to promote it more next year with the final hopefully back in croke park and profits going to crumlin again.

Was one of the 200 people at the final, great game, would prefer too see it as a proper game with big crowds at home rather than a junket. But if these dallas guys can get the crowds in then great stuff. Ulster will win anyway no matter where it is played:)

SUFTUM
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 04, 2013, 06:00:20 PM
Every time I see the word "junket" I wonder if the person using it has actually had to endure air travel lately.
Post by: Orchardman on March 04, 2013, 06:56:06 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 04, 2013, 06:00:20 PM
Every time I see the word "junket" I wonder if the person using it has actually had to endure air travel lately.

Is a return trip to oz 2 years ago good enough for you?

Anyway, more to the point, where has this been mentioned by the GAA, which i asked? The advert and this thread is saying it is a done deal
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 04, 2013, 10:57:35 PM
Now that you mention it, I can't seem to find a primary source. All I can find in the media is that it "could be" going to Dallas, so it looks like the official decision hasn't been made yet.  I heard through the grapevine that it's as near as damn it a done deal though.
Post by: fearbrags on May 20, 2013, 08:58:17 PM
Report of the great Seamus Darby seen at  Southfork Ranch this morning
Another report had him at  the Grassy Knoll Dealey Plaza, in the historic West End district of downtown Dallas yesterday
Post by: fearbrags on May 20, 2013, 09:16:02 PM
I guess it  is true
http://dallasgaa.com/?p=796
Post by: ballinaman on May 20, 2013, 10:06:00 PM
Documentary on New York GAA on Setanta now.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2013, 11:50:49 PM
I'm awful surprised that Jerrah Jones didn't make a move on this. He got the darndest football station right there in Dallas, home o dem cowboys. Let me tell ya he need fillin that thing to pay fer all dat money he gone spend on it. He got the biggest tellervisons sets hanging from the gad dang roof in there. You can even see tony romos tears even up in the nose bleeds.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 21, 2013, 01:36:10 AM
Fair play to Dallas for being able to get that - would love to see them come to Toronto - revive the Skydome games

Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 03:41:30 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 20, 2013, 11:50:49 PM
I'm awful surprised that Jerrah Jones didn't make a move on this. He got the darndest football station right there in Dallas, home o dem cowboys. Let me tell ya he need fillin that thing to pay fer all dat money he gone spend on it. He got the biggest tellervisons sets hanging from the gad dang roof in there. You can even see tony romos tears even up in the nose bleeds.

The last time he let someone else use the Billion Dollar Playpen some fecker ran over half a high school team with a cart.
Post by: T Fearon on May 21, 2013, 07:43:46 AM
Great idea,pity JR never lived to see it.Still I'm sure Southfork would be willing to sponsor it.
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2013, 07:47:44 AM
Dessie does Dallas
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2013, 10:15:18 AM
Quote from: fearbrags on May 20, 2013, 08:58:17 PM
Another report had him at  the Grassy Knoll Dealey Plaza, in the historic West End district of downtown Dallas yesterday

Pity he wasn't in the Book Depository on 22 November, 1963. Just the slightest touch on the elbow ...
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2013, 10:31:45 AM
Halftime entertainment by TR Dallas?
You'd almost have to bring him.
And the Brush.
What a double act!
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2013, 02:33:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 21, 2013, 10:15:18 AM
Quote from: fearbrags on May 20, 2013, 08:58:17 PM

Pity he wasn't in the Book Depository on 22 November, 1963. Just the slightest touch on the elbow ...
I have this as my post of the month. 
Post by: fearbrags on May 21, 2013, 02:36:40 PM
No Actually Half time show is  with the Chieftains and Jerry's Cheer Leaders ;)
Post by: fearbrags on May 22, 2013, 05:29:21 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dallas-in-line-to-host-interpros-29285951.html
Post by: Syferus on November 26, 2013, 10:00:36 PM
Plans shelved.

I did say it was a bit ridiculous ;)
Post by: fearbrags on November 27, 2013, 03:23:31 PM
As a fellow Rossie(a quieter one) but some one who knows a lot about this, (not ridiculous at all) but a great opportunity lost for  the  Gaa in general and especially the Railway Cup
Post by: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 04:24:25 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on November 27, 2013, 03:23:31 PM
As a fellow Rossie(a quieter one) but some one who knows a lot about this, (not ridiculous at all) but a great opportunity lost for  the  Gaa in general and especially the Railway Cup

When you can't get 500 people to turn up for a game in Ireland it was a little much to be thinking about renting out the Cotton Bowl (a huge stadium), Irish festival or not. It never struck me as part of any plan to grow or revive the Railway Cup. It was brave but it's hardly surprising it fell through.
Post by: Zulu on November 27, 2013, 04:53:28 PM
The only reason to keep the Railway cup would be as a promotional exhibition game abroad. Treat the players to a weekend/week away in a nice city which has a GAA scene, part of the deal is some players visit schools, do interviews with local media, attend the local clubs training sessions etc. That would be a win win. Playing it at home seems like a waste to me when it is an irrelevance at this stage.
Post by: fearbrags on November 27, 2013, 06:36:45 PM
Sy  ""renting out the Cotton Bowl'' was diffidently not issue
But then again you know it all ''have you being to the Cotton  bowl lately or at all "'
Post by: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 07:32:14 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on November 27, 2013, 06:36:45 PM
Sy  ""renting out the Cotton Bowl'' was diffidently not issue
But then again you know it all ''have you being to the Cotton  bowl lately or at all "'

I know plenty about college football, actually.

It was wildly over-reaching to try and use such a cavernous stadium as the venue. Even a successful event would have outwardly looked a failure.

Unless it was part of an overall and continuing plan to grow the GAAor the Railway Cup (it wasn't, it a blue sky idea) it was always going to be incredibly hard to pull off.
Post by: BennyCake on November 27, 2013, 08:41:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 04:24:25 PM

When you can't get 500 people to turn up for a game in Ireland it was a little much to be thinking about renting out the Cotton Bowl (a huge stadium), Irish festival or not. It never struck me as part of any plan to grow or revive the Railway Cup. It was brave but it's hardly surprising it fell through.

There was over 5,000 in last years final in Armagh, and about 4 or 5,000 in this years semi in the same venue. Regardless, even if one man and his dog only showed up, it shouldn't matter. If the players are keen to play it, then it should be retained.
Post by: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 09:09:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 27, 2013, 08:41:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 04:24:25 PM

There was over 5,000 in last years final in Armagh, and about 4 or 5,000 in this years semi in the same venue. Regardless, even if one man and his dog only showed up, it shouldn't matter. If the players are keen to play it, then it should be retained.

Didn't turn up in Pearse Park this year or countless other venues.

Don't agree that the players wanting it is enough reason to keep it either. There's value to the idea but it's been run into the ground at this point and it would take some serious investment of time and money to get it back on its feet again. Playing it in the middle of the league is pretty terrible timing too.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 27, 2013, 11:13:21 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 27, 2013, 04:53:28 PM
The only reason to keep the Railway cup would be as a promotional exhibition game abroad. Treat the players to a weekend/week away in a nice city which has a GAA scene, part of the deal is some players visit schools, do interviews with local media, attend the local clubs training sessions etc. That would be a win win. Playing it at home seems like a waste to me when it is an irrelevance at this stage.
I agree 100% with you.
But I'd go a step further and select the venues of the finals on a structured basis. Overseas clubs/centres would tender for the staging of the games and would be required to submit proposals in the same way as cities around the world bid to host the Olympic Games and other major sports' events.
As the selected hosts would pick up the tab for all expenses involved, the GAA would profit from the venture as it would be spared the hassle and cost of having the finals played at home and the players from all the provinces would have something worthwhile to compete for.
Everyone concerned would be happy with the outcome.
Post by: Rossfan on November 28, 2013, 10:58:48 AM
As a fellow Rossie........ a great opportunity lost for..........the Railway Cup

I'm afraid the Railway Cup's opportunities are gone with the oul' Steam trains.
Although there are a few enthusiasts trying to preserve both institutions.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2013, 11:45:54 AM
But why. Why is the Interprovincial series inherently flawed? What is the problem with it?
Post by: Rossfan on November 28, 2013, 02:00:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 28, 2013, 11:45:54 AM
Why is the Interprovincial series inherently flawed? What is the problem with it?
Not inherently flawed as such but outside Ollsther there is no identification of supporters with the Provincial team, no elation if they win , no depression if they lose..
No public interest in it.
GAA top brass not much interested either I suspect.
Players who can fit it in like to play in it as it's low pressure and "nice" football plus expenses/overnight etc.
In pre TV days it was the only chance a lot of people could get to see top players. Now they're on TV 8 or 9 months of the year.
Basically virtually no one in Connacht, Leinster or Munster gives 2 hoots about it.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 28, 2013, 02:01:33 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 27, 2013, 11:13:21 PM
I agree 100% with you.
But I'd go a step further and select the venues of the finals on a structured basis. Overseas clubs/centres would tender for the staging of the games and would be required to submit proposals in the same way as cities around the world bid to host the Olympic Games and other major sports' events.
As the selected hosts would pick up the tab for all expenses involved, the GAA would profit from the venture as it would be spared the hassle and cost of having the finals played at home and the players from all the provinces would have something worthwhile to compete for.

I was with you until here - why should the GAA here pay the guts of $250K to host a game like this?
Post by: Zulu on November 28, 2013, 02:59:02 PM
I agree, I wouldn't burden international units with such expense but they can, and maybe should, shoulder some of the cost. Some international GAA centres like the US and Asia might be able to fund it but Britain and certainly Europe would not so I don't think it would be a runner on those terms. However, the Railway Cup could be run in conjunction with a 'celebration of football' type event, a selection of the best club players could play an exhibition game beforehand and have underage games on at half time. Have a big dinner dance with local Irish notables, local GAA sponsors and the local GAA members in attendance.

Nobody in Ireland cares about the Railway Cup because they get the real thing, but internationally it could still be very big and worthwhile to the GAA. It shouldn't however, simply be a jolly boys outing for players, the GAA have to build it around the development of the GAA abroad. Is there a female version of the Railway Cup? If not, start one and play both finals in the same location.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 28, 2013, 03:32:35 PM
They had the Skydome games here in 1990 and 1991 on the St. Patricks Day weekend.

The first year had an attendance of over 30,000 - a hurling  exhibition game and a Tyrone vs Dublin national league game – both games were shown live on TV here and in Ireland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cNoUx9iWjQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJ2AtMW835w

The following year was about 20,000 (both football and hurling games were All-Star selections)
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 29, 2013, 03:35:00 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 28, 2013, 02:01:33 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 27, 2013, 11:13:21 PM
I agree 100% with you.

I was with you until here - why should the GAA here pay the guts of $250K to host a game like this?
The reality is that there is no other way to fund the trip.
I can't see the GAA picking up the tab as it would be far cheaper to have the game played at home.
I'd imagine that there would be change out of €10,000 if the game was played in, say, Portlaoise or Navan. Since the general public here has little or no interest in proceedings, HQ would be spending a huge amount for no practical return if it paid all or most of the expenses.
I accept that it could cost up to $250K to stage the final in Canada or somewhere on the east coast of the US but what if a club or amalgamation of units or whatever knew maybe two years in advance or more that their bid to stage the final had been accepted?
They would then have loads of time to fundraise and seek sponsorship and promote the event to the ex-pat and second generation Irish in the area. I'd see the games as the main attraction at an Irish jamboree weekend rather than a game of meaningful (to us at home) football/hurling.
I couldn't see an individual club in England being able to raise the money required by a county board would.  Besides, a trip to anywhere England or Europe won't cost anywhere near as much as one to Ontario or San Francisco or similar..
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 29, 2013, 05:03:46 PM
We should get whoever picked up the tab for the Super 11's hurling game at Notre Dame last month.
Post by: Zulu on November 29, 2013, 05:12:53 PM
QuoteI accept that it could cost up to $250K to stage the final in Canada or somewhere on the east coast of the US but what if a club or amalgamation of units or whatever knew maybe two years in advance or more that their bid to stage the final had been accepted?

Most clubs can barely raise the funds they need to compete in their own competitions let alone raising the necessary money for this. Remember many international clubs have to travel 5 or 6 hour round trips for games.

QuoteI couldn't see an individual club in England being able to raise the money required by a county board would.

Many county boards in Britain would have less money than your average acid taking hippy. There's not a hope most could fund this trip.

Remember this can be used as a promotional tool for the GAA abroad and as a reward for players. The sponsor for the Railway cup and the GAA should be more than capable of funding this to any location in Europe anyway. Certain places like the US and Asia may be able to contribute if it was to go there but nobody in Europe could and they wouldn't want it if they had to.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2013, 10:16:01 PM
The Skydome games are the best example I've ever seen of international GAA promotion. That business model is the one to emulate.