Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 09:58:09 AM

Title: Question for Derry contingent Re Coleraine
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 09:58:09 AM
If one was to bring a sports team to Coleraine and one wanted to stay post-game where would be the best place to stay and go out for beers on the Saturday night?
Title: Re: Question for Derry contingent Re Coleraine
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2010, 10:02:31 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 09:58:09 AM
If one was to bring a sports team to Coleraine and one wanted to stay post-game where would be the best place to stay and go out for beers on the Saturday night?
I would go a few extra miles and stop in Portstewart, always a busy town.
Post by: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 10:10:01 AM
yeah you would wiser staying in portstewart however there is pretty limited accomadation there. the anchor is your best bet. if not there are some ok hotels in portrush but portstewart is nicer. when is it for? as for Coleraine itself the only place i would advise are the student halls at Coleraine campus could be worth a look too if it isn't during term time!
Post by: Master Yoda on March 26, 2010, 10:19:06 AM
As others posters have said you are far better to stay in Portstewart.
Coleraine is full of loyalist scumbags.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 10:28:07 AM
Cheers, I was trying to be politicallty correct so as not to offend anyone probably shouldn't have..

It will be in May...
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 10:28:16 AM
radisson SAS in limavady is your best bet Dinny.
The standard of accomodation in the northern counties is v poor and not what (especially you) youd be used to.

you can go visit these towns like portstewart, portrush , even coleraine and limavady,even Derry city
but they are all fairly kippy and you run a real risk of ending up in a scrap and on the wrong side of the cops - who once they find yer southerners, you will be hit hard.

yer on a hiding to nothing , as both sides of the 'community' will look at you as outsiders and mistrust you and you are better off going to where your rugby hosts bring you.
Even if you are surrounded by left footers.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2010, 10:38:30 AM
Portstewart is as safe for a night out as Dublin/Cork/Limerick/Belfast.
If its a team, try the Ramada in Portrush and you can get a taxi into Portstewart for a good nights craic in the Anchor, guaranteed.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 10:45:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2010, 10:38:30 AM
If its a team, try the Ramada in Portrush and you can get a taxi into Portstewart for a good nights craic in the Anchor, guaranteed.
while not very knowledgeable of portstewart these years, I struggle to accept that about any city or town in the north of Ireland when visited by southeners.
Post by: mikasas on March 26, 2010, 10:55:28 AM
Lynchboy what eara are you living in? The port is grand so long as you dont make an arse of yourself trying to stand out. The Anchor is very good and if you have a younger crowd, Kellys is a good option!
Post by: Bogball XV on March 26, 2010, 10:57:50 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 10:45:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2010, 10:38:30 AM
while not very knowledgeable of portstewart these years, I struggle to accept that about any city or town in the north of Ireland when visited by southeners.
Accept it, the bloody town is full of mexicans all year round, feckin university!!  Sure isn't the coleraine gaa club actually based in the port now.
Seriously, stay in or around portstewart, don't venture into coleraine except when driving through it and I wouldn't be too keen on going too close to Portrush either (grand to stay in, but wouldn't be keen on taking advantage of the local watering holes).  Whiskeysteve or some of the lads can fill in where best to stay in the port.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 10:59:53 AM
QuoteThe port is grand so long as you dont make an arse of yourself trying to stand out.

I foresee a problem....
Post by: Bogball XV on March 26, 2010, 11:02:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 10:59:53 AM
QuoteThe port is grand so long as you dont make an arse of yourself trying to stand out.

I foresee a problem....
ah no, they're very good at identify which fools need pardons :D
Post by: toiletroller on March 26, 2010, 11:08:46 AM
The Port is a good spot for a night out, a few good bars. Accomodation wise you could probably get a handful of guest houses near hand of each other that would be keenly priced for accomodaton.

Alternativley Ballycastle is a great spot. 30 mins for PortstewartYou could play the game and head down there for the night. Great selection of bars and a nightclub for those who are game! We took a team there and got a good deal at the Marine Hotel. 
Post by: Bogball XV on March 26, 2010, 11:11:15 AM
Quote from: toiletroller on March 26, 2010, 11:08:46 AM
The Port is a good spot for a night out, a few good bars. Accomodation wise you could probably get a handful of guest houses near hand of each other that would be keenly priced for accomodaton.

Alternativley Ballycastle is a great spot. 30 mins for PortstewartYou could play the game and head down there for the night. Great selection of bars and a nightclub for those who are game! We took a team there and got a good deal at the Marine Hotel.
more chance of pulling a chancey wan in the port though ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 11:25:36 AM
What's lush nightclub like?
Post by: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 11:30:24 AM
that is part of kellys nightclub. is a good spot but better on a wednesday night when the students are about...
ps lynchboy some of your views are pretty ridiculous....
Post by: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 12:16:08 PM
dinny i have kindly put together a pub crawl for you and the lads:

Mary Craig's- number 1 watering hole in Coleraine-cannot be missed. new market street is Coleraines version of temple bar...
The Market Bar
Clyd Tavern
The Olde Forge Inn
Glebe House
McAnultys Bar
Bertha's Bar

if yous are still standing the the legion and weatherspoons must be hit too.

enjoy your stay
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 26, 2010, 12:36:58 PM
The brother lived in Portstewart for over 10 years and wouldnt think of setting foot in Coleraine itself for a night out ,
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 12:44:09 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 11:30:24 AM
that is part of kellys nightclub. is a good spot but better on a wednesday night when the students are about...
you chaps dont have the luxury of a perspective of an 'outsider'

a team full of rugby lads (or any southern/non locals) full of booze and having the craic draws attention to themselves and can turn nasty v quickly
maybe portstewart is different to everywhere else in the northern counties of Ireland, but rem these guys will not be there on 'student time'
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2010, 01:02:52 PM
Jaysus ye feckers would argue over anything...

As Lynchbhoy states my priority would be to avoid trouble but trying to control 22 walking hormones, the vast majority in their early 20s will be hard no matter where you are but as long as I can give them some pointers it will help, they'd be an innocent group as would must Southerner's at that age imho so they wouldn't a clue about where to avoid etc etc.

Going to stay in the Ramada in Portrush it looks so cheers for all the advice lads..
Post by: nrico2006 on March 26, 2010, 01:29:26 PM
I lived in Portstewart for 5 years, only slight chance of getting into a row that you wouldn't get into anywhere else.  Portrush would be dodgy at night though, but Kellys is as safe as any other night club.  As for Coleraine, I don't know why anybody would want to stay in it as it is a dump and there would be nowhere worth going to at night in there anyway.  Some talent up around that direction too.
Post by: Olaf on March 26, 2010, 01:31:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 12:44:09 PM

??? ??? But maybe do have the perspective of knowing what it  is actually like.

Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 01:36:24 PM
Quote from: Olaf on March 26, 2010, 01:31:37 PM

not much use to you when your different accent changes the mood of a bar and its patrons - and it ends up looking like a fecking scene from 'deliverence' as 'experienced' right across the entire northern counties by myself on many occasions over the past 20 years.

Am well used to most areas in co Derry and thats my exp, I dont go to a lot of places around the county now because of the above kind of mentality.

Dinny needs to know the possibles when he brings OUTSIDERS up to the region, if he was bringing 'people who knew what it was like' (ie locals) then he wouldnt be asking and your comment might then be valid !
Post by: Massey-135 on March 26, 2010, 01:47:25 PM
my advice would be don't stay in or socialise in Coleraine itself. The place is a dump, one of the worst places in northern ireland. Very sectarian and there's nowhere to go out in it anyway. The Anchor or Havana in Portstewart are your best bets for a night out. Kellys/Lush at the weekend is dodgy enough, full of drugs and more sectarian hoors
Post by: Olaf on March 26, 2010, 01:54:38 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 01:36:24 PM

I dont go to a lot of places around the county now

I gathered that. ::)

Maybe you should.
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 26, 2010, 01:55:12 PM
Only seeing this now...

Dinny, as other posters have said, avoid Coleraine for the night out. Too dodgy, simple as. For 20 rugby lads on the piss, i would recommend Portstewart. Its too small for accomodation though, best staying in hotels in Portrush.

Lynchbhoy, Portstewart is a uni town, always has been to some degree. There has always been a fairly mixed crowd. You're decades out of touch. Of course 20 pished rugger lads always has its own inherent dangers, regardless.

Put it this way, I would be very very surprised if anyone went for these lads for being mexicans. Coleraine would be a different matter.

Kellys in Portrush is the biggest nightclub on the north coast but you could have more bother there.

Portstewart is safe enough Dinny, its a mixed town. Put it this way, if the local GAA team was on a big night out it would tend to be in Shenanigans, which is across the road from the Anchor. You would also find plenty of Coleraine rugby players out on any weekend night there as well. Age range about early 20's. And Anchor has plenty of southern students out on midweek student nights all the time.

I reckon you should hit either the Anchor or Shenanigans and you could actually go back and forth between the 2 as they are 50 yards apart, see how you feel. There are small clubs above both bars for the end of the night (called 'Aura' above Anchor and 'Havana' above Shenanigans)

Saturdays are best nights. Fridays good enough too.

So have a few pints in 'The Portstewart Arms' during the day and then end down to either of the aforementioned. Portstewart Arms got 5/5 pints in Belfast Telegraph Pub Spy (article pinned on the noticeboard), great wee bar  ;D

Any bother, tell them you know Ricko Carey  ;D
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2010, 02:01:42 PM

not much use to you when your different accent changes the mood of a bar and its patrons - and it ends up looking like a fecking scene from 'deliverence' as 'experienced' right across the entire northern counties by myself on many occasions over the past 20 years.

Am well used to most areas in co Derry and thats my exp, I dont go to a lot of places around the county now because of the above kind of mentality.

Dinny needs to know the possibles when he brings OUTSIDERS up to the region, if he was bringing 'people who knew what it was like' (ie locals) then he wouldnt be asking and your comment might then be valid !

Your English accent would certainly change the atmosphere in most bars.
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 26, 2010, 02:13:32 PM

Lynchbhoy, portstewart is different to any other town in derry. Its v mixed re students, GAA, rugby, skaters/surfers ;),etc moreso than other towns i reckon. Even in the bad days troubles largely passed it by.

Even the locals aint local! Just thinking of lads on GAA team, can only think of 1/2 who have a parent originally from the town.

Sortherners guarenteed not to raise an eyebrow is what im trying to say. Off the top of my head i know a few Cork, Kerry, Galway people in the town like.

Your logic dont really apply
Post by: supersub on March 26, 2010, 02:24:27 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 12:16:08 PM
dinny i have kindly put together a pub crawl for you and the lads:

Mary Craig's- number 1 watering hole in Coleraine-cannot be missed. new market street is Coleraines version of temple bar...
The Market Bar
Clyd Tavern
The Olde Forge Inn
Glebe House
McAnultys Bar
Bertha's Bar

if yous are still standing the the legion and weatherspoons must be hit too.

enjoy your stay

Are you venturing into event management and hospitality otb?
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 03:40:43 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2010, 02:01:42 PM

Your English accent would certainly change the atmosphere in most bars.
Post by: Bogball XV on March 26, 2010, 07:06:30 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on March 26, 2010, 02:13:32 PM
Lynchbhoy, portstewart is different to any other town in derry. Its v mixed re students, GAA, rugby, skaters/surfers ;),etc moreso than other towns i reckon. Even in the bad days troubles largely passed it by.

Even the locals aint local! Just thinking of lads on GAA team, can only think of 1/2 who have a parent originally from the town.

Sortherners guarenteed not to raise an eyebrow is what im trying to say. Off the top of my head i know a few Cork, Kerry, Galway people in the town like.

Your logic dont really apply
But sure the team is Coleraine, so why would the parents be expected to hail from portstewart ;) 
Post by: haranguerer on March 27, 2010, 12:02:13 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 10:28:16 AM
radisson SAS in limavady is your best bet Dinny.
The standard of accomodation in the northern counties is v poor and not what (especially you) youd be used to.

you can go visit these towns like portstewart, portrush , even coleraine and limavady,even Derry city
but they are all fairly kippy and you run a real risk of ending up in a scrap and on the wrong side of the cops - who once they find yer southerners, you will be hit hard.

yer on a hiding to nothing , as both sides of the 'community' will look at you as outsiders and mistrust you and you are better off going to where your rugby hosts bring you.
Even if you are surrounded by left footers.

Catholics?  ??? Then he'd be grand, no?
Post by: Aerlik on March 27, 2010, 01:52:01 AM
Or you could always head to Kilrea.... ;)

Then there's Ballymoney, Garvagh, Macosquin and Bushmills - they love an influx of visitors

Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 27, 2010, 10:13:42 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 27, 2010, 01:52:01 AM
Or you could always head to Kilrea.... ;)

Then there's Ballymoney, Garvagh, Macosquin and Bushmills - they love an influx of visitors

jesus aerlik thats 4 lovely places you have mentioned there :D you left out Dervock and Mosside - another 2 places where they would be made very welcome

dinny, in all my years socialising, i would never EVER even have thought of going out in coleraine, or in any of those sorrounding areas that aerlik mentioned. stick with either of the 2 ports, thy will be grand
Post by: Rav67 on March 27, 2010, 10:14:32 AM
Lynchboy you're way off with this one.  Even with a really big group they'll be grand in Portstewart.

And as for the accent thing, don't think it'd be a big problem in most bars round the county actually if you're not in a big group, whether you have a southern or an English twang if its only the one of you- don't get me wrong the situation could be different with a big group bit I think you're exaggerating a lot.
Post by: Ulick on March 27, 2010, 01:17:46 PM
I lived in Portstewart for four years. September to June it's akin to any other college town in Ireland (north or south) and is full of southern accents and as the UU Irish department is based in Coleraine it's not uncommon to hear people in the pubs conversing as gaeilge. Portrush at weekends now is a different matter entirely.
Post by: thewobbler on March 27, 2010, 08:56:30 PM
I wouldn't recommend the Ramada in Portrush under any circumstances for a rugby outing.

I've stayed there 3 times on work away days and on each occasion ended up having a stand-up row with the night porter. He is a born-again christian and firmly believes that after midnight, hotels are for sleeping in only.

I'd have no problem with this if we were wrecking the place or causing havoc, but it was a case of 5-6 people having a drink in a bedroom.

Post by: Bogball XV on March 27, 2010, 09:24:54 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 27, 2010, 08:56:30 PM
I wouldn't recommend the Ramada in Portrush under any circumstances for a rugby outing.

I've stayed there 3 times on work away days and on each occasion ended up having a stand-up row with the night porter. He is a born-again christian and firmly believes that after midnight, hotels are for sleeping in only.

I'd have no problem with this if we were wrecking the place or causing havoc, but it was a case of 5-6 people having a drink in a bedroom.
can't remember the ramada, but if i'd a choice, i wouldn't want to stay a saturday night in portrush.
Post by: Aerlik on March 28, 2010, 12:23:57 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on March 27, 2010, 10:13:42 AM
jesus aerlik thats 4 lovely places you have mentioned there :D you left out Dervock and Mosside - another 2 places where they would be made very welcome

I forgot about Dervock....which is understandable.  But I should have remembered Stranocum.  Sure RUGBY-playing 26-ers would be most welcome there. 

Where is Mosside?  I've heard of the place.  I could have mentioned Moneydig, too, but wouldn't want to quadruple the population overnight, nor the IQ either. ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on April 05, 2010, 04:07:28 PM
Anything to do with you Dinny? ;)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8603374.stm
Post by: tc_manchester on July 16, 2025, 11:23:42 AM
Ok - it's now 15 years since this was updated. I'm going to the Foyle Cup with my eldest boy's team who are based in Kildare. We're staying out at the UUC campus. Would it be best to avoid bars in Coleraine and head to Portstewart and if so what taxi apps are available in the area - I tried UBER, Bolt and FreeNow and it looks like they are not setup for Coleraine.
Post by: screenexile on July 16, 2025, 11:28:00 AM
There'd be no apps for Coleraine I'd say your best bet is a google search and a couple of phone numbers!!

Yeah stay well out of Coleraine both Portrush and Portstewart will be hopping with a few decent bars in each.
Post by: JoG2 on July 16, 2025, 11:55:49 AM
Maybe it has changed, but all bars, whilst filled with our loyalist brethren and not overly inviting, were all catholic owned
Post by: Brendan on July 16, 2025, 12:49:08 PM
Portrush best avoided with a southern accent/ car registration. Portstewart the only friendly place for that kind of thing which is convenient if you're staying near the uni campus anyway. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in Portstewart and if the weather's good there's a good footpath for bikes if that's an option especially if there's good weather to avoid you using taxis
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 16, 2025, 05:14:11 PM
Quote from: Brendan on July 16, 2025, 12:49:08 PMPortrush best avoided with a southern accent/ car registration. Portstewart the only friendly place for that kind of thing which is convenient if you're staying near the uni campus anyway. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in Portstewart and if the weather's good there's a good footpath for bikes if that's an option especially if there's good weather to avoid you using taxis

This
Post by: LC on July 16, 2025, 05:50:25 PM
Quote from: Brendan on July 16, 2025, 12:49:08 PMPortrush best avoided with a southern accent/ car registration. Portstewart the only friendly place for that kind of thing which is convenient if you're staying near the uni campus anyway. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in Portstewart and if the weather's good there's a good footpath for bikes if that's an option especially if there's good weather to avoid you using taxis

The vermin usually seem to congregate in Portrush.
Post by: tc_manchester on July 16, 2025, 08:39:30 PM
Folks - thanks for the advice. Portstewart it is then. I'm a Tyrone man but I'll have a mix of Dublin, Wicklow and Kildare dads with me.
Post by: Franko on July 17, 2025, 09:30:49 AM

Yep.  Portrush is the north's version of Blackpool/Benidorm

Attracts the dregs like a fly to a blue light

Portstewart is a proper town with a bit more class and less amusement arcades

Plus totally friendly to anyone in a GAA top/southern reg car/accent etc etc
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 17, 2025, 11:43:08 AM
Portrush most times of yr is ok, still never wear a gaa top round it though, July fortnight, normally brings it. All the lowlife for a month, Whether this is the case this year with everything through the roof, price wise is anybody guess. Maybe have to behave themselves with the outside world looking on at the golf.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 17, 2025, 12:40:28 PM
Aye thought yous were wee bit sore on Portrush but same time Portstewart deffo the better of the two, and this is the time of year for the crazies
Post by: AustinPowers on July 22, 2025, 12:34:43 AM
Quote from: Franko on July 17, 2025, 09:30:49 AM

Yep.  Portrush is the north's version of Blackpool/Benidorm

Attracts the dregs like a fly to a blue light

Portstewart is a proper town with a bit more class and less amusement arcades

Plus totally friendly to anyone in a GAA top/southern reg car/accent etc etc

Funny you say that. I've only been to Portrush once , years ago. Was only a day trip so I  Can't remember much about it because we  spent the day in the  waterworld .  but I hear people say  there are a number of GAA tops around in summer.

Plus, when browsing in the shops for  souvenirs , they noticed a lot of  Irish names; Saoirse, Aoife, Caolan  and so on. So either  they've been lumbered with them , or  Catholics actually do frequent the place and  the shops cater for their  souvenir needs