From GAA.ie
Conor Mortimer has quit the Mayo football panel on the eve of Sunday's Connacht football final against Sligo.
The veteran forward was left out of the side for their semi-final win over Leitrim and failed to win back his place for the decider with Enda Varley getting the nod at corner forward.
Mortimer overcame a career threatning injury just two seasons ago to return to the Mayo fold, but now looks set now to concentrate on his club football with Parnells in Dublin.
that's a shame, still a lot to offer mayo. tough decision to make i'm thinking.
Quote from: heffo on July 11, 2012, 08:17:41 PM
He had let it be known last week alright that he was quitting if he wasn't starting Sunday.
How/where did he do that?
He was in DCU a long time, i think he might have done 2 degree courses the same as Johnston. Mortimer was also in UUJ aswell after dcu. He was flying in the league, for the most of the part of it. Mayo obviously have some good competiton in the forwards if he cant make.
Alan Freeman dropped for sunday, he would make most county teams.
This is from the Mayo GAA website:
The Mayo G.A.A. County Board can confirm that due to personal reasons, Conor Mortimer has decided to leave the current Mayo Senior Football Panel. The Management, Players and Mayo County Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Conor Mortimer for his services this year to Mayo G.A.A. and indeed for his services throughout the years. Conor has been a great servant to Mayo football and his contributions will live long in the hearts in Mayo people. We would also like to state the the door is always open for any player who is showing the skills, commitment, ability, and passion for Mayo G.A.A. now and in the future.
pulling out of the panel 4 days before the Connacht final. Would you not just stay for a Connacht medal, would probably have got some game time.
He will regret it if Mayo win
If not back before Sunday, he'll be back soon enough.
Sad to see him go its all in the examiner tomorrow though so should be a good read. He is always colourful the mort.
Quote from: scoopmine on July 11, 2012, 10:19:38 PM
Sad to see him go its all in the examiner tomorrow though so should be a good read. He is always colourful the mort.
Be the hokey!
Quote from: snoopdog on July 11, 2012, 09:38:45 PM
pulling out of the panel 4 days before the Connacht final. Would you not just stay for a Connacht medal, would probably have got some game time.
It probably says more about his ambitions and pride that he would rather leave than stay a recieve a token medal as a sub (if Mayo should manage to win)! I think he has three 2004, 2006 and 2009.
Geezer in talks with the Mort as we speak.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2012, 10:24:15 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 11, 2012, 09:38:45 PM
It probably says more about his ambitions and pride that he would rather leave than stay a recieve a token medal as a sub (if Mayo should manage to win)! I think he has three 2004, 2006 and 2009.
Bollox. All it says I'd that his own vanity is more important than the team winning.
I think it needs to be said the lad has given more than most to the Mayo cause, years upon years of travelling up and down from Dublin for his county and the county's all-time record points scorer. Putting in that effort and not starting at his age and with his performances this year would have grated on any player. This wasn't the time to make your exit, though, and criticism of the manner of his departure is more than valid but it's hard to say he owes any Mayo fan an iota. He paid his dues a long time ago.
I know I'll be happier if the next time we play Mayo Mort isn't on the team sheet.
Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 10:49:24 PM
I think it needs to be said the lad has given more than most to the Mayo cause, years upon years of travelling up and down from Dublin for his county and the county's all-time record points scorer. Putting in that effort and not starting at his age and with his performances this year would have grated on any player. This wasn't the time to make oyur exit, though, and criticism of the manner of his departure is more than valid but it's hard to say he owes any Mayo fan an iota. He paid his dues a long time ago.
I know I'll be happier if the next time we play Mayo Mort isn't on the team sheet.
For once I agree with a Rossie !!
Mort will regret this come September when he sees the lads collecting their AI medals.
Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 08:50:40 AM
Mort will regret this come September when he sees the lads collecting their AI medals.
I didn't realise there were medals for artificial insemination
Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 10:49:24 PM
I think it needs to be said the lad has given more than most to the Mayo cause, years upon years of travelling up and down from Dublin for his county and the county's all-time record points scorer. Putting in that effort and not starting at his age and with his performances this year would have grated on any player. This wasn't the time to make your exit, though, and criticism of the manner of his departure is more than valid but it's hard to say he owes any Mayo fan an iota. He paid his dues a long time ago.
Bollocks, he has, he threw the jersey away before, dont forget that. This is all about the ego that is Conor Mortimer, the friends in the press etc.If he gave a shite about Mayo football, he wouldn't have done this the week of the provincial final. There are other players who are also making the sacrafices too, you'd swear Conor had to cycle from Dublin to Mayo, going by some of the posts. If he isn't willing to be a team player then good luck to him. Mayo football, the same as other counties, had to "hold" places for certain players down through the years, in case they jacked, i for one would rather have 20 - 25 lads who were willing to be part of a team, win and lose as a team, than have certain players, who for what ever reason think they have a "right" to start, prove yourself to the management week - in week- out and the chance will come. But when a 30 year man, throws the toys out of the pram, no matter what field they are in, well how much respect do they deserve? Mayo football is bigger than Conor Mortimer. Good Riddance.
I think he is totally wrong and it sends out a big statement to other players.
I'm sure everyone on here involved with any teams could regale tales of players leaving cause they aren't starting matches, when they are told why they aren't starting, they know best, they've done nothing, i've been told I'm better than Billy thats starting, etc etc etc.
First chance, toys out and off they go mouthing to whoever will listen about unfairly they've been treated. My answer to that is, the reason they aren't starting has been proven by the very fact of them walking away - they aren't a team player, its about them, not willing to fight for their place, no stomach for it when chips are down. It could also be that a better player is in front of them and they not willing to accept this and the fact that its a game of opinions.
What he has done before a final is very low. No reason he couldn't have stood out after the final without singing it from the roughtops a few days before it.
Once again the example is set from players at the higher levels and underage players will grow up seeing this and think its the norm to walk away if not starting and blame others. If every players had this attitude, we'd never have a squad. Thankfully alot of players know what it takes to make it and the sacrfices they have to make and decisions they have to accept along the way.
Poor form and no doubt he'll have plenty to say on twitter about it.
It's ok lads - the KDBTSC ( Kildare Disaffected But Talented County Sub Committee ) are already on the job again and an address in the Straffan is being worked on at the minute.
The next transfer should go through a lot more smoothly this time, given the lessons learnt last time.
Well said Bingo. Hate that. 'If im not starting then I quit.' If I was a manager I'd just say right, away on ye go. Terrible attitude for an 11 year old to have. Never mind a senior player, and an inter-county player, supposed to be the elite of our sport? Selfish and pathetic. Good riddance I'd say, if I was a Mayo man.
I'm no fan of the wee lad, but I think there's a lot of OTT stuff here. We keep telling each other it's an amateur game, nobody is forced to participate, etc. That being the case, the lad doesn't owe anything to anybody and is perfectly entitled to decide he's not going to commit his time if he's not getting the enjoyment (which is what it's all about, right?) in return.
Wild and whirling words about throwing the toys out of the pram, singing from the "roughtops" (sic), etc. are unwarranted. As far as I know, he's said nothing at all to the press. He's just told the manager he's not available any more. His business; nobody else's.
[Edit] I see there are suggestions he informed the press of his intentions in advance. Be that as it may, the substantive point stands.
The timing is poor but I dont think it will have any effect on Mayo's preparations for Sunday's final seeing as they were'nt going to start him. He's a fine individual player but Horan seems to operate a well organised group game plan which perhaps Mort doesnt fit in to. I dont know and for now nobody really knows the full story.
Quote from: seafoid on July 12, 2012, 09:18:19 AM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 08:50:40 AM
I didn't realise there were medals for artificial insemination
:) :) :)
Your sharp Seafoid!!
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2012, 10:45:39 AM
I'm no fan of the wee lad, but I think there's a lot of OTT stuff here. We keep telling each other it's an amateur game, nobody is forced to participate, etc. That being the case, the lad doesn't owe anything to anybody and is perfectly entitled to decide he's not going to commit his time if he's not getting the enjoyment (which is what it's all about, right?) in return.
Wild and whirling words about throwing the toys out of the pram, singing from the "roughtops" (sic), etc. are unwarranted. As far as I know, he's said nothing at all to the press. He's just told the manager he's not available any more. His business; nobody else's.
[Edit] I see there are suggestions he informed the press of his intentions in advance. Be that as it may, the substantive point stands.
I totally agree with this. Think people are getting a bit too carried away about the whole 'toys out of the pram' statements. County football nowadays needs a vast commitment. Training 6 nights a week. Always looking after yourself, if he has come to a time in his life where he thinks I have done that for long enough and want to enjoy a boy of club footie and maybe a bit more of a social life then let him be.
Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?
Quote from: Hashtag on July 12, 2012, 11:09:50 AM
I totally agree with this. Think people are getting a bit too carried away about the whole 'toys out of the pram' statements. County football nowadays needs a vast commitment. Training 6 nights a week. Always looking after yourself, if he has come to a time in his life where he thinks I have done that for long enough and want to enjoy a boy of club footie and maybe a bit more of a social life then let him be.
Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?
That's all correct, but completely irrelevant to this case.
All the hard work has already been done. All he has to do now is turn up on Sunday, and play his best if and when called upon. Then if he decided to call it quits, there'd be far less of a hoohaa.
I don't know the chap at all, but I've seen it said by Mayo lads plenty of times that his mentality is that its all about Conor. The timing of his decision seems contrived to get one last headline, but I bet he thought he'd get a lot more sympathy and a lot more people criticising the manager. The Mayo County Board have done really well in this regard, getting the statement out very quickly and ensuring there'd be no speculation of any row between player and manager.
Quote from: Hashtag on July 12, 2012, 11:09:50 AM
Needless Thread.
Why did I read it then?
Any player is entitled to leave a panel and I know players who have done so this year or not even let themselves go for it at start of the year. They have their reasons and thats fair enough and I'm sure that Mort would have his but it clears that in this case non-selection is his reason. Is that right a few days before a final?
Its more the timing that is wrong in this case plus if he was already telling people in media circles last weekend that he was gone if he was starting, if that was his attitude he could hardly be giving it 100%.
Hadn't he been injured as well since the league, as I'm sure someone said that he had played little football for Parnells including their championship match as he was injured.
(http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/c42.0.403.403/p403x403/534807_441320599222328_994067077_n.jpg)
(http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg404/scaled.php?server=404&filename=dontquitconor.jpg&res=landing)
Ara yeah Hardy but the week of a provincial final when you've just heard you haven't been picked?
Fair enough, Hardy, there's a lot of merit in what you say.
He certainly is entitled to pull out if he wants to and it's fair to say that he owes nothing to anybody he is leaving behind. I wish the present controversy would die down quickly as it only serves to distract his former teammates and manager as they go about their preparations and it lessens the chance of his possible return.
But in the absence of fact, speculation takes over and he should know this as well as you or I.
Now, I am sure you are at least as adept as I when it comes to deciphering the real meaning of a press statement.
What it says often bears no relation to what it really means.
Here are extracts from the release issued by the Mayo county board:
The Management, Players and Mayo County Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Conor Mortimer for his services this year to Mayo G.A.A. and indeed for his services throughout the years. Thanks, Conoreen and don't slam the door on your way out.
Conor has been a great servant to Mayo football and his contributions will live long in the hearts in Mayo people.Oh, bollox; even I couldn't come up with shite like that. Last time I heard "great servant to Mayo football" being used was when O'Mahony shafted Ciaran Mac. About as sincere as a handshake from Bertie Ahern.
We would also like to state the the door is always open for any player who is showing the skills, commitment, ability, and passion for Mayo G.A.A. now and in the future. Okay, grammar and syntax apart, the meaning is clear:
"Conoreen, you are always welcome to come back-- but only on our terms."
Mortimer's right to leave is absolute but his manner of doing so leaves a lot to be desired.
One of the most colourful characters to donn a GAA jersey
Conmort you will be missed :'(
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/trevormortimerma.jpg)
Quote from: Christmas Lights on July 12, 2012, 03:27:03 PM
Is that not Trevor?
Wrong one. Trevor wouldn t do something like that.
Is there any truth in the rumour that disillusioned county players are to be housed in one of the ghost estates in Kildare in an effort to revive the local economy and to bolster an assault on the All-Ireland over the next 3 years?
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 12, 2012, 04:38:39 PM
sums up this thread really..lots a fellas not knowin what
they're talkin about
Surely the issue here is the timing of this act. He could have kept his powder dry for a few days, allowed the final to pass by and then leave but instead his timing was all about "look at me". But then what would you expect from a lad that turns to the crowd for applause when he kicks a 20 meter free over the bar or writes shite about Michael Jackson his vest before a big match. Pity as he had plenty of ability.
Horan has obviously an issue with Conor because Mayo require scoring accurate forwards and Conor meets this. I don't understand after his scoring exploits this season and in the past he is not starting in a forward line which IMO is average enough. Is varley better? Doherty better? I don't think so. Dillon, Moran and OConnor along with Mortimer, freeman and McLaughlin r a decent set of forwards, don't no how horan sees leaving him of the team as positive. So there is obviously a personal difficulty between manager and player. This happens too often where managers have issue with players who are clearly good enough and are left of due to favouritism of others. It has happened in my own club and county too often and it helps no one. Start the best players and success will follow.
Mortimer now having a go at Mayo News journo Ed McGreal on twitter this evening. Throwing out personal insults. Humiliating himself at this stage. Sad to see.
Time for him to disappear into the Mayo history books after this weekend, we don't need this shite any more.
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 13, 2012, 12:09:13 AM
Horan has obviously an issue with Conor because Mayo require scoring accurate forwards and Conor meets this. I don't understand after his scoring exploits this season and in the past he is not starting in a forward line which IMO is average enough. Is varley better? Doherty better? I don't think so. Dillon, Moran and OConnor along with Mortimer, freeman and McLaughlin r a decent set of forwards, don't no how horan sees leaving him of the team as positive. So there is obviously a personal difficulty between manager and player. This happens too often where managers have issue with players who are clearly good enough and are left of due to favouritism of others. It has happened in my own club and county too often and it helps no one. Start the best players and success will follow.
Codswallop
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 13, 2012, 12:09:13 AM
I wouldn't see Mort as being significantly (if at all) better than Doc or Varley. Most of the Mayo corner forwards are much of a muchness at the moment - I suppose the difference with Conor is that you know what you'll get whereas the younger lads may well have more potential....
Sad about this. Never rated him as a top level footballer, But he was undoubtedly a top mayo footballer. Enjoyed watching him many times, another blonde bombshell gone from the game. Who next?mulligan?wexford?
Quote from: rrhf on July 13, 2012, 12:44:17 AM
Sad about this. Never rated him as a top level footballer, But he was undoubtedly a top mayo footballer. Enjoyed watching him many times, another blonde bombshell gone from the game. Who next?mulligan?wexford?
Why feel the need to condescend?
Cosmo I seen that tweet also 'tis all getting a bit embarrassing at this stage with his family getting involved and launching an attack on the extremely hard working and dedicated manager, James Horan.
Could the lad just not have done an interview explaining why he was departing the panel and there would have been no rumours and speculation but then again this is Conor Mortimer and he does love all the attention and could not bare the thought of all the talk in the build up to the Final was about the TEAM and not HIM.
I do respect the time and and dedication he has shown down through the years to Mayo football and I understand it can be stressful at times trying to balance everything.
The thing that enrages me is the reason why he left the panel. Who gives a f..k if you've been dropped from the panel Conor? If you're that angry about the decision you use it as motivation and show how much you want your place on the team on the training pitch. There are plenty of other lads who have been dropped this year and put the head down and got their place back and some who haven't succeed but are still trying. Also it wasn't as if Horan wouldn't explain to him why he wasn't being selected, he just wasn't fitting into the current game plan, which is to get goals. Also the timing of his departure is completely selfish and he shows no consideration for the team or management.
If it was due to work or traveling or whatever I would have been totally fine with it and understand.
As a supporter of Mayo football I feel complelely betrayed by Conor Mortimer.
I really hope the team use it as motivation for the final and show him what he is missing out on.
Any way this is the statement here in writing from the examiner-
Mortimer family: Horan destroyed Conor's confidence
By Terry Reilly
Friday, July 13, 2012
The family of former Mayo player Conor Mortimer released a stinging criticism of county manager James Horan last night.
The all-time leading scorer in Mayo history, just one game shy of his 100th appearance for the county, quit the team on Tuesday after not being named in the starting team for the Connacht final against Sligo.
James Horan told the Irish Examiner the door would always be open for players showing good club form, but all hopes of that would appear to be shattered following a family statement, which was read out on Midwest Radio's Sports Talkshop last night, accusing the manager of destroying their sibling's confidence.
"Conor lived for Mayo football all his life," the statement read.
"He began his inter-county career in the Ted Webb Competition and suffered numerous injuries over the years. Both of his brothers, Kenneth and Trevor, played for the county also and suffered injuries, like Conor over the years. They are 100% behind his decision.
"The family feel that Conor, Kenneth and Trevor owe nothing to Mayo football. Conor is a colourful character and made many friends and some enemies over the years while playing.
"Conor was out of football for 12 months last year with a knee injury. The manager James Horan never contacted him to see how he was coming along.
"When he returned to football, he was playing super football for his club Shrule/Glencorrib. James Horan was notified of a game he would be playing in, but did not attend.
"The family feel that Conor wasn't wanted in the team. He says that every time Conor was dropped James Horan told him he had a new plan, in that he had found two goal-scoring forwards. However, the Mortimer family feel that plan has not materialised.
"Conor was playing well in A v B games in training of late and two former Mayo managers saw him and can't understand why he wasn't picked.
"He scored 0-8 against Dublin in the league in Castlebar and was man of the match in that game, which was well deserved. He was dropped two weeks later for the Kerry game and only played for 10-15 minutes of it.
"He was dropped again from the starting 15 for the Leitrim game because of this plan referred to by the manager. He is currently fourth choice as a corner forward and it has destroyed his confidence.
"He wasn't happy with the way football was being played in the Mayo camp."
The family also accused Horan of ignoring their club and believed Conor had at least another three years left in him at inter-county level.
"When the previous manager was in charge, there were four Shrule/Glencorrib players on the panel. Now there are none.
"Mark Ronaldson was another example from last season – he was playing well and was dropped from the panel.
"In the last seven or eight Connacht finals that Mayo were involved in, Conor was top scorer in six of them. He is the all-time leading scorer in Mayo. He feels he has another three years of top-level football in him, but has made his decision and his family are behind him.
"Football was his life and he was never found wanting. He always made himself available to the media, but now all he wants is his privacy and integrity protected.
"His family are extremely happy with his achievements and are very proud of him and have always been 100% behind him and remain so."
The timing of the statement, two days before a Connacht final against Sligo, is likely to have massive repercussions within the county.
The fact that Conor's brothers Kenneth and Trevor — who both captained Mayo in the past — were attributed with the statement will add to the intrigue in the coming days.
it does seem like Horan just didn't fancy Mort, no matter how much he did. In a world of objectives it's hard to imagine Mort not starting for Mayo against Leitrim and Sligo. Horan is raw enough at the inter-county game and I wouldn't like to see him skip merrily down the Jim McGuiness road of paranoia.
this is getting embarrassing for Mortimer and his family at this stage.Any sympathy that Mort would have gotten from mayo people is now surely gone with this statement.
Quote from: maigheo on July 13, 2012, 02:52:04 AM
this is getting embarrassing for Mortimer and his family at this stage.Any sympathy that Mort would have gotten from mayo people is now surely gone with this statement.
I think Mayo people would want him kept quiet no matter what happened. Beyond that it's good to hear his side, even if it does Mayo no favours.
The comment about four Shrule players under O'Mahony is the worst of the lot. WTF like? Under the last management we were f**king useless.
Last year both Morts were on the panel, as was Dermot Geraghty. The two Morts are off the panel because of their own choosing. Indeed Conor himself chose to leave the club and play in Dublin. Mark Ronaldson and Dermot Geraghty have both been given plenty of chances over the years and have been shown to be good, but not good enough, for the Mayo team. Being honest about it, both are too small for Intercounty football.
So the anti Shrule idea is complete bullshit. Daddy Mort and family now need to pick up their toys, put them back in Conor's pram and then kindly f**k off.
Poorly advised statement. No need for it at all.
Quote from: moysider on July 13, 2012, 01:30:35 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 13, 2012, 12:44:17 AM
Why feel the need to condescend?
It reads much worse than I mean that.
"James Horan was notified of a game he would be playing in, but did not attend"
That seems like an odd statement to me. Would Jack O'Connor, Counihan or Gilroy hightail to the opposite side of the county upon being 'notified' a player was available and back from injury?
Well said CK. I don't know how they could bring in the previous f**king, (insert other expletive if you wish) regime into it.
And Shrule are dung and will be dung for quite a while yet methinks.
That's an embarrassing statement from "the family"
In the light of this (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=21895.msg1131832#msg1131832) and on mature reflection, including consideration of the likes of this type of carry-on
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/mort1.png)
I now retract this:
Sweet suffering f**k, how far up your own arse can you be stuck, but lets face it on the strength of that staement he had no hope, it's a bloody inherent trait! Fair dues to Horan, a proper manager who may get Mayo over the line as he has the right attitude, f**k the sunshine boys, hard work is how it's done. 1 minute in a pressure cooker with wee Conor, fcuk I'd love it!!!
he must feel very strongly for the Family to come out with a statement like that .
Mayo football was obviously a huge part of his life and its hit him very hard being squeezed out of for what look like reasons other than his own ability . IE different style of play, Horan looking for bulkier players etc
i don't think there is a conspiracy but i think dropping ronaldson is a huge Mistake as well. it means we have dropped our 2 most skillful players . does not bode well for attractive football.
Maybe a recall for Ronaldson would help lift suspicion
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 13, 2012, 10:18:03 AM
That's an embarrassing statement from "the family"
Since since when did families start releasing statements to the press about siblings being dropped?
I think it belongs in the What the F*** thread.
Based on that statement the apple didn't fall far from the tree.
Quote from: rosnarun on July 13, 2012, 10:50:02 AM
he must feel very strongly for the Family to come out with a statement like that .
Mayo football was obviously a huge part of his life and its hit him very hard being squeezed out of for what look like reasons other than his own ability . IE different style of play, Horan looking for bulkier players etc
i don't think there is a conspiracy but i think dropping ronaldson is a huge Mistake as well. it means we have dropped our 2 most skillful players . does not bode well for attractive football.
jeez rosnarun could you give it a rest.Are you a spokesman for the Mortimer family?Conor Mort left the panel of his own free will and to say the dropping of Ronaldson is a huge mistake is total rubbish.A managers job is to manage and a players job is to play-end of story
Horan doesn't want him. That much seems clear.
He's playing for Parnells.
Would that preclude a move to St. Kevin's in Kildare ?.
St. Kevin's fortunes are looking up.
Has the whole world gone mad?
Or is it just Mayo?
Quote from: maigheo on July 13, 2012, 12:07:00 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 13, 2012, 10:50:02 AM
jeez rosnarun could you give it a rest.Are you a spokesman for the Mortimer family?Conor Mort left the panel of his own free will and to say the dropping of Ronaldson is a huge mistake is total rubbish.A managers job is to manage and a players job is to play-end of story
Not only do you know nothing about county football Ros, you know nothing about club football either.
The statement about Shrue players... what a joke.
Shrule are at the bottom of their champiohsnip table beaten by Garymore a weakened Knockmore side.
Horan brought back Geraghty last year, and if he proved anything it was that he is not good enough any more.
Conroy never had it and Senior inter county level.
Ronaldson is simply too small. He is barely a 2 inches over 5ft.
Horan coaxed back Trevor and he had one of his best ever seasons.
The statement is pathetic really, and highly, highly embarrassing.
Rosnarun, are you actually serious, bringing Ronaldson back just so it looks as if Horan doesn't have a disliking towards Shrule.
Now how exactly would this benefit: 1)The team, 2)Ronaldson? Horan would only be proving the Mortimer family wrong when he doesn't need to because we all know that Shrule are not the team they once were. Also whats the point of bringing a lad into the squad if all hes going to do is make Horan's image look a bit better and not play football?
Conor tweeted this earlier today
''Mayo football is bigger than any player always has and always will be so can people just concentrate on getting behind the team for the game on Sunday .I have even as a player always been a huge supporter and will be again this weekend . #mayogaa ''
Load of crap if you ask me.
Petulant effort by the Mort, reminds me of Adrian Sweeney I think it was refusing to get on the bus for Donegal cos he wasn't in the first fifteen, fair play to McGuiness he put an end to all that nonsense. When all this dies down he's going to regret it, chances are if things weren't going well on Sunday he'd be thrown in, Horan like any other manager would soon forget any personal differences if the game was going away from him. It wasn't like he was dropped off the panel and it's 20 man game now, he'd have gotten his chance.
Quote from: Sam2011 on July 13, 2012, 12:59:39 PM
Conor tweeted this earlier today
''Mayo football is bigger than any player always has and always will be so can people just concentrate on getting behind the team for the game on Sunday .I have even as a player always been a huge supporter and will be again this weekend . #mayogaa ''
It is possible that he actually believes this. And he is just stupid in his actions and the timing of them.
Quote from: Mac2 on July 13, 2012, 01:42:20 PM
Petulant effort by the Mort, reminds me of Adrian Sweeney I think it was refusing to get on the bus for Donegal cos he wasn't in the first fifteen, fair play to McGuiness he put an end to all that nonsense. When all this dies down he's going to regret it, chances are if things weren't going well on Sunday he'd be thrown in, Horan like any other manager would soon forget any personal differences if the game was going away from him. It wasn't like he was dropped off the panel and it's 20 man game now, he'd have gotten his chance.
I dont buy into this personal differences craic, it sounds like Mort just wanted to be mollycoddled.
So, Horan didnt ring him when he was out for a year with his knee - so what?
He had just taken the job and had bigger fish to fry than worry about players that wouldn't even be involved last year.
He had a look at Mort when he was good and ready and brought him in.
Also Mort would have definitely have started the next game if he showed constancy of current form but he wasnt happy with that and instead of being patient he chose to be self centred.
'I just told my parents and sisters about the abuse I get on twitter and they will be releasing a statement on the matter today at 2pm' Colm Parkinson
;D ;D
Quote from: sheamy on July 13, 2012, 02:39:42 PM
'I just told my parents and sisters about the abuse I get on twitter and they will be releasing a statement on the matter today at 2pm' Colm Parkinson
;D ;D
Parkinson having a right go at him over this statement from the family. Seems to be some "issue" between them. Diva's of the GAA world at war.
Quote from: Bingo on July 13, 2012, 03:20:48 PM
Quote from: sheamy on July 13, 2012, 02:39:42 PM
;D ;D
Parkinson having a right go at him over this statement from the family. Seems to be some "issue" between them. Diva's of the GAA world at war.
He also said he is blocked by the Mort on twitter. Must be some history there.
If any of you out there has a video of the recent league final, would you please send a copy of it to the Mortimer family ASAP?
A look at it and especially at Conoreen's display might make them think carefully before they issue any more press statements.
Long before the end of that game, Cork had taken control and their defenders had the Mayo forwards well and truly shackled. Mortimer, our longest-serving player, a former All-Star and with the experience of playing in two AIs behind him was as clueless as any of the others.
He managed a consolation point from a free coming up to the end and that was that.
Before that he had a string of attempts to score points from play of the headless chicken variety. Sure, he was trying hard all through and hustled and harried like never before but it was obvious from early on that he would pose no danger to the Cork defence; to himself maybe or to any of his colleagues that he banged into as he ran around the place but no Cork defender was going to feel threatened by him.
After one particularly abject attempt to stab over a point, I found myself thinking that if I were his father, he'd get my size 12 up the arse as soon as I got my hands on him.
To be fair, he was no worse than most of the other Mayo forwards on view that day but he was definitely no better than any of the other contenders for a CF position.
I think James H has a good idea by now of his first choice for every position, bar nos. 13 and 15.
There's no obvious front runner here; it's a case of much of a muchness as you look through the list.
But all others have time on their side whereas Conoreen needed to be picked on current form if he got a starting place. Right now, he had no more to offer than Varley, Freeman, Doherty et al and no prospect of better things to come.
Maybe a fresh look at the league final would bring this point home to his family.
The great danger is that the present squabble will play into the hands of the magpies who are cocky enough as it is.
It will be some parting shot from the little hoor if he manages to gift our title to that shower! ;D
We'll that's it . The Meath that Mayo people loved and hated at the same time is well and truly dead. R.I.P. to our last link to the Neanderthals and proof of Darwin's evolution theory. This is the true price of the Celtic tiger and all those Dubs moving out to Ashbourne and Navan etc....... :'(
Read on.
Quote from: Hardy on July 13, 2012, 03:59:59 PM
Read on.
I did but the retraction still doesn't mask the obivious terminal symptoms first spotted by Proferssor McHugh on league Sunday a while back
Excellent piece...
http://adrugcalledsport.blogspot.ie/2012/07/ask-not-what-your-county-can-do-for-you.html
Quote from: ballinaman on July 13, 2012, 07:56:24 PM
Excellent piece...
http://adrugcalledsport.blogspot.ie/2012/07/ask-not-what-your-county-can-do-for-you.html
savage article, pretty much sums it up
i cant believe the vitrol toward Mortimer . its obvious some people just cant get over the white boots and dyed hair asn have been waiting of the opportunity to lash out at the guy 1st chance they got.
I hold no brief for mortimer no shrule but they do seem to encourage a type of skilful player that Horan see as having no role to play in modern football. which is a shame as any great team need artists and artisans.
MAyo lost 4 years to Omahonys political ambitions while many on the board roared him on only for his reign to come to an embarrassing end against sligo ( and the excruciating footnote not of Longford) lets hope Horan's similar mistakes will not cost him after 2 years .
Sligo may have their moments but your gong nowhere if your losing to teams like that.
Quote from: rosnarun on July 13, 2012, 11:05:44 PM
i cant believe the vitrol toward Mortimer . its obvious some people just cant get over the white boots and dyed hair asn have been waiting of the opportunity to lash out at the guy 1st chance they got.
I hold no brief for mortimer no shrule but they do seem to encourage a type of skilful player that Horan see as having no role to play in modern football. which is a shame as any great team need artists and artisans.
MAyo lost 4 years to Omahonys political ambitions while many on the board roared him on only for his reign to come to an embarrassing end against sligo ( and the excruciating footnote not of Longford) lets hope Horan's similar mistakes will not cost him after 2 years .
Sligo may have their moments but your gong nowhere if your losing to teams like that.
Really? Tyrone lost to Sligo in 2002 the following year they won their first All Ireland.
Poorly advised statement from Mort & Co
Conor Mortimer in shock sport switch
Aisling Crowe, 26 July 2012
In a sensational new twist to the Conor Mortimer saga, the former Mayo forward could soon be lining out for his country at Olympic handball.
Mortimer has been offered a chance to earn a place on the Irish Olympic Handball team for the European Championship qualifiers as part of a talent transfer programme launched by the Irish Olympic Handball Association (IOHA).
Lúcás Ó Ceallacháin general manager of the IOHA told the Irish Examiner that they had been in contact with the 30 year old in the wake of his decision to quit the Mayo panel just days before the Connacht final.
"What we actually launched this week is a talent transfer programme where we hope to attract athletes from other sports. Conor plays Gaelic football so he'd be a guy we would be interested in, but there are plenty of athletes from rugby to Gaelic games to basketball that could make the crossover."
The IOHA is trying to raise the standard of Olympic Handball in the country and has launched this initiative. As part of the talent transfer programme two places in the 16 man squad for the upcoming qualifiers against Belgium and Estonia have been reserved for recruits from other sports. Players interested in taking up the challenge will have to fight it out for the two spots.
The four game home and away qualifying campaign gets underway at the end of October.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9WX3EO_bNo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9WX3EO_bNo)
Has the family approved such a switch yet? ;)
Conor Mortimer owes Olympic Handball nothing.
Not about time we left the lad alone, the one thing annoys me about discussion board is the amount of slagging off, of players, is there any need for it, Seanie Johnston , now Mortimer, Clarke from down was getting it too last year. We forget its a amateur sport where nobody gets paid and try their hardest. All us so-called supporters hiding behind a computer screen feel free to insult players with no regard.In reality how many of us on here would cut it at inter county level? would we get 3 on the whole board?. I can see O`Sullivan and Cooper becoming the next players in the firing line. discussion boards, twitter and facebook let people know what idiots people are sometimes, we have to look no further than joey barton and Rio Ferdinand
Are we allowed say that someone had a bad game? Where is the line. What if the player in question openly courts the media to further their own agenda, does that change things. The worse stuff shouted at u12 matches than what's written on here.
That's more a comment about what's shouted at u12 matches and not what's said here, though.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 26, 2012, 10:11:40 PM
Not about time we left the lad alone, the one thing annoys me about discussion board is the amount of slagging off, of players, is there any need for it, Seanie Johnston , now Mortimer, Clarke from down was getting it too last year. We forget its a amateur sport where nobody gets paid and try their hardest. All us so-called supporters hiding behind a computer screen feel free to insult players with no regard.In reality how many of us on here would cut it at inter county level? would we get 3 on the whole board?. I can see O`Sullivan and Cooper becoming the next players in the firing line. discussion boards, twitter and facebook let people know what idiots people are sometimes, we have to look no further than joey barton and Rio Ferdinand
He brought it on himself by deliberately leaving 4 days before a provincial final, for maximum effect to cause upset to a whole squad of his piers. Deserves every criticism
Why dosent he have a go at his critics? He is entitled to.
ffs he's history, move on. All CM wants is an ongoing story. We have a team and CM isn't part of it. Roll on bank holiday weekend
He got engaged to another blonde last night.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2012, 01:20:02 PM
Himself? as it's clear it's the only person he loves...........
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2012, 01:20:02 PM
Really, how many blondes is he engaged to at this stage?
is this guy likely to return for qtr final???
Quote from: Aristo 60 on July 28, 2012, 10:31:08 PM
is this guy likely to return for qtr final???
Conor Mortimer has revealed that he would be willing to make a return to inter-county action with Mayo.
Mortimer, a 2006 All Star, stunned Mayo when he announced he was withdrawing from James Horan's squad on the eve of this year's Connacht final due to a lack of playing time.
However, the Parnells clubman has now claimed that he would be willing to turn out for the green and reds again.
"At the moment, I'm training and playing soccer practice games with Parnells twice a week and keeping a level of fitness up," he told The Irish Examiner.
"But playing with your county is always something you'd like to do and I'd never rule out playing with Mayo again. However, that's entirely a matter for the team management.
"You're only as old as you feel and as far as I'm concerned age would not be an issue in these circumstances."
"Playing with your county is always something you'd like to do and I'd never rule out playing with Mayo again" - Conor Mortimer"When you make a decision, you have to stick by it, and I've got on with my life over the last few months. Every player likes to play in an All-Ireland final, but I've been lucky to play in a few (2004 and 2006).
"I suppose the feeling I experienced this year was somewhat similar to a player being ruled out of the final through injury, or maybe the way some players feel when they reach the age of 40 and think that they should still be playing in an All-Ireland final," Mortimer added.
Why oh why does he get so much airtime and column inches
-he's back from injury
-he comes off the bench
-starts for Mayo
-gets dropped from Mayo
-fall outs with manager
-leaves the panel
-talks about coming back
Repeat.
BS
what do you mean 'repeat'
when was the last manager he fell out with
sure he had a disagreement with James horan but once in ten years is not a pattern
You must be one of those people for whom White boots + dyed hair + Tattoo = trouble maker
Ciarian Macdonald suffer the same shit for years
Quote from: rosnarun on November 15, 2012, 01:41:08 PM
what do you mean 'repeat'
when was the last manager he fell out with
sure he had a disagreement with James horan but once in ten years is not a pattern
You must be one of those people for whom White boots + dyed hair + Tattoo = trouble maker
Ciarian Macdonald suffer the same shit for years
the disagreement was all of his own making.
Jeez, he luvs the meedja...
Sound to me like he's had a change of attitude.
The talk after he pulled out of the squad from him & his family was just hard to fathom but sounds to me like he's watched Mayo progress well without him this year and know's he might not get many more chances to try to win a celtic cross medal.
Love him or hate him, he can be a talented footballer and is usually Mayo's top scorer. He probably wouldn't have liked the Donegal style of defence around him but I'd say he could have helped them had he been there.
As a neutral I think Mayo don't really have many good forwards and need all the good players they can get
I bet he'll be back in the fold next year.
Yip if only to keep alive the memory of dear Michael Jackson.
Horan claims Mortimer criticism hit Mayo hard
By Terry Reilly
Tuesday, January 08, 2013
James Horan has admitted his players were negatively affected by a statement from Conor Mortimer's family which criticised his handling of the team the week of last year's Connacht final.
Mortimer quit the panel the week before the game against Sligo and Mayo subsequently struggled but the experience drew them tighter together as a team.
"It was a shock. I thought we had dealt with the issue early in the week, but the family statement came out then and it was in my opinion unhelpful as regards our preparation.
"I tried to deal with the situation and let the players just play but it possibly did have an impact on the players. If you talk to the players they'll say that they became a stronger unit after that match, but lots of teams go through things like that and for us to dig out a result like that from such a hard Connacht final, against a very tough and physically tough Sligo team when we weren't playing well, was great. In a way it worked out very well for us and the team certainly kicked on.
"Conor made his decision in the week leading up to the game and that put pressure on the players and on specific players who play in a similar position to Conor and that was very unfair on them.
"It put pressure on the management team too. It was the talk of the country at the time. In no way did it help us prepare for the Connacht final, but guys dug deep and pulled out the win and we kicked on from there. Who knows what would have happened if we [had] lost that game!"
The commentary that followed made Horan wonder did he make the right call.
"When you see the papers and you hear what's being said of course things cross your mind but that's the nature of the game I'm in.
"You must never look back, that's crucial and we got stronger and stronger as a unit because of that game.
"It was absolutely crazy. We pride ourselves on putting our heads down, training hard, doing what we do and looking forward to performing. That's our mantra and that's the way it has always been. That's what we're about.
"There's no nonsense — the team that's picked is the team that plays and if you get a chance, take it. It's simple."
Safe to say Conor won't be getting a recall and rightly so, lads only out for themselves have no business in a team sport.
Terry Reilly is on a real Mayo roll this week
Still the only dealing Horan has had that's belied his inexperience. Mostly excellent work but he let a time bomb develop by not playing Mort at times when he clearly deserved to and would have given the team a better chance, he essentially strung him along.
Mort is Mort so if he wasn't fond of him or his attitude he should have dropped him after the league when Mayo had a big stretch of time before the Leitrim game and cause the minimal level of disruption to the panel.
Quote from: Syferus on January 09, 2013, 03:08:10 PM
Still the only dealing Horan has had that's belied his inexperience. Mostly excellent work but he let a time bomb develop by not playing Mort at times when he clearly deserved to and would have given the team a better chance, he essentially strung him along.
Mort is Mort so if he wasn't fond of him or his attitude he should have dropped him after the league when Mayo had a big stretch of time before the Leitrim game and cause the minimal level of disruption to the panel.
Ah, the Mortimer thingy is over! The first thing as Manager of any team is to please yourself, as you will never be able to please everybody else. Mortimer made his decision, it backfired and was unfortunate to have his family get involved with a statement, that was going to be the nail in his Mayo coffin. The only way Mortimer will get back is if Horan is sacked or quits. On a footnote i follow Mortimer on Twitter and he comes across as a decent skin and seems to have plenty of friends in the GAA.
Ah, the Mortimer saga is finished and it's time to move on. I'd agree with what FTB has to say. I used to have great time, and still have, for the little bugger; love him or hate him, you could rely on him to provide entertainment.
But I don't think Horan left him off for any reason other that he wasn't fitting in to the general game plan. Damned if I know what that was but it was plain that he was getting his preferred 15 together as the summer approached.
As the championship began, it was obvious that he still hadn't decided on his corner forward players.
Mort was in the running along with O'Connor, Freeman, Varley, Doherty and possibly one or two more. Horan was looking for lads who would fit into his game plan and I felt Conoreen was at a disadvantage here vis a vis the rest in the running.
He was in his late 20s and obviously his ability to adapt to the changed conditions was limited.
The others were all years younger and probably have their best years to come, while Mort had to make an immediate impact if he was to get a regular place. Now, he put in some mighty displays for the county and could never be faulted for his devotion but Horan wasn't prepared to re-jig his plans just to accommodate him.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 09, 2013, 08:23:08 PM
Ah, the Mortimer saga is finished and it's time to move on. I'd agree with what FTB has to say. I used to have great time, and still have, for the little bugger; love him or hate him, you could rely on him to provide entertainment.
But I don't think Horan left him off for any reason other that he wasn't fitting in to the general game plan. Damned if I know what that was but it was plain that he was getting his preferred 15 together as the summer approached.
As the championship began, it was obvious that he still hadn't decided on his corner forward players.
Mort was in the running along with O'Connor, Freeman, Varley, Doherty and possibly one or two more. Horan was looking for lads who would fit into his game plan and I felt Conoreen was at a disadvantage here vis a vis the rest in the running.
He was in his late 20s and obviously his ability to adapt to the changed conditions was limited.
The others were all years younger and probably have their best years to come, while Mort had to make an immediate impact if he was to get a regular place. Now, he put in some mighty displays for the county and could never be faulted for his devotion but Horan wasn't prepared to re-jig his plans just to accommodate him.
I think in modern football there is no place for the player that thinks its all about him. The only possible exception is where the player is off huge talent - I'm talking a Canavan, a Gooch etc (neither of which were anything but team players btw). I think this is what happened to Mortimor and I think his reaction to not being played justified the managers decision. Mayo will be better for it in the long run.
Quote from: Itchy on January 10, 2013, 10:58:08 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 09, 2013, 08:23:08 PM
I think in modern football there is no place for the player that thinks its all about him. The only possible exception is where the player is off huge talent - I'm talking a Canavan, a Gooch etc (neither of which were anything but team players btw). I think this is what happened to Mortimor and I think his reaction to not being played justified the managers decision. Mayo will be better for it in the long run.
Agree with that Itchy in the main but what probably annoyed Mort most was the selection of others before him. Not saying he was right or wrong but for example, he scored 0-8 against Dublin (5 frees) in league game, was dropped next day getting sub run out. In league semi scored 0-7 (4 frees), top point scorer again from play and only member of full forward line to score incl. subs. In final only scored 1 free but problems lay farther out the field. He came on and scored 0-2 (1 free) in championship opener v Leitrim being preferred to by Freeman who had not played a competitive game for Mayo since March.
Am not making excuses for him at all but just to show that he was in form after bursting a gut to get back to this level of football after his season out after knee surgery. The circus that followed his departure leaves the door firmly shut on any return during the Horan years, but maybe Horan should not go entirely blameless ??
Quote from: spuds on January 10, 2013, 03:07:55 PM
Agree with that Itchy in the main but what probably annoyed Mort most was the selection of others before him. Not saying he was right or wrong but for example, he scored 0-8 against Dublin (5 frees) in league game, was dropped next day getting sub run out. In league semi scored 0-7 (4 frees), top point scorer again from play and only member of full forward line to score incl. subs. In final only scored 1 free but problems lay farther out the field. He came on and scored 0-2 (1 free) in championship opener v Leitrim being preferred to by Freeman who had not played a competitive game for Mayo since March.
Am not making excuses for him at all but just to show that he was in form after bursting a gut to get back to this level of football after his season out after knee surgery. The circus that followed his departure leaves the door firmly shut on any return during the Horan years, but maybe Horan should not go entirely blameless ??
Horan is not blameless, but as a Manager you live and die by you're decisions. Looking at your summary, Mortimer was probably getting messed about. Remember this was Mortimers first season with Horan. So he would have missed out on the loyalty thing built up with players from the year before, Players who were into stage 2 of Horans ethics and strategies.
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 10, 2013, 03:30:10 PM
Horan is not blameless, but as a Manager you live and die by you're decisions. Looking at your summary, Mortimer was probably getting messed about. Remember this was Mortimers first season with Horan. So he would have missed out on the loyalty thing built up with players from the year before, Players who were into stage 2 of Horans ethics and strategies.
Loyalty and work ethic are important but should not preclude new/old blood being introduced. I have no inside knowledge of what happened but would hope that Horan had talked to Mort about him not starting etc. Not selecting a forward in form who has a decade done with Mayo will only lead one way. Coming into the new setup and being given the role of impact sub while not his preference could be more palatable if explained to him. He would of got game time against Down, Dublin and Donegal. We are still searching for finishers.
And how did the Mort react to not be picked? Went on twitter saying something along the lines of ... When you see who is being picked in front of you, all you can do is laugh. That kind of selfishness is poison for a team.
Quote from: RMDrive on January 10, 2013, 06:36:26 PM
And how did the Mort react to not be picked? Went on twitter saying something along the lines of ... When you see who is being picked in front of you, all you can do is laugh. That kind of selfishness is poison for a team.
Exactly. That's what I meant by saying his reaction to being dropped was the justification for doing it.
He did not say anything on twitter and he did not go running to the Media. He was unfortunate his family got involved. He made a bad (not thought out) decision. One I'm sure he regrets in hindsight.
Quote from: spuds on January 10, 2013, 03:45:51 PM
He would of got game time
This is getting beyond a joke.
Time to bring in bans Mods ;D ;D
Managers are there to get the best out of the players that are at their disposal. Horan decided that Mayo could/can do without our 2 best corner forwards in Mortimer and Kilcoyne. The hoof the high ball in to A. O'Shea in the All Ireland final only highlighted this. Another season on and we are still no better off. Apart from young lads like Conor O'Shea and Regan from Ballina we have nothing else to add to the forward division.
Not ringing lads that get injured has not helped Horans case among lads on the panel. It would appear that Horan has many fine qualities as a manager but like everyone else he is not perfect. Man management been one skill that could be improved upon. Looking forward to the GAA starting up again but no matter how organised and well coached Mayo might be this year, we will win nothing without a couple of lads that can kick the ball over the bar.
McLoughlin to full forward might be a good place to start.
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 10, 2013, 08:46:16 PM
He did not say anything on twitter and he did not go running to the Media. He was unfortunate his family got involved. He made a bad (not thought out) decision. One I'm sure he regrets in hindsight.
Uh, yes he did.
Quote from: RMDrive on January 10, 2013, 11:07:18 PM
Uh, yes he did.
Are you sure? Can't recall seeing it originally and checked earlier. Nothing there!
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 10, 2013, 11:10:51 PM
Uh, yes he did.
Are you sure? Can't recall seeing it originally and checked earlier. Nothing there!
I'd say he has probaly removed the tweet by now.
I gone through a sh1t load of articles at the time and none of them refer to tweets about fellow players.
Legend has it he let it be known amongst certain journalist acquaintances the weekend prior to team selection for Connacht final that if not selected to start he would walk. And he walked. IIRC he tweeted a comment that was soon taken down and tweeted then some line that nobody greater than the team.
Itchy, you are right his reaction speaks volumes but the team management could of played this a biteen cuter. Horan is doing a very good job, hope he can do everything possible to bring us on to the next step.
Quote from: spuds on January 11, 2013, 12:55:18 AM
Legend has it he let it be known amongst certain journalist acquaintances the weekend prior to team selection for Connacht final that if not selected to start he would walk. And he walked.
No legend about it. I knew the week before he was walking if not starting in that game.
I've met Mort on a few occasions. He is a decent skin, good craic and just wants to play football however he is a selfish little git without a shadow of a doubt. When the whole thing blew up last year I wasnt surprised at all. It's no coincience that Mayos fortunes have changed since the likes of Mort have been sidelined with a new regime under Horan. Mort is not a team player, never was. Weak managers accomodate these players, strong managers get rid of them.
Quote from: ck on January 11, 2013, 09:26:35 AM
I've met Mort on a few occasions. He is a decent skin, good craic and just wants to play football however he is a selfish little git without a shadow of a doubt. When the whole thing blew up last year I wasnt surprised at all. It's no coincience that Mayos fortunes have changed since the likes of Mort have been sidelined with a new regime under Horan. Mort is not a team player, never was. Weak managers accomodate these players, strong managers get rid of them.
And exceptional/brilliant managers get these type of players to adapt their ways (temporarily anyways) to play for the team.
Quote from: Canalman on January 11, 2013, 09:56:51 AM
And exceptional/brilliant managers get these type of players to adapt their ways (temporarily anyways) to play for the team.
So you think that it is possible to get the best out of
any troublesome player without having an effect on the rest of the team? That might be possible in some cases but not in all. Some times the manager has to make a call whether a player is more hassle than hes worth. I don't think making a strong call one way or the other is somehow a sign of a weak manager. Pandering to egos is more likely to piss of the rest of the team and personally i would not allow that to happen.
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 10, 2013, 11:10:51 PM
Uh, yes he did.
Yeah, I remember it from the time. At that stage he was still on the panel and I remember thinking what bad form it was from him.
Quote from: Canalman on January 11, 2013, 09:56:51 AM
Bulllshit solution
If he said something you can be sure it is on the Gaaboard everything he said was documented in great detail on the board at the time.
Met him a few times (i was usually jarred) and he was sound. Happy enough to chat with any of us which many players are not. He gets a harder time than he should although in fairness he does look like a fella who seeks attention.
He's already sketched himself into Mayo's All-time greats but I doubt many Mayo supporters will be able to bring themselves to admit that for a very long time, if ever.
Quote from: Syferus on January 11, 2013, 10:38:21 PM
He's already sketched himself into Mayo's All-time greats
Really?
I'm not as au fait with Mayo's all-time greats as I would be with our own but Mort wouldn't strike me as an all-time great for either county but I could be mistaken. In fact I doubt he would even make a second string all time great Galway team.
He's already sketched himself into Mayo's All-time greats but I doubt many Mayo supporters will be able to bring themselves to admit that for a very long time, if ever.
Ah, you're playing silly buggers there. As Dunphy would say a good player, but not a great player. A character in the game, that dare i say for youngsters 'made it cool to play Gaelic football'.
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 12, 2013, 09:48:20 AM
Ah, you're playing silly buggers there. As Dunphy would say a good player, but not a great player. A character in the game, that dare i say for youngsters 'made it cool to play Gaelic football'.
Yeah, I'd regard him as good but never great. He was very good at certain things but his range of skills was limited.
IMO, he deserved his All Star in 2006.
He had his best games when the likes of Ciaran Mac and Kevin O'Neill were about and he could latch onto their pinpoint passes; turn and shoot. He could indeed convert a lot of chances but he was also guilty of some wild shooting at times and was never the man to lay off a pass to a better placed colleague.
I'd never rate him as a team player, which seems to be a priority of James Horan.
I thought he got a rough time of it under O'Mahony where he was asked to play in roles that didn't suit him like the AIQ game against Tyrone in 2008.
Here, he was part of a two-man FF line and was being used as a target man when his marker was much taller and heavier.
His unhappiness with Horan's way of doing things began long before he walked out and his omission for the CF was the final straw.
I think it was a straightforward either or decision there. Either he adapted to Horan's way of doing things or Horan changed his tactical approach to accommodate Conoreen.
And Horan had the final say...
Quote from: ludermor on January 11, 2013, 04:08:01 PM
If he said something you can be sure it is on the Gaaboard everything he said was documented in great detail on the board at the time.
Ain't that the truth.
Definitely a good corner forward but to say he was one of mayo's all time greats is a bit OTT.
Good, fast skillful corner forward who could make it count against certain opposition. However when he got marked by the right guy or the ball coming in wasn't as good quality he couldn't win his own ball and that is key.
Good player but almost more of a "luxury" player.
Not a patch on either of his older brothers.
No one's saying he'd make an all-time first 15 but a county's record point scorer (by age 30, no less) will always be in the conversation when the discussion of Mayo greats crops up. Time will forget most of his indiscretions but Mayo supporters will have the longest memories. An uneasy placement to be sure, but a placement none the less.
His brothers have no baring on it either, everyone has to be judged on their own and not what their relatives did or didn't do.
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 12, 2013, 01:04:34 PM
Not a patch on either of his older brothers.
Trevor was a seriously underestimated player. Most Mayo fans would hold him in the highest regard.
Ken has 2 All-Stars which tells you all you need to know about him.
Excuse the chauvinism, but let me offer an external point of view. If they'd been Meathmen looking to make the county team, we'd honour Trevor; Conor? Never.
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2013, 04:57:03 PM
Excuse the chauvinism, but let me offer an external point of view. If they'd been Meathmen looking to make the county team, we'd honour Trevor; Conor? Never.
Mabye if he hada been a rossie ye would have
him up there.In Mayo.......hmm...naaah
The sadly ironic fact for you is we have a better record of scoring and free-taking forwards. Conor isn't exactly competing with a murderers' row of players, and certainly not in living memory.
Quote from: Syferus on January 12, 2013, 01:10:10 PM
No one's saying he'd make an all-time first 15 but a county's record point scorer (by age 30, no less) will always be in the conversation when the discussion of Mayo greats crops up. Time will forget most of his indiscretions but Mayo supporters will have the longest memories. An uneasy placement to be sure, but a placement none the less.
His brothers have no baring on it either, everyone has to be judged on their own and not what their relatives did or didn't do.
But this is the GAA where sibiling rivilary means ye get more spuds on the dinner table and a better girl than the less talented footballing brother.
Conor is very underestimated. He was mayos go to mam for years.
If ye needed scores, it was conor mortimor who got them; not ciaran mcdonald.
Trevor was one of the most underestimated players in mayo. I played against him when he was the star man at St.Jarlaths in early 90's. he never really got a fair crack at senior level.
Quote from: ck on January 13, 2013, 12:31:10 PM
Trevor was one of the most underestimated players in mayo. I played against him when he was the star man at St.Jarlaths in early 90's. he never really got a fair crack at senior level.
Ah now, are you being serious ? He played for Mayo anytime his hamstrings allowed. Was a guaranteed starter under all managers he played under, even last year when he quietly called time on his county career due to working in Africa he might not of been a starter but a valuable player to bring on. Always and ever gave his all.
Played in all the forward positions and for last few seasons excelled as a half back. Never got a fair crack at senior level ? Jesus, but there is some crap spouted here. Underestimated in Mayo ? Trevor always been highly respected by the Mayo support.
Quote from: spuds on January 13, 2013, 12:45:47 PM
Ah now, are you being serious ? He played for Mayo anytime his hamstrings allowed. Was a guaranteed starter under all managers he played under, even last year when he quietly called time on his county career due to working in Africa he might not of been a starter but a valuable player to bring on. Always and ever gave his all.
Played in all the forward positions and for last few seasons excelled as a half back. Never got a fair crack at senior level ? Jesus, but there is some crap spouted here. Underestimated in Mayo ? Trevor always been highly respected by the Mayo support.
When he came in first he was a regular. His later years whilst plagued by injury he was forgotten about on manys an occasion. By his own admission he lost interest. He could have been treated better IMO
Quote from: ck on January 13, 2013, 12:52:32 PM
Quote from: spuds on January 13, 2013, 12:45:47 PM
When he came in first he was a regular. His later years whilst plagued by injury he was forgotten about on manys an occasion. By his own admission he lost interest. He could have been treated better IMO
He was injured or forgotten ? Sounds like tabloid paper deduction to me. If he lost interest he wasn't badly treated. I know of no one who has anything but respect and good things to say about Trevor for his efforts and quiet dedication to Mayo over the years.
Quote from: theticklemister on January 12, 2013, 11:19:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 12, 2013, 01:10:10 PM
But this is the GAA where sibiling rivilary means ye get more spuds on the dinner table and a better girl than the less talented footballing brother.
Conor is very underestimated. He was mayos go to mam for years.
Bullshit
Are you Stevie fukin wonder
If mayo loomed for scores over the last ten years who would they have looked too??????
Quote from: theticklemister on January 13, 2013, 07:34:04 PM
If mayo loomed for scores over the last ten years who would they have looked too??????
Blind umpires.
Quote from: theticklemister on January 13, 2013, 07:34:04 PM
Eh?
Looked *
Damn touchscreen mobile phones!
Quotef mayo loomed for scores over the last ten years who would they have looked too???
coppers
Still got the itch. Is a return "doable" ?.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/
Quote from: orangeman on December 07, 2014, 12:57:37 PM
Still got the itch. Is a return "doable" ?.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/
Of course not. Non-story too, he was on Mid-West weeks ago saying the same.
it hink he could be a good addition to the squad but only as a backuo free taker if anything happened Cillian O connor.
maybe wil people are digging up dtats they might find out the % of Scores in football come from frees 30 - 40 %?
well worth carrying a player and a spare for any i reckon
Bring back the Mort.
Quote from: Jinxy on December 08, 2014, 12:16:02 PM
Bring back the Mort.
Anyone with talent able to edit this to Return of the Mort: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB1D9wWxd2w&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB1D9wWxd2w&spfreload=10)
Quote from: muppet on December 08, 2014, 12:31:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 08, 2014, 12:16:02 PM
Bring back the Mort.
Anyone with talent able to edit this to Return of the Mort: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB1D9wWxd2w&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uB1D9wWxd2w&spfreload=10)
Pretty much writes itself.
Return Of The Mort
Conor Mortimer
Album: Return Of The Mort
(dedicated to Micheal Jackson)
Oh, oo-o-oh, come on, ooh, yeah
Well I tried to tell you so (yes, I did)
But you didn't want to know, as I said the story goes
Horan, now I got the flow
'Cos I knew it from the start
Horan, when you broke my heart
That I had to come again, baby, I'm the real deal
(You lied to me) all those times I said I'd win you Sam
(You lied to me) yes, I tried, yes, I tried
(You lied to me) even though you know I'd die for Mayo
(You lied to me) yes, I cried, yes, I cried (for myself)
1-(Return of the Mort) it is
(Return of the Mort) come on
(Return of the Mort) oh my God
(You know that I'll be back) here I am
(Return of the Mort) once again
(Return of the Mort) pump up the world
(Return of the Mort) watch my locks flow
(You know that I'll be back) here I go
So I'm back up in the game
I get the scores, I got the bling
Letting all the people know
That I'm back to run the show
'Cos what you did, you know, was wrong
And all the nasty things you've done
So, Horan, listen carefully
While I sing my come-back song
2-(You lied to me) 'cos you said you''d never drop me
(You lied to me) but you did, but you do
(You lied to me) all these pains you said I'd never feel
(You lied to me) but I do, but I do, do, do
(Return of the Mort) here it is
(Return of the Mort) shamone
(Return of the Mort) don't you know
(Return of the Mort) in green and red
(Return of the Mort) I wrote a book
(Return of the Mort) gonna fly off the shelves
(You know that I'll be back) loadsamoney from Parnells
(rpt 2, 1)
(You know that I'll be back) I AM Mayo
(Return of the Mort) here it is
(Return of the Mort) shamone
(Return of the Mort) I'm as baaaad as Jacko
(Return of the Mort) in green and red
(Return of the Mort) I wrote a book
(Return of the Mort) gonna fly off the shelves
(You know that I'll be back) loadsamoney from Parnells
Brilliant!
Now can anyone record this and we will get it to to number one for Christmas?