Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Declan on November 17, 2009, 11:05:57 AM

Title: NME's top 50 albums of the Noughties
Post by: Declan on November 17, 2009, 11:05:57 AM
1. The Strokes - Is This It
2. The Libertines - Up The Bracket
3. Primal Scream - xtrmntr
4. Arctic Monkeys - Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
5. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Fever To Tell
6. PJ Harvey - Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea
7. Arcade Fire - Funeral
8. Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights
9. The Streets - Original Pirate Material
10. Radiohead - In Rainbows
11. At The Drive-In - Relationship Of Command
12. LCD Soundsystem - The Sound Of Silver
13. The Shins - Wincing The Night Away
14. Radiohead - Kid A
15. Queens Of The Stone Age - Songs For The Deaf
16. The Streets - A Grand Don't Come For Free
17. Sufjan Stevens - Illinoise
18. The White Stripes - Elephant
19. The White Stripes - White Blood Cells
20. Blur - Think Tank
21. The Coral - The Coral
22. Jay-Z - The Blueprint
23. Klaxons - Myths Of The Near Future
24. The Libertines - The Libertines
25. Rapture - Echoes
26. Dizzee Rascal - Boy In Da Corner
27. Amy Winehouse - Back To Black
28. Johnny Cash - Man Comes Around
29. Super Furry Animals - Rings Around The World
30. Elbow - Asleep In The Back
31. Bright Eyes - I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning
32. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Show Your Bones
33. Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
34. Grandaddy - The Sophtware Slump
35. Babyshambles - Down In Albion
36. Spirtualized - Let It Come Down
37. The Knife - Silent Shout
38. Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
39. Crystal Castles - Crystal Castles
40. Ryan Adams - Gold
41. Wild Beasts - Two Dancers
42. Vampire Weekend - Vampire Weekend
43. Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
44. Outkast - Speakerboxxx/The Love Below
45. Avalanches - Since I Left You
46. Delgados - The Great Eastern
47. Brendan Benson - Lapalco
48. Walkmen - Bows And Arrows
49. Muse - Absolution
50. MIA - Arular.
Title: Re: NME's top 50 albums of the Noughties
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 11:24:31 AM
Two Libertines and one Babyshambles on the list, enough said  :-\
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 17, 2009, 11:33:54 AM
and no "Best Of" albums to be seen, not to mention "now thats what i call music" entries.........

Post by: mc_grens on November 17, 2009, 11:34:05 AM
Yup, NME do kiss Pete's ass alright!
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 11:38:37 AM
Where is the fast food rockers album ??? :P.....Dizzy Wuscull.....shocking.
Post by: thejuice on November 17, 2009, 11:39:57 AM
NME like, what do you expect. The ultimate trendies mag.
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 11:44:16 AM
Mike Skinner above Jay-Z  ;D
Post by: thebigfella on November 17, 2009, 11:48:34 AM
Pure shite, seen it this morning. There is no way The Strokes - Is This It, is the best album of the last decade. The worstentry I think is Radiohead Kid A and In Rainbows, either it says a lot about the state of music in the noughties or the unimaginative contributers to this NME list. I think it's the second to be honest.
Post by: thebandit on November 17, 2009, 11:56:43 AM
I only have 2 of them - I must not be cool  :-[
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 11:58:23 AM
Quote from: thebandit on November 17, 2009, 11:56:43 AM

The 2 Streets albums  ;D  ;D
Post by: thebandit on November 17, 2009, 12:11:40 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 11:58:23 AM

No, Jay-Z and the Coral..... actually make that 3, I have the arctic monkeys album as well. No need for albums now since the advent of itunes!

Check your texts and quit being so smart!!!!
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 12:18:06 PM
Quote from: thebandit on November 17, 2009, 12:11:40 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 11:58:23 AM

No, Jay-Z and the Coral..... actually make that 3, I have the arctic monkeys album as well. No need for albums now since the advent of itunes!

Check your texts and quit being so smart!!!!

Reply sent.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 17, 2009, 12:26:30 PM
No Snow Patrol?  I'll look again.

Of the list, what would people's favourites be or worth buying/downloading?
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 17, 2009, 12:30:57 PM
Conclusive proof that music these days isn't as good as previous decades. Thon Pete Doherty getting Babyshambles up there courtesy of the cult of the celebrity junkie. Joke.

Johnny Cash sticks out on that list like a beacon. Don't get me wrong I like a lot of stuff on there but very little is great or iconic. The name of the number1 album says it all for this decade
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 17, 2009, 12:37:08 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 17, 2009, 12:26:30 PM
No Snow Patrol?  I'll look again.

Of the list, what would people's favourites be or worth buying/downloading?
for me arcade fires funeral, the two radiohead ones and qotsa- songs for the deaf are the pick of the bunch.
most of the rest of the stuff is mediocre - bad
Post by: Massey-135 on November 17, 2009, 12:42:42 PM
i would totally agree with the top 2. NME is a magazine for indie music and there's no doubt Is This It? and Up the Bracket influenced indie music in a massive way for the 5 or 6 years after they came out. sure every indie band that came out after that was playing guitars and trying to be the strokes or the libertines - franz ferdinand, the kooks, razorlight, arctic monkeys, the holloways, the courteeners, the view, the enemy, i could go on forever. those two albums definitely cast the longest shadow over the decade. think jamie t should have definitely been in there
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 12:58:28 PM
If the rest of the decade was influenced by the top two albums maybe thats where the problem lies  ;)
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 01:20:49 PM
I have quite a few of these  :-\

Sufjan Stevens or The Shins would be the pick of them for me, but not a great list.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on November 17, 2009, 01:33:11 PM
Jeez lads it is just someones opinion. Personally I'd be happy with QOTSA, LCD Soundsystem, PJ Harvey, Kid A, White Blood Cells and Muse but I don't pay much attention to mainstream reviews as they have quite a narrow musical focus. How come Boyzone didn't get in?
Post by: Louth Exile on November 17, 2009, 02:18:28 PM
I personally go much more for the Phantom version (given that I only have only 9 of the NME albums  and 24 of the phantom listing) I would also agree with comments about that Junkie waster being very over rated. Even though I have the album and like it, very surprised at how high QOTSG are in both polls. There was a lot of "controversy" about Florence featuring so high in the phantom poll (which was no surprise to me as it is current and it is a good album).

My favs from the phantom list would be 1,2,4,9,11,14,29,30,31,34,41,42,44,46.
Anyway, here is the phantom version, see if you like it any better:

1   Arcade Fire                    Funeral
2   Arctic Monkeys   Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
3   Radiohead                    Kid A
4   The Strokes   Is This It
5   Radiohead                   In Rainbows
6   Queens Of The Stone Age   Songs For The Deaf
7   Blur   Think Tank
8   Interpol   Turn On The Bright Lights
9   Kings of Leon   Aha Shake Heartbreak
10   Kings Of Leon   Youth And Young Manhood
11   The Killers   Hot Fuss
12   Kings Of leon   Because Of The Times
13   Bloc Party   Silent Alarm
14   Florence And the Machine   Lungs
15   The Libertines   Up The Bracket
16   Muse   Origin Of Symmetry
17   LCD Soundsystem   Sound Of Silver
18   Muse   Absolution
19   PJ Harvey   Stories from The City, Stories from The Sea
20   Sigur Ros   Takk ...
21   Arcade Fire   Neon
22   Elbow   The Seldom Seen Kid
23   Interpol   Antics
24   The White Stripes   Elephant
25   Wilco   Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
26   The National   Boxer
27   Bon Iver   For Emma, Forever Ago
28   Fleet Foxes   Fleet Foxes
29   Yeah Yeah Yeahs   Fever To Tell
30   The Flaming Lips   Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots
31   Fight Like Apes   ... And The Mystery of The Golden Medallion
32   Radiohead   Hail to The Thief
33   Muse   Black Holes And Revelations
34   Franz Ferdinand   Franz Ferdinand
35   The National   Alligator
36   Bright Eyes   I'm Wide Awake It's Morning
37   The Streets   Original Pirate Material
38   At The Drive In   Relationship Of Command
39   Daft Punk   Discovery
40   MGMT   Oracular Spectacular
41   Snow Patrol   Final Straw
42   Bell X1   Flock
43   Arctic Monkeys   Favourite Worst Nightmare
44   Damien Rice   O
45   Delorentos   In Love With Detail
46   Doves   The Last Broadcast
47   Green Day   American Idiot
48   Kasabian   Kasabian
49   Morrissey   You are The Quarry
50   The Shins   Wincing The Night Away
Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2009, 02:32:56 PM
Of the 15-20 albums on the list that I've heard, they're right about the top spot. There's not one poor track on is this it.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 17, 2009, 02:34:24 PM
alot better IMO, more representitive of the albums i have anyway
Post by: the colonel on November 17, 2009, 03:46:25 PM
there was an article on bbc NI website from gary lighbody saying that NME hate Snow Patrol so its not surprising they are not included.

No Coldplay either?
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 04:34:07 PM
Quote from: the colonel on November 17, 2009, 03:46:25 PM
there was an article on bbc NI website from gary lighbody saying that NME hate Snow Patrol so its not surprising they are not included.

No Coldplay either?

And no U2. No room for bland rock.
Post by: the green man on November 17, 2009, 04:36:56 PM
The 00's top ten

7. Arcade Fire - Funeral

The 90's top ten

1. Nevermind Nirvana
2. OK Computer - Radiohead
3. Definitely Maybe - Oasis
4. Parklife - Blur
5. Automatic For the People - R.E.M.
6. (What's The Story) Morning ... - Oasis
7. Odelay - Beck
8. Screamadelica - Primal Scream
9. Pills n' Thrills & Bellyaches - Happy Mondays
10. Blue Lines - Massive Attack

Am I old and fondly reminiscing that the 90's are far better?
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 04:39:12 PM
Like the look of Louth Exiles list there and i'd agree with vast majority. I'd question MGMT though.

Deadmau5 - Random Album Title......anybody?...anybody at'all?
Post by: boojangles on November 17, 2009, 04:41:26 PM
The Phantom list is much better. Kasabians First album for me is probably Number One. 
Doves -Last Broadcast is another classic which should be higher.
Notable Exclusions

Alabama 3-La Peste
Oasis- Dig out your Soul,
Coldplays first 2 albums
any of Audiolsaves albums.
Who killed the Zutons-The Zutons
Kasabian-West ryder pauper lunatic asylum

Would like to see a few more dance albums on it but I suppose its mostly Indie.

Deadmau5-that boy will be huge Ballinaman-love his stuff-but probably not alot of peoples cup of tea.
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 04:48:33 PM
Quote from: boojangles on November 17, 2009, 04:41:26 PM
The Phantom list is much better. Kasabians First album for me is probably Number One. 
Notable Exclusions

Alabama 3-La Peste
Coldplays first 2 albums

Deadmau5-that boy will be huge Ballinaman-love his stuff-but probably not alot of peoples cup of tea.

Indeed, as you said...definitely won't be alot of peoples cup of tea, niche market. Seen him three times live, quality stuff. Another shout that you might appreciate...Booka Shade - Movements.
Post by: boojangles on November 17, 2009, 04:56:28 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 04:48:33 PM
Quote from: boojangles on November 17, 2009, 04:41:26 PM
Notable Exclusions

Alabama 3-La Peste
Coldplays first 2 albums

Indeed, as you said...definitely won't be alot of peoples cup of tea, niche market. Seen him three times live, quality stuff. Another shout that you might appreciate...Booka Shade - Movements.

Seen him at the Picnic few years back-puts on a serious live show. Brilliant. If your in to that sort of music we are spoilt for choice at the mo IMO. Boysnoize,Japanese Popstars,Digitalism,The Field,Erol Alkan
Must check out Booka Shade
Post by: muppet on November 17, 2009, 05:12:14 PM
Quote from: the green man on November 17, 2009, 04:36:56 PM
The 00's top ten

7. Arcade Fire - Funeral

The 90's top ten

1. Nevermind Nirvana
2. OK Computer - Radiohead
3. Definitely Maybe - Oasis
4. Parklife - Blur
5. Automatic For the People - R.E.M.
6. (What's The Story) Morning ... - Oasis
7. Odelay - Beck
8. Screamadelica - Primal Scream
9. Pills n' Thrills & Bellyaches - Happy Mondays
10. Blue Lines - Massive Attack

Am I old and fondly reminiscing that the 90's are far better?

90s were much better and that list should have The Bends & Achtung Baby! in it.

Louth Exile's list is far better than the NME rubbish although I may just be getting old.  ???
Post by: nifan on November 17, 2009, 05:54:39 PM
Plenty of bands that dont appear on either list but would if i was doing it:

Okkervill River
TV on the radio
Wolf Parade
new pornographers
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 06:03:50 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 17, 2009, 05:54:39 PM
Plenty of bands that dont appear on either list but would if i was doing it:

Okkervill River
TV on the radio
Wolf Parade
new pornographers

Wolfe like me......cracking song.
Post by: screenexile on November 17, 2009, 06:30:26 PM
Meh these things are very fickle but in fairness I couldn't disagree with the top 15 albums or so. Glad to see White Stripes getting 2 albums up there. If I had to choose a band I would call 'my favourite' it would be them.

Really think that Coldplay's Parachute's and Rush of Blood to the Head should be in there also. And VERY happy that Kings of Leon's better albums are in there rather than the last one.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on November 17, 2009, 06:44:27 PM
To all the Coldplay fans:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvB9Pj9Znsw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3HvgI4lUS0

Does nobody find Snow Patrol the most boring band in the world. Try to ignore the singer and the rest is very basic IMO.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 17, 2009, 07:22:36 PM
Have 24 of the NME albums and 31 of the Phantom ones. NME missing some great albums that Phantom has picked up on - The National, Fleet Foxes, Sigur Ros, Doves...

As for NME's fixation with The Libertines/Babyshambles... I never got it myself - very over-rated.

Great to see At The Drive In's Relationship of Command in both - is a great album, but was surprised it was picked up on these lists.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 17, 2009, 07:40:51 PM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on November 17, 2009, 06:44:27 PM
Does nobody find Snow Patrol the most boring band in the world. Try to ignore the singer and the rest is very basic IMO.

Final Straw was a class album, they have produced nothing near as good as it since, but they can still put on a good live show, saw them at Oxegen as we waited for the old Brit Pop outfit to come on and they were class.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 07:55:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 17, 2009, 07:22:36 PM
Have 24 of the NME albums and 31 of the Phantom ones. NME missing some great albums that Phantom has picked up on - The National, Fleet Foxes, Sigur Ros, Doves...

As for NME's fixation with The Libertines/Babyshambles... I never got it myself - very over-rated.

Great to see At The Drive In's Relationship of Command in both - is a great album, but was surprised it was picked up on these lists.
NME are more fixated with being seen as arbiters of "cool" rather than having a cogent view on good music. I think they even made Pete Doherty their man of the year a few years ago at the height of his troubles with the law. Edgy and controversial. If you're 14.

A snot rag.
Post by: screenexile on November 17, 2009, 08:28:19 PM

"Chris Martin, lead singer of UK group Coldplay, anecdotally recalled, in a late 2007 article in Q about Kraftwerk, the process of requesting permission to sample the melody from the track "Computer Love" in its 2005 release "Talk" from its album X&Y. He recalled writing them a letter and sending it through the lawyers of the respective parties and several weeks later receiving an envelope containing a handwritten reply that simply said 'yes'."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kraftwerk

That explains the sample from the second one... the first one probably sounds a bit the same yeah but I wouldn't be slagging them for it bands and musicians sample eachothers music all the time... Moby, Jay-Z, Dizzee Rascal just a few high profile ones and I could keep going on!
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on November 17, 2009, 09:14:52 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 17, 2009, 08:28:19 PM

Yeah I knew about that and electronica acts do sample but usually mixed in some way not just a straight copoy of the main riff.
The first one is without doubt the same. Check out the longer video on Youtube of the fella explaining it theoretically. Chris Martin gives off this vibe that suits NME down to the ground so I'm surprised they're not in it
I'm off to listen to some neo-folk/kvlt black metal.
"Chris Martin, lead singer of UK group Coldplay, anecdotally recalled, in a late 2007 article in Q about Kraftwerk, the process of requesting permission to sample the melody from the track "Computer Love" in its 2005 release "Talk" from its album X&Y. He recalled writing them a letter and sending it through the lawyers of the respective parties and several weeks later receiving an envelope containing a handwritten reply that simply said 'yes'."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kraftwerk

That explains the sample from the second one... the first one probably sounds a bit the same yeah but I wouldn't be slagging them for it bands and musicians sample eachothers music all the time... Moby, Jay-Z, Dizzee Rascal just a few high profile ones and I could keep going on!
Post by: Midman on November 17, 2009, 09:15:26 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 17, 2009, 07:40:51 PM

Final Straw was a class album, they have produced nothing near as good as it since, but they can still put on a good live show, saw them at Oxegen as we waited for the old Brit Pop outfit to come on and they were class.

My brother still makes me laugh when reels out the classic quote about Gary Lightbody the Snow Patrol singer "A charisma free zone"  ;D

The Strokes (is this it), The White Stripes (elephant) and Arcade Fire (funeral) are all quality albums, 90s were probably better (I might alos be digging into youthful nostalgi there as well)

Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 09:19:33 PM
Quote from: Midman on November 17, 2009, 09:15:26 PM

My brother still makes me laugh when reels out the classic quote about Gary Lightbody the Snow Patrol singer "A charisma free zone"  ;D

The Strokes (is this it), The White Stripes (elephant) and Arcade Fire (funeral) are all quality albums, 90s were probably better (I might alos be digging into youthful nostalgi there as well)
When I think of Snow Patrol I think "beige". Anodyne, middle of the road pop rock. Is their a guitar based "rock" band that rocks less? It's a successful formula which has seen their music featured in many tv series in the States. Maybe that's their future.
Post by: omagh_gael on November 17, 2009, 09:25:36 PM
The phantom list is much better, as already mentioned great to see kings of leon's first two albums up there, classics in my view!
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 10:58:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 09:19:33 PM

When I think of Snow Patrol I think "beige". Anodyne, middle of the road pop rock. Is their a guitar based "rock" band that rocks less? It's a successful formula which has seen their music featured in many tv series in the States. Maybe that's their future.

Snow Patrol = Vanilla
Post by: Massey-135 on November 17, 2009, 11:17:36 PM
NME did get too carried away with the Libertines stuff but as i said before they were one of the most influential bands of this decade. bands like arcade fire and fleet foxes have made amazing albums but they're very polished, grand and epic works. the libertines were very of their time and were massively exciting and inspirational if you remember the musical climate they came into, i don't think they're over rated. more people would have been inspired to pick up an instrument and play in a band by them than almost any other this decade. that, and their lyrics were great which not many bands nowadays can claim, especially all this electronic pish that's going about now. as far as timeless and well crafted songs go, bon iver's 'for emma, forever ago' is one of the best albums of any decade, never mind this one
Post by: Louth Exile on November 17, 2009, 11:39:32 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 17, 2009, 10:58:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 09:19:33 PM

Snow Patrol = Vanilla

I don't deny that most of their material is bland, but I would stand by final straw being a very good album.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 18, 2009, 08:11:24 AM
No Declan Nerney
No Mick Flavin

What a fu*kin Joke.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 18, 2009, 02:58:38 PM
I have most of the albums (well the good ones anyway  :P) and I haven't bought an album in ages, the last few years have been shite for music, the early part of the decade was actually pretty good...
Post by: Maguire01 on November 18, 2009, 06:13:56 PM
With regard to Snow Patrol, When it's All Over We Staill Have to Clear Up was from this decade and is probably their best album. IMO, Final Straw is just okay, Eyes Open is better and Suns just hasn't done it for me. The Reindeer Section's second album is probably better than them all. Gary Lightbody is a class songwriter.

Quote from: Massey-135 on November 17, 2009, 11:17:36 PM
NME did get too carried away with the Libertines stuff but as i said before they were one of the most influential bands of this decade. bands like arcade fire and fleet foxes have made amazing albums but they're very polished, grand and epic works. the libertines were very of their time and were massively exciting and inspirational if you remember the musical climate they came into, i don't think they're over rated. more people would have been inspired to pick up an instrument and play in a band by them than almost any other this decade. that, and their lyrics were great which not many bands nowadays can claim, especially all this electronic pish that's going about now. as far as timeless and well crafted songs go, bon iver's 'for emma, forever ago' is one of the best albums of any decade, never mind this one
How were The Libertines so inspirational? Who did they inspire? What bands? They certainly never played the big gigs or had the multi-platinum sales that their blanket coverage in the NME would have suggested. At the height of their NME coverage, they supported Supergrass inThe Limelight. And they were crap. They were always bigger and better in the NME than in the real world - outside of a clique in London, few really cared.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 18, 2009, 02:58:38 PM
I have most of the albums (well the good ones anyway  :P) and I haven't bought an album in ages, the last few years have been shite for music, the early part of the decade was actually pretty good...
It's hard to judge a 'great' album until it's out a while I think. Maybe we'll better recognise the classics from the late noughties in a few more years.
Post by: nifan on November 18, 2009, 06:21:24 PM
Up the Bracket was a good album, but I agree with maguire - they where not that inspirational.

NME neglected to put anything on that list the band they touted as the saviours of rock'n'roll - the vines :D
Any credibility lost.

Actually surprised they dont have any BRMC on there, they had them on the front cover for about a year - same with Crystal Castles.
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on November 18, 2009, 06:24:31 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 18, 2009, 08:11:24 AM
No Declan Nerney
No Mick Flavin

What a f**kin Joke.
no eire og? wtf  ???
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on November 18, 2009, 06:55:43 PM
NME turned from a respected publication - and a good read! - into a harmless comic years ago. Right around the time it went glossy. It's virtually worthless as an artiber of decent music now, you'd be better off with Pitchfork (web-only), Word or Uncut. Hell, even Hot Press are more reliable now.

But even by NME's standards of fickledom it's surprising that Coldplay's 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' isn't in their top 50 for the decade. They made it their album of 2002 ffs.

And their baffling canonisation of the Strokes continues. Decent band, fine first two albums, but album of the decade? It mustn't have been a very good decade for music then.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 18, 2009, 09:12:41 PM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on November 18, 2009, 06:55:43 PM
NME turned from a respected publication - and a good read! - into a harmless comic years ago. Right around the time it went glossy. It's virtually worthless as an artiber of decent music now, you'd be better off with Pitchfork (web-only), Word or Uncut. Hell, even Hot Press are more reliable now.
Word can be a good magazine alright - and i've discoverd some great bands from their free CDs - but Uncut (like Mojo) is obsessed with music from the 60s and 70s.
Post by: Massey-135 on November 19, 2009, 01:49:26 PM

How were The Libertines so inspirational? Who did they inspire? What bands? They certainly never played the big gigs or had the multi-platinum sales that their blanket coverage in the NME would have suggested. At the height of their NME coverage, they supported Supergrass inThe Limelight. And they were crap. They were always bigger and better in the NME than in the real world - outside of a clique in London, few really cared.

If you read my earlier post i listed some of the bands they influenced, you may or may not think they're good, but as regards the NME and the music they champion, and their readership, I think Is This It? and Up The Bracket were without doubt the two most inspirational albums. Guitar bands were all boring hoors like starsailor and travis when they came out. Whether they sold out big venues or had multi-platinum sales is completely and utterly missing the point (althought the second libertines album sold over a million i think). they are an INDIE band, so obviously they don't appeal to the masses, nor would they want to. Their 'thing' was to play small dirty sweaty clubs and bring back that energy that dull bands like coldplay could never replicate in their arenas with their ballads.
I used to never miss NME but i stopped buying it about a year ago, partly cos it's got a bit shite and partly cos there just aren't many good bands around at the minute. If you get this weeks edition of the magazine and read why those two albums were picked then you might understand me a bit more.
Post by: Sandino on November 19, 2009, 01:51:12 PM
I stopped buying it 20 years ago as it had got a bit sh!te!!!