Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 08:57:00 PM

Title: Fitting Punishment for Stephen Ireland
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 08:57:00 PM
See comments quoted in Herald below...

Just wondering what punishment would be suitable for such a little p***k. Here are some I'd like to see...

- The FAI should put a fund in place for the Irish player that busts him open when they play in the premier league. I'd like Big Richard Dunne to be the man.
- Send him an invoice for the flight arranged for him to return for his grannys death.
- Government should change his passport to Stephen Noland or maybe Stephen England.
- Glue a Tina Turner wig onto his head.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-closes-door-on-trap-1891504.html
By Conleth Devitt
Saturday September 19 2009

MANCHESTER CITY midfielder Stephen Ireland appears to ended speculation about a return to the Irish team by declaring that he will never were the green of Ireland again -- at least while Giovanni Trapattoni is Irish boss.

The Italian had made overtures to bring back the 23-year-old back from his self-imposed international exile, but the Cork man has blasted back at the current Irish manager, branding him "arrogant" in his attempts to lure him back.

The Man City star is determined to stick by his decision not to play for his country thanks to Trapattoni's behaviour when they met last season.

Ireland, who has not played for his country in two years, said: "When I met Trapattoni for a chat I felt there was a lot of arrogance going on.

"We didn't speak after that until this summer, when he called me. But I think he made that call for his own benefit, rather than mine. He said: 'Is it okay if I tell the press I've spoken to you and that there is a chance of you coming back?'

"I said: 'You can tell people we've spoken and maybe we'll meet up in the future, but don't say there is a chance of me coming back because there probably isn't."

Despite the fact that his country is still in a position to qualify for next year's World Cup in South Africa, Ireland hasn't even considered winning another cap.

"Even with the prospect of the World Cup, it hasn't crossed my mind about going back. I never felt part of the squad and I never will.

"When I watch Ireland games, it's weird. it's like I was never part of it. I don't miss it at all."

- Conleth Devitt
Title: Re: Fitting Punishment for Stephen Ireland
Post by: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 09:02:25 PM
Prima Donnas
Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2009, 09:38:38 PM
Best thing is to ignore him completely.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on September 20, 2009, 09:43:10 PM
It's the media that keeps bringing it up time after time. He made his decision a long time ago, only for the media to keep bringing it up again.
Post by: J70 on September 20, 2009, 09:48:28 PM
He's fully entitled not to play, particularly if he doesn't get on with the manager and other squad members and has a miserable time when he's there.
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:35:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 20, 2009, 09:48:28 PM
He's fully entitled not to play, particularly if he doesn't get on with the manager and other squad members and has a miserable time when he's there.
Considering that he hasn't joined the squad under Trap he doesn't know Trap
He walked out on Kerr and the U21 squad. By all accounts he acted  the ass.
He ran out on the Irish team in Slovakia.
He has taken offense with, at first Given then Brady and now Trap.
Everybody else is at fault.
He is perfectly entitled to be an ass.
We are perfectly entitled to call him an ass.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 20, 2009, 10:40:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:35:06 PM
Not to mention his latest story about alex ferguson.

the lad seems to have serious issues.
Post by: J70 on September 20, 2009, 10:47:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:35:06 PM

Never said you weren't.

Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:51:40 PM
The excuses that you relay, according him entitlement, hold no water.
He is entitled to act the ass.
He has no entitlement to blame the manager or blame the squad.

Post by: J70 on September 20, 2009, 11:45:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:51:40 PM

What are you on about?

How does saying that if someone "doesn't get on with the manager and other squad members and has a miserable time when he's there" he should be free not to play amount to making excuses?

I didn't comment on his PR.
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 20, 2009, 11:47:21 PM
Those involved in soccer are so shallow and supporters so fickle, that if Republic quailify for the World Cup they will still be trying to get him back.... watch this space
Title: Don't believe it!!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on September 20, 2009, 11:58:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 08:57:00 PM
See comments quoted in Herald below...

Just wondering what punishment would be suitable for such a little p***k. Here are some I'd like to see...

- The FAI should put a fund in place for the Irish player that busts him open when they play in the premier league. I'd like Big Richard Dunne to be the man.
- Send him an invoice for the flight arranged for him to return for his grannys death.
- Government should change his passport to Stephen Noland or maybe Stephen England.
- Glue a Tina Turner wig onto his head.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-closes-door-on-trap-1891504.html
By Conleth Devitt
Saturday September 19 2009

MANCHESTER CITY midfielder Stephen Ireland appears to ended speculation about a return to the Irish team by declaring that he will never were the green of Ireland again -- at least while Giovanni Trapattoni is Irish boss.

The Italian had made overtures to bring back the 23-year-old back from his self-imposed international exile, but the Cork man has blasted back at the current Irish manager, branding him "arrogant" in his attempts to lure him back.

The Man City star is determined to stick by his decision not to play for his country thanks to Trapattoni's behaviour when they met last season.

Ireland, who has not played for his country in two years, said: "When I met Trapattoni for a chat I felt there was a lot of arrogance going on.

"We didn't speak after that until this summer, when he called me. But I think he made that call for his own benefit, rather than mine. He said: 'Is it okay if I tell the press I've spoken to you and that there is a chance of you coming back?'

"I said: 'You can tell people we've spoken and maybe we'll meet up in the future, but don't say there is a chance of me coming back because there probably isn't."

Despite the fact that his country is still in a position to qualify for next year's World Cup in South Africa, Ireland hasn't even considered winning another cap.

"Even with the prospect of the World Cup, it hasn't crossed my mind about going back. I never felt part of the squad and I never will.

"When I watch Ireland games, it's weird. it's like I was never part of it. I don't miss it at all."

- Conleth Devitt

Wear in the world did Devitt learn to spell?  :o
Post by: J70 on September 21, 2009, 12:00:20 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 20, 2009, 11:47:21 PM
Those involved in soccer are so shallow and supporters so fickle, that if Republic quailify for the World Cup they will still be trying to get him back.... watch this space

And Donegal supporters didn't object too vociferously to the many returns of suspended or errant players over the last few seasons either. People want to see the best available players in the team, no matter what the sport.
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2009, 12:03:04 AM
Quote from: J70 on September 20, 2009, 11:45:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 10:51:40 PM

What are you on about?

How does saying that if someone "doesn't get on with the manager and other squad members and has a miserable time when he's there" he should be free not to play amount to making excuses?

I didn't comment on his PR.
You are perfectly entitled to make a meaningless post.

SI did not say he had a miserable time in the squad.
The manager went out of his way  to invite him back.
SI has spent no time with Trap apart from that time in a hotel.
Trap has acted with great diplomacy whenever peppered with questions about SI.

I do not know what entitlement you are waffling on about.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2009, 12:14:15 AM
The baldy fuckwit should be attached to the tow bar of his pink Range Rover by the bollix using vice grips and driven around Stretford until his head bleeds so much he needs more hair extensions to cover up the cuts.  A stupid cnut if ever there was and no matter how talented he believes he is he will never play for Ireland as he is all about Stephen.  Self indulgent p***k >:(
Post by: paddypastit on September 21, 2009, 01:20:24 AM
MainStreet.

He would not be the first to take offence to Don Givens who seems to be a pretty miserable sort but two wrongs domn't make a right so the best dose is ignorance and the real offenders here are the simpleton media who keep bringing it up.
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2009, 03:11:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2009, 12:14:15 AM
The baldy fuckwit should be attached to the tow bar of his pink Range Rover by the bollix using vice grips and driven around Stretford until his head bleeds so much he needs more hair extensions to cover up the cuts.  A stupid cnut if ever there was and no matter how talented he believes he is he will never play for Ireland as he is all about Stephen.  Self indulgent p***k >:(

Or,................ his citizenship could be questioned to the degree of whether or not he is an EU citizen and whether he needs a work permit to play in England.

Having consistently abandoned his country since underage, as he is entitled to do, I don't see how he could be considered Irish within the EU.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 21, 2009, 09:12:49 AM
Cork people bring too much baggage  8)
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2009, 11:26:30 AM
Quote from: paddypastit on September 21, 2009, 01:20:24 AM
MainStreet.

He would not be the first to take offence to Don Givens who seems to be a pretty miserable sort but two wrongs domn't make a right so the best dose is ignorance and the real offenders here are the simpleton media who keep bringing it up.
True about Givens, but SI has defined that pattern with every Irish manager.

In SI's case it was probably about the only time Irish football fans thought Given's was talking sense.
Post by: deiseach on September 21, 2009, 11:44:05 AM
Stephen Ireland is entitled to not want to play for the Republic - I think that Fifa could theoretically force him to play but that's not very likely and I don't think it would be a good idea. However, rather than just saying he doesn't fancy the idea of bunking down in Bratislava when he could be at home in his plush Cheshire pad he wants to pretend that everyone is out of step but him. It will keep on cropping up because he hasn't the courage to say that nothing anyone associated with the FAI can do will bring him back.
Post by: Orior on September 21, 2009, 12:04:46 PM
They should tattoo rabbits on his head. From a distance, they will look like hares.

Boom boom!
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 21, 2009, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 21, 2009, 12:00:20 AM

And Donegal supporters didn't object too vociferously to the many returns of suspended or errant players over the last few seasons either. People want to see the best available players in the team, no matter what the sport.

Pathetic example... this Ireland boy has been at this for a few yaers... let him go to hell 
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 21, 2009, 02:04:09 PM

:D :D :D

well put.

:D :D :D
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2009, 05:15:56 PM
Hell of a player though. Hes been having a great couple seasons.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 21, 2009, 08:19:26 PM
Super player, mad as a cut snake, pity.

How can you have any real perspective on life given the sort of unreal world some of these guys occupy? Don't begrudge him his decision not to turn up we'll have to get on with what we have.

Agree with lads saying the media should let this go. Read some other pile today about how Trap is ignoring our "two best midfielders. Christ if Andy Reid is that far up the pecking order and can barely catch a game at Sunderland.............
Post by: deiseach on September 21, 2009, 08:54:40 PM
The media will stop writing about it when we stop talking about it.
Post by: Terry Tate on September 21, 2009, 10:18:03 PM

Here Here!

That made me laugh. Cheers
Post by: mc_grens on September 21, 2009, 11:22:10 PM
Isn't he already punishing himself enough?

Some day his grandchild will ask him, "did you ever play international football Grandad?",

"No lad. I could have, but I was young and stupid. I believed my own hype. When I look back it's my one big regret."
Post by: J70 on September 22, 2009, 12:34:13 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 21, 2009, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 21, 2009, 12:00:20 AM

Pathetic example... this Ireland boy has been at this for a few yaers... let him go to hell

Well, we'll see next year what Donegal supporters have to say if Ciaran Bonner asks or is asked to rejoin the Donegal squad.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 12:48:30 AM
You'd have to be the equivalent of a hyperactive serial killer to get a notification in a Donegal person's black book.
Post by: rrhf on September 22, 2009, 07:50:52 AM
Quote granda kids etc  unquote
Irelands one of these people you could never see growing old..
Post by: man in black on September 22, 2009, 08:24:29 AM
he is an average player at an average club having a couple of good seasons. Let him rot the ballix
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 12:27:37 PM
Quote from: man in black on September 22, 2009, 08:24:29 AM
he is an average player at an average club having a couple of good seasons. Let him rot the ballix

He will learn very quickly about loyalty when City buy a better player and move him on.

They might make top 4 this year though I don't think the primma donnas will enjoy the winter, but when they want to make it all the way to the top they will move on the non-superstars.

That is when he will wish he had a high international profile.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on September 22, 2009, 01:38:50 PM
I heard that he won't come back as Trap wants to play him in a defensive midfield rol just behind the other 5 midfielders.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 01:49:25 PM
I think he is a good player.

If he was available, Trap would have to rethink the 2 holding CM system.
That makes two outright impossibilities.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 22, 2009, 02:21:51 PM
Why has he to be punished?

He has made it clear that he doesn't want play for Ireland but he did so in a cack handed way.  Is this what he is to be punished for?

Although is he starts to bleet if we do get through to South Africa, that will be anotther matter.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 06:55:22 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 22, 2009, 02:21:51 PM

He has made it clear that he doesn't want play for Ireland but he did so in a cack handed way.  Is this what he is to be punished for?

Although is he starts to bleet if we do get through to South Africa, that will be anotther matter.

Well if you think it is ok that someone would refuse to play for his country for no good reason than it doesn't fit in with his plans then thats fine. For me that makes him a self centered like w**ker that has no respect for his country. Thats why I'd like to punish him in some way.
Post by: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:15:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 06:55:22 PM

Well if you think it is ok that someone would refuse to play for his country for no good reason than it doesn't fit in with his plans then thats fine. For me that makes him a self centered like w**ker that has no respect for his country. Thats why I'd like to punish him in some way.
Do you think the same of Roy Keane?
Post by: mountainboii on September 22, 2009, 07:25:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:15:22 PM

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps
Post by: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:29:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 22, 2009, 07:25:41 PM

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps

What's your point ?

Or is it that if you put them together you get 666 the number of the devil !

Post by: mountainboii on September 22, 2009, 07:43:28 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on September 22, 2009, 07:29:53 PM

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps

What's your point ?

That its ridiculous to compare a lad that played for his country for a couple of months before packing it in, with a guy that lined out for over a decade.

Although 666 is definitely a sign. Also if you combine their goal tallies you get unlucky 13. We're better off with the both of them.
Post by: Celt_Man on September 22, 2009, 07:58:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 12:27:37 PM
Quote from: man in black on September 22, 2009, 08:24:29 AM

He will learn very quickly about loyalty when City buy a better player and move him on.

They might make top 4 this year though I don't think the primma donnas will enjoy the winter, but when they want to make it all the way to the top they will move on the non-superstars.

That is when he will wish he had a high international profile.

Yea I've been saying the same thing all along... read an interview with him somewhere going on about City and how they were always there for him etc etc  You would swear it was the local GAA club he was on about not the cut throat environment of a Premier League club. 

City will add to their squad and shaft him and that is a fact....  Sure wasn't Richard Dunne the supporter's player of the year 3 years in a row not so long ago and he was dropped like a hot spud
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 08:04:46 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 22, 2009, 07:43:28 PM

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps

What's your point ?

That its ridiculous to compare a lad that played for his country for a couple of months before packing it in, with a guy that lined out for over a decade.

Although 666 is definitely a sign. Also if you combine their goal tallies you get unlucky 13. We're better off with the both of them.

At least Ireland has the decency to tell us before hand that he doesn't want to play for his country in the World Cup.
Post by: DennistheMenace on September 22, 2009, 08:05:37 PM
Hughes rates Ireland as one of his best and most influential players so I wouldn't be so sure he will be surplus to requirements like Dunne who had a poor enough season last year and is past his peak.

Ireland is a very good player and I can't fathom why he doesn't want to play for his country, I've heard many of his supposed 'excuses' for not wanting to play but they all smell like bull to me. He comes across as a right bellend in interviews but definitely one we could do with at present.

As for punishing him, ffs it isn't as if playing for your national country is like compulsory military service. He has the right to decide for himself, unfortunately for us fans it doesn't make sense.
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 08:09:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 08:04:46 PM

At least Ireland has the decency to tell us before hand that he doesn't want to play for his country in the World Cup.

Yea but he could have carried us there first.

Stephen Ireland is a serial offender calling the likes of Kerr and Trap arrogant.

Imagine a twat, who hasn't a single achievement of note in his career to date, calling someone like Trappatoni arrogant.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 22, 2009, 08:11:16 PM
He gets paid a lot of money to play with Man City, you get buttons playing for the Republic of Ireland.
I'd much rather play for City myself!
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 22, 2009, 08:27:04 PM
Myles, didn't realise soccer was your cup of tea at all.

Speaking of Richard Dunne it was interesting to watch the highlights of the Manchester Derby the other night. Now I know Dunne isn't quite in the Paul McGrath league but no way would Fletcher have bagged two headed goals I would have thoght if Big Dick had been in a City Shirt. I thought of saying that Paul McShane would have bolstered the City defence but thought again
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 08:39:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 08:09:29 PM

Stephen Ireland is a serial offender calling the likes of Kerr and Trap arrogant.

Imagine a t**t, who hasn't a single achievement of note in his career to date, calling someone like Trappatoni arrogant.

100% Agree. Kerr was also the most successful underage trainer we ever had but he wasn't good enough for Stephen Noland. As for the comparison to Keane. While I was disgusted when Keane walked out in Saipan I do have to balance  that with the fact that he pretty much got us there on his own. I remember the day Ireland lost a 2-0 lead v holland and big mick smiling like a cat but Keane was fuming, he wanted Ireland to do well and I think at the back of it he wanted the Irish setup to be good for the sake of the team. Stephen Noland on the other hand is concerned about nothing but himself. He doesn't care about his country or even his family (i've heard his dad say a number of times he hoped he go back - imagine the abuse they are probably getting). He's lucky he isn't italian or turkish or he had have his little hole bet for him by now. If I were an Irish international I would make it my business to split him with a tackle the day I came up against him in a club match.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 22, 2009, 09:34:02 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 08:39:41 PM

Imagine a t**t, who hasn't a single achievement of note in his career to date, calling someone like Trappatoni arrogant.

100% Agree. Kerr was also the most successful underage trainer we ever had but he wasn't good enough for Stephen Noland. As for the comparison to Keane. While I was disgusted when Keane walked out in Saipan I do have to balance  that with the fact that he pretty much got us there on his own. I remember the day Ireland lost a 2-0 lead v holland and big mick smiling like a cat but Keane was fuming, he wanted Ireland to do well and I think at the back of it he wanted the Irish setup to be good for the sake of the team. Stephen Noland on the other hand is concerned about nothing but himself. He doesn't care about his country or even his family (i've heard his dad say a number of times he hoped he go back - imagine the abuse they are probably getting). He's lucky he isn't italian or turkish or he had have his little hole bet for him by now. If I were an Irish international I would make it my business to split him with a tackle the day I came up against him in a club match.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, think Roy reckoned this being a manager lark was a handy oul number back in 2000 and 2002, wonder what he thinks at this stage. Does McCarthy afford himself the occassional smile as he considers their respective managerial fortunes as we type
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 09:35:55 PM

Biggest myth in Irish soccer....
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:22:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 09:35:55 PM

It's on DVD, go and watch it. Or read the match reports. Or ask Van Nistleroy, Figo or Overmars, or better still ask a psychiatrist.

And I'm an Arsenal supporter.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 10:26:48 PM
Keane was immense in all the 4 games against Portugal and Holland and we would not have done it without him but we would not have done without that last ditch clearance from the kid Richard Dunne in Holland, the Matt Holland cracker in Portugal, plus a good bit of fortune in the Dutch game at home (all owed to us of course), plus Shay, plus a rocket from McAteer, plus McCarthy, plus  a nervy  play off where an unfit Keane just about featured in the first game.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 10:33:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:22:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 09:35:55 PM

It's on DVD, go and watch it. Or read the match reports. Or ask Van Nistleroy, Figo or Overmars, or better still ask a psychiatrist.

And I'm an Arsenal supporter.
Yawn............you can't help yourself can you  ;)

Won't be doing any of that thanks,but thanks for the suggestions.
Don't care who you support to be honest don't really understand what that has got to do with anything ?

Btw I was at every home game for the qualifying for that tournament,Roy Keane was excellent and done his bit as you would expect from anyone who wears the green shirt and was certainly a help to us getting to the World Cup,but he didn't drag us to the World Cup on his own.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 10:34:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 10:26:48 PM
Keane was immense in all the 4 games against Portugal and Holland and we would not have done it without him but we would not have done without that last ditch clearance from the kid Richard Dunne in Holland, the Matt Holland cracker in Portugal, plus a good bit of fortune in the Dutch game at home (all owed to us of course), plus Shay, plus a rocket from McAteer, plus McCarthy, plus  a nervy  play off where an unfit Keane just about featured in the first game.

Exactly
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:39:42 PM

No question about the contribution of others being needed, but without Roy we wouldn't have got there. BTW you left out Cyprus away, 0-4 sounds routine by it was his best performance of the qualifiers for me.

Comparing Keane with Stephen Ireland is ridiculous. To a few here Stephen Ireland get's off the hook because of his lack of achievement with Ireland while Keane obviously gets treated differently for the opposite. It doesn't stand up.
Post by: stiffler on September 22, 2009, 10:44:20 PM
In a way Keane and Ireland could be described as exact opposites.

Keane gave everything on the pitch, he strived his utmost (crossing the line) to improve his country.

Ireland didnt give 1 flying f**k about his country to begin with.
Post by: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2009, 03:11:26 AM

Or,................ his citizenship could be questioned to the degree of whether or not he is an EU citizen and whether he needs a work permit to play in England.

Having consistently abandoned his country since underage, as he is entitled to do, I don't see how he could be considered Irish within the EU.
or maybe he doesnt want work for for a partitionist 26 county Pauper organisation run by a bunch of incompetent half-wits.
If the fai team qualify or not it says a lot more about the youth team system in england that anything about sport in Ireland
or maybe hes just afraid John delany will make him wear his wig
Post by: Puckoon on September 22, 2009, 10:48:41 PM
Maybe I'm missing the point here, but I'm not understanding the venom directed at SI here. I think a very poignant comparison can be made with keanes behaviour. SI's defection from the Ireland set up is not new news, nor a big shock, at a crucial time. They havnt been able to rely on his services for a long time. It's not as though he's publically thrashed the management, senior players, the set up and then walked out on the eve of a major tournament...

To those calling for "punishment" however tongue in cheek it is, I suppose you all condoned the burning of hanging David beckham figures in the aftermath of 98?
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:49:31 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 10:45:36 PM

or maybe he doesnt want work for for a partitionist 26 county Pauper organisation run by a bunch of incompetent half-wits.
If the fai team qualify or not it says a lot more about the youth team system in england that anything about sport in Ireland

That post was put up by me at 3am after the AIF.

What I meant to say was that he can play in England without a work permit because he is Irish otherwise he would have to seek a work permit. He is happy to benefit on one hand from being Irish but as we all know, he isn't interested in returning anything. 
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:53:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 22, 2009, 10:48:41 PM
Maybe I'm missing the point here, but I'm not understanding the venom directed at SI here. I think a very poignant comparison can be made with keanes behaviour. SI's defection from the Ireland set up is not new news, nor a big shock, at a crucial time. They havnt been able to rely on his services for a long time. It's not as though he's publically thrashed the management, senior players, the set up and then walked out on the eve of a major tournament...

To those calling for "punishment" however tongue in cheek it is, I suppose you all condoned the burning of hanging David beckham figures in the aftermath of 98?

Stephen Ireland's decision always seems to be cold blooded. McCarthy's/Keane's was after a row.

BTW only idiots in the English tabloids called for the hanging of Beckham.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:39:42 PM

No question about the contribution of others being needed, but without Roy we wouldn't have got there. BTW you left out Cyprus away, 0-4 sounds routine by it was his best performance of the qualifiers for me.

I also left out the Keaneless, yet very controlled win against Estonia away,
a place where the Dutch needed a fortunate last minute goal to take all 3 points.
No doubt Keane was the best player over the qualifiers but it was the team who qualified.

Post by: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:49:31 PM

What I meant to say was that he can play in England without a work permit because he is Irish otherwise he would have to seek a work permit. He is happy to benefit on one hand from being Irish but as we all know, he isn't interested in returning anything. 
i dont see how playing professional sport can be construed as returning anything.
do you think ray houghton tony cascarino john aldridge or Mick Mccarthy thought they were returning anything when they played for the fai.
they would have gladly played in china had the money been right and the hours suitable.
Professional sports men play for money look at the Irish cricketers if SI doesnt want the extra few bob or the Care we promotion that comes from being an international that thats his call.

Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:44:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
i dont see how playing professional sport can be construed as returning anything.
do you think ray houghton tony cascarino john aldridge or Mick Mccarthy thought they were returning anything when they played for the fai.
they would have gladly played in china had the money been right and the hours suitable.
Professional sports men play for money look at the Irish cricketers if SI doesnt want the extra few bob or the Care we promotion that comes from being an international that thats his call.

When it came to playing for ireland those players were beyond reproach.
China?
It should be noted that for Mick's first cap, he was a late call up to the Ireland squad for a friendly in China. He left the night before his own wedding or being best man for his brothers and travelled 1/2 way round the world for a worthless friendly, for a pittance. As he remarked, wild horses wouldn't have keep him away.
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2009, 11:50:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2009, 10:49:31 PM

All 4 did their bit for Ireland and probably all 4 went beyond the call of any duty.

But equally all 4 benefited enormously from their profiles as Irish internationals playing in the World Cup and European Championships. The money from the FAI was small but the exposure earned them a lot of money and good luck to them, they deserved it.

Stephen Ireland obviously earns all that he needs at City.
Post by: new devil on September 23, 2009, 02:06:19 AM
Quote from: AFS on September 22, 2009, 07:43:28 PM

Roy Keane - 66 caps
Stephen Ireland - 6 caps

What's your point ?

::) ::) Bla Bla Bla
Post by: Leo on September 23, 2009, 05:06:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:44:03 PM

China?
It should be noted that for Mick's first cap, he was a late call up to the Ireland squad for a friendly in China. He left the night before his own wedding or being best man for his brothers and travelled 1/2 way round the world for a worthless friendly, for a pittance. As he remarked, wild horses wouldn't have keep him away.

Don't know the motivation of Houghton, Aldridge or Cascarino but MCarthy is a case apart. His father (who played hurling for Waterford) like many others had to leave Ireland to find work. This was in the north of England coalmines yet he brought up his family as Irish and to his credit Mick adhered to that identity long before he was capped or managed the team.
In contrast some prima donna players come from a background where their fathers lived off state benefits all their lives and the suspicion is that their offspring would be more takers than givers.I believe Kevin Kilbane is another who was brought up in a strong Irish tradition in England and might have more of a gra for the oul sod than some of the jackeen Manu Utd supporters who populaate the FAI terraces for the big games only.
Post by: tyssam5 on September 23, 2009, 05:37:52 PM
http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%20Ireland%20Range%20Rover.jpg

I like how that blank out the number plate in this picture, just in case anyone would be able to recognise whos car it was if they saw it in the street!!
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 23, 2009, 05:53:55 PM
Missing Stephen Ireland could go a bit on the back burner if Stephen Reid was to make it back to full fitness. Really rate him and think it's an awful pity he's been rode with injuries.

Agree that Keano was top class in the qualifying campaign, also think its a bit of an insult to others to say that he dragged us through single handed, simply not true over the entire qualifying program.

You would be more inclined to say move on from 2002 only the man himself seems unfit to do so. He was quoted two weeks ago as reckoning we have a chance of qualifying for 2010 and went on along the lines that he's sure the preparations would be better than the last time he was involved and hoped nobody would be sent home by management before a competitive ball was kicked. He then offered his thoughts on Adewhatsits goading Arsenal fans. But sure i suppose with Ipswich's performances to date he could do with a bit of distraction.
Post by: Main Street on September 23, 2009, 07:14:19 PM
Quote from: Leo on September 23, 2009, 05:06:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:44:03 PM

China?

Don't know the motivation of Houghton, Aldridge or Cascarino but MCarthy is a case apart.
I don't know the motivation of the first 3 to initially declare. But beyond reproach, in the sense of how they applied themselves to the task of representing Ireland. Our Stephen is a dim shade of green compared to them.
Post by: Zapatista on September 23, 2009, 07:19:10 PM
I don't know the detail of the Stephen Ireland story but just to say that I wouldn't play for them either.
Post by: Main Street on September 23, 2009, 07:26:20 PM
Who gives a féck about what you don't know and about what you do say on the matter.
Post by: Zapatista on September 23, 2009, 07:27:31 PM
No wonder he doesn't want to play.
Post by: mountainboii on September 23, 2009, 07:48:23 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 23, 2009, 05:53:55 PM
Missing Stephen Ireland could go a bit on the back burner if Stephen Reid was to make it back to full fitness. Really rate him and think it's an awful pity he's been rode with injuries.

Got through 75 minutes for Blackburn there last night I see, a couple of Premier League games over the next few weeks and he should be ready for the Italians. Although its hard to be too optimistic about him.
Post by: stiffler on September 23, 2009, 07:59:10 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 23, 2009, 07:48:23 PM

Got through 75 minutes for Blackburn there last night I see, a couple of Premier League games over the next few weeks and he should be ready for the Italians. Although its hard to be too optimistic about him.

The man has no luck with injuries, a fit stephen reid would fit more into Tra[p's plans than SI anyday of the week.
Post by: GBXII on September 23, 2009, 08:10:21 PM
Just wanted to say in reply to those people saying that Stephen Ireland would be shown the door if City decided to buy a few 'superstars' in midfield, that Ireland is a top quality player, easily in the top few midfielders in the EPL. He would be hard to replace and would not have trouble finding another top club to play for..Man Utd could do with a midfielder of his quality these days.

Also, I think the comparisons with Keane are apt enough. Both seem to be very individualistic characters while also being hard to deal with some times. They are/were both extremely talented and very focused and determined footballers. They're both from Cork and they are quite controversial :)
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 23, 2009, 08:47:24 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 23, 2009, 07:48:23 PM

The way things are shaping up it looks like the play offs is the best we can hope for and that"s what we have to hope Reid might be available for. I'd be delighted to see him get some action over the next two world cup fixtures (an hour in total) if I thought he could play a full role over two legs of a play off. Would give a far more solid look to the side. But as has been said the poor divil has an awful time of it with injuries
Post by: rosnarun on September 23, 2009, 09:42:58 PM
QuoteDon't know the motivation of Houghton, Aldridge or Cascarino but MCarthy is a case apart. His father (who played hurling for Waterford) like many others had to leave Ireland to find work. This was in the north of England coalmines yet he brought up his family as Irish and to his credit Mick adhered to that identity long before he was capped or managed the team.
In contrast some prima donna players come from a background where their fathers lived off state benefits all their lives and the suspicion is that their offspring would be more takers than givers.I believe Kevin Kilbane is another who was brought up in a strong Irish tradition in England and might have more of a gra for the oul sod than some of the jackeen Manu Utd supporters who populaate the FAI terraces for the big games only.
balls all of these guys were well into their 20's before they condescended to accept an FAI pay check, long after their country of chioce and birth had rejected them (much more lucrative to be play for the british teams) . as lamented by houghton several times . sure they  tried when playing under the FAI just as they did for LIverpool FC  or Oxford united or whoever .
I think the refereces to state benefits points to a lot of people problem with Stephen Ireland.
you know his family is  on benefits? or is that just your mammy boy snobbery getting in the way?
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 23, 2009, 10:15:56 PM
Apart from being a total twat, Stephen Noland is also totally over rated. To mention him in the same breath ability wise as Roy Keane is a laugh. Keane would put him in his back pocket just like he did with EPL legends like gerard and viera. Playing for your country is a honour and if you turn it down for no good reason other than it doesn't fit with your appointment with the hair transplant clinic then really you are not worth a thought. If he declared interest again I'd play Gary Breen ahead of him.
Post by: mountainboii on September 23, 2009, 10:18:25 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 23, 2009, 10:15:56 PM
Apart from being a total t**t, Stephen Noland is also totally over rated. To mention him in the same breath ability wise as Roy Keane is a laugh. Keane would put him in his back pocket just like he did with EPL legends like gerard and viera. Playing for your country is a honour and if you turn it down for no good reason other than it doesn't fit with your appointment with the hair transplant clinic then really you are not worth a thought. If he declared interest again I'd play Gary Breen ahead of him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ykp9m_zG6K8
Title: Re: Scéaltaí Reatha
Post by: Yes I Would on September 23, 2009, 10:30:41 PM
Quote from: drici on September 23, 2009, 10:22:59 PM

Apart from being a total t**t, Stephen Noland is also totally over rated.

Heard his radio show is wick and that there are rumours going around about him as well.

:D :D Couldnt agree more Myles..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 23, 2009, 11:06:02 PM
Stephen Noland is also totally over rated.

You haven't a clue do you  ::)
He is the best outfield Irish player in the Premier League at the moment..
Post by: GBXII on September 23, 2009, 11:15:21 PM
Ireland is underrated in my opinion not overrated...He has a lot more natural talent than Roy Keane did especially in the attacking part of the game..also has a better touch and better vision..Keane would be a better tackler, reader of a game..
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 24, 2009, 12:01:01 AM
Best punishment for the bald cnut would be to get him hypnotised to think he was from Longford.

That'd learn him!
Post by: new devil on September 24, 2009, 12:06:20 AM
Quote from: GBXII on September 23, 2009, 11:15:21 PM
Ireland is underrated in my opinion not overrated...He has a lot more natural talent than Roy Keane did especially in the attacking part of the game..also has a better touch and better vision..Keane would be a better tackler, reader of a game..

:D :D Thats the funniest thing i have seen on here in a long time
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 24, 2009, 08:02:47 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 23, 2009, 11:06:02 PM

Obviously I don't have a clue, thanks for pointing that out to me.
He may (or may not be) the best outfield Irish player at the moment but that is hardly a great achievement! One award he does scoop is the gold medal for "biggest ex Irish gobshite award", I don't think anyone will ever compete with him on that.

GBXII - If you were manager of a team and you could select Roy Keane or Stephen Ireland for your team, who would you pick??? There is no contest.
Post by: ludermor on September 24, 2009, 08:38:50 AM
First things first, I really cannot stand the little p***k. He should have just come out at the start and said he didnt want to play beside strining along everyone for ages ( and thats not getting into the whole granny thing) but if he doesnt want want to play for ireland so what? He doesnt owe ireland anything, he obviously doesnt feel the need to represent his country so let him off but it is his decision. Id love it if we were in a position in a couple of years when/if he wanted to come back and we could affford to tell him to f**k off but doubt that will happen ( on the 2 fronts)
Post by: space rabbit on September 24, 2009, 08:41:52 AM
As was said earlier he will get his wake up call when City sign a few world class midfielders and will look to ship him out.  It's only a season or two ago that Sunderland were looking for him and City were willing to sell.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 24, 2009, 09:17:32 AM
I agree with Myles - if people say someone is a great footballer enough times everyone believes it ala Beckham! I've watched Ireland at the City of Manchester stadium on quite a few occassions and to put him in the same bracket as people like Keane or any other world class midfielder is a bit of a joke! He is a decent player who has had one decent season and this year is beginnning to struggle a bit to match last years achievements - hardly makes him our world cup saviour! Like someone said before - Man City will buy a "superstar" midfielder and it will be bye bye Steven to Sunderland or the like as there is no way any of the big four would touch him with a barge pole!
Post by: ludermor on September 24, 2009, 12:36:42 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 24, 2009, 09:17:32 AM
I agree with Myles - if people say someone is a great footballer enough times everyone believes it ala Beckham! I've watched Ireland at the City of Manchester stadium on quite a few occassions and to put him in the same bracket as people like Keane or any other world class midfielder is a bit of a joke! He is a decent player who has had one decent season and this year is beginnning to struggle a bit to match last years achievements - hardly makes him our world cup saviour! Like someone said before - Man City will buy a "superstar" midfielder and it will be bye bye Steven to Sunderland or the like as there is no way any of the big four would touch him with a barge pole!
Nobody is saying he is a world cup saviour but he is without any doubt better than all of our other midfielders. One person mentioned him in the same breath as Keane and then everyone thinks he is been compared to him!! A bit of perspective is needed every now and then. He has been very good the last 2 seasons and has been ok this season and is the currently one of the top irish players so for him not to be a rt of the irish team is a loss but it is his choice not to be there so we should move on.
Post by: GBXII on September 24, 2009, 01:29:29 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 24, 2009, 08:02:47 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 23, 2009, 11:06:02 PM

Obviously I don't have a clue, thanks for pointing that out to me.
He may (or may not be) the best outfield Irish player at the moment but that is hardly a great achievement! One award he does scoop is the gold medal for "biggest ex Irish gobshite award", I don't think anyone will ever compete with him on that.

GBXII - If you were manager of a team and you could select Roy Keane or Stephen Ireland for your team, who would you pick??? There is no contest.

I would have Roy Keane in my team but Roy was an unbelievable centre midfielder, over a 15 or so year period, and we have the ability to look back over all of Keanes career but Ireland is only 23 so we shouldn't really be making that comparison (i.e. how would you pick in your team). However, my point is that while Ireland probably hasn't finished developing as a footballer, I think its clear to see (IMO) that he has more natural talent/skill than Keane had, and by that I mean 1st touch/control under pressure, ability to unlock a defence with a killer pass. This doesn't mean he is better than Keane but if he manages to be as focused and clever as Keane was on the pitch then he has the potential (natural ability) to be as good and better. Thats just what I think..
Post by: magpie seanie on September 24, 2009, 05:17:05 PM
Punishment for Stephen Ireland - lock him in a room with some of the clowns on this board for 24 hours. He'd be begging to come back playing for us in 10 minutes.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 24, 2009, 05:37:02 PM
I take it you'll be in the room as well so ?
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 24, 2009, 07:48:23 PM
Apart from being a total t**t, Stephen Noland is also totally over rated. To mention him in the same breath ability wise as Roy Keane is a laugh. Keane would put him in his back pocket just like he did with EPL legends like gerard and viera. Playing for your country is a honour and if you turn it down for no good reason other than it doesn't fit with your appointment with the hair transplant clinic then really you are not worth a thought. If he declared interest again I'd play Gary Breen ahead of him.

Myles, of much more immediate importance to you and I is the following question:

1. What is a fitting punishment for Trevor Crowe for refusing to represent his county over the past several years?
2. Who is going to advise Trevor of his punishment because it sure ain't me?
3. If Stephen Ireland is such an obnoxious, over rated twat why are we devoting so much time to him?
4. Should Andy Townsend, John Aldridge, Ray Houghton, Mick McCarthy etc. have punishments meted out to them for turning their backs on "their" country?
5. Does it all make a huge difference at the end of the day.

Look, pity the lad doesn't want to play, am sure he has his reasons for making such a far reaching decision. I do feel a small bit sorry for him because he might be a bit of a loose cannon and if the media insist on putting a mike in his way he's bound to say something juicy over the space of 10 minutes. At least he hasn't quite got to the speak to my agent stage yet.

Comparisonis to Keane ability wise irrelevant, he's retired from play. It's what is in the Ireland panel at present we should be comparing him to.
Post by: stew on September 24, 2009, 07:51:01 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 24, 2009, 12:36:42 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 24, 2009, 09:17:32 AM
Nobody is saying he is a world cup saviour but he is without any doubt better than all of our other midfielders. One person mentioned him in the same breath as Keane and then everyone thinks he is been compared to him!! A bit of perspective is needed every now and then. He has been very good the last 2 seasons and has been ok this season and is the currently one of the top irish players so for him not to be a rt of the irish team is a loss but it is his choice not to be there so we should move on.

Excellent footballer with his best days way in front of him, he has tremendous talent however I will be surprised if he ever comes close to beign the player Keane was, Roy Keane was a world class midfielder for ten years at least na dhe had some outstanding performances for his country as well. SI will probably never play on the biggest stage of em all due to his ridiculous stance and that will take away from the way his career is viewed in the years to come.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 25, 2009, 08:34:03 AM
(http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%20Ireland%20Range%20Rover.jpg) ZOOM ZOOM!
Post by: sammymaguire on September 25, 2009, 08:35:22 AM
(http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/Stephen%20Ireland.jpg)
Post by: sammymaguire on September 25, 2009, 08:40:32 AM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2653831/Ireland-in-heart-atack-scare.html
Post by: Mario on September 25, 2009, 10:08:24 AM
Just a reminder to all tickets on Sale now for the Italy and Montenegro matches, you have to buy both off ticketmaster, €100 for both on the Hill
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2009, 11:58:42 AM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 24, 2009, 07:48:23 PM

Myles, of much more immediate importance to you and I is the following question:

1. What is a fitting punishment for Trevor Crowe for refusing to represent his county over the past several years?
2. Who is going to advise Trevor of his punishment because it sure ain't me?
3. If Stephen Ireland is such an obnoxious, over rated t**t why are we devoting so much time to him?
4. Should Andy Townsend, John Aldridge, Ray Houghton, Mick McCarthy etc. have punishments meted out to them for turning their backs on "their" country?
5. Does it all make a huge difference at the end of the day.

Look, pity the lad doesn't want to play, am sure he has his reasons for making such a far reaching decision. I do feel a small bit sorry for him because he might be a bit of a loose cannon and if the media insist on putting a mike in his way he's bound to say something juicy over the space of 10 minutes. At least he hasn't quite got to the speak to my agent stage yet.

Comparisonis to Keane ability wise irrelevant, he's retired from play. It's what is in the Ireland panel at present we should be comparing him to.

1 - Stupid comparison. Trevor Crowe is an amatuer sports man that has to make a living elsewhere. It is his job that prevents him from playing football, not a dislike of playing for his county.
2 - See Question 2, but i'd love to have Trevor mark Stephen Noland for a game - that would be punishment for the little p***k.
3 - For the craic, to pass the time etc
4 - When did those guys turn there back on their country. They all busted there hole for Ireland and retired when there legs had gone. Don't get what you are on about there unless u are insinuating that they are not Irish. I would contest that as many of us have family that moved away and brought their kids up Irish. In fact, there is not a family in ireland that hasn't been effected by emigration.
5 - Makes no difference to me anyway, I just want to state for the record that Stephen NoLand is a little bollocks

btw - he does not have a good reason to refuse to play accept that he wants to train on his own in a gym or his 5 grannies died etc etc.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 25, 2009, 02:08:11 PM
See Question 2, but i'd love to have Trevor mark Stephen Noland for a game

Nice one Myles we could extend an invitation to Cristiano Ronaldo and a few others to tog out and warm up. Mind you our Stevie ain"t the only one to chuck the toys/throw the odd hissy fit when it comes to the National Panel-Dean Kiely, Lee Carsley, the O'Brien lad at Bolton have had their moments. Stephen seems to be more showbiz though for some reason-more stuff in the  media this morning about fatigue, hospital visits etc. we can't resist the oul celebrity stuff it seems.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 08, 2009, 05:32:59 PM
Young Stevie is at it again - this time with a car for the girlfriend

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu275/Eagleeddie333/ireland_1.jpg)

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu275/Eagleeddie333/ireland_5.jpg)

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu275/Eagleeddie333/ireland_3.jpg)

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu275/Eagleeddie333/ireland_2.jpg)

(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu275/Eagleeddie333/ireland_7.jpg)
Post by: Minder on October 08, 2009, 05:37:56 PM
In fairness to her she looks very untypical of a footballers girlfriend/wife.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 08, 2009, 06:59:12 PM
Is he dealing in the Mossisde hood on the side?
Post by: red hander on October 08, 2009, 07:34:35 PM
Disgusting display of wealth without substance... and taste
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2009, 09:45:53 PM
Can't wait to see what he gets the granny...
Post by: rosnarun on October 08, 2009, 10:44:19 PM
Quote from: red hander on October 08, 2009, 07:34:35 PM
what a f**king snob hes an entertainer who a lot of people pay money to see, Just because soccer is a stupid game do you think that in some way invalidates his wealth? he a young lad from a working class back round why do you think he should conform to previous idea of of style and taste of the wealthy you think he should drive a plain black car like all other rich people ?
Post by: red hander on October 08, 2009, 11:16:31 PM
'you think he should drive a plain black car like all other rich people ?'

Not at all, I think he should drive a plain black car with pink wheel rims and grille, and I think you should take a chill pill before you burst a blood vessel
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 09, 2009, 08:01:56 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 08, 2009, 10:44:19 PM
Quote from: red hander on October 08, 2009, 07:34:35 PM
what a f**king snob hes an entertainer who a lot of people pay money to see, Just because soccer is a stupid game do you think that in some way invalidates his wealth? he a young lad from a working class back round why do you think he should conform to previous idea of of style and taste of the wealthy you think he should drive a plain black car like all other rich people ?

I look at the avatar and I look at the post and it all makes sense now :D
Post by: muppet on October 15, 2009, 11:07:43 AM
Well it obviously isn't Trapp's fault.

Clearly he doesn't take advice from anyone who lives outside a hoodie.