2 30 PM Westmeath vs. Derry Cusack Park, Mullingar
2 30 PM Meath vs. Louth Páirc Tailteann
2 30 PM Tyrone vs. Monaghan Healy Park, Omagh
2 30 PM Galway vs. Kildare Tuam Stadium
DIVISION 2 FINAL
Sunday April 29th
TBC
1st Placed Team vs. 2nd Placed Team
Tyrone,Kildare look the pick of the bunch there. Derry,Galway,Meath you can never tell how serious any of those will take the league?
Quote from: ross4life on January 28, 2012, 04:42:20 PM
Tyrone,Kildare look the pick of the bunch there. Derry,Galway,Meath you can never tell how serious any of those will take the league?
Get back in the Division 3 thread where you belong. >:(
Monaghan, Kildare, Derry and Louth at home, Westmeath, Galway and Tyrone away.
I'd say 2 wins and 2 losses at home, 2 wins and one loss away.
Kildare have 2 home games, 1 at a neutral venue and 4 away, not a hope in hell we'll be promoted.
If we lose we'll know Banty has split loyalties. So his job depends on this game. No pressure.
KIldare Tyrone will be a good taster of both teams for the summer. Kildare to win.
Derry to beat Galway who are still struggling.
Westmeath to beat Louth.
Kildare to finish up mid-table again
Kildare v Tyrone final ;)
Monaghan should be looking for 5/6 points from Galway, Westmeath and Louth. 4th/5th place finish would be nice.
Kildare and Tyrone would have to be the promotion favourites.
Dragged up to Haggardstown again, is Drogeda completely unplayable this time of year?
Not looking forward to this year. At all.
Impossible to tell who the promotion favourites are untill at least a game or two in.
Derry always struggle against Galway for some reason...but there are not easy games in this division.
For me promotion isn't the be all and end all, I'd be more interested in fine tuning the team for championship...promotion would be an added bonus.
Kildare and Derry to get promotion.
I fancy Kildare for the all ireland this year. I expect them to be one of 2 finalists also. I also have a sinking feeling that they are at a much readier state than Tyrone for this weekend. But fingers crossed. This game could bring Tyrone on leaps and bounds even if they were narrowly beaten, but another bad beating in Croke Park could be very damaging.
Have no idea how we are going to go. Played well at times in the FBD with a lot of last year's U-21's and even a few of last year's minors but that's only FBD. Hammered Limerick in a challenge last weekend but that's only a challenge. Michael Meehan won't play in the league if he plays at all this year. Padraig Joyce only meeting Alan Mullholand this week to see if he's coming back or not. Not sure how pushed Mulholland is about promotion. Not very I sense. I'd say building the basis of a team is his priority this year. Maybe end up mid-table. 4 games at home should help.
Derry v Tyrone final with Jackie McDonnell to throw in the ball and Andre Shoukri to sing the national anthem. Padraig Hughes made to take a lift home with the two visitors.
Boylesports
Kildare 11/4
Tyrone 3/1
Galway 4/1
Meath 5/1
Derry 11/2
Monaghan 14/1
Louth 33/1
Westmeath 33/1
Paddy Power
Kildare 2/1
Tyrone 3/1
Galway 5/1
Meath 11/2
Derry 6/1
Monaghan 10/1
Westmeath 28/1
Louth 28/1
I think they're probably right about the bottom 2... maybe even the bottom 3. But not sure why Galway are so high up the list.
I'd just like to wish you all all the best for the coming league campaign.
I'd like to welcome Westmeath and Louth to the club.
The finest folk in the world are division 2 folk.
Here, Westmeath and Louth posters have to get permission before they talk.
Not here a wet week and ye already think ye own the place. >:(
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 30, 2012, 10:22:45 AM
Dragged up to Haggardstown again, is Drogeda completely unplayable this time of year?
Not looking forward to this year. At all.
same as. It's not going to be pretty.
TOP OF THE LEAGUE ;D ;D ;D ;D
:P
Happy to get the win but Monaghan kicked wides by the barrow full in the second half.
Car trouble stopped me making it to Navan so I had to settle for Croke Park.
Glad to hear we put up a decent score but I believe midfield was poor and we struggled defensively in the 2nd half.
Louth 0-12 1-06 Westmeath
Derry 1-11 1-15 Galway
That's a great win for Galway.
Quote from: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 04:13:11 PM
That's a great win for Galway.
Yeah great win alright. Especially with a bunch of kids basically and a few older heads.
Nicky Joyce strikes me as a real old school corner forward.
His two favourite things in life are kicking points and drinking pints!
Hopefully he knuckles down and sets himself up for a big season.
I noticed alright Galway had a lot of last years u-21's playing.
They could give the league and championship a good rattle this year.
Hopeful but ultimately depressing day in Haggardstown yesterday. Point up at half time after sticking with them for the first half but Keenan blew us away in the second, head and shoulders the best player on the field. Louth weren't great, with only 2 home games left they'll probably come back down with us, lost a lot of players to emigration. There is hope there for the future though, English did well midfield for his first league game there, Maguire wing back and for a small man I thought Philllip Sheridan was showing a lot of heart and effort. Couldn't believe it when they took him off. It would have been one from three of Sharry, McCormack or Giles for me, none were going well. Hopefully we can get a settled team towards the end of the league and finish with a win or two to set us up for Championship, another short year awaits. >:(
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2012, 10:10:23 AM
Hopeful but ultimately depressing day in Haggardstown yesterday. Point up at half time after sticking with them for the first half but Keenan blew us away in the second, head and shoulders the best player on the field. There is hope there for the future though, English did well midfield for his first league game there, Maguire wing back and for a small man I thought Philllip Sheridan was showing a lot of heart and effort. It would have been one from three of Sharry, McCormack or Giles for me, none were going well. Hopefully we can get a settled team towards the end of the league and finish with a win or two to set us up for Championship, another short year awaits. >:(
I would expect 7 defeats from 7. It is the weakest panel Westmeath have had in a long long time. Unfortunately there is not much that can be done with regard to personnel. The quality of players available is just not of a high enough standard for division 2. In fact, I don't think it would be high enough for division 3.
I'd expect the same myself shark tbh. The Monaghan match might be one to aim for if we have the Garrycastle players back.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2012, 11:16:54 AM
I'd expect the same myself shark tbh. The Monaghan match might be one to aim for if we have the Garrycastle players back.
I wouldn't be expecting miracles when they come back. There are only going to be 4 of them involved, and I'll be surprised if Dessie doesn't need a small break. Out of the injured players only Daly and Egan will make an impact, in my opinion.
Quote from: shark on February 06, 2012, 11:28:49 AM
I wouldn't be expecting miracles when they come back. There are only going to be 4 of them involved, and I'll be surprised if Dessie doesn't need a small break. Out of the injured players only Daly and Egan will make an impact, in my opinion.
I don't think anyone is expecting miracles, praying for them maybe. You could see Shaugho back yet, I'd have him in there with Daly for a bit of physicality. Would love to see Seanie O'Donoghue as well but not going to happen. Like I said, another short year.
Quote from: shark on February 06, 2012, 10:45:54 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2012, 10:10:23 AM
Hopeful but ultimately depressing day in Haggardstown yesterday. Point up at half time after sticking with them for the first half but Keenan blew us away in the second, head and shoulders the best player on the field. There is hope there for the future though, English did well midfield for his first league game there, Maguire wing back and for a small man I thought Philllip Sheridan was showing a lot of heart and effort. It would have been one from three of Sharry, McCormack or Giles for me, none were going well. Hopefully we can get a settled team towards the end of the league and finish with a win or two to set us up for Championship, another short year awaits. >:(
I would expect 7 defeats from 7. It is the weakest panel Westmeath have had in a long long time. Unfortunately there is not much that can be done with regard to personnel. The quality of players available is just not of a high enough standard for division 2. In fact, I don't think it would be high enough for division 3.
yeah, we're really up against it this year.
In fact I'm going to run an accumulator against Westmeath for the entire duration of the league to ease the pain.
Had €100 on Louth at 1.9. €190 going on Meath at what ever price as soon as odds come out (talk about dirty money).
Quote from: Bill Haven on February 06, 2012, 03:11:51 PM
yeah, we're really up against it this year.
In fact I'm going to run an accumulator against Westmeath for the entire duration of the league to ease the pain.
Had €100 on Louth at 1.9. €190 going on Meath at what ever price as soon as odds come out (talk about dirty money).
You got good odds on Louth. I had them backed too, but at a poorer price. Feels bad backs against your own county but when I heard the team on Saturday I knew they were in trouble. Like you say, the winnings can help ease the pain.
yeah I just happened to log on to Ladbrokes as soon as odds came out. They cut Louth to 1.57 after my bet and when the other books priced them up they were 1.5.
Feck off - they're our two points... and we'll need them!
Meath (Allianz FL v Westmeath)
D Gallagher;
M Burke, B Menton, G O'Brien;
C O'Connor, S McAnarney, C McGuinness;
B Meade, M Ward;
S Kenny, G Reilly, C Lenehan;
P Gilsenan, S Bray, C Ward.
Decent side but no new names. Hopefully Menton can make a solid claim on FB, we need more than just one real FB in Kevin Reilly.
Galway Team v Louth - 2.30pm Pearse Stadium
1 Adrian Faherty
2 Colin Forde
3 Finian Hanley
4 Keith Kelly
5 Garreth Bradshaw
6 Johnny Duane
7 Gary O'Donnell
8 Thomas Flynn
9 Fionntáin Ó Curraoin
10 Gary Sice
11 Paul Conroy
12 Mark Hehir
13 Michael Martin
14 Nicky Joyce
15 Danny Cummins
The team shows two changes from the Derry starting fifteen, Adrian Faherty replaces Manus Breathnach in goal while Gary Sice comes in for Jonathan Ryan in the half foward line. Nicky Joyces who started last week in place of Cormac Bane retains the no 14 spot.
Westmeath (NFL v Meath): Gary Connaughton,
Michael Curley, Kieran Gavin, Daniel McDermott,
Ronan Foley, Michael Ennis, Kevin Maguire,
Trevor English, Aidan Finnan,
Kieran Martin, Alan Giles, Philip Sheridan,
Paul Sharry, Denis Glennon, Callum McCormack.
Subs: Darren Quinn, Kieran Sheridan, Ben Moran, Mark Dalton, Darragh Daly, Paul Bannon, John Egan, David Glennon, Mark Gorman, Alan Fennell, Alan Stone.
Same team named as started against Louth, doubt we will line out like that, Glennon for 1 probably won't recover from going over on his ankle again. Gonna be a tough Sunday to lick up in Cusack Park.
Quote from: thejuice on February 10, 2012, 11:50:55 AM
Meath (Allianz FL v Westmeath)
D Gallagher;
M Burke, B Menton, G O'Brien;
C O'Connor, S McAnarney, C McGuinness;
B Meade, M Ward;
S Kenny, G Reilly, C Lenehan;
P Gilsenan, S Bray, C Ward.
Decent side but no new names. Hopefully Menton can make a solid claim on FB, we need more than just one real FB in Kevin Reilly.
I'd rather see him out the field to be honest.
We need a bit of mobility and speed around the middle.
Sure but I think FB is a more pressing need.
Kenny, McAnerney and Lenehan should be good enough to win breaks and provide mobility. Tom Walsh is another option there (if he's on the bench).
Oh I agree that when Kevin is missing Menton is the best option at FB but hopefully when he's back fit Menton can be released out around the middle.
(http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/722/league022012.jpg)
Kildare were pathetic today the only thing worse than kildares performance today was the appalling performance of the ref. The tempers were fairly lost at half time aswel
I wouldn't read a massive amount into our two wins to date however it's good to see us putting up big scores as that was a huge weakness of ours last year.
The main thing is to keep the confidence levels up and get lads used to winning.
The Kildare game in Navan will be massive for both teams.
We need to draw a line in the sand and they need the points.
Good result for Louth today although I believe ye should have won in the end.
Quote from: Jinxy on February 12, 2012, 05:07:01 PM
Good result for Louth today although I believe ye should have won in the end.
Draw was probably a fair result in the end. Galway led pretty much the whole game until a few minutes from the end. Didn't play nearly as well as they did up in Derry last week especially in the 2nd half but the team is so young that there are going to be ups and downs with them.
It's all part of the learning curve.
You've the makings of a good team though.
Listening to Bernard Flynn on the radio on the way home from the game today. Anyone who knows him can they let him know that Donegal are in Division 1 of the NFL
well, Westmeath v Meath was even more depressing than I had anticipated. Not least the home support or lack thereof
Great result for Monaghan today. Would have had Kildare as one of our tougher games, so this bodes well in terms of avoiding a drop. Monaghan never looked like losing this, despite Kildare's high tally of wides (some of which were unforgivable!). Monaghan had 2 clear chances on goal and took neither, so I don't think the winning margain flattered us one bit.
Surprising that Kildare were so wasteful though, as it seemed that they won about 80% of the kickouts. We could have done with Eoin Lennon in there today to clean up a bit more - one a few occasions Gollogly was in the mix in midfield but couldn't hold on to the ball - he's just too small to be in there.
I was impressed by Kieran Hughes today, Darren was pretty solid, as was Dessie Mone, Dick had a decent game as well. Finlay shot some brilliant points too, but it was noticable when he came out from the corner - he really is wasted in there and I hope McEnaney has noticed that now. James Turley also looking like a solid first 15 player as well.
As for the scuffle, bar one punch (Kildare #5 I think, who got the red), it was nothing more than pushing and shoving. The referee stood back and watched it unfold, taking notes rather than trying to get things under control - was a strange thing to see. I'll have to watch it back on TV tonight to see if I missed anything.
Kildare were absolutely abysmal. Strange team selection & substitutions, players being played out of position, lads miles off the pace, bad discipline. Early in the year but signs are not positive.
They just don't seem know what sort of game they want to play at the moment. Plan A is to kick it high on top of O'Connor, Plan B is to kick it in higher. Time for a rethink because Div3 looks on the cards.
Yeah, I was impressed with Kieran Hughes out there, we badly need a player like him in the forward line.
Some of the Kildare wides were entertaining.
Excellent display from Finlay even he was in some strange places on the park.
In no way does this victory count as payback, Kildare were just bad without us trying too hard to make them so.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 12, 2012, 07:24:06 PM
Kildare were absolutely abysmal. Strange team selection & substitutions, players being played out of position, lads miles off the pace, bad discipline. Early in the year but signs are not positive.
They just don't seem know what sort of game they want to play at the moment. Plan A is to kick it high on top of O'Connor, Plan B is to kick it in higher. Time for a rethink because Div3 looks on the cards.
Yeah, Monaghan's defence could have soaked up those high balls all evening.
It's deja vu DH, every year has been like this in February/Mar - sick of it to be honest just what some shape and some level of consistency.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 13, 2012, 11:18:50 AM
It's deja vu DH, every year has been like this in February/Mar - sick of it to be honest just what some shape and some level of consistency.
Same craic every year is right. All the usual lines about Kildare not having the necessary talent up front will be trotted out but how do we even have a chance when we play Eoghan O'Flaherty in the half-backs? Then to make matters worse we bring on a player, who is easily one of the top 10 forwards in Ireland, and we play him midfield and move Roli next to Tomás O'Connor.
How can the mangement not see it when it is glaringly obvious to everyone in the stand?
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 13, 2012, 11:33:57 AM
to make matters worse we bring on a player, who is easily one of the top 10 forwards in Ireland, and we play him midfield and move Roli next to Tomás O'Connor.
How can the mangement not see it when it is glaringly obvious to everyone in the stand?
McGeeney admits himself he has bad eyesight.... He says he didnt really see the melee yesterday between his lads and the Monaghan crowd. ;D ;D
Horror show in Mullingar yesterday apart from a 5 minute window in the second half that coincided with Darragh Daly's introduction. It was reminiscent of the 90s there yesterday. Stephen Bray has done some work on his left peg, might finally make the step up to top class inter county forward. Roll on the training ban.
POS TEAM P W L D F A POINTS
1 MEATH 2 2 0 0 35 17 4
2 TYRONE 2 2 0 0 38 21 4
3 GALWAY 2 1 0 1 29 25 3
4 LOUTH 2 1 0 1 23 20 3
5 MONAGHAN 2 1 1 0 29 30 2
6 KILDARE 2 0 2 0 24 34 0
7 WESTMEATH 2 0 2 0 14 29 0
8 DERRY 2 0 2 0 23 39 0
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2012, 12:46:18 PM
to make matters worse we bring on a player, who is easily one of the top 10 forwards in Ireland, and we play him midfield and move Roli next to Tomás O'Connor.
McGeeney admits himself he has bad eyesight.... He says he didnt really see the melee yesterday between his lads and the Monaghan crowd. ;D ;D
Only the ref saw what happened and took notes.
The game was played sportingly apart from the flare up at the end of the first half.
I thought McQuillan marshalled the game well, but probably Doyle's yellow card was harsh.
Though it beats me why a couple of Kildare players have this man attraction to certain Monaghan players, pushing them to the ground and then mounting them vigourously.
I suspect that mating practices in Kildare are a thing to behold, quick to the chase so to speak, in a barbaric manner.
Quote from: Main Street on February 13, 2012, 02:33:41 PM
The game was played sportingly apart from the flare up at the end of the first half.
I thought McQuillan marshalled the game well, but probably Doyle's yellow card was harsh.
Though it beats me why a couple of Kildare players have this man attraction to certain Monaghan players, pushing them to the ground and then mounting them vigourously.
I suspect that mating practices in Kildare are a thing to behold, quick to the chase so to speak, in a barbaric manner.
If you ever found yourself on the Curragh at night with a torch, you'd see things no man should ever see.
I thought Doyle was lucky enough to get a yellow.
As for the 'melee', McQuillan stood back to take notes, rather than take control of the situation. I'm in two minds as to whether than was the appropriate thing to do.
If you are looking at the melee from Joe's vertically challenged position at all these vertically unchallenged players milling about, then I'd say Joe did fine.
You see, Tyrone were not involved, so was it ever in real danger of going mental?
It's all going quite well so far, unexpectedly. Kildare next, and while they may not be in the best of form, it will still be a challenge.
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 13, 2012, 06:20:49 PM
As for the 'melee', McQuillan stood back to take notes, rather than take control of the situation. I'm in two minds as to whether than was the appropriate thing to do.
Was at the game and didn't see what started the row. Looking at it on TG4 later Doyle struck Moen after the free was awarded and Moen retaliated. What I did see at the game was the Kildare No. 8 starting it again, coming off the pitch, after it appeared to have calmed down, whacking a few Monaghan players from behind. He wasn't penalised.
Quote from: babarino on February 14, 2012, 10:32:11 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 13, 2012, 06:20:49 PM
Was at the game and didn't see what started the row. Looking at it on TG4 later Doyle struck Moen after the free was awarded and Moen retaliated. What I did see at the game was the Kildare No. 8 starting it again, coming off the pitch, after it appeared to have calmed down, whacking a few Monaghan players from behind. He wasn't penalised.
Was watching the game on Sunday between Monaghan and Kildare, and an incident that is seemingly accepted as beiong grand and happens all the time popped up. I think it was a Monaghan kick out at about 30 minutes in, and the Kildare Number 8 used a Monaghan man as a ladder and was rightly penalised. But in his anger, the number 8 reached for the Monaghan man around the neck and face and tried to sleeper him to the ground. The Monaghan man got free and the free kick was taken without a word from the referee who seen it all. That kind of craic is sickening, its like the old craic when a player comes on etc and he is 'allowed' to shoulder a man in the back or chest without fear of punishment as it is sticking out chest time, yet other incidents are made out to be a hundred times worse and are punished more severely. For all that happened in the Derrytresk game, much of the thuggery was from Dromid from what I watched. Yet all the talk was of Derrytresk. The same happened at the weekend, was any act carried out by a Derrytresk player any worse than Tomas O'Se kneeing a man in the balls? Yet hardly a whimper about it.
I'd say McKeever whimpered alright.
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 14, 2012, 12:45:09 PM
I think it was a Monaghan kick out at about 30 minutes in, and the Kildare Number 8 used a Monaghan man as a ladder and was rightly penalised. But in his anger, the number 8 reached for the Monaghan man around the neck and face and tried to sleeper him to the ground. The Monaghan man got free and the free kick was taken without a word from the referee who seen it all.
The nr 8 (Flynn?) was the worst offender for Kildare, capable of nasty aggressive physical stuff and in this game he was a persistent offender. But maybe Kildare fans know him better.
Flanagan's red card was for punching Finlay on the face, as the players were leaving the pitch.
McQuillan just picked out Clerkin and Mone by default, for their yellow cards :)
I was happy enough with the Monaghan discipline.
Ah yeah it was all those Kildare animals sure weren't they fighting with themseves? Those innocent Monaghan angels had nothing to do with it
Big boost for Westmeath. John Heslin returning home from Richmond Tigers. Homesickness. http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8421476
Quote from: shark on February 17, 2012, 10:06:20 AM
Big boost for Westmeath. John Heslin returning home from Richmond Tigers. Homesickness. http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8421476
Good news, all of a sudden our midfield issues don't seem too bad. Now to sort out the backs and the forwards...
That didn't last long.
Tommy Freeman back training with Monaghan. A massive boost.
Always good to have the best palyers playing for their counties, Freeman would be now pushing 30 ? Difficult for lads of that age to pick up where they left off.
Quote from: spuds on February 22, 2012, 01:17:13 PM
Always good to have the best palyers playing for their counties, Freeman would be now pushing 30 ? Difficult for lads of that age to pick up where they left off.
Id say Monaghan people would rather see Mc Manus back quicker then Freeman...
Where did Rory Woods ever go to? He had a bit of quality and presence about him
Rory Woods emigrated as far as I know. I think Freeman still has plenty to offer, even if McManus is important in the long term. Freeman is good for the goals.
Good man Woods! in the USA next he'll be doing the John Murtagh and looking a transfer to play for them.
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 03:02:22 PM
He probably had a bit too much presence for an intercounty footballer.
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 22, 2012, 06:19:25 PM
Rory Woods emigrated as far as I know.
He's working in NY for a Kerry fella from the Leitrim club
Quote from: Jinxy on February 22, 2012, 06:48:04 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 03:02:22 PM
He probably had a bit too much presence for an intercounty footballer.
Absence would seem to be his defining characteristic now.
Id say he would have made it onto the starting 15 for most counties.
QuoteMonaghan to loose home advantage to Louth for their part in the melee, sounds a bit harsh but maybe the way to go.
A neutral venue would have been sufficient, Crossmaglen would do the trick. Does Louth have anywhere to accommodate even a moderate crowd?
What if our next home game had of been Kerry or Cork? Would they have changed the venue? Punish the fans while they are at it!.. Mind you, id love another trip to killarney :).
Kildare have withdrawn their appeal after seeing what happened to Monaghan. They risked their game v Derry being moved to an away fixture.
Interesting developments with Kildare edging Meath by a point, and Westmeath pulling off a very unexpected victory against Galway. Tyrone bet Louth so Meath's stumble won't be completely covered up for, but it could be much worse.
(http://www.freeimagehosting.net/t/vnwbu.jpg) (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/vnwbu)
A very interesting division now. Louth and Westmeath probably doing a bit better than expected. I'd expect Monaghan to avoid the drop, but there'll be a lot of teams in the mix after 5/6 games.
Surreal day in Cusack Park yesterday. Westmeath were comfortably outnumbered in the stand, Sharry started center back, Natchie corner forward and Bannon was sending them over the black spot from midfield. Galway had the look of a team who've heard about Garrycastle this, lads playing hurling that and injuries the other. The only one who looked interested was Gary Sice. Oddly enough there was no one who stood out for Westmeath, maybe Kieran Gavin who stuffed Nicky Joyce down his trouser leg and Gary who pulled off another amazing save. Some of his kick outs are appalling and they were like Garryowens at times yesterday hanging up in the wind but he has to be the best shot stopper in the country, takes something special to beat him.
Edit: Found a photo
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/bc/11/5a/06076f59170d664197eb78f5ca5e8ceecff2402e68/INPHO_00579299.jpg)
I counted seven points for Westmeath in the first half but the scoreboard said it was 6 points all, I'd love to find out what got disallowed and for what. Still great to get the victory in the end, could have killed Glennon when he took his point when clean through when two down near the end but credit to the young fellas, they stood up to be counted and worked the winner. Much needed boost for Westmeath football and gives the U21s a shot in the arm ahead of Wednesday.
The seventh point you had was probably the effort from Paul Bannon after about 6 or 7 minutes. Would have been Westmeath's second point. Umpire picked up the flag initially but it was given as a wide Not sure if it was by the ref, the other ump or the first ump had just got himself in a muddle in the first place and changed his mind
Strange match alright. Two poor enough teams and like you said, Galway clearly didn't give a shit but great to get the win
Quote from: Bill Haven on March 06, 2012, 02:04:30 PM
The seventh point you had was probably the effort from Paul Bannon after about 6 or 7 minutes. Would have been Westmeath's second point. Umpire picked up the flag initially but it was given as a wide Not sure if it was by the ref, the other ump or the first ump had just got himself in a muddle in the first place and changed his mind
Strange match alright. Two poor enough teams and like you said, Galway clearly didn't give a shit but great to get the win
Yeah, that sounds about right Bill as the scoreboard didn't clock a point around then, fecking ejiots.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/236.jpg)
Venue unset by Dr. DRA.
Back to the original.
Cill Dara (v Doire)
1 Shane Connolly (St Laurences)
2 Aindriú MacLochlainn (Ellistown)
3 Mick Foley (Athy)
4 Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)
5 Emmet Bolton (Eadestown)
6 Morgan O'Flaherty (Carbury)
7 Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge)
8 Daryl Flynn (Moorefield)
9 Johnny Doyle (Allenwood)
10 James Kavanagh (Ballymore)
11 Mikey Conway (Nurney)
12 Pádraig O'Neill (St Laurences)
13 Éamonn Callaghan (Naas)
14 Tomás O'Connor (Clane)
15 Eoghan O'Flaherty (Carbury)
Top of the table clash against Antrim. really looking forward to it!!!
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 09, 2012, 01:53:25 PM
You have no place in the Division 2 thread.
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 09, 2012, 09:16:54 PM
We will in two months time. ;)
Meath -
David Gallagher,
Mickey Burke, Kevin Reilly, Brian Menton;
Chris O'Connor, Shane McAnarney, Ciaran Lenihan;
Tom Walsh, Mark Ward;
Seamus Kenny, Graham Reilly, Donnacha Tobin;
Paddy Gilsenan, Stephen Bray, Cian Ward.
Strong enough team, we have to win this one to stay in within a hope of getting out of Div2. Hard to know what to expect of either team. We have a poor enough away record, beating an understrenght westmeath hasn't changed that.
I'm not sure I can see anything that can stop the opposition running from deep like kildare did. Perhaps Tom Walsh might be a bit more mobile than Brian Meade
It took a while to beat these Loud men into submission, but Monaghan managed to pull easily away in the last 15 minutes.
Though if Nudie Hughes did have any hair left, it would have been ripped out in frustration early in the 2nd half.
HT - Galway 1-07 to 0-6 Meath
FT - Galway 1- 12 to 1- 11 Meath
Lost in the last minute again.
FT
Galway 1-12 Meath 1-11
Fiddlesticks.
Can't wait for the trip to Omagh.
We'll make bits of ye!
Great to see Dermot Earley back in action in Newbridge today. Some reception when he came on and kicked the last point. Not before time either because we were wiped out under the kickouts today at midfield. Lost count of the number of times Paudie O'Neill's man caught clean ball above his head. Considering how little ball we won around the middle 2-13 was a good score to put up although our penalty looked quite soft. Johnny kicked some great scores and Kavanagh had his best game in a good while. Good to see Smith getting the goal which should do his confidence no harm.
Disappointing to concede two goals again for the third game out of four especially when the backs were so tight last year. Can't understand why Emmet Bolton was back in the full-back line today when Foley and McGrillen were out in the half-back line. It was only when Bolton got booked and was switched out the field that he started to get into the game. I thought Kelly did a good man-marking job on Paddy Bradley but we'll have to improve at the back if we've any ambitions of staging a late promotion bid.
Great result for Monaghan today, although for the first 5 minutes of the second half, it looked like it was all going pear-shaped.
McGuinness, Turley and Malone all stood out for me - a major plus, given that they're amongst the new players. Clerkin was fairly decent and it's great to have Freeman back - he still clearly has planty to offer and can take points from places where other players wouldn't attempt. Darren Hughes had an off-day, by his standards, especially with the own goal.
Louth totally fell apart after they went down to 14 men and Monaghan capitalised on this. Nevertheless, 2-24 is a massive score, especially considering that McManus has still to return to the squad. Mid-field is now our big weakness. As with the last few games, we have been cleaned out in mid-field and we will really be punished for this against better teams.
Also, great to see Gary McQuaid back.
If Monaghan can pick up 2 points against Westmeath next week, i'd expect us to be safe.
Quote from: Syferus on March 10, 2012, 04:07:24 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 09, 2012, 09:16:54 PM
We will in two months time. ;)
I wouldn't speak too soon. :P
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 11, 2012, 08:49:03 PM
If Monaghan can pick up 2 points against Westmeath next week, i'd expect us to be safe.
A 2 in a row level of consistency would be most welcome.
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 11, 2012, 04:02:34 PM
HT - Galway 1-07 to 0-6 Meath
FT - Galway 1- 12 to 1- 11 Meath
Lost in the last minute again.
Didn't Meath dump Galway out of the championship recently enough with a point in the last minute ?
Swings and roundabouts.
But it would be sad if Meath were stuck in D2 for another year.
Good win for Monaghan today posting a huge score. Pity we didn't use some of that scoring power last week v Derry. Plenty of good performances in attack but the defence was wide open on numerous occasions. All of the fullback line struggled at different times. Darren Hughes is probably wasted at fullback but I think after today he needs to go back there. In fairness to Louth some of the scores they hit were superb and one free in particular was from way beyond the 45m line. McGuinness took his goal well and also fired over 3 nice points.
In general, the results in Div. 1 & 2 are all over the shop.
There's no consistent form-lines.
The last day of the league should be some craic.
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2012, 09:42:46 PM
The gap in standard between 2 and 3 is massive compared to the gap between any other divisions.
Couldn't agree more. There's a massive drop between Division 2 and 3. Monaghan's relegation last year wasn't a massive deal, but relegation this year would be a disaster.
Quote from: timmyot501 on March 11, 2012, 10:25:05 PM
Good win for Monaghan today posting a huge score. Pity we didn't use some of that scoring power last week v Derry. Plenty of good performances in attack but the defence was wide open on numerous occasions. All of the fullback line struggled at different times. Darren Hughes is probably wasted at fullback but I think after today he needs to go back there. In fairness to Louth some of the scores they hit were superb and one free in particular was from way beyond the 45m line. McGuinness took his goal well and also fired over 3 nice points.
I didn't think the defence was too bad. Louth took some great long-range shots that by-passed the defence. And they never really threatened the keeper - you can't really count the OG. As I said before, I thought mid-field was a big problem, and has been for the past few games. I think the fact that Louth won so much at midfield, yet failed to convert it on the scoreboard, reflects fairly well on the defence. There's still room for improvement though.
As for McGuinness' goal - agreed, very well taken, but Jap's pass into him was brilliant - great vision.
I'd question that. Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are fully capable of at least being mid-level D2 teams right now. All three I'd rate higher than Galway, Westmeath and Louth and on an almost even keel with Derry and Meath, depending on the venue all three would have a very real shot at beating those two.
I just think what it takes to succeed in D3 isn't the same thing as what it takes to succeed in D2 and some D3 teams end up mired in the middle of D3 when they could just as easily be in the mid-table of D2 if they did get promoted.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 11, 2012, 10:30:27 PM
In general, the results in Div. 1 & 2 are all over the shop.
There's no consistent form-lines.
The last day of the league should be some craic.
Yep - hasn't been this open in a long time. Only one team safe in Division 2 and theoretically, any team in Division 1 could still drop. But it'll probably still pan out with those expected to drop at the start of the year, being those who go down in each division.
Quote from: Syferus on March 11, 2012, 10:55:07 PM
I'd question that. Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are fully capable of at least being mid-level D2 teams right now. All three I'd rate higher than Galway, Westmeath and Louth and on an almost even keel with Derry and Meath, depending on the venue all three would have a very real shot at beating those two.
I don't know how you can make that call, given that Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are beating the likes of Tipperary, Cavan and Offaly, who are probably well off D2 standard, in my opinion. They'd probably be on a similar level to Westmeath and Louth alright, but they're likely to be the kind of teams that 'yo-yo' between the two divisions - strong for D3, but no strong enough to be consistent D2.
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 11, 2012, 11:00:55 PM
I don't know how you can make that call, given that Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are beating the likes of Tipperary, Cavan and Offaly, who are probably well off D2 standard, in my opinion. They'd probably be on a similar level to Westmeath and Louth alright, but they're likely to be the kind of teams that 'yo-yo' between the two divisions - strong for D3, but no strong enough to be consistent D2.
The stats also back this up since 2008 Wexford, Fermanagh, Tipperary, Down, Antrim and Sligo have been promoted to Division 3 only Down have pushed on the rest were all relegated and this year it's looking ominous for Westmeath and Louth who were promoted last year.
Seriously?
Not that I think we are particularly fantastic but big difference between doing well in division 3 and doing well in division 2. I'd argue the biggest gap between any of the divisions is between 2 and 3. As good as Longford for example have been going this year and fair play to them I still think we'd probably beat them more often than not.
I think all of this 'yo-yo'-ing of teams between the divisions supports my preference for 3 divisions of 11 - more chance that teams find their proper place. I'd also be opting for no finals/semi-finals (before anyone mentions the lack of time for extra games) - the winner is the team that tops the league after their 10 games, as a league should be.
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2012, 11:08:29 PM
I just think what it takes to succeed in D3 isn't the same thing as what it takes to succeed in D2 and some D3 teams end up mired in the middle of D3 when they could just as easily be in the mid-table of D2 if they did get promoted.
Houl on. 2 out of Galway, Westmeath and Louth are likely to go down so you'll be replacing them, not playing them. It's the rest of the teams you have to worry about.
There are 4 other sides along with Louth and Westmeath below us in the table. Don't forget them. Only side clear of worrying about relegation is Tyrone.
We might need another win but depending on other results the 5 we have now might even be enough.
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2012, 11:25:40 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 11, 2012, 11:22:29 PM
Houl on. 2 out of Galway, Westmeath and Louth are likely to go down so you'll be replacing them, not playing them. It's the rest of the teams you have to worry about.
There are 4 other sides along with Louth and Westmeath below us in the table. Don't forget them.
I only mentioned Galway with Louth and Westmeath because he did. The two who are likely to go down are Louth and Westmeath.
Probably but I haven't looked at their fixtures. Or Derry's. We have some tough games left so I don't expect us to finish where we are at the moment.
There are 4 other sides along with Louth and Westmeath below us in the table. Don't forget them. Only side clear of worrying about relegation is Tyrone.
Absolutely Galway v Kildare in the last game could easily be a relegation decider as a promotion decider.
What's the separator if more than two teams that finish level on points? Points difference or head to head?
The difference at the moment is all three of Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are very confident in their abilities to compete at higher levels and are coming off good 2011 championship form. If one of them crashed and burned in the 2012 championship it might damage them but right now they'd have zero fear of the vast majority of D2 teams.
Wexford yo-yo'd after their All-Ireland semi but they've obviously built a very dangerous outfit over the last two years, but for a Masterson mistake Dublin wouldn't have been Leinster champions and but for a questionable point they'd have been in an All-Ireland quarter-final.
This Longford team is the finest I've ever seen, they play with a great unity and belief, as fit as any D2 team, and coming back from two sucker punch goals in the first half and a five point deficit in the second half to beat us (Roscommon) last week typifies the progress they've made.
The current Roscommon team has the potential to be a D1 team, of that I have absolutely no doubt. We're loaded with young players that'll take a few more years to fully develop but this squad is the most complete Roscommon panel since the early 90's, a team itself that was severely unlucky not to make the 1991 All-Ireland final. Roscommon historically have been a D1/D2 team, with us playing in D1 as recently as 2008, our recent skid down the league has done a very good job at masking the fact that we tended to, even when championship form was off, be a threat to any team in the league.
All three are coming off good championship form, Longford pushed Tyrone to the limit last year and we had a back-to-back provincial title in the bag (how many D2 teams can claim that?) but for a blizzard and were more than equal to Tyrone before our inexperienced bench meant we had no answer for subs of the quality of Brian Dooher and Owen Mulligan. That's a Tyrone squad that was better than the team currently cutting shreds through D2.
So if all three have a good chance of beating three of the current D2 teams, Galway, Westmeath and Louth, that alone that means at least one of the soon-to-be-promoted teams has a very good chance of being in D2 come 2014, and that's disregarding the fact Monaghan, Derry or Meath would be particularly confident of beating any of those teams. The standard gap is lower for these three counties than some others who've made the step up. Obviously the tie between the two promoted D3 teams next season will be crucial in deciding who stays up, but the teams coming down from D1 next season are unlikely to be as hot as Tyrone are this season either.
Westmeath have a bit of the Roscommon's about them at the moment, a team not doing anything in the championship but able to pull results out in the league, they're definitely are caught in the middle ground between D2 and D3. Tipp and Sligo didn't preform last year - Sligo are a team still damaged from the 2010 Connacht final - but the crop coming up will make D2 the most unpredictable division in the league next season.
We might need another win but depending on other results the 5 we have now might even be enough.
I'd say 5 could be enough. It's hard to see where Louth will get another 2 points or Westmeath get 3. I think next weekend will put some clear water between teams in Division 2. Derry could sweat for a while yet, but they've got their two easiest games, on paper, at the end.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 11, 2012, 11:28:35 PM
Absolutely Galway v Kildare in the last game could easily be a relegation decider as a promotion decider.
What's the separator if more than two teams that finish level on points? Points difference or head to head?
It
should be points difference, but as this is the GAA, I expect it will be head-to-head like last season (when Monaghan were relegated from D1, despite being 6th in the table).
Remaining fixtures
Westmeath v Monaghan
Meath v Derry
Louth v Kildare
Galway v Tyrone
Tyrone v Meath
Derry v Louth
Monaghan v Galway
Kildare v Westmeath
Westmeath v Derry
Meath v Louth
Tyrone v Monaghan
Galway v Kildare
Looks grim for Louth alright. Hard to see where they will pick up enough points. Westmeath still have a chance but their next game against Monaghan is a must win I'd say. Derry have two 4 pointers against both Louth and Westmeath. Tyrone will probably win all their remaining games the way they are playing. Would not surprise me if we lost all our 3 remaining games so hopefully 5 points might just be enough.
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2012, 11:48:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 11, 2012, 11:29:55 PM
So if all three have a good chance of beating three of the current D2 teams, Galway, Westmeath and Louth, that alone that means at least one of the soon-to-be-promoted teams has a very good chance of being in D2 come 2014
Again, chances are the two newly promoted teams will only be playing one of these teams(most likely Galway) in 2013.
It's much the same with Monaghan and Derry, though. Meath are always a team I find hard to judge, they seem to be able to compete with top-tier teams on the odd occasion but overall they're the epitome of a D2 team. I don't see much reason to think they're going to beat any of those three D3 teams off the field.
For me little difference between Div 1 & 2 our division is a level below it. Longford/Wexford may cope alright in Div 2 as both are free scoring & that's something you need to be before moving up a level. We have done well with all the players missing but it's been more hard graft than impressing to be honest. The last time we got promotion to Div 2 (2008) we were out of depth & Galway,Mayo gave us two bad beatings in championship only in the last few years have we found or feet & i think if we are lucky enough to get promoted this year we'll be in better shape than 2008 to compete.
Quote from: ross4life on March 12, 2012, 12:33:43 AM
For me little difference between Div 1 & 2 our division is a level below it. Longford/Wexford may cope alright in Div 2 as both are free scoring & that's something you need to be before moving up a level. We have done well with all the players missing but it's been more hard graft than impressing to be honest. The last time we got promotion to Div 2 (2008) we were out of depth & Galway,Mayo gave us two bad beatings in championship only in the last few years have we found or feet & i think if we are lucky enough to get promoted this year we'll be in better shape than 2008 to compete.
And it all fairness in 2008 we were in the middle of complete implosion. We've now had a good four years of progress, which for me began with that 20 point drubbing in Castlebar in '09 and a gritty response to knock Wexford out over two games in the qualifiers. We did drop off into D4 in 2010 but it wasn't like we were non-competitive, we'd actually lead D3 with three games to go. It finally feels like Roscommon are building towards something and even though the performances aren't there right now it's so great to see the team pulling out good results, they've really built confidence over the last two and a half seasons. I can only imagine where this team will be in three years if they all stick at it, our ultimate aim in the league has to eventually be a competitive D1 team. If Mayo can do it..
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 11, 2012, 11:42:05 PM
It should be points difference, but as this is the GAA, I expect it will be head-to-head like last season (when Monaghan were relegated from D1, despite being 6th in the table).
The official guide is fairly clear - when 2 teams are involved it's head to head and any more than 2 it's scoring difference.
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 12, 2012, 12:58:12 AM
It should be points difference, but as this is the GAA, I expect it will be head-to-head like last season (when Monaghan were relegated from D1, despite being 6th in the table).
The official guide is fairly clear - when 2 teams are involved it's head to head and any more than 2 it's scoring difference.
Which is the fairest system, if you beat a team you deserve to be ahead of them if you're on equal points.
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2012, 01:00:26 AM
Which is the fairest system, if you beat a team you deserve to be ahead of them if you're on equal points.
It's not fair if you don't have home AND away games against each team.
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 12, 2012, 01:05:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2012, 01:00:26 AM
It's not fair if you don't have home AND away games against each team.
Agree it not far for example we had a better scoring average than Wicklow last year but we had to beat them in Wicklow to gain promotion.
Why have the rossies invaded the Division 2 thread?
SHOO!
Exactly, no one from Div2 wants to end up with the stain of Div3 infamy.
I have to say, Div 2 is not a bad place to hang around for a few seasons, before making a serious escape bid for Div 1.
Wouldn't be shocked if we finished on 4 points. That said we'll probably lose the next 2 and beat Louth with a questionable late winner.
We'll bring Joe back for that one.
The difference at the moment is all three of Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are very confident in their abilities to compete at higher levels and are coming off good 2011 championship form. If one of them crashed and burned in the 2012 championship it might damage them but right now they'd have zero fear of the vast majority of D2 teams.
Wexford yo-yo'd after their All-Ireland semi but they've obviously built a very dangerous outfit over the last two years, but for a Masterson mistake Dublin wouldn't have been Leinster champions and but for a questionable point they'd have been in an All-Ireland quarter-final.
This Longford team is the finest I've ever seen, they play with a great unity and belief, as fit as any D2 team, and coming back from two sucker punch goals in the first half and a five point deficit in the second half to beat us (Roscommon) last week typifies the progress they've made.
The current Roscommon team has the potential to be a D1 team, of that I have absolutely no doubt. We're loaded with young players that'll take a few more years to fully develop but this squad is the most complete Roscommon panel since the early 90's, a team itself that was severely unlucky not to make the 1991 All-Ireland final. Roscommon historically have been a D1/D2 team, with us playing in D1 as recently as 2008, our recent skid down the league has done a very good job at masking the fact that we tended to, even when championship form was off, be a threat to any team in the league.
All three are coming off good championship form, Longford pushed Tyrone to the limit last year and we had a back-to-back provincial title in the bag (how many D2 teams can claim that?) but for a blizzard and were more than equal to Tyrone before our inexperienced bench meant we had no answer for subs of the quality of Brian Dooher and Owen Mulligan. That's a Tyrone squad that was better than the team currently cutting shreds through D2.
So if all three have a good chance of beating three of the current D2 teams, Galway, Westmeath and Louth, that alone that means at least one of the soon-to-be-promoted teams has a very good chance of being in D2 come 2014, and that's disregarding the fact Monaghan, Derry or Meath would be particularly confident of beating any of those teams. The standard gap is lower for these three counties than some others who've made the step up. Obviously the tie between the two promoted D3 teams next season will be crucial in deciding who stays up, but the teams coming down from D1 next season are unlikely to be as hot as Tyrone are this season either.
Westmeath have a bit of the Roscommon's about them at the moment, a team not doing anything in the championship but able to pull results out in the league, they're definitely are caught in the middle ground between D2 and D3. Tipp and Sligo didn't preform last year - Sligo are a team still damaged from the 2010 Connacht final - but the crop coming up will make D2 the most unpredictable division in the league next season.
Mayo Micks cousin? Roscommon were in Div 2 in 08. While Longfords form has surprised me this season they have been building under Glen Ryan for a few years now. It will be interesting to see how they get on against Wexford (the best team in Div 3 IMO) in their last league game, provided both teams have something left to play for. To say Roscommon and Longford are better than Galway, Westmeath and Louth and would put it up to Monaghan, Derry or Meath is a bit of a leap of faith. Wexford as they showed in championship last year would comfortably fit into the yoyo bracket between 2 and 3 with ourselves Louth, Antrim and Sligo. I'm not sure what Galway have done to be in this grouping, they have five points on the board after 4 games with a lot of new faces on board this year, they deserve the benefit of the doubt at the moment anyway.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 12, 2012, 12:18:01 PM
Mayo Micks cousin? Roscommon were in Div 2 in 08. While Longfords form has surprised me this season they have been building under Glen Ryan for a few years now. It will be interesting to see how they get on against Wexford (the best team in Div 3 IMO) in their last league game, provided both teams have something left to play for. To say Roscommon and Longford are better than Galway, Westmeath and Louth and would put it up to Monaghan, Derry or Meath is a bit of a leap of faith. Wexford as they showed in championship last year would comfortably fit into the yoyo bracket between 2 and 3 with ourselves Louth, Antrim and Sligo. I'm not sure what Galway have done to be in this grouping, they have five points on the board after 4 games with a lot of new faces on board this year, they deserve the benefit of the doubt at the moment anyway.
It was a lot more murky than that. In 2007 we got to the final of the old D2(A+B), topping our division, but because of the restructure we ended up in the new 'D2' that contained Dublin, Monaghan near their peak, Meath, Armagh and Cork. That was
not a normal D2. And, of course, Westmeath won the final.
Galway haven't won a single championship game in Ireland since June 2009; any fair Galway supporter would tell you that on form all those three teams have been better than them over the last number of years. Neither Derry or Monahgan have shown any more consistency or ability above and beyond what the best three teams in D3 have, indeed Roscommon have a provincial title in the last two seasons and Wexford were desperately unlucky themselves last season. Louth haven't showed much at all since last year's league and I couldn't see many rating them as better than any of the three. And with all due respect to Westmeath, the other three wouldn't be going in to face you with any trepidation and would likely be fairly confident of being able to beat you, at least privately.
We'll see, but Roscommon, Longford and Wexford have being making continuous progress for a couple years now while most of the other teams bounding around D2/3 have shown inconsistent form in league and championship games, Louth, Sligo, Tipp, Westmeath, Monaghan and Galway are coming off disappointing championships.
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2012, 03:11:49 PM
It was a lot more murky than that. In 2007 we got to the final of the old D2(A+B), topping our division, but because of the restructure we ended up in the new 'D2' that contained Dublin, Monaghan near their peak, Meath, Armagh and Cork. That was not a normal D2. And, of course, Westmeath won the final.
Galway haven't won a single championship game in Ireland since June 2009; any fair Galway supporter would tell you that on form all those three teams have been better than them over the last number of years. Neither Derry or Monahgan have shown any more consistency or ability above and beyond what the best three teams in D3 have, indeed Roscommon have a provincial title in the last two seasons and Wexford were desperately unlucky themselves last season. Louth haven't showed much at all since last year's league and I couldn't see many rating them as better than any of the three. And with all due respect to Westmeath, the other three wouldn't be going in to face you with any trepidation and would likely be fairly confident of being able to beat you, at least privately.
We'll see, but Roscommon, Longford and Wexford have being making continuous progress for a couple years now while most of the other teams bounding around D2/3 have shown inconsistent form in league and championship games, Louth, Sligo, Tipp, Westmeath, Monaghan and Galway are coming off disappointing championships.
Ah but come on, you're not comparing like with like. Provincial performance is relative to the strength of the province. Yours was a Connaught title; beating London, Leitrim and Sligo on the way to winning it. Not exactly a monumental feat or a yardstick for comparison with Monaghan or Derry.
Indeed, if you're going to compare the quality of teams in terms of provincial championship performance I'd argue that Roscommon wouldn't get within an asses roar of an Ulster final, something Derry did last year. And I'd point out that Monaghan ran Tyrone to two points in Ulster last year whereas Roscommon lost to Tyrone by eleven.
Mayo Micks cousin?
They have to be related and he'll have no choice but to pipe down after Wexford beat them.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2012, 06:55:53 PM
Mayo Micks cousin?
They have to be related and he'll have no choice but to pipe down after Wexford beat them.
Famous last words..
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2012, 03:11:49 PM
It was a lot more murky than that. In 2007 we got to the final of the old D2(A+B), topping our division, but because of the restructure we ended up in the new 'D2' that contained Dublin, Monaghan near their peak, Meath, Armagh and Cork. That was not a normal D2. And, of course, Westmeath won the final.
Have to disagree, you've got that backwards. If anything the old 2A was not a normal Division 2, just the same way that the old 1A was not a normal Div 1. charlie has said all that needs to be said regarding holding up Roscommon's Connacht title as a point of comparison and also pointed out Derry and Monaghans form last year.
but for a Masterson mistake Dublin wouldn't have been Leinster champions
Surely you mean Dublin would have been taken to a replay.
Kildare team to play on sunday is the same team that started last week.
1) shane Connolly
2) Peter Kelly 3) Hugh mcgrillen 4) Ollie Lyons
5) emmet Bolton 6) Morgan o Flaherty 7) Michael foley
8) daryll Flynn 9) John Doyle
10) James kavanagh 11) Mikey Conway 12) Paudie o Neill
13) Eamon Callaghan 14) Tomas o connor 15) Eoghan o Flaherty
Daryl Flynn will be wearing sunglasses.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 15, 2012, 10:26:31 PM
Kildare team to play on sunday is the same team that started last week.
1) shane Connolly
2) Peter Kelly 3) Hugh mcgrillen 4) Ollie Lyons
5) emmet Bolton 6) Morgan o Flaherty 7) Michael foley
8) daryll Flynn 9) John Doyle
10) James kavanagh 11) Mikey Conway 12) Paudie o Neill
13) Eamon Callaghan 14) Tomas o connor 15) Eoghan o Flaherty
Good to see some consistency in the selection but hopefully the backs will not be lining out in the positions they did last week. Foley alongside Kelly in the full back line with Bolton staying on the wing and not near feckin corner back! Think the two Celbridge lads are fairly interchangeable.
Hopefully big Dermot will get another run out and possibly Hughie Lynch too. Would not like to be facing into the championship with either Johnny or Paudie partnering Daryl Flynn.
Paddy Keenan remains a doubt for Sunday, Ray Finnegan should return to the side.
Today's club result - worst possible outcome for Westmeath?
It can be worse, Greencastle could lose the replay.
Quote from: Main Street on March 17, 2012, 08:13:47 PM
It would be even worse if Garrycastle were to lose their replay. ;)
Quote from: Agent Orange on March 17, 2012, 08:17:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 17, 2012, 08:13:47 PM
It would be even worse if Garrycastle were to lose their replay. ;)
I suppose Monaghan are favoured today but we have not achieved any consistency with performance. Anything can happen in this league and Westmeath are certainly capable of beating a mildly dysfunctional Monaghan.
meath 0-05
derry 0-04
approaching ht
HT - Derry 0-07 Meath 0-06
Derry 0-10
Meath 0-07
FT - Derry 0-13 Meath 0-10
String of defeats for us at this point. I would say that we are having difficulty making scoring opportunities, to judge by the last two games. Forget Promotion, it's about avoiding relegation now.
That looks like a bad result for Meath.
A truly abject, pathetic performance.
You'd see u-12 teams with more cohesion and penetration.
Mixed display again from Kildare. Picked off some great scores but we were far too loose at the back and went to sleep for long periods. We also butchered a handful of goal chances and Morgan O'Flaherty was fortunate enough for our second goal. Louth themselves could have had two in the first half after hitting the bar twice. Thought Johnny was a class above anyone else on the field but he appeared to pick up a heavy enough knock from a late tackle in the second half. Hopefully he'll be back for Westmeath next weekend. Conway and Leper also showed quite well today.
Truly awful display from Monaghan. Can't believe I made a 4-hour round trip for that!
In the first 15 minutes Monaghan had so many opportunities and converted so few. None of the forwards wanted to score. Kieran Hughes avoided every opportunity to have a go and time and time again the ball was passed across the field rather than heading for the posts. Keogh had an absolute stinker - I didn't have a clue what happened for the Westmeath goal, but apparently when the WM player hit the free, the keeper - thinking the ball was going over the bar - went around to get a ball for the kick-out... but the WM free went under the bar! There were at least 3 other times when he made mistakes that could have led to goals - Westmeath had a goal disallowed for square ball, but the keeper seemed stuck to the ground on that occasion.
The biggest problem for Monaghan is on the line though. There's no plan when things start to go pear-shaped. Substitutions aren't made until it's pretty much too late. And players were nowhere near their positions - i'm not sure if that's a tactic, or just a total lack of organisation - McGuinness and Hanratty were both running around the half-back/midfield area and Walshe (playing #4) was sent off from Monaghan's forward line!
It's not easy to find positives in the middle of all that... David Hughes was decent when he came on and was making himself available for short kick-outs. Ciaran Hanratty came on for the second half and was lively enough and hit a few nice points. Malone definitely looks like a player to watch and has great strength and hunger. Finlay's goal also deserves a mention - nice and low into the corner. But the positives were few and far between.
Worth mentioning that Westmeath put in a great performance themselves and hit some great points (almost all from play) and were good value for their win.
This result lands Monaghan into a real relegation battle now, and realistically, we have to get at least one point from Galway next week as I don't think we'd have much hope against Tyrone in the last game. Meath, Derry, Westmeath and Louth are all in the mix to drop, and 3 of those 4 teams have beaten us, so if it comes down to a head-to-head, we're in trouble.
So despite the good results against Kildare and Louth, Monaghan have yet to win back-to-back games, or win away from home.
Monaghan were woeful alright but I was impressed by Westmeath.
Best performances I've seen at this level from Ger Egan and David Glennon by a distance. Ran the Monaghan defence ragged and their movement gave the midfield easy options.
Win was blighted by some injuries to key players though. Kieran Gavin, Garry Connaughton, Kieran Martin and Michael Ennis all hurt.
Decent chance of staying up now. I thought we'd be dead and buried by this stage.
Quote from: Bill Haven on March 18, 2012, 07:57:18 PM
Decent chance of staying up now. I thought we'd be dead and buried by this stage.
It'll more than likely come down to your game with Derry (can't see you picking up points v Kildare). By that stage, i'd expect Derry to be on 6 points (having beaten Louth). But it's all still very tight. I think Louth will drop - 2 away games v Derry and Meath left for them. The other place is between Monaghan, Westmeath, Derry and Meath. I wouldn't be surprised with a 3 way tie, which would bring it to points difference - every score could be important for these last 2 games.
It's head to head.
If Monaghan, Meath and Westmeath are level on points, Monaghan go down on the head to head.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 18, 2012, 08:48:01 PM
It's head to head.
If Monaghan, Meath and Westmeath are level on points, Monaghan go down on the head to head.
It's only head to head if it's between 2 teams - when there's more than 2, it's scoring difference.
Monaghan were v poor today. 2-11 isn't a bad score but we missed plenty in the first half. But 1-19 shows up our defending which at times wuz non existant. The glennons and egan were constant threats because they were under little or no pressure. Westmeath tapped over point after point by just waltzin through and realistically could have scored 2 or 3 goals in the first half alone. But in fairness westmeath were v good today and the 5 point win by no means flattered them
Meath are hardly going to beat Tyrone. Not looking good for de Ryals.
Kildare - Westmeath will be a cracker
Can Kildare hang on or will another team overtake them for second place ?
Has Div 2 ever been so exciting ?
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 18, 2012, 09:01:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 18, 2012, 08:48:01 PM
It's head to head.
It's only head to head if it's between 2 teams - when there's more than 2, it's scoring difference.
Bizarre.
Monaghan have bouncebackability, at least enough for another 2 points before the inevitable slide kicks in.
Then that hammering we gave Westmeath might actually save us so. If we can lose by less than 3 against Tyrone we'll be doing alright.
Was reading on the GAA website their that Division 1 are having semi finals and then the final but Div 2 is just having the final on 29th April. Is this usually the way? I thought they did away with semi finals altogether. Kildare would probably love a second go at us.
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 19, 2012, 08:39:01 AM
Was reading on the GAA website their that Division 1 are having semi finals and then the final but Div 2 is just having the final on 29th April. Is this usually the way? I thought they did away with semi finals altogether. Kildare would probably love a second go at us.
Semifinals were brought in for Division One teams this year. I actually held out some hope Mayo might get to the league semi-final. However, I'll probably be posting in the Division 2 2013 thread next year.
I think semi-finals in a league with 8 teams in the division is ridiculous. Then there are complaints about too many games for clubs and so on, this means that some teams have games and some don't. A 10 team division and no final at all would be wiser.
Quote from: Bill Haven on March 18, 2012, 07:57:18 PM
Monaghan were woeful alright but I was impressed by Westmeath.
Best performances I've seen at this level from Ger Egan and David Glennon by a distance. Ran the Monaghan defence ragged and their movement gave the midfield easy options.
Win was blighted by some injuries to key players though. Kieran Gavin, Garry Connaughton, Kieran Martin and Michael Ennis all hurt.
Spot on Bill. David Glennon was a completely different player from the one who turned up in Omagh, he finally looked like the player he threatened to be underage. Ger Egan was a level above though, brilliant performance, he's got better with every game since he came back from injury, can he step it up again for Wednesday? Denis made some difference as well, he even looked like he could do a job full back there at the end. :D
1-19 was some score to put up with only 1 point coming from a free, memories of the Offaly league game last year, we better not flop again in our next couple of games.
Kevin Maguire is looking a real player as well in the corner and Callum McCormack did well when he came on. It's looking a lot better for Westmeath now than at the start of the league. Hopefully the injuries aren't serious, I thought Kieran Gavin looked a bit off the pace before he pulled up. All to play for now, it'll all come down to the last game against Derry I'd say, could be another winner takes all.
Congrats to Tyrone on their promotion, out-standing effort.
I'm sick of Division 2.
No matter how bad Div 2 is, Div 3 is not a wonderful prospect :(
Am I allowed to post in here now as Longford have just got the keys to Div 2 for 2013? I spose all ye boys will be marking yere games v us as a certain 2 points!!!
Our stay to Div 2 may be of a 'Wham, Bam, thank you Mam' type.
But we'll have fun travelling to the exotic places not normally seen in Jan and Feb. And we'll give a good hearty welcome in Pearse Park to our visitors.
With the help of God Meath stay in Div 2 as well as the Lakers as I always look forward to jousts with these two.
Monaghan's disaster of a campaign continues, having been up by 5 points before half time, to lose by 5 in the end... It looks like 2 relegations in two years.
My guess would be Monaghan and Westmeath both losing their last games (v Tyrone and Derry respectively), both being level on 4 points and Monaghan dropping to D3 on the basis of losing the head to head.
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 25, 2012, 04:13:07 PM
Monaghan's disaster of a campaign continues, having been up by 5 points before half time, to lose by 5 in the end... It looks like 2 relegations in two years.
My guess would be Monaghan and Westmeath both losing their last games (v Tyrone and Derry respectively), both being level on 4 points and Monaghan dropping to D3 on the basis of losing the head to head.
Update - just noticed Louth's draw with Derry - now if Louth, Westmeath and Monaghan all lost on the last day, Monaghan are most likely to survive as head to head is replaced by scoring difference.
Although part of me wonders if that would just let this management team off the hook and prolong the pain for another year.
Ask Meath there and I'd say they'll be happy enough to give yis the banty back...
Quote from: haranguerer on March 25, 2012, 04:25:42 PM
Ask Meath there and I'd say they'll be happy enough to give yis the banty back...
And I'd be more than happy to have him back. I predicted disaster when he was ousted and that's what it has been. Unless there was some super high-profile manager in the wings, there was absolutely no reason to get rid of him.
More fool you!
We've had this debate before, but to reiterate, its partly Bantys fault M'han are in this position. He didnt build for the future enough, and in truth, after a relatively successful period there was always likely to be a dip
Galway v Kildare on Easter Sunday for promotion.
Galway have home advantage but Kildare are definitely favourites. They seem to have shaken off their slow start and are now back motoring again. Fairly dismantled Westmeath today.
Quote from: haranguerer on March 25, 2012, 04:41:39 PM
More fool you!
We've had this debate before, but to reiterate, its partly Bantys fault M'han are in this position. He didnt build for the future enough, and in truth, after a relatively successful period there was always likely to be a dip
Yes, a dip was likely - a county the size of Monaghan won't maintain a team in the top flight for long periods. But things appear to be going downhill rapidly. The qualifier result against Offaly last summer and potential relegation two years in a row (or even a narrow escape on the last day) is more than just a dip... it's a nosedive.
As for Banty 'not building for the future', how many great new players has McEnaney unearthed to date? He has brought back Freeman and McQuaid, the team is still reliant on the likes of Clerkin, Lennon and Finlay... of the younger players, Banty had already brought in the likes of McManus, Kieran and Darren Hughes, Walsh, McAdam, Hanratty, Morgan... all part of the current league squad.
This notion that Banty ignored some vast amount of young talent in the county is a myth. Monaghan has a limited pool of talent - that's just the reality. McEnaney has uncovered 3, maybe 4 new players that might be up to Championship standard - that's about it.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 25, 2012, 04:54:19 PM
Galway v Kildare on Easter Sunday for promotion.
Galway have home advantage but Kildare are definitely favourites. They seem to have shaken off their slow start and are now back motoring again. Fairly dismantled Westmeath today.
Yerra, when was the last time Kildare beat Galway in a competitive fixture? Galway overwhelming favourites.
Westmeath were flat today, Kildare had too much time and space to pick their scores. McGrillen, Foley, Smith, Kavanagh and O'Connor all excelled however apart from Peter Kelly I am worried about our full-back line and not sure what McGeeney is planning.
Good display by Kildare. Not sure we learned a whole pile because Westmeath were very poor but putting up a score like that today will do the confidence no harm and good to see the likes of Kavanagh and Smith hitting form.
Thought Mick Foley had an excellent first half out around midfield and I get the impression that the return of Conway is going to be a big plus this year. His ability to bring others into play is second to none and he's well able to kick scores himself. Also great to see Dermot Earley getting a good spell out in midfield today. He definitely needs more football under his belt but there were some encouraging signs from him. We seem to be heading in the right direction but Galway in Tuam will be a much stiffer test with both teams needing the win to go up. Should be good competition for places now for that one. Presume that Leper and Flynn will be back but Flanagan and Smith did their chances no harm today.
Some talk that Galway v Kildare may be moved to Salthill.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2012, 02:48:06 PM
Why would they do that? Would they get a better crowd/atmosphere in Tuam?
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2012, 03:24:41 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2012, 02:48:06 PM
Why would they do that? Would they get a better crowd/atmosphere in Tuam?
Almost definitely but the facilities are not exactly great in Tuam. It's fairly run down. Plus I heard there was an issue with the showers after the Galway v Tyrone game recently. I'd say they are expecting a big crowd for the game with Kildare bringing a good following so maybe that's another issue. Only rumours so far though.
Kildare haven't beaten Galway since 1985 when Larry Tompkins scored the winning goal, history is against us :o
Kildare will play Galway in the Allianz Fooball League game on the 8th April in Salthill. The game was originally scheduled to be played in Tuam.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2012, 10:09:43 PM
Kildare haven't beaten Galway since 1985 when Larry Tompkins scored the winning goal, history is against us :o
Whatever happened to him? He was a class player on his day but he seemed to just vanish from the scene when he should have been in his prime...
Seriously though, looking forward to a good long weekend in Galway now. Should be a sizeable Kildare crowd if the last few matches are anything to go by.
Kildare will beat Galway handy.
It's only a matter of toggin out.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 05:59:51 PM
That's the spirit!
Quote from: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 05:59:51 PM
Sure isn't it always the same when Galway play teams from Leinster.
have to admit the implications of the drawn club final didn't even dawn on me at the time. Horrible result for Westmeath.
Would have been such a huge boost to get the Garrycastle lads back for the Derry match.
Still, two home wins on the trot gives us some grounds for hope...
Quote from: Bill Haven on March 29, 2012, 02:58:05 AM
have to admit the implications of the drawn club final didn't even dawn on me at the time. Horrible result for Westmeath.
Would have been such a huge boost to get the Garrycastle lads back for the Derry match.
Still, two home wins on the trot gives us some grounds for hope...
I'd have thought they will be back for the derry game?
ummm yeah, it's possible I may have got my dates arse-ways :-[
just seen on Twitter there Who is The Division top scorer??
Louth have darren Clarke 1-30 and O'flatherty leads Kildare with 0-24
who's top scorer for the other counties in the division?
Quote from: mattockranger on March 31, 2012, 03:34:07 PM
just seen on Twitter there Who is The Division top scorer??
Louth have darren Clarke 1-30 and O'flatherty leads Kildare with 0-24
who's top scorer for the other counties in the division?
Don't know exactly for us but I'm guessing it's Nicky Joyce.
Even though Nicky missed a game!?
Anyone have confirmed scorers!?
by my count (may or may not be accurate):
Paul Finlay 1-28
Nicky Joyce 0-17
Denis Glennon 0-14
Stephen Bray 0-25
Paddy Bradley 0-24
Peter Harte 5-4
yep I've more or less the same
kyle Coney close behind Peter Harte's 5-4 with 16points
so Darren Clarke leads the Division with 1-30 so far
Kildare have injury doubts over Daryl Flynn, Tomás Connor and most worryingly Johnny Doyle for Sunday. Leper definitely going to miss out with a groin injury.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 04, 2012, 09:47:46 AM
Kildare have injury doubts over Daryl Flynn, Tomás Connor and most worryingly Johnny Doyle for Sunday. Leper definitely going to miss out with a groin injury.
Is he a bit injury prone?
Cill Dara (v Gaillimh)
1 Shane Connolly - St Laurences
2 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
3 Hugh McGrillen - Celbridge
4 Peter Kelly - Two Mile House
5 Emmet Bolton - Eadestown
6 Brian Flanagan - Johnstownbridge
7 Morgan O'Flaherty - Carbury
8 Mick Foley - Athy
9 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurences
10 James Kavanagh - Ballymore
11 Mikey Conway - Nurney
12 Johnny Doyle - Allenwood
13 Alan Smith - Sarsfields
14 Tomás O'Connor - Clane
15 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Carbury
Galway team to play Kildare
A Faherty
K McGrath
F Hanley
C Forde
G Bradshaw
J Duane
G O Donnell
J Bergin
G Higgins
G Sice
D Burke
T Flynn
M Martin
P Conroy
M Hehir
Missing Nicky Joyce, Sean Armstrong, Danny Cummins and obviously Micheal Meehan up front. Presuming PJ and Cormac Bane are on the bench but I haven't seen it yet. Find it hard to see where the scores will come from with most of our scoring forwards not playing. We are fielding two defenders and a midfielder in the half-forward line.
HT - Meath 0-03 - 1-12 Louth
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 08, 2012, 03:11:21 PM
HT - Meath 0-03 - 1-12 Louth
jaysus..................as bad as ourselves now..........................are they throwing the game or something, louth are wowful
As things stand, according to LMFM, Meath will be relegated.
Let's hope good will come of it.
Louth 2-13
Meath 1-7
Tyrone leading Monaghan comfortably.
Westmeath leading Derry.
We're down, it seems, along with Monaghan.
I don't know if we were ever in Division Three before.
And down we go. Let the heads roll.
Westmeath stay up on -27 score difference! Great comeback and fair dues to James Dolan for playing, and then scoring the crucial goal. Westmeanth v Louth in a few weeks is looking like an interesting fixture.
Heartbreak for Galway. Kildare get penalty with last kick of the game 3 minutes into injury time to salvage a draw to take them up. Galway were about 5 seconds away from promotion. Best Galway performance in a long time. Played Kildare off the pitch during the second half. Finished Galway 0-18 to Kildare 2-12. Cracking game.
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 08, 2012, 04:10:39 PM
And down we go. Let the heads roll.
No talk of rolling heads on LMFM. They're on about a big task for "Banty and the boys" to get ready for Wicklow in the Championship but, sure we'll have Kevin Reilly and Shane O'Rourke, etc. What a load of shite. Matty is "looking forward" to the Wicklow game!
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 08, 2012, 04:14:06 PM
Heartbreak for Galway. Kildare get penalty with last kick of the game 3 minutes into injury time to salvage a draw to take them up. Best Galway performance in a long time. Played Kildare off the pitch during the second half. Finished Galway 0-18 to Kildare 2-12. Cracking game.
Get in there Johnny Doyle, Kildare much the better side in the first half but had no answer to Galway in the 2nd half with the introduction of PJ looking like the winning of the game for Galway but then came the madness and JD doesn't hide from those situations, cometh the hour...
Not wanting to make a habit of congratulating last minute disappointment, but great stuff from Galway. A back bone has been found alive and well. The line in the sand has been drawn and we are going in the right direction. Not sure how fast we'll be going forward but progress at least. it wasn't because of today that Galway aren't in division One next year.
Division 2
Pos. Team P W D L F A Pts.
1 Tyrone 7 7 0 0 11-92 1-66 14
2 Kildare 7 4 0 2 9-105 7-94 9
3 Galway 7 3 0 2 4-93 5-85 8
4 Louth 7 2 0 3 4-98 9-93 6
5 Westmeath 7 3 0 4 4-79 7-97 6
6 Derry 7 2 0 4 3-84 7-92 5
7 Meath 7 2 0 5 5-77 5-83 4
8 Monaghan 7 2 0 5 6-87 5-105 4
Banty on LMFM now.
Very disappointing.
Two one-point defeats have made the difference. (!!!)
Listen, it was wild disappointing.
Listen, our performance today was very very poor.
When Louth scored the second goal, it knocked us back.
Listen, to be fair to the lads sent off, we came out the wrong side of a couple of fracases ... Listen.
Very disappointing.
You know, listen, we made more wrong decisions that Michael Collins today.
You know, listen, it's a scenario here where everybody is drained and disappointed and .... listen, we have to take it from there.
Certainly, listen, they'll be back together next week, but listen there's nobody dead here - all that matters now is the Leinster Championship.
And that's it. The interviewer never asked him when he's f***ing off!
We'd take Banty back ;D
Unlike Meath, we only had a slither of hope before the game today of staying up, so we've gone through most of the grief process already. Nudie Hughes on Northern Sound was totally exasperated, the future looks very bleak according to Nudie, no team will have an iota of apprehension about meeting us in the championship.
Louth and Westmeath deserve credit for staying up, having been odds on favs for dropping to Div 3, congrats to both. As regards Galway not making it to Div1, its a blessing in disguise. Trying to compete up there while building a new squad is near impossible, Div2 will be of much greater benefit to a team thats rebuilding. Meath and Mon will find it difficult in Div3 too....
Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2012, 05:07:04 PM
Right again. Jinxy may i be the first to welcome you to Div 3. ;)
Quote from: ross4life on April 08, 2012, 05:01:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2012, 05:07:04 PM
Right again. Jinxy may i be the first to welcome you to Div 3. ;)
Brilliant ;D
So it's farewell to Div 2 and off to Div 3 we go.
I'm gutted, but driving home from Omagh two weeks ago I felt this was on the cards.
Where to now (other than Div 3)? What happens to Banty, judging by the tone of his interview with Brendan Cummins on LMFM, he's not planning on leaving.
Those of us who have consistently railed against Banty's style of "football" will have a wry smile this evening as we sip our Pinot Noir.
Div 3 for Meath is shocking. Galway were so close. I hope we get meath in the qualifiers again :)
Some are saying the players' body language shows they don't want to play for Banty. Others say they're just not interested, don't give a shite, etc. What's the perception of those who've been to the league matches?
Monaghan played like the outfit that they are, a div 3 outfit. No gameplan, no intensity, no leadership, no good. And in the end we didn't need the calculators to do the sums either. When eamon wuz appointed we were told he wuz going to take us to the next level. Just didn't think it would be so low so fast.
That was some finish to the game in the Wind Tunnel.
Good to see young Dermot in action and of course to see an Early tormenting Galwegians brings back many memories.
I expect the GAA are happy to see Tyrone and Kildare making the D2 Final in case Cork ad Kerry make the D1 final :D
Quote from: Hardy on April 08, 2012, 06:47:08 PM
Some are saying the players' body language shows they don't want to play for Banty. Others say they're just not interested, don't give a shite, etc. What's the perception of those who've been to the league matches?
Hardy, and I'm 100% genuine when I say this, the players deserve the lions share of the blame as far as I'm concerned.
You have to see them in the flesh to understand how gutless they have been in the last few games.
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2012, 06:46:22 PM
Div 3 for Meath is shocking. Galway were so close. I hope we get meath in the qualifiers again :)
Third time's a charm.
How long were meath in d2? They'll be odds on for promotion next year.
Where are they now in the leinster pecking order?
delighted to be proven wrong by Westmeath. I didn't give us a prayer of staying up.
I probably overestimated the quality of the opposition as much as underestimating us.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 08, 2012, 08:13:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 08, 2012, 06:47:08 PM
Hardy, and I'm 100% genuine when I say this, the players deserve the lions share of the blame as far as I'm concerned.
You have to see them in the flesh to understand how gutless they have been in the last few games.
Gutless or Headless? I think they were just not up to the task. today Louth gave them an exhibition in winning ball, carrying, passing accurately and scoring (albeit with 6 wides in the first half). Simple skills done well, not rocket science.
Personally I think too much time has gone into gym work and weight training, and not nearly enough into speed & agility, or simple ball work. Wouldn't you reef the U16 squad out of it if they gave away the ball like Meath did today?
For God's sake, 12 out of the starting 15 have had big days and big results in Croke Park before Banty's time, did they all become bad footballers in 2 years?
I would have thought the way to improve speed and agility would be in the gym?
In this age, no intercounty team can do enough work in the gym.
As for the 12 out of 15 players. Players come in and out of form, lose confidence, etc. The players are not playing well, at least not performing on the important days. Not exactly a new thing in sport.
We've just looked leaden-footed since the Kildare game.
Other teams seem to be getting fitter as the league goes on whereas we're the opposite.
Louth left us for dead yesterday.
That's what I mean, no sharpness. Last to the ball. We don't need weightlifters, we need footballers.
As for McHugh's comments, hard to stomach but difficult to disagree with. :( :(
Soft ... he called us soft ...
There's a lot of talk at the minute, Banty, County Board, Players. Who's to blame. I have been giving Banty the lion's share, and the players the benefit of the doubt. But, after looking at the "highlights" of the Louth game, there's no question in my mind that some of them don't deserve to wear the jersey. Not because they're not good enough, but because they're obviously not interested. You can make excuses for them - they don't want to play under Banty etc. but this is Gaelic Games, not soccer. Players play, they don't decide their manager. When it gets to a stage where the Meath team is being called soft, you know things are bad. We might have to wait until the end of the Championship to get the clear out (after all, nobody quits over the league) but now there's no question but that there must be a clear out. On and off the field.
Ain't Karma a Bitch.
Well done Fitzer, especially pleasing to see not only Meath go down, but also Eamon McEneaney join them in Division 3.
Still don't know how Kildare managed to escape with a draw yesterday after a wretched second half display. Got to love the way that this Kildare team simply never give in because Galway played them off the field after half time. Great to see Kavanagh and especially Smith back to near their best (who needs the Cavanman) but they were starved of ball in the second half. Connolly's kickouts went to pot and we struggled badly at midfield. Flynn didn't look fit when he came on and Leper was badly missed. Suppose it is a positive to have these weaknesses highlighted now rather than in July or August.
Fare thee well Div II.
Quote from: All of a Sludden on April 09, 2012, 09:21:15 PM
Ain't Karma a Bitch.
Well done Fitzer, especially pleasing to see not only Meath go down, but also Eamon McEneaney join them in Division 3.
That's a nice, succinct summing up of the difference between the values fostered by sport and embraced by sports people on the one hand and those whose small mindedness and poverty of spirit sport exposes on the other. But if you've never experienced success and you're a sad little begrudger, you will end up having nothing to celebrate but the losses of others.
What a sad existence that must be. Let me make it even sadder by reminding you that Meath will be back sooner or later and when that day comes, you'll still be Louth.
An awful campaign for Monaghan, but as I said earlier, maybe it's better that we drop than survive by the skin of our teeth. As long as the management team is dumped, that is. Nothing short of an Ulster title could redeem them, and let's be honest, that's not happening. Kicking Banty out without having any credible alternative in place was always a ridiculous move.
Maybe it's all set for a Banty return - I can see it now - Meath in the Division 3 Final, Finlay gets a free in the last minute... :P
... no own goal this time, though - Mark Ward won't be playing as he'll be serving a suspension for doing something stupid.
Quote from: Hardy on April 10, 2012, 09:21:15 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on April 09, 2012, 09:21:15 PM
Ain't Karma a Bitch.
That's a nice, succinct summing up of the difference between the values fostered by sport and embraced by sports people on the one hand and those whose small mindedness and poverty of spirit sport exposes on the other. But if you've never experienced success and you're a sad little begrudger, you will end up having nothing to celebrate but the losses of others.
What a sad existence that must be. Let me make it even sadder by reminding you that Meath will be back sooner or later and when that day comes, you'll still be Louth.
I know that the weekend was a particularly emotional one for Meathies but have you ever considered that Meath may be the new AIB ? Louth could be a solvent credit union.
Meath will reach the All-Ireland final in 2013 if they take Mayo's way of doing things. We were in Div 3 in 1995/1996...
I think I prefer Farandeelin's scenario to Seafoid's.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 09, 2012, 09:32:57 PM
Still don't know how Kildare managed to escape with a draw yesterday after a wretched second half display. Got to love the way that this Kildare team simply never give in because Galway played them off the field after half time. Great to see Kavanagh and especially Smith back to near their best (who needs the Cavanman) but they were starved of ball in the second half. Connolly's kickouts went to pot and we struggled badly at midfield. Flynn didn't look fit when he came on and Leper was badly missed. Suppose it is a positive to have these weaknesses highlighted now rather than in July or August.
Fare thee well Div II.
Neither do I or many people that were there for that matter!! Have to say it was one of the more dramatic and entertaining games that I have been to in the last couple of years - hopefully both team will have a decent championship this year - I wouldnt mind meeting ye again sometime in August :P Getting to August would be big progress for us but at least Mulholland seems to have us somewhat competitive again and hopefully on the right track to some tangible progress. Roll on the dry sod and fast ball.
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on April 10, 2012, 09:02:41 PM
Fare thee well Div II.
Neither do I or many people that were there for that matter!! Have to say it was one of the more dramatic and entertaining games that I have been to in the last couple of years - hopefully both team will have a decent championship this year - I wouldnt mind meeting ye again sometime in August :P Getting to August would be big progress for us but at least Mulholland seems to have us somewhat competitive again and hopefully on the right track to some tangible progress. Roll on the dry sod and fast ball.
I think Galway will be one of the dark horses come championship time. They definitely were the better team in the Kildare/Galway game. Will Michael Meehan coming back from injury this year? If he did Galway would pose a serious threat.
Quote from: thebuzz on April 11, 2012, 01:23:58 AM
Fare thee well Div II.
I think Galway will be one of the dark horses come championship time. They definitely were the better team in the Kildare/Galway game. Will Michael Meehan coming back from injury this year? If he did Galway would pose a serious threat.
He's apparently due to play some club matches soon but he hasn't been around the Galway squad in a good while now. They have more or less let him get on with things at his own pace and if he comes through the club games without a setback he will probably rejoin the squad in the next month or so. He might make the bench for the Roscommon game towards the end of May but really depends on how the club games go for him first.
That's great news for the man. Hopefully he's back for the championship and torturing defences in the summer (not Tyrones though!)
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 10, 2012, 02:13:37 PM
Meath will reach the All-Ireland final in 2013 if they take Mayo's way of doing things. We were in Div 3 in 1995/1996...
Yeah, but we'll beat them in the final :)
Westmeath's league campaign could be summarised from that game on Sunday. We were awful for half of it but when we get a run on teams and our confidence is up we are hard to stop.
Only for Maguire and Martin, Derry could have been out the gate at half time. Like the U21 game against Dublin we were caught in the traps and seemed paralysed by fear of making a balls of it. We were a different team in the second and so were Derry to be fair, I think both teams relaxed when they heard the scores from elsewhere. The sending off was the turning point though. Once we settled on using Sharry as the free man (took us f**king long enough) we started to make hay.And when we narrowed the gap to the minimum I was sure we were gonna take the points, such was the momentum we had. The goal killed any Derry resistance and we tacked on some lovely points to win out by eight, Glennon with a good few of them. He really stood out in the second half and seems to be recapturing his best form. McCormack hit a couple too after coming on and is probably suited to that impact role.
Fair play to James Dolan and Mark McCallon for togging out so soon after the hiding in Breffni and good to see Doran and Gaffey sitting with the panel. I hope there's at least one if not three more Garrycastle men to follow. We are in the very unusual situation now of not having a clue what our best 15 so it'll be interesting to see who comes out to face Louth in the first round. Fair play to them for avoiding relegation as well. You'd have got some odds off me for both to avoid relegation after when I witnessed up in Harrardstown on day 1.
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 10, 2012, 09:45:01 AM
An awful campaign for Monaghan, but as I said earlier, maybe it's better that we drop than survive by the skin of our teeth. As long as the management team is dumped, that is. Nothing short of an Ulster title could redeem them, and let's be honest, that's not happening. Kicking Banty out without having any credible alternative in place was always a ridiculous move.
That's it in a nutshell!.. Only glimmer of hope for the summer was seeing Tommy and Conor playing together..
I hope someone from HQ was in attendance to finally see how to embrace a bit of change in the pre match and half time slots.. And while we were chasing more than just the sun it was a nice change to hear!. No need for the same oul Irish CD that has been belting out at every league game for the last 20 years or that overplayed "May we never have to say goodbye" at every game in Croke Park.. (Actually instead of celebrating the winners that particular tune just adds more misery to the losers!)..
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 11, 2012, 02:37:37 AM
Quote from: thebuzz on April 11, 2012, 01:23:58 AM
Fare thee well Div II.
He's apparently due to play some club matches soon but he hasn't been around the Galway squad in a good while now. They have more or less let him get on with things at his own pace and if he comes through the club games without a setback he will probably rejoin the squad in the next month or so. He might make the bench for the Roscommon game towards the end of May but really depends on how the club games go for him first.
Yup, hes due to tog for Caltra this weekend coming so hopefully all goes well for the lad - Id say he's just glad to be getting back on a pitch again after the last couple of years of he had had to endure with injuries - I wish him well and I hope to God he has turned the corner...............