It would be nice for Mayo to finish off the league with a win in Monaghan but I think that there is still experimenting and tweaking to do so I would expect to see a few changes from the Cork game.
Do more of the experimenting and less of the tweaking.
I bet if i asked 10 Mayo fan's here to pick a championship team they would pick 10 different teams.
Real dead rubber fixture for Mayo but Monaghan are fighting relegation so they should win this.
I would expect several changes again on the Mayo team. Dillon seemed to 'tweak' a hamstring and will sit this one out I d say. the everpresent one could also do with a bit of time off. Important thing this year with Andy is to keep him fresh for later. No use him playing like a rag again in Summer. Maybe SOS might be able for a bit of a game by now. There s loads of options for this one in general and without pressure for staying up gone, and fellas feeling good about themselves, we actually could put in a very good performance.
Quote from: ross4life on April 04, 2011, 11:15:21 PM
I bet if i asked 10 Mayo fan's here to pick a championship team they would pick 10 different teams.
Real dead rubber fixture for Mayo but Monaghan are fighting relegation so they should win this.
Very few championship teams known at this stage. Anyone who didn't start against Cork and doesn't start against Monaghan should keep an eye on the exit door. I'd be curious to see who he takes the chance to have a look at. I'm guessing we might see starts for David Clarke, Cathal Hallinan, Eoghan Reilly, James Burke and, injury depending, Trevor Howley and Donal Vaughan in defence. Midfield might see two from Jason Gibbons, Barry Moran, Seamus O'Shea and Tom Parsons. In the forward line Aidan Campbell, Enda Varley, Mark Ronaldson and, injury permitting, Neil Douglas may get a run out but I hear that Ronnie is very close to being dropped from the panel.
If I had to pick a championship team based on what we've seen up to now, I'd go with something like this
Hennelly
Hallinan A Feeney Higgins
R Feeney G Cafferkey AN Other
R McGarrity J Kilcullen
A Moran A O'Shea A Dillon
K McLoughlin A Freeman J Doherty
Left-half back is really wide open. Burke, Vaughan, Howley, Gardiner, Ruaidhri O'Connor and possibly Keegan all in contention. I think Hallinan might just squeeze out Cunniffe but it is hard to say that with any certainty. His flexibility means him and Alan Feeney can play in the full-back line together. Higgins, Richie Feeney and Ger Caff are nailed down starters while I would see more in Robbie Hennelly's all round game than David Clarke's but it is good to have two great keepers to be picking from.
I really liked Kilcullen the last day. I think that was the game where he announced himself and I think Aidan O'Shea was immense too and both of them bring much needed physicality into our play. So what to do with Ronan, our best performing midfielder this year? I'd play the three of them. Slot Aidan into the half-forward line - actually if you noticed in yesterday's game when Cork had the ball Andy tracked Alan O'Connor and Aidan switched up onto Noel O'Leary so it is quite possible to formalise that arrangement. Dillon and Andy are obvious shoo-ins by now.
I like the job McLoughlin did yesterday. He has a good football brain on him which is crucial in a seventh defender and, as Moysider rightly identified, he went where he was needed - that perceptiveness only comes from someone who has a good football brain. Peadar doesn't quite have that and I think Horan will look to play a seventh defender and he is probably better off bringing him out from 13 rather than from 10 although it was the same outcome yesterday with O'Connor dropping from 13 to the half-forward line and McLoughlin going back. The rest of the full-forward line picks itself.
Not only 10 different teams. There would be huge changes in personnel from one to another. But you could say the same of most counties. Roscommon too I would expect.
Monaghan may be fighting a losing battle against relegation, but that brings it s own problems and they have been fighting this battle since the league started. On the other hand, there will be changes to the Mayo selection. And everybody knows that there still is no Mayo team so expect some very hungry lads to start that will be putting a marker down for later. There are a few that did not start against Cork that wont be happy being overlooked the last day when subs were being introduced ( with good reason too) and they ll be playing it for real the next day. Expect a Mayo win.
God knows what team will be put out V monaghan
but i would expect to see douglas Varley S o Se barry moran maybe donal vaughan all get a run
but this is the team i would expect to line out for the firsat round of the championship
D Clarke
Cunniffe A Feeney Higgins
R Feeney t howley K McLoughlin
R McGarrity A o Sé
A Campbell So sé A Dillon
A Moran A Freeman J Doherty
and this one for the game against galway
D Clarke
Cunniffe R Feeney Higgins
D vauhan T howley K McLoughlin
R McGarrity s o se
A Moran a o sé A Dillon
A Freeman b moran t mortimer
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 04, 2011, 11:33:46 PM
Very few championship teams known at this stage. Anyone who didn't start against Cork and doesn't start against Monaghan should keep an eye on the exit door. I'd be curious to see who he takes the chance to have a look at. I'm guessing we might see starts for David Clarke, Cathal Hallinan, Eoghan Reilly, James Burke and, injury depending, Trevor Howley and Donal Vaughan in defence. Midfield might see two from Jason Gibbons, Barry Moran, Seamus O'Shea and Tom Parsons. In the forward line Aidan Campbell, Enda Varley, Mark Ronaldson and, injury permitting, Neil Douglas may get a run out but I hear that Ronnie is very close to being dropped from the panel.
If I had to pick a championship team based on what we've seen up to now, I'd go with something like this
Hennelly
R McGarrity J Kilcullen
Left-half back is really wide open. Burke, Vaughan, Howley, Gardiner, Ruaidhri O'Connor and possibly Keegan all in contention. I think Hallinan might just squeeze out Cunniffe but it is hard to say that with any certainty. His flexibility means him and Alan Feeney can play in the full-back line together. Higgins, Richie Feeney and Ger Caff are nailed down starters while I would see more in Robbie Hennelly's all round game than David Clarke's but it is good to have two great keepers to be picking from.
I really liked Kilcullen the last day. I think that was the game where he announced himself and I think Aidan O'Shea was immense too and both of them bring much needed physicality into our play. So what to do with Ronan, our best performing midfielder this year? I'd play the three of them. Slot Aidan into the half-forward line - actually if you noticed in yesterday's game when Cork had the ball Andy tracked Alan O'Connor and Aidan switched up onto Noel O'Leary so it is quite possible to formalise that arrangement. Dillon and Andy are obvious shoo-ins by now.
I like the job McLoughlin did yesterday. He has a good football brain on him which is crucial in a seventh defender and, as Moysider rightly identified, he went where he was needed - that perceptiveness only comes from someone who has a good football brain. Peadar doesn't quite have that and I think Horan will look to play a seventh defender and he is probably better off bringing him out from 13 rather than from 10 although it was the same outcome yesterday with O'Connor dropping from 13 to the half-forward line and McLoughlin going back. The rest of the full-forward line picks itself.
I d like to see something like this starting against Monaghan. We ll give Clarkey a game. Hennelly has been something else though imo. He can go on to be a legend. He s seems to have a mad streak too that all top keepers need. I d rest Andy and Dillon (probably injured anyway) but keep the core intact besides to give others a reasonable shape to stake a good claim.
Clarke
Cunniffe, Feeney/Hallihan Barrett
Feeney, Caff Burke
AOS SOS
Campell, Freeman, McLoughlin
Varley Kilcoyne Doherty
Quote from: moysider on April 04, 2011, 11:38:09 PM
Not only 10 different teams. There would be huge changes in personnel from one to another. But you could say the same of most counties. Roscommon too I would expect.
Monaghan may be fighting a losing battle against relegation, but that brings it s own problems and they have been fighting this battle since the league started. On the other hand, there will be changes to the Mayo selection. And everybody knows that there still is no Mayo team so expect some very hungry lads to start that will be putting a marker down for later. There are a few that did not start against Cork that wont be happy being overlooked the last day when subs were being introduced ( with good reason too) and they ll be playing it for real the next day. Expect a Mayo win.
Maybe i was picked up wrong? Horan has used the league to test out new players as result the strength in depth Mayo have now is near impossible to pick a first 15 for the Championship.
On the other hand we'll be doing well to field a decent 15 come the championship.
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2011, 12:04:11 AM
Hennelly
R McGarrity J Kilcullen
I d like to see something like this starting against Monaghan. We ll give Clarkey a game. Hennelly has been something else though imo. He can go on to be a legend. He s seems to have a mad streak too that all top keepers need. I d rest Andy and Dillon (probably injured anyway) but keep the core intact besides to give others a reasonable shape to stake a good claim.
Clarke
Feeney, Caff Burke
AOS SOS
Varley Kilcoyne Doherty
why would you move freeman out of a position that he has been so sucessfull in and mayo have had trouble filling for 30/40 years or so?? beggars belief
i kinda agree with the sheepsstealer mayo now have so may options its going to be very difficult to find their best 15 unless its as v long summer and then connor mort should be ready for september!!!
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2011, 01:26:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2011, 12:04:11 AM
Hennelly
R McGarrity J Kilcullen
Clarke
Feeney, Caff Burke
AOS SOS
Varley Kilcoyne Doherty
why would you move freeman out of a position that he has been so sucessfull in and mayo have had trouble filling for 30/40 years or so?? beggars beliefi kinda agree with the sheepsstealer mayo now have so may options its going to be very difficult to find their best 15 unless its as v long summer and then connor mort should be ready for september!!!
I was picking Freman there on the possibility Andy and Dillon might be rested. Kilcoyne and Varley probably need some game time. Freeman can play out there and for much of the last day did play a deep role with O Connor and Doherty inside on their own.
My team for the championship would be as follows:
Clarke
Vaughan A Feeney Higgins
R Feeney G Cafferkey Howley
R McGarrity A O' Shea
A Moran Dillon Mcloughlin
O' Connor A Freeman J Doherty
Hennelly doing well in goal but for 3 games in a row the high ball in has led to panic stations in the small square....very worrying. Dont think anyone who has been tried to date are up to Vaughan and Howleys standard. They are no Thomas or Mark O' S but they are the best of what we have available. Howley will make a way better wing back than centre half. Forwards are picking themselves. I see O'Connor and Doherty as the 2 inside men with Freeman coming deep. He seems to play a lot better when he is out the field a bit.
What kind of team do monaghan have available? Is hughes, lennon, finlay back?
QuoteIf I had to pick a championship team based on what we've seen up to now, I'd go with something like this
Quotethis is the team i would expect to line out for the firsat round of the championship
QuoteI d like to see something like this starting against Monaghan
QuoteMy team for the championship would be as follows
I tell ye lads. If there is ever a GAA version of Championship Manager the Mayo lads on here would walk it. ;D
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2011, 01:26:32 AM
why would you move freeman out of a position that he has been so sucessfull in and mayo have had trouble filling for 30/40 years or so?? beggars belief
Says the man who puts Howley CB!? ::) :D
Quote from: haranguerer on April 05, 2011, 01:17:24 PM
What kind of team do monaghan have available? Is hughes, lennon, finlay back?
Hughes and possibly Finlay will be back, Lennon is out. Moral is not good in our camp but our backs are to the wall big time.. The fact that we need Galway to beat the Dubs and Cork to beat Armagh make it a lot harder but all our boys can do is go out and win the game.. The Galway game was a false dawn for us and then our shooting let us down big time in the subsequent games. We *should* be home and dry at this stage but that don't mean nothin!
Quote from: ross4life on April 05, 2011, 12:40:56 AM
Maybe i was picked up wrong? Horan has used the league to test out new players as result the strength in depth Mayo have now is near impossible to pick a first 15 for the Championship.
On the other hand we'll be doing well to field a decent 15 come the championship.
Picked you up wrong?? Nah, I don't think us ever-patient and level-headed Mayo heads would ever think of it! ;D
But, with regards to Horan's dilemmas, having too many possibles and not enough certs can be a problem too. He's bringing his side along nicely- same as O'Donnell did for ye last year, if you recall.
It took Pat Gilroy a couple of seasons to get a settled side together and the same happened with Conor Counihan. James H is ticking a lot of boxes at the mo but only the championships will tell if hed has got the mix right yet.
BTW; WTF is happening with ye sheepophiles this year? Ye won Connacht fair and square last year and I thought Fergie would build on that. I figured Ross would be the team to beat for the rest of us in Connacht for a few years to come- he has a fine crop from the u21s over the last few years and he should be making shapes with them by now but the form in the league has been anything but impressive.
Any idea what the reason is?
BTW; WTF is happening with ye sheepophiles this year? Ye won Connacht fair and square last year and I thought Fergie would build on that. I figured Ross would be the team to beat for the rest of us in Connacht for a few years to come- he has a fine crop from the u21s over the last few years and he should be making shapes with them by now but the form in the league has been anything but impressive.
Any idea what the reason is?
You do know we got relegated last year losing 6 of our 7 league games prior to the Championship? this year has been a improvement but playing in Div 4 is not easy it's like trying to eat 3/4 rhubarb pies after a feed of drink!
Yes we had decent U21 teams over the years but we didn't win 4 Connacht titles in a row like ye did & 3 in row in Minor
It's Mayo's connacht title to lose this year! while we hope you don't have to wait another 9/10 years for another title.
There is a lot of talk on Mayo threads about "finding our best 15" and "knowing our best 15" for championship.
Im not sure do I agree with that idea.
Instead of knowing our best 15, I would be happy with knowing our best 23, 25 or even 30 guys that could do the job or simply know what position they play best in.
We are in a much better situation, with a serious battle for every position on the team, than knowing exactly how we will line of for championship and thus being easy to read tactically and counteract.
Maybe in the past we have been too afraid experiment early in the league and FBD and we have been found out later in the season where we used to play Howley at CB or play Andy Moran and Parsons in the FF line etc.
Under JOM and previous managers we seem to have waisted time getting to league finals and even the later stages of the AI series without actually knowing our own strengths and weaknesses, and without blooding enough new players.
At least now we have a selection nightmare where everyone is fighting for their chance and pushing each other on.
I would much rather this current situation, that in the past where you had certainties for championship with nobody seriously pushing for places.
Instead of a settled team, we could be going towards a system where potentially the selection could interchange throughout the year where we would use a horses for courses approach.
There are days, pitches and conditions that would suit AOS and Kilcullen in the middle, as there are days that would suit McGarrity and perhaps Jayo Gibbons.
Why write players off for a season ?
A settled 15 does not always have to be the best 15
I would be inclined to agree with the above.
I also can t see the sense in fellas pickin players for the championship who have n t kicked a ball in some time. I m sure they ll get a chance to stake a claim but their form the last time they played championship left something to be desired - ach sin scéal eile.
I d just like to point out as well that my selection earlier post was just for the Inniskeen game - nothing more. It was based on lads being injured, possibly rested and others that could do with a start. As abbeysider points out its about developing as many players as possible tp do a job later on.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 05, 2011, 01:29:29 PM
I tell ye lads. If there is ever a GAA version of Championship Manager the Mayo lads on here would walk it. ;D
You'd want a new one every year!
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=145742 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=145742)
Jaysus.. I wish it was easter weekend and we could then expect a few miracles...
Can any of the Monaghan lads tell me why the game is being played in Inishkeen?
It seems to be a very isolated spot and hard enough to get to?
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 06, 2011, 11:03:17 AM
It is. There seems to be this notion that Monaghan like playing teams in Inniskeen, maybe after the Tyrone game there last year. Clones is the allocated county ground but Inniskeen seems to overrule that decision. It's a great setup,don't get me wrong. Maybe the county board feel (and arguably rightly so) that it deserves reward for it's investment. It's my understanding though that the money made from selling the original ground in Inniskeen more than paid for the new development.
I'm a Monahan man living in Belfast and it's handier for me to get to Inniskeen than folk from North Monaghan, so I'm not compaining.. It's a lovely part of the drumlin countryside too..
Monaghan is a lovely part of Ireland.
I see Damien Freeman has retired, that's a real pity, he's been a great player for Monaghan. I suppose we have Dessie Mone there now, but the older Freeman will be a loss to the team.
As a Louth man I'm delighted Monaghan play their games in Inniskeen top class football on our doorstep!
pleasure to bring the young lads to see Star and the boys last week long may it continue!
Dessie Mone is a very poor replacement for D Freeman imho.
Also, with regard to Iniskeen, isnt it a hangover from Bantys policy of 'bringing the football to the people' :D? Which sceptics suggested was closer to 'we could be exposed in the wide open spaces of clones, so lets play somewhere else' :P
Quote from: haranguerer on April 06, 2011, 01:17:24 PM
Also, with regard to Iniskeen, isnt it a hangover from Bantys policy of 'bringing the football to the people' :D? Which sceptics suggested was closer to 'we could be exposed in the wide open spaces of clones, so lets play somewhere else' :P
Maybe.. but I never bought into that notion. The smaller venues are and advantage from a support point of view i.e. closer to the action giving more enouragement to the players but a team like Monaghan with smaller faster players suits the 'wide open spaces' of Clones better IMHO..
Quote from: mattockranger on April 06, 2011, 01:17:14 PM
As a Louth man I'm delighted Monaghan play their games in Inniskeen top class football on our doorstep!
pleasure to bring the young lads to see Star and the boys last week long may it continue!
No doubt, the closer one gets to Louth, the windier it gets.
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 05, 2011, 03:24:09 PM
There is a lot of talk on Mayo threads about "finding our best 15" and "knowing our best 15" for championship.
Im not sure do I agree with that idea.
Instead of knowing our best 15, I would be happy with knowing our best 23, 25 or even 30 guys that could do the job or simply know what position they play best in.
We are in a much better situation, with a serious battle for every position on the team, than knowing exactly how we will line of for championship and thus being easy to read tactically and counteract.
Maybe in the past we have been too afraid experiment early in the league and FBD and we have been found out later in the season where we used to play Howley at CB or play Andy Moran and Parsons in the FF line etc.
Under JOM and previous managers we seem to have waisted time getting to league finals and even the later stages of the AI series without actually knowing our own strengths and weaknesses, and without blooding enough new players.
At least now we have a selection nightmare where everyone is fighting for their chance and pushing each other on.
I would much rather this current situation, that in the past where you had certainties for championship with nobody seriously pushing for places.
Instead of a settled team, we could be going towards a system where potentially the selection could interchange throughout the year where we would use a horses for courses approach.
There are days, pitches and conditions that would suit AOS and Kilcullen in the middle, as there are days that would suit McGarrity and perhaps Jayo Gibbons.
Why write players off for a season ?
A settled 15 does not always have to be the best 15
Ah don't ruin it for us AbbeySider, we'd be lost without the bit of fun of picking the championship team. I must have picked a team at ten different stages now since November and I would hate to be reminded of some of the selections!
I would agree with you in the sense that we are certainly not served having our strongest fifteen nailed at any particular stage, like what happened last year. Options, competition etc will keep everyone on their toes. No doubt Ronan McGarrity can't wait to get back now after seeing how the midfield did the last day. After the Dublin game he was probably thinking he had number 8 in the bag. The current outcome is much more desirable. I'm not sure how far I would take the horses for courses approach though. Generally we ought to have a reasonably settled team with the knowledge that if a guy is starting is playing poorly, that there is proven quality there to replace him with. But, that aside, we would need a certain amount of continuity in our championship team in my opinion.
The bookies are calling an even game.
Cork are 1-5 to beat Armagh whilst Galway, our benefactors in the survival stakes, are 13-8 to beat the Dubs.
If Mayo bring their league form then you'd have to say the game is theirs. With Monaghan possibly having greater motivation to win, might be a factor, but you still need a team to carry that off. Mayo just won't turn up and let that happen and we will have to improve greatly on recent performances.
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 06, 2011, 12:09:13 PM
It is. There seems to be this notion that Monaghan like playing teams in Inniskeen, maybe after the Tyrone game there last year. Clones is the allocated county ground but Inniskeen seems to overrule that decision. It's a great setup,don't get me wrong. Maybe the county board feel (and arguably rightly so) that it deserves reward for it's investment. It's my understanding though that the money made from selling the original ground in Inniskeen more than paid for the new development.
I'm a Monahan man living in Belfast and it's handier for me to get to Inniskeen than folk from North Monaghan, so I'm not compaining.. It's a lovely part of the drumlin countryside too..
Mayo used to play leaguer matches in Crossmolina for a while and it's damn awkward to get to the place when you're travelling down from Dublin and planning to return afterwards. It was a long slog for supporters from other counties as well. I guess County Boards have their own logic..
I don't mind a spin up the M1 and taking a turn off for Hackballscross. It's only five miles or so from there so I should be able to figure it out when I get close to Hack.
As for the game itself, I expect a good hard match. Monaghan are a better side than their league form suggests and I feel they have one good game in them while the Mayo lads will be leppin' ot of their skins to stake a place for the championships.
If I can get anyone willing to put up with me talking all the way up and back, it will be a great way to pass an afternoon. ;D
I thought you Mayo lads all talked at the same time.
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2011, 03:21:00 PM
I thought you Mayo lads all talked at the same time.
Mayo women do.
How many times have you seen him play this year?
I can't recall any such policy. I had always thought it was to bring opposing teams to a tighter ground to make the most of home advantage.
QuoteIt's only five miles or so from there so I should be able to figure it out when I get close to Hack.
Head along the mighty N53, to the Cross of Hackball, and take a left, go 1km or so and at the first crossroad take a right.
QuoteMayo women do.
The Mayo women bate Monaghan manys the time.
Follow the smell of diesel at Hackballscross.
Do you know who had a lot of trouble getting to Iniskeen once? Paddy Kavanagh:
Iniskeen Road: July Evening
The bicycles go by in twos and threes -
There's a dance in Billy Brennan's barn to-night,
And there's the half-talk code of mysteries
And the wink-and-elbow language of delight.
Half-past eight and there is not a spot
Upon a mile of road, no shadow thrown
That might turn out a man or woman, not
A footfall tapping secrecies of stone.
I have what every poet hates in spite
Of all the solemn talk of contemplation.
Oh, Alexander Selkirk knew the plight
Of being king and government and nation.
A road, a mile of kingdom, I am king
Of banks and stones and every blooming thing.
He was the boy, Kavanagh. Second only to Yeats as our greatest 20th century poet. Hope you're all proud of him in Monaghan.
An alternative route to Inniskeen from Dublin, the shortest by distance, is from Ardee to Louth via Mullacrew.
But beware and bring your map if travelling this way, as Kavanagh discovered.
The roads around Mullacrew were a tangled skein; they were laid down by random and led everywhere and nowhere.
All that evening we drove around the wet roads. The poor ass was tired and as broken-hearted as ourselves..... We were in Fairyland.
Quote from: armaghniac on April 06, 2011, 11:50:51 PM
An alternative route to Inniskeen from Dublin, the shortest by distance, is from Ardee to Louth via Mullacrew.
But beware and bring your map if travelling this way, as Kavanagh discovered.
The roads around Mullacrew were a tangled skein; they were laid down by random and led everywhere and nowhere.
All that evening we drove around the wet roads. The poor ass was tired and as broken-hearted as ourselves..... We were in Fairyland.
Probably not the same poor beast that the following was penned about. Fair play to the 'F**ker from Mucker', he could write a bit. In fact he was one of our greatest poets. Up there with Máirtín Ó Díreáin as the best ever.
Unfortunately can t get to this great part of the country the next day and it pisses me off. Instead I have to run around Connie for my sins.
You wont find this in the text books but .......
KERR'S ASS
We borrowed the loan of Kerr's big ass
To go to Dundalk with butter,
Brought him home the evening before the market
An exile that night in Mucker.
We heeled up the cart before the door,
We took the harness inside –
The straw-stuffed straddle, the broken breeching
With bits of bull-wire tied;
The winkers that had no choke-band,
The collar and the reins...
In Ealing Broadway, London Town
I name their several names
Until a world comes to life –
Morning, the silent bog,
And the god of imagination waking
In a Mucker fog.
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 06, 2011, 06:48:38 PM
I can't recall any such policy. I had always thought it was to bring opposing teams to a tighter ground to make the most of home advantage.
I've seen Mone play twice this year, and many times prior to that. Enough to make a judgement on him I would have thought. Its rather interesting that you took it as a slight on Mone rather than as a compliment to Freeman.
In terms of Bantys policy, I think theres little doubt that he chose to do so to suit monaghans physical style of play - getting in amongst the opposition and disrupting them. I agree with grandmaster flash that it isnt as desirable now as m'han have fast young players coming through - mcmanus in particular needs space and if he gets it will destroy teams, but do you really think it is likely that Banty moved to a tighter pitch knowing that it would limit space for his players, if he didnt feel such space was more of a liability than an asset? My arse it was to enable a smaller crowd to stand closer to the pitch, whatever he said.
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 06, 2011, 11:20:48 PM
He was the boy, Kavanagh. Second only to Yeats as our greatest 20th century poet. Hope you're all proud of him in Monaghan.
He might be that, but as legends go he trails in behind the Inniskeen O'Rourkes.
Quote from: Main Street on April 07, 2011, 12:57:44 PM
He might be that, but as legends go he trails in behind the Inniskeen O'Rourkes.
I'm not buying that Main Street. Check out this one:
EPIC by PATRICK KAVANAGH, 1938I have lived in important places, times
When great events were decided : who owned
That half a rood of rock, a no-man's land
Surrounded by our pitchfork-armed claims.
I heard the Duffys shouting "Damn your soul"
And old McCabe stripped to the waist, seen
Step the plot defying blue cast-steel -
"Here is the march along these iron stones."
That was the year of the Munich bother. Which
Was most important ? I inclined
To lose my faith in Ballyrush and Gortin
Till Homer's ghost came whispering to my mind.
He said : I made the Iliad from such
A local row. Gods make their own importance."That was the year of the Munich bother." Great. Just great. And the line about gods making their importance is important to us all as GAA men. You'll meet the misguided in the bars and pubs around Ireland who'll tell you that it's all about the San Siro or the Bernabeu or the Lord knows where. No it's not. It's about Inniskeen and Crossmolina and Ballyrush and Ballina and Gortin and Knockmore. Gods make their own importance.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 06, 2011, 02:53:30 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 06, 2011, 12:09:13 PM
Mayo used to play leaguer matches in Crossmolina for a while and it's damn awkward to get to the place when you're travelling down from Dublin and planning to return afterwards. It was a long slog for supporters from other counties as well. I guess County Boards have their own logic..
I don't mind a spin up the M1 and taking a turn off for Hackballscross. It's only five miles or so from there so I should be able to figure it out when I get close to Hack.
As for the game itself, I expect a good hard match. Monaghan are a better side than their league form suggests and I feel they have one good game in them while the Mayo lads will be leppin' ot of their skins to stake a place for the championships.
If I can get anyone willing to put up with me talking all the way up and back, it will be a great way to pass an afternoon. ;D
would ya go on out of that lar sure tis only a stones throw from Ballina (Andy Merrigan didn't find it awkward to get to ;) :D ) besides at least there used to be an atmosphere at the games but don't get me started on that one
QuoteGods make their own importance.
If yez want to go to God's own land you can visit the home of the All Ireland club champions in 15 minutes from Kavanagh country.
Quote from: armaghniac on April 07, 2011, 04:51:00 PM
QuoteGods make their own importance.
If yez want to go to God's own land you can visit the home of the All Ireland club champions in 15 minutes from Kavanagh country.
Is there a county in Ireland that dose not claim the same.
Enough talk about roads and poetry, do Monaghan expect to win this one ? I wonder if the mayo players will put a big performance in so they can get a jersey or is a case of going through the motions now they are safe in division 1 ?
Now Mannix, you can never have too much poetry.
As for the game, I expect Mayo to try hard. There was a story somewhere today about Horan trimming the panel so I guess we'd be seeing boys playing for summer places, and boys playing for summer places try hard. I expect a radically different team, and again, as before, Horan will make substitutions based on what he wants to see rather than match conditions.
Anybody know when the team is named? Any chance of tonight?
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 07, 2011, 09:48:07 PM
As for the game, I expect Mayo to try hard. There was a story somewhere today about Horan trimming the panel so I guess we'd be seeing boys playing for summer places, and boys playing for summer places try hard. I expect a radically different team, and again, as before, Horan will make substitutions based on what he wants to see rather than match conditions.
Horan is quoted as saying that he has the core of a team now, which he wants to keep together, so I doubt there'll be wholesale changes. I think he said there'd probably be about 4-5 changes, and I'd imagine he'll be emptying the bench early enough to give lads a fair crack at making the cut.
On the poetry, I did Kavanagh for the leaving, and Iniskeen Road was always a favourite of mine.
Plus of course, he wrote the words to Raglan Road
Edit for a better version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gehGvW-RIkU&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gehGvW-RIkU&feature=related)
Quote from: Tubberman on April 07, 2011, 10:15:51 PM
Horan is quoted as saying that he has the core of a team now, which he wants to keep together, so I doubt there'll be wholesale changes. I think he said there'd probably be about 4-5 changes, and I'd imagine he'll be emptying the bench early enough to give lads a fair crack at making the cut.
On the poetry, I did Kavanagh for the leaving, and Iniskeen Road was always a favourite of mine.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ex65rl3C48 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ex65rl3C48)
Unfortunately I was never introduced to Kavanagh during my education. Have looked at it fleetingly since, always intending to get around to a proper look at it some day. I better get moving.
Regarding the Mayo team, I don't think we'll see as many changes as I initially thought. Horan, as Tubberman rightly states, has indicated as much. But the point remains - if you weren't starting against Cork or Monaghan, you would want to be looking over your shoulder.
Come on Monaghan! Win by 1 point.I think ???
It's confusing this relegation lark.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gehGvW-RIkU&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gehGvW-RIkU&feature=related)
Did not see the quote but that seems to be just noise. A man just saying something to answer a question. wouldn t pay it much heed.
I just hope he gets the cull right but some of the substitutions the last day would suggest he might be 'conservative' in parts.
There has been some pick and mix selections so far. Generally we ve got decent effort and nice football. The exception being the shape and selection for the first half of the Dub match just being innocent. However the second half of Galway and the Cork game showed what can be done when management get it right.
has ever a game discussion turned into such a high brow exhibition of cut and paste
Memory of my Father
Every old man I see
Reminds me of my father
When he had fallen in love with death
One time when sheaves were gathered.
That man I saw in Gardner Street
Stumbled on the kerb was one,
He stared at me half-eyed,
I might have been his son.
And I remember the musician
Faltering over his fiddle
In Bayswater, London,
He too set me the riddle.
Every old man I see
In October-coloured weather
Seems to say to me:
"I was once your father."
I would like to think Horan has some idea of his key players by now. I would imagine that any other manager with serious expectations of going further than the first round of the backdoors would have a good idea of his preferred first 15. You could include his bench as well.
I haven't a clue what JH has in mind because I am not privy to what goes on in the dressing room and in training. To my way of thinking, the selection of a particular individual at midfield could influence the selection at no. 14 and the same applies, to a greater or lesser extent, throughout the field.
It's a case of the whole being greater than the sum of its parts. I might be impressed by the form of someone on a wet and windy day in February or March, there's little point in picking him for a game in June if he can't hit a barn door with a shovel when it comes to accurate passing or linking up effectively with those around him.
I am really looking forward to the game in Inishkeen because we are going to get a pitch as dry as a championship one and for many lads it will be the last big chance to get the manager's eye before the serious stuff begins.
I know injuries and loss of form and such variables that no manager can anticipate need to be kept in mind but I imagine we will see a good indication of what our man has in mind for the team and the bench as well.
BTW, has the team been announced yet?
Whist you Mayo lads were off getting offended by Nordies, the thread dropped off the first page.
Usually a match thread involving Mayo never leaves first spot, never mind dropping off the page.
News from the revamped and very tidy looking Monaghan GAA website
http://www.monaghangaa.ie/2011/04/08/previews-april-9-10/ (http://www.monaghangaa.ie/2011/04/08/previews-april-9-10/)
Monaghan are again set to be without Owen Lennon and Vincent Corey, although they will hope to have Darren Hughes and Paul Finlay available. A positive from Monaghan's campaign is the performances of young players like Kieran Duffy, Christopher McGuinness, Mark Keogh, David Hughes, Conor Galligan and James Turley, as well as the excellent form of Dessie Mone at centre-back.
True enough, Dessie these days is a gentleman, a sportsman and in excellent form.
I did Kavanagh for the leaving as well. I wasn't too good at English so the poems were lost on me.
While we can say there's nothing to play for, we can be sure that no player wants to lose. I'd like to see Mayo win, for the type of game that will be hard won for later on in the year. It won't be an easy game and Monaghan have everything to play for, but no game from now on will be easy. Hopefully the boys, whoever they are will serve up a good tempo and try to make the championship 15 by signing off with a win.
I believe if Monaghan lose and get relegated it shall be a long time before they get back up to Divison 1 again.
Mayo SF Team V's Monaghan in Allianz Football League:
1) David Clarke
2) Cathal Hallinan 3) Alan Feeney 4) Keith Higgins
5) Peadar Gardiner 6) Ger Cafferkey 7) James Burke
8 ) Seamus O'Shea 9) Tom Parsons
10) Aidan Campbell 11) Andy Moran 12) Kevin McLoughlin
13) Enda Varley 14) Alan Freeman 15) Jason Doherty.
Subs: Hennelly, Barrett, Reilly, R.OConnor, Rochford, Keegan, Moran, Gibbons, C OConnor, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson
Interesting selection with the old minor midfield partnership of O shea and Parsons.I would imagine that Parsons will really have to up his game to have any chance of selection during the summer.I would expect Mayo to narrowly win this game and go into the summer on a high..
Quote from: western exile on April 09, 2011, 12:10:49 AM
1) David Clarke
Subs: Hennelly, Barrett, Reilly, R.OConnor, Rochford, Keegan, Moran, Gibbons, C OConnor, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson
Yeah. That team has decent shape about it - even on paper. Richie Feeney is in pole position for 5 but management obviously see Gardiner still as a big player down the line. Interesting that Higgins is playing with the big ball even though the hurlers are playing in Clones at the same time. Dillon and Cunniffe are injured ( TC could not have been as loose the last day without being hamstrung in some way). I ve been impressed with Hallihan with the time he s got and I believe Burke will be one of the players of the championship if management go with him. Interesting that the much maligned Caff ( who some would not have even on the panel at all, at all, go deo,go deo) is, with Kevin McL and Andy the only one that has started all league matches.
For all his ability Parsons has to be under pressure to perform in this one. When the cut comes we could be losing a midfielder or 2. And we re slightly top heavy in the forwards as well. For midfield we ll have the 2 O Sés, McGar (hopefully), Parsons, Gibbons, Kilcullen, B.Moran. Could be tough decisions there as with the forwards. Douglas not listed for the next day. That mightn t mean a lot either. But Ronaldson and Kilcoyne seem to have been put on the hind tit recently. The backs might be more secure. I see only 2 backs being cut. If even that. I expect some of the big midfielders will be seen as options further in.
1) David Clarke
Interesting selection - a few players here with chances to stake a claim for the championship.
David Clarke - I rate Hennelly but he is still a bit erratic and prone to the odd mistake whereas Clarke makes very few. With a good few new players likely to feature on our starting 15 this year this is a position where I'd like to see a bit of experience so I'd be looking to stick with Clarke from here on out.
Cathal Hallinan - Feeney looks fairly nailed down as first choice full back now and Higgins is back in position in the corner after his holidays in Australia but the other corner spot might yet be up for grabs. Cunniffe has looked excellent at times but was suspect in both the Dublin and Cork games which still leaves a question mark over him. Always thought Hallinan would be a better bet for a corner back spot than full back but he hasn't played there much so if he goes well at 2 tomorrow, he could stay there for the summer.
James Burke - we still seem no nearer to solving who will play at 7 in the championship. Looks like we're settled on Feeney at 5 and Caff at 6 (sorry but I'm still not convinced on that one). Certainly seems that McLoughlin will be named at 12 as an extra back for the next while. My money is still on Donie Vaughan to nail down a place in the half backs once he gets fit but Keegan has done well and Burke deserves another run here so we'll see how he goes tomorrow.
McGarrity's midfield partner - We suddenly seem to have a ton of worthwhile options here - I wouldn't have said that this time last week. Everybody looks good when playing alongside McGarrity, Gibbons particularly did well in the early rounds. But then Gibbons and Parsons got destroyed against Armagh I think it was. Kilcullen and AOS stepped up to the mark without McGarrity last week and both enhanced their reputations and now SOS is getting his chance. Barry Moran loks to be well out of favour and unlikely to make the 30 at this stage. Gibbons seems to have dropped back as well - I would have preferred to have seen him get the start here rather than Parsons as I think he has done more during the league to deserve another run. Horan obviously rates Parsons because he is giving him every chance going but I reckon what Tom really needs is the kick up the hole that being dropped from the 30 would represent to see if he can find some heart and aggression to go with his obvious ability. So unless something major happens tomorrow to change my mind I'd like to see Parsons and Moran lose out here for this year and I'd keep AOS, SOS, Kilcullen and Gibbons as well as McGarrity obviously. I have a feeling Parsons will squeak in though.
Forwards - on the basis that McLoughlin will continue to be named at 12 that would seem to be five of the six starting spots sewn up (Dillon, Moran, McLoughlin, Freeman and of course the Goal Machine). This is bad news for Aidan Campbell as Dillon and Moran are likely to stay in the half forward line where they have both done well. So the free spot is at corner forward and I think Varley still has a shot here because I'm not sure if O'Connor is quite ready for it this year. Kilcoyne and Ronaldson have slipped right back and I would say Ronaldson must be close to losing out altogether. Douglas seems to have vanished having been ahead of Doherty in the pecking order only a few weeks ago. Killer can at least hit a 45 on his day so I'd like to see him retained as we are no nearer to finding a reliable long range free taker and he is an option in that respect.
About half of tomorrows 15 already know they are first choice for the championship and might not exactly be killing themselves if we go a few points behind, but there are enough lads starting with points to prove to make sure that we will at least be fairly competitive. However, as Monaghan have so much more to play for and as the game is in Inniskeen, I'd fancy them to win narrowly.
Predicted 30 after the cut next week:
Clarke, Hennelly
Cunniffe, Hallinan, A Feeney, R Feeney, Higgins, Barrett, Gardiner, Cafferkey, Burke, Howley, Keegan, Vaughan, McLoughlin
McGarrity, A O'Shea, S O'Shea, Kilcullen, Gibbons, Parsons
Campbell, Dillon, A Moran, Freeman, Doherty, Varley, O'Connor, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson
If the likes of Howley or Vaughan aren't considered fit enough to be named in the 30 at this stage then Eoghan Reilly might be kept on.
I might have left someone obvious out...
Great post Cosmo. Summed things up well.
Quote from: moysider on April 09, 2011, 01:08:45 AM
1) David Clarke
Yeah. That team has decent shape about it - even on paper. Richie Feeney is in pole position for 5 but management obviously see Gardiner still as a big player down the line. Interesting that Higgins is playing with the big ball even though the hurlers are playing in Clones at the same time. Dillon and Cunniffe are injured ( TC could not have been as loose the last day without being hamstrung in some way). I ve been impressed with Hallihan with the time he s got and I believe Burke will be one of the players of the championship if management go with him. Interesting that the much maligned Caff ( who some would not have even on the panel at all, at all, go deo,go deo) is, with Kevin McL and Andy the only one that has started all league matches.
For all his ability Parsons has to be under pressure to perform in this one. When the cut comes we could be losing a midfielder or 2. And we re slightly top heavy in the forwards as well. For midfield we ll have the 2 O Sés, McGar (hopefully), Parsons, Gibbons, Kilcullen, B.Moran. Could be tough decisions there as with the forwards. Douglas not listed for the next day. That mightn t mean a lot either. But Ronaldson and Kilcoyne seem to have been put on the hind tit recently. The backs might be more secure. I see only 2 backs being cut. If even that. I expect some of the big midfielders will be seen as options further in.
It sure does look fairly decent alright. JH has to be given credit for his work to date.
It's great too feel the sap rising again...!!
Anois teacht an Samraidh and all that -with due acknowledgements to poor Raftery.
(Paddy Kavanagh can shag off; he was a right awkward hoor anyway.)
I too had noted that Cuniffe was very loose last day but I didn't realise that he was carrying an injury. To me, he seemed to be very unsure of himself and didn't seem to liaise with his colleagues at all. His display had set me thinking that it is more important to have a player who fits in well with others around him than to have one who is a fine individualist.
The way the game is played now, you need a team effort from 1 to 15.
I imagine that Peadar is at the impact sub stage of his career. Still a fine player but hardly up to 70 mins at full stretch.
Horan has plenty of options in the HB line; it's a matter of get the mix right.
Midfield, Parsons has to do the business now or get off the pot. Seamus is back and McGar will be in pole position for the summer. Aidan has been a revelation out there. Barry Moran could well be in the reckoning so I expect Tom to give it his best shot tomorrow.
Campbell has been good-ish to date but hasn't staked a spot and Dillon will have to be accommodated. There are plenty of others jostling for places up front. All in all, I expect a lot of grunt work all over the park tomorrow.
(Janey Mac, I nearly forgot about Monaghan! ;D)
An interesting post Cosmo, there's some things I'd not fully agree with you on though. Also, it's a Saturday and I've loads of time to myself!
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 09, 2011, 10:13:02 AM
David Clarke - I rate Hennelly but he is still a bit erratic and prone to the odd mistake whereas Clarke makes very few. With a good few new players likely to feature on our starting 15 this year this is a position where I'd like to see a bit of experience so I'd be looking to stick with Clarke from here on out.
I'll declare my club bias here as a Breaffy man but I really do think Robbie Hennelly offers us more in goal than Clarkie. Don't get me wrong, we're in a good position to have two excellent 'keepers - in fact I'd say Galway would love if they had Kenny O'Malley as their first choice 'keeper, someone who can't even make our panel. My biggest reason for favouring Robbie would be his kick-outs. The trajectory is much more suitable for out midfielders to be plucking them whereas Clarkie's kick-outs hang far too much in the air because he gets under them so much and it is very easy for the opposition to break the ball forward. I'd be curious to see a comparative analysis on our kick-outs with this in mind and I would bet good money that Robbie's kick-outs significantly favour us compared to Clarkie's. On the reliability thing, I don't agree. Robbie got caught against Dublin but as I've said before, he probably felt, wrongly, compelled to do something with the defence in such trouble under the high ball (and remember, if he didn't come, Connolly was still gonna be in possession of the ball in behind Higgins). Anyway, Clarkie dropped a clanger too against GMIT for a goal. I'd rate both as highly under the dropping ball and both are excellent shot-stoppers. But Robbie has it, the big game temperament, the ability and he's only going to get better.
Cathal Hallinan - Feeney looks fairly nailed down as first choice full back now and Higgins is back in position in the corner after his holidays in Australia but the other corner spot might yet be up for grabs. Cunniffe has looked excellent at times but was suspect in both the Dublin and Cork games which still leaves a question mark over him. Always thought Hallinan would be a better bet for a corner back spot than full back but he hasn't played there much so if he goes well at 2 tomorrow, he could stay there for the summer.
James Burke - we still seem no nearer to solving who will play at 7 in the championship. Looks like we're settled on Feeney at 5 and Caff at 6 (sorry but I'm still not convinced on that one). Certainly seems that McLoughlin will be named at 12 as an extra back for the next while. My money is still on Donie Vaughan to nail down a place in the half backs once he gets fit but Keegan has done well and Burke deserves another run here so we'll see how he goes tomorrow.
I wouldn't say Alan Feeney is nailed down for number 3 at all. Higgins is nailed for four but its two between three for the other two spots. It could be Hallinan, Feeney, Higgins; Cunniffe, Feeney, Higgins; or Cunniffe, Hallinan, Higgins. I wouldn't be too harsh on Tom from the Cork game, he was clearly struggling with his hammer even before halftime. The high ball in the Dublin game was a concern as is the fact his best position is on the wing but he has impressed in a couple of games in the corner. I'd like to have seen more of Hallinan this league because I think he has it. But has he had enough exposure of this level before championship? Hard to know. Sunday might tell us. I'd be in favour of him before Tom Cunniffe and that way we have two players in the full-back line who can play full-back and corner-back so it helps much more for a horses for courses approach.
In the half-back line I have been impressed by Ger Caff' and think he could be a long-term solution for us there. He'll be there in championship anyway, have no doubt. I liked the bit of bite we saw from him against Cork, not afraid to go toe to toe with the animal that is Pearse O'Neill. Feeney will be at five and seven is wide open. We need to see more of Burke - in the same way as Hallinan - but I'd be inclined to give the nod to him. Donie Vaughan might push himself into contention but surely can't have enough football in him this year to start?
McGarrity's midfield partner - We suddenly seem to have a ton of worthwhile options here - I wouldn't have said that this time last week. Everybody looks good when playing alongside McGarrity, Gibbons particularly did well in the early rounds. But then Gibbons and Parsons got destroyed against Armagh I think it was. Kilcullen and AOS stepped up to the mark without McGarrity last week and both enhanced their reputations and now SOS is getting his chance. Barry Moran loks to be well out of favour and unlikely to make the 30 at this stage. Gibbons seems to have dropped back as well - I would have preferred to have seen him get the start here rather than Parsons as I think he has done more during the league to deserve another run. Horan obviously rates Parsons because he is giving him every chance going but I reckon what Tom really needs is the kick up the hole that being dropped from the 30 would represent to see if he can find some heart and aggression to go with his obvious ability. So unless something major happens tomorrow to change my mind I'd like to see Parsons and Moran lose out here for this year and I'd keep AOS, SOS, Kilcullen and Gibbons as well as McGarrity obviously. I have a feeling Parsons will squeak in though.
Yeah, midfield is a real hard one to call. You're right, Parsons does appear to be somewhat in favour. Either that or Sunday is shit or bust time for him. The same could be said of Seamie O'Shea even if that is unfortunate for him from a point of view of it being his first game of the year because of injury. He might put in five midfielders with the proviso that Aidan O'Shea can play in the forwards too but I can't see him bringing six. Barry Moran looks to be in bother, unless a spot can be found for him in the forwards. McGarrity, Aidan O'Shea, Kilcullen and Jason Gibbons look okay in my opinion. So Sunday could be a shoot out between the two starting midfielders.
Forwards - on the basis that McLoughlin will continue to be named at 12 that would seem to be five of the six starting spots sewn up (Dillon, Moran, McLoughlin, Freeman and of course the Goal Machine). This is bad news for Aidan Campbell as Dillon and Moran are likely to stay in the half forward line where they have both done well. So the free spot is at corner forward and I think Varley still has a shot here because I'm not sure if O'Connor is quite ready for it this year. Kilcoyne and Ronaldson have slipped right back and I would say Ronaldson must be close to losing out altogether. Douglas seems to have vanished having been ahead of Doherty in the pecking order only a few weeks ago. Killer can at least hit a 45 on his day so I'd like to see him retained as we are no nearer to finding a reliable long range free taker and he is an option in that respect.
Predicted 30 after the cut next week:
Clarke, Hennelly
Cunniffe, Hallinan, A Feeney, R Feeney, Higgins, Barrett, Gardiner, Cafferkey, Burke, Howley, Keegan, Vaughan, McLoughlin
McGarrity, A O'Shea, S O'Shea, Kilcullen, Gibbons, Parsons
Campbell, Dillon, A Moran, Freeman, Doherty, Varley, O'Connor, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson
If the likes of Howley or Vaughan aren't considered fit enough to be named in the 30 at this stage then Eoghan Reilly might be kept on.
I might have left someone obvious out...
Yeah, I think you're right, we've five definite starting forwards - Moran, Dillon, Doherty, Freeman and McLoughlin. I wouldn't say that the sixth guy has to be a corner-forward. In fact I would bet that it won't be. McLoughlin will either drop from 13, leaving two inside or drop from 10 or 12 with the number 13 dropping to the half-forward line - what happened against Cork. Either way its the same outcome, a two man inside line. I reckon it could be Aidan O'Shea as the third half-forward with Kilcullen and McGarrity in midfield.
On Neil Douglas, he has been having trouble shaking a hamstring injury for the last month so that explains his absence. I gather Mark Ronaldson is very close to the brink right now and not starting on Sunday is not a good sign for him, nor for Killer.
I think Eoghan Reilly will make the squad because we don't have much cover for corner-backs. Although I'd have someone like Vaughan or Howley in the corner ahead of him myself.
Championship thirty? Is it going to be picked next week? I'd feel it could be the following (not necessarily what I think, mind)
R Hennelly, D Clarke
C Hallinan, T Cunniffe, A Feeney, K Higgins, R Feeney, G Cafferkey, J Burke, E Reilly, D Vaughan, T Howley, L Keegan, P Gardiner.
R McGarrity, A O'Shea, J Kilcullen, J Gibbons, T Parsons
K McLoughlin, A Dillon, A Moran, J Doherty, A Freeman, A Campbell, E Varley, C O'Connor, N Douglas, A Kilcoyne, P Harte (injury depending).
Chris Barrett might squeeze in ahead of Keegan or Gardiner. Ronaldson perhaps for Harte - not sure what his injury status is. Maybe B Moran might get in the forward line in this spot too.
The Irish News predicts the results of all 3 games going our way - wins for Monaghan, Cork and Galway.
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 09, 2011, 03:05:31 PM
The Irish News predicts the results of all 3 games going our way - wins for Monaghan, Cork and Galway.
that saves me a trip ;)
Quote from: haranguerer on April 07, 2011, 09:05:55 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 06, 2011, 06:48:38 PM
I've seen Mone play twice this year, and many times prior to that. Enough to make a judgement on him I would have thought. Its rather interesting that you took it as a slight on Mone rather than as a compliment to Freeman.
Probably took it that way on the basis of a previous comment indicating your dislike for Mone. Anyway, i'd see him as more of a replacement for McQuaid at #6 as Freeman generally played on the wing. Also, it's his current form that's relevant to his ability to replace retiring players - past form is really irrelevant.
Although it's good to see that you're still getting out to watch some proper football. :P
Do they mention anything about tonights lottery numbers?
Quote from: mannix on April 09, 2011, 07:55:21 PM
Do they mention anything about tonights lottery numbers?
Yes. They say 8.05 on RTÉ 1.
:P
Armagh fans might be sweating a few bricks but they are by far, in the strongest position to survive the drop.
Jaysus, I won't be reading it to get tips for the Grand National and that's for sure.
Mike Finner just mentioned that poem on Mid West!
An obvious reader of the board ;D
monaghan 1.02 mayo 0.04. tommy freeman doing the damage with 1.01. keith higgins marking him now
Sounds like big problems in Mayo full-back line again.
Monaghan have created 3 clear goal chances, have only taken one.
Monaghans Freeman and the rest of their FF line seem to be causing serious problems.
The ball going in seems sublime which tells me the workrate out the field may not be great.
25 Mins
Monaghan 1.06
Mayo 0.07
Monaghan 1.07
Mayo 0.09
Monaghan 1-07 to
Mayo 1-09...
Andy Moran Goal...
Mayo 1.09 Andy Moran off Doherty
Monaghan 1.07
Half Time
Perhaps a little lucky to be ahead at half time. The defence seemed to have settled a bit so hopefully with the wind Mayo can hold them in the second half.
The forwards also seem to be looking busy towards the end of the half.
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 10, 2011, 03:07:52 PM
Perhaps a little lucky to be ahead at half time. The defence seemed to have settled a bit so hopefully with the wind Mayo can hold them in the second half.
Mid-West saying its the move of Keith Higgins on to Freeman that has made the difference.
Yeah, hard to say when you can't see it, but doesn't to be huge intensity to it.
Monaghan seem to be winning more than their fair share of ball around the middle, which could explain the pressure at the back.
Seamie O'Shea and Parsons would want to up it, or they could be called ashore and would be serious questions over whether they make the cut next week. O'Shea hasn't had any opportunity before today because of injury so I hope he shows what he can do at start of second half.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 10, 2011, 03:10:31 PM
Mid-West saying its the move of Keith Higgins on to Freeman that has made the difference.
Heard a report that we are getting beaten at midfield and perhaps we might see a change.
Also James Burke could be struggling as a lot of play is coming up his wing.
Freeman scored a point again from play. Thats 1-03 from play so far... he must be hard to contain
Monaghan just scored a free to tie the game up I think
Ruaidhri O Connor is on for Padear Gardnier (inj?)
Ronan Rochford, Barry Moran and Kilcoyne told to warm up
Campbell kicked another from play... nice move up the pitch
Rochford for Hallinan, Kilcoyne for Campbell
Barry Moran for S O Shea
b.moran in for o shea
Freeman now FF on Alan Feeney and Finlay has moved onto Keith Higgins. Rochford on McGuinness
Kevin McGloughlin on a yellow, given away a free to McManus. Finlay converts it.
Monaghan 1-11 to Mayo 1-10
Andy Moran point 1-11 a piece
Mayo "gone out of it" at midfield. They mentioned Barry has not added much :(
Cillian O Connor for Enda Varley
Doherty goal for Mayo
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 10, 2011, 03:39:55 PM
Doherty goal for Mayo
That goal-scoring record is just something else!
Sounds like Ruadhri O'Connor is doing himself no harm, Barry Moran on the other hand doesn't seem to be making any impression.
jeez, another goal for Docherty out of nothing
Monaghan point
2-11 to 1-12 now to Mayo I think
Finlay free... 2-11 to Mayo to Monaghan 1-13
Higgins down... 5 subs used
level again 2-11 to 1-14
1.16 to 2.12 6 min to go.monaghan well on top
Good spell for Monaghan... 1-17 to Mayo 2-12
Finlay free again
1-18 to 2-13... James Burke score
dubs ahead in salthill by 1
Mayo playing frantically to get a score. Into injury time.
Thats it. Monaghan 1-18 Mayo 2-13
Hard luck to Monaghan. Mad to think that if Galway scored another point against Dublin, it would be Armagh and not Monaghan relegated along with Galway
Despite going down, it was a competitive and exciting game. Some good performances for Monaghan - Hughes was brilliant and Freeman was looking more like his old self, at least for stages of the game. Good to have Lennon back in midfield again and whilst Clerkin wasn't great, he did win a few frees. Dessie Mone had another great game. Finlay had a relatively poor game by his high standards and seemed off the pace but contributed a massive 10 points from frees, so if you can do that on an 'off' day, it's not so bad!
Mayo's second goal was very soft - terrible blunders in defence with a kickout turned over very quickly. Monaghan unlucky not to score two more in the first half.
One more thing - the referee today, Eddie Kinsella from Laois - i've never seen him before and hope I never do again. Brutal.
Overall i believe it was a better performance than last week.Darren Hughes had a good game.Owen Lennon did well in Midlfield aswell.Nice goal by Tommy Freeman.Conor McManus ok of a game.Dick Clerkon i think had an ok of a game aswell.Referee missed alot of frees.Sad though as i think it will be a long time before we get back up to Div 1 again there is alot of difficult teams in Div2 .This is how Div2 is next year:Monaghan,Galway,Derry,Tyrone,Kildare,Meath,Westmeath and Louth.So there shall be some tough games.
I have just caught up with the game reading the avid Mayo posts here.
I wouldn't have like to be listening to the afternoons events live, considering Galway came so close at the end.
We could not do anymore than win the game we had to.
I think we have ended the league with some dignity after a close fought game.
Quote from: Main Street on April 10, 2011, 07:31:36 PM
I think we have ended the league with some dignity after a close fought game.
Yep, apart from the Kerry and Down games, we were very competitive. And very unlucky not to pick up points v Armagh and Dublin. Definitely not all doom and gloom!
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 10, 2011, 02:32:03 PM
Mike Finner just mentioned that poem on Mid West!
An obvious reader of the board ;D
He should have mentioned the poem about Kerr s big ass. Mid West far too predictable and safe. :(
Couldn t be at the match unfortunately. And while the result was largely acedemic for us, conceding 19 scores suggests we were second best around the middle?
Jason doherty is a breath of fresh air, I am sure all the lads try very hard and I salute them for giving up what they do and training hard. Whether they are good enough or not time will tell, for now my guess is we are still short a few players.
i wonder would todays game have changed horans mind about any players or made his mind up about others?
From reading JH's comments in the Mayo Advertiser, it seems he was less than impressed with the effort being expended by some of the lads yesterday. Good to see he cares, even though it was a meaningless game.
I would have thought that most of the players would be looking over their shoulders at least, and not happy to coast through a game....
http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/38595/mayo-fail-to-pass-monaghan-exam- (http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/38595/mayo-fail-to-pass-monaghan-exam-)
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 11, 2011, 09:24:08 AM
From reading JH's comments in the Mayo Advertiser, it seems he was less than impressed with the effort being expended by some of the lads yesterday. Good to see he cares, even though it was a meaningless game.
I would have thought that most of the players would be looking over their shoulders at least, and not happy to coast through a game....
http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/38595/mayo-fail-to-pass-monaghan-exam- (http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/38595/mayo-fail-to-pass-monaghan-exam-)
I'm in total agreement with you on the first count but I'd qualify the second one.. I realised in the second half that I wasn't the only unhappy bunny in the place as James started to make changes all around the place.
Little things can certainly mean a lot—for me at any rate. I copped early on that the use of the vernacular out on the pitch was confined almost exclusively to the Monaghan lads. We have plenty of good footballers but James still has lots of work to do.
In academic terms, we had nothing to lose yesterday but we stood to gain a lot. We didn't have the luxury yesterday of taking it easy as it was our last competitive game before the championships begin.
I thought Monaghan earned some dignity. I always felt they had a good game in them and they chose to come up with it yesterday. No offence intended for Monaghan people but they don't appear to have the finished article for the championships either. Still, their team came out fighting and deserved the win.
Arrah, I didn't expect anyone to bust a gut out there and I realise full well that a young team in the early stages of development can't play flat out in every game they play.
But I feel the old Mayo mindset is still there. Poor James still has a lot to do if he can knock a sense of urgency into their heads. (I hope he began with a good bollicking as that's always the best way to start.)
I thought many who might feel confident of their places in the summer were content to drift along. Fancy flashes at times alright but there isn't a David Brady amongst them and that's for sure.
Monaghan had Finlay and Freeman to show leadership and keep their team together whereas Mayo were depending on their younger players to display some urgency and commitment.
We were out of it throughout the game at midfield and as a result the half backs and forwards were always under pressure. I did like James Burke but we can't be depending on the likes of him, Freeman and Doherty to take the load in tougher games to come.
Ah, feck it; it was a most enjoyable day out. I liked the home supporters I met and I loved the way the announcer called out the community news at half time. It was community service at its best. The GAA is still in great shape.
I even met a sound Roscommon guard and we had the best of craic for a few minutes until he got called away. After all, there wasn't too much to get worked up about at the time.
Although a sound Roscomon anything is a bit of an oxymoron isn't it? ;D
Good prospects for the championship with some proper stylish footballers coming through;
With the likes of Feeney, Doherty, Kilcullen, coming through and McLoughlin and Gardiner back on form it bodes well for the championship.
We are 11/8 in the betting for Connaught which is generous odds. Based on what was on show for the last few months I would say we are 5 points a better team then the challengers Galway, Sligo or Roscommon.
Quote from: highorlow on April 11, 2011, 11:12:54 AM
Good prospects for the championship with some proper stylish footballers coming through;
With the likes of Feeney, Doherty, Kilcullen, coming through and McLoughlin and Gardiner back on form it bodes well for the championship.
We are 11/8 in the betting for Connaught which is generous odds. Based on what was on show for the last few months I would say we are 5 points a better team then the challengers Galway, Sligo or Roscommon.
Not meaning to single out any player, but what performance of Gardiner's has convinced you he is back non form?
And you write off Galway at your peril! They beat Armagh comfortably, and drew with Dublin in their last two league games.
It would be far more worrying from their point of view if they were winning the early league matches and losing the latter ones.
They have P Joyce back and Meehan (and maybe Nicky Joyce) yet to make their returns.
They will be gunning for us in June, I wouldn't be particularly confident about that one at all.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2011, 11:08:03 AM
I copped early on that the use of the vernacular out on the pitch was confined almost exclusively to the Monaghan lads.
I'm confused, how would you like the Monaghan lads to communicate with each other on their home turf, in French or in code?
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2011, 11:08:03 AM
Arrah, I didn't expect anyone to bust a gut out there and I realise full well that a young team in the early stages of development can't play flat out in every game they play.
And that is exactly the definition of where Monaghan football is right now.. (excluding a few players)
I think Lar was referring to that the Monaghan team was the only team out there, communicating with each other.
Quote from: Main Street on April 11, 2011, 12:04:09 PM
I think Lar was referring to that the Monaghan team was the only team out there, communicating with each other.
I was indeed and I was impressed by the way they 'communicated' with each other. "Will you get back to f**k outa that and mark yer bloody man?" and the likes were all coming from the Monaghan players. It showed they had a greater sense of urgency and displayed more passion and commitment than our lads did.
I'd also say that I know Monaghan are in the same stage of development as Mayo are. But I feel McEneaney has more reasoned to feel satisfied with his side's development this morning than James Horan has. I thought Finlay, Freeman and the other senior lads kept a shape on the team throughout and there was little or no wild shooting or pointless hoofing. Mac still has a way to go but he is getting there I'd say.
Having said that, I'm not unduly depressed about Mayo. James Horan isn't either by the looks of it but I'm confident that he knows what has to be done. I'm just a bit disappointed that a lot of players didn't use the opportunity to put down their marker for the championships.
Sure, apologies..
Quote from: Tubberman on April 11, 2011, 11:23:39 AM
Not meaning to single out any player, but what performance of Gardiner's has convinced you he is back non form?
You could be wasting your breath asking that question.
Im still waiting on an answer from highorlow to which Mayo midfielders he was referring to that are are not "footballers".
He said in a previous thread that Mayo beat Cork thanks to it being the:
Quote from: highorlow on April 03, 2011, 04:20:21 PM
1st time we have 2 footballers in midfield we get a result.
indicating that McGarrity, Gibbons and Parsons are not footballers ???
Crazy statements... pinch of salt and all that ;)
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2011, 01:29:38 PM
I was indeed and I was impressed by the way they 'communicated' with each other. "Will you get back to f**k outa that and mark yer bloody man?" and the likes were all coming from the Monaghan players. It showed they had a greater sense of urgency and displayed more passion and commitment than our lads did.
Might have confused the Mayo lads that everybody was called Shirley.
"Will you get back to f**k outa that and mark yer bloody man?"
"Aye Surely".
Quote from: Main Street on April 11, 2011, 04:03:43 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 11, 2011, 01:29:38 PM
Might have confused the Mayo lads that everybody was called Shirley.
"Will you get back to f**k outa that and mark yer bloody man?"
"Aye Surely".
Shirley you can't be serious Main?
Lar Naparka, plenty of "sound" Roscommon guards Derek Duggan, Fergal O'Donnell to name a few..
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 11, 2011, 02:43:06 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 11, 2011, 11:23:39 AM
You could be wasting your breath asking that question.
Im still waiting on an answer from highorlow to which Mayo midfielders he was referring to that are are not "footballers".
He said in a previous thread that Mayo beat Cork thanks to it being the:
Quote from: highorlow on April 03, 2011, 04:20:21 PM
1st time we have 2 footballers in midfield we get a result.
indicating that McGarrity, Gibbons and Parsons are not footballers ???
Crazy statements... pinch of salt and all that ;)
well you must admit that yesterday Mayo had a washout in midfield. i am not going to run down any lad that is out there but some of them are kidding themselves by training and travelling to these games if they do not bust their asses to hold onto the jersey. freeman,doherty and andy moran have the mentality needed to win, now all we have to do is get the surgeons in castlebar general to use the brain machine on the rest of them. easy peasy.
Quote from: Farneylawd2011 on April 10, 2011, 06:15:10 PM
Overall i believe it was a better performance than last week.Darren Hughes had a good game.Owen Lennon did well in Midlfield aswell.Nice goal by Tommy Freeman.Conor McManus ok of a game.Dick Clerkon i think had an ok of a game aswell.Referee missed alot of frees.Sad though as i think it will be a long time before we get back up to Div 1 again there is alot of difficult teams in Div2 .This is how Div2 is next year:Monaghan,Galway,Derry,Tyrone,Kildare,Meath,Westmeath and Louth.So there shall be some tough games.
That is a very tight looking Div. 2 for next year all right. I know it is a long way off, but I would not be a bit surprised if Westmeath and Louth went straight back down to Div. 3. the way that Antrim and Sligo did this year.
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 10, 2011, 05:09:13 PM
Hard luck to Monaghan. Mad to think that if Galway scored another point against Dublin, it would be Armagh and not Monaghan relegated along with Galway
Monaghan blew it that day in Armagh. It was a game we should have won with 5 points to spare. Monaghan were far from the finished article in Division 1, but we were better than Armagh and Galway.
It's by no means a disaster to go down to Division 2 and many good players have come through. There's very little in terms of quality between 1 and 2. Divsion 3 - that would be a serious setback. But attention now shifts to Round 1 in Omagh.
Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2011, 04:40:25 PM
Lar Naparka, plenty of "sound" Roscommon guards Derek Duggan, Fergal O'Donnell to name a few..
Yeehaw! You're forgetting about the one I met in Inishkeen yesterday. That makes three so there is another two at most to go. ;D
Mayo lacked intensity in the 2nd half and the emptying the bench took away any momentum that we were building after dohertys goal. 2 positives for me from yesterday though were Feeney at full back and Doherty and freeman in the full forward line. Although Doherty wont get as soft a goal come championship time!
I was also very impressed with the set up at inishkeen. great layout and facilities
That s that then for the league. Overall a positive campaign. No 'discoveries' but then there were never goin to be. Lads that had their hands up came in an did well - others that had previous did not do so well. Management are in a good place goin forward to the Championship if they hold their nerve and be bold. The temptation will be to go with an experienced team for the Galway game. That would be a mistake. We need to attack this championship. An experienced team will revert to type. Horan has done well but then again he ought to be doin well. Playin Caff at 6, Burke7, McLoughlin as an extra back/12. AOS in midfield, Richie Feeney at 5 and bringing in Jason Doherty as well as relegating a few to the repechage was hardly rocket science. Fellas on laptops with time to kill were ringin those changes. It was all ABC to even a casual observer. Horan's real work starts now. Connacht is far from a gimmie and unless Mayo attack the championship I would fancy Galway to win another anaemic one.
Quote from: mannix on April 11, 2011, 07:29:58 PM
well you must admit that yesterday Mayo had a washout in midfield. i am not going to run down any lad that is out there but some of them are kidding themselves by training and travelling to these games if they do not bust their asses to hold onto the jersey. freeman,doherty and andy moran have the mentality needed to win, now all we have to do is get the surgeons in castlebar general to use the brain machine on the rest of them. easy peasy.
That's very much the way I am thinking. But I don't see us being at the panic stage just yet. I think we have the right man at the helm to address the problem. I'd see Sunday's result as a missed opportunity to follow on from the win against Cork rather than a complete disaster.
But the 'Comfort Zone' mentality was there for all to see.
Horan referred to this several times in his Advertiser articles back in '08, I think. I've referred to his comments several times in the past so I don't propose going on about the phenonomen now.
Nobody on the field was willing to take on responsibility and each was content to retreat into his own comfort zone where the intents is to play to one's own strengths and to avoid making mistakes-so nobody is willing to go for a 50/50 ball or to try and keep shape on the players around him. So you may see plenty of deft touches and fancy footwork alright but you'll also see heaps of pointless passing and aimless hoofing. The ball becomes a hot potato to be gotten rid of ASAP.
Sunday reminded me of the game v Meath back in 2008.
We went into that with our strategy based on Aidan O'Shea leading the attack and opening the Meath defence. Not only was this reported in the media but no attempt was made to deny it by management or players themselves.
FFS! with lots of men 10 years or more older and with two AI finals behind them and they were asking a kid who was still waiting his Leaving results to provide leadership!
OK, the display on Sundays wasn't quit that dire and we have a good man to work on it but moysider is right in saying Connacht is far from a gimme right now. Galway are re-grouping faster than I thought.
Quote from: moysider on April 12, 2011, 12:27:36 AM
No 'discoveries' but then there were never goin to be.
Ah Moy come off the pot... "no discoveries" is not exactly the case now is it?
Do I really have to list out all the players tried in FBD and the changes in the league panels from this time last year, or the correlation in previous years?
Horan has done well but then again he ought to be doin well. Playin Caff at 6, Burke7, McLoughlin as an extra back/12. AOS in midfield, Richie Feeney at 5 and bringing in Jason Doherty as well as relegating a few to the repechage was hardly rocket science. Fellas on laptops with time to kill were ringin those changes. It was all ABC to even a casual observer. Horan's real work starts now. Connacht is far from a gimmie and unless Mayo attack the championship I would fancy Galway to win another anaemic one.
That is pessimism at its best! We had managers in the past who were afraid to make changes and blood new players and find natural positions. When we do get a guy who does that... its childs play?
Some fellas are hard to please...
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 12, 2011, 12:00:08 PM
Do I really have to list out all the players tried in FBD and the changes in the league panels from this time last year, or the correlation in previous years?
Horan has done well but then again he ought to be doin well. Playin Caff at 6, Burke7, McLoughlin as an extra back/12. AOS in midfield, Richie Feeney at 5 and bringing in Jason Doherty as well as relegating a few to the repechage was hardly rocket science. Fellas on laptops with time to kill were ringin those changes. It was all ABC to even a casual observer. Horan's real work starts now. Connacht is far from a gimmie and unless Mayo attack the championship I would fancy Galway to win another anaemic one.
That is pessimism at its best! We had managers in the past who were afraid to make changes and blood new players and find natural positions. When we do get a guy who does that... its childs play?
Most Mayo supporters are beaten before we take the field. Thankfully none of them are playing.
Quote from: muppet on April 12, 2011, 12:24:17 PM
Most Mayo supporters are beaten before we take the field. Thankfully none of them are playing.
Allegedly most Mayo supporters run lose the run of themselves and expect all Irelands
Quote from: spuds on April 12, 2011, 12:33:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 12, 2011, 12:24:17 PM
Allegedly most Mayo supporters run lose the run of themselves and expect all Irelands
You're right, imagine if they won! We'd have nothing to whinge about.
That s that then for the league. Overall a positive campaign. No 'discoveries' but then there were never goin to be. Lads that had their hands up came in an did well - others that had previous did not do so well. Management are in a good place goin forward to the Championship if they hold their nerve and be bold. The temptation will be to go with an experienced team for the Galway game. That would be a mistake. We need to attack this championship. An experienced team will revert to type. Horan has done well but then again he ought to be doin well. Playin Caff at 6, Burke7, McLoughlin as an extra back/12. AOS in midfield, Richie Feeney at 5 and bringing in Jason Doherty as well as relegating a few to the repechage was hardly rocket science. Fellas on laptops with time to kill were ringin those changes. It was all ABC to even a casual observer. Horan's real work starts now. Connacht is far from a gimmie and unless Mayo attack the championship I would fancy Galway to win another anaemic one.
Can't agree with you there moy. Of those changes you believe to have been obvious, I would contend that only Aidan O'Shea further out the field was obvious. Richie Feeney came into the panel this year after excelling in the corner for his club. Everyone in Castlebar believed that his best position had been found and that he had spent too long out of position at wing-back for the club down the years. Horan saw something a lot of them didn't and dispatched him to the wing where he has excelled so far.
Ger Caff' at 6 is something you suggested before but it was far from guaranteed to be a success - indeed it still is not definitely so. Burke is far from guaranteed to be at 7 for championship. Doherty? Had shown good club form and Under 21 form but, in January, he was considered by most people to be 'worth a look' and far from a 'sure thing' for championship. Horan held him back until the Galway game and the result has been very positive. Mayo using a seventh defender makes sense but it was going to require a bit of work to implement as well. McLoughlin was always a good possibility for that position but effecting such a systematic change was never going to be straightforward either.
You are right on one thing - the real work starts now.
I feel we have potential attitude problems up ahead but we're nowhere near the "Oh, woes is us" stage. Monaghan won't be a push over for anyone in Ulster this year and they were playing for their pride the last day so that has to be kept in mind. They also had the benefit of a few experienced campaigners who kept the team in shape throughout the game. I don't think we had anyone to do this and it showed.
For me, Alan Dillon is the one I'd look for to act the father figure and we will need him more than ever when summer comes.
I feel McGarrity is growing into the role this season and he also will be crucial for our summer hopes. There are some mighty young players around and, all in all, I think we got a good wake up call last Sunday and it will stand to us in times to come.
James Horan knows the problems and he is the best one to handle them.
On first reading I thought you wrote, "we have potential altitude problems up ahead".
I didn t mean to sound negative but reading back the post I can see that it could look mealy mouthed enough. Actually I m rather pleased with what has been done so far. What I meant by 'discoveries' was somebody that I never saw before. A rough diamond from a small club that needed a bit of polishing. I didn t expect there to be one. The lads that were brought in. Some may well start in the championship. In a way I probably was havin a cut at the previous man who left these guys out. I also like the way Horan has a practical edge. We stayed in division without showing our full-hand. I would expect that Horan will put out a shape like he did against Cork in the championship. Starting with the Galway game that is. I also suspect that we will train on well this year while other years you got the impression that we were flying in spring and that would be as good as it got. But, back door or no back door, Galway is a must win game. You wouldn't want to be headin to Clones or somewhere like that for a qualifier of a Saturday evening. So I m happy enough. Challenge games aside we ll be guessing what product we re goin to get in Summer. Maybe, because he has actually gone with some stuff I would have suggested it may have looked obvious to me.
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 12, 2011, 01:30:00 PM
Can't agree with you there moy. Of those changes you believe to have been obvious, I would contend that only Aidan O'Shea further out the field was obvious. Richie Feeney came into the panel this year after excelling in the corner for his club. Everyone in Castlebar believed that his best position had been found and that he had spent too long out of position at wing-back for the club down the years. Horan saw something a lot of them didn't and dispatched him to the wing where he has excelled so far.
Ger Caff' at 6 is something you suggested before but it was far from guaranteed to be a success - indeed it still is not definitely so. Burke is far from guaranteed to be at 7 for championship. Doherty? Had shown good club form and Under 21 form but, in January, he was considered by most people to be 'worth a look' and far from a 'sure thing' for championship. Horan held him back until the Galway game and the result has been very positive. Mayo using a seventh defender makes sense but it was going to require a bit of work to implement as well. McLoughlin was always a good possibility for that position but effecting such a systematic change was never going to be straightforward either.
You are right on one thing - the real work starts now.
I take your points. But you have to admit that those changes were goin to have to happen and some have worked well - but of course Championship will be the litmus test of this team. They can hardly go any worse than last few years and maybe they ll do a lot better. Anyway he had to change things a lot from Johnno s team. While Johnno took a lot of the blame some players hardly covered themselves in glory either.I hope he goes with most of it anyway.
And Richie Feeney may well end up yet at 2 rather than 7. Aiden O Sé needed to be looked at in midfield after his displays there in U21, and his poor form when asked to play with his back to goal. Caff was always more likely to be a 5 or 6 than a 3 ( if Caff was a rock of a full back he would have been left there, and at the same time there was no 6) while Burke is a 7 only. McLoughlin is clever and good enough to do a few jobs. There was no way of knowing if things would work but they had to be tried, and so far they have worked well.
Horan has got a fools pass from the league due to his willingness to experiment and if Doherty Campbell and the 2 feeneys fullfill the potential they have shown in the league. it will have been worth it . but by any other measure mayo had a very Poor league.
still no full back
a completely porous CHB, Monaghan were waltzing through at will sunday ,
far from burke nailing number 7 i doubt after sunday he will make the panel..
no closer to deciding who our best midfield pairing are .
no freetaker to replace conor . it was laughable in some game to see up to 5 different free takers
A failure to utilize Ronaldson our most skilful player . who shamefully look like he may not make the panel either.
worst of all losing winnable games like V Armagh and Monaghan thought as stated elsewhere mayo sabotaged their chances with a triple substitution maybe shows experimentation was more important than winning
Horan has one more chance to experiment before things get serious but he has a lot of convincing to do.
Quote from: rosnarun on April 13, 2011, 01:40:30 AM
Horan has got a fools pass from the league due to his willingness to experiment and if Doherty Campbell and the 2 feeneys fullfill the potential they have shown in the league. it will have been worth it . but by any other measure mayo had a very Poor league.
still no full back
no freetaker to replace conor . it was laughable in some game to see up to 5 different free takers
A failure to utilize Ronaldson our most skilful player . who shamefully look like he may not make the panel either.
worst of all losing winnable games like V Armagh and Monaghan thought as stated elsewhere mayo sabotaged their chances with a triple substitution maybe shows experimentation was more important than winning
Horan has one more chance to experiment before things get serious but he has a lot of convincing to do.
Says the man who named Trevor Mortimor on his first round of the championship team, and Trevour Howley at CB on his team Vs Monaghan :D
Such yahoo stuff ::)
still no full back
Tell us Ros, would you ever think of throwing a shot of gin into that bitter lemon of yours every now and again? Might cheer you up a biteen.
Quote from: Main Street on April 12, 2011, 04:26:49 PM
On first reading I thought you wrote, "we have potential altitude problems up ahead".
If I had, I guess it would have been a Freudian slip.
After all, we are often accused of having our heads in the clouds. You could say we get slagged too for having our noses in the air and looking down on everybody else.
I could add in that I often feel we have our backs to the wall and our hearts in our mouths.
I'm not being paranoid or anything like that but I do feel the world is out to persecute us! ;D
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 13, 2011, 09:32:26 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 12, 2011, 04:26:49 PM
If I had, I guess it would have been a Freudian slip.
After all, we are often accused of having our heads in the clouds. You could say we get slagged too for having our noses in the air and looking down on everybody else.
I could add in that I often feel we have our backs to the wall and our hearts in our mouths.
I'm not being paranoid or anything like that but I do feel the world is out to persecute us! ;D
Just because we re paranoid doesn't mean the bastards are not out to get us ;D
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 13, 2011, 09:08:02 AM
still no full back
Says the man who named Trevor Mortimor on his first round of the championship team, and Trevour Howley at CB on his team Vs Monaghan :D
Such yahoo stuff ::)
are you willing to bet the 2 trevor's won't be on the championship team? I hope Horan is not aas foolish as our keyboard warriors to discard such experience for the latest shiny bauble .
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 13, 2011, 09:25:05 AM
still no full back
Tell us Ros, would you ever think of throwing a shot of gin into that bitter lemon of yours every now and again? Might cheer you up a biteen.
is it just the tone of my contribution you don't like . or do you just generally disagree with the thrust.
do you believe really Mayo had a good league? and are in a better position than 12 months ago ie Pre national league final?
Im not at all pessimistic as Horan is still learning . Todays panel will show how far he is down that road
Quote from: rosnarun on April 13, 2011, 12:56:16 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 13, 2011, 09:25:05 AM
still no full back
is it just the tone of my contribution you don't like . or do you just generally disagree with the thrust.
do you believe really Mayo had a good league? and are in a better position than 12 months ago ie Pre national league final?
Im not at all pessimistic as Horan is still learning . Todays panel will show how far he is down that road
I do really believe that Mayo had a good League, and are in a better position than they were on April 13th, 2010. I'm utterly convinced of that.
You suspect a policy of experimentation being more important than winning, and cite a win against Armagh being sacrificed for the sake of experimentation. Well, thats' *precisely* what I wanted to see. When you look back on last year Ros, how much does an unbeaten League run ease the pain of defeats to Sligo and Longford in the Championship? It doesn't ease mine one bit.
When you're in Division 1, a good League means not getting relegated and not losing anyone to injury. Mayo had a great league by that measure. Everything else is shadow-boxing and anyone who thinks differently should write down the last five All-Ireland winners and then the last five League winners. If you get all five League winners correct by year, award yourself a biscuit. Because I'll bet you can't. Because you don't care and haven't cared for ten years who won the League and neither do I and neither does anyone else. League wins aren't worth diddly except in terms of what you learn about players.
Of course there are issues with the team, and the free-taker one is particularly glaring. But there'll still be issues with the team when the captain is descending from Ardán Uí hÓgáin with Sam under his oxter.
Quote from: rosnarun on April 13, 2011, 12:50:17 PM
are you willing to bet the 2 trevor's won't be on the championship team?
Yes, any money.
Quote from: rosnarun on April 13, 2011, 12:56:16 PM
Im not at all pessimistic as Horan is still learning
With some of your statements I think your the one thats perpetually learning.
Im surprised you have not mentioned McDonald for a place on the county team since he is back with Corssmolina