Should be interesting
It won't be.
I can guarantee that right now.
I'd imagine this. Gamewill be used to give out some game time
If Mickey decides to give out some game-time to 15 Omagh pensioners it won't make any difference.
We're that bad.
Oh god. I can't see us coming close.
I had a flicker of optimism going into the game against Kildare but the reality of the state of things are still the same way as last year is now staring us in the face.
The final game against Louth might be interesting but this one certainly wont be.
How many teams get relegated?
handy win coming here for tyrone. Meath are poor.
Damage limitation exercise...
Quote from: Jinxy on March 18, 2012, 10:58:04 PM
If Mickey decides to give out some game-time to 15 Omagh pensioners it won't make any difference.
We're that bad.
Here's a special picture for Hardy
http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/meath-manager-seamus-mcenaney-f268
Penrose is injured and won't be available for this match.
The Mead lads are fair playing the cute hoor role well here and have made it a nothing to lose game on here anyway.
I'm not sure of my facts but the only time I can remember beating the Royals is in the league up in Omagh, a year or two up after the 1996 stampede affair. McConnell got a rapturous welcome.
Then of course they beat us again 10 years later in the AI 1/4 final when Geraghty scored a lucky aul goal. :o
I'd not be surprised if they beat us again as they fight tooth and nail for survival like they did last year.
Get yer tank on Tyrone. Meath were woeful against Derry!
Can't see Mickey tinkering too much. 3 games left before the clash with Armagh and with lads snapping at the heels of the current starting side there should be no complacency.
I agree. Mickey has got back that winning every game mentality. I usually Watch the video interviews on teamtalkmag.com and it sounds like the attitude in the camp is excellent with competition for places intense. It's certainly interesting how well we've done but I suppose we are in Div 2. I'm certainly looking forward to the summer.
Meath need the points,Tyrone don't.Throw in our terrible record against them and i think the Royals will take the points.
Quote from: Club Rossa on March 20, 2012, 10:53:53 AM
Meath need the points,Tyrone don't.Throw in our terrible record against them and i think the Royals will take the points.
Don't you dare try talk us up. Ye crafty hoors.
We've claimed the underdog tag and got it branded on our hides. We're woeful. We mightn't as well show up.
i cant ever remember tyrone beating meath
Allianz Football League Division 1 & 2 finals are pencilled in for the 29th April.
The calendar also has 15th April for the league semi-finals - what's that for? Hurling?
Division 1 Semi Finals
Yeah Mickey needs to keep players feet on the ground and nothing does that better than a defeat to Meade. He won't want lads getting too full of themselves but will want to beat Monaghan in the next round. He'll probably give those lads in the last chance saloon one more chance. I'd say he still has a lot of questions about several positions including MF. I wonder will the FF line come summer include 2 O'Neills, Half forward line with 2 Donnellys, MF 2 Cavanaghs, HB 2 Hartes ;) and full back 2 McMahons? Div 1 has semis this year Shane.
What kinda of crap are you talking. Mickey will want to win every game that comes Tyrone's way if your thinking anything else your a bigger fool than i thought.
Mickey will stick to the team thats winning and playing well. Davy Harte is so far down the list now, mccarron & petey harte will of course be in that half back line. Been very impressive, hard to know with midfield so competitive.
We're at our lowest ebb so if you do win, it doesn't really count.
Its funny how Meath and Armagh supporters sound the same at this moment in time.
Meath are some team and it will take an all out performance from Tyrone to beat them and as for Armagh, sure look it, didn't they beat the last two all ireland champions without the help from the rangers, so come June we know the south armagh ambush is already set up.
Poor Tyrone they won't know what hit them, after all they are only playing in the second division.
Quote from: ballymac on March 20, 2012, 03:57:08 PM
Its funny how Meath and Armagh supporters sound the same at this moment in time.
Meath are some team and it will take an all out performance from Tyrone to beat them and as for Armagh, sure look it, didn't they beat the last two all ireland champions without the help from the rangers, so come June we know the south armagh ambush is already set up.
Poor Tyrone they won't know what hit them, after all they are only playing in the second division.
When did Armagh beat the last 2 All Ireland winners? They were hammered by Dublin and drew with Cork
Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2012, 08:14:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 18, 2012, 10:58:04 PM
We're that bad.
Here's a special picture for Hardy
http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/meath-manager-seamus-mcenaney-f268 (http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/meath-manager-seamus-mcenaney-f268)
I'm not reading this thread, Seafoid so I don't see that picture at all.
Cmon Tyrone. Get wired into these fcukers.
Please tell me the disaster that is Padraig Hughes is not reffing us 2 weeks in a row.
Ronan O'Neill injured?
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF345/261708.jpg)
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/7b/36/68/0a092a64eddcf9cc8bbe01d052/INPHO_00082696.jpg)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF345/261309.jpg)
Our track record shows, we don't have a chance.
Sorry to hear Ronan O'Neill will be out for a few months.
That's a real shame, would have been good to see him get a run out in one of the last games. Where has he injured O'Neill? Big blow for the U-21s too.
I'm informed it is the knee but there'd be better men on here to confirm that.
I heard that it was his knee, the cruciate ligament has been mentioned. Can't confirm though. Here's hoping he makes a speedy recovery from whatever it is.
Ah no don't be telling us that news.
When I was picking that silly team yesterday of 2 O'Neills in the FF line I was gonna add in as long as he doesn't get injured. Lets hope its not too bad and that he doesn't become one of this excellent smaller players that picks up a lot of injuries.
It was some point Canavan scored right before big Beetlejuice buckled him.
Poor news about Ronan O'Neill.
Quote from: ziggysego on March 21, 2012, 01:30:51 AM(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF345/261309.jpg)
Our track record shows, we don't have a chance.
For jaysis sake - is it any wonder - Jody Gormley only had one foot
Look at that rugby tackle FFS.
Pups.
A county of wimps. Sure didn't Eóġan mac Néill himself die for grief at the death of his brother.
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 21, 2012, 08:19:46 PM
A county of wimps. Sure didn't Eóġan mac Néill himself die for grief at the death of his brother.
Forward looking or what ?
Any word on Ronan folks?
We've three pages and not much talk of football.
Will we see the same defense line out again or will Mickey t**ker?
Surely Carlin must be close to getting back in?
Is PJ out or when was the appeal.
Fuzz would you not think Gormley will be back in long before Carlin? I actually think Justy is struggling. He was way of the pace last week.
Quote from: ballymac on March 22, 2012, 10:38:42 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 21, 2012, 08:19:46 PM
Forward looking or what ?
Careful now, sure aren't we the Southern Ui Neill. Lets not insult our cousins, however soft they may be.
If we're getting hammered, we better start a row that's all I'm saying.
Then just a start a row once the ball is in sure.
Why wait for the ball?
Does anyone know what channels the matches are on Saturday night? PP is saying three of them are on tv but the throw-in time is the same for all three.
1 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
4 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
8 Aidan Cassidy - Eochar
9 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
10 Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
11 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
12 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
13 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
14 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
15 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael
16 Jonathan Curran – Oileán a'Ghuail
17 Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
18 Ciaran Gervin – Doire Locháin
19 Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
20 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
21 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
22 Stephen McNally – Oileán a'Ghuail
23 Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
24 Stephen McNulty – Cluain Eo
25 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach
26 Michael Murphy – An Gallbhaile
Good man Mickey, nothing if not shockingly surprising with your selections at times! Still, they'll look forward no doubt to the Meadmen. :)
Great to see the options available. It'll be very interesting to see how up to pace the likes of Ricey, Gormley and Colm Cavanagh are. 6 games in and teams are starting to sharpen their fitness so it's a brave decision to fill the defence with two fresh legs.
They've only one fresh leg each!
We're prepared for the worst. Elephant memories.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2012, 06:33:56 PM
Why wait for the ball?
C'mon Jinxy, we're better than that. We're not Dubs.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2012, 09:18:42 PM
They've only one fresh leg each!
That's one more (working) leg each than they ended up with in '96!... Erm, ever grateful and gracious for that exercise in the winning of All-Irelands, of course, how can we ever thank you! ;)
Quote from: ONeill on March 22, 2012, 09:38:54 PM
We're prepared for the worst. Elephant memories.
5 minutes of watching us hand passing the ball in circles around the halfway line, with our two man full forward line sitting up in the stand, will allay all of your fears.
Didn't Meath beat Tyrone in the 1996 all Ireland semi final ?
It was a fabulous day. Mid august, glorious sunshine.
Where did that Meath savoir faire go ?
Quote from: seafoid on March 22, 2012, 10:04:52 PM
Didn't Meath beat Tyrone in the 1996 all Ireland semi final ?
It was a fabulous day. Mid august, glorious sunshine.
(http://www.40towers.co.uk/img/dont_mention_war.jpg)
Quote from: seafoid on March 22, 2012, 10:04:52 PM
Savoir faire? Savoir blesser more like.
Ou est le bibliotheque?
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2012, 11:12:38 PM
Ou est le bibliotheque? (dictionnaire?)
blesser /blese/ (conjugate⇒)
transitive verb
(par démontrer) to show how to win;
... ;)
Merci.
PLease tell me there is a half an hour in Geraghty for the craic like.
Quote from: rrhf on March 23, 2012, 08:37:19 AM
PLease tell me there is a half an hour in Geraghty for the craic like.
Why do you think Gormley is back in!
Will McKenna stay at 14 or will he roam out the field?
I've yet to see him play for the seniors.
It's a pity big Joe is gone.
He knew all the words to God Save The Queen.
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 23, 2012, 11:39:34 AM
Will McKenna stay at 14 or will he roam out the field?
I've yet to see him play for the seniors.
There'll be some hail marys heading his way on Saturday I'd say! ;)
Meath (FL v Tyrone) -
David Gallagher,
Mickey Burke, Kevin Reilly, Caoimhin King,
Shane McAnarney, Bryan Menton, Donnacha Tobin,
Tom Walsh, Mark Ward,
Seamus Kenny, Stephen Bray, Graham Reilly,
Paddy Gilsenan, Jamie Queeney, Cian Ward.
Good that Graham Reilly is back in the forward line and not in the backs. I suppose the idea was that he would run at the Derry defence but it wasn't effective as unfortunately we didn't have our shooting boots on.
17 wides the last day.
Good to see Queeney getting a start.
He has good hands and is well able to get goals.
Too much expected of Reilly the last day - delighted he's back in the forwards.
Will be happy if they play as well as in the Kildare game, but not expecting to be coming home with any points unfortunately.
I'll be happy if we show some signs of having a game plan that doesn't just consist of playing pass the parcel around the middle third.
If we can get Tommy Dowd Cian Ward to drag their defence wide away from goal and let Geraghty Bray run at them from deep, that might open a few holes in their defence.
Does hardy have any views on this game? Maybe he's just into the history of Meath football rather than the here and now?
Hardy refuses to talk about the team while B***y is still at the helm.
That's only because I'm afraid of what I might say.
What is it you don't like about him
Sure he's a cool head on the side line that never gets frustrated if you just empty the tank.
(http://paulfitzpatrick09.blog.com/files/2011/05/banty1.jpg)
Any word on PJ's appeal last night?
Queeney in at last. He's overdue a shot at a first 15 place.
Does O'Rourke's son not get a game any more?
He's injured at the minute.
Does he intend on playing 3 men in the FF line? We are not Cork.
Meath had two problems against Derry:
1. Stephen Bray was not delivering the ball quickly enough.
2. Wardy and Gilly had not not enough space within which to operate.
I fail to see how introducing Queeney is going to fix this problem. Hopefully Queeney is instructed to move out the field and Gilly and Ward are given a bit of freedom.
By the way, Banty likes to get his forwards coming in off the wings. If that's the case I would always say the best place for Reilly is in the half-back line.
A half back line of McAnarney - Menton - Bigey and a 10 and 12 of Kenny and one of Forde/Tobin/Daragh Smyth/Chris O'Connor would be my preferred choice.
Why would you move Queeney out the field?
Did you not see what was happening against Derry?
The two corner men need to play off him and if anything I'd have Gilsenan a bit deeper as he'll work his socks off to get on the ball.
I see that this game will be covered live on
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/
LIVE Teamtalkmag.com RADIO – Tyrone Hurlers & Footballers
Tyrone fans around the globe are in for a real treat this evening. Teamtalkmag.com Radio will be LIVE from Healy Park Omagh to bring you the very latest from the Tyrone v Monaghan Division 3A Hurling League clash and the Tyrone v Meath Football game
Tyrone 1-01 meath no score stephen o neill goal and coney point
ty 1-1 me 0-1
t 1-1 m 0-2
t 1-2 m 0-3
Is it not meant to be on teamtalk radio link?
Doesn't seem to be. It's on www.lmfm.ie but very hard to hear.
It's on q101 west radio
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2012, 02:28:53 PM
Why would you move Queeney out the field?
Did you not see what was happening against Derry?
The two corner men need to play off him and if anything I'd have Gilsenan a bit deeper as he'll work his socks off to get on the ball.
Read my last post. Gilly and Ward were suffocated against Derry. How is introducing an extra man going to help? I would not have Queeney next or near the team (good intermediate footballer but short of this level) but if Banty insists on starting him, then move him out of the lad's way. By the way Gilly does not need anybody "to play off". I agree though he will give his all in any position.
Anyway not looking good for Meath so far. Queeney is making the difference alright ::)
Bit of a hammering at this stage. 1-12 to 0-4 up.
FT - Tyrone 1-12 Meath 0-05
Banty's head please.
Up to the players Ard Ri - can't totally blame Banty. Meath aren't really that good. Tyrone are very good. We'll probably beat Louth in two weeks which will offer some comfort ahead of the start of the Leinster Championship.
I know, but do you want to face another championship with that at the helm? We may not have the players to win Sam, but we're a good bit better than that.
Who was man of the match? P.Harte could get the chop now as no goal this week
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2012, 08:42:25 PM
I know, disgraceful preformance!
Hopefully we can keep this up and go unbeaten for 2012!
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 24, 2012, 08:32:49 PM
FT - Tyrone 1-12 Meath 0-05
Banty's head please.
The players get the lions share of the blame as far as I'm concerned.
Are Meath going to be playing Div 3 football next year? they are currently playing like a Div 3 team.
Mark Donnelly some game for Tyrone- McNabb never wasted a ball either. Worst Meath team I have seen in a long time. McEnaney reportedly on 70k for the year. The mind bungles :o
Quote from: everymanaman on March 24, 2012, 09:08:05 PM
Mark Donnelly some game for Tyrone- McNabb never wasted a ball either. Worst Meath team I have seen in a long time. McEnaney reportedly on 70k for the year. The mind bungles :o
He is yeah. ::)
Come home, come home, Ulster agent Mc Enaney, Leinster mission accomplished, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! ;)
Don't normally enjoy massacres but...
Poor Meath team and an equally poor display, though no complaints with our own performance(s), with the exception perhaps of occasional profligacy in front of the posts.
Hard to call Tyrone's opponents in Div 2 final, but likely Kildare.
The mind boggles, The Meath County board bungles!
If we pump the necessary resources into underage football in the county we might be competitive again at the top level in 5 years time.
Spend the bare minimum on the current senior team.
They are a waste of money.
Did Tyrone not score in the last 20 minutes or so? Always something to work on.
Quote from: trileacman on March 24, 2012, 08:47:19 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2012, 08:42:25 PM
I know, disgraceful preformance!
Only 2 points, we needed the McCarron point to reach the acceptable minimum from our half back line.
Meath have only won one u21 game in 5 years. Even before that our record is bad. We have not appeared in a Leinster Final since 2001. Players simply not good enough.
I'm not even sure pumping mass amounts of money into under-age systems is the answer. There is still a massive football culture in Meath - we love to play. A bit of leadership, organisation and better decision-making at County Board level would go a long way.
Anyway, I won't get carried away. We lost. I expected us to lose. I think two weeks to prepare for the Louth game is plenty long enough and the players will probably respond to the critisism against local rivals.
Tyrone are going very well. I think we all realise now that they are contenders so the real test is how they measure up against Dublin, Cork or Kerry.
Very disappointing from Meath, some of those lads should hang there heads.................I dont think ye have the right manager there but some of the players need to pull there socks up and show some bloody pride
In all seriousness I don't think I've ever seen a worse Meath team. They were, truth be told very lucky only to have been beaten by 10 points. If Kyle Coney's radar been firing perfectly he could have easily had 8 or 9 points himself. As it was he still managed 4. He wasn't the only one but it highlights the point.
The strange thing was a lot of these Meath players were playing in an All Ireland semi final not that long ago. To what extent Meath's performance was down to Meath being poor or Tyrone being that good remains to be seen.
The most noticeable thing tonight was the difference in pace between the two teams. Players like McCrory, McCarron, Harte and McNabb have got an incredible turn of foot and Meath just couldn't live with it. It's what Tyrone have been missing for the last couple of years and it's helping produce some of the best football they've played in ages.
Banty will be gone at the end of the season but the problem runs much deeper than that.
There needs to be a serious clear out of players who just don't seem to have the necessary edge for intercounty football.
Pick young, fast, hard-working players and get someone like Gerry McEntee involved.
Bring the players to the hospital to train if necessary, they can run around the car park.
At least ya have that guy from the movie "KickAss"
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF831/606716.jpg)
Why isn't Mickey Newman on the Meath panel?
Because we already have loads of natural forwards. :D
Ah lads, it was the longest, most depressing drive home I've had in a long time. Reminded me of the awful day against Limerick when Coyle was at the helm.
Very few posititves to take from that performance, although I thought (in my own totally biased way) that young Tobin did as well as anyone for us.
I guess whatever plan/tactics Banty is trying to impose just isn't working. Don't think it's all his fault but the players can't shoulder all the blame either.
We looked sluggish. The Tyrone lads had such sharpness by comparison. Is it the training? is it the tactics? is it that we just don't have the players?
Am really not looking forward to the Louth game, even the Tyrone supporters tonight were saying that Louth gave them a much better game.
How far we've come from the guarded optimism that night in Páirc Tailteann against Kildare :( :(
3. K Reilly
5. D Tobin
6. B Menton
7. C Lenehan
9. S O'Rourke
10. G Reilly
11. S Kenny
12. S McAnerney
13. P Gilsenan
14. S Bray
The above is the team I would start in the championship.
You'll notice there are a lot of blank spaces.
The players that have been playing in those positions are either too slow, lack commitment or lack the required ability.
I believe the players I've included have heart, ability and a decent bit of pace.
Five new players are needed.
Obviously I'm not deranged enough to think we'll find five new players before the start of the championship.
The players I've named are up to the standard, the rest are not.
If we had 15 players with Gilesnan's attitude we'd be able to hold our heads up high. Agree with you on the pace, the difference was shocking tonight. Lenehan came on with the right attitude in fairness, was the most impressive of the subs. Wasn't sure why Walsh was taken off - he's not the problem in mid-field, but meade isn't the answer either. A walsh/gilsenan combination would be very raw and untested, but might have the hunger to make it work while we're waiting on O'Rourke. I notice you don't include M Burke - would he have a better chance on the wing than in the corner?
And if not Gallagher then who?
I'm not suggesting there are players available that can slot into those positions.
I'm saying I wish there was.
Mickey Burke has a great engine and he'll motor along with the ball but we need corner backs that can defend.
I think a half back line of Tobin, Menton and Lenehan could do a serious job but they need time & a bit of patience.
They're all 21/22 years of age.
We need corner backs, a goalie and a midfielder.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 25, 2012, 12:02:33 AM
At least ya have that guy from the movie "KickAss"
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF831/606716.jpg)
we can see now that the head wrappings of 96 have been well and truly returned. hardy, banty, o connell, hector, terry wogan, geraghty your guys took one hell of a beating.
Meath were fortunate that Tyrone were so wasteful,it could have ended up a 20 point margin and that's no exaggeration.Tyrone defence was very good,Kyle and Stevie were excellent but i would give MOM to Mark Donnelly.He covered every blade of grass and put in a huge shift.
Mark Donnelly some game for Tyrone- McNabb never wasted a ball either.
Agreed, very impressed with Mc Nabb's movement and ball distribution - sprayed some beautiful ball inside.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 12:05:27 AM
Because we already have loads of natural forwards. :D
Mickey Newman is incredibly "gifted" but he's similiar to the kind of forwards we have already, e.g. Ward, Reilly, Queeney, Farrell, the O'Rourkes, Joe while he was there. He has fantastic feet and plays with an elegance but I ask the question to those who know him better: Does he work hard enough? I'm not sure Meath are crying out for a player like Newman which I guess is unfortunate for him because he is very good.
Personally, I'd be more in favour of Daragh Smyth (gone from panel?), Mark Collins (inj / gone from panel?), Alan Forde or Damian Carroll (an option at midfield? - yes I would say) starting in the forwards.
I wouldn't find fault with Jinxy's team above. I like his idea of giving the younger players a chance. I'd add in Carroll at midfield, find a place for a 100% fit Mark Collins in HF line. 15 is tough - maybe Alan Forde although I think it'll be a year before he comes into his own. But he is a good prospect.