GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AbbeySider on February 07, 2011, 11:51:37 AM

Title: FBD Final - MAYO v New York - 09/10/2011
Post by: AbbeySider on February 07, 2011, 11:51:37 AM
A very quick turnaround for the FBD final this Friday, under lights again in McHale park.

I think we could see an almost completely different team play in this one, as again it may be used to have a look at players involved in the FBD games who were not involved against Down.

Looking forward to it though, the games under lights create a good atmosphere.
Title: Re: FBD League Home Final - MAYO v NUIG - 11/02/2011 @ 730pm
Post by: Tubberman on February 07, 2011, 12:05:57 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 07, 2011, 11:51:37 AM
A very quick turnaround for the FBD final this Friday, under lights again in McHale park.

I think we could see an almost completely different team play in this one, as again it may be used to have a look at players involved in the FBD games who were not involved against Down.

Perfect timing - should be just arriving in C'bar around 7:30 on way down from Dublin  :)
I'd agree about the team - I'd say there will be a lot of changes from the Down match.
Neil Douglas, Dillon and Gardiner will be swapping back into their NUIG jerseys for the night.
Haven't been in McHale Park for a floodlit game yet, so looking forward to it.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 07, 2011, 12:24:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 07, 2011, 12:05:57 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 07, 2011, 11:51:37 AM

Perfect timing - should be just arriving in C'bar around 7:30 on way down from Dublin  :)
I'd agree about the team - I'd say there will be a lot of changes from the Down match.
Neil Douglas, Dillon and Gardiner will be swapping back into their NUIG jerseys for the night.
Haven't been in McHale Park for a floodlit game yet, so looking forward to it.

Your in for a bit of a treat, McHale Park looks well under lights.

I dont know for sure if there has been any definite cuts to the panel...

So you could see any number of the following lads line out on Friday, that have already been involved in FBD games.

Ciaran Naughton
Robert Hennelly
Alan Feeney
James Burke
Mike Nestor
Chris Barrett
James Moran
Aidan Campbell
Austin O'Malley
Aidan Kilcoyne
David Killeen
Ruaidhrí O'Connor
Lee Keegan
Eoghan Reilly
Trevor Howley
Barry Moran
James Kilcullen
Ian Rowland
Cathal Freeman
Andrew Farrell
Brian Benson
James McAndrew

I suppose they would try and use a few more that were involved against down, but all in all I expect a lot of fresh faces again.
Post by: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 01:10:04 PM
How did ye get the final at home? & is there another trip to New york for the winners?
Post by: muppet on February 07, 2011, 01:34:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 01:10:04 PM
How did ye get the final at home? & is there another trip to New york for the winners?

This year it is a trip to Ballyhaunis.
Post by: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 01:51:01 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 07, 2011, 01:34:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 01:10:04 PM

This year it is a trip to Ballyhaunis.

No wonder we threw in the towel at HT v ye so...
Post by: REDCOL on February 07, 2011, 04:57:14 PM
NUIG training tomorrow night under lights in Castlebar, Mr. Maughan not taking the game too serious :D
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 07, 2011, 06:05:29 PM
I'd like Horan to use this to try a few lads who he mightn't feel comfortable throwing straight into Division 1 action. Assuming no cuts have been made to the overall panel I would like to see a few of the following get a run.

Hennelly in goal, he's been playing colleges and O'Malley will hold his place for the league if Clarke's out, so this could be Rob's only chance to get a run out before the 21s start.

Alan Feeney and David Killeen in the full back line.

Chris Barrett at wing back. Howley either at corner back or wing back.

Kilcullen in midfield - a bit of graft to complement our high fielders.

Aiden Campbell at 10 and Cathal Freeman at 11, I think both have plenty to offer us this year.

I'd try Kilcoyne and AOS in the full forward line. Best thing they could do is throw O'Shea straight back in after Saturday night, a game like this might help him get his confidence back.

Throw in five or six of the old heads to help these lads along and I think it would be a useful extra game for us against a very decent NUIG team.
Post by: REDCOL on February 07, 2011, 06:25:20 PM
U21 team are playing Cork on Saturday in Claremorris, he probably wont play any of them
Post by: AbbeySider on February 08, 2011, 09:19:23 AM
Quote from: REDCOL on February 07, 2011, 06:25:20 PM
U21 team are playing Cork on Saturday in Claremorris, he probably wont play any of them

Is that in a challenge ?
Post by: AbbeySider on February 08, 2011, 02:00:14 PM
Freemans break confirmed and news he will miss a few weeks.

(Mayo News)
Freeman suffers a bad break

Mike Finnerty

MAYO forward Alan Freeman looks set to miss at least the next two rounds of the Allianz National Football League after breaking a bone in his hand against Down last Saturday night.
The 21 years-old sustained the injury during the closing stages of last weekend's game and had an operation on Sunday morning to repair the damage.
The Aghamore attacker, who was making just his fifth senior start, also scored the second goal of his inter-county career with an excellent individual effort before half-time.
However, he is now expected to miss upcoming NFL games against Kerry on February 20 and Galway a week later, as well as next Friday evening's FBD Connacht League decider against NUI, Galway.
Mayo manager James Horan confirmed to The Mayo News last night (Monday) that Freeman would be out of action "for a number of weeks". Knockmore's Trevor Howley and Breaffy's Seamus O'Shea will also be unavailable for Friday night's floodlit final due to ankle injuries.
Horan also revealed that Tom Parsons and Peadar Gardiner had shown no ill-effects of their recent injuries after coming on during the second half against Down.
It also emerged that debutant Richie Feeney was withdrawn with 'tight legs' but he will be available for selection again later this week.
A number of players who were not included in Mayo's 26-man squad for the opening game of the NFL season will also be back in the frame for the FBD Final.
These include Chris Barrett, James Burke, David Killeen, James Kilcullen, Aidan Kilcoyne, James Moran and Austin O'Malley, all of whom will be hoping for some game time.
Meanwhile, NUI, Galway manager John Maughan will be able to call on Mayo senior panellists Alan Dillon, Peadar Gardiner and Neil Douglas, as well as Ronan Rochford, Donal Newcombe, Kieran Conroy, Ger McDonagh and Jason Doherty.

It also seems that Trevor Howley and Seamus O'Shea are definitely out for the FBD final, but Richie is fit.
No word on how Gibbons is after taking a couple of knocks against Down.
Post by: Rossfan on February 08, 2011, 06:06:28 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on February 07, 2011, 04:57:14 PM
NUIG training tomorrow night under lights in Castlebar, Mr. Maughan not taking the game too serious :D

Must be a big budget in NUIG  ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 08, 2011, 10:26:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 08, 2011, 06:06:28 PM

No. But then Maughan never charges when he manages good footballers.
Post by: Rossfan on February 09, 2011, 06:16:42 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 08, 2011, 10:26:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 08, 2011, 06:06:28 PM

No. But then Maughan never charges when he manages good footballers.

Two firsts in the one sentence  ;D
Post by: Tubberman on February 10, 2011, 04:35:11 PM
Mayo (v NUI Galway, McHale Park, Friday):
Robert Hennelly
Cathal Hallinan, David Killeen, Chris Barrett
Lee Keegan, Keith Higgins, Ruadiri O'Connor
Barry Moran, Tom Parsons
Aidan Campbell, Andy Moran (Capt.), Andrew Farrell
Enda Varley, Aidan Kilcoyne, Mark Ronaldson.

Subs: Kenneth O'Malley, Alan Feeney, Ger Cafferkey, Eoghan Reilly, Richie Feeney, James Burke, Jason Gibbons, James Moran, Cathal Freeman, Cillian O'Connor.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 10, 2011, 05:11:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 10, 2011, 04:35:11 PM
Mayo (v NUI Galway, McHale Park, Friday):
Robert Hennelly
Cathal Hallinan, David Killeen, Chris Barrett
Lee Keegan, Keith Higgins, Ruadiri O'Connor
Barry Moran, Tom Parsons
Aidan Campbell, Andy Moran (Capt.), Andrew Farrell
Enda Varley, Aidan Kilcoyne, Mark Ronaldson.

Subs: Kenneth O'Malley, Alan Feeney, Ger Cafferkey, Eoghan Reilly, Richie Feeney, James Burke, Jason Gibbons, James Moran, Cathal Freeman, Cillian O'Connor.

Very interesting team, still experimental, nice mix, good balance.
Keith Higgins could do Ok CB... 
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 07:38:14 PM
Barry Moran out before throw in - picked up an injury as usual.

Tom Parsons ruled ineligible to play as he was nominated by Sligo IT as one of their players in this competition and therefore cannot play for Mayo. Perhaps Sligonian might find some poetic justice in there somewhere.

McGarrity and Gibbons play midfield instead.

Peadar Gardiner has scored the first point of the night...for Maughan's shower.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 07:49:23 PM
Level at 0-5 each mid way through the first half. Kilcoyne, Ronaldson (2) and Andy Moran (2) scored for Mayo.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 08:04:56 PM
Half time:

Mayo 0-7 NUIG 0-7

Mayo scorers for Mayo

Ronaldson 0-3
Moran 0-2
Kilcoyne 0-1
Varley 0-1 (has since gone off injured, replaced by Cathal Freeman)

Mayo scorers for the NUIGees

Doherty 0-2
Gardiner 0-1

Doherty would be well worth a look in a couple of league games.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 08:32:03 PM
Half way through second half:

Mayo 1-11 NUIG 0-9

Mayo scorers for Mayo

Kilcoyne 1-2
Ronaldson 0-5
Moran 0-2
Varley 0-1
Farrell 0-1

Doherty 0-3
Gardiner 0-1

Mayo subs on: C Freeman, J Moran, A Feeney and J Burke for Varley, McGarrity, Hallinan and R O'Connor.
Post by: spuds on February 11, 2011, 08:44:15 PM
keep her lit cosmo fair play
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 08:51:26 PM
Ag an deireadh:

Mayo 1-14 NUIG 0-11

Mayo scorers for Mayo

Ronaldson 0-6
Kilcoyne 1-3
Moran 0-2
Varley 0-1
Farrell 0-1
Campbell 0-1

Doherty 0-5
Gardiner 0-2

Mayo subs used: C Freeman, J Moran, A Feeney, J Burke and R Feeney for Varley, McGarrity, Hallinan, R O'Connor and Keegan.

Mayo win the eastern conference and proceed to the FBD world series final in the fall.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 11, 2011, 08:57:33 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 11, 2011, 08:44:15 PM
keep her lit cosmo fair play

I'll second that. Well  done, Cosmo.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 11, 2011, 09:01:12 PM
Cheers lads. its pub time now.
Post by: mannix on February 11, 2011, 09:25:08 PM
Good man cosmo, it sounds like Jason Doherty should get a look in the league.  Incidentally how tall are ronaldson,Doherty and Alan Freeman?
Post by: spuds on February 11, 2011, 09:50:59 PM
Quote from: mannix on February 11, 2011, 09:25:08 PM
Good man cosmo, it sounds like Jason Doherty should get a look in the league.  Incidentally how tall are ronaldson,Doherty and Alan Freeman?

guess Alan Freeman  6'2"  Ronaldson 5'8"  Doherty 5'9"
Post by: ross4life on February 11, 2011, 11:50:40 PM
Sounds like NUIG had a similar 2nd to us Vs Mayo? after his pitiful performance in managing us any defeat for the tanned one is a good one.

Diffcult job for Horan ahead finding the right balance but for tonight Well done Mayo.
Post by: moysider on February 12, 2011, 12:34:35 AM

Hard to get a handle on tonight's game to be honest. Some around thought it a good contest but I just couldn't get into it. There were a nice few points taken from play but a lot of the stuff seemed aimless enough. Likes of Gardiner, Andy Moran, Alan Dillon and Keith Higgins could go up gears when they felt like it. Jason Gibbons was very impressive. He is a quality player. Ronaldson as usual in these games does the business.The other Freeman also showed quality as a sub  even though the game had no structure. I would expect that a lot of the Mayo subs were disappointed with the game because most of the second half was dead time and I expect that a lot of decent players may not have done enough to be kept on.
The Mayo lads on the NUIG team -apart from Gardiner and Dillon - would hardly have impressed Horan. Jason Doherty might be a different prospect on a summer pitch of course. A makeshift Mayo back line coped easily with an ordinary enough forward line.
We appeared to have good options a month ago and maybe we still have. But the Down game showed up a few things and tonight maybe a few things more.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 12, 2011, 05:44:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 12, 2011, 12:34:35 AM

Hard to get a handle on tonight's game to be honest. Some around thought it a good contest but I just couldn't get into it. There were a nice few points taken from play but a lot of the stuff seemed aimless enough. Likes of Gardiner, Andy Moran, Alan Dillon and Keith Higgins could go up gears when they felt like it. Jason Gibbons was very impressive. He is a quality player. Ronaldson as usual in these games does the business.The other Freeman also showed quality as a sub  even though the game had no structure. I would expect that a lot of the Mayo subs were disappointed with the game because most of the second half was dead time and I expect that a lot of decent players may not have done enough to be kept on.
The Mayo lads on the NUIG team -apart from Gardiner and Dillon - would hardly have impressed Horan. Jason Doherty might be a different prospect on a summer pitch of course. A makeshift Mayo back line coped easily with an ordinary enough forward line.
We appeared to have good options a month ago and maybe we still have. But the Down game showed up a few things and tonight maybe a few things more.

I'd agree with pretty much all of that. It was a dead-rubber contest. Played at an incredibly lax pace. I agree too on Jason Gibbons. Definitely a promising player. One slight criticism. He is a good long range kicker of the ball but he is a bit to quick to play that option, sometimes when it is not on. I'm not sure what exactly you refer to in your last line Moysider. I'm not sure could much be shown up in that game, apart from some of the option taking by the forwards which, hopefully, is only a minor thing.
Post by: moysider on February 12, 2011, 08:58:25 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 12, 2011, 05:44:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 12, 2011, 12:34:35 AM

I'd agree with pretty much all of that. It was a dead-rubber contest. Played at an incredibly lax pace. I agree too on Jason Gibbons. Definitely a promising player. One slight criticism. He is a good long range kicker of the ball but he is a bit to quick to play that option, sometimes when it is not on. I'm not sure what exactly you refer to in your last line Moysider. I'm not sure could much be shown up in that game, apart from some of the option taking by the forwards which, hopefully, is only a minor thing.

Just thinking out loud I suppose. But having seen the few games so for I would be happier about how things are going at the back and in midfield than in the forwards. Having watched the whole Down game again I m convinced we should have won it with a few points to spare once we got back level with about 12 mins left and practically in control. We were all happy with the draw but that game was there to be won. And we would have done so with no more effort, but just a bit of composure and a bit more class in the inside forward line. If roles were reversed the Down forwards would have killed us. So far Andy, Dillon and Freeman have impressed,and Ronaldson too to be honest. For me the rest of the forwards in the squad have a bit to do in one way or another. We have to get an 11 and a 14. Time is on our side anyway. We all know there are some good lads who are forwards in the squad but realistically are they as good as as those Cork, Kerry, and Tyrone will be starting? Maybe somebody will come along in the next few months and put their hand up like Alan Freeman did last year. I think we need to unearth another quality forward before the championship. Out of those currently in the squad I would be looking seriously at Cathal Freeman but not as a corner man. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2011, 05:46:31 PM
Yeah, we're a long way off our best forward line. It'll include Dillon, Andy, Alan Freeman anyway. Need to get three more from the following - Kilcoyne, Ronaldson, Aidan O'Shea, Varley, Cillian O'Connor, Aidan Campbell, Cathal Freeman, Neil Douglas, Jason Doherty. Lots of possibilities there but hard to know what lads will nail a place down. Personally I'd think our best potential front six at the minute is - Aidan O'Shea, Dillon, Andy; Killer, Alan Freeman, Ronaldson/O'Connor. But it's wide open yet. I'm picking those on the basis that we know what AOS and AK can do and they merely need to recapture that. Perhaps Campbell, C Freeman et al can step up to the mark before the summer.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 13, 2011, 09:48:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 12, 2011, 08:58:25 PM
..We have to get an 11 and a 14...
...Out of those currently in the squad I would be looking seriously at Cathal Freeman but not as a corner man.

I dont understand that gra for Cathal Freeman. In my book he hasnt done anything yet this season to be considered.
He is very out of shape and isnt near match fit. I dont even think its fair on him even playing games at that level.

Regarding an 11 and 14? We have two excellent guys in Dillon and Alan Freeman and I think the forward lines should be built around them.

I think Kilcoyne did himself a few favours on Friday night. He looked dangerous and got a couple of scores from the ground which is important and scored 1-3 in total. I think Ronaldson is simply too small to be effective in the NFL and championship against regular size county teams. We may just get away with one small forward in the FF line and I think it could be Varley.

It was a poor game, both teams didnt look particularly interested and NUIG imploded in the 2nd half. Douglas and Doherty didnt stand up against a decent enough Mayo full back line so im not sure if they are ready to take the step yet.

I would see the forwards shaping up like:
Campbell, Dillon, Andy Moran
Varley, Alan Freeman, Killer

With AOS replacing Freeman for the Kerry game, but he needs a big game.
Post by: moysider on February 13, 2011, 10:17:03 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 13, 2011, 09:48:16 PM
...Out of those currently in the squad I would be looking seriously at Cathal Freeman but not as a corner man.

I dont understand that gra for Cathal Freeman. In my book he hasnt done anything yet this season to be considered.
He is very out of shape and isnt near match fit. I dont even think its fair on him even playing games at that level.

Regarding an 11 and 14? We have two excellent guys in Dillon and Alan Freeman and I think the forward lines should be built around them.

I think Kilcoyne did himself a few favours on Friday night. He looked dangerous and got a couple of scores from the ground which is important and scored 1-3 in total. I think Ronaldson is simply too small to be effective in the NFL and championship against regular size county teams. We may just get away with one small forward in the FF line and I think it could be Varley.

It was a poor game, both teams didnt look particularly interested and NUIG imploded in the 2nd half. Douglas and Doherty didnt stand up against a decent enough Mayo full back line so im not sure if they are ready to take the step yet.

I admit to having a grá for Cathal Freeman. He s some way from maximum fitness but that will come. what he does have is something that few Mayo players have. Good technique, composure and good decision making. He has a radar for the game few have. I like that kind of player but appreciate that not everybody does.
I used to expect Alan Dillon to be a no. 11. It seemed to be the natural thing to happen. But I have to accept that he has done his best work at 12. Even NUIG played him on the wing the last night although he was listed as 11.No reason he can not be a hub figure at 12. Freeman had a field day against Sligo in the championship but Noel McGuire is hardly a prince of fullbacks anymore. Against Down he got little change but exploded into the game from the half forward line. Where he ends up remains to be seen but I would suspect corner forward or part of a 2 man ff line.
I would disagree with you on the small men. I also think we can only carry one and I would go for Ronaldson who I believe is more complete with a better brain than the others. But, as I expect we develop into a 2 man ff line I don t see any place for the little men. I expect Andy to be wearing 15 and playing deep enough and the likes of Campbell, Harte - if he gets back in time, Cathal Freeman, Dillon and a surplus midfielder to be in contention for the half forward line. Campbell is going to take more time to get back to where he was as an underage player but he should come on. We need his size and power. It s a shame that Michael Conroy did not get involved. If he was interested he could have solved one inside position.
Post by: Zulu on February 13, 2011, 11:08:57 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2011, 05:46:31 PM
Yeah, we're a long way off our best forward line. It'll include Dillon, Andy, Alan Freeman anyway. Need to get three more from the following - Kilcoyne, Ronaldson, Aidan O'Shea, Varley, Cillian O'Connor, Aidan Campbell, Cathal Freeman, Neil Douglas, Jason Doherty. Lots of possibilities there but hard to know what lads will nail a place down. Personally I'd think our best potential front six at the minute is - Aidan O'Shea, Dillon, Andy; Killer, Alan Freeman, Ronaldson/O'Connor. But it's wide open yet. I'm picking those on the basis that we know what AOS and AK can do and they merely need to recapture that. Perhaps Campbell, C Freeman et al can step up to the mark before the summer.

What has AOS done? IMO he won't make it as a serious senior IC footballer
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2011, 11:15:43 PM
@moysider - I'd have a grá for Cathal Freeman too but I wouldn't be expecting a huge amount of him just yet. He should be allowed to come on at his own pace and if he is in the reckoning for this year great, if not, he will be next year. He has missed a lot of football so I'd be mindful of that. But a classy, rare footballer. Two footed, always does the right thing. A footballer.

@zulu With regard to AOS I'd be referring to league and championship in 2009 and Under 21 performances both last year and 09. I know that that is a different level and I know you will argue about mobility but I think Mayo will be in serious shape if an on-form Aidan O'Shea can't make the team. But in the half-forward line and not the inside line. He is best running towards goal.
Post by: moysider on February 14, 2011, 12:14:42 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2011, 11:15:43 PM
@moysider - I'd have a grá for Cathal Freeman too but I wouldn't be expecting a huge amount of him just yet. He should be allowed to come on at his own pace and if he is in the reckoning for this year great, if not, he will be next year. He has missed a lot of football so I'd be mindful of that. But a classy, rare footballer. Two footed, always does the right thing. A footballer.

@zulu With regard to AOS I'd be referring to league and championship in 2009 and Under 21 performances both last year and 09. I know that that is a different level and I know you will argue about mobility but I think Mayo will be in serious shape if an on-form Aidan O'Shea can't make the team. But in the half-forward line and not the inside line. He is best running towards goal.

I would expect Cathal Freeman to come along quite quickly. While we can t expect a huge amount from him in the short term he is the way to go. In the two games I ve seen him last 2 weeks his brain was match fit and I suspect that physically he s not bad either. He has always been deceptive anyway. He ll always look more Dave Barry than David Beckham.

Aidan O Sé is a worry and what worries me is why he is not on-form? I always worry when a players best performances were last year or two years ago. I disagree about his best position being in the half forward line. We could not afford that. He would attack on the ball
but otherwise would not be able for it - his older brother far better for that role.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2011, 12:44:11 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 14, 2011, 12:14:42 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2011, 11:15:43 PM

I would expect Cathal Freeman to come along quite quickly. While we can t expect a huge amount from him in the short term he is the way to go. In the two games I ve seen him last 2 weeks his brain was match fit and I suspect that physically he s not bad either. He has always been deceptive anyway. He ll always look more Dave Barry than David Beckham.

Aidan O Sé is a worry and what worries me is why he is not on-form? I always worry when a players best performances were last year or two years ago. I disagree about his best position being in the half forward line. We could not afford that. He would attack on the ball
but otherwise would not be able for it - his older brother far better for that role.

Bit harsh on Cathal Freeman there in terms of appearance Moysider! To be fair he has always been a lean athlete with serious pace. Stamina will need work, as will a small bit of sharpness.
Aidan O'Shea's form last year was definitely a worry but he bounced back with a very good second half of the season with the club. We shouldn't rush to the 'same old story' view just because of one poor game in February.
Post by: southsider on February 14, 2011, 03:03:34 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 13, 2011, 10:17:03 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 13, 2011, 09:48:16 PM

I admit to having a grá for Cathal Freeman. He s some way from maximum fitness but that will come. what he does have is something that few Mayo players have. Good technique, composure and good decision making. He has a radar for the game few have. I like that kind of player but appreciate that not everybody does.
I used to expect Alan Dillon to be a no. 11. It seemed to be the natural thing to happen. But I have to accept that he has done his best work at 12. Even NUIG played him on the wing the last night although he was listed as 11.No reason he can not be a hub figure at 12. Freeman had a field day against Sligo in the championship but Noel McGuire is hardly a prince of fullbacks anymore. Against Down he got little change but exploded into the game from the half forward line. Where he ends up remains to be seen but I would suspect corner forward or part of a 2 man ff line.
I would disagree with you on the small men. I also think we can only carry one and I would go for Ronaldson who I believe is more complete with a better brain than the others. But, as I expect we develop into a 2 man ff line I don t see any place for the little men. I expect Andy to be wearing 15 and playing deep enough and the likes of Campbell, Harte - if he gets back in time, Cathal Freeman, Dillon and a surplus midfielder to be in contention for the half forward line. Campbell is going to take more time to get back to where he was as an underage player but he should come on. We need his size and power. It s a shame that Michael Conroy did not get involved. If he was interested he could have solved one inside position.

Has any of the performances against NUIG warranted a change in personnel for the kerry game or will the panel by largely the same. is there a trimming of the squad due over the coming weeks.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 14, 2011, 03:14:17 PM
Quote from: southsider on February 14, 2011, 03:03:34 PM
Has any of the performances against NUIG warranted a change in personnel for the kerry game or will the panel by largely the same. is there a trimming of the squad due over the coming weeks.

The last I heard the panel was down to about 40 with 4 - 5 guys still injured and due back. The NUIG match was a bad game and not many stood out. For NUIG I have to say that Conroy, Doherty and Douglas didnt do a lot to warrant serious contention. Gardiner played well and caused problems when he came forward and ran Farrell ragged when he wanted to.

For Mayo the defence did Ok as a unit but we still haven't found a Centre Back. The forwards were all relatively busy but I dont see a forward line that small making it when it comes to championship.

Id say they will try and learn some more about the new guys against Kerry next weekend which will be a big test.
Post by: southsider on February 14, 2011, 03:39:50 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 14, 2011, 03:14:17 PM
Quote from: southsider on February 14, 2011, 03:03:34 PM

The last I heard the panel was down to about 40 with 4 - 5 guys still injured and due back. The NUIG match was a bad game and not many stood out. For NUIG I have to say that Conroy, Doherty and Douglas didnt do a lot to warrant serious contention. Gardiner played well and caused problems when he came forward and ran Farrell ragged when he wanted to.

For Mayo the defence did Ok as a unit but we still haven't found a Centre Back. The forwards were all relatively busy but I dont see a forward line that small making it when it comes to championship.

Id say they will try and learn some more about the new guys against Kerry next weekend which will be a big test.

ya some big challenges. be interesting to see the make up of the team and who horan picks to mark danger men like donaghy and cooper inside. they'll pose a different threat to down - long high accurate ball to donaghy at stages
Post by: moysider on February 14, 2011, 09:12:45 PM

Expecting very little change from the Down game. Freeman wont be there but it wouldn't surprise me if the rest start.
Most things worked well enough v Down and crucially improved as the game went on. I dont think he ll mess around with the confidence of the players by chopping and changing much now. Changes some players would take as being dropped. He has a fine balancing act between experimenting and getting some continuity going.
Post by: mannix on February 14, 2011, 09:29:24 PM
I think he could possibly drop a few if he wanted, he needs to be able to chop and change a bit without fellas getting upset.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 05, 2011, 05:23:11 PM
Away final this weekend. Delaying a whole round of club games in the league here in Mayo...
Post by: sans pessimism on October 05, 2011, 06:20:58 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 05, 2011, 05:23:11 PM
Away final this weekend. Delaying a whole round of club games in the league here in Mayo...
Was it not always pencilled in for this w/end Farr
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 05, 2011, 07:17:16 PM
It was, but surely some arrangement could be made to get the league over and done with.

I recall last year's County final had to be put back a week to accomodate this junket too.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 05, 2011, 09:20:19 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 05, 2011, 07:17:16 PM
It was, but surely some arrangement could be made to get the league over and done with.

I recall last year's County final had to be put back a week to accomodate this junket too.
Was it not posponed because of the Inisboffin tragedy
Post by: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 09:43:59 PM
Didn't the Mayo county board rescheduled fixtures for October when they could/should have been played in September?
Post by: sans pessimism on October 06, 2011, 10:30:00 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 09:43:59 PM
Didn't the Mayo county board rescheduled fixtures for October when they could/should have been played in September?
Mayo County Board????....naa,they'd never do anything like that!!
Title: Re: FBD Final - MAYO v New York - 09/10/2011
Post by: RogerMilla on October 06, 2011, 03:47:50 PM
all in favour of this fixture, its trips like this where bonding takes place , 
Post by: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 07:09:14 PM
Does anyone know where there will be updates of this match?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2011, 07:26:36 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 07:09:14 PM

MWR said they'd have some I think.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 07:33:02 PM
what time is throw in
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2011, 07:35:45 PM
8pm Irish time.
Post by: ross4life on October 09, 2011, 07:39:10 PM
28°C sunny great weather for football maybe a bit warm for the Mayo lads?
Post by: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 07:46:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2011, 07:26:36 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 07:09:14 PM

MWR said they'd have some I think.

Thanks!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 09, 2011, 09:43:44 PM
Mayo beat New York 7-11 to 2-9. County Board Chairman Paddy McNicholas was a second half substitute and scored 3-3.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 09:51:20 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on October 09, 2011, 09:43:44 PM
Mayo beat New York 7-11 to 2-9.County Board Chairman Paddy McNicholas was a second half substitute and scored 3-3.
bout the only way you'd get the CB crowd outta the dugout
Post by: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 09:54:53 PM
Good result for the boys! Hope they are enjoying their time in NYC! It's well deserved after the season they had.
Any word on who scored and how everyone played?
Post by: mannix on October 10, 2011, 03:50:00 AM
The mayo fellas will be watching their backs in a big way, horan and co will apparently be dropping some and bringing in others.  It was an absolutely glorious day for football, hot and sunny but still a cool breeze, hard to beat this kind of weather.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 10, 2011, 08:13:09 AM
Quote from: Sam2011 on October 09, 2011, 09:54:53 PM
Good result for the boys! Hope they are enjoying their time in NYC! It's well deserved after the season they had.
Any word on who scored and how everyone played?
I heard C o C scored 2 first half goals
Post by: Syferus on October 11, 2011, 02:28:27 AM
I was In New York City last week, just left on Wednesday last. Given Roscommon were playing New York this year too I'm ruing my luck at not having gotten to experience the novelty of an inter-county game in NYC.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 28, 2011, 07:27:05 PM
London to join up. From Hoganstand...

QuoteAll the fixtures for next year's FBD Insurance Connacht FL.

Section A

Round 1
Sligo IT v Galway, 7.30pm - Wednesday 4th January
Sligo v NUIG, 7.30pm - Wednesday 4th January

Round 2
Sligo IT v London, 7.30pm - Friday 6th January
Sligo v London, 2pm - Sunday 8th January
NUIG v Galway 2pm - Sunday 8th January

Round 3
NUIG v London, 7.30 - Friday 13th January
Sligo IT v Sligo, 2pm - Sunday 15th January
Galway v London, 2pm - Sunday 15th January

Round 4
IT Sligo v NUIG, 2pm - Sunday 22nd January
Galway v Sligo, 2pm - Sunday 22nd January

Section B

Round 1
GMIT v Roscommon, 2pm - Sunday 8th January
Mayo v Leitrim, 2pm - Sunday 8th January

Round 2
Leitrim v Roscommon, 2pm - Sunday 15th January
Mayo v GMIT, 2pm - Sunday 15th January

Round 3
GMIT v Leitrim, 2pm - Sunday 23rd January
Roscommon v Mayo, 2pm - Sunday 23rd January

Home Final - 29th January

Final - 7th October

Format for deciding League & Round Robin Format
Where Teams finish with equal points for Qualification for the Concluding Stages, the tie shall be decided by the following means and in the order specified, subject to Clause (d) below -
(i)Where two Teams only are involved - the outcome of the meeting of the two Teams in the previous game in the Competition.
(ii) Scoring Difference (subtracting the total Scores Against from total Scores For)
(iii) Highest Total Score For.
(iv) A Play Off.
(d) If Disqualifications, Retirements or Walk Overs materially affect the outcome of the Points Totals (Scores) in the League Stage of a Championship, there shall be Play Offs to determine Qualification for the Concluding Stages of the Championship, Third Level Colleges have first call on the First 3 Players from a County.