Halfway through the league and Dublin have had 3 good wins with players to come back into the team. This combined with last years showings when they improved as they went through the Championship and should have beaten Cork have raised expectation levels but can this be the year they end the famine?
Reasons why they can win it
1) Pat Gilroy - Many thought he was on a hiding to nothing when he took over after a couple of years of humiliating defeats but few could argue he has done a great job. From last years league when they started with ultra defensive tactics to the changes he made throughout last years championship he has done a remarkable job with a reasonably low amount of new players.
2) Bernard Brogan - along with the Gooch the best player in Ireland at present.Unmarkeable last year and seems to be more of a team player this year.
3) Standard - Tyrone and Kerry aren't at the level they were at a few years ago and Dublin have no fear of Cork.
Reasons why they can't.
1) Hype - last year no one give them much hope against Tyrone after previous years. Expectations have been raised and Gilroy will have this to contend with if they get on a roll early on.
2) Bernard Brogan - at times last year he carried the team. If he doesn't hit the levels of last year or gets injured is there enough in the forward line to trouble top teams?
3) Discipline - Cost them v Cork last year. Have conceded heavily enough so far in league this year.
What does anyone think? If they were playing Tyrone again in the QF would you back them?
Quote from: Orangemac on March 06, 2011, 10:58:16 PM
Halfway through the league and Dublin have had 3 good wins with players to come back into the team. This combined with last years showings when they improved as they went through the Championship and should have beaten Cork have raised expectation levels but can this be the year they end the famine?
1) Pat Gilroy - Many thought he was on a hiding to nothing when he took over after a couple of years of humiliating defeats but few could argue he has done a great job. From last years league when they started with ultra defensive tactics to the changes he made throughout last years championship he has done a remarkable job with a reasonably low amount of new players.
2) Bernard Brogan - along with the Gooch the best player in Ireland at present.Unmarkeable last year and seems to be more of a team player this year.
3) Standard - Tyrone and Kerry aren't at the level they were at a few years ago and Dublin have no fear of Cork.
Reasons why they can't.
1) Hype - last year no one give them much hope against Tyrone after previous years. Expectations have been raised and Gilroy will have this to contend with if they get on a roll early on.
2) Bernard Brogan - at times last year he carried the team. If he doesn't hit the levels of last year or gets injured is there enough in the forward line to trouble top teams?
3) Discipline - Cost them v Cork last year. Have conceded heavily enough so far in league this year.
What does anyone think? If they were playing Tyrone again in the QF would you back them?
[/b]
What odds you offering ? ;)
I think Kerry are the biggest threat to the Dubs.
They'd have no fear of anyone else, Cork & Tyrone included.
I just think Kerry on a big day in Croke Park might be too cute for them.
Needless to say, the Dubs will be progressing via the back-door.
Laois will hammer them!
Quote from: Jinxy on March 06, 2011, 11:17:04 PM
Needless to say, the Dubs will be progressing via the back-door.
Laois will hammer them!
Can't see them being bet in Leinster this year. No offence to all those fine teams in Leisnter.
Reasons why they can't.
With a full team comfortably back them.....
I support the hype. In fact the AI championship is just too small for Dublin. Let's call it the World Championship.
Reasons why they can't.
4) They always manage to f&*k it up
Quote from: Hardy on March 07, 2011, 09:20:03 AM
I support the hype. In fact the AI championship is just too small for Dublin. Let's call it the World Championship.
Agreed.
QuoteI support the hype. In fact the AI championship is just too small for Dublin. Let's call it the World Championship
I'd be all for that as well
QuoteI think Kerry are the biggest threat to the Dubs.
Not at all, we are in a long transitional period, The Jackeens for Sam in 2011.
Lets see what happens when other teams catch up fitness wise.
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on March 07, 2011, 01:46:57 PM
I love that old chestnut.
Sure every other county is doing a couple of laps, followed by a few pints and twenty major after three rounds of the league.
Quote from: heffo on March 07, 2011, 01:51:37 PM
Sure every other county is doing a couple of laps, followed by a few pints and twenty major after three rounds of the league.
No, they are only after starting their endurance work and had concentrated on strength and conditioning whereas Dublin were at their fitness work much earlier.
They wont make it past Leinster
Quote from: AbbeySider on March 07, 2011, 02:22:52 PM
No, they are only after starting their endurance work and had concentrated on strength and conditioning whereas Dublin were at their fitness work much earlier.
The other 31 counties??
Fitness is a joke debate. Every top county's players are 100% fit. Only injury and lay-offs stop that. It is a long time since players only trained when collected together, or had an off-season. Every player has his own training schedule and access to gym facilities. Most of the Down players have their own gym facilities at home. Every player trains all year round.
However what will make a big difference is the condition of the pitch. Later in the year the pitches will be harder and then the best teams will be able to use their superior fitness, and most importantly faster players, to their advantage. The question fro Dublin fans is do your players suit a soft pitch and physical battle better or a dry hard pitch and a contest of skill and speed?
Down clearly suit the later which is why people say we often come from nowhere to do well in a championship. It isn't true, it's just that in the league we never perform to our best where we have small fast players getting bogged down in the winter mud but in summer they can run away from their heavier slower markers.
So which is it then Dubs? Better in the mud or the sun?
Wait till the Drumlin men get at them this weekend in the NFL.. That'll larn them..
Time will tell. However, I am confident enough to say that imho that the next 6 years or so will be very good for Dublin GAA and the footballers in particular. There is now some serious talent coming through from the underage setup and the development squad system has been tweeked so I am told to develop a certain type of footballer. Of course I could be completely wrong (as in the past).
Reports of the bidaily training have been exaggerated and pounced on by the usual sneerers in the media. If (calm down lads I said "if") we win Sam this year it will become the norm except where geographically impossible. If we fail abysmally again, it will be used as a pilory post (cf the "Manual" some years ago) against us.
Personally, am happy with our current style of play and that's enough for me at the moment.
Personally, can see Kildare winning Leinster and Kerry winning it out. Despite beating them last week, on the night they were by far and away the best team and lost only as a result of defensive sloppiness that won't be there in August or September/
Quote from: heffo on March 07, 2011, 03:23:42 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on March 07, 2011, 02:22:52 PM
The other 31 counties??
32 (- Kilkenny + London & New York)
Quote from: Canalman on March 07, 2011, 05:31:20 PM
Time will tell. However, I am confident enough to say that imho that the next 6 years or so will be very good for Dublin GAA and the footballers in particular. There is now some serious talent coming through from the underage setup and the development squad system has been tweeked so I am told to develop a certain type of footballer. Of course I could be completely wrong (as in the past).
Reports of the bidaily training have been exaggerated and pounced on by the usual sneerers in the media. If (calm down lads I said "if") we win Sam this year it will become the norm except where geographically impossible. If we fail abysmally again, it will be used as a pilory post (cf the "Manual" some years ago) against us.
Personally, am happy with our current style of play and that's enough for me at the moment.
Personally, can see Kildare winning Leinster and Kerry winning it out. Despite beating them last week, on the night they were by far and away the best team and lost only as a result of defensive sloppiness that won't be there in August or September/
Laois will have something to say about that.
The Rare Oul Timesusually meant massive hype pre a humiliating fall, would not like to see this happen again, but,it is only March and already the expectations are ridiculous. A Dublin v Down AI final would be nice to contemplate, but neither of us should be over-rating our chances at this early stage of season, we have more sense than the Dublin media
I think they should bring back Ciaran Whealan. I hear he is playing great stuff for Raheny.
If they don't win it this year with that panel they will never win it.
Very impressive so far this year apart from 1 or 2 average forwards, but even with that they have some great lads on the bench.
Quote from: highorlow on March 08, 2011, 11:33:38 AM
I think they should bring back Ciaran Whealan. I hear he is playing great stuff for Raheny.
Very impressive so far this year apart from 1 or 2 average forwards, but even with that they have some great lads on the bench.
Raheny are down in Division 2 now in Dublin. They've only played two games this year, and won one of them. So I'd take with a pinch of salt that he's playing great stuff! He played feck all last year because of injury and work committments, so my guess is he'd be quite a way off the pace at this stage. Although, if he was fit and well, he'd probably be still one of the best two midfielders in the county alright.
In my opinion, we definitely have the best set of forwards that we've had since the early 90s. We have a decent half back line, and a super keeper. But I'd be a bit worried about the full back line and midfield.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 07, 2011, 11:07:16 PM
Quote from: Canalman on March 07, 2011, 05:31:20 PM
Laois will have something to say about that.
I didn't know Martin Deegan was reffing the Leinster Final this year...
It's Maurice you flute :D
Would Dias of Crokes be worth a shout in the half forwards? I know he was playing midfield v Cross but he has great athletism which may better suited as a wing forward?
Quote from: Orangemac on March 08, 2011, 10:15:00 PM
Would Dias of Crokes be worth a shout in the half forwards? I know he was playing midfield v Cross but he has great athletism which may better suited as a wing forward?
He's been called into the panel - very early days yet but don't see him playing much of a part in championship this year - one for the future.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 08, 2011, 09:59:38 PM
It's Maurice you flute :D
Meh simple mistake,not as bad as you not knowing the offside rule ;)
Dubs on song - http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=awwu2JQkRQw
Quote1) Pat Gilroy - Many thought he was on a hiding to nothing when he took over after a couple of years of humiliating defeats but few could argue he has done a great job. From last years league when they started with ultra defensive tactics to the changes he made throughout last years championship he has done a remarkable job with a reasonably low amount of new players.
My view is that Gilroy cost Dublin an All-Ireland last year with his impact sub theory. Given the pool of players he has to draw from and the Vodafone Sponsorship to back him I think he is in fact useless because if he wasn't he would acknowledge the glaring mistakes he made last year before expecting the players to do the same.
Dublin could def win Sam this year.
Gilroy is doing some great things, but at the same time shooting himself in the foot.
He could feck up Dublins chances himself.
No way Whelan would come back to play for Dublin - not while Gilroy is in charge!
I think that loss in the league final will do them some serious damage.If they have a tight game later on in the year there will be that doubt.If they had won the league they'd be my favorites.
Yes the rare old times are returning, at least till the semifinal against Kerry or the likes when reality sets in. As usual Dublin will hammer a few minnows in Leinster ,the media will laud them as the real deal and the players will start to believe it.I think Dublin are just marginally better than mayo,Galway,donegal etc.
No allireland for Dublin anytime soon.
Would love to get another crack off the Dubs, lots of history between the 2 counties and lots of painful defeats for the Dubs ;), with 8 straight wins for Kerry (and 1 draw thrown in for good measure) we have had the upper hand since the Bomber roared to life in front of the stunned Hill 16 (and equally stunned Paddy Cullen) in 1978, but with us now on the slide and the years taking their toll after a great last decade and the Dubs on the rise , if we do meet this year could be the year that record finally falls.
2009: Kerry 1-24 Dublin 1-07 (All-Ireland quarter Final)
2007: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 0-16 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2004: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 1-8 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
2001: Kerry 2-12 Dublin 1-12 (All-Ireland quarter-final replay)
2001: Kerry 1-14 Dublin 2-11 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
1985: Kerry 2-12 Dublin 2-8 (All-Ireland final)
1984: Kerry 0-14 Dublin 1-6 (All-Ireland final)
1979: Kerry 3-13 Dublin 1-8 (All-Ireland final)
1978: Kerry 5-11 Dublin 0-9 (All-Ireland final)
What about 1987 League Final ?
Care to expand it by two years to cover 1976 and 1977 also.
Quote from: mannix on May 20, 2011, 05:14:33 PM
Yes the rare old times are returning, at least till the semifinal against Kerry or the likes when reality sets in. As usual Dublin will hammer a few minnows in Leinster ,the media will laud them as the real deal and the players will start to believe it.I think Dublin are just marginally better than mayo,Galway,donegal etc.
dublin lost by one point to the all-ireland champions last year. So you're talking bollox. Any other pearls of wisdom?
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 20, 2011, 05:35:11 PM
Would love to get another crack off the Dubs, lots of history between the 2 counties and lots of painful defeats for the Dubs ;), with 8 straight wins for Kerry (and 1 draw thrown in for good measure) we have had the upper hand since the Bomber roared to life in front of the stunned Hill 16 (and equally stunned Paddy Cullen) in 1978, but with us now on the slide and the years taking their toll after a great last decade and the Dubs on the rise , if we do meet this year could be the year that record finally falls.
Worse record against Kerry than Mayo and they call it one of the biggest rivalry. Bascially the Kerry lads love the extra coverage on t.v. and that a few soccerball heads and ruggerbuggers pay them attention for a fortnight and the Dubs like to think they up there with Kerry, but they really another Mayo or Kildare etc.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2011, 08:32:06 PM
Worse record against Kerry than Mayo and they call it one of the biggest rivalry. Bascially the Kerry lads love the extra coverage on t.v. and that a few soccerball heads and ruggerbuggers pay them attention for a fortnight and the Dubs like to think they up there with Kerry, but they really another Mayo or Kildare etc.
I think we've won a few all-irelands since the 50's. We were still under occupied rule when Kildare last won one and people were still going to work on a horse when Mayo last won one.
We're not up there with kerry and I'd never claim we were but we havent a bad track record up to the mid 90's.
Quote from: INDIANA on May 20, 2011, 06:45:58 PM
dublin lost by one point to the all-ireland champions last year. So you're talking bollox. Any other pearls of wisdom?
Go back to bed, you gave up a 14 (fourteen) point lead to mayo in the league so forget about Sam and don' t be embarrassing yourself with bad language. How is that for a pearl of wisdom for ya?
Quote from: INDIANA on May 20, 2011, 10:24:17 PM
I think we've won a few all-irelands since the 50's. We were still under occupied rule when Kildare last won one and people were still going to work on a horse when Mayo last won one.
We're not up there with kerry and I'd never claim we were but we havent a bad track record up to the mid 90's.
So anyone from the 1995 team or previous Dublin teams going to win Sam for you this year. They are as useful to you as anyone on the Mayo or Kildare teams to have won the Senior A.I. to those teams. I was only stating facts that in recent times Mayo has a better Championship record against Kerry than Dublin, wouldn't be surprised if we had a better League one too.
England Dublin all media hype.
Quote from: mannix on May 20, 2011, 10:41:09 PM
Go back to bed, you gave up a 14 (fourteen) point lead to mayo in the league so forget about Sam and don' t be embarrassing yourself with bad language. How is that for a pearl of wisdom for ya?
We won that game. Anymore pearls of wisdom. Back to the pub with you.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2011, 11:02:19 PM
So anyone from the 1995 team or previous Dublin teams going to win Sam for you this year. They are as useful to you as anyone on the Mayo or Kildare teams to have won the Senior A.I. to those teams. I was only stating facts that in recent times Mayo has a better Championship record against Kerry than Dublin, wouldn't be surprised if we had a better League one too. England Dublin all media hype.
[/quote/]
After the hidings you got in 04 and 06 off kerry youre in no position to be preaching to any other county about playing Kerry whether it be Dublin, London or Kilkenny.
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2011, 12:28:35 AM
So anyone from the 1995 team or previous Dublin teams going to win Sam for you this year. They are as useful to you as anyone on the Mayo or Kildare teams to have won the Senior A.I. to those teams. I was only stating facts that in recent times Mayo has a better Championship record against Kerry than Dublin, wouldn't be surprised if we had a better League one too. England Dublin all media hype.
[/quote/]
After the hidings you got in 04 and 06 off kerry youre in no position to be preaching to any other county about playing Kerry whether it be Dublin, London or Kilkenny.
The hidings Dublin have been getting up in Croke Park (in the Championship, a place they only have to leave if they want to) in recent years would make any Mayoman or woman blush. I just wonder who will blow-up first this year, Mayo or Dublin, its going to happen, you know it.
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2011, 12:26:01 AM
Quote from: mannix on May 20, 2011, 10:41:09 PM
We won that game. Anymore pearls of wisdom. Back to the pub with you.
never said you didn't win it, just said you gave up a 14 point lead of which no more needs to be said, now if only i had the chance to go to the pub i certainly would.
Remember seeing the rivalry between Dublin and Kerry being compared to the rivalry between a nail and a hammer which might not be that far off the mark.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 21, 2011, 02:10:52 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2011, 12:28:35 AM
[/quote/]
The hidings Dublin have been getting up in Croke Park (in the Championship, a place they only have to leave if they want to) in recent years would make any Mayoman or woman blush. I just wonder who will blow-up first this year, Mayo or Dublin, its going to happen, you know it.
Its not surprising Mayo blow up so often when the fans have so much faith in them. Stick to putting up pics on the hot new ladies thread. You're much better at it.
Just thought I'd bump this, in case the Dubs were feeling left out.
What was the question again?
Quote from: heffo on August 02, 2011, 05:26:16 PM
Reasons why they can't.
How about the one in red Heffo?
Quote from: heffo on August 02, 2011, 05:26:16 PM
Never mind Heffo. Dont engage the troll.
Altogether now "Ring a ring a rosies as the light declines......... "
Quote from: Orangemac on September 18, 2011, 09:48:16 PM
Altogether now "Ring a ring a rosies as the light declines......... "
McQuillan blows up early ...........