I couldnt believe that some parents would be so selfish as to take hush money to let some pedo off the hook, bastards, in my book that are no better than the pedo.
charity has condemned the parents of a four-year-old boy who accepted money from a man who sexually abused him instead of reporting him to the police.
Gerard Raffell, 42, a teacher who lived in Daventry, Northamptonshire, agreed to pay £18,000 to the boy's parents.
He was eventually arrested when the boy told of the attacks four years later.
Peter Saunders, of the National Association of People Abused in Childhood (Napac), said: "We are flabbergasted - it goes beyond belief."
Raffell was sentenced to a three-year community sentence at Northampton Crown Court after pleading guilty to causing the boy to engage in sexual activity and seven counts of possessing indecent images of children.
I don't know of any parent who would put a sum of money before bringing the abuser of their child to justice
Peter Saunders, Napac
He was also placed on the sex offenders register for 10 years and banned from ever working with children.
Mr Saunders told BBC Radio 5 Live's Gabby Logan show: "This judge has let a man walk free who has sexually abused a child on many occasions - other children will still be at risk from this man.
"Those parents should have been brought before the court for something because it is outrageous - they discovered their child was being abused and did nothing about it.
"How bizarre - go away, give us some money and go off and abuse children elsewhere.
"The consequences of abuse are profound, they are long standing, they are deeply deeply damaging to the individual.
"I don't know of any parent who would put a sum of money before bringing the abuser of their child to justice. It's incomprehensible."
A spokesperson for the Crown Prosecution Service said: "Gerard Raffell was initially charged with three counts of attempted rape and four counts of causing or inciting a boy under 13 to engage in sexual activity.
"At a plea and case management hearing, the defence indicated the defendant would be prepared to plead guilty to four counts of causing or inciting a boy under 13 to engage in sexual activity.
"In accepting this plea this young victim was spared the ordeal of giving evidence in court.
"This was explained to and accepted by the family."
A spokesman for Northamptonshire County Council said it could not comment on the case in detail.
He added: "We can confirm that the council acted swiftly as soon as this issue came to us as a result of the police investigation to identify the needs of the child involved and respond appropriately
from the BBC
... sounds like a witch hunt against these parents who didn't stop this molester ::) Anyway, it wouldn't happen here...
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 16, 2010, 05:54:29 PM
... sounds like a witch hunt against these parents who didn't stop this molester ::) Anyway, it wouldn't happen here...
and why not the witch hunt? no self respecting parent should accept money so some piece of crap could possibly continue molesting young children
Quote from: Square Ball on March 16, 2010, 05:57:50 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 16, 2010, 05:54:29 PM
and why not the witch hunt? no self respecting parent should accept money so some piece of crap could possibly continue molesting young children
Jees! Square Ball, tell me you are kidding? :-\
those parents should be locked up..... think of the damage they could have prevented in those 4 yrs if they had reported him!
how could they justify what they did to their son... "sorry but we made 18,000 grand from ya"...
they are just as bad as the peado.... and should be hunted down!
Nope, I am not, they showed no regard for their child and should be pinished in some way. I honestly cannot comprehend this one at all, taking money to keep quite about someone sexually abusing their child, they should be send to jail, they are heartless cruel selfish bastards.
Quote from: Square Ball on March 16, 2010, 06:06:32 PM
Nope, I am not, they showed no regard for their child and should be pinished in some way. I honestly cannot comprehend this one at all, taking money to keep quite about someone sexually abusing their child, they should be send to jail, they are heartless cruel selfish b**tards.
FFS!! :-\ Square Ball... I'm alluding to the sh*te from Iceman and Seany and others calling the Sean Brady case a witch hunt and same when I say not reporting to police wouldn't happen here. Yip! agree with you totally.. it's a no brainer. The world's coped... it's a disgusting case... same as Brady there is no excuse... but sure Wacko Jacko (God rest him ::)) paid a family millions not to take him to court for molestation of their child and eejits on the board defended him.
Michael Jackson done the same
Cops started an investigation and then the parents dropped the charges after receiving $20m and the cops just let it go at that
Cde- there was some row about the board when Jacko died and posters called him a paedophile and made jokes at HIS expense... but then others said he weren't convicted of child abuse... anyway, he's met his maker who sees through everything... even Sean Brady ;)
there is a lot of paedophiles and people who knew what was going on are not convicted but that doesnt make them any less wrong.
Kids are easy frightened and by the time they understand the significance of what happened to them these people are either dead or too old for anything to be done about it
Quote from: Cde on March 16, 2010, 06:45:12 PM
there is a lot of paedophiles and people who knew what was going on are not convicted but that doesnt make them any less wrong.
Kids are easy frightened and by the time they understand the significance of what happened to them these people are either dead or too old for anything to be done about it
I don't think they are too old... there are war criminals before the courts in their late 80s.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 16, 2010, 06:10:17 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 16, 2010, 06:06:32 PM
Nope, I am not, they showed no regard for their child and should be pinished in some way. I honestly cannot comprehend this one at all, taking money to keep quite about someone sexually abusing their child, they should be send to jail, they are heartless cruel selfish b**tards.
FFS!! :-\ Square Ball... I'm alluding to the sh*te from Iceman and Seany and others calling the Sean Brady case a witch hunt and same when I say not reporting to police wouldn't happen here. Yip! agree with you totally.. it's a no brainer. The world's coped... it's a disgusting case... same as Brady there is no excuse... but sure Wacko Jacko (God rest him ::)) paid a family millions not to take him to court for molestation of their child and eejits on the board defended him.
okey dokey, misssed all that
Raffell was sentenced to a three-year community sentence at Northampton Crown Court after pleading guilty to causing the boy to engage in sexual activity and seven counts of possessing indecent images of children.
Is this a piss take?
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 16, 2010, 07:37:44 PM
Is this a piss take?
I was thinking that myself, thought he should have got a jail sentance, and the parents as well
Quote from: Square Ball on March 16, 2010, 08:48:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 16, 2010, 07:37:44 PM
Is this a piss take?
I was thinking that myself, thought he should have got a jail sentance, and the parents as well
The parents should be jailed and the child removed for his own safety. They aren't fit to be parents. How low can you go?!
They could have held out for 25,000.
Yes HS, that's exactly what they did
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 16, 2010, 09:03:44 PM
Yes HS, that's exactly what they did
Though it is acceptable for a priest to do it with the reward being a rise up through the ranks and power. Maybe the parents thot it was protocol ;)
Right fox, put up or shut up. Show me exactly where I said it was ok for anyone? Is it fair to think you are full of shit if you can't?
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 09:12:21 AM
Right fox, put up or shut up. Show me exactly where I said it was ok for anyone? Is it fair to think you are full of shit if you can't?
You defend Brady and hammer these parents... hammer all who don't report paedophiles whether they are Catholic priests or not... did you not say Brady couldn't go to police because of 'protocol?' Protocol = unwritten rules.
You said... "I saw somewhere today that Smyth was a member of the Norbertine Order. I
f that's true, it means that Brady was utterless powerless as he couldn't have done a thing about Smyth still being a member of the clergy or anything else for that matter. There are very strict protocols in place between a diocese and any religious order living inside the boundaries of the diocese. It's also up the the head of any order to decide what punishment a member should receive and if they should be reported to the authorities
You see, you are full of shit because I never said what you claimed
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 11:34:29 AM
You see, you are full of shit because I never said what you claimed
: March 16, 2010, 08:09:58 PM »
I pasted that from your comment ::) ... don't waste your time deleting as it has already been pasted in replies by other posters in that thread.
You say Brady... 'was utterly powerless and couldn't have done a thing about Symth'... blah balh... 'protocol'... Brady is as bad as these parents. stop digging ffs!
If he did nothing wrong or could do nothing else, why the hell has he apologised?
No w he says, "I want to say to anyone who has been hurt by any failure on my part that I apologise to you with all my heart.
"I also apologise to all those who feel I have let them down.
"Looking back
I am ashamed that I have not always upheld the values that I profess and believe in."
I still never said what you claimed I said. Are you really as thick as you seem?
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 02:57:18 PM
I still never said what you claimed I said. Are you really as thick as you seem?
You can name call all you like but you said what you said :-*
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 17, 2010, 05:26:14 PM
You are a liar if you are still insisting that I said it is ok. I said no such thing. I said in the other thread I wouldn't be commenting on Brady again and gave my reasons why. I won't be drawn into it again by anyone childish and immature enough to think that they will somehow bully or harass me into changing my mind and bringing me back into it. Yes fox, that means you.
Live with it
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 05:46:53 PM
You are a liar if you are still insisting that I said it is ok. I said no such thing. I said in the other thread I wouldn't be commenting on Brady again and gave my reasons why. I won't be drawn into it again by anyone childish and immature enough to think that they will somehow bully or harass me into changing my mind and bringing me back into it. Yes fox, that means you.
Live with it
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 09:16:47 PM
Quote from: Dougal on March 17, 2010, 09:10:41 PM
Live with it
you are unf***ingbelievable.they should have their child taken away from them because they didnt report it to police,but brady shouldnt resign even though he didnt report it to the police?no you never said it was ok,but i dont think you can deny that what ive just said is true.
Jaysus, the amount of illiterate gabshites who make stuff up and then claim you said it is increasing on here
Right Dougal, you asshat, point me to the exact link(s) where I said what you claim I have said or shut the f**k up
message deleted.i apologise greatly(not taking the piss just incase you think i am)few beers on board and mistook you for another poster.again,very sorry for that.
Live with it
you are unf***ingbelievable.they should have their child taken away from them because they didnt report it to police,but brady shouldnt resign even though he didnt report it to the police?no you never said it was ok,but i dont think you can deny that what ive just said is true.
Jaysus, the amount of illiterate gabshites who make stuff up and then claim you said it is increasing on here
Right Dougal, you asshat, point me to the exact link(s) where I said what you claim I have said or shut the f**k up
Armagh abu, you're the one has made a gobshite of himself on the Brady thread... now you're snookered because Brady himself said he did wrong and is ashamed of it. Ranting and raving and calling people names doesn't help your credibility :D
Quote from: Dougal on March 17, 2010, 09:21:56 PM
Live with it
message deleted.i apologise greatly(not taking the piss just incase you think i am)few beers on board and mistook you for another poster.again,very sorry for that.
I apologise for my personal comment, I have deleted the post but if you want it to remain in the quote, feel free. I don't care that much about it either way
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 17, 2010, 09:30:21 PM
I apologise for my personal comment, I have deleted the post but if you want it to remain in the quote, feel free. I don't care that much about it either way
no i am a "asshat" ;D for attacking you without being sure it was you.sorry again.
Quote from: hardstation on March 17, 2010, 09:39:31 PM
What on earth is an asshat?
(http://saintless.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/asshat.jpg)
Quote from: hardstation on March 17, 2010, 09:47:15 PM
More personal abuse from Árd Macha Abu. And I only asked a question.
The mods always liked him.
HS, you are a funny guy
Quote from: hardstation on March 17, 2010, 09:47:15 PM
More personal abuse from Árd Macha Abu. And I only asked a question.
The mods always liked him.
Should you not be down on the Row celebrating with your neighbours?! I'd say Mrs MR will be sending a search party to the Falls about Sunday!