Question for Derry contingent Re Coleraine

Started by Dinny Breen, March 26, 2010, 09:58:09 AM

Overthebar!

that is part of kellys nightclub. is a good spot but better on a wednesday night when the students are about...
ps lynchboy some of your views are pretty ridiculous....

Overthebar!

dinny i have kindly put together a pub crawl for you and the lads:

Mary Craig's- number 1 watering hole in Coleraine-cannot be missed. new market street is Coleraines version of temple bar...
The Market Bar
Clyd Tavern
The Olde Forge Inn
Glebe House
McAnultys Bar
Bertha's Bar

if yous are still standing the the legion and weatherspoons must be hit too.

enjoy your stay

Newbridge Exile

The brother lived in Portstewart for over 10 years and wouldnt think of setting foot in Coleraine itself for a night out ,

Quote from: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 11:30:24 AM
that is part of kellys nightclub. is a good spot but better on a wednesday night when the students are about...
you chaps dont have the luxury of a perspective of an 'outsider'

a team full of rugby lads (or any southern/non locals) full of booze and having the craic draws attention to themselves and can turn nasty v quickly
maybe portstewart is different to everywhere else in the northern counties of Ireland, but rem these guys will not be there on 'student time'

Jaysus ye feckers would argue over anything...

As Lynchbhoy states my priority would be to avoid trouble but trying to control 22 walking hormones, the vast majority in their early 20s will be hard no matter where you are but as long as I can give them some pointers it will help, they'd be an innocent group as would must Southerner's at that age imho so they wouldn't a clue about where to avoid etc etc.

Going to stay in the Ramada in Portrush it looks so cheers for all the advice lads..

I lived in Portstewart for 5 years, only slight chance of getting into a row that you wouldn't get into anywhere else.  Portrush would be dodgy at night though, but Kellys is as safe as any other night club.  As for Coleraine, I don't know why anybody would want to stay in it as it is a dump and there would be nowhere worth going to at night in there anyway.  Some talent up around that direction too.

Olaf

Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 12:44:09 PM

??? ??? But maybe do have the perspective of knowing what it  is actually like.

Quote from: Olaf on March 26, 2010, 01:31:37 PM

not much use to you when your different accent changes the mood of a bar and its patrons - and it ends up looking like a fecking scene from 'deliverence' as 'experienced' right across the entire northern counties by myself on many occasions over the past 20 years.

Am well used to most areas in co Derry and thats my exp, I dont go to a lot of places around the county now because of the above kind of mentality.

Dinny needs to know the possibles when he brings OUTSIDERS up to the region, if he was bringing 'people who knew what it was like' (ie locals) then he wouldnt be asking and your comment might then be valid !

Massey-135

my advice would be don't stay in or socialise in Coleraine itself. The place is a dump, one of the worst places in northern ireland. Very sectarian and there's nowhere to go out in it anyway. The Anchor or Havana in Portstewart are your best bets for a night out. Kellys/Lush at the weekend is dodgy enough, full of drugs and more sectarian hoors

Olaf

Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2010, 01:36:24 PM

I dont go to a lot of places around the county now

I gathered that. ::)

Maybe you should.

whiskeysteve

Only seeing this now...

Dinny, as other posters have said, avoid Coleraine for the night out. Too dodgy, simple as. For 20 rugby lads on the piss, i would recommend Portstewart. Its too small for accomodation though, best staying in hotels in Portrush.

Lynchbhoy, Portstewart is a uni town, always has been to some degree. There has always been a fairly mixed crowd. You're decades out of touch. Of course 20 pished rugger lads always has its own inherent dangers, regardless.

Put it this way, I would be very very surprised if anyone went for these lads for being mexicans. Coleraine would be a different matter.

Kellys in Portrush is the biggest nightclub on the north coast but you could have more bother there.

Portstewart is safe enough Dinny, its a mixed town. Put it this way, if the local GAA team was on a big night out it would tend to be in Shenanigans, which is across the road from the Anchor. You would also find plenty of Coleraine rugby players out on any weekend night there as well. Age range about early 20's. And Anchor has plenty of southern students out on midweek student nights all the time.

I reckon you should hit either the Anchor or Shenanigans and you could actually go back and forth between the 2 as they are 50 yards apart, see how you feel. There are small clubs above both bars for the end of the night (called 'Aura' above Anchor and 'Havana' above Shenanigans)

Saturdays are best nights. Fridays good enough too.

So have a few pints in 'The Portstewart Arms' during the day and then end down to either of the aforementioned. Portstewart Arms got 5/5 pints in Belfast Telegraph Pub Spy (article pinned on the noticeboard), great wee bar  ;D

Any bother, tell them you know Ricko Carey  ;D
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

not much use to you when your different accent changes the mood of a bar and its patrons - and it ends up looking like a fecking scene from 'deliverence' as 'experienced' right across the entire northern counties by myself on many occasions over the past 20 years.

Am well used to most areas in co Derry and thats my exp, I dont go to a lot of places around the county now because of the above kind of mentality.

Dinny needs to know the possibles when he brings OUTSIDERS up to the region, if he was bringing 'people who knew what it was like' (ie locals) then he wouldnt be asking and your comment might then be valid !

Your English accent would certainly change the atmosphere in most bars.

whiskeysteve

Lynchbhoy, portstewart is different to any other town in derry. Its v mixed re students, GAA, rugby, skaters/surfers ;),etc moreso than other towns i reckon. Even in the bad days troubles largely passed it by.

Even the locals aint local! Just thinking of lads on GAA team, can only think of 1/2 who have a parent originally from the town.

Sortherners guarenteed not to raise an eyebrow is what im trying to say. Off the top of my head i know a few Cork, Kerry, Galway people in the town like.

Your logic dont really apply
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

supersub

Quote from: Overthebar! on March 26, 2010, 12:16:08 PM
dinny i have kindly put together a pub crawl for you and the lads:

Mary Craig's- number 1 watering hole in Coleraine-cannot be missed. new market street is Coleraines version of temple bar...
The Market Bar
Clyd Tavern
The Olde Forge Inn
Glebe House
McAnultys Bar
Bertha's Bar

if yous are still standing the the legion and weatherspoons must be hit too.

enjoy your stay

Are you venturing into event management and hospitality otb?

Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2010, 02:01:42 PM

Your English accent would certainly change the atmosphere in most bars.