Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 06:14:31 PM

Title: The Sun
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 06:14:31 PM
Does anyone here buy it regularly?

3.1m a day. They must be doing something right. I see they've jumped ship again.
Title: Re: The Sun
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2009, 06:18:31 PM
I've never bought a copy. Not that I've anything really against it.
Post by: Minder on October 01, 2009, 06:19:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 06:14:31 PM

3.1m a day. They must be doing something right. I see they've jumped ship again.

How can a newspaper dictate how people vote, have people no brains to call their own these days? It is quite apt that their newly installed editor is their forme r"showbiz" journalist.

"It was the Sun wot won it"
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 01, 2009, 06:22:08 PM
Wouldnt buy it myself, though a mate of mine does and he supports Liverpool.  >:(  My sister in law was on Page 3.  :o
Its a chavtastic paper.
Post by: tyrone86 on October 01, 2009, 06:26:35 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on October 01, 2009, 06:22:08 PM
Wouldnt buy it myself, though a mate of mine does and he supports Liverpool.  >:(  My sister in law was on Page 3.  :o
Its a chavtastic paper.

Post proof or retract.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2009, 06:26:47 PM
Would rather shit myself than read the Sun. Just my opinion, but i think you can tell a lot from a person if they read that tripe.
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 01, 2009, 06:31:03 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on October 01, 2009, 06:26:35 PM
Its a chavtastic paper.

Post proof or retract.

Obviously not going to post proof, but she definitely appeared on page 3. It was some shock when we found out. Even bigger shock as it was me who googled her name one night I had nothing better to do and found her all over the web. Silly cow used her real name. Parents were really pleased.  ;D Which is nice.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 01, 2009, 07:15:02 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on October 01, 2009, 06:31:03 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on October 01, 2009, 06:26:35 PM
Its a chavtastic paper.

Post proof or retract.

Obviously not going to post proof, but she definitely appeared on page 3. It was some shock when we found out. Even bigger shock as it was me who googled her name one night I had nothing better to do and found her all over the web. Silly cow used her real name. Parents were really pleased.  ;D Which is nice.
What's this doll called?
Post by: gerry on October 01, 2009, 07:23:24 PM
Can't say that i bought this rag or i can't see many nationalist from the north buying it a few years ago either.
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 07:29:20 PM
The Sun's Page 3 girl Keeley turns her back on Gordon Brown

Gordon Brown really is in trouble. Not only has the Sun turned against Labour, so has its Page 3 girl, Keeley. "David Cameron is the man," she says. "Looking at his background, he needs to prove he's in touch with hard-working Britons. However, this is his time. Everyone will expect him to make things better. He can't possibly do this instantly as he will inherit huge, long-term, deep-rooted problems. We need to allow him time to implement fresh ideas and policies that will get the country off its knees."

And here's a slideshow of how it has backed the last 8 election winners (or changes its mind at the last minute)

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/gallery/2009/sep/30/the-sun-labour-conservatives-front-pages
Post by: BennyHarp on October 01, 2009, 07:30:51 PM

They always seem to jump ship to the party who are going to win the election - i think its pretty obvious that Labour are f*cked so The S*n want to be able to claim that it was them that won the election for the Tories!! Its all a loada balls!!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 01, 2009, 07:32:20 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 01, 2009, 06:19:52 PM

How can a newspaper dictate how people vote, have people no brains to call their own these days? It is quite apt that their newly installed editor is their forme r"showbiz" journalist.

"It was the Sun wot won it"
The Sun isn't leading, it's following. It knows the mood of the public and is backing the favourite.
Post by: haranguerer on October 01, 2009, 07:59:21 PM
the tories would f**k the whiole show up even more

I think theres a chance the sun have overcooked the goose - being so self-congratulatory, and writing off labour, is bound to evoke a bit of a voting backlash in terms of labour supporters coming out in force, and tory voters pehaps ,thinking theres no need to vote
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 09:52:31 PM
Coalisland?
Post by: ExiledGael on October 01, 2009, 09:55:17 PM
Tory Island surely
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 09:55:41 PM
TYP, I've long been predicting a complete meltdown of print media - do you think it'll come to pass that they pull the plug on virtually all top tabloids and qualities? Only the Sun (3.1m), Mail (2m) and Mirror (1.3m) sell over a million copies with all falling at a steady rate every month (bar The Star which has benefitted from a price drop).

I'm ashamed to say that I now read the Guardian Media, Independent and Times on my phone!!
Post by: comethekingdom on October 01, 2009, 10:04:05 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2009, 06:26:47 PM
Would rather shit myself than read the Sun. Just my opinion, but i think you can tell a lot from a person if they read that tripe.

Exactly ! I've never bought tabloids myself - pure dung to be honest. I'd buy the Indo myself or the Examiner. Basically you pay for what you get. All them red tops are just shite.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 01, 2009, 10:05:20 PM
Its a chavtastic paper.

My cousins G/f was also on page 3 although not any more... >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 01, 2009, 10:20:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 09:55:41 PM
TYP, I've long been predicting a complete meltdown of print media - do you think it'll come to pass that they pull the plug on virtually all top tabloids and qualities? Only the Sun (3.1m), Mail (2m) and Mirror (1.3m) sell over a million copies with all falling at a steady rate every month (bar The Star which has benefitted from a price drop).

I'm ashamed to say that I now read the Guardian Media, Independent and Times on my phone!!
We can't have it every road. With falling print sales and a reduction in advertising revenue, it's surely only a matter of time before free online access is a thing of the past.
Post by: Minder on October 01, 2009, 10:40:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 01, 2009, 10:20:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 09:55:41 PM

We can't have it every road. With falling print sales and a reduction in advertising revenue, it's surely only a matter of time before free online access is a thing of the past.

I have read a few different places recently that free online newspapers will be coming to an end and quite a few, including the Times, are considering introducing a subscription service.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 01, 2009, 10:51:34 PM
Murdoch(s) is pushing very hard for subscription based access to online content but, so far, the rest (in Britain) are not rowing in behind, and about which he's becoming more and more incensed and agitated. There's a difference, however, between News International Corporation, which is purely profit driven and say, The Scott Trust (owners of the Guardian and the Observer), which is not.

True, advertising revenue is critical to the whole spectrum of press enterprises, and it may be that they will all have to move towards subscription in the not too distant future, but it will make for some interesting spats between the profiteers and the idealists.

As for The Sun: I used to buy it religiously, every Monday in England -- it was the only Brit paper that had the Gaelic Football results from the League games on in Ireland the day before, creid é nó na creid. Though having just absorbed the scores on the page, it went straight into the bin.  Rag.

Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 11:51:50 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 01, 2009, 10:45:34 PM
The man has spoken! (http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2009/may/07/rupert-murdoch-charging-websites)

QuoteTelevision profits also shrank dramatically, falling from $419m to $4m due to a loss of Superbowl revenue and weaker advertising at the group's Fox channels in the US and its Star network in Asia.

Some fall.
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 11:55:22 PM
I see the likes of The Independent have been quick to rubbish the impact The Sun might have on the political landscape. I wouldn't be so sure. The readership of The Sun may be more susceptible to such fickle swings.
Post by: dillinger on October 02, 2009, 12:39:32 AM

[/q
uote
Sorry, i dont read comics :)]
Post by: Aerlik on October 02, 2009, 02:47:39 AM
Quote from: ExiledGael on October 01, 2009, 09:55:17 PM
Tory Island surely

Or Rathlin or Rockall?

Anyone else remember the dark days of the 1980s when the hoor of downing street was at her zenith and the Sun was laying into anything Irish?

One "journalist" Fiona McDonald-Hull once proclaimed that if all the Catholics in the 6 Co's weren't happy they should all go back to Ireland where they came from.  Obviously the editor read that!

In Oz, the commercial tv channels are usually nose-deep in American shit but every now and then they "report" that "newspapers in Britain" are following a particular lead...cue the quotation from The Sun or News of the world.

O'Neill, I wouldn't be too quick to use my phone to access the internet.  Letting the gremlins in.  Big time.
Post by: ONeill on October 02, 2009, 07:34:41 AM
QuoteO'Neill, I wouldn't be too quick to use my phone to access the internet.  Letting the gremlins in.  Big time.

Why's that?
Post by: Aerlik on October 02, 2009, 09:54:21 AM
Well, according to an IT guru I know there is little to no protection and as it is wireless transmission it is easy to intercept if you know how.  I don't.
Post by: ONeill on October 02, 2009, 10:09:54 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 02, 2009, 09:54:21 AM
Well, according to an IT guru I know there is little to no protection and as it is wireless transmission it is easy to intercept if you know how.  I don't.

Still don't understand what you mean. Intercept what?
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 02, 2009, 10:43:23 AM
The Sun switches sides in order to boost circulation figures, no other reason, unlike Sammy Maguire they tend to back winners.  It is a rag of a paper, there was a good documentary a few years back when Kelvin Mackenzie went to Liverpool to try and boost sales again, he got a loud and clear message from the scousers. 
Post by: haranguerer on October 02, 2009, 10:48:06 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on October 02, 2009, 10:43:23 AM
The Sun switches sides in order to boost circulation figures, no other reason, unlike Sammy Maguire they tend to back winners.  It is a rag of a paper, there was a good documentary a few years back when Kelvin Mackenzie went to Liverpool to try and boost sales again, he got a loud and clear message from the scousers.

Post by: glens abu on October 02, 2009, 12:14:23 PM
 Gutter press think the people of Liverpool have the right idea,they will not even sell it in their shops ;)
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 02, 2009, 12:18:03 PM
Quote from: glens abu on October 02, 2009, 12:14:23 PM
Gutter press think the people of Liverpool have the right idea,they will not even sell it in their shops ;)

Contrary to popular belief the Sun is widely available on Merseyside.
Post by: ONeill on October 02, 2009, 12:18:47 PM
I think the reading age of The Sun is 8 - that is, an 8-year old could read it from cover to cover with little difficulty. I suppose that's not necessarily a bad thing.
Post by: mhacadoir on October 02, 2009, 12:26:36 PM
Im not sure if this story was in the irish version of the sun, but it was in the English version...

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/features/2657196/Northern-Irish-youngsters-recruited-by-dissidents.html

there was also a story about martin mc guinness that quoted Willie Frazer the other day.
Post by: deiseach on October 02, 2009, 12:26:55 PM
The Sun is definitely available in most shops in Liverpool. Sad, but true.
Post by: Sandino on October 02, 2009, 12:29:01 PM
I just despise this publication. i get quite angy when I see young people with GAA tops or Liverpool jersies giving money over the counter for this rag.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 02, 2009, 12:30:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 02, 2009, 12:18:47 PM
I think the reading age of The Sun is 8 ...

It has a reading age?!
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 02, 2009, 12:31:48 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 02, 2009, 12:30:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 02, 2009, 12:18:47 PM
I think the reading age of The Sun is 8 ...

It has a reading age?!

I thought they bought it to look at the pictures.  ::)
Post by: sammymaguire on October 02, 2009, 01:14:35 PM
Doogie - fcuk off you c0ck!  ;)
Post by: sammymaguire on October 02, 2009, 01:16:26 PM
and you too haranguerer on  :o knob jockey
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 02, 2009, 01:59:48 PM
Jaysus lads that rag is such shite and not just for the Liverpool or Nationalist reasons given. The front page is ususally news about some celebrity's marriage. Page 3 has topless ladies (NEWSpaper?) and now they have them giving their opinion on current affairs as if any of us give a f**k.
It's a sign of the times in this f**king country that it sells so well.
Post by: Canalman on October 02, 2009, 02:36:39 PM
Don't buy/read it myself.
However, I feel that the reason people buy it is for the Soccer/Horse Racing and the price. Maybe we are being a tad hard on its readership.

Post by: Minder on October 02, 2009, 02:52:15 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on October 02, 2009, 12:18:03 PM
Quote from: glens abu on October 02, 2009, 12:14:23 PM

Contrary to popular belief the Sun is widely available on Merseyside.

True, I have tried to make this point a few times on the Liverpool thread but was told it wasn't the case. I know for a fact it is widely available in Liverpool.
Post by: dillinger on November 03, 2009, 09:49:46 PM
dont read comics ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on November 09, 2009, 09:25:07 PM
QuotePM apologises over soldier letter 

Gordon Brown has telephoned the mother of a soldier killed in Afghanistan to apologise after apparently misspelling his name in a letter of sympathy.

Guardsman Jamie Janes, 20, from Brighton, East Sussex, was killed in an explosion in October.

In a video distributed by the Sun newspaper, his mother Jacqui called the letter a "hastily scrawled insult".

But Mr Brown said he was sorry "for any unintended mistake", adding that his writing could be "difficult to read".

Guardsman Janes, of 1st Battalion The Grenadier Guards, was killed in an explosion while on foot patrol in Helmand province.

'Personal sadness'

According to the Sun, his mother Jacqui was angry when she received the prime minister's letter of condolence in which he appeared to misspell Guardsman Janes's name as "James".

In a statement, he said: "I take very seriously my responsibility to the bereaved.

"Every time I write a letter to mothers and fathers and partners who have suffered bereavement to express my sincere condolences, it is a moment of personal sadness to me. And I am in awe of the bravery and sacrifice of the men and women of our armed forces.

"I send a handwritten letter to every family and I often write to more than one member of the family.

"I have telephoned Jacqui Janes to apologise for any unintended mistake in the letter.

"To all other families whom I have written to, I can only apologise if my handwriting is difficult to read."

The prime minister has previously admitted problems with his eyesight after a childhood rugby injury.

He added: "I have at all times acted in good faith seeking to do the right thing. I do not think anyone will believe that I write letters with any intent to cause offence."

'Debt of gratitude'

But Mrs Janes told the Sun that the letter had been "scrawled so quickly I could hardly even read it" and that "some of the words were half-finished".

She described it as "disrespectful" and an "insult" to her son.

It has emerged that Mr Brown got Jamie Janes's name wrong in the House of Commons on 14 October when he read out a list of 37 soldiers killed in Afghanistan.

The Sun declared during the Labour Party conference that it was switching its support to the Conservatives for the next general election.

George Pascoe Watson, who was the newspaper's political editor until last week, told BBC Radio 4's World at One programme that it was not the Sun attacking the prime minister but Mrs Janes herself.

He added: "The Sun, believe it or not, doesn't want to personalise it on the prime minister although in a case where a prime minister has written a personal letter it's hard not to personalise it."

'No disrespect'

Business Secretary Lord Mandelson said the story had to be seen in the "context" of the fact that the Sun had chosen to "campaign against Gordon Brown and Labour" in the run-up to the next election.

He added: "Anyone who knows the prime minister knows that his handwriting is not great.

"But it is absolutely unthinkable that he would want to show any sort of disrespect, not only to Mrs Janes, but to all those who have suffered bereavement and to whom he writes letters.

"He cares very deeply about them, which is why he puts a lot of thought into those letters. I hope, as he and others will do, that Mrs Janes will understand that and not take any offence."

It is official policy for the prime minister to write to the families of all service personnel killed in action while on operational duties.

According to Ministry of Defence guidelines published on the Parliament website, the letter is drafted by military officials and should ideally be sent within two working days of the death being announced.

The defence secretary writes to the families of members of the armed forces who die in service, including those not on operations.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8349757.stm

Can't believe the coverage this non-story has been getting. This family must be idiots - the mother said that Brown would be better getting someone to type his letter! Regardless of what you think of the war / British government / Brown, surely it's admirable that he takes the time to handwrite a letter to the families when he could just as easily get a civil servant to type one.

And clearly the Sun is hijacking it for their own political reasons.
Post by: Minder on November 09, 2009, 09:29:51 PM
Totally agree Maguire, was top story on Sky News earlier. Just shows the society we live in. There must be something wrong with the family and obviously have the S*n choreographing everything for them. If he sent a typed letter it would have been branded "impersonal". Damned if you do.......
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 09:30:29 PM
QuoteCan't believe the coverage this non-story has been getting. This family must be idiots - the mother said that Brown would be better getting someone to type his letter! Regardless of what you think of the war / British government / Brown, surely it's admirable that he takes the time to handwrite a letter to the families when he could just as easily get a civil servant to type one.

Agree with that. 
Post by: Rossfan on November 09, 2009, 09:37:56 PM
9,999 posts Pints !!!!
What's the prize for 10,000 ? :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 09:42:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 09, 2009, 09:37:56 PM
9,999 posts Pints !!!!
What's the prize for 10,000 ? :D
Freedom of the gaaboard?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 09:53:53 PM
Wwhile there are no doubt political agendas behind this story if someone in your family died for their country and then the leader of that country couldn't even take the time to spell the name right I'd be very peeved off. It's pathetic to be honest.
Post by: Square Ball on November 09, 2009, 10:02:06 PM
there we go, its second on the ITV news after the fall of the Berlin wall
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2009, 10:04:59 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 09, 2009, 10:02:06 PM

pints getting to 10,000 posts  ???
Post by: Square Ball on November 09, 2009, 10:07:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2009, 10:04:59 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 09, 2009, 10:02:06 PM

pints getting to 10,000 posts  ???

while a news worthy story, its that letter again
Post by: haranguerer on November 09, 2009, 10:10:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 09:53:53 PM
Wwhile there are no doubt political agendas behind this story if someone in your family died for their country and then the leader of that country couldn't even take the time to spell the name right I'd be very peeved off. It's pathetic to be honest.

I'm very much with Maguire. Ridiculous to try to spin something this insignificant, the sun must be hard enough up for dirt. What does she want - he took the effort to handwrite a personal letter - does she really take massive offence at him spelling her name wrong? Perhaps he should pretend hes known this lad for a while?  ::)
Post by: Minder on November 09, 2009, 10:14:11 PM

The family may well be rightly annoyed but I would have thought they would have other issues to deal with. Sure they will get a few quid out of it.......It just seems everyone wants their 15 minutes........
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 10:16:39 PM
If he got it completely wrong I'm be a bit annoyed, he got one letter wrong, Janes, James, a forgivable mistake. 
I'd appreciate the sentiments in the letter and the fact that he personally sat down to write one rather than sign something a civil servant shoved under his nose (with the name spelt correctly). 

Tbh the soldier's family are behaving in a typical english way.  Full of their own self importance, so much so their own prime minister is apologising for his hand writing ffs!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 10:20:38 PM
I don't agree at all.

While I may seem pedantic on this if you had someone in your family in the army and they lost their life you'd like to think they lost it for a cause and weren't just another stat.

Brown tried to prove the former and ended up proving the latter. I'd take that as an insult and I ain't English.

It's being used for political agendas here but it's a major faux pas in my book.

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 10:23:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 10:20:38 PM
I don't agree at all.

While I may seem pedantic on this if you had someone in your family in the army and they lost their life you'd like to think they lost it for a cause and weren't just another stat.

Brown tried to prove the former and ended up proving the latter. I'd take that as an insult and I ain't English.

It's being used for political agendas here but it's a major faux pas in my book.
The man made a spelling mistake.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2009, 10:24:28 PM
Haven't bought the sun since 1989. Never will.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 10:26:15 PM
QuoteThe man made a spelling mistake.

The guy died. It's a big deal. It shows you that the letter was nothing more than a token gesture. He could have checked the spelling.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 10:29:00 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 10:26:15 PM

The guy died. It's a big deal. It shows you that the letter was nothing more than a token gesture. He could have checked the spelling.
he was probably more concerned about what he was going to write to people who just lost their son. 
Post by: Minder on November 09, 2009, 10:29:45 PM
I don't agree at all.

Other than to their family they are just a "stat" though. Would people prefer if Brown said he was a "tremendously brave young man" even though that is the standard line and Brown would not lnow anything about him. Gordon Brown personally called the mother to apologise and I gather from the news tonight the call was recorded by the family/Sun and an account of it will be on the Sun tomorrow. Does nobody grieve in private anymore? The whole thing stinks.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 09, 2009, 10:31:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 09, 2009, 10:29:45 PM
I don't agree at all.

Other than to their family they are just a "stat" though. Would people prefer if Brown said he was a "tremendously brave young man" even though that is the standard line and Brown would not lnow anything about him. Gordon Brown personally called the mother to apologise and I gather from the news tonight the call was recorded by the family/Sun and an account of it will be on the Sun tomorrow. Does nobody grieve in private anymore? The whole thing stinks.

I had sympathy for them up until I read the part in bold
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 10:31:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 09, 2009, 10:29:45 PM
I don't agree at all.

unreal!!

No one would blame Brown for getting a civil servant to write them in future. 
(cant believe I'm standing up for the English prime minister)!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 09, 2009, 10:34:40 PM
If other than to their family they were just a stat then there was no need to send any letter.

Public grief sickens my head too. It would also sicken my head to have the head of the country try to pretend they cared when they obviously couldn't care less.

Anyway, rant over as if they're getting this recorded then it's pretty sad really.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 09, 2009, 10:38:05 PM

A token gesture would be a standard letter, typed by a civil servant and signed by the PM (probably unread) when he's signing 100 other letters and documents.

The fact that a PM of a country with a population significantly bigger than our own is taking time to hand write letters to bereaved families... I think it's significantly more than a token gesture to still be hand writing your condolences, over 200 dead (British) soldiers later.
Post by: haranguerer on November 09, 2009, 10:39:45 PM

But of course its a token gesture. Unless he can bring the lad back from the dead, everything is a token gesture. And a hand written note, with spelling mistakes and poor writing is much better than a printed letter signed by the pm,or nothing at all.
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2009, 12:39:40 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2009, 10:31:36 PM
(cant believe I'm standing up for the English prime minister)!

Isn't he Scottish?
Post by: ross4life on November 10, 2009, 12:46:10 AM
why buy any type of newspaper nowadays sure all the news is online?
Post by: Larry Duff on November 10, 2009, 10:11:48 AM
This confirms my opinion that Sun readers are morons. Who would continue to buy a paper that carries these type of stories, let alone make it headline news?! The Sun is confirming that they also see the readership as nothing short of knuckle draggers, as this type of reporting insults the intelligence of those who possess such an attribute.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 10:20:03 AM
Its f**king sickening, I feel sorry for Brown on this  :-[.  I am sure the family will donate all of their fee from the Sun to the Poppy appeal also.
Post by: Sandino on November 10, 2009, 10:53:13 AM
I have nothing but contemp for this publication. I have vowed never to buy it from the mid eighties. I would love to see its sales being so low that is with-drawn from shelves here in Ireland.
Post by: haranguerer on November 10, 2009, 11:24:27 AM
Confession time. I used to buy it because it was dirt cheap, had the Striker cartoon, and a good problem page. The thing is, there are loadsa people who do believe everything they see in it: theres an awful lot of sheep out there who will take someone elses opinion rather than having their own.

I think the Sun is probably a bit rattled. There was so much fanfare about the switch from labour that in a way they are up for election themselves - if the conservatives lose it will be a massive blow to them. And so they are going to be more overtly conservative, and also play dirtier than ever in trying to smear labour.

Its another reason I really hope the conservatives dont get in, but  :-\
Post by: BennyHarp on November 10, 2009, 12:21:56 PM
This woman is an absolute disgrace using her dead son to get her 15mins of fame and Gordon Brown should have phoned to let her apologise to him for dragging his name through the dirt - not to apologise to a attention seeking oul woman who cares more about getting a back hander from The Sun than honouring her son's life - like Brown was attemptng to do! Young lads know what they are getting into when they join the army - many parents actively encourage them to join! So dont complain if you get sent to a war zone! I may be a bit harsh here but i have no sympathy at all!!
Post by: oakleafgael on November 10, 2009, 01:35:15 PM
Just watched it on the lunchtime news there. Whatever sympathy I had for the woman is now gone.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 10, 2009, 02:38:05 PM
Steve Bell's cartoon in today's Guardian sums it up perfectly. Perhaps someone would be kind enough to post it up.
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2009, 02:41:16 PM
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2009/11/9/1257810336892/Steve-Bell-cartoon-001.jpg)
Post by: Declan on November 10, 2009, 02:42:05 PM
Exactly right
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2009, 02:47:24 PM
She's on a frickin' mission that woman

JJ: Mr Brown, to this day, I know as fact helping my sons buy equipment themselves before they went to, to war. I know of every mother, the letters I have received off mothers ... in Iraq, in Afghanistan, you know, friends of mine that were killed in Northern Ireland. I know that our government is letting our troops down, big time.

Post by: leenie on November 10, 2009, 03:37:58 PM
i am trying to think how can i write this without sounding an insensitive cow...

but i could not believe that the main headline on the 10 o clock news was "Gordon Brown inconsiderate spelling of name"...
I though it was going to be a completely different name and even perhaps a name of serial killer or something, since it was deemed headline news. Instead it was James instead of Janes! a easy mistake in my opinion. Now the mother (whom i do acknowledge is grieving the loss of son) is "going off on one".... at the end of the day the war is going on, yes i disagree with it, but it's still happening, anyone joining the British army knows the possible consequences. Unlike other countries they have the choice... Mr Brown is the prime minister of a population of 57 million that is going through a recession.... dare i be so ignorant to believe there are other priorities?
But the media do play a massive part in manipulating these situations but i believe there must have been more "headline" news  to report yesterday other than this!
Post by: full back on November 10, 2009, 03:45:30 PM
As haranguerer has said this is all about the Sun switching allegiance away from labour.
They will latch on to anything & everything that makes Labour look bad in order to ensure they dont win the next election.

If the Sun still supported Labour there wouldnt be all this fanfare about the wrong spelling or a phone call
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 10, 2009, 03:53:44 PM
james instead of janes...

do they have any respect for public intelligence at all? i shouldnt be surprised with the gutter press but in the middle of the worst recession in decades and 2 dreadful and stupid conflicts for their country its especially irritating to see such clumsy and cack handed attempts to influence public opinion to suit their own agenda. I suppose there arent bigger issues in the world right now than an easy spelling mistake in a stressful job  ::)

would have less respect for someone who regularly bought the sun. Would not wipe my arse with it.

Ever hear Chris Morris ringing the sun with the offer of sleaze on Neil Kinnock? Good satire of the sneaky bastards... (sounds like Steve Coogan doing a kinnock impression too  :D)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEGE2ohMnh8
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 03:59:03 PM
The sad thing is the Sun is by far and away the biggest selling daily in England and will continue to be.
Post by: Minder on November 10, 2009, 04:08:52 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 03:59:03 PM
The sad thing is the Sun is by far and away the biggest selling daily in England and will continue to be.

Lest we forget it is very popular here too, on both sides of the house.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 04:14:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 10, 2009, 04:08:52 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 03:59:03 PM

Lest we forget it is very popular here too, on both sides of the house.
Holy fcuk Minder how big is your house?  :P

No doubt about it, prob biggest selling daily here also.
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 10, 2009, 04:19:09 PM
bit depressing that...
Post by: rossie mad on November 10, 2009, 05:02:31 PM

Back in the day when i started to go to college i started to buy it. I was 17, it was cheap and had boobs.

It didnt take me long to find out that in fact the IRISH sun was in fact as british as you could get.

I remember after reading an article in it describing U2 as the best british band in the world i chucked it in the bin and havnt bought it since.

I have it and the news of the world banned from coming into the house.
I usually dont buy papers apart from the roscommon herald and the roscommon people (its actually free ;D) although i do buy the sunday tribune.

In my eyes sky news and the sun are brain washing instruments of the highest order.

Post by: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 05:05:25 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on November 10, 2009, 05:02:31 PM

Back in the day when i started to go to college i started to buy it. I was 17, it was cheap and had boobs.

It didnt take me long to find out that in fact the IRISH sun was in fact as british as you could get.

I remember after reading an article in it describing U2 as the best british band in the world i chucked it in the bin and havnt bought it since.

I usually dont buy papers apart from the roscommon herald and the roscommon people (its actually free ;D) although i do buy the sunday tribune.

In my eyes sky news and the sun are brain washing instruments of the highest order.
You should watch Fox News sometime, that will really open your eyes
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2009, 05:05:57 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 05:05:25 PM

Glenn Beck is some craic!
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 05:23:44 PM
I am more of a Bill O'Reilly man Zig!
Post by: rossie mad on November 10, 2009, 05:53:41 PM

Used to watch fox when i worked in the Middle East.
I would have noticed that alright but never really watched it long enough or known its reasons for such so didnt pass much heed.

Post by: Maguire01 on November 10, 2009, 07:07:16 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 10, 2009, 05:05:25 PM

A bit of a paradox there!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2009, 07:40:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQvGITz1VRI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQvGITz1VRI&feature=related)

What a complete bollocks
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2009, 07:55:46 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/campaigns/our_boys/2722106/Mum-at-war-Jacqui-Janes-the-full-transcript.html (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/campaigns/our_boys/2722106/Mum-at-war-Jacqui-Janes-the-full-transcript.html)

Full script of the call.

What an arsehole.
Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 07:56:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2009, 07:40:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQvGITz1VRI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQvGITz1VRI&feature=related)

What a complete bollocks

Sad really. When her anger fades she'll probably regret making such a deal out of this non-issue. Its the Sun, playing on her anger and grief, that are the disgusting party here.
Post by: Minder on November 10, 2009, 08:00:24 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 07:56:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2009, 07:40:46 PM

What a complete bollocks
Sad really. When her anger fades she'll probably regret making such a deal out of this non-issue. Its the Sun, playing on her anger and grief, that are the disgusting party here.

And when she has done the chat show circuit, has Max Clifford offered representation yet? Due to the goverents embarrasment she may have an OBE/MBE in the New Years honours list.