Time to roll up the sleeves and prepare for this one. A little over a week away. (There is a Championship promotion evening this evening at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park between 7pm and 8pm where the park will be open for all and sundry to come in and view the training, get autographs etc.)
The form is with Longford but who knows what will happen on the day. If Longford kick as many wides this time as they did last year then an early exit is assured.
No word from the camp on injuries or how any recent challenge matches have gone. Maybe someone closer to home could fill in the gaps here.
Longford have a very poor record against Laois. I only recall one win, which was an O'Byrne Cup thrasing in the Stadium of Light in Dromard about 5 years ago. But that doesn't really count.
So - the ball is set rolling.
Up Longford. For some reason they come across as far more romantic than Laois.
Laois are not going well, relegated from division 1 after a handy win for Down over us, defeated in all challenge games since which included a 15+ point beating by Galway and defeat to Limerick.
It's common to play an béal bocht leading up to matches but it's true for Laois. Also Longford won their league and look in good form. 5/4 is great odds for them, especially in fortress Pearce Park.
Laois are playing Offaly in a challenge match in Mountmellick tonight.
Quote from: seafoid on May 11, 2012, 10:32:49 AM
Up Longford. For some reason they come across as far more romantic than Laois.
We've been called a lot of things, but never romantic. Thanks, I think.
Driving through Granard:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYC-cvoSpFU&feature=youtu.be (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYC-cvoSpFU&feature=youtu.be)
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 11, 2012, 01:14:25 PM
Laois are not going well, relegated from division 1 after a handy win for Down over us, defeated in all challenge games since which included a 15+ point beating by Galway and defeat to Limerick.
It's common to play an béal bocht leading up to matches but it's true for Laois. Also Longford won their league and look in good form. 5/4 is great odds for them, especially in fortress Pearce Park.
Can never read much into challenge games but what Galway scored vs Laois is eye opener for us. Although they got relegated Laois playing at higher level has to be worth something while Longford playing at home should be advantage.
If Sean McCormack continues his scoring form i'd expect a shock win for larries.
Quote from: ross4life on May 11, 2012, 03:56:51 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 11, 2012, 01:14:25 PM
Can never read much into challenge games but what Galway scored vs Laois is eye opener for us. Although they got relegated Laois playing at higher level has to be worth something while Longford playing at home should be advantage.
If Sean McCormack continues his scoring form i'd expect a shock win for larries.
nice win for Galway. Maybe we could lend Mayo a scoring forward.
Longford lost in a challenge to Leitrim last weekend in Ardagh...good few changes form team that beat Wexford, few fringe players given a run out. Saw Enda Williams lining out for Leitrim which was a bit strange, a transfer which didnt make too many headlines!
Hopefully David Barden will be back to add a bit of strength, experience and ball carrying around the middle, might not start but should feature at some point. More options off the bench than previous years, confidence must be as high as at any point in last number of years and have nothing to fear against Laois who arent goin well. We're due a result against them so plenty of reasons to be positive as game approaches!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 11, 2012, 02:53:56 PM
Driving through Granard:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYC-cvoSpFU&feature=youtu.be (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYC-cvoSpFU&feature=youtu.be)
A fine looking town.
But losing to Leitrim isn't ideal.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 11, 2012, 01:35:12 PM
Laois are playing Offaly in a challenge match in Mountmellick tonight.
Laois 0-16 Offaly 0-14
As far as I remember there was only one point between them last year?
I would say that since then Laois have gone backwards a small bit, but Longford have improved.
So a Longford win perhaps?
Hopefully - we are due a win over the Laois lads.
Signs are good going into this one ! ...probably would be one of the strongest Longford panels since the mid 80's , Liam Tierney / Mickey O Hara / Speedy McCormack / Dessie Barry / Philip Kiernan etc ....
Home advantage will be a considerable advantage , although Laois have been playing all season in Div 1 , while being relegated , this experience is bound to stand to them .
I expect a close one , our lads may shade it , with home advantage
Philip Kiernan!!
The Titanic was able to turn quicker! (Natural Mostrim reaction to an Ardah player)
Speedy was a class act. Would have made any inter county team at the time. His 'dummy' caught out most players.
Who was at that awful game v Dublin in 198* (5 perhaps). Leinster Q/F or perhaps S/F when we were 0-09 to 0-07 up 5 mins into the second half only to lose 4-15 to 0-09. I was there. Jesus, it was painful. That was the day Eamon Heery from the Dubs decided that Speedy's nads were fair game. tr**p.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2012, 04:33:12 PMWho was at that awful game v Dublin in 198* (5 perhaps). Leinster Q/F or perhaps S/F when we were 0-09 to 0-07 up 5 mins into the second half only to lose 4-15 to 0-09. I was there. Jesus, it was painful. That was the day Eamon Heery from the Dubs decided that Speedy's nads were fair game. tr**p.
Wasn't at it but that was the 88 Leinster semi
Thats funny....in the course of work i recently met Eamonn Hearys aunt. A lovely lady. I told her that very story and she said it din't surprise her at all!!!
Longford by 6.
1988 - my goodness. Have we been in a Leinster semi final since. I doubt it.
Amazing NL that you recall Heary's actions that day. I thought I was the only one.
If there were Oscars for epic defeats we'd be shoo-ins. Epic in the sense of margin, not in the sense of close but no cigar.
I saw the Indo had the best Longford team of the past 50 years last Mon. No Mulligans from Mullinalaghta! Frank McNamee in ahead of Speedy????? Brian Kavanagh in as full forward????? Apart from those no real complaints. My boyhood hero Jackie Devine in there as was my Mechanical Drawing teacher Sean Donnelly.
Laoislad - don't play the poor mouth. Ye'll prob leave with a close win under the belt. Can I buy you a choc-ice there? I should be there with Boots and I am sure Laureleye, North Longford, Qwerty and The Insider will be close by.
I'd prefer a tangle twister to a Choc Ice!!
First memory of a Longford match is that 88 semi final in Mullingar, a terrible hiding in the end!
Interesting piece on Off the ball this evening with Eugene McGee and Declan Rowley about the rise in Longford football in last 2 years, put a lot of it down to trainer and Glen being giving time to get to grips with set up in the county as a outsider as well as underage structures.
McGee summed out how important Sunday is as Longford have only 1 Leinster championship win in last 10 years...is that right? (Westmeath in Pearse Park in 07?)
Yep Qwerty - we've had a barren spell in Leinster. 1 win in 10 years is correct.
That Leinster semi was in Mullingar how times have changed. Brendan 'I have a dream' Hackett was in charge. The MC for the day announced about 10 minutes from the end that the gates were now open for the Longford supporters. I've never forgiven anyone from Westmeath since.
A decent team we had then but they were aging at the time. When they moved up the leagues, unlike this years team.
Sunday, we lost last year when we couldn't kick the ball over the bar, 9 points was an awful return.'Weather permitting and Pearse Park factor should see us hit 15 or thereabouts a tally that I can't see Laois making. Keep a clean sheet and another Croker day out against the yellow bellies on the June B/H. I'd really love to see this bunch of Laois players get beaten in Pearse Park.
Last year was Justin McNulty's first year in charge of Laois - decent league (promotion) and poor championship. Relegated in league this year but will have benefitted from Div 1 football - not division 1 standard yet but they are honest and hardworking.
Longford have been improving steadily over past 2 years and will obviously feel they're good enough to win this one. Dublin were hard pressed to come out of Pearse Park with a win some years ago and Mayo fell there last year - they have no reason to fear Laois.
On recent form Longford look better equipped up front but I think Laois have the power, particularly around the middle third, to dominate possession and if they can make use of it I am confident they will come out on top.
Sorry Laoislad - I know I was supposed to say Longford by 7/8 ;)
I'm not sure why people are predicting a Longford win - beating D3 opposition is no match for playing D1 football for the spring. Laois in a close (and poor) one (again).
Quote from: panc56 on May 15, 2012, 09:53:34 PM
That Leinster semi was in Mullingar how times have changed. Brendan 'I have a dream' Hackett was in charge. The MC for the day announced about 10 minutes from the end that the gates were now open for the Longford supporters. I've never forgiven anyone from Westmeath since.
A decent team we had then but they were aging at the time. When they moved up the leagues, unlike this years team.
Sunday, we lost last year when we couldn't kick the ball over the bar, 9 points was an awful return.'Weather permitting and Pearse Park factor should see us hit 15 or thereabouts a tally that I can't see Laois making. Keep a clean sheet and another Croker day out against the yellow bellies on the June B/H. I'd really love to see this bunch of Laois players get beaten in Pearse Park.
It'll be a close one and home advantage might just shade it.
Up Longford!
Ar aghaidh na Labhrásaí!
Longford are even getting long feature articles in the Irish Times.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0516/1224316192782.html
For the paper of record it's sad they got their results stats wrong. We beat Westmeath in 2007 in Leinster :P
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2012, 04:29:38 PM
For the paper of record it's sad they got their results stats wrong. We beat Westmeath in 2007 in Leinster :P
The arse fell out of the property advertising market and I think they cut a lot of journalist jobs as a result
but it was an interesting article anyway
Lets not forget our minors who play the Dubs in Parnell Park on Saturday at 2pm, they have had little luck with the draw the last couple of years, meeting Kildare in the 1st round last year coming through the qualifiers to meet Dublin in the q/f where they were narrowly beaten. This year their 1st round opponents were Meath who they should have beaten, Laois in the qualifier who they beat after playing most of the game with 14 and now the Dubs on Saturday. The winner of this game go forward to meet Kildare/Louth away in the semi final. This group of players have worked hard all year and are confident going into Saturday's game that they will achieve their goal of playing championship football in July
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 16, 2012, 09:05:56 AM
I'm not sure why people are predicting a Longford win - beating D3 opposition is no match for playing D1 football for the spring. Laois in a close (and poor) one (again).
Correction both are Div 2!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2012, 04:29:38 PM
Fecking wind.
Aye Croí
It was a good win but not one to gloat about. We were lucky in a second half revival that day.
At least all the Longford 'scores' went between the uprights ;)
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2012, 10:27:38 AM
At least all the Longford 'scores' went between the uprights ;)
Fecking umpires.
Was in Longford today,the hype up there about this game is unreal.I saw at least one fella* wearing a Longford hoodie.
Had to disguise my Laois accent to blend in with the locals in case someone thought I was on a spying mission,didn't realise the Paddy Doherty accent was so hard to pull off but it seemed to fool the villagers.
The excitement also reaching fever pitch in Edgeworthstown( well the bypass anyway) as I saw one car with a blue and yellow ropey in the windscreen.
This is gonna be massive.
*Might have been a woman was hard to tell due to the beard he/she sported.
Expected a front page apology in the Times today after that error...wmaybe they can save the write up for Monday!!
Lads ,
I believe the game isnt being shown on RTE , I cant imagine there being any other source to watch it from over here in London , so its Shannonside FM and txt's from auld Longfordian.
Shamrock you hardly want to setup a Skype call from your Smartphone for the duration of the game by any chance :)
Are both teams going to be full strength for this one or are there injuries coming in?
Longford are full strength I think. I see David Barden named on the starting XV - maybe that is a ruse, I dunno.
Longfordian - you will have to rely on The Flake but Newstalk is covering it live as well, I think.
See the rte preview today of both Leinster as a whole and the game on Sunday referred to us as The LARRIES ;D
Seem to be getting the nod in most of the previews but at least we're underdogs according to the bookies so thats something!
We'll be totally mainstream any time soon.
If we can get Marty Morrissey or Brian Carteeee referring to us as "Larries" then we've made it!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2012, 02:20:52 PM
Longford are full strength I think. I see David Barden named on the starting XV - maybe that is a ruse, I dunno.
Longfordian - you will have to rely on The Flake but Newstalk is covering it live as well, I think.
I'd stick with NewsTalk. Roscommon v Galway starts at 4 so you just might get most of the first half on Shannonside before the lisping gobshite with verbal diarrhoea takes over the joint. If you're lucky, you might find out the final score after the last anguished post-match interview with the woman who makes the tea in the Hyde.
This game has suffered from the GAA's backward idea of wanting less coverage on tv. If even an iota of sense had been shown this game would have been live at 2pm. Either way it's going to be a very busy day around the Shannon on Sunday, both games look like they could go down to the wire.
I apologise for maybe giving the impression we were any use! Awful first half effort!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 20, 2012, 04:11:02 PM
I apologise for maybe giving the impression we were any use! Awful first half effort!
The Choc Ices are nice though.
Game of two halves it seems. Gap down to a point.
Great score by Quinn to level it
Seán McCormack puts Longford ahead. Only 2 points from Laois in the second half.
Brian Kavanagh kicks the Larries two clear. Laois racking up the wides. Almost a mirror image of last year's encounter. 3 mins injury time.
Goal for Laois ruled out for a square ball! Clancy in the square from a free.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 20, 2012, 04:58:57 PM
Brian Kavanagh kicks the Larries two clear. Laois racking up the wides. Almost a mirror image of last year's encounter. 3 mins injury time.
The Larries? Glen Ryan will be knighted.
One point in it.
Well done to the Larries.
44 years is a long long time!
There won't be a cow milked in Shamrock Shores house tonight.
Great second half comeback from Longford. Laois had enough chances to see it out but were very wasteful. Glenn Ryan still a thorn in their side after all these years!
Up the Larries. Delighted for Glenn, wonder does he know Towers were beaten?
Fair play to them. Good win. Apart from the obvious where do Laois go from the here.
o ye of little faith. C
ome on the larries for a repeat of the 68 summer of love.
Can I apologise for my earlier apology? More anon
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 20, 2012, 05:20:06 PM
Can I apologise for my earlier apology? More anon
Enjoy the Sunday Game and savour the papers tomorrow morning.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 20, 2012, 04:59:56 PM
Poetic justice for getting shafted in Tullamore three years ago.
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 05:06:40 PM
o ye of little faith. C
ome on the larries for a repeat of the 68 summer of love.
Cut out the romance stuff. :)
I said before earlier in the year, Longford are defo a decent team and have established themselves among the mid-table teams. Good win for them, onwards and upwards.
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 20, 2012, 05:57:16 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 20, 2012, 04:59:56 PM
Poetic justice for getting shafted in Tullamore three years ago.
Never forgive. Never forget.
Congrats Longford. I'm glad I was there for the simple reason that it proves Laois are going nowhere with current system so I'm more disillusioned than disappointed. We had 3 midfielders in forward line plus Billy Sheehan - in hindsight Tierney, Cahillane and Conway should have started - all genuine forwards.
At half time all I could see was curtains. 0-09 to 0-03 down and playing awful. No midfield and no penetration bar one or two Paul Barden moments that were close but not close enough. Granted there was a breeze that we would have in the second half but nobody around me thought that this would be of any advantage.
Longford came out with pure hunger in the second half. Someone likened it to us playing league football in the first and championship in the second. We hustled and harried and put it up to Laois. Laois picked up 5 or so yellow cards in the second half, Longford picked up none. Longford scored 1-07, Laois scored 0-03. Possession in the second half was prob Laois 60% Longford 40%.
It was a great relief to win - just to get a Leinster win and a win over Laois finally after 44 years. Laois will have a fair few questions after this one. Some of their wides in the second half were shocking.
Crowd were in good spirits. Pearse Park looked well.
Ref was ok - no complaints. was right to disallow Laois 'goal'. But I would say that, wouldn't I.
Wexford now in Croke Park in two weeks. Can't wait.
Wow, how many times over the last 20 years would a Longford team down by 6 points at half time been hammered by another 10 points in the 2nd half. The times they are changing! The team on show yesterday, expect to win big games now ; thats a huge difference. How important it is to have a united squad, when you see Kelly & McCormack coming in knowing exactly what they need to do.
If they can get another victory against Wexford then they really are going places. Wexford though are a better team than Laois, especially in the championship , they have been next after Dublin & Kildare in the province for a couple of years , so its a step up from Laois. That said I think Croke Park really suits our boys. One thing to work on for the next day is our kickouts - the clearly need to start working on this area vefore the next day.
Get Up The Larries!
Agree Panc56. I've seen Longford fold so many times - too many to remember. That Leinster 88 semi final is a case in point. So much so that the then Longford manager, Brendan Hackett (who went on to manage Offaly), decided to write a book about it. Not on the game, per se, but on the mental attitude, rabbit in headlights etc that he saw that day.
If this was a Longford team of 10-15 years ago then the final score yesterday would have been closer to the 1994 one I recall with horrid clarity (Laois 4-15 Longford 2-04, with Longford's two goals coming in the last 5 minutes as Laois were warming down, drinking the tay, having a smoke etc)
A Longford v Louth Leinster semi final?
It was a bit reminiscent of the league match against Roscommon, where we looked dead and buried for the first 45 minutes, only to claw our way back and overtake them at the end.
Having said that, Laois have no-one to blame but themselves. If their forwards had been on the grassy knoll in Dallas, JFK would be alive and well today and still riding Marilyn Monroe.
I can't see Louth beating Dublin , which is just aswell as we have such a horrible record against them. Mind you we have a horrible record against most teams in Leinster but I'd love if these players got the opportunity to play the best in Croke Park in a Lenister semi-final with the Hill in full song, intimidating, but I dont think these players would get too bothered about it.Beating Wexford will be a huge achievement. They have been a serious championship outfit these last few years.
You'd always be wary playing a team a third time in a couple months but if you can win two you can win three. Brilliant to see Longford making strides.
Think the fact that this was the first championship match in years where there was a level of expectation on the team to perform
and win really effected the first half showing. Crowd was very disheartened and I honestly couldnt see where or how we were going to get back into it, even though the annoying part was that Laois were not a good side....some terrible wides etc.
But the early goal was obviously vital and it must be said we managed to cut through the middle a few times to create shot in front of the posts.
Some show by Micky Quinn, a huge drivng influence and a leader, the equaliser was a wonderful score confidence flowed back into the side as second half wore on, for example, Kavanaghs score from the right to go two up was a sign that belief was there.
Absolutely thrilled with the victory, as Shamrock said it goes some way to making up for some hidings down the year, remember being half way home from Portlaosie in 94 before game was over! Looking at Croke Park today from the office brought a smile to my face every time knowing we'll be in with a great shout of beating Wexford but for the time being want to savor the comeback and the victory!! ;D