Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 07:33:19 PM

Title: Beckham
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 07:33:19 PM
These yanks take no dung: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-c720nNtgI
Title: Re: Beckham
Post by: red hander on July 22, 2009, 08:18:51 PM
Very brave of him to call the guy down for a fair dig knowing full well the security staff would put a stop to that straight away ... what a w**ker
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 08:30:22 PM
Seen this a couple of days ago on the news. The yanks have finally seen through him. He gave up soccer years ago and is just a marketing figurehead. I don't believe for a minute his move to AC is about anything other than flogging jerseys. To try to say otherwise means he thinks people are as stupid as him.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 22, 2009, 11:02:57 PM
Came across as a right tool.

Beckham said he was calling him down to 'shake his hand', sure David.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 22, 2009, 11:13:26 PM
Its easy to be dead on when you have millions of pounds thrown at you for modelling knickers
Post by: Puckoon on July 23, 2009, 12:06:32 AM
Almost as easy as castigating a man we don't know from behind a keyboard?
Post by: gallsman on July 23, 2009, 12:08:21 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 22, 2009, 09:46:29 PM
I dont mind Becks to be honest, seems to come across as a modest enough guy in any interview or anything ive seen him in.  I also remember being told a story about a ticket seller from ireland who knew all the United players, he said that Beckham was one of the most dead on one whilst Roy Keane was an ignorant w**ker.

I suppose there is only so much abuse one man can take before he snaps.

100% agreement.

I've heard similar stories regarding the two ex-United icons mentioned with regards to conduct in the club bar. From what I heard, Beckham knew every barman by name and always made a point of exchanging pleasantries whereas Keane wouldn't look twice at them.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 23, 2009, 12:09:18 AM
I thought most people would have known Keane was a caant anyway.

Post by: ziggysego on July 23, 2009, 12:10:12 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 22, 2009, 09:46:29 PM
I dont mind Becks to be honest, seems to come across as a modest enough guy in any interview or anything ive seen him in.  I also remember being told a story about a ticket seller from ireland who knew all the United players, he said that Beckham was one of the most dead on one whilst Roy Keane was an ignorant w**ker.

I suppose there is only so much abuse one man can take before he snaps.

My cousin and his wife met him a few years ago in England. Said he was a very sound and genuine man. No airs and graces about him, which you would expect from him from the media.
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2009, 12:27:57 AM
Quote from: red hander on July 22, 2009, 08:18:51 PM
Very brave of him to call the guy down for a fair dig knowing full well the security staff would put a stop to that straight away ... what a w**ker
[/quote
Beckham said he just wanted to shake his hand.  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2009, 12:33:04 AM
John Major is a very nice and pleasany person too.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 23, 2009, 12:48:29 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 08:30:22 PM
Seen this a couple of days ago on the news. The yanks have finally seen through him. He gave up soccer years ago and is just a marketing figurehead. I don't believe for a minute his move to AC is about anything other than flogging jerseys. To try to say otherwise means he thinks people are as stupid as him.
there's an element of the jersey and media thing no doubt, but he improved the team when he played there last year, maybe that's an idictment of the standard in serie A and Milan, but that was the general consensus.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:30:07 PM
At it again in his next game

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1202264/David-Beckham-confronts-disgraceful-fan--time-bad-mouthing-wife-Victoria.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1202264/David-Beckham-confronts-disgraceful-fan--time-bad-mouthing-wife-Victoria.html)
Post by: under the bar on July 26, 2009, 09:40:19 PM
QuoteSeen this a couple of days ago on the news. The yanks have finally seen through him. He gave up soccer years ago and is just a marketing figurehead. I don't believe for a minute his move to AC is about anything other than flogging jerseys. To try to say otherwise means he thinks people are as stupid as him.

He can't be that stupid when he's the richest footballer ever and still managing to sign multi-million dollar deals in his mid-30s.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:46:28 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 26, 2009, 09:40:19 PM
QuoteSeen this a couple of days ago on the news. The yanks have finally seen through him. He gave up soccer years ago and is just a marketing figurehead. I don't believe for a minute his move to AC is about anything other than flogging jerseys. To try to say otherwise means he thinks people are as stupid as him.

He can't be that stupid when he's the richest footballer ever and still managing to sign multi-million dollar deals in his mid-30s.

It's the mugs who are buying the jerseys.  We're the mugs.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 11:14:14 AM
Beckham clashes with another fan 

Beckham was fined £600 for clashing with a Galaxy fan last week
England midfielder David Beckham was involved in another confrontation with a fan during Los Angeles Galaxy's match on Saturday.

Beckham, 34, exchanged words with a man in an England shirt during the Galaxy's 1-1 draw with the Kansas City Wizards.

Beckham, who was fined following a clash with a fan last week, claimed the spectator insulted his wife Victoria.

"He shouldn't actually be wearing that shirt because what he was saying about my wife was a disgrace," he said.
The former England captain was fined $1,000 (£600) by Major League Soccer last Friday following a confrontation with fans during a recent friendly against AC Milan.

Beckham, who missed part of the Major League Soccer season earlier this year when he joined the Italian giants on loan, was booed by a section of the home crowd during the game.

At half-time, he approached one group of fans and appeared to challenge them to meet him on the pitch.

Security staff intervened, and police arrested a fan who left the stands.

Beckham joined Milan on loan because he was keen to satisfy England boss Fabio Capello's demand that he play at the highest level to remain in contention for international selection.

He is England's most capped outfield player, with 112 appearances, and is keen to play on until the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2009, 01:28:00 PM
It's time he called it a day in the US. The fans have no respect for him and they should just call it quits.
Post by: The Iceman on July 27, 2009, 02:00:23 PM
I think he was always facing an uphill battle in the US.  Soccer was never going to take off they way they hoped and there was serious pressure on him to be the catalyst in this.
Post by: Iceberg on July 27, 2009, 02:22:30 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on July 27, 2009, 02:00:23 PM
I think he was always facing an uphill battle in the US.  Soccer was never going to take off they way they hoped and there was serious pressure on him to be the catalyst in this.

Agree with Iceman, the yanks will never take to soccer, they cannot take to a sport where you cant have cheerleaders dancing at every stoppage  ::)
Post by: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 03:07:52 PM
I thought the MLS was going well, growing each year and gaining a loyal following, if not sloely with the yanks but with ethnic groups.

I read a piece in 442 recently about one of the teams that has a season ticket waiting list (albeit in a 23,000 stadium) and even took 5,000 to an away match.
Although that could be one of the Canadian franchises.
Post by: stew on July 27, 2009, 03:14:40 PM
Beckham wants out of here in the worst way, he will probably recieve a death threat now and that will be his ticket outta town.

I dont mind him at all but he should never have let the galaxy down to stay on in Italy, big mistake and the fans turned on him because of it.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 03:35:52 PM
USA got to the final of that wee tournament in South Africa recently and led Brazil 2-0 in the final before getting beat 3-2.

I thought they were making progress in the sport ?.
Post by: Puckoon on July 27, 2009, 04:43:27 PM
The next world cup and the performances of the USA in it will be a great marker for how well or poorly the mls is going.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 27, 2009, 05:47:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 27, 2009, 04:43:27 PM
The next world cup and the performances of the USA in it will be a great marker for how well or poorly the mls is going.

I don't know if I'd connect those two that closely. MLS is going OK, especially the newer teams like Toronto and Seattle who have the biggest crowds, so they must be picking the franchises well.
But they'll be trawling the benches of lower quality European clubs for most of their starters (like another team I could think of), I think only a couple of the starting 11 were MLS players for Confed cup final, Donovan being the only one I can think of. I think they over-achieved big time in that tournament, so lucky to get out of the group and then admittedly played really well in two games v Spain and Brazil. But I don't fancy their team at the minute really. They are too used to being the big county in a shit CONCACAF division, don't have to work hard to get the WC and can afford to play an open, attacking style that in the WC will see a good team slaughter them. I do like Bradley as coach though, think he will have the brains to change their style for the World Cup.
Post by: Will Hunting on July 27, 2009, 05:57:04 PM
Quote from: stew on July 27, 2009, 03:14:40 PM
Beckham wants out of here in the worst way, he will probably recieve a death threat now and that will be his ticket outta town.

I dont mind him at all but he should never have let the galaxy down to stay on in Italy, big mistake and the fans turned on him because of it.

Yeah, we hardly ever see players getting involved in on-field arguments with fans (bar Cantona maybe), and I think Beckham is doing this deliberately in order to increase uproar etc, so he can say enough is enough and go back to Milan. This is clearly what he wants.
Post by: The Iceman on July 27, 2009, 06:49:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 03:35:52 PM
USA got to the final of that wee tournament in South Africa recently and led Brazil 2-0 in the final before getting beat 3-2.

I don't know how much you can take from that result in the federations cup or if any of the other teams took it seriously?
USA took a 5 - 0 hammering yesterday from Mexico in Giants Stadium
Post by: stew on July 27, 2009, 11:48:27 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on July 27, 2009, 06:49:23 PM

I don't know how much you can take from that result in the federations cup or if any of the other teams took it seriously?

They had a third string, expermental side out, hardly an indicator of where US football lies from an International perspective.
The yanks are very good, they usually do well against the mexicans.
Post by: The Iceman on July 28, 2009, 02:16:19 PM
I suppose the only measuring stick will be the World Cup.
With the largest number of children exposed to Soccer they should be able to produce some good talent - unfortunately their coaching and development structure is far behind where it needs to be to compete with the elite teams.
Post by: Main Street on July 28, 2009, 04:41:56 PM
elite teams?
like Brazil Argentina Italy and Spain?

If the WC is the yardstick
the progress of the USA  internationally has been consistently steady since WC94.
They are there or thereabouts for a 1/4 final position at this WC.

Post by: tyssam5 on July 28, 2009, 08:03:36 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on July 27, 2009, 06:49:23 PM

Not sure about Brazil's first team, but Spain had a full team out for sure. You could argue about their commitment, but they'd not lost in about 3 years, so anyone would want to defend that record. Brazil looked well pleased about winning it, I reckon Dunga would have got the chop if he'd lost the final.

From playing here I would say the coaching at schools is coming on well, one thing I notice is that players under 30 here tend to be technically very good. Some of the older lads I've played with, not so much. Bottom line is that the top athletes are going to go into basketball or football. But given that you need to be something of a freak physically to get to a pro level and the lack of 2nd, 3rd tier pro opportunities, there should be enough lads coming through from a 300 million population to make the team keep improving over the next generation.
Post by: Orior on July 28, 2009, 09:03:06 PM
The Aussies have a beer named after Mrs Beckham.

(http://s.bebo.com/app-image/6520568573/6520540797/PROFILE/i.idlestudios.com/img/q/u/08/04/24/vb-logo.jpg)

Does she taste as bitter as she looks?

Nah hang on, she's gorgeous. Just a bit too skinny. And she probably wouldnt do what she's told.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 14, 2009, 10:12:28 PM
Came on tonight just about the hour mark and got the fuckin MAN of the MATCH !! Jesus Christ, the english are shameless. Steve Bruce was the man who was in charge of picking it. Ex Team mates ofcourse. Peter Crouchgot 2 goals FFS. When this man eventually retires i dont know what they will do.
Post by: Minder on October 14, 2009, 10:16:33 PM
I hope he plays an integral part at the World Cup, because if he does they will win fcuk all.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 14, 2009, 10:18:36 PM
my worst nightmare would be him coming on in the final, match 1-1, and curling a free kick from 25 yds into the top corner. I would be off the bann bridge before the action replay would be shown
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 14, 2009, 10:48:01 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 28, 2009, 09:03:06 PM

(http://s.bebo.com/app-image/6520568573/6520540797/PROFILE/i.idlestudios.com/img/q/u/08/04/24/vb-logo.jpg)

Does she taste as bitter as she looks?

Nah hang on, she's gorgeous. Just a bit too skinny. And she probably wouldnt do what she's told.

Spent 12 months in OZ and drank this every night I was there,god I'd love some VB now
Post by: laceer on October 14, 2009, 11:11:25 PM
Beckham gets some abuse but he keeps proving his doubters wrong. I hope he does go to the world cup - he's about the only one of the English team i'd have time for
Post by: mountainboii on October 14, 2009, 11:35:09 PM
Quote from: laceer on October 14, 2009, 11:11:25 PM
Beckham gets some abuse but he keeps proving his doubters wrong. I hope he does go to the world cup - he's about the only one of the English team i'd have time for

Agree. He always seems like a likeable enough fella in interviews, has shown more dedication to his country than most footballers, and obviously isn't half as thick as some would like to paint him given the wealth he has accumulated from activities outside of football.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 14, 2009, 11:49:33 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 03:07:52 PM
I thought the MLS was going well, growing each year and gaining a loyal following, if not sloely with the yanks but with ethnic groups.

I read a piece in 442 recently about one of the teams that has a season ticket waiting list (albeit in a 23,000 stadium) and even took 5,000 to an away match.
Although that could be one of the Canadian franchises.

That's us alright  ;D

And we only took 3,000 to that away game
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2009, 11:59:17 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 14, 2009, 11:35:09 PM
Quote from: laceer on October 14, 2009, 11:11:25 PM

Agree. He always seems like a likeable enough fella in interviews, has shown more dedication to his country than most footballers, and obviously isn't half as thick as some would like to paint him given the wealth he has accumulated from activities outside of football.
You really think Beckham is the brains behind Brand Beckham. He's a show pony with a crack team advising him. I don't know if Simon Fuller is still involved but he's a man who knows a thing or two about brand management and global marketing. The main driver for Becks getting to SA next year will be the global exposure.
Post by: mountainboii on October 15, 2009, 12:14:44 AM
Very cynical Tony. To me he just seems like a decent enough fella who has done very well for himself, one way or another.
Post by: Aerlik on October 15, 2009, 03:43:45 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 14, 2009, 10:48:01 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 28, 2009, 09:03:06 PM

[img]http://s.bebo.com/app-image/6520568573/6520540797/PROFILE/i.idlestudios.com/img/q/u/08/04/24/vb-logo.jpg
Spent 12 months in OZ and drank this every night I was there,god I'd love some VB now

Absolute horse piss.  Only popular in Victoria.  One of the most rancid concoctions ever produced.  My home brew is better.  Gets you pissed faster too.
Post by: new devil on October 15, 2009, 04:09:24 AM
Still one off the best crossers of the ball about...never got the credit he deserved because of the circus that followed but was a brillant footballer
Post by: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:19:29 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 15, 2009, 04:09:24 AM
Still one off the best crossers of the ball about...never got the credit he deserved because of the circus that followed but was a brillant footballer

Nope, he was a middling footballer. I have the utmost respect for him though considering what he's achieved. In hindsight, the infamy he gained after the kick on Simeone truly launched him as a global superstar. Always seems very likeable and honest in his interviews and Victoria seems to get on with things and keep quiet. Cheryl McCullough she isn't.
Post by: GBXII on October 15, 2009, 01:22:25 PM
Ah in fairness he was a bit better than middling..
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 01:24:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:19:29 PM

Nope, he was a middling footballer. I have the utmost respect for him though considering what he's achieved. In hindsight, the infamy he gained after the kick on Simeone truly launched him as a global superstar. Always seems very likeable and honest in his interviews and Victoria seems to get on with things and keep quiet. Cheryl McCullough she isn't.
If you wanted a good crosser and someone to sell loads of replica kits then he was your go to man.

Classy lady. She'd have "The Packet Racket" fighting til he's in a pine box.
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44273000/jpg/_44273978_pgcheryl.jpg)
Post by: spiritof91and94 on October 15, 2009, 01:28:01 PM
got to admire him - in comparison to the prima donnas Rooney,Defoe,Terry,Cole & Lampard - Becks has a very clean slate.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 15, 2009, 01:32:11 PM
i wasn't criticising beckham himself when i started this, obviously i dont know him and im sure he isn't a bad chap, it's the commentators and media who make him out to be a big star no matter what he does. For him to get MOM last night was a joke
Post by: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:36:21 PM
Quote from: GBXII on October 15, 2009, 01:22:25 PM

Really? I wouldn't have said so at all. If it wasn't for the media circus that follows him I don't think anyone in their right mind could rate him as anything more than a slightly above average Premiership footballer. What I always admired was his determination. After Capello dropped him for Madrid he worked his arse off and got back in the team having spent months as an outcast.
Post by: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:38:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 01:24:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:19:29 PM

If you wanted a good crosser and someone to sell loads of replica kits then he was your go to man.

Classy lady. She'd have "The Packet Racket" fighting til he's in a pine box.
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44273000/jpg/_44273978_pgcheryl.jpg)

Ah, leave the woman alone! Sure she only wants to make him a werld chempian again!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 15, 2009, 01:38:18 PM
The best free-kick taker in the world and a hugely important part of the old Man Utd team, he could cross some ball.  He also comes across very likeable as well and loved to represent and serve his country.  Infact Beckham is one of the nicer footballers around.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 15, 2009, 01:40:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 15, 2009, 01:36:21 PM
Quote from: GBXII on October 15, 2009, 01:22:25 PM

Really? I wouldn't have said so at all. If it wasn't for the media circus that follows him I don't think anyone in their right mind could rate him as anything more than a slightly above average Premiership footballer. What I always admired was his determination. After Capello dropped him for Madrid he worked his arse off and got back in the team having spent months as an outcast.

He was unreal at free kicks and could cross a ball better than anyone in the Premership, he was much more than a just above average Premership player.
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2009, 01:41:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 15, 2009, 12:11:11 AM
Fair fcuks to him. He kicks the odd ball, gets photographed in his cacks, signs his name to some shaving foam or aftershave and the whole world is buying into the shite.

Absolutely.What the lad has given to the shirt & to society will get him a fair few RIP posts on here when he dies. All credit to the lad.... furnominal performance :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 15, 2009, 01:49:52 PM
I like Becks, good attitude, great work-rate and never goes to the press whinging...a good honest professional.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 15, 2009, 01:51:21 PM
echo those sentiments Dinny

even if he did cheat on his wife
Post by: full back on October 15, 2009, 01:58:20 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 15, 2009, 01:51:21 PM
echo those sentiments Dinny

even if he did cheat on his wife

Allegedly gab ;)

One of the best passers/crossers of the ball of his generation

He has an excellent PR team behind him as well mind you

Post by: redhugh on October 15, 2009, 02:01:53 PM
 not a fan ,but I respect the man for how he keeps coming back time and again.He gets his head down and works hard and is a great example for young professionals.I love the fact that he's still so hungry when he's so minted he could have retired years ago.
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2009, 02:15:13 PM
By the time we are finished here it will be a cross between Pele and Gandhi
Post by: Declan on October 15, 2009, 02:17:00 PM
QuoteBy the time we are finished here it will be a cross between Pele and Gandhi
Yep- he's as good a footballer as Gandhi and as good a statesman as Pele
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2009, 02:26:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 15, 2009, 02:15:13 PM

Didn't know Ghandi played centre half
Post by: JohnDenver on October 15, 2009, 02:32:12 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 15, 2009, 02:26:03 PM

Gandhi was on the left wing  :P
Post by: Aerlik on October 15, 2009, 02:49:19 PM

Quote from: JohnDenver on October 15, 2009, 02:32:12 PM

Gandhi was on the left wing  :P

Nooooooooo.  He was always in the the middle
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2009, 02:56:00 PM
He was far too nice for a centre half. Are you sure you're not thinking of genghis?
Post by: Aerlik on October 15, 2009, 03:10:45 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 15, 2009, 02:56:00 PM
He was far too nice for a centre half. Are you sure you're not thinking of genghis?

Wasn't he awheena years centuries back?  they used skulls for balls in those day.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 26, 2009, 11:06:33 AM
The yanks opinion of Beckham has fairly changed. Got a standing ovation yesterday after helping LA Galaxy to win the Western Conference.