GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 12:02:24 PM

Title: McGourty says No to Usain Bolt
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 12:02:24 PM
I see in Irish News that Kevin McGourty is giving out about Usain Bolt getting an honourary degree from Queens rather than it going to a local athlete. He mentions soccer and rowing but says he especially advocates a GAA player as that is his sport. He suggested Sean O'Neill former Down and Queens star as an appropriate choice.  I suppose he has a point but...  Kevin McGourty...  :o
Title: Re: McGourty says No to Usain Bolt
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 01, 2010, 12:05:26 PM
bolt deserves one imho
Post by: Rav67 on March 01, 2010, 01:59:06 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 12:02:24 PM
I see in Irish News that Kevin McGourty is giving out about Usain Bolt getting an honourary degree from Queens rather than it going to a local athlete. He mentions soccer and rowing but says he especially advocates a GAA player as that is his sport. He suggested Sean O'Neill former Down and Queens star as an appropriate choice.  I suppose he has a point but...  Kevin McGourty...  :o

Has McGourty a column in the IN now?
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 02:03:16 PM
No-it' s an article. Not on the sports pages.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 01, 2010, 03:33:12 PM
Not too often it happens but I agree with Mc Gourty on this one, although i have upmost respect for bolt.
Post by: southdown on March 01, 2010, 03:36:54 PM
Im sick of reading about McGourty, look at BBC NI sports page, several articles there about him.  What is the media fascination with him?  He doesn't even play for his county any more, am I missing something??
Post by: screenexile on March 01, 2010, 03:52:46 PM
Don't understand it myself either. A decent club player who went on the beer and threw a huff with Antrim and somehow managed to get his own column in the Gaelic Life.

I've met him a few times and he's alright like but I don't understand how his opinion is now somehow valued in GAA circles.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 01, 2010, 06:14:03 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 01, 2010, 03:52:46 PM
Don't understand it myself either. A decent club player who went on the beer and threw a huff with Antrim and somehow managed to get his own column in the Gaelic Life.

I've met him a few times and he's alright like but I don't understand how his opinion is now somehow valued in GAA circles.

I think it might be to do with the fact that he actually gives his opinion.
Post by: down6061689194 on March 01, 2010, 06:16:26 PM
"He will be joined by Nobel prize-winner intellectual Professor Amartya Kumar Sen from India.

Former Finnish President Martti Ahtisaari will also get a doctorate.

Mr Ahtisaari, a veteran diplomat, played a major role in the Northern Ireland peace process, working for the Independent International Commission on Decommissioning.

Former Northern Ireland Police Ombudsman Baroness Nuala O'Loan is being honoured for distinction in public service.

Others receiving hours include Belfast-born Maureen Wheeler, co-founder of Lonely Planet, businessman Fred Olsen and William Wright, founder of Ballymena coachbuilder Wrightbus."

All of those people have gone and made a difference to the world, showing what NI is all about, or helping us. Certainly deserving of what is at the end of the day worthless.

But Usain Bolt, he was probably at home, and was told he was getting this and went "who?". I'd be very surprised if he values it at all and it is quite clearly a move from queens for PR. Sean Cavanagh won't cut it with the overseas boys like Bolt.

One of the GAA players to head to Oz and put us on the map maybe, or Sean Kelly for Rule 42 and all that, or Mickey Harte (getting desperate now) for leading a team to their first and then a subsequent two all irelands, quite honestly against all odds.

Non-Story here.
Post by: the colonel on March 01, 2010, 08:14:37 PM
I think McGourty is making a valid point here. As an ex Student President he would have an interest in all things Queens related. Being a sportsman he is also probably one of the first to be asked an opinion. From experience I know current Union Officers may be consulted on who would be gaining these honours.

It is though a good way of Queens to raise their international profile. Has Bolt actually accepted the honour though?
Post by: Minder on March 01, 2010, 08:27:11 PM
What happened to the new, improved, introverted, nobody understands me, Kevin Mc Gourty?
Post by: theterminator on March 01, 2010, 08:47:06 PM
McGourty is dead right. Fair enough, bolt has made fantastic achievments. But what has he done that has any relevance to ireland or the north in particular? Nothing. He probably has never even heard of queens university and itl mean little to him. Better to give it to someone who will actually appreciate it IMO and has more relevance to ireland.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 02, 2010, 01:43:47 AM

Tac is right about McGourty. The GAA is full of bland same same characters who say nothing in interviews for fear of giving opponents an edge or offending. the media love McGourty because he gives an opinion, right or wrong.
Post by: Minder on March 02, 2010, 07:54:19 AM
Maybe I have underestimated the appetite for a club footballers opinion or view.
Post by: nearlymad on March 02, 2010, 08:46:37 AM
 I wouldn't be a big fan of McGourty but he's correct on this one.The Bolt idea is bullsh-t something like
UTV Live last night interviewing Jim Gracey from the BT on the Bridge/Terry shi-e and then talking to people on the streets.
WTF has this got to do with us in the North of Ireland? Bolt is an outstanding athlete but in Irish terms it's of no relevance.GAA persona,rugger buggers or Norn Ireland soccer heads would be more worthy.
Post by: Minder on March 02, 2010, 08:49:49 AM
Quote from: nearlymad on March 02, 2010, 08:46:37 AM
I wouldn't be a big fan of McGourty but he's correct on this one.The Bolt idea is bullsh-t something like
UTV Live last night interviewing Jim Gracey from the BT on the Bridge/Terry shi-e and then talking to people on the streets.
WTF has this got to do with us in the North of Ireland? Bolt is an outstanding athlete but in Irish terms it's of no relevance.GAA persona,rugger buggers or Norn Ireland soccer heads would be more worthy.

If a "NI soccer head" got it this thread would be on page 15.
Post by: mountainboii on March 02, 2010, 09:04:53 AM
Quote from: the colonel on March 01, 2010, 08:14:37 PM
I think McGourty is making a valid point here. As an ex Student President he would have an interest in all things Queens related. Being a sportsman he is also probably one of the first to be asked an opinion. From experience I know current Union Officers may be consulted on who would be gaining these honours.

Yeah, Mc Gourty was heavily involved in sport at the university for years and is a recent VP for clubs and service. It may be odd that he has such a platform to express his opinions the rest of the time, but this is one issue on which he is very qualified to speak.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 02, 2010, 02:12:54 PM
Sometimes people just see the personality of a person and this tints the words they speak. Mc Courty is 100% correct on this one. Usain Bolt won't give a shite about this accolade to him it is probably another day out. Whereas a local sports personality would at the very least show some signs of pride and achievement. Again this doesn't take away from the fact that Bolt is a superb athlete but why are we bending over backwards to promote athletes of other countries at the expense of our own. I doubt you would see this happening in New Zealand, Australia or America. These nations are notorious for their competitive streaks and pride in their country (I am  not saying our athletes aren't but what i am saying is that the hierarchy are not providing our athletes with the drive and motivation required to compete at the highest levels. Instead we are promoting that of other countries .  Despite what the personal opinions are of Kevin he is bang on.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 02, 2010, 03:15:58 PM
For the first time I have read something from/about a McGourty that makes any kind of sense...that said, he + CJ (THE TWAT) is still the perfect example of why you should still be allowed to hit your kids
Post by: cadhlancian on March 02, 2010, 04:26:46 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on March 01, 2010, 06:16:26 PM
"He will be joined by Nobel prize-winner intellectual Professor Amartya Kumar Sen from India.

Former Finnish President Martti Ahtisaari will also get a doctorate.

Mr Ahtisaari, a veteran diplomat, played a major role in the Northern Ireland peace process, working for the Independent International Commission on Decommissioning.

Former Northern Ireland Police Ombudsman Baroness Nuala O'Loan is being honoured for distinction in public service.

Others receiving hours include Belfast-born Maureen Wheeler, co-founder of Lonely Planet, businessman Fred Olsen and William Wright, founder of Ballymena coachbuilder Wrightbus."

All of those people have gone and made a difference to the world, showing what NI is all about, or helping us. Certainly deserving of what is at the end of the day worthless.

But Usain Bolt, he was probably at home, and was told he was getting this and went "who?". I'd be very surprised if he values it at all and it is quite clearly a move from queens for PR. Sean Cavanagh won't cut it with the overseas boys like Bolt.

One of the GAA players to head to Oz and put us on the map maybe, or Sean Kelly for Rule 42 and all that, or Mickey Harte (getting desperate now) for leading a team to their first and then a subsequent two all irelands, quite honestly against all odds.

Non-Story here.
Billy Wright getting one...where will it all end ::)
Post by: DownFanatic on March 02, 2010, 04:27:55 PM
McGourty speaks his mind and is never afraid to put forward his opinion. That has to be respected. He is spot on regarding the whole Bolt situation.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 02, 2010, 04:28:45 PM
Jaaysus, that McGourty boyo, the whores in everything but the crib at xmas! :P
Post by: gallsman on March 02, 2010, 04:36:06 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on March 02, 2010, 03:15:58 PM
NaomhBridAbú

Whereas spoilt brats from the Malone Road who think they're hard as nails making sniper poses in the Bot on a Friday night are shining examples of good parenting skills  ::)
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 02, 2010, 05:11:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 02, 2010, 04:36:06 PM
NaomhBridAbú

Whereas spoilt brats from the Malone Road who think they're hard as nails making sniper poses in the Bot on a Friday night are shining examples of good parenting skills  ::)

I heard a good 'un about St Brigids going to play an underage game against team from West Belfast and after the game 'hard' man-youth shouts, 'Youse snobby b**s from the Malone Road blah! blah!  to which St Brigid's lad replies,  "Can you remind your mother, to be over to clean our house this afternoon'   Class. 
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 02, 2010, 05:32:25 PM
NaomhBridAbú

Mcgourty is a mouthy twat regardless of where he is from - geography has little to do with it
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 06:31:50 PM
NaomhBridAbú

MIAOWWWW!!!!
Post by: thewobbler on March 02, 2010, 09:29:14 PM
The level of disdain for McGourty sums up one of the biggest problems for the GAA.

The top-ranked playing pool work so hard and become so insular, that the game is more or less bereft of personalities. Can anyone think of a less inspiring prospective night out than a Q and A session with current intercounty GAA stars?

Yet when one of those fellas breaks the mould and actually answers straight questions with straight answers, he has people climbing over chairs to put him down and question his right to speak. Even though the fact that he played and won at the highest level, he has coached teams, and he has administrated our games, should give his word more credence than nearly any of the journalists that are fawned over on other GAABoard threads.

Personally I welcome it. The more players we can find who'll speak their mind a little, the more enjoyable that reading and talking about our games will become.
Post by: corcaioch on March 02, 2010, 09:33:32 PM

Seán O'Neill would have been a better choice IMO.
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 09:40:43 PM
Im a fan of mc gourty. hes a loose cannon but at least hes not afraid to show it!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 11:42:49 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on March 02, 2010, 05:32:25 PM
NaomhBridAbú

Mcgourty is a mouthy t**t regardless of where he is from - geography has little to do with it

1. Personal abuse.
    Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
    not allowed.
    e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or
    another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.

Post by: imtommygunn on March 02, 2010, 11:59:31 PM
On a personal level I would hold him with a certain level of disdain to be honest.

I'm an antrim fan and he's one of the best players in antrim. He's not a kick on the ass of 30 and he's done nothing for antrim. It's a real shame and I really hope CJ doesn't go the same direction.

I'm not a believer in the fact that only the "big shots" should be able to voice their opinion. I'd be of the opinion that before your opinion is of merit you should be someone who actualy bothers your arse to put the work in and get the best out of what you've got.

It's got nothing to do with who he is or where he is from. It's to do with what he is.

I really hope he doesn't look back in 20 odd years and regret it all.

The sad fact is that the guy is a cracking footballer. He would get on most,if not all, county teams in Ireland.
Post by: dodgy umpire on March 03, 2010, 12:14:17 AM
Some of the things being said against McGourty here are not on. The man lives for his football and has and does put a lot into Queens GAA. He has every right to voice his opinion on the matter, and he is right about home grown sport stars being overlooked.
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2010, 12:18:03 AM
Bolt From The Blue

Usain Bolt today hit back at claims that he would not be a worthy recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from Queen's University. Bolt's outburst was in response to ex-Antrim St Gall's GAA star Kevin McGourty's comments that local sport should be recognised above Bolt's international achievement.

Speak from his luxury 9-bedroom apartment in Jamaica, Bolt reacted angrily to McGourty's statement:

"This McGourty, he's the boy who wouldn't tog out for his county because he wasn't getting warm soup after a game? I'll tell you something, I didn't eat for four months one time. 4 months. I watched the Corofin game there on TG4 last Saturday night, or was it Sunday morning here? I can't remember. Anyway, he's had a few meals since then hasn't he. Hehe. Big oul head on him."

The normally mild mannered Bolt then upped the ante by throwing the gauntlet down in front of McGourty:

"Tell this Kevin lad the following: Let's see who is the better sportsman. I'll go toe-to-toe with the Milltown man. Carl Lewis says he'll do goals. One on one, first to five points, no goals."

McGourty refused to comment today on Bolt's challenge, quoting the need to study for his 3rd Masters.

"Listen, I don't have time to be running around the field with a Jamaican especially with exam pressure, establishing Fianna Fail up here, talking to you lads and the Kilmurry game. Do you ever see me doing something stupid like firing imaginary fireballs up to the sky? The man's not right. If Queen's had any gumption at all they'd be awarding it to our CJ or our Kieran or my da. Knock his feckin melt in"

www.bbc.co.uk/ni/gaa/mcgourtyboltoneononechallengelewisinnets
Post by: screenexile on March 03, 2010, 12:55:20 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 03, 2010, 12:18:03 AM
Bolt From The Blue

Usain Bolt today hit back at claims that he would not be a worthy recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from Queen's University. Bolt's outburst was in response to ex-Antrim St Gall's GAA star Kevin McGourty's comments that local sport should be recognised above Bolt's international achievement.

Speak from his luxury 9-bedroom apartment in Jamaica, Bolt reacted angrily to McGourty's statement:

"This McGourty, he's the boy who wouldn't tog out for his county because he wasn't getting warm soup after a game? I'll tell you something, I didn't eat for four months one time. 4 months. I watched the Corofin game there on TG4 last Saturday night, or was it Sunday morning here? I can't remember. Anyway, he's had a few meals since then hasn't he. Hehe. Big oul head on him."

The normally mild mannered Bolt then upped the ante by throwing the gauntlet down in front of McGourty:

"Tell this Kevin lad the following: Let's see who is the better sportsman. I'll go toe-to-toe with the Milltown man. Carl Lewis says he'll do goals. One on one, first to five points, no goals."

McGourty refused to comment today on Bolt's challenge, quoting the need to study for his 3rd Masters.

"Listen, I don't have time to be running around the field with a Jamaican especially with exam pressure, establishing Fianna Fail up here, talking to you lads and the Kilmurry game. Do you ever see me doing something stupid like firing imaginary fireballs up to the sky? The man's not right. If Queen's had any gumption at all they'd be awarding it to our CJ or our Kieran or my da. Knock his feckin melt in"

I'm tipping my hat to that one Oneill it's the best post I've read in a long time on this board... Excellent! :D :D
Post by: full back on March 03, 2010, 08:10:46 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 03, 2010, 12:18:03 AM
Bolt From The Blue

First class
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 08:15:52 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 11:42:49 PM
NaomhBridAbú

Mcgourty is a mouthy t**t regardless of where he is from - geography has little to do with it

1. Personal abuse.
    Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
    not allowed.
    e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or
    another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.

Is that a tick or a redc card then?
Post by: DuffleKing on March 03, 2010, 10:25:19 AM

Don't see why carl lewis would need to do goals
Post by: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 10:26:39 AM
NaomhBridAbú

Unfortunately from a St. Brigid's point of view, geography has everything to do with it. Massive potential pool of players who were never allowed join clubs in west Belfast before Brigid's was founded by their frightened Mammies and Daddies, half of whom came from west Belfast themselves.

Exceptions to the rule, Decky O'Hagan at Sarsfields for example.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 10:38:40 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 10:26:39 AM
NaomhBridAbú

Unfortunately from a St. Brigid's point of view, geography has everything to do with it. Massive potential pool of players who were never allowed join clubs in west Belfast before Brigid's was founded by their frightened Mammies and Daddies, half of whom came from west Belfast themselves.

good luck
Post by: Winnie Peg on March 03, 2010, 10:46:36 AM
Is it true that Jordanstown are for giving one to Bob the Builder
Post by: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 11:13:48 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 10:38:40 AM
NaomhBridAbú

good luck

Great response. You come on here mouthing about another club's players, what do you expect?

Sweetness?
Post by: tyssam5 on March 03, 2010, 11:15:35 AM
Quote from: corcaioch on March 02, 2010, 09:33:32 PM

Doesn't he already have an real degree from Queen's? Can you get an honorary one on top of that?

Honorary to Bolt is a load of shite in fairness though.
Post by: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 11:20:06 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on March 03, 2010, 11:15:35 AM
Quote from: corcaioch on March 02, 2010, 09:33:32 PM

Doesn't he already have an real degree from Queen's? Can you get an honorary one on top of that?

Honorary to Bolt is a load of shite in fairness though.

Has a Law degree.

Think the honorary degrees that are usually conferred are doctorates.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 11:32:37 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 11:13:48 AM
NaomhBridAbú

good luck

Great response. You come on here mouthing about another club's players, what do you expect?

Sweetness?

my response refelcts my interest in what you had to say - McGourty sisters are probably the best thing to come out of Antrim in years, and i hope that they work their magic in the All Ireland Club final - would love to see the impact that would have on the game in Antrim adn for one will be supporting St Galls, as always on St Patricks.

Sweetness - here's me...

Post by: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 11:36:04 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 11:32:37 AM
NaomhBridAbú

good luck

Sweetness?

my response refelcts my interest in what you had to say - McGourty sisters are probably the best thing to come out of Antrim in years, and i hope that they work their magic in the All Ireland Club final - would love to see the impact that would have on the game in Antrim adn for one will be supporting St Galls, as always on St Patricks.

Sweetness - here's me...

The McGourty sisters? Witty?

I read one of your posts somewhere where you mentioned having watched Frank McGuigan do his stuff for Tyrone, which would suggest you're of a certain vintage.

Obviously either age and maturity share no positive correlation whatsoever or you're an absolute imbecile.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 11:42:55 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 11:36:04 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on March 03, 2010, 11:32:37 AM
NaomhBridAbú

good luck

Sweetness?

Sweetness - here's me...

The McGourty sisters? Witty?

I read one of your posts somewhere where you mentioned having watched Frank McGuigan do his stuff for Tyrone, which would suggest you're of a certain vintage.

Obviously either age and maturity share no positive correlation whatsoever or you're an absolute imbecile.

both