So our first defense of the Connacht title is only a few weeks away, New york are steadily improving & reading reports the yanks sure don't seem to lack confidence.
Our last visit was under the guidance of the tanned one in 2006 we managed to come away with a 8pt win.
Any views on the big match in the big apple?
Make a weekend/week \of it.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18983.0
Cue the mandatory/obligatory photo of jersey wearing supporter on the subway on the way to the Bronx appearing on the Monday papers and in the "Year of Sundays " book later on in the year.
Have to say I was always jealous of the fans flying away to NY to watch the game and go on the beer. Presume the recession has put paid to alot of that. Must have been great weekends.
A costly chore which diverts the attention of too many in Ros GAA circles away from the games . An awful lot of fundraising required to pay for this , then play a game on a concrete like surface where the danger of injuries is much higher and put in a lot of effort at too early a stage in the Championship season as defeat can't be countenanced.
If these NY crowd want to play in the Championship let them come to Ireland or else pay all the costs involved in a team going over there.
Otherwise move them around the Provinces so that a team would only have to go over there once every 31 years.
Hope we get through it without incident or injury and then concentrate on preparing for the proper Championship.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 12, 2011, 05:43:35 PM
A costly chore which diverts the attention of too many in Ros GAA circles away from the games . An awful lot of fundraising required to pay for this , then play a game on a concrete like surface where the danger of injuries is much higher and put in a lot of effort at too early a stage in the Championship season as defeat can't be countenanced.
If these NY crowd want to play in the Championship let them come to Ireland or else pay all the costs involved in a team going over there.
Otherwise move them around the Provinces so that a team would only have to go over there once every 31 years.
Hope we get through it without incident or injury and then concentrate on preparing for the proper Championship.
Yes the astro turf surface is a cause for concern & we can't afford to lose any more players to injury.
We played NY in Hyde park in 2001 & are playing there minors in Croke park on Easter sat so it wouldn't take the Connacht Gaa much effort to organize the NY Seniors over to Ireland next year?
Do you seriously expect the Connacht Blazer lads to miss out on a free all expenses paid trip to New York ? ::)
Also the NY Co Board were worried some of their players wouldnt be let back into the US again if they came here to play the game.
Let them play in the Connacht Junior championship and if they win that let them up to Senior the year after.
One of these matches you need to get over rather than look forward to. Galway were very lucky to get out of there last season and NY are very confident this time round. I dont like the Div final being so close to this match either. Like ye said injuries etc..
Quote from: ross4life on April 12, 2011, 06:10:53 PM
We played NY in Hyde park in 2001 & are playing there minors in Croke park on Easter sat so it wouldn't take the Connacht Gaa much effort to organize the NY Seniors over to Ireland next year?
Yes, but I'm sure you'll remember something that happened about 4 months after that game that meant that NY could no longer travel to Ireland to play...which of course begs the question as to what would happen if they won a game, as they've been close a few times.
I'm surprised about the begrudgery on here though, we turned the NY game in 09 into a two week holiday and would do the same if we were playing there this year...roll on 2014 - it was mighty crack. Also teams that have gone to NY have often tended to do better than expected in the rest of the championship - the Mayo team in 04 pointed to the trip as a huge bonding session that played a roll in their run to the All Ireland Final that year.
What happened about 4 months after that game to stop NY from traveling to Ireland?
Quote from: Main Street on April 12, 2011, 08:45:31 PM
What happened about 4 months after that game to stop NY from traveling to Ireland?
Security got tightened up a fair bit thanks to this friendly chap
(http://media.dumpalink.com/video/0/3339/thumb_3339_Family-Guy-Osama-bin-Laden-a3ed_01.jpg)
Good luck New York ;)
Were is the concrete pitch?? Must be a while since you were in NY, the fields rubber now!
Only injury you pick up on this pitch is like a gym burn when you slide on it, or a box in the side of the head which is similiar to a punch in Ireland.
Is Dan Doona still playing with New York??
Class footballer
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 13, 2011, 10:59:53 AM
Is Dan Doona still playing with New York??
Class footballer
He is indeed - he's well settled over there at this stage.
Dan will be NY main score getter. He had a great game last year against Galway.
I see Pat McEnaney will ref this game, nice little trip for him.
NY have his in the bag, lump on.
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 13, 2011, 01:27:38 PM
Don't be surprised if Robbie Tasker nabs a couple of goals.
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 19, 2011, 10:22:51 PM
Was he an Armagh minor from a couple of years ago?
Quote from: muppet on April 19, 2011, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 19, 2011, 10:22:51 PM
Was he an Armagh minor from a couple of years ago?
Yes, biased as I am, he was arguably one of, if not the, best Minors in the country in 2009. Had a great season for us in the Armagh league and championship but he's gone to America for at least the early part of the Summer.
Any other decent players with a bitve county experience, or highly rated youngsters like Tasker moved to NY recently that could possibly feature?
Quote from: orchard 8195 on April 19, 2011, 10:42:40 PM
Any other decent players with a bitve county experience, or highly rated youngsters like Tasker moved to NY recently that could possibly feature?
There's another from my club, Gary McCooey who starred against Crossmaglen in last year's championship and could well be involved with the NY county set-up.
What happens if New York or London actually win these games?
Are the rounds preliminary or are they actual quarter finals?
(we probably have this conversation every year so im just keeping the tradition going ;) )
If they win then they are due to play the Connacht semi final.
I'm sure London will be able to fulfill such a fixture but that other crowd would probably be unable to field a team in Ireland. ::)
Anyway let's hope NY will have their interest ended by 10pm Irish time ( 10.20 Ros time) on May day.
ppened a few years ago with the new york hurlers in the Ulster Champíonship - I think they won a game and couldn~t field then for the next game in Ireland
Quote from: laoisgaa on April 20, 2011, 05:14:23 PM
ppened a few years ago with the new york hurlers in the Ulster Champíonship - I think they won a game and couldn~t field then for the next game in Ireland
May 2006 - I got word from a colleague of yours that Derry were decimated and I lumped on in a bookies down south.
Forecast is for a week of West of Ireland weather in New York. Rubbish for the Rossie fans going over but probably great news in terms of their chances of winning the game after the inept display yesterday.
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 24, 2011, 06:07:23 PM
Forecast is for a week of West of Ireland weather in New York. Rubbish for the Rossie fans going over but probably great news in terms of their chances of winning the game after the inept display yesterday.
When is the last time you have seen us play live?? long gone are the days of big, strong, physical and athletic Roscommon team that play better in the pouring rain.
As for the fans who cares about the bad weather? i was in NY in March once when it raining everyday & it didn't stop me from having a great time.
I have to laugh at the myth which persists in the GAA world about Ros teams being full of big strong horses of bucks who love the muck and the rain.
We must be one of the lightest and smallest teams playing Inter co football today.
Quote from: ross4life on April 24, 2011, 10:00:45 PM
When is the last time you have seen us play live?? long gone are the days of big, strong, physical and athletic Roscommon team that play better in the pouring rain.
Last year's Connacht final. I was actually thinking more in terms of lack of high temperatures. It was the heat as much as anything that got Galway into trouble last year.
As for the fans who cares about the bad weather? i was in NY in March once when it raining everyday & it didn't stop me from having a great time.
I'm sure they'll still have a good time, but I can't imagine any of them will be hoping it pisses rain for the week, if its your holiday for the year you're surely going to want some decent weather.
You seem grumpy today...
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2011, 10:11:08 PM
I have to laugh at the myth which persists in the GAA world about Ros teams being full of big strong horses of bucks who love the muck and the rain.
We must be one of the lightest and smallest teams playing Inter co football today.
I don't think that myth actually exists. The forecast for Sunday in NY is dry but not particularly warm. Would think it would suit an Irish team going over, that's all.
We nned all the help we can get :-\
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 24, 2011, 10:18:26 PM
Last year's Connacht final. I was actually thinking more in terms of lack of high temperatures. It was the heat as much as anything that got Galway into trouble last year.
I'm sure they'll still have a good time, but I can't imagine any of them will be hoping it pisses rain for the week, if its your holiday for the year you're surely going to want some decent weather.
You seem grumpy today...
Quote from: Rossfan on April 24, 2011, 10:11:08 PM
I don't think that myth actually exists. The forecast for Sunday in NY is dry but not particularly warm. Would think it would suit an Irish team going over, that's all.
Well holding judgement on two watched performances is not good is it? I just checked the weather looks fairly decent http://www.accuweather.com/us/ny/new-york/10001/forecast-weekends.asp but the real killer is the high humidity that clearly got to Galway last year.
Chin up rossie, you won 7 of the 8 league games & should have more than enough to defeat NY.
Can't understand the Rossie half-pessimistic attitude towards this game! Surely to God ye'll bate these by at least 10 points.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 25, 2011, 09:51:58 PM
Can't understand the Rossie half-pessimistic attitude towards this game! Surely to God ye'll bate these by at least 10 points.
Might have something to do with Galway (Div 1 team) who struggled to beat NY last year.
Whats the spread in this one? NY missing alot of potential starters because of injury.
Spread=odds? who's missing the Armagh or Kerry forwards??
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 25, 2011, 09:58:57 PM
Might have something to do with Galway (Div 1 team) who struggled to beat NY last year.
It might, but Galway weren't defending Connacht champions. True, Longford probably would have stopped the Rossie momentum, but I cannot see anything other than an easy win for Roscommon.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2011, 04:33:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 25, 2011, 09:58:57 PM
It might, but Galway weren't defending Connacht champions. True, Longford probably would have stopped the Rossie momentum, but I cannot see anything other than an easy win for Roscommon.
Prior to the New york game last year Galway had wins over Dublin &Tyrone if it wasn't the two men getting sent off New york would have won, Yes Roscommon are defending Connacht champions this time around however that will only serve to fire up the NY lads even more.
Look out for a lad named Francie Cleary, should be playing round the half forward line. A former club mate of mine. Holds a rare distinction of having represented 3 counties- Cavan at Under 16 and Minor level, London at Senior level and New York at Senior level.
Quote from: boojangles on April 28, 2011, 12:59:30 AM
Look out for a lad named Francie Cleary, should be playing round the half forward line. A former club mate of mine. Holds a rare distinction of having represented 3 counties- Cavan at Under 16 and Minor level, London at Senior level and New York at Senior level.
If hes starting i won't be wasting $30 paying into it...He couldn't even make the Cork team last year!! Are you sure hes even in the squad?
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 01:01:40 AM
If hes starting i won't be wasting $30 paying into it...He couldn't even make the Cork team last year!! Are you sure hes even in the squad?
Cop yourself on. A very talented player when he is committed. He didnt make the Cork team for a few games alright (for personal reasons!!) but he has been training hard for this and I hope he starts and proves you wrong.
couldnt field because their players would never have got back into the USA. Same thing could happen again.
You'd have to laugh at Christy Cooney sayimg it's up to the American Government to fix the situation. ::) ::)
Maybe we could get them to sort out the Ballagh thing as well while we're at it :D
Anyhow I believe the lads have flown/are flying today .
Hopefully they wil lstill be in the Connacht Championship when flying home.
Otherwise Prenty/Christy will have to get hold of Obama :D
COME ON NEW YORK!!!!!!
Quote from: Rossfan on April 28, 2011, 01:52:41 PM
You'd have to laugh at Christy Cooney sayimg it's up to the American Government to fix the situation. ::) ::)
Maybe we could get them to sort out the Ballagh thing as well while we're at it :D
Anyhow I believe the lads have flown/are flying today .
Hopefully they wil lstill be in the Connacht Championship when flying home.
Otherwise Prenty/Christy will have to get hold of Obama :D
Yep i believe they flew out this morning, should be a good bonding trip for the lads & hopefully we can get some confidence back with a good performance & win on Sunday.
We're out there next year and I'm looking forward to it already!
There will be fierce craic if/when NY win a game!
I wonder is there anywhere online this game can be viewed?
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 28, 2011, 04:05:54 PM
Well they are playing Roscommon this year. ;)
To be honest if someone is illegal in another country why should we feel sorry for them, I never emmigrated or lived in a country I had no legal right too.
Quote from: INDIANA on April 28, 2011, 01:16:33 PM
couldnt field because their players would never have got back into the USA. Same thing could happen again.
So fck them, let them field 15 (+) players who can come and go legally. It never stopped the great flying doctor Padraig Carney.
Best of luck to ny, they will need it. Ross by 6 points minimum.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 28, 2011, 05:24:46 PM
To be honest if someone is illegal in another country why should we feel sorry for them, I never emmigrated or lived in a country I had no legal right too.
Is'nt it lucky for you that you never had to.
Best of luck to Fergie and the lads. Hopefully they'll get things back on track by Sunday evening.
Quote from: mannix on April 28, 2011, 07:18:36 PM
I'm bemused to why a Connacht man would wish luck to NY?
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 07:47:00 PM
A Rossie hater from Mayo. But at least he's being honest.
Quote from: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 07:50:36 PM
Ohh i see i thought Mayo only hated Galway?
Quote from: boojangles on April 28, 2011, 10:56:47 AM
Cop yourself on. A very talented player when he is committed. He didnt make the Cork team for a few games alright (for personal reasons!!) but he has been training hard for this and I hope he starts and proves you wrong.
:D We obviously are talking about 2 different lads
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=146984
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 28, 2011, 05:24:46 PM
Is anyone asking you to feel "sorry for them"?
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 07:55:20 PM
God you're definitely a newbie. Did you not hear about their famous rivalry/love in? Very prevalent on this site over the years.
Quote from: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 08:13:05 PM
God you're definitely a newbie. Did you not hear about their famous rivalry/love in? Very prevalent on this site over the years.
Newbie i am but a long time reader of this site, something about Ross men lining out for Mayo i believe?
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 08:20:51 PM
Quote from: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 08:13:05 PM
Newbie i am but a long time reader of this site, something about Ross men lining out for Mayo i believe?
Nah. Smokescreen. Just pure natural hatred.
Thats the trouble with FOD being Rossie manager. He's such a well respected guy that people might start to like us!
I think the hatred directed towards us at times from Roscommon fans is far in excess of anything we are able to give back. I put it down to a quarter of a century of championship beatings in Castlebar moreso than the Ballagh thing although I'm sure some here will disagree.
Its a pity this game isn't televised in a way, it could be used as a nice Community Shield type event to launch the championship every year. RTE once went over to NY to cover a Kerry v Cavan league game, so it would be do-able.
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 28, 2011, 09:46:39 PM
I think the hatred directed towards us at times from Roscommon fans is far in excess of anything we are able to give back. I put it down to a quarter of a century of championship beatings in Castlebar moreso than the Ballagh thing although I'm sure some here will disagree.
Its a pity this game isn't televised in a way, it could be used as a nice Community Shield type event to launch the championship every year. RTE once went over to NY to cover a Kerry v Cavan league game, so it would be do-able.
Luckily I was around to see the shoe on the other foot before that and never quite got the hatred thing. Personally think its a Galway/Mayo hatred v Roscommon but being honest I could care less. Played on underage Ross teams that beat Mayo and Galway sides and was privedged to see the glory days of Early, Jigger, Mcmanus etc. Back then it was the norm to support your province when your own side were out and I still see it that way. However Roscommon can only blame itself for how far back it fell and the recovery now at least is steady if slow. With the proud tradition and great support it has it should have been doing much better over the quarter century that you mentioned.
I think the hatred directed towards us at times from Roscommon fans is far in excess of anything we are able to give back.
Erm ... whatever happened this guy, Cosmo?
http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/the-rossies-dont-you-just-love-beating-them/
Looks like the light went out just as The Rossies derailed Mayo's Drive for Five ... as there doesn't seem to have been an entry since :D ;D
http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/
Nice one Spec. Says it all really.
Quote from: spectator on April 28, 2011, 10:57:13 PM
I think the hatred directed towards us at times from Roscommon fans is far in excess of anything we are able to give back.
http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/the-rossies-dont-you-just-love-beating-them/
Looks like the light went out just as The Rossies derailed Mayo's Drive for Five ... as there doesn't seem to have been an entry since :D ;D
I would have said that article backs up my point, we try to give back as much as we get but it just isn't possible! Unfortunately the light did indeed go out for that blog which is a pity as the guy was a good writer and knew his stuff as regards Mayo GAA. I think he was just too busy with work and stuff, it must take a lot of effort to keep one going. The Galway lad that couldn't spell gave it a go last year and managed about a week and packed it in. Luckily we still have Willie Joe's Mayo blog to keep us going.
bit of a longshot i know as you really need someone based in new york to answer it but ....
Anyone have any idea how New York are looking for this ?
Will they give roscommon a game ?
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 28, 2011, 11:13:15 PM
I would have said that article backs up my point, we try to give back as much as we get but it just isn't possible! Unfortunately the light did indeed go out for that blog which is a pity as the guy was a good writer and knew his stuff as regards Mayo GAA. I think he was just too busy with work and stuff, it must take a lot of effort to keep one going. The Galway lad that couldn't spell gave it a go last year and managed about a week and packed it in. Luckily we still have Willie Joe's Mayo blog to keep us going.
its a pity? his blog should have been taken down after that distasteful post back in 09
The guy is nothing more than a complete idiot & i'm sure you have more cop on not to paint all us Roscommon fans with the same brush.
living in ny so i root for the home team. if roscommon were playing anyone bar mayo,leitrim or sligo i always root for them. when i am at a game of any sort where mayo are playing i hate the guts of the opponents team and fans but will gladly have a pint and chat with them after a game. strange thing this sports fan thing.
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on April 28, 2011, 11:14:55 PM
bit of a longshot i know as you really need someone based in new york to answer it but ....
I actually didn't think New York were that bad until i saw the squad in the paper today....Some of the players weren't making there own club team here last year once the summer players were out...I'll be surprised if there is 10 points in it
Our last two meetings with NY ended 8 & 10pts wins but this time NY have better scoring forwards that would suggest it will be a tighter game. Apart of Kilkenny we don't hammer anyone & we have struggled v London over the years & i reckon this NY side are much better than London.
:o :o I've just seen on PP that the spread is 7...christmas has come early lads..Get on Ross ASAP
PP odds on a New York win is similar to the odds they had for us in the Connacht final :-\
But sure is this game not impossible to predict as no one knows what NY are going to be like, emmigration hasnt benefitted London a whole pile. Everyone assume it is huge benefit to NY but is it in reality?
I think i'll wait till i hear the team selections, will they be announced soon?
How does it prove your point?
" a good writer" ???
That article was pure hateful gutter trash talk. Most of the posts underneath condemn it. Whoever wrote should be ashamed of himself and he's certainly no loss as a "writer".
Whatever point you're trying to make you're not doing a very good job of it and if anything are contradicting yourself.
Honestly any decent club team at home would beat this NY team.... The NY team from 5 years ago would of been a lot better than this time I think
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on April 28, 2011, 11:14:55 PM
The increase in immigration advantage is probably overstated but NY must know they definitely have a chance. Galway were poor last season but were still a div 1 side who nonetheless were lucky to escape with a win out there. NY have hardly disimproved and if Ross were facing Galway in the morning the tribesmen would be definite favourites. I think (and certainly hope!) we will win but NY will defintely give us a game in answer to your question.
Quote from: ross matt on April 29, 2011, 01:10:58 AM
It gives a first hand account of the way (a minority of) Roscommon fans were carrying on that day. There was far more 'hatred' there that day than any words on a blog or forum.
" a good writer" ???
Yes, in the context of a GAA blog. He knew his stuff as regards Mayo football and his articles were worth a read. Its not the Irish Times, he has no remit to be impartial.
Whatever point you're trying to make you're not doing a very good job of it and if anything are contradicting yourself.
I'm not contradicting myself at all. To summarise my point:
The 'pure natural hatred' as stated by 'Ross Matt' imo comes mostly from the Ross side of the fence. In fairness, we give a fair bit back too (such as the article referenced) but I would say not near as much as is dished out to us (such as the events discussed in the article).
Anyway, its far too early in the year for this crack, hopefully we will be able to reopen this debate ahead of a Roscommon v Mayo Connacht Final but that is as much as I have to say on it for now...
" a good writer" ???
That article was pure hateful gutter trash talk. Most of the posts underneath condemn it. Whoever wrote should be ashamed of himself and he's certainly no loss as a "writer".
I've never read that article before but I can certainly appreciate what he is talking about. I think I've mentioned it on here that I and others around me at games versus Roscommon have experienced very similar behaviour. I know you can argue it is a minority that behaves that way but it has happened to me on more than one occasion and consequently taints my impression of Roscommon supporters. Especially so when on one of the occasions it was a teenager and his father that were hurling the personal abuse at a guy beside me. There are muppets that go to all Connacht games but when the - shall we call them - perpetrators are individuals who appear sober and ostensibly sane they are, in my experience, always from Roscommon.
Would like to take this opportunity to wish our Connacht championship neighbours the best of luck, come on New Yory New York
Quote from: baoithe on April 29, 2011, 10:15:44 AM
" a good writer" ???
I've never read that article before but I can certainly appreciate what he is talking about. I think I've mentioned it on here that I and others around me at games versus Roscommon have experienced very similar behaviour. I know you can argue it is a minority that behaves that way but it has happened to me on more than one occasion and consequently taints my impression of Roscommon supporters. Especially so when on one of the occasions it was a teenager and his father that were hurling the personal abuse at a guy beside me. There are muppets that go to all Connacht games but when the - shall we call them - perpetrators are individuals who appear sober and ostensibly sane they are, in my experience, always from Roscommon.
Thank God. I thought you were paranoid there for a minute. I think from reading this site those awful Ross supporters usually manifest themselves when Ross actually upset the apple cart and beat the "big two". Purely coincidental I'm sure. Search under posts starting with "fair play to Roscommon on their victory.... the best team won but I was sittin beside this fella and............."
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 29, 2011, 09:16:30 AM
It gives a first hand account of the way (a minority of) Roscommon fans were carrying on that day. There was far more 'hatred' there that day than any words on a blog or forum.
" a good writer" ???
Yes, in the context of a GAA blog. He knew his stuff as regards Mayo football and his articles were worth a read. Its not the Irish Times, he has no remit to be impartial.
I'm not contradicting myself at all. To summarise my point:
The 'pure natural hatred' as stated by 'Ross Matt' imo comes mostly from the Ross side of the fence. In fairness, we give a fair bit back too (such as the article referenced) but I would say not near as much as is dished out to us (such as the events discussed in the article).
Anyway, its far too early in the year for this crack, hopefully we will be able to reopen this debate ahead of a Roscommon v Mayo Connacht Final but that is as much as I have to say on it for now...
Oh I see Cosmo. You really explained your point very well there ::).
I would always have seen Galway as our real rivals to be "not liked" but as a result of the gobshiteology of some Rhubarbs after the 1993 Connacht Final I became an unliker of all things rhubarb.
A gang of what could only be described as adult imbeciles went around knocking Blue/Yellow caps off Ros kids' heads accompanied by silly grins and comments like " yeee wooooont beee neeeeedin them ana moooorrrre haw haw haw ".
I'm sure we have a few quare ones too.
Anyway back to the real subject here ... after last Saturday any pressure from expectation of a cakewalk has well evaporated and now the pressure is on us to just win the effin thing.
The pitch , the weather , the journey will all have a part to play in reducing our effectiveness but I'm still hopeful we will do it and set up a meeting with our nice neighbours to the nort East or North West of us in June.
This will also help the Connacht Council's coffers ;)
Quote from: ross matt on April 29, 2011, 11:59:09 AM
Quote from: baoithe on April 29, 2011, 10:15:44 AM
" a good writer" ???
Thank God. I thought you were paranoid there for a minute. I think from reading this site those awful Ross supporters usually manifest themselves when Ross actually upset the apple cart and beat the "big two". Purely coincidental I'm sure. Search under posts starting with "fair play to Roscommon on their victory.... the best team won but I was sittin beside this fella and............."
I'm from Sligo.
Every team has supporters that are a disgrace to their team, most of these guys are drunken yobs at 4pm throw in's
It's wrong to claim the "minority" of Roscommon fans are like this! I think Rossies showed their true colours in 2006 when they supported Mayo in Croke park.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 29, 2011, 01:05:51 PM
Every team has supporters that are a disgrace to their team, most of these guys are drunken yobs at 4pm throw in's
It's wrong to claim the "minority" of Roscommon fans are like this! I think Rossies showed their true colours in 2006 when they supported Mayo in Croke park.
Well said.
Anyways moving on from the Mayo talk,
Sweeney hoping for historic winSeamus Sweeney hails from Creeslough in County Donegal. This is his second year in charge of the New York team. In 2010 they nearly pulled off one of the biggest shocks in football championship history when they almost knocked out Galway. With the game going into injury-time the sides were level until Padraig Joyce scored a late goal and a point to rescue the Tribesmen.
Reflecting on that game against Galway 12 months ago.
"We gave it a great go but we had two men sent off and had to play the last 20 minutes with 13 men – and that told against us – but we were proud of the way we played on the day.
"We have trained very hard for this match on Sunday but our biggest problem is our lack of competitive games.
"We have most of the panel that we had last year. There are one or two new lads in the panel but it's mostly the lads from last year. We are very hopeful that we can do well, but we know the challenge that's facing us.
"Roscommon are Connacht champions, are in the Division Four League Final and St Brigids were unlucky to lose the All-Ireland club football final. That's what we are dealing with. They have some class players like Donie Shine and Senan Kilbride and we know that unless we play out of our skins we will not be able to compete with them.
"Roscommon are a team on the way up and we know that but it will be a great occasion. Roscommon have a great following and there will be a good atmosphere at the match.
"We love playing on the astro-turf pitch. Naturally we are used to it now. It gets very warm on the pitch on a hot day, that's the only drawback to it really, but I can see a lot of these pitches being developed in Ireland in the future.
"We are underdogs going into the match for sure but if you want a day in the sun you have to go to the beach, and we will be trying our very best to win this championship game on Sunday."
There was an interview with Eugene Rooney (former Mayo player and prominent Irish GAA man in New York) on mid-west at lunchtime. He reckoned that NY are weaker this year and provided that Ros take them with any degree of seriousness they should win easy enough.
Cosmo did you not read the above piece?
"We have most of the panel that we had last year. There are one or two new lads in the panel but it's mostly the lads from last year.#2
More or less the same panel that could have shocked Galway last year so how are they weaker?
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 29, 2011, 07:42:43 PM
Cosmo did you not read the above piece?
"We have most of the panel that we had last year. There are one or two new lads in the panel but it's mostly the lads from last year.#2
More or less the same panel that could have shocked Galway last year so how are they weaker?
Sure I have no idea if they're weaker or not, nobody on this side of the Atlantic does. I was just quoting Eugene Rooney.
In fairness the NY manager is hardly going to say 'we're shit this year' in the run up to the game. Rooney would know the NY GAA scene and would be fairly neutral compared to Seamus Sweeney.
I'd say Mr Rooney is judging New York on that FBD defeat to Mayo last October.
I see a couple of one time Armagh hopefuls are on the NY team.
Stephen Harold who looked good at U21 level a few years ago in midfield and Robbie Tasker who shone on the AI minor team in 2009 and for Cullyhanna v Cross last year.
If this is the standard of player joining up with NY they may not be that bad.
Quote from: Orangemac on April 29, 2011, 11:49:46 PM
I see a couple of one time Armagh hopefuls are on the NY team.
Stephen Harold who looked good at U21 level a few years ago in midfield and Robbie Tasker who shone on the AI minor team in 2009 and for Cullyhanna v Cross last year.
If this is the standard of player joining up with NY they may not be that bad.
Is the NY team named orangemac?
Was looking forward to see this Hatzer kid but was told yesterday that he is gone home. Cork club not happy with him. Way home with the pockets lined.
I wonder is Knockmore's Rory Keane still with NY? I know he was playing against Mayo in 09 anyway.
I think he may still be on the Panel. He got himself a senior championship medal with Leitrim NY last year. Tough defender.
By the way Weather going to be kind to the Rossies. Suns out but nice breeze blowing, might take the boots over myself see could i get a runout. Great day for a game.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2011, 03:42:35 PM
I wonder is Knockmore's Rory Keane still with NY? I know he was playing against Mayo in 09 anyway.
its dermott keane and i do not think he is on the panel
Alot of money placed on New York, only 9/2 with Paddypower now.
Anyone know if the game's being broadcast?
Rite lads get a link up there will yas till we listen to this
Ros 0-3 NY 0-0
shannonside fm link is not working
9 mins gone
ros 0-4
NY 0-1
14 mins gone
Ros 0-5
NY 0-1
NY lumping the ball into FF line
Thats disappointing...no radio link :(
try it
http://shannonside.ie/ (http://shannonside.ie/)
Ros 0-6
NY 0-1
jees bad form for shannonside not to net link working this weekend of the yr, Roscommon look certs to win based on that score start, looks like NY are going to disappoint..
Ros 0-7
NY 0-1
last two points for Donie Shine. one from free other from play
One way traffic. NY haven't got a kick since I turned the radio on.
8-1 now
Goal. Game over-Willie in hysterics
Another goal 2-8 to 0-1
Ros 0-8
NY 0-1
point for Devanney
Ros half backs hoovering up ball - Ward especially
GOAL for Ros
1-8
0-1
Senan Kilbride.
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on May 01, 2011, 08:21:35 PM
8-1 now.
Game over, Roscommon big favs to beat Sligo or Leitrim now
another goal for Ros
2-8
0-1
looking good for the rossies 2-8 0-1 :o
2-8
0-2
2-8
0-3
goal chance for NY
23 mins gone
2-8
0-4
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 01, 2011, 08:22:45 PM
8-1 now.
Radio link sligoion???
Quote from: bigfrank on May 01, 2011, 08:26:52 PM
8-1 now.
Radio link sligoion???
link not working
http://powerlink.powerstream.net/002/00187/live2.asx (http://powerlink.powerstream.net/002/00187/live2.asx)
2-8
0-5
NY coming into it
Quote from: bigfrank on May 01, 2011, 08:26:52 PM
8-1 now.
Radio link sligoion???
No cant get game either, waste of time listening anyways now, game over, ros home and dried, NY soundbites all week total shitetalk like us before connacht final, Roscommon will be favs now against us or Leitrim which is probably no bad thing for us if we get there
2-9
0-5
Ian Kilbride point.
Ros 2-10
NY 0-5
Donie Shine from play
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/21737/
This is handy wee site...keeping things up to date althou neil is doing a mighty job!!
half time
2-10
0-5
Looking good so far but it's not over as we fade out of matches for 20/30mins
Love how Sligonian is trying to play down Sligo :D everyone knows they will be huge favourites & will beat us pulling up.
Quote from: ross4life on May 01, 2011, 08:42:55 PM
Love how Sligonian is trying to play down Sligo :D everyone knows they will be huge favourites & will beat us pulling up.
::) Guarntee ye'll be bookies, media and pundits favs when the time comes :)
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 01, 2011, 08:45:28 PM
wouldn't expect anything less
we're Connacht champions - remember that game in Castlebar??? ;)
Have you seen the odds for Leitrim v Sligo & where about the same level as them ;)
Sligo will have to cope with the fav tag again :)
2nd half underway
Ros 2-11
NY 0-5
fisted point by Donie Shine
Quote from: neilthemac on May 01, 2011, 08:47:29 PM
wouldn't expect anything less
we're Connacht champions - remember that game in Castlebar??? ;)
Painfully so, still a fresh wound :(
Yere defintly my favs for connacht again
Quote from: ross4life on May 01, 2011, 08:53:01 PM
Have you seen the odds for Leitrim v Sligo & where about the same level as them ;)
Sligo will have to cope with the fav tag again :)
great logic there :D, your fellow county man Neil disagrees with u ross4life
Donie Shine going off injured last thing we needed :-\
2-12
0-6
point for E Kenny (blood sub for Shine)
2-12
0-7
score from a sideline ball for NY
2-11 to 6 last I saw. NY have the breeze. Fair play to Ross but I wont rest easy till this one is over.
blood sub is a nothing injury prob come back on, r4l
2-13
0-7
Senan Kilbride with a 'wonder' score according to Willie Heg
GOAL for NY
2-13
1-7
Killian O'Connor
GOAL for Ros
3-13
1-7
Cathal Cregg.
Can't mark Dan Doona can you imagine what the Sligo forwards will do to our FB line :(
shot hits crossbar for NY... and bounces down.
was it over the line?
like the game in White Hart Lane according to Willie!
Shine has stayed off
Kenny playing well
Ros 3-13
NY 1-8
Fergie was obviously right to rest Senan the last day after he got the league final goal.
3-14
1-8
point for Donal Ward
3-15
1-8
point for Domican - the full back!
3-17
1-8
Scores for Mannion and Devanney
big Seamie O'Neill being brought on
Good auld shaq back in championship action
3-19
1-8
Cregg tsking scores
Shaq tags on a score :)
3-21
points for Senan Kilbride and Shaq
Good win, good game to get the confidence back..real championship starts in 6 weeks but the one question how bad were Galway last year?
Us letting in 1-11 to that lot (they could have scored more) is a worry hopefully Sligo keep their end of the bargain & give us a trip to sunny Carrick on Shannon in June
Is 3-21 Rosses highest ever championship score, or is 24 scores their highest ever number of scores in a champ game?
Must be close to it.
Final score 3.21 to 1.11.
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on May 01, 2011, 09:39:39 PM
Is 3-21 Rosses highest ever championship score, or is 24 scores their highest ever number of scores in a champ game?
Must be close to it.
We beat London 4-18 to 0-10 in 2000 then lost our next game to Leitrim at home & i also remember us beating them by near 30 pts in the early 90s
Well done Rossies on the huge win, i know as they say "lighting doesn't Strike twice" but who knows you might shock Sligo again?
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 01, 2011, 09:56:42 PM
Well done Rossies on the huge win, i know as they say "lighting doesn't Strike twice" but who knows you might shock Sligo again?
Ah that made me laugh
Kelly our best forward is injured, johnny davey inj aswell, roscommon have added senan kilbride, huge swing alone that. But one thing i will say roscommon will have to play more than one good game this yr to win anything ;).
Quote from: ross4life on May 01, 2011, 09:35:48 PM
Good win, good game to get the confidence back..real championship starts in 6 weeks but the one question how bad were Galway last year?
Us letting in 1-11 to that lot (they could have scored more) is a worry hopefully Sligo keep their end of the bargain & give us a trip to sunny Carrick on Shannon in June
But as Ross4life says above hes expecting to go to Carrick on Shannon not Markievicz Park so he even rates Leitrim higher than us so that counts as us underdogs in that game aswell :).
Nail on head from blowitup & Sligonian, Kelly will be back for the Semi while Davey must be 50 at this stage? you'll be underdogs alright...........but only in the final v Mayo.
Must be close to it.
Dunno. Maybe check the result of the 1980 connacht final when we beat Mayo by a large margin.
Well done to Fergie and the lads on an efficent and focussed performance. Not easy considering the bad result in the league final, the unusual nature of this tie in terms of travel and how well NY played last season v Galway. 1-11 is still alot to conceed against them but in fairness Ross made brought on 5 subs near the end I believe. Connacht championsip campaign back on track now for them and provided there is no collapses like the Longford match then they will very competitive this season.
Quote from: neilthemac on May 01, 2011, 09:15:50 PM
3-15
1-8
point for Domican - the full back!
I miss Marty Morrissey.
Congratulations Roscommon on a fine win. A great score to put up against any opposition.
Would say there was a quare session in NY last night with the news of Bin Laden's death filtering through as well!
Quote from: new devil on April 29, 2011, 12:07:44 AM
:o :o I've just seen on PP that the spread is 7...christmas has come early lads..Get on Ross ASAP
Hope you's all listened ;)
Quote from: new devil on May 02, 2011, 11:13:46 AM
Pardon my ignorance i'm new to the betting scene but how does that spread bet work?
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 02, 2011, 11:52:48 AM
Pardon my ignorance i'm new to the betting scene but how does that spread bet work?
Esentily NY had a seven point head start. For you to get money back on a Ros win they had to beat NY by at least 8 points.
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 02, 2011, 12:02:18 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 02, 2011, 11:52:48 AM
Esentily NY had a seven point head start. For you to get money back on a Ros win they had to beat NY by at least 8 points.
Cheers, i should have popped a few pound on then :( so how much did people win?
Some videos posted by a fellow rossie.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55ddyTjbQ_0 Micheal Finneran (opening score)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7ZMwsC9fb4 Donal Shine point
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLBBOE8VGFw Kevin Higgins goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kAcK29E2DA Senan Kilbride goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFk7jp4B0TQ Cathal Cregg goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uA72w6UB24 Peter Domican Point
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJK0ffOk494 Conor Devanney point
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lAjwygCAw8 trademark Shaq point
Good win there, well done to all. Thanks for the coverage links to whoever put them up btw.
The biggest score i've seen Ros put up, including # of scores also, was in the 1980 preliminary round when we hit London for 9-19 in The Hyde, with Tony Mac and Mick Finneran both scoring hat-tricks. We scored 6-11 in the second half of that game.
Galway went for 1-14 in the semi, while Mayo were dispatched for 3-13 to clinch 4-in-a-row Connachts that year also.
We kicked 2-20 against Armagh in the AISF that year, hitting them for 2-13 in the second half alone.
And probably our biggest ever challenge win came in that year also, when we blitzed the Dubs (John O'Leary in goals!) by 9-15 to 1-6 in The Hyde. 6-9 of that came in the second half.
The Ros certainly didn't sit back when they had their opponents on the ropes back then.
Mick Finneran kicked 5-20, Tony Mac 6-7, Jigger 3-15 and Dermot Earley 1-13 in that year's championship.
Not a bad year, 1980, even if the spoilsport Kerrymen went and spoiled it all at the death.
*Warning: Sligonian look away ;)
I remember seeing us scoring something like 3-24 in a rout of Sligo at Tubbercurry back around then also, but that may have been an U-21 championship game.
And for balance our lowest score was probably 1 point v Gaway in the c'ship in 1968 or 69 in Ballinasloe.
I've never seen a pitch with so many lines.
Those videos show how weak new York are, they probably could give Kilkenny a game though.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on May 02, 2011, 04:39:03 PM
And for balance our lowest score was probably 1 point v Gaway in the c'ship in 1968 or 69 in Ballinasloe.
Not so I'm afraid TJ. While 1969 was bad, 0-8 to 0-1, at least we raised a flag ... unlike the dark day in 1933 when we went down to the Tribesmen by 2-10 to 0-0.
I think Galway are the only team to have held us scoreless in championship, although the Mayoites gave us an early kicking by holding us to a single point twice, in 1904 (Ballina v Elphin) & 1921.
Lovely Leitrim got in on the act in 1923 when trimming us 2-5 to 0-1. And Sligo have managed to hold us to two points on two occasions in 1922 & 1925.
And just to add to our house of pain, while we might enjoy having beaten Kerry at all grades when it comes to the silverware side of things, they also held us to a point in the 1914 AISF winning by 2-4 to 0-1.
Jeez, but it's a slippery slope once you start down it ... that's more than enough of that for now I reckon ;)
I meant in ETJ time - era Tatler Jack!! I was in Ballinasloe on that painful day.
Anyway thanks for the rundown on the other maulings - its no wonder we have broad shoulders!!
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 01, 2011, 09:56:42 PM
To be fair it won't be much of a shock if they beat Sligo again. More a shock this year if Sligo manage to get to the Connacht final in my opinion.
Well we survived our New york game with consumate ease to say the least of it despite the portents of gloom and pessimism doing some rounds last week.
Who remembered the Longford game Sunday night?
However the real Championship starts now and no doubt Sligo will be smarting for revenge for us spoiling 2010 for them. I know Laythrum will have something to say but if Sligo can't overcome them ....
So it's 6 weeks of quiet preparation for us lads as we leave the GAAboard to the Rhubarbs to fill 50 pages or so before their g ame with London.
Tatler and Spectator .. no more of those horror stories please ... but at least it makes the 2005 to 2008 years look not too bad :-[
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 02, 2011, 05:24:19 PM
I've never seen a pitch with so many lines.
Can't believe that in 2011 the GAA is still depending on pitches like that - if you were watching it in B&W you'd swear it was from the 1930's. Is that the best show we can put on in our "global" promotion of GAA?
Why don't New York play London in the Connacht championship? at least one of them would get a win every 6 years.
Didn't prove me wrong!!
Quote from: new devil on May 03, 2011, 11:03:19 PM
Didn't prove me wrong!!
Reading the report Cleary didn't start & only came on with 20mins to go when the game was long over.
Yea it says it all about New York when lads who couldn't make there club teams here last summer were playing for New York on Sunday...Think its about time they pulled out of the All Ireland championship and join the North American board and let there teams compete in the North American championships